Click image to read the delectable package the St. Lucia Tourist Board has put together.

Many have started to take take notice of the growth St. Lucia is experiencing in tourism. This is at a time when the global market is tough especially the UK market. Recent reports suggests “strong tourism growth for Saint Lucia in 2012 with a 20% increase in stay over arrivals in the first quarter of this year.  Top source markets to the island report 9% increase from the U.S., the largest market to Saint Lucia, and a 30% increase over the same period from the United Kingdom.” – RSL.

Click on the image to read about one of the marketing tactics St. Lucia is using to woo tourists with success!

Related Link: Read content of email sent to mailboxes

1. @ David

Agreed. We can all learn from eachother; realise synergies and work towards our common goals …

2. @ Blogger
    But that ought to be the goal of a csmE. Let muh dream nuh!! And did you not see my comment about the CCJ?

3. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

We (Barbados) miss so many opportunities with a lot of them costing nothing at all. Take the 2012 TripAdvisor Travelers Choice Awards for instance. Hundreds of destinations (including St. Lucia) have used it to highlight awardees, like East Winds Inn to a global media stage. The BTA has not mentioned it anywhere, despite NINE hotels on Barbados winning in various categories. It is totally embarrassing to see that at least a couple of the Barbadian winners have been forced to take paid advertisments in the local press.
    How can you ignore 50 million unique visitors to a single website each month?

4. @Adrian

Didn’t Almond former CEO Ralph Taylor do it?

Ignore TripAdvisor that is.

5. Any comment that 5000 Brazilians visited Barbados in 2011. Reported to be performing better than other similar arrangements by David Rice?

6. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Mr. Taylor, in front of a visiting group of tour operators and travel agents referred to TripAdvisor as a ‘menace’ which was carried in the largest circulation travel trade publication and to millions online. When you have a 30-40 per cent of TripAdvisor reviewers that would NOT recommend a hotel, its perhaps not suprising.

7. Any comment that 5000 Brazilians visited Barbados in 2011.

That is 96 passengers per week on a Boeing 737-800 with a capacity of 150? And what were the passenger loads when they were using the 767-300ER? It would be interesting to know the cost to the government since inception and the activities of these visitors like spend etc.

8. @enuff

You know very well that successive government have not provided information to enlighten the public on matters like this one. Guess we will have to be satisfied with Rice’s declaration that GOL project compares favourably with others.

9. Brudah-Bim you talk more sh*t than ole onion bags and that is a difficult thing to do.

10. @brudah-bim
    hants and fair balance are disgraces for us Bajans ? you are an idiot of the highest order. you relegate people to a disgrace because they don’t share your vision ? and you rant about who is a proper bajan and who is foreign.. forget about nationality, try a decent human being first.. and stay in america while you figure that out

11. despite our obvious failure to to be innovative and creative with our tourism product over the years and the successes of other islands like st lucia in improving theirs, barbadosstill stands head and shoulderabove st lucia in tourism and overall development not that we should rest on our laurels toour own detriment.

12. Barbados is way more developed than St. Lucia in fact Barbados is the number one developing country in the world.

Fair and unbalanced……Tourist want to see true beauty and with not too much make up and false hair. Stop fooling yourself we have lost a lot of our natural beauty to bad planning and poor taste ……as Judge Judy says..beauty fades dumb lasts forever.

13. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Does anyone REALLY think ‘we’ are on the ball?
    51 DAYS after REDJet ceases trading, the PM is NOW ‘trying to secure a copy of the company’s balance sheet’.
    Tourism is a dynamic industry. It needs constant (and current) attention and you need a plan that everyone can follow.

14. Sherman Collymore Avatar
    Sherman Collymore

Mr. Slow is the Prime Minister’s new name

15. Heather Johnson Avatar
    Heather Johnson

Adrian Loveridge the white Eric Fly.

16. @Ms.Heather Johnson

Why would you refer to Adrian’s ethnicity?

