Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

Minister of Culture Stephen Lashley was quoted in the press on the weekend blaming the lack of a media policy at the National Cultural Foundation (NCF) for feeding perennial controversies during the Crop Over period. To summarize his view: the ad hoc manner NCF officials have interacted with the media must stop. BU agrees with the minister that an effective media policy will always add value to the process of disseminating timely and accurate information.

To support Lashley view, we had another Lashley demonstrating why a media policy is useful. Yesterday at the St. James North Democratic Labour Party (DLP) Constituency meeting Minister of Housing Michael Lashley reacted to the CADRES poll by telling party supporters, “polls don’t vote”. Lashley who has been unusually silent in recent weeks – as well as Minister of Agriculture David Estwick – no doubt strayed from his substantive script of expounding about government’s housing program to share his views on the findings of the CADRES poll.

BU suspects that Nation newspaper reporter Mike King travelled to the St. James North Constituency meeting with great anticipation stoked by the release of the CADRES poll. Lashley did not disappoint. Here is a classic case where a media policy of government should have kicked in to guide public pronouncements about how to treat with the CADRES matter by key government officials.  Especially given the nature of its findings. The nonsensical comments attributed to Minister of Housing Michael Lashley in the Nation newspaper showed clearly his comments were off the cuff and exposed a kind of lethargy by our leadership which is not welcomed in 2012.

Lashley’s comments reflect the urgent need for government – even at this late state in its term – to implement a communications policy. Not since the death of David Thompson has the government been able to establish a coherent and cogent dialogue with the LOCAL media. Has it occurred to the DLP hierarchy by now that ALL utterances about the CADRES poll by government ministers and close others will be placed under the microscope?  

BU is not a fan of election polls but like the ‘Exam’ there is no alternative to scientifically measure the mood of the electorate. Again, BU is not a fan of many of Peter Wickham’s ‘positions’ but his poll results over the years have always been close to the mark. His mentor Pat Emmanuel must be pleased. Last general election BLP members were ‘cussin’ and the DLPites were singing Wickham’s praises. How things have changed after only one term.

If BU were in Stuart’s position Wickham’s poll would have created by now the need to schedule a strategy session with the parliamentary group and other key persons in the DLP before weekend. Barbadians, except DLP hacks are not surprised at CADRES findings, understandable in an austere economic climate.

Prime Minister Stuart may be a nice guy and noble in his intentions. A leader must lead. Stuart must think on these things.

1. Fruendel will lose his seat, but Owen will not be the PM. It will be a stalmate results. 🙂

2. To Sargeant:
    There you go again; yes Freundel is opposite to Thompson. Do we need to detail the Clico and the other nefarious acts by your man Thompson. It is being said in some circles that if Thompson had not died it would have been cat piss and pepper. Both Owen and Freundel are truly gentlemen to your straw dog, Sarge.

3. “To Island Gal:
    Stop with this Mia thing; join the BLP and I would join and support you for leader. You have more substance.’

Lemmie doa’t mek muh start cussing yuh dis early mawning, it too early fuh dat kinda behaviour. How de rass yuh want tah tell muh tah stop dis MIA ting? Who de rass yuh tink I is? HUH? Bruddah man yuh cahn tell muh how to tink and how tah speak! YOU ARE OUT OF PLACE!

4. @Lemuel

Au contraire my friend it is not for me to like Freundel, it is for the Bajan public to shower him with affection. Freundel ( and I can call him that) although he occupies the most powerful office in the land and has been around politics for decades is still perceived as an unknown quantity. Freundel can be described as austere and reserved while Bajans like their leaders to be loud and almost bombastic so Freundel doesn’t fit the mould.

All leaders come with warts, the public is often prepared to overlook some of those warts if they like you and perhaps that is Freundel’s Achilles heel, the public may respect him but they don’t like him (as a leader).

5. To Island Gal:
    I know you were behaving too proper for too long. Mia is a lost cause, politically.

6. To Sargeant:
    Unlike Island Gal, you can take a pulling of the leg. But Island Gal shall always be bad behave.

7. This blog has now become an integral part of the “silly seasons” and as such is now pretty useless as a source for reasoned debate, in fact it now largely resembles the main stream media.

