Mrs Ram Mirchandani (r) on location with Minister of Health Donville Inniss – photo credit: Nation

The decision by the Ministry of Health to direct the owner of Furniture Limited Mrs Ram Mirchandani to clean-up her establishment must be commended. It is an action which is decades late in coming. While it is unfortunate this government had to be coerced into making the decision by citizen lobby, credit is still due.

Over the years Barbadians have marvelled at how Mrs Ram Mirchandani seemingly was allowed to transgressed laws designed to protect. For example, how was she allowed to operate the Liquidation Centre on Lower Bay Street and in the process impede traffic caused by lorries and bobcats engaged in loading and offloading activities in the left lane? What about the hotel at Oldbury in St. Philip built with a Games Room which many believe was deficient if safety and health rules were to be applied? What is the purpose of our regulatory bodies anyway?

To understand what has contributed to Mrs Ram being able to acquire wealth in Barbados, one has to appreciate she is a past President of the Barbados Manufacturers Association and has had a close association with the Barbados Chamber of Commerce. No doubt she has contributed to the coffers of both political parties and the media has long held the lady who wears the sari in awe because of the alacrity she is willing to sue. If you are able to win favour from the political directorate and Fourth Estate then the path is clear to do whatsoever will.

Kudos to Minister Donville Inniss who must have given his consent for the public health offers to make the move.

1. Colonel Buggy Avatar

To be honest ,I’ve never observed Mrs Ram with a machine gun outside of any of her establishments, forcing Bajans to come inside and shop.
    Long ago we the people had more power than The Ministry of Health of the Fire Service in closing down Furniture Ltd,and keeping it closed,but like the man said on the Call-in programme so years ago,concerning the same lady, he does not see anything wrong in buying and eating ‘dead chicken’ so long as it is washed in lime and salt.

2. jane
    hey . what about husband height ‘s family who sells container full of imported fruits to hawkers in the market . . do they have health certificate . ? or because donvile innis is their rep and friend . so everything seems to be fine . may be he is in the partnership . ha””””ha ””ha .

3. I did spend some years in Hameln — on – Weser, ( West Germany ) – never saw a rat – and I was looking – even at night, of course there are rats on the town clock as they circle behind the Piper but they are mechanical in nature and “attitude” . . . . but that was a long time ago.

I was at the cinema once in Belize – then British Honduras – and rats ran across the stage, everyone thought it was funny, highlight of the evening.

4. @David

Lord I doing my part this morning I harvested thirty AFRican snail they were so lovely, i was tempted to cook them for their protein but then my stomach started to revolt immediately so i gave up the idea.

I wish to advise those who are talking for talking sake get hold of the Health Servieces Act and see where the power lies.

5. The article begins

“RATS ARE SEEN in any major city, and Bridgetown is no exception.

However, the number of the pests can be directly attributed to the unhealthy practices of those upon whom the rats depend for food – humans.

The City and its rodent residents are the focus of this week’s Street Beat.

One of the worst areas appears to be the site on which the statue of National Hero Errol Barrow stands, Independence Square.

“I was taking out the garbage when one almost knocked me down,” said one National Conservation Commission (NCC) worker, who declined identification.”

I was just going on pure instinct and logic when I reckoned it was not at the bottom of Broad Street that the problem was bad.

According to the article in the Nation they got a breed of rat near the top of Broad Street that could lick down a man.

So I am even more confused than when I started because I can’t get the rats in Bridgetown linked to Ms. Ram.

6. @John

Why do you want to link the rats to Miss Ram?

7. You did …. or atleast you tried to!!

I am glad you agree there is no link …. means I wasn’t going mad!!

8. @John

Did you read the press reports that rat droppings were found on the inside?

9. Here is another question John.

Why do you think this Miss Ram employee is outfitted this way?

http://www.nationnews.com/index.php/articles/view/mrs-ram-gets-warning/

10. David the news on page 5 of Barbados Today is a wth moment.

11. David | June 8, 2012 at 7:47 PM |

Did you read the press reports that rat droppings were found on the inside?

Rats get anywhere and everywhere.

My bet is you will find them in a hospital as well!!

Dusty bales of cloth could mean old non moving stock … no link to rats.

12. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Yardbroom | June 8, 2012 at 5:08 PM |
    I did spend some years in Hameln — on – Weser, ( West Germany ) – never saw a rat – and I was looking – even at night, of course there are rats on the town clock as they circle behind the Piper but they are mechanical in nature and “attitude” . . . . but that was a long time ago.
    And one thing I never saw in Hameln, or any of the other many German cities is unattended or open garbage, probably why rats cannot thrive there. A lesson we should learn.

13. Colonel Buggy Avatar

@ Yardbroom
    Ubique or Arte et Marte?

14. Ms. Ram is not my favourite person in the world either but it doesn’t mean innuendo canbe used to smear her and I will keep quiet.

Say what you like, the lady has guts.

… puts most Bajan males in the shade.

15. Colonel Buggy | June 8, 2012 at 9:54 PM |

Yardbroom | June 8, 2012 at 5:08 PM |
    I did spend some years in Hameln — on – Weser, ( West Germany ) – never saw a rat – and I was looking – even at night, of course there are rats on the town clock as they circle behind the Piper but they are mechanical in nature and “attitude” . . . . but that was a long time ago.
    And one thing I never saw in Hameln, or any of the other many German cities is unattended or open garbage, probably why rats cannot thrive there. A lesson we should learn.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++=

First World vs Third World.

16. Hi Colonel Buggy, June 8, 2012 @ 9:59 PM
    @ Yardbroom
    Ubique or Arte et Marte?
    “Ubique”.

17. Hi Colonel Buggy
    June 8, 2012 @ 9:59PM
    @ Yardbroom
    Ubique or Arte et Marte?
    “Ubique”

18. Rambling Rose Avatar

Asha , you have been caught girl
    Lot of people laffing at yuh

19. Donville Inniss aint do this for no votes. He gine get back in because he is one of the best Minister’s of health we had in this country. Plus I does pass through his constituency (St. James South) occasionally and I wish I lived in there. Kudos to you Minister.

20. God so loved the world he gave his only begotten son to save the world AND Similarly SATAN has come in form of Mrs Ram to destroy the bejans and humanity. Salute to the minister from India an ex employee of the Satan Mrs Ram

Leave a Reply to DavidCancel reply