17. I will keep saying it …. THE GLOBAL RECSSSION IS NOT THE CAUSE OF ALL OUR TOURISM CHALLENGES .. LACK OF INNOVATIVE THINKING, AN INABILITY TO CHANGE WITH THE TIMES, AND EFFECTIVE TOURISM INDUSTRY OVERSIGHT IS A KEY COMPONENT OF OUR DECLINE … ST.LUCIA”S PROGRESS HAS PROVING THAT …

So BAJANS Keep listening to the non-sense and inaction coming from the current DLP administration ….

18. WHERE IS THE PROOF THAT 5000 BRAZILIANS viisted Barbados in 2011 …. Site the source I know this is where it gets tricky..

This is more DLP non-sense 5000 brazilians DID NOT visit Barbados in 2011 …. maybe in the DLP’s dreams but not in reality … Not “political spin” but a straight lie”

Mark my words Barbados will get NOTHING tangible out of the Barbados – Brazil route the DLP has spent millions on … NOTHING ….

19. @ islandgal
    quote: Barbados is way more developed than St. Lucia in fact Barbados is the number one developing country in the world.

FALSE STATEMENT BUT WISH IT WAS TRUE !!!!!!!!!

Additionally of the top “47” developing nations Barbados is ranged “47” (in 2011) on the human development index >> see for yourself
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Developed_country

This is what happens if you drink too much DLP “dont worry be happy” koolaid 🙂

20. islandgal246 Avatar

Austin please read the post above mine, I was quoting Balance.

21. islandgal246 Avatar

OOOps Austin i was responding to
    fair and balanced | May 7, 2012 at 12:20 AM |

22. sorry islandgal246 … my apology 🙂

23. coldstorm2k8 Avatar

humm well last tourist arrival number where from august that showed and increase of 749 person ytd for the other countries row. So either we got less brazillian than than states or another country didn’t visit us as much.

24. islandgal246 Avatar

Baffy dat is you? Coldstorm2k8?

25. @ Disgrace & Over Yonder

Thaat is if you’re not the same people, At least I have the SIGHT to she where the SH*T lies, WHICH CLEARLY THE BOTH OF YOU SHORT WITTED TWITS FEAR! I FOR ONE AM FED UP OF PERPETUATING THE COMPLACENT BAJAN. iTS TIME THAT BAJANS STARTED MAKING DEMANDS, AND IF I SEE THAT YOUR ARGUMENT CLEARLY LACKS ANY SENSE OF REALISM, FEASIBILITY, OR SOLUTIONS THEN ITS BETTER NOT TO SAY ANYTHING AT ALL!

I have no problem with sharing ideas, but when you just BLABBER and VOMIT recycled ideas, IT GETS US FRIGGING NOWHERE!! So if I’m to Blunt for you, ITS TIME THAT YUH PASS YUH OUT DE DYAMN KITCHEN BEFORE YUH SCAL’ YUHSELF! Its not be being rude, I’m JUST TRYING TO GAGE CREATIVE MINDS WITH ORIGINAL YET SUSTAINABLE MINDS!

Kisses from the U.S. of ARSE!

26. Barbados is fast becoming another state in the U.S, we are not only pricing ourselves out of the tourist market, but we are spoiling this country by trying to produce concrete jungles instead of a natural almosphere. No tourist is going to feel comfortable leaving his/her concrete jungle to come to ours when he/she can visit St.Lucia, Dominica, and most of the caribbean islands which have natural sights to visit, plus enjoy the same beautiful sea and sand that we have. A visit to the sulphur springs or a tour through the grenadines, or a visit to Bequa, plus cheaper hotel rates ans cheaper cost of living, is worth more to a tourist in this recessionary times than coming to Barbados. With the closure of Almond, these tour companies are going to direct their tourists to these islands and we,ve lost them forever.

27. Maybe this is why Bim needs to get her act together soon. I just watched this from a friend, and I found out that the show was taken down after this episode. The Bilderberg group is just RAPINg US BAJANS IF THAT IS tHE CASE!

