The name of the person who made the submission withheld on request, obviously a DLP supporter – BU

Leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur relaxing on the East Coast on May Day

As we draw nearer to a General Election in Barbados, the focus will be directed more seriously on the party leader of the ruling DLP and that of the opposition BLP.

The reason for this is based on the fact that, in Barbados elections, the influence of the party leader has always been of paramount importance. In this regard therefore the recent record of Mr Owen Arthur as a member of Parliament must be placed under the microscope: has he demonstrated that he is a fit and proper person to lead this country at this crucial time in our history?

In examining this question, one is forced to take note of the fact that the recent debate on The Employment Rights Bill took place without contribution by Arthur, the leader of the opposition. This is of significance since it was the BLP Government under Mr Arthur that introduced the said Bill in  Parliament in 2002; since that time it had been referred to a Select Committee of Parliament .

But Mr Arthur’s continued absence must be a cause for general concern; He has Not, since 15 January 2008 to the present spent more than a total of 10 hours  in parliament. His presence has really been restricted to an exercise of “getting his name marked”.

Indeed Mr Arthur often leaves parliament before the chaplain whose function is merely to say the prayers at the start of the session. Against this background, Mr Arthur’s PHYSICAL FITNESS must be scrutinised. It is known that of late he has had to use a walking cane for support and he has complained of a back problem. Has this been a contributory factor since these problems often prevent one from sitting or standing for long periods?

In the current debate he delegated the job of leading the Opposition effort to Mottley and Marshall, in the Upper House, to Symmonds. Surprisingly Symmonds contribution was VERY supporting of government. The result is that both Mottley and Marshall’s contributions were exposed as being out of synch with that of Symmonds.

Recently Miss Mottley was given the surprising role of major spokesman in the Estimates Debate; Mr Arthur himself has often said that the debate of the Estimates is of much greater importance than the Budget Debate. When therefore he allowed Miss Mottley to play the lead role after presiding over her ignominious removal as party leader, we must therefore question the sincerity of this decision. The upcoming Budget Debate will put his physical fitness further to the test. One thing is  certain: Miss Mottley must know when she is being used as a stop-gap to cover for her fierce enemy Owen Arthur .

Recently too , the BLP held its May day bus excursion and  the published photo of a very tired looking Owen Arthur, uncomfortably reclined in a lounge chair and holding out his hand to a young family member, did not make for happy viewing .

1. Arthur’s political campaign of empty rhetoric continues- He calls for “Sustainable Funding For Tertiary Education”- Has he now awoken from exile and dicovered this issue.Obviously he should check with the previous Ministers Of Finance and find out why this plan was never implemented when all could see that UWI tuition rolls would increase and the subsequent cost. Maybe he was just SLOW TO ACT.
    His suggestion – divert the money from NIS contributions – well, well, well – Where is Peter Boos and these fake defenders of the NIS Fund when you need them?
    O sorry, Boos like Serenader develops laryngitis when the BLP is in office. Stupse!

2. Irene Sandiford-Garner Avatar
    Irene Sandiford-Garner

@Scout your strategy of prefacing your predictable pronouncement of what you would wish my fortunes to be in 2013 with your optimism of a victory for me in 2008 is lame. You are a Barbados Labour Party supporter. Just as Old Onion Bags is. Barbados Labour Party supporters outside of Pain’s camp only recognised me on election night.

The video is funny OOB. And not surprisingly, typically puerile. Pain exhibited that same “schoolboyish” machismo and walked around with a red towel and smelling salts for me on January 15, 2008. Talk is that he still uses them…

What is troubling is that in 21st Century Barbados there are persons who would describe themselves as patriotic and yet believe that these type of politicians are assets, and relevant to the good governance and acceptable representation of the people of this country. That is truly unfortunate.

@David, your efforts at hosting this Election Watch are admirable, but it seems as if these are the same handful of people – though they change names occasionally – “having out”. It’s as if the toothpaste has been squeezed back into the tube.