Its all about who is up and who is down, party hacks and operatives trading insults.

BU, it was good while it lasted.

8. @old school
    In every brew there will be substance, froth and an after taste. Discerning tasters will be able to sift through the froth, enjoy the substance and accept the after taste for what it is. Visionaries will aim to find ways to reduce the froth and after taste and provide more substance in the future.

I hope you’ll continue to engage us.

9. “The Dlp must act now”, ” The DLP won’t win with Stuart as the leader”, repeatedly I read thst DLP needs to act on the Cadres poll. But act how…..?
    Scenario 1 is that Stuart jumps instead of being pushed. He hands over the leadership to Sinckler or Inniss. How likely is this to happen?
    Scenario 2 : Stuart is pushed. But, pushed how? Certainly “the eager 11” can’t go to the GG. That scenario is not an option, won’t work.
    That leaves another “no confidence ” scenario. In which case, since Stuart decided not to jump, he will have to call an election.
    If this scenario plays out, the DLP’s pr campaign is going to be of the utmost importance. The spin they put on forcing out Stuart.
    It might very well be the only way the DLP stands a change of winning the election, because as it stands now they lose.
    However, party unity is PERCEIVED to be stonger in the DLP than BLP, but with a no confidence scenario the DLP tsands to lose that edge over the BLP.
    Interesting times, however, not sure how the country as a whole stands to benefit from all this.

10. old onion bags Avatar

The word…Onions is hush…….sssssssssssssssh …..others take note

11. @Old School

What is your point? Politics like religion is emotive but as observing asserts pearls of wisdom will have to be searched out.

@Sargeant

Are you saying that the DLP should play dead in the intervening period before general election is called?

12. “To Island Gal:
    I know you were behaving too proper for too long. Mia is a lost cause, politically.”

Le Mule….I have to go back to that old name because you have gone back to that old behaviour. If MIA is a lost cause politically then YOU are a lost cause genetically.

13. The BLP election playbook fell off a truck, read it here first:

– Arthur will do sweet sounding speeches before familiar audiences about transformation as his means of communicating.He will remain general and avoid anything controversial. He will try to stay above the fray.
    The role of the Nation newspaper will be paramount in this communications strategy. Expect a continued all out daily onslaught by the Nation’s columnists on the DLP to assist Arthur’s case in the court of public opinion.Mascoll’s column will be the weekly ecconomic attack dog in this strategy.

– Promise tax relief without any mention of massive spending cuts or sacrifice. As he said once “everyone wants to go to heaven but noone wants to die”. Promise fuel subsidy, give back allowances –

– Convince gullible people that Constituency Councils are a major part of government expenditure and can be cut while plan behind the scenes how to retain them with a different title after the election.

– Keep CLICO as innuendo and smear to bash the late David Thompson because after all, he is not here to defend himself.

– Work behind the scenes to get your wealthy private donors on track with promises of contracts, board chairmanships, etc – In other words talk transformation but practise the same old politics.

– Hold His nose and pretend to like Mia Mottley because apparently some people in the public still do.

– Blame the DLP for everything conceivable in Barbados even if your party put some of the mess in place.It is said that Bajans have short memories.

– Blame the DLP for tourists not spending and say that you will get the high end tourists here quickly.

– Avoid any head to head with Chris Sinckler in the house of Assembly.

As the weeks go by, you will see every single one of these points played out continuously.

14. Mia cannot be a lost cost if she is trailing less than 5% behind Arthur.

15. @ !

Come on !, are you serious, have you really though over what you wrote before posting it?

And yes, the BLP election playbook fell off a truck, and you picked it up last campaign, because the same things you are accusing the BLP of doing, you did last election.

During the last election campaign, the DLP went on a smear campaign, insinuating that the BLP parliamentarians were corrupt; mention was continually being made to forensic audits; there was reference to a cheque deposited by Arthur, that all and sundry on this blog never failed to mention; Thompson went overseas and talked about tax-payers money in foreign accounts, and I heard John Lovell with this recently; there was a constant talk about “the mess” that was found; the inability to perform or get results was blamed on the BLP, the recession, or both.

