Austin

By way of an example yesterday I listened to the U.S anticipated Republican nominee Mitt Romney speak to Virginia voters on CNN, in the speech he stated that President Obama has weakened the U.S Navy and cited that the US Navy today has the same “number” of ships as it did in 1917 as why.  Now how in the “HELL” can a logical person compare the U.S Navy’s capabilities in 1917 to that of the U.S Navy in 2012.  One US Aircraft Carrier today carries  5,000 men onboard and enough weaponry to destroy entire nations, just one.  One nuclear submarine has enough weaponry to destroy large chucks of the earth, just one.

This kind of statement I call “Political Spin” and if politics was like Kung-fu folks like Romney would be considered “Shaolin Spin Masters”.  “Spin Masters” bank on the public not fact checking claims as the spin masters distort many realities and truths in favour of political agendas.

Likewise; In Barbados our “Politic Spin Masters” come in different forms unfortunately is has found fertile ground with both our national news papers the Nation and Barbados Advocate.   The media is supposed to offer the bajan public a wide range of viewpoints based on the truth, facts, and numbers, and cover stories from all required angles, however both the Barbados Advocate and Nation are increasingly participating in “Spin Mastery” at an unprecedented level today.  If you just used our national news papers to determine the state of our nation affairs you would be totally “fooled”.

We are seeing unprecedented partisanship coming from our national newspapers, so tell me BU what do you think the Barbados Advocate and Nation have to gain by not exposing or effectively covering the lack of leadership coming from the current DLP administration under PM Stuart?

1. old onion bags Avatar

Look boi …don’t call my name…..your very presence is like cow itch …..I deplore ur stupidity. You can’t handle the negating of your above stupor in raising a non issue like HardWood so you seek out another angle ? How lame. Onions will always sandpaper your Cardboards…so get to like it…You can’t even bring out ur S____ when in commode..so hush up. Bring me back from where noodle ?

2. islandgal246 Avatar

Anyone need some castor oil?

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Are you ready to apologize to DAVID, Onions?

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

old onion bags | May 5, 2012 at 8:33 AM |

Frigg you David …ban or no ban I know what i read !!

old onion bags | May 5, 2012 at 8:40 AM |

As a matter of fact…have the keys to my license…Onions out fa good…
    DAMM STRAIGHT….BAN INSTITUTED..SELF IMPOSED!!!!

That was a real short exile though.
    You are more fun than a barrel of monkeys!

5. old onion bags Avatar

“Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I’m not sure about the former.”
    Albert Einstein

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

old Onion bags(friggyouDavid)

you are now ready to admit that you are Stupid?

I think DAVID will accept that!

7. @CCC

Are you ready to admit that “you” represent many things that are wrong with Barbados today, and dont know it …

– You represent old school ways and thinking about Barbados that is sucking the life out of your youth and future potential …

– You represent a form of thinking that say average bajans are disposable sleep.

– You represent those fighting to KEEP there DLP “PICK”S” at all cost, you afraid of salt fish.

You are so smart you have crossed back into stupid …. will pray for ya … but start planning to loose that PICK …

Im a proud self made man and will always be so “I dont have that pick worry you blogging to hold on too” …

I blog for poor people in Barbados and WHAT IS BEST FOR BARBADOS >>>>

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Austin

You see how you have me wrong.

I love fish cakes!

9. old onion bags Avatar

Aarson De Cudear ……why don’t you go help your party canvasses…or find something else constructive to do ?…Really now, you’re being a complete nuisance ( within yourself)…..more harm to the party than good…
    like a stupid little boy.

10. islandgal246 Avatar

onions ole boy yuh in yuh element this politics got yuh hottt so hot that yuh had to come out of exile LOLLL Yuh got muh laffing at Aarson Cudear RFLMAO Aarson how ai luv dat name!

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

islandgal246

I told you already, stick to gardening.

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

SPECIAL AUDIT
    Urban Development Commission

Road Construction Program

review of the Tenantry Road and Concrete Road
    Programs was carried out covering the period
    October 1997 to March 2005.
    5.2 The objective of the audit was to determine if the
    programs were being administered in accordance with the Urban
    Development Commission Act, other relevant legislation and by the
    application of good business practice.

Background
    5.3 The Tenantry Roads Program was instituted by the
    Board of the UDC in 1997 and the Concrete Roads Program
    commenced in the financial year 2001-02. The Concrete Roads
    Program has now been terminated whereas the Tenantry Roads
    Program is ongoing. In addition to the construction of
    approximately 90 roads at a cost of $8.3 million, the Commission
    has also built a number of pathways and steps.

Findings
    5.4 Audit findings are as follows: –
    (i) The Commission has not been following
    the Laws of Barbados in obtaining land
    from private individuals for the purpose
    of road construction.
    (ii) Some land has been utilized by the
    UDC without the permission of the
    landowners being obtained.

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

In other words the Barbados Labour Party Govt. stole people lands.

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

This is a response from the UDC.