I do not enjoy these environments because I come on with a preconceived aversion to cowards. I find engaging “ghosts” non-productive. Especially within a political context. I have never had a difficulty expressing my views and using my name to do so. I did it for seven years straight as a columnist before I was a politician and years before as a journalist in newsrooms. Not everyone will agree with you, nor will everyone like you. But at least you show that you have the courage of your convictions.

I find it particularly distasteful when these “discussion” descend to cursing the dead and outright lies.It reminds me of the politicians who lie and take potshots on the floor of the house with the full knowledge that they cannot repeat same outside.

It takes a rare period of downtime for me to be on here. I found the irony of Prodigal Son’s annoyance with the anonymity of the post hilarious though.

And as far as my personal political situation is concerned, the people of St.Andrew will be the arbiters.

3. Irene Sandiford-Garner Avatar
    Irene Sandiford-Garner

*these types

4. Chris Halsall Avatar

@The scout: “How many times did you ask me that question and how many times I have answered you that “fly-overs” was and still is the answer to the problem at Warrens, Lime junction especially. PLEASE READ READ READ; don’t ask me the same question over and over again. Forty-five million dollars has already been spent at Warrnes alone and all that has happened is the problem made worse.

Sorry.

Read what?

Answering exactly would be helpful.

Thanks.

5. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Irene

You realise that your fifth paragraph could be referring to me, especially the last two sentences. I did not know that you admired people like me.

6. Caswell; It also means she also admires people like the entity formerly known as Chris Halsall. Perhaps you and he should duel it out.
    Anyhow, the post shows the spunk and drive that could could arguably counteract a national BLP swing in St Andrew. Great post!

7. Irene please… you imagine a Government Senator out here having it o ut? That is the low level of which the DLP is known. She would probably want to pull a gun on someone just like David Estwick.
    This woman has a State Ministry in health for special projects and never do one iota of work and wanta come on this blog and depend her piss poor record. She and Byer sucks are two blondes alike.

8. old onion bags Avatar

@ Irene S Garner
    Stupesss…….Ole Italian Man laughing is just that. When you were on your rant oust “the short man”..and rid The Pain….we took that as is ..just that..But no…tonight I see you on a dog bite all tails attack….only because Georgie had to fly to Itally..to find Mr.Truth….OR Wickhan the neutron DROP A BOMB on Brass Tacks…..BOOM. What ever seems to have creep up the socks tonight….you have awaken..and know what is before you ALL…..You should be thanking David’s EWatch for facilitating the wakeup call instead of the condescending mantra to everyone from Scout to….not missing a fellow ‘ghost ‘..but is alright….now you know its no moonlight picnic up Bellepaine…(Donna will see to that)….but a day time excursion in a Rocklyn going down Cleavers Hill t brek neck speed….longer the wait, more the desperation and uncanny thoughts to bail…PEACE n Love for we ALL love ya….(politics just a game) .

P.S Beware of that one Caswell ee dangerous….lol

9. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Rommel

I am sure Irene does not need me to defend her, as you can see she is doing fine by herself, but I think that your last comment is unfair. Are you saying that she is better than the rest of us so she should not come on BU? Personally, I welcome her, it speaks to her courage. Maybe other politicians are not articulate enough to deliver on this blog in their own names. Rather they use pseudonyms or enlist people like AC, CCC and our learned friend, An Observer to do their bidding. Definitely not literally speaking, she has more balls than the rest of her colleagues on either side.

10. old onion bags Avatar

Hear hear…..Caswie they too will… soon as the bell rings..but you know what… then, we wont have time to listen in the heat of things…Irene Baby ..ya got brawn !

11. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Onions

What do you call dangerous, I speak the truth as I see it. I tend to call a spade a spade, whether it is a DEM spade or a BLP spade or a union spade. I was going to call you a “black christian” but you would have to see my demeanour to really judge! And I definitely will not apologise for the remarks.

