Submitted by Charles Knighton
Sir Roy Trotman

When Epicurus wrote “Any philosopher’s argument which does not therapeutically treat human suffering is worthless” he showed, like Sir Roy Trotman, that even the very wise sometimes say foolish things. The purpose of all serious intellectual inquiry is surely to enable us to see things more truthfully, whether that soothes or disturbs us. As unfortunate as Sir Roy’s comments were however, according to some they provide another opportunity for Barbados to intelligently discuss the subject of race and truthfully deal with an issue that erupts geyser-like from time to time, occasioning brief comment before subsiding once again to simmer just below the surface.

But why place such a high value on truth? For sure, sometimes the truth might set you free, but on other occasions it might destroy you, shattering comforting illusions that make life tolerable. As T.S. Eliot memorably put it: “Humankind cannot bear very much reality.”

To justify the value of truth all you can do is make people attend to the role it plays in their lives and see if they can recognize how much it really matters to them. Just think about anything that you truly value, such as the love of your partner. Now ask yourself whether it would make a difference to you if your partner only pretended to requite your love and really lived a double life. Would you want to know the truth or would you rather live on in blissful ignorance? The answer is usually “it depends”, but most people, most of the time, would rather live honestly, authentically, in the truth than not.

Why is it then that when uncomfortable truths threaten to emerge, our instinct is usually to avert our gaze or move away so that we don’t see them? As Plato’s Socrates put it, we are ruled by two drives, one being an “innate desire of pleasure” and the other “an acquired judgement which aspires after excellence”. There is no law of the universe that states whether the desires of instinct or intellect should prevail. But if you think about it, I’m pretty sure you’ll recognize the truth about which one you believe should win the tussle, but is Barbados ready?

1. @Bushie

It is not like you to become swamped in the minutiae of the argument, lol.

Explain the CONTEXT for referring to the mans ethnicity again. How was it relevant? We all know now he is an Egyptian Jew, a persecuted group which has had to run hither thither and yon.

2. alexandervanroy Avatar
    alexandervanroy

As a public servant or official, you do not conduct yourself in a manner that becomes of you. Is Sir Roy Trotman an immigration official? In what context did he use the comment?

3. @ balance
    you have latched on the one part of my comment trying to get political mileage out of it. Donville Innis has to cut a path in this issue that would appease the international community and potential foreign investors to this country and that he did , i am not a stupidooo not to understand his intentions and there were clear but i would be a fool to believe that his intentions were to undermine the workers of barabados while at the same time debating for an Employment bill of Rights which put employers under the gun. so your question becomes null and void and it does not adequately connect the two issues as one in the same light!

4. the employment bill does not put employers under any more gun than they were under before and employees would continue to suffer the same indignities if the labour dept is not provided with the tools to ensure that workers rights are respected against unscrupulous employers. what certain aspects of the bill would do is constrain small businesses from expanding for fear of the penalties associated with providing stable employment.

5. yes i would agree that some of the missing tools in favour of the Employment bill should be strengthen however i must emphaised the importance of keeping the voices of those alive that would champion the rights of employee for without them this bill and others previously would never have seen the light of day.It is incumbent that we as a people not be first in line to silence those voices for without them the doors which were open would slowly be close.it is also of importance that those of whom we elected to represent us cannot do it alone they also need the voices of those crying in the wilderness to set a path forward for them to follow . the past week debacle is an example of how easily those voices upon whom we ask and look forward to championong our rights can be SILENCED! BEWARE!

6. We continue to generalize. What parts of the bill should be strengthened because nothing is perfect under the sun. There is no perfect legislation.

7. Why should Sir Roy apologize? What did he say that was not trutrh?
    Do any of you on this blog get upset if you are referred to as a Bajan Christian, a Bajan Baptist or a Guyanese Moslem? I have referred to my freinds, in their presence, as an Indian Hindu, a Pakistani Moslem, etc.

Being Jew is NOT a race. It is a religion. Being from Egypt is a nationality, it is NOT a race. Sir Roy was right, NO NEED TO APOLOGIZE to anyone. It is sad to see that in this 2012 Bajans still stupid under the Broken Trident.

8. old onion bags Avatar

Lady Pat
    I agree with you..don’t mind foolish people like…..DEM just in D foolish season..Thanks to Comminsong…

Sir Roy ain’t got to apologies to a S#te.

9. Old Onions,

I gine phone e and tell e NOT to apologize, that we behind him all the way. I know him well, he is quite stubborn.