28. “Austin please read the post above mine, I was quoting Balance”

islandgal, you are completely mistaken, my post never indicated such.i did not say barbados is the no 1 developing country in the world.

29. scout- places like st lucia, st vincent and particuarly dominica have their own natural attractions which attract a particular brand of tourist with backpacks who spend little .these attractions are usually not well organised and are expensive too. tourism costs like all other costs in barbados will be high because of the taxes imposed on goods and services at point of entry to enable the govt to obtain taxes to meet the freenesses we enjoy.i am tired of hearing about concrete jungles. do you want huts to be built to house the tourists who we beg to visit our shores? most of us like comfortable accomodation wherever we go in addition to easy accessibility to essential services which barbados can readily offer..

30. The problem for some is that they don”t appreciate that with a developed infrastructure, a huge entitlement program and high standard of living we have to compare apples with apples. We can’t be so simplistic in our analysis. If we critique our setup it must be given context.

31. islandgal246 Avatar

Balance my apologies I was quoting fair and unbalance and mistook you for him. Please forgive me.

There are basically three types of Tourist

1. Tourist who are looking for luxury holidays they rent villas or condos, stay at top class hotels and venture out very little to see the island. They may shop but only at select locations but not very often. They often eat the same foods they eat in their mother country. Will rent cars for the length of their holiday or take taxis

2. Tourist who come looking for adventure off the beaten track, love unspoilt natural beauty, Will relish local food and fruits and interact with the local population. Some will stay in luxury accommodation, eco tourist resorts, mid priced hotels, guest houses and B&B’s Will rent cars and take the bus.

3. Tourist looking for an inexpensive holiday, will stay in apartment hotels, cheap condos, timeshare exchange, B&B’s, guest houses and all inclusive hotels. They normally stay in crowded areas where there is plenty of cheap booze and fast food restaurants. Will take the bus or pool together and rent cars for a limited time.

Barbados has mainly 1and 3 and those areas are failing. Many of the luxury end tourist are repeat visitors, and will spend very little. Most of the the lower end tourist are seriously affected by the economy in their countries and will travel less if at all.

We talk of Heritage Tourism and Eco Tourism, how do we and can we develop these areas with the very limited resources we have. We have lost one of our greatest Heritage sites we were renown for i.e Sam Lords Castle. Many Bajans may not acknowledge this BUT to many visitors to this island that was a MUST see. Many of the island’s infrastructure has aged and are in need dire need of repair, countryside roads, water mains, none existent side walks, refuse disposal. We have a very poor agricultural base where most of the food is imported making it very expensive to eat.

The lack lustre performance of the Tourism Ministry that feel they must keep spouting inaccurate Tourist arrivals, keep falsely portraying on their posters brown skinned and mixed race people as Bajans. The sun sand and sea are plentiful in the islands. To be truthful Tourist spend very little time in their hotel rooms and to upgrade only that and not the service and surroundings is a waste of money. Selling Barbados is selling a dream come true for people. If we cannot see the dream how can we sell it? If we have never experienced the dream, how can we sell it?

32. islandgal246 Avatar

I forgot to add a 4th type of Tourism…Cruise Tourism where for a limited time visitors (mainly low end) spend about 6 hours on the island. They may take taxis and tour the island or walk into the city to mainly window shop.

33. How about a State of the Art Convention .Coroporate advantageand goof bringing business for Tourism and our hotel and other industries as well.

34. @ austin did you go to school in August?

[FALSE STATEMENT BUT WISH IT WAS TRUE !!!!!!!!!

Additionally of the top “47″ developing nations Barbados is ranged “47″ (in 2011) on the human development index >> see for yourself]
    You obviously do not understand what you saw in Wikpedia.
    Barbados is within the top 47 countries in the world- developed and developing on HDI.

barbados was ranked NO1 developing nation for years, if its not presently number one its in among the first three.
    And the word is spelt ‘ranked’ not ‘ranged’. I take it you didnt do the 11+ exam.

Leave a Reply to islandgal246Cancel reply