12. quote Harry Mo-The Market Blender | May 17, 2012 at 6:38 PM |

And Freundel said that Owen is a nobody without the title of PM.
    ———————————–
    If he said so in truth, he is a Dog and indicates what is wrong with Barbados, the snobbery , the class consciousness and class distinction stink. He should know better than to speak those words
    ——————–

If he said that, it speaks VOLUMES as to what he thinks of the average citizen…we are ‘nobodies’?

Well, he is the jockey who lost the reins and the horse bolting left, right and centre.

Hhahahaaaaa!!!!

13. It is amazing how Sir Roy has phrased the reason to support why he will not apologize. Sometimes we say things and we don’t mean it in the way it was received and we apologize anyway. For example you say something to your wife which was received badly and the process of trying to make good (heal) you apologize. You don’t apologize because you did not mean what you said but that it was phrased badly and cause hurt. It is how human forge relationships.

In this case we are told because Sir Roy is not a racist and therefore he shouldn’t apologise even though we all accept that the remarks were crude and irrelevant.

Caswell BU agrees with your position 100%.

14. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Thank you David. I was pleasantly surprised by the large numbers that either call me or meet me on the streets who agree with my position. Barbadian are not dumb, they just prefer to say nothing out of fear or otherwise.

15. An Observer.. Avatar

@ Caswell .
    Boy it seems that An Observer ” has stuck in your throat like a fish bone ” .
    Thanks for the back-hand complement of considering me ” LEARNED ” even though I do not consider that I can be a ” friend ” . Peace as usual

16. old onion bags Avatar

@ Caswell
    Anom……the reason why (unlike you) we have ran to David paling shed …remaining Ghosts (Irene) … out of the fear of being victimized.But on another coal Caswie.. why the trend to always hound..(blackwhite ) christian ? Had I been a Jimmy Swaggert, Cletho Dollar or a Potter..man I won’t even need to see if it was a Caserta smile ( not saying I in that calibre )…..but you know what Caswie…again is all good….black is a always …being used to denote derogatory……You see father Morris…most controversial….

17. An Observer.. Avatar

@ Irene Sandiford-Garner .
    Would you like to suggest why the posting has attracted such ” vitriol ” ? The claim that Mr Arthur has clocked up no more than TEN HOURS in attendance over the period of the present parliamentary session does seem to be a ridiculous piece of politicing ; would you be able to shed any light on it . Peace ..

18. If Arthur seldom goes to Parliament it is a bad example for a former Prime Minster who is begging us to return him to power.
    When George Pain did not utter a word for years in Parliament we rightfully condemned him the same applies to Arthur.
    Mia who he and Pain ambushed is a frequent Parliament attendee who earns the taxpayers money.
    Arthur cannot be allowed to get away with disrespecting the highest court in the land.

19. old onion bags Avatar

…to hear Kenny penny jack a benny say “outside ya go”…me thinks not

20. @Irene
    “I did it for seven years straight as a columnist before I was a politician and years before as a journalist in newsrooms. Not everyone will agree with you, nor will everyone like you. But at least you show that you have the courage of your convictions.”

Do we have the type of society that encourages the average person to publicly state their views and opinion without tacit or implicit “victimisation”? Have we raised our children and young adults to be critical minded, expressive, analytical and forthright about their passions and convictions?

Bear in mind that most persons that have their opinions are neither journalists, nor lawyers, nor columnists, nor public figures but the average man on the street or in the home or int he shop who wishes to have a voice where loudspeakers of integrity, virtue and justice are absent. I agree, some here do push the envelope and hide behind pseudonyms, but, amongst that are those who care about country, wish best for all politicians and find this as the only medium at this time to vent, vacillate or ventilate on their concerns and issues. To paint all of us as “cowards” is a tad harsh in my opinion.

