Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

Take heed that ye do not your alms before men to be seen of them: otherwise ye have no reward of your Father which is in heaven.

2. Therefore when thou doest thine alms, do not sound a trumpet before thee, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and in the streets, that they may have glory of man. Verily I say unto you, They have their reward.

3. But when thou doest alms, let not thy left hand know what thy right hand doeth.

4. That thine alms may be in secret: and thy Father which seeth in secret himself shall reward thee openly.

That admonishment which was taken from The Book of Matthew 6: 1 – 4, and attributed to our Lord Jesus Christ is as relevant today as it was 2000 years ago when Christ walked the earth in human form. Nowadays, it seems that politicians exploit every situation to give themselves an advantage at the polls. In so doing they pay scant disregard for the feelings of anyone else.

It is commendable and expected when Government move to assist the less fortunate members of our society. But it is utterly disgraceful when politicians generate an unseemly spectacle to announce to the world that they are doing their duty in assisting the poor. I don’t see them jumping in front of the cameras when they give big tax breaks to the rich.

Just recently, the Urban Development Commission assisted a family to replace their home after it had fallen into disrepair. Shamefully, the Commission and MP for the City Patrick Todd ensured that they were paraded before the CBC television news cameras, and for those who missed it this family was then splashed across the front page of the Nation newspaper.

I would like to say to politicians, by all means give to the poor, but giving to the poor is not about bringing glory to the giver or in this case the agent of the giver. Poor people should not be held up for public ridicule and shamed on television just to make some politician look good. Please give and give generously, but think of the self esteem of the recipients. Put yourselves in the recipient’s place, and then ask if you would like to be paraded on television and on the front pages of the newspapers if you were in that condition. It is even more hurtful when you consider not a red cent toward the project came from the pocket of any politician: it was done with public funds.

Mr. Todd I thought better of you: what you did was distasteful to say the least.

1. @enuff

Let us hope the GM is not using ‘wuk fuh wuk’ criteria.

2. There we go again, the CBC TV8 news just started and the DLP are canvassing for the majority of the news cast. I know as the ruling party they would be given priority, but I’ve lost the interest of watching the news every night just to listen to four or five candidates making speeches. If this is all the financial support this government is getting, they really in trouble; tell them try sagicor, see if they can help,since there is no more Clico, and the powers that be not parting with family first money with Stuart at the helm of the DLP.

3. old onion bags Avatar

Glad you raise this flag pole tonight…..Onions usually does…Hear Kellman..Well he finally admit this Govt has been operating like a barrel of Crabs…true true…hope everybody hear…then sought to step back ..Too late Kelly …we know you all climbing up on each other and can’t find a way out..even ac, like she stop begging Ole Onions for sum of the BLP ideas to save face…..oh its a sorry lot ..one sordid lot

4. @David

You sounding like you opposed to wuk fuh wuk!

5. @observing

It way not the most scientific of a criteria but it ‘wuked’ for Clarke.

6. yup. It sure wuked “gline and coming”

7. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

When politicians openly identify with giving handouts from the public purse as though they are giving their own money, that is a form of Wuk fuh Wuk. They are buying votes with Government’s money. They should be aware by now that Barbadians are not foolish: they could take the handout and still vote you out. Remember Arthur rushed the Public Service Bill through in the dying days of the last Parliament so that 3000 temporary officers in the Public Service would be appointed permanently, probably hoping that they would have voted for him. It did not work.

8. Pride in a charitable act is not charity. It is Pharisaism. It’s about feeling good and being seen to be ‘good’. But then, that’s politics, as CF says, and, for that matter, what passes for ‘life’ in the rest of us.

9. However, I have to suggest that if the other party had been in power, they would have done exactly the same thing.”
    how can you be so sure that the other party would have done the same thing and furthermore, you are missing the point, it goes beyond whether what either party would do; the publicity is in poor taste.

10. “It is not at all inconceivable that a top lawyer and a silk of some years’ standing would leave an estate of that amount, simply from his practice of law”

how is a top lawyer defined in barbados? i have always heard that mr thopson was a top politician but never a top lawyer. lawyers like maurice king, sir henry forde, sir richard cheltnham, sir harold stjohn, sir david simmons are recognised as top lawyers because their services are required outside of these shores.

11. @ balance

you call it publicly for political reasons which you are hiding it is obvious that your political agenda is showing although you try to sell the idea of not being B or D. however whether publicity or not doesn’t the public have the right to know if the taxpayers money is being squandered like in the “good ole days of yore” under BLP rule one should appreciate when the politician give an accounting of the peoples business and if they are benefits derived from it to them so be it .no manshould lites a candle and hides it under a bushel.

12. Whyis so difficult to understand what Caswell is suggesting? All he is saying is that the politicians should not be involved in this process, it should be civil servants. The issue of accountability remains.

13. Interesting note in today’s newspaper where the NIS has put out a tender for private audit firms to bid to audit a backlog of financials for the period 2003 to 2009. How does this reconcile with Tony Marshall’s press statement?

What is going on here? The reason given is that the Auditor General’s Office is under resourced to do the job. What is happening with the most important fund in Barbados.

14. old onion bags Avatar

Boys ..I told ya… didn’t you hear it from Onions first? …All not well…NIS looking more like RIS (k)…we gotta be careful.

15. I have to agree with Caswell on this public humiliation of poor people. I hate to see it being done by Bee or Dee. It is bad, these people then have to live in a society like ours where people can be very unkind.

I hate to see it at Christmas time when every body giving the poor hampers but all of Barbados has to know. My church gives out hampers monthly to the needy and no one knows. This is how it can be done.

When I was on the PTA executive at one of my children’s schools, the executive set up a fund to help with poor children’s meals. The guidance councillor identified the needy children, a list was given to the canteen and the children would go and get their meals, breakfast and lunch, without anyone else knowing. I was happy then to introduce this caring for the poor to the executives of two other school and was happy that it is still in place. That is how we should help the poor not blast it all over the news.

I am curious though, if only one person in this household works, who is going to pay the light bill and water bill for this five bedroom house? I am just asking!

16. @David
    What’s worst, is that we were promised recent financials by same Marshall and recently Robinson. If we are now struggling to go back to 2003 jut to make it up to 2009… my word…

17. To be accurate, Marshall and Robinson promised recent financial statements, not recent audited financials.

The ad is to audit accounts from 2003 to 2009, which evidently are now complete.

Nothing wrong there.

18. Thanks Inkwell

We have been told that the Auditor General can’t handle the job. Can we read any thing into this decision? There is the cost of this audit given the probable scope.

19. David;
    As a rank layman re. finance and someone who depends on my pension from NIS, I can read something into it. What I read is that the Government assumed that the NIS’ money bags are full and bottomless and adequate to support such speculative investments as Four Seasons, even though audited statements were not available since 2003.

I hope they are right.

20. I stand corrected Inkwell. Much thanks.

Leave a Reply to DavidCancel reply