Cynthia Forde, MP

BU raised concern in an earlier blog about the lack of participation in debates by former Prime Minister Owen Arthur in parliament post-2008. Arising from the robust debate which ensued BU sought to secure the attendance records of members of parliament, we failed. What we found out though is that several members of parliament enter the Chamber and after a few minutes will take to the exit. The attendance record therefore shows the member present. Arthur we have been told is the biggest offender post-2008. The reality is that the job of a member of parliament is inextricably bound up in representing constituents and law-making activity. One cannot be separated from the other.

Unfortunately the Lower House has been labelled ‘poorakey’ by leader of the opposition Owen Arthur, many Barbadians agree. Today BU was pleased to listen to Arthur contribute to the debate on a resolution to note and approve Protocol VI of the Social Partnership. His vast and intimate knowledge of the economy derived from being minister of finance for fourteen years was apparent. Minister Sinckler and his colleagues on the government members would disagree of course.  Politicos have been salivating for a long time at the opportunity to witness Arthur, the master tactician absorbing the challenge of debate from Sinckler, who was voted in a recent CADRES poll as the most popular of the DLP members of parliament among the populace.

BU continues to monitor the standard of debate and behaviour by our members of parliament. We pay them to do a job and nothing less will be accepted.

The picture of a seemingly disinterested Cynthia Forde, member of parliament for St. Thomas sitting in the Lower House today piqued our interest. When the picture was taken the leader of the opposition Owen Arthur was on his feet. Was she sleeping? BU caution those in the gallery to avoid the wrath of the Speaker’s chair.

122 responses to “Spotlight On Parliament”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Blogger2012

I cannot speak for the Government, but you would realise that the Opposition is feeding off the anger even though they know that the law was wrongly applied.

2. @Caswell

In other words if you lick you lock up, six a one is half dozen.

The games that politicians play.

3. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Nothing will improve until the discredited political system that operates in Barbados is replaced. All it does is breed corruption. Barbados deserves better.

4. Do we see a role for the PEP in the next election

5. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

As Bushie would say, what PEP what! The PEP is already discredited by reason of its leader. He is as genuine as a three dollar bill.

6. old onion bags Avatar

Why Caswell don’t form a political party ……a trade union no….get strategist extraordinaire Carson Cudear to be minister of misinformation…..and ya gud….cah long some of the Eager 11 while you at it…cuz they may stand a better chance…..worth a thought don’t you think ?

7. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Onions

Why you hate me so? Would you form a political party with any of the Eager 11 or the other person you mention?

8. @ Caswell
    Seriously though!!
    How much longer will it be before we begin to talk about our political revolution here on BU?

You know full well that Bushie’s plan for a National Cooperative Government is a sound one. You know that it is achievable!

Stop running away like Jonah and let us start the cooperative revolution man….

9. “I am flanked by a team of successful Barbadians who are primed and eager to take Barbados forward …” David Thompson (could be any other political leader in the WI and beyond). But the snag is that these “successful Barbadians” are “successful” at exploiting the NEEDS of Barbadians … only! Now how the hell can such a people be expected to become experts at taking on the rest of the world …?? They will certainly enjoy a few free trips and international cocktail receptions and so on, but sadly they will demonstrate in every instance that they lack the required skill set to take on the “real” world.

VOTE INDEPENDENT, or not at all …!

10. old onion bags Avatar

@Caswell
    Nothing will improve until the discredited political system that operates in Barbados is replaced. All it does is breed corruption. Barbados deserves
    better.
    Man what hate what…..as voczlist ac reminds..its all about PERCEPTION…forget the Eager then…now there is till possibility.We got other (Brass Tacks) revolutionist like Mouse man(former Mr.P), Miss P, Trini Woman..ur buddy n friend, The Truth must be told Marshall,Ester the Doc,I saw Carson..but I ent know… Dr.Bushie of course ,how could I forget my distant friend…Wesley…Rommell Marshall..how many that ?..I count 10…..cud find 10 more easily….still got 4 months….what’s there to lose ?
    This would galvanize you for other tings..who knows

11. @ Caswell
    Listen to Old Onions yuh!!…. Remember there may be some wisdom even in things coming from the mouth of ….. Onions 🙂

Remember the steps again

1 -We put together a committee of influential persons (not the traditional money boys – but those who can influence people)

2- We advertise for candidates to fill various ministry positions- listing the qualities required

3- this committee comes up with a 5 year strategic plan for Barbados through public discussion using BU etc

4- Interview the various applicants for the ministries and select the best 30 as the Committee’s team for the coming elections.