With regards to the type of politicians we desire or tolerate, we can only judge and opine based on the example set over the past umpteen years. I”m sure you may agree somewhat that this example (both past and current) is less than stellar in some instances and downright horrid in others. You have been a pleasant exception and I pray you continue in that vein.

I’ll just reinforce something I said before….some ghosts are angels in disguise. May those rare periods of downtime increase ever so marginally so that we all can learn from each other. And may your work with your arbiters influence your “margin” in the manner I trust you desire.

21. old onion bags Avatar

Hear Kellman
    On the radio Brass Tacks talking bare sh#te…..Petrol gone up in Barbados..while Oil is at an ALL TIME LOW….again his mouth runs him in trouble speaking of what he knows little of….Stetson Babb to his rescue.. with a convenient explanation…(.locked in with forward buying price.)…..How would Stetson know what the Fwd Price for this batch is?…DLP apologist in tandem again…

22. onions,

Kellman back on talking s….. as usual. Does he not have a ministry to run?
    we all know that Fumble obliged him by giving him a half day ministry that is why he has so much time to call Brasstacks.This man has gone pass being annoying!

23. Is this You ? Avatar

The One Man Union Caswell, what breed of clown are you ?

Why is it that you complain about anyone who utters a word in defence of a gov’t who is doing a good job but you are unable to utter a word on those who support your party I say your party despite your lack of relationship with your leader Mottley !

Wipe the cold from you eyes before casting blame.

This gov’t for you is not one that the likes of you Hallam Nicholls can manipulate and corrupt so I understand your anger with them but were you honest with yourself you to would praise the this gov’t for the excellent work it has done be it in Housing Social Caring, Health, the Economy as despite the runt Arthur claiming this economy is a model economy for we have maintained extremely good foreign exchange levels they have kept people working, they are building vast numbers of housing solutions for our people the hospital is miles ahead of where it was when Dr Do Little was the Minister as he seemed to spend more time working on getting little boys to play with than serious work in taking care of Barbadian people.

24. old onion bags Avatar

If i were Kellman…. I would stop trying to help the others…..and mind my own seat……these are different days ..BE WARNED ! You might got to fall back to old ways too…..take care.

25. Yet another issue which should be clarified based on fact. Instead we have Kellman and Lammie Craig arguing on national airways. Call the damn parliament and read the relevant standing order.

26. I can’t understand how an MP expects to go into parliament and disrepects anyone then plea parliamentary privelege? This is not the first time and this member seems to believe he can say the worst thing and then be belligerent and obstinate! Then with the backing of those who are just like him refuse to comply with the “Chair”. I think its time for this “dinosauric” behaviour to be ridden from the hallowed chambers of the House! Members ought to be respectful at least! Shame on you Ronald!!

27. I find engaging “ghosts” non-productive. Especially within a political context. I have never had a difficulty expressing my views and using my name to do so. I did it for seven years straight as a columnist before I was a politician and years before as a journalist in newsrooms.”

Ha haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa, Senator Sandiford-Garner pleeeease. This is coming from a woman who allowed her government to fire people, including a Union shop steward, from her own constituency because they were known or perceived Bees.

28. What Kenny Worst heard was an aside, Kenny Worst should be listening to the person who was speaking.

You Dems like Pringles are unbelievable. I seem to remember all of “wunnah” taking the Pitbull’s side (yes tell me that that did not happen in chambers) when he pulled a gun on Dale Marshall, you all denied it until the pitbull admitted it happenend.

Asides are not meant for the Speaker’s ears. Kenny Worst could do with listening to tapes on speaking grammatically.

29. @author

Statement: the published photo of a very tired looking Owen Arthur, uncomfortably reclined in a lounge chair and holding out his hand to a young family member, did not make for happy viewing .

There is no one more tired looking and harder on the eyes that PM Stuart … Please

30. Sandiford-Garner why the eagerness to get Owen to attend Parliament?
    If Freundel aint come Parliament, no one misses him but if Owen aint come it is a big noise..