When the mood was different and the DLP was pushing “Time for Change”, was Thompson not given the privilege to speak at many functions, so much so that it seem as though he was the prime minister at the time?

And don’t talk about wealthy private donors, did not the DLP have the largest campaign in the history of campaigns? Where did this money come from?

Are CBC and the Advocate not doing the same thing you are accusing the Nation of doing? Are not John Lovell, Maureen Holder and Rosemary Alleyne doing the propaganda job at CBC for the DLP. Hve you checked the CBC Evening News and People’s Business lately?

Talk about short memories? Surely you jest, you can do better than this.

16. While the legacy of Errol Barrow will always live on, the DLP is still trying to use him name as a plus for votes. I find three things wrong with that (1) If after 25 years of a man’s death, and 50 years after free education, and46 years after independence, a party still is relying on this to abtain votes, they have done nothing on their own. (2) Ask the average young person about Errol Barrow and he/she might have heard the name but knows little of what he did, therefore to be pushing the Barrow line every elections is wasting time. ( 3) The new DLP needs to find their own legacy, after 50 years, there is nothing the party can identify themselves with.

17. !

Wow, copied and pasted from the DLP in 2007. Are you also BLPNation critic, you write and sound alike.

Na, na ,nuh, na, nuh, the Dems are desperate!

18. This is an SOS to our friend, millertheanuaki, I have not seen you on the blog recently and I hope you are well. If you do not want to blog, just let David know that you are well.
    Best regards.

19. @ Scout,
    Ask the average young person about Errol Barrow and he/she might have heard the name but knows little of what he did, therefore to be pushing the Barrow line every elections is wasting time……………………

Do not say so, yeah… VOB carried an interview with a little primary school boy last year before Independence Day and the little boy said that Barrow gave his blood for we to become independant. I nearly crashed my car when I heard that. So the DLP teachers in our system or if he is being raised in a DLP home must be brainwashing these impressionable minds at the primary level.

20. orlando grazette Avatar
    orlando grazette

just testing the system

21. “Sandra Husbands is a woman of substance and I do hope that she is successful even though out of all the politicians in the DLP, Donville seems to be the only one with some balls.”
    the problem with these johnny come lately politicians is that they are not committede to anything other than themselves. they have no loyalty or patienceand hence flirt from constituency to constituency hoping for instant success. Mr inniss has connected already like Mr toppin, Mr michael Lashley, Mr denis kellman . miss Mottley and even Mr gline clarke at down to earth level and who could possibly attract votes from the other side. mrs husbands should have continued courting mr blackett’s constituency. her chances there would have been better than against mr inniss. mr grant after a creditable showing against mr jones ran away and exposed a new comer who also performed creditably and from reports on the ground had a good chance of unseating mr jones given the present circumstances but he has run away and exposed mr jones to another neophyte and emboldening his chances of re-election again.

22. old onion bags Avatar

@ Prodigal
    I now come home and turn on my radio Brass Tacks..and I cannot believe what I am hearing.These people (DEMS)..attacking Wickham about the poll still…(Arthur a regular…eat humble pie I hear)..others still questioning the man’s qualifications and the legitimacy of the poll sample..What -D-brass bowl we hearing ? These people could be right in their head ?
    Continue wise people……we love it so ..continue ….the polls wrong ..all ya right…DLP going win.. comprehensively..WATCH!.

23. old onion bags Avatar

Yeah Miller (D boss)
    Supp Dawg…..we here wondering ( like Prodigal)….send out a holla..

24. “Do not say so, yeah… VOB carried an interview with a little primary school boy last year before Independence Day and the little boy said that Barrow gave his blood for we to become independant. I nearly crashed my car when I heard that. So the DLP teachers in our system or if he is being raised in a DLP home must be brainwashing these impressionable minds at the primary level”

all part and parcel of the DLP’s brain washing exercise which had its genesis at the DLP’s academy of politics and which was passed on to the children of membership in the homes and schools. it was not unfamiliar to hear dlp leaning teachers inculcating in children that ‘ had not for mr barrow they would not have been educated”

25. I do have absolute right to question the methodly which saysthat 38%of peoplesays that the BLP stands achance of winning and suggest that 50% says owen is the preffered there is a leader .there is a definte contracdiction there.

26. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

“- Keep CLICO as innuendo and smear to bash the late David Thompson because after all, he is not here to defend himself.”

wait? Arthur write the report about Clico and the $3.3mill? did not know that. thanks for telling me !

27. old onion bags Avatar

@ (not BU)
    Wait these peoples fa real ?..Hear Miss P ( Brass Tacks)..she questioning the polls also…..packa brainy wackas….Bushie I know you call a spade a spade and don’t indulge in such nonsense…..D wack don’t include you. But whata I hera….ouch ouch ouch…lol..this is a laugh…..
    When last elections..Wickham polls predict 20-10…they were all laughs…..we didn’t stoop to this level to dispute the polls …nor castigate Wickham….but now ..the script flip….we hearing this nonsense…
    Guess what he was right then..20-10….and know what ..most probably RIGHT NOW !

28. Observing (and awaiting the bell) Avatar
    Observing (and awaiting the bell)

they are two separate variables measuring two distinct things that may or may not be related. The poll measured mood, based on separate factors, NOT the correlation between them. How you use the separate results to extrapolate is another matter. I really can’t put it any simpler at this time.

29. Interesting also to listen to Minister Kellman calling in to the afternoon talk show to quiz Wickham. If we are to judge by Kellman and Lashley initial response the government has taken a defensive position.

If we interpreted the analysis correctly CADRES is using two different data sets here. In essence you are comparing gooseberries with breadfruits.

30. old onion bags Avatar

@ aca
    You see all this noise and disharmony by these DLP supporters.. it reminds me….eva see a sardine tot retriever when it get hit by a motor lorry…you hear …lot of squealing and hollaring (aca)…. before the mongrel bound for cover and succumbs to the inevitable, somewhere by a stan pipe or gutter bank… these ungratefuls reminds me of such…

31. old onion bags Avatar

Think aca did not know that…she like that…..weird.

32. @ David
    At the moment they migh tnot have a strategy yet to deal with the results of the poll.
    I never understood why Sinckler made that comment that he NEVER wants to become PM. However, the party faithfulls will forgive him if he flipflops “for the good of the Party”.
    Furthermore, I believe Inniss is out of the island.

33. @Independent

There is too much at stake not to be calculating in the messages the government wants to send. In fact it runs counter to PM Stuart’s style. Frankly it is all a little confusing.

34. Stuart’s style?? LOL, come on David, do you mean that it’s his style to make snap and decisive decisions which show his effective leadership? Not really….
    Add to this, that party unity in the DLP is nothing more than a perception.
    Communication has never been Stuart’s forte. The Party needs to hire someone to do their PR.

35. Observing (and awaiting the bell) Avatar

“Frankly it is all a little confusing”

That sums up the DLP’s political operations since the illness of Thompson.

Day three and no press release, response, or talking point from the ruling party.Well well.

36. Observing (and awaiting the bell) Avatar

So it’s now officially GG Belgrave. Congrats sir. I wonder if this “announcement” was intended to change the perception of being “slow to act,” considering that it was promised in January. lol.

37. I had planned to let the Dems self destruct on this thread but the Dems are so unbelievable, I had to add my little piece.

In 2008, they laughed at the Boxhill poll which showed the BLP in the lead, they regalled the Wickham poll, now all of a sudden they are tearing down Wickham. Polls dont vote, Mr 5 and 10 say. But wait under which rock he now crawl from, he was in hiding and silent for months and we were not hearing him…we had to clean up the mess. Was he travelling?

The BLP needs to take lessons from the poll and get to work on the weak areas highlighted in the data. The Dems are going to left this country in such a mess that it is going to take a great deal to put right. What they would need to do is to bring all the facts and sordid details to the public and let them know what MESS they inherit.

38. The fact that wickham has to go on atalk show and explain the method of conducting this poll shows how cofusing and contracdictory it is

39. It does not matter whether Stuart is leading the party or not, a change in leadership will make no difference at this late stage because the main concern is the economy.

Chris Sinckler is the Minister of Finance and is responsible for the economy who we seldom hear from these days since the plot was exposed. It requires someone that the public and investors can have confidence in and none of the Dems fit that bill.

