Donville Inniss – 6.1%

An interesting bit of analysis which the recent CADRES poll has produced is on the question of leadership preference by Barbadians with a drill down on the uncertain voter category. Many – including BU – are not surprised that the deputies of the two main political parties scored low, Dale Marshall and the de facto deputy of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) Richard Sealy who has emerged after the Eager 11 fiasco. Both have a passive political personage which qualifies them for the job.

David Estwick – 1.8%

In the poll at the national level Donville Inniss scored 6.1% and David Estwick scored 1.9%, among the uncertain voters the scores dipped to 4.3% and 2.2% respectively. Given a perceived popularity around town by many politicos who believed they (Inniss/Estwick) enjoyed a greater appeal, the fact that Esther Byer-Suckoo scored 2.4% can be used as a benchmark to judge the serious of the challenge by the two at this time.

Dale Marshall – 1.0%

What is the significance of Sinckler’s rising popularity despite the part he played in the Eager 11 matter?  It doesn’t seem to have affected adversely affected his leadership number.

If Prime Minister Stuart is adamant he will lead the party into the next general election, and the leadership scores remain consistent, what are the options opened to him to win on leadership in the minds of the electorate?

Richard Sealy – 0%

Surely Richard Sealy must be replaced if Byer-Suckoo and Commissiong made it to the leadership preference list ahead of him?

How will the temperamental David Estwick react to hard decisions which Stuart will have to make before the election bell is rung?

How will the hard talking and ambitious Inniss respond if he perceived that he is being marginalized?

So many decisions which have to be made by Prime Minister Stuart and quickly. He does not have the luxury of time and hence the option to use a phased approach is out of the question.

1. Observing (and polling) Avatar
    Observing (and polling)

“So many decisions which have to be made by Prime Minister Stuart and quickly. He does not have the luxury of time and hence the option to use a phased approach is out of the question”

Decisions
    Quickly
    Time

For all the words in the PM’s vocabulary, I sincerely doubt any of these hold prominence on a day to day/week to week basis.

Also, he has many options. However his “stubbornness” and lack of “emotional intelligence” will not allow him to properly exercise any. He will stay the course, believing that right is might and that people will “eventually” come around to the wisdom of the party’s actions and achievements. And, that they will search for and understand his vision, philosophy and syntax.

The more objective and realistic among us know better.

2. old onion bags Avatar

Prodigal jokingly stated Stuart and Sandiford…may be distant cousins.
    Time we give more serious thoughts to this….”the more we may want to change the more we will remain the same.”. I can use this reply to many of the issuesquestions to be raised here onwards….and take consolation..that all be with “dispatch”.

3. BAFBFP

Can someone PLEASE give a link to the poll … pretty please with icing and all on top …

4. @BAFBFP

Not sure the Nation has it online but there are several articles on the topic, do a Google!

There was a time Peter would kindly share the information with BU but he doesn’t any longer.

5. You see da dey now …? If it did Amused or ROK or Bush Tea that hadda ask fah dah information a link(s) would have been post long time, with a apology to boot. HA HA HA 🙂

I getting the imformation man, and I gun send it to you don’ worry

6. @BAFBFP

It was a genuine comment. There is no link to the poll that we are aware. As you know the Nation published the poll in pieces.

7. I,ve already said FS is going to pull a SANDIE, he will wake up one morning and tell the G.G elections is such ans such a date. FS has nothing to lose, he will be sitting pretty at P.M pension for the rest of his life, it is those who only had one term ands voted out that will be left in the cold. Obviously FS don’t have the answers to many vital questions; Jimmy Cliff once sang, “there are more questions than answers,” FS will default

8. I know I know David, no sweat. I will see what I can conjure up from my end seeing that you asked so nicely … (uhh, did you?)

Wait Scout,

You mean that the onliest people who couldn’t care less if elections get call, other than the PM, is Eswick and Kellman …? Da is wah you saying? HA HA HA HA

9. Estwick and Kellman (who did not blip on the radar) were quick to rubbish the poll. On Sunday Kellman backed up little by saying there are somethings to learn from the poll. Wickham’s position is that those who believe they should be in the race to lead the party are the ones attacking it. Interesting is the fact that Sealy and Dale Marshall appear to have gone dark since the release of the poll.

10. BAFBFP
    Ya burning man LOL. Go to the top of the class.

11. BAFBFP
    Always remember, “time longer than twine.”

12. @david, 2:55 pm
    erego a dismissal of Christ rather than a defence of Freundel?

13. Ooops !!!!

That should have read a “dismissal of Chris.”

Oh though blasphemous fingers.

14. @observing

Trust you…lol.

The lethargy of the DLP strategy at this time to be frank is becoming more and more embarrassing to observers. Well to BU for sure.

15. old onion bags Avatar

@ Eager11
    FS has nothing to lose, he will be sitting pretty at P.M pension for the rest of his life, it is those who only had one term ands voted out that will be left
    in the cold.
    To whom the bell tolls….heads gine roll……checkmate.

16. @David
    embarrassing is an understatement.

17. Barbados has the largest Cabinet in its history (Can anyone verify …?) and if so, for what?

18. BAFBFP
    And then Constituency councils, these are not needed especially in a recession, 90% of the members in those councils are DLP supporters and many are already canvassing for the party.

19. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

i living in an area with about 150 houses and i can’t find one person who could tell me who is on the Constituency Councils for our area. you could believe that crap?

20. @David (not BU)

You should have checked this website out.

http://www.councils.gov.bb/cms/

21. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

hey David, Thanks for the link but that is a waste. i click on some of the council links at they took me to other councils.

my main point was don’t these people go into the constituency? i’ve never seen them in mine.

22. Should Barbadians be told the private sector group that funded the poll?

How does this mesh with concern and enforcement about campaign regulation?

Leave a Reply to BAFBFPCancel reply