10. @ Pat
    If Sir Roy was the kind of sissy that would apologize just because a bunch of sheep get frightened because he called a wolf a wolf,… do you think he would have remained a trade union leader so long…?

How are you child? When you coming back home nuh? We could do with a real real woman ’bout here to act as a role model for ac and Islandgal (forget Random Thoughts, she too far gone… 🙂 )

11. @Bush Tea

You have conveniently ignored the question of relevance posed yesterday. How is referring to the man’s ethnicity relevant.

12. @ David
    …Bushie thought that it was obvious.

Sir Roy expressed outrage at the apparent case of blatant union busting- and was making the point that “if that is how things are done in Egypt by Jews” 🙂 then let it be known that this is Barbados and we do things differently here….
    As the grand old Duke don’t you think that he was very much in place to so advise the gentleman from ‘you-know-where’?

Man David…. Has the bushman ever led you wrong? How can you side with Caswell against the Bushman and expect not to come out on the wrong side? 🙂

13. @Bush Tea

Are you saying you are not human and therefore defy the law of fallibility? …lol

Why did he have to shout in the public place only after meeting with the disaffected employees?

14. The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall Avatar
    The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall

@Charles Knighton: “There is no law of the universe that states whether the desires of instinct or intellect should prevail. But if you think about it, I’m pretty sure you’ll recognize the truth about which one you believe should win the tussle, but is Barbados ready?

I was reminded of a famous quote by Albert Einstein yesterday by a Government Official…

“We can not solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them.

15. @ David
    ….almost! 🙂

He did not have to shout, but that is how it is done….
    It was done in the 40’s
    In the 50’s and it continues ….

It is outdated; it is inefficient; it is messy; and it really does not work, but that is what we always did!!

…so what would you have him do? If you are honest most is us continue with our outdated methodologies too…
    Is the court computerized?
    Are Police uniforms practical?
    Are traffic lights intelligent?
    ….so why should Sir Roy be more current than the rest of us?

The man was just doing it by the book …. Written back in the glory days of trade unionism.

16. @Bush Tea

It means Sir Roy is not a leader by your definition.

17. Excuse us EX- Chris
    …but what does the contest between ‘instinct’ and ‘intellect’ have to do with Einstein’s famous quote…?

What Einstein is saying (as is Bushie) is that we need a new and different philosophical framework around which our lives must be defined – if we are to address the problems that are overwhelming us….

18. The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall Avatar
    The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall

@BT: “…but what does the contest between ‘instinct’ and ‘intellect’ have to do with Einstein’s famous quote…?

Because it is human nature to stay within one’s “comfort” zone. With what one instinctively feels is the easiest (or, at least, the most familiar) path.

@BT: “What Einstein is saying (as is Bushie) is that we need a new and different philosophical framework around which our lives must be defined – if we are to address the problems that are overwhelming us….

Then at least a few of us are on the same page.

The big question is, are all of us?

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I have always said and will continue to say that Barbados Labour Party members have no shame at all.

“SIR ROY TROTMAN’s attack on the management of Diamonds International was unfortunate and can “scare people away from Barbados”.

Opposition Member of Parliament George Payne made this charge in the House of Assembly on Tuesday during debate on the Employment Rights Bill.”

This is the same George PAIN who told white Adrian Loveridge that he was not indigenous enough. Meaning that he was too white for him. That is when George PAIN was Minister Of Tourism. Adrian Loveridge was then Chairman of the Small Hotels Committee and as a result of George PAIN remarks Loveridge was quickly removed from that position and replace with a Black hotelier.

20. @ buish Tea!

i remenber asking you previously “what is a real woman” and you told me some hocus pocus nonsense about reading Proverbs any how since you don’t want to answer out of your “fear” of woman i would take that to mean a woman who is subservant to men and lives and abides by his rule of law.

21. Sir Roy is a leader ! and not a pacifist ! if people want a leader they must get out the way and let them do their job. The opposition would always be there to distract and confuse the sheepile and DI did exactly that Confuse And Distract!

22. @ The Entity

But are you not rooted in your comfort zone? I see no ‘new’ philosophical framework in either yourself or those you mention. It’s the same old tribalism wrapped up in fancy language.

23. @ Check-it

Nice to see you. Just a flying visit. But yes, the post was first rate wasn’t it.

Leave a Reply to Bush TeaCancel reply