Who is the PrimeMinister. You recognise that all of you ministers are acting as though OSA is PM. Maybe that is indicative of something…

31. It such a shame ; so sad that when one a can’t win an argument there is this resorting to name calling!
    Meant for ears or not the point is that it was audible enough to be heard; does that take away from the fact that it was said by the said person? RUBBISH!! This animal-like( then again animals know what their limits and boundaries are) behaviour needs to stop in the house; we need BETTER AND so wunnah seh BETTER CAN BE DONE AND WILL BE DONE!! Ah wonder when wunnah plan to start showing this BETTER”or is this only for the stage of elections????

32. Enuff,
    The Senator does not have to use her name, that is a privilege David gives us, she can use the name…..bandit chaser… so she admits that she used her column in the Nation for political furtherance. Would you ever believe it. I wonder what the ‘nation critic” on this blog would say.

Since elections are in the air, I would like her to report to us what are her achievements as Parliamentary Secretary of QEH other than naming and shaming debtors. People are still complaining bitterly of the service and treatment they receive, the DLP was to fix all of that.

33. old onion bags Avatar

Pringles
    What you up to now ? Kenny penny Jack Benny…had better go back to school and get his grammar right.How come you always backing the wrong side doa ? Your parents must be D’s but a sensibler like you better blank all DEM…after seeing for yourself corruption of a colossal scale

34. Chris Halsall Avatar

@BU.David…

To cut to the chase, it seems there is an interest in the public knowing which MPs attended which sessions.

To the best of my understanding, this information is not publicly available without attending all the sessions, or paying money for the “Barbados Official Gazette”.

Is my understanding correct?

35. I saw a tired looking PM in both of today’s editions…..sitting next to Hillary and Stephen Lashley who looked well, he certainly did not look right. I thought someone on this blog said Owen was sick and walking with a cane, he looked very healthy in today’s paper and he was standing up.

36. @Chris

Not sure the info is available to the public.

37. Chris Halsall Avatar

@BU.David: “Not sure the info is available to the public.

But since the public pays for these people to do their jobs, shouldn’t it be available?

38. @Chris

Just another example where the people are made to feel like servants.

39. Chris Halsall Avatar

@BU.David: “Just another example where the people are made to feel like servants.

Then the people should refuse to accept such bullshit.

The elected, by definition, answer to the electorate.

40. Owen Arthur is better for Barbados
    Owen and the BLP must assumed the Prime Minister-ship of Barbados Now !!!1

41. Kellman’s ‘appearance’ on Brasstacks today was tres revealing.
    Firstly he suggested that the policies of the last government were the reason why this administration has failed to repair the houses damaged by Tomas. He basically argued that during the 14yrs of the BLP the focus was on cars and not houses, and as a result while there were 62,000 new cars the quality of the existing housing stock deteriorated due to neglect on the part of home owners. Sadly the Minister failed to mention how many new houses were built and or repaired (both by the state and private individuals); or how many of the 62,000 were NEW car owners.The Minister also somehow forgot to mention that the increase in automobiles was closely linked to the used-car business and on coming to power his government introduced policy that was favourable to this sector, though this should be negated by the pending amendment to the road traffic act as it relates to road worthy certificates. Let me declare that I am not about used car businesses.
    Secondly, he admitted that the B’dos government is still locked into high oil prices due to hedging.
    Then Minister Kellman made it clear that there will never be a fishing agreement between Barbados and Trinidad. I guess the bowl of soup gone cold!!

42. @pringles
    Point to the section of the standing orders that speaks to asides. Then we can have a discussion.

43. Enuff,

I was amazed at Kellman’s revelation. No wonder he dodged questions over the time he was ambassador from Phony Marshall and David Ellis. Remember his famous words….. are you all not getting flying fish??

What surprised me was that Stetson let that slip by. I tell you, Kellman should really keep his mouth shut…it is no lie what he over heard Pat Hoyos said. Lammie Craig said today Kellman has the record for rising on the most “point of order”.