We know that they are borrowing money, we do not know how much or what it is being used for. We know know that they are using million from NIS without any accountability. In other words, we need a leader that we can have confidence in and who can get us out of this mire and put some smiles back on the faces of Barbadians.

40. @ac

Actually it shows how hypocritical we are if the methodology has not changed by CADRES in the last 15 years.

41. old onion bags Avatar

What a sad sad day in the life of politics.When we have to lie and set about on a strategy to deceive and discredit the truth..and with it a son of the soil reputation.Ac ..now I see what perception and truth is all above .So much for Caravell …But guess what people not as daft as you think…..the word on the street confirmed by a poll means one thing in my books..ONE TERM…lie cheat..steal its all there….
    Wilderness baby…..deserving it more each day….words marked!

42. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting PDC at 7:01 a.m. “Both DLP and BLP have no serious role to play in the future existence of this country.”

Let me add, the PDC has no serious role to play in the future existence of this country.

43. @Prodigal

No! prodigal Mr. Wickham states that leadership is of preference by barbadians and next economy that is why there is a window of opportunity being given to the DLP by wickham which shows that that the BLP only have a 38% chance of winning however in order for them to win the leader must be change. also in the projected numbers it is interesting to see that if stuar was removed it would be almost a dead heat between chris and OSA which in time with chris being seen as the most likable would erode some of OSA numbers not forgetting that the youth vote would also come into play in favour of Sinckler so let the games begin it ain’t over till it;s over.

44. @ac

Your analysis differs with Wickham. The leadership issue and the economy are intertwined. You cannot separate one from the other in the minds of the electorate. Even if the leadership is changed the damage it would cause to how the DLP is seen in the eyes of the voter would have to be reassessed in another poll. A concern for the DLP is that none of their leaders can say they have safe seats. The DLP needs to embrace the results of the polls and strategize accordingly.

Three days have passed and the government still has not issued a coherent response to the poll. At this point the BLP has a clear advantage and rest assured Arthur will make his move on this matter shortly. Look for Mottley to play a key role. The BLP rank and file is watching Mottley closely and she has a chance to win the support of BLP members by showing unconditional support to Arthur and the BLP. o do so is to train her eyes on a future move.

45. old onion bags Avatar

Wait this nonsense still going on led by one ac the jester………..ummm
    Trying to discredit Wickham’s polls ..wish you all luck….why don’t you give Arthur a call ..asking how foolish he feels after having to ..back peddling while Wickham squash his ass all over Brass Tacks…Fools Circus.. I call it…plain for all to see….Discredit a polls ..that successfully predicts the outcome of every elections within the Caribbean…..you daff-o-dills..lol.

46. @Balance

all part and parcel of the DLP’s brain washing exercise which had its genesis at the DLP’s academy of politics and which was passed on to the children of membership in the homes and schools. it was not unfamiliar to hear dlp leaning teachers inculcating in children that ‘ had not for mr barrow they would not have been educated”
    This is indeed the “silly season”, I had to look twice to make sure the submission was from “balance” instead of “Unbalanced”. There is a word for this type of thinking it is called paranoia, if it continues seek professional help.

47. Balance’s comments were based on a report of a little boy saying on radio that Errol Barrow gave his blood to win independence for Barbados, if you did not understand the above extract.

Bearing that in mind, balance’s statement is a fair comment. Who would have told a young boy that Barrow gave his blood to gain independence for Barbados? How could a sane educated adult indoctrinate a young man with such a lie.

Understand the context before you condemn.

48. Why did it take nearly five full months for the PM to announce a GG? I mean, Judge Belgrave was acting all this time, the PM promised a GG by January, is Judge Belgrave a second choice?

Anyway, we must say congratulations to Judge Belgrave.

49. does a poll swing left or right depending on the questions asked, and the structure of those questions? Can one carry out another poll tomorrow and receive an opposite result?

50. ac,
    If it makes you feel good to catch at straws, be my guest. Sooner or later Freundel HAS to call an election. We will all see then if Wickham was right or wrong, wont we????

Leave a Reply to balanceCancel reply