5 – Each successful candidate signs an undated letter of resignation to be held by the committee. And dated at.any time that the candidate fails a performance review.

6- the committee selects the most important part of the plan – The National Supervisory Committee, which will become our new Senate and which will oversee GOVERNENCE….. In exactly the same way as is done in the Cooperative sector. (You were born for that role Caswell 🙂 )

7 – The Committee then promotes, prepares and presents its candidates to be supported by their various members.

Who is this committee?

The 24 leaders of the largest formal,organized, people-based organizations in the Country
    Like…
    BARP
    The Church
    The Credit Union movement
    Political organizations
    National Sport Organizations
    Chamber of Commerce
    Youth Organizations
    Farmers Groups
    Etc

To qualify, the organization simply submits their charter of operation and proof of their membership roll.
    …the top 24 leaders make up the committee, and the leader of the largest group chairs the committee (Bushie likes Ed Bushell for this role…)

……the simplest revolution in the history of revolt!

12. old onion bags Avatar

@ Caswell
    BTW….looka Bushie….done draft the STRUCTURE ?….12 d work done..

13. The qualities required… will this be the traditional list of academic accolades …?

14. LOOKA BAFBFP Bushie got some licks for your tail too….

What vote what independent what?!?
    ..stop misleading the family. What problem does that solve? That solution is no better than Grenville with his cancellation of pension….

Wanna REALLY think that these politicians nowadays looking for some paltry civil service tagged pension…? These people looking to get a LUMP SUM during their FIRST TERM.

The solution is to treat the political appointments just like executive appointments in business places. Advertise, interview, select. Then “let” them resign gracefully if they fail to perform 🙂 and fire their backsides if Caswell can successfully bring any charges of “crookery” against them.

As Deputy Chairman elect of the NSC you are asked to cease and desist from this call to vote independent…. 🙂

15. @ Onions
    Re: Bushie’s structure

An open challenge is hereby thrown out to anyone who can show any logical fault with The bushman’s scheme…..

16. I wonder how u came across this pic of the MP, which was obviously taken at floor level …. I say that because the taking of photographs in the lower house is strictly prohibited.

17. @AO

Are you aware that integrity from public servants is NOT prohibited?

18. five hundredtworevolting disgustingMowrey said the corporate five
    hundredtwohasnuclear familyfive hundred five hundredtworevolting disgustingissuednuclear familytwo extended familycleaningextended familytwofive hundred ideas
    twoextended familyfortwo twoextended familythenuclear familytwofive
    hundred twonuclear familybucklesnuclear familyfive hundred, and commenced five hundredrevolting disgustingsendingrevolting disgustingextended familyfive hundred five
    hundrednuclear familyreplacementextended familytwofive hundred five hundrednuclear familyrevolting disgustingbucklesrevolting
    disgustingextended familytwo tonuclear family owners
    lasttwofive hundred summer season.

19. If you need to change the colour of the decking we recommend that you
    just take a pattern or off cut of PERMADECK to your
    paint provider and check the recommended surface coating earlier
    than purchasing and earlier than making use of to the entire deck surface to ensure that a suitable
    bond between the deck and the ending coat is achieved.

20. Although few driving jackets present chest protection,
    to get around this with the Falstaff I load the two giant front pockets with Aerostich’s TF5 Transit Hip Pads.

21. Oral well being is important at all levels of life, especially since older adults and seniors are protecting their teeth longer
    than ever earlier than.

22. Having intercourse a few days earlier than ovulation will mean that by the time the egg is launched,
    the male sperm may have already got died, leaving the slower shifting
    female sperm in prime place.