“The Commission conceded that it erred in
    allowing persons to remain on its Register of
    Contractors including those persons whose only
    claim to being a contractor was that they were
    unemployed, unemployable, homeless, vagrants of
    Bridgetown, criminal deportees and those who
    frequented Parliament yard.”

Just imagine that:

OF THE 600 CONTRACTORS AT THE UDC during the Barbados Labour Party Govt., some were VAGRANTS of Bridgetown, CRIMINAL DEPORTEES AND people who FREQUENTED PARLIAMENT YARD.

Oh what a wonderful job the Barbados Labour Party did while in office, you agree AUSTIN?

Where was this reported in the Nation newspaper at the time?

MASSIVE COVER UP BY THE NATION!

15. Government is doing an excellent job in promoting the alternative energy sector. The high and volatile oil prices internationally over which we have no control have historically caused major shocks to our economy and continue to do so.
    There have been incentives in every budget presented to move to alternative energy – wind , solar etc and the planned complex at Mangrove is another step in the right direction as we position the economy for sustainable growth.

16. by the way CCC, it was prime minister owen arthur who commissioned the special audit of the UDC.seems that he was not happy with the way things were going there and requested a special audit be done irrespective of where the chips fell.

17. old onion bags Avatar

Digression # 2 ……for the morning… but Hardwood pun D back burner chief !…since yesterday…jester gone for hot legendarys….

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

balance

Yet when an attempt was made to remove a certain man seethru said leave him alone.

when the DLP tabled questions about the same special audit in Parliament up to this day the Barbados Labour Party never replied.

I like how they let “where the chips fell.” They can fool you but not me.

And this is the same party which is clamoring to be returned to office so that we might get more of the same.

Bunch of crooks.

19. old onion bags Avatar

Aarson
    How many fish cakes you eat man ?…you take very long….Ya had lil men waiting (B)

20. @ Carson
    One would think that as a Councillor on the much touted constituency councils you would be here making a case for the re-election of the government based on the good work of your council and the other 29. Instead you talking about a report used to win the LAST election. When the truth is that the DLP is no better– fired an employee of UDC (for proven corrupt practices) and rehired that individual at RDC after learning he was a supporter. STFD!

21. CHECK OUT THE QUOTE BELOW FROM a top regional businessman who is just looking for the best returns on his company’s investments:

“Overall, we are happy with our investments in Barbados…and we see the island as an attractive place to invest,” he said.
    “Regionally,economies are experiencing a difficult time. BARBADOS IS NOT UNIQUE. We in Trinidad have a stagnant economy and negative growth for the past two years.
    “There are challenges everywhere but we take a long-term view of our investments and still we see – in the Caribbean- BARBADOS AS THE MOST ATTRACTIVE ECONOMY”
    Satement by Trinidadian businessman and former President of Trinidad and Tobago Chamber of Commerce Christian Mouttet taken from backpage of Nation newspaper on Wednesday, May 9, 2012.
    To Pat Hoyos,Clyde “Mock B” Mascoll and the other BLP spindoctors who run around saying that the sky is falling – “READ AND WEEP”!
    The Barbados economy is not tanking, it has been stabilised and with a pickup in the US market improving, a stronger economy in 2013 and beyond is very likely. Barbados is in good hands.

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I wonder who Barbados Labour Party apologist on this blog can tell the Country which Barbados Labour Party politician pockets this money is in?

“In his 2011 report laid in the House of Assembly on Tuesday, Trotman revealed that two amounts totalling $5 033 054 – $2 994 047 and $2 039 007 – were shown as outstanding on the VAT Office’s bank reconciliation statements for over five years.

He said the amount of $2 994 047.21 requested by the VAT Division in December 2005 was issued by the Treasury to settle refund claims. This amount, however, was not seen on the bank statements of the division.

“It is unclear which account the money was credited to,” the report said.”

And the Barbados Labour Party has the gall to ask Bajans to vote them back into office that this kind of thef can be restarted!

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Are you reading, AUSTIN?

24. old onion bags Avatar

One would think that (CCC) as a Councillor on the much touted constituency councils you would be here making a case for the re-election of the government based on the good work of your council and the other 29.
    Can anyone tell how much MONEY these ‘Councillors are each paid every month for limimg ?…..or moonlighting like Carson in BU…trying to convince us why we should allow another term ..to support his newly found largess.

Tell us Carson is it $2,500 p.m graduating upwards as you become more a “wooly sheep “

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

To this day the Barbados Labour Party boast about their 600 contractors at the UDC.

9 contractors out of 600 got the bulk of the work.

On the UDC list of contractors:
    Vagrants
    Criminal deportees
    Hangers on in Parliament yard
    No sort of qualifications as a contractor.

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Now we hear that $5million disappeared five years ago at the vat.office.

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Where was the Nation newspaper in all of this?

28. old onion bags Avatar

29. Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely magnificent. I really like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re stating
    and the way in which you say it. You make
    it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it sensible.
    I can’t wait to read far more from you. This is really a wonderful site.