We know for sure now that Kellman was out of his depth as ambassador.

44. @ caswell .
    ” I speak the truth as i see it ; i call a spade a spade ” .
    So you see everything wrong with people like AC ,CCC , AN OBSERVER
    ” doing the bidding ” of the Government politicians ; nothing is wrong with SCOUT, ENUFF , BALANCE , JUST ASKING , PRODIGAL SON , and all the rest who ” do the bidding ” of the BLP ? Caswell you are nothing but an empty fraud .

45. Poor you!!! I do my own bidding and call it as I see it and yes, I am a big supporter of the BLP,that is my democratic right. Do you have a problem with that? I certainly have no problem with you being a Dem

46. @old onions
    Did I ever give you the impression that I needed your guidance or approval on which side to “back”Thanks but no thanks for your help. Its amazing how some people want to vote for others!I do know right from wrong and I know that Ronald T is always challenging the chair with his pugnacious behavior on the rare occasions that he is visits the house.
    @observing
    What discussion do you want? Right or wrong behavior?You check the standing orders if you want info on asides.I know wrong when i see or hear it I dont know about you I dont see that it calls for any discussion!!!

47. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

Did I really read Clyde Mascoll in the newspaper in a weekly column where he is allowed to “play politics” and disguise it as economics complaining about his remarks being carried with a response from the person whom he is criticising.
    Every day in The Nation there is a drumbeat of criticism from Harry Russell on Monday to Albert Brandford and Pat Hoyos on Sunday.
    Every Sunday Sun is a cuss fest with Hoyos, Brandford and Ezra Alleyne using full page articles to campaign for the BLP.
    The Nation newspaper does not allow any person from The DLP to put an alternative view in a column. Mascoll is behaving like a spoilt brat.
    Imagine what he would say if the Nation had a columnist praising the government every day while slamming the opposition. The Nation newspaper continues to “eagerly” promote the BLP opposition.
    You will see snow in Barbados before Sanka Price, Harry Russell and Albert Brandford ever criticise Owen Arthur- therefore unless you come on this blog, you will never learn of his absenteeism or see any critical story.
    An opposition leader makes a very ordinary speech before the Employers Confederation and he is given 4 stories – 2 pages on Thursday, I page on Friday and Hoyos will kiss his “political butt” on Sunday as he usually does.
    Absolutely Shameful !

48. I fail to see that as a Opposition MP one always has to resort to despicable behavior in the house to draw attention to oneself as if this is the way to score points .Get up and debate the order paper and present your’position and stop resorting to diversionary tatics and name calling when you can win the debate.
    Its an unnecessary distraction and its a good thing that the youth of BIM dont seek guidance from MPS.

49. Here is why I could not vote for Owen Arthur and the BLP. He is displaying sheer hypocrisy in these difficult times so as to become Prime Minister again.
    Here is a quote from him from the recent speech at the BEC. “Arthur believes the Scotland District in St Andrew is a perfect place to start the transformation of the Barbados economy. He said the rehabilitation of the Scotland District will not only help us to address food security. It will allow us to ensure that the scenic charm and splendor of that section Barbados that adds so much to the appeal that Barbados offers, remains part of the quality experience that Barbados is in danger of losing.
    Can you believe this man?
    He first of all put a dump right in the middle of this scenic area. If he had retained the government in 2008, Greenland would be a landfill today.
    In the last eight years of his Government all of the fruit trees under cultivation at Haggatts
    were left to run into bush and vines.
    Mrs. Sandiford Garner don’t worry all the persons do not have short memories like onions et al.
    Onions and all others of such persuasion don’t worry I expect your usual reply which lacks thought.

50. @Clone

Arthur’s plan for the Scotland District has come out of Mascoll’s playbook. Mascoll has also been a big proponent of using technology to reclassify many of the water zone areas. Nothing wrong with Arthur changing position if they fit the times.

Leave a Reply to Prodigal SonCancel reply