Sir Leroy Trotman who heads the Barbados Workers Union (BWU) has accused DIAMONDS International of firing 30 workers because they attended a union meeting on the weekend. Sir Roy has threatened to shut the country down if the foreign owned entity does not review it position. Caswell Franklyn who heads Unity Trade Union and veteran trade unionist has suggested Sir Roy should escalate the matter to the police – Barbados Underground

Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

As long as there are workers whose rights are being infringed, or who work under substandard conditions, there will be a need for the trade union movement, or something very much like it.

This question only arises because people look on and judge the movement by the current crop of leaders. The unfavourable opinion of trade unions should really be an unfavourable opinion of its leadership. Most of them wear too many hats, sometimes openly but oftentimes clandestinely which result in the cause of the workers taking a back seat to the other agenda.

Another problem which can sometimes be regarded as a positive is that unions, for the most part, are democratic institutions. That being the case, as in parliamentary elections, the most popular, not necessarily the best equipped candidate, is elected to lead.

A good case in point to demonstrate the need to have a body to represent the interests of the workers is the Employment Rights Bill that is making its way through Parliament. The workers needed a strong voice but also an enlightened voice to secure and hold onto those rights that already exists. Instead, we saw the trade union movement being out-gunned by the employers’ lobby. This is not to say that the bill is not a step in the right direction, but the workers’ cause was not sufficiently represented in the final bill. Even though the workers’ representatives fell down with regard to the Employment Rights Bill that does not mean that there would not be future opportunities for a robust trade union movement to assert itself. But the workers need to come together to ensure that the right people emerge to represent their interests.

Just recently, a union with membership in excess of 10,000 members could not muster a quorum of 50 persons to conduct their annual general meeting. During their last elections, less than ten per cent of the membership participated. That same apathy has manifested itself in parliamentary elections, which has, in the recent past, resulted in extremely ill-equipped candidate being elected. People don’t only get the government they deserve; they also get the trade union leaders they deserve. However, we do not have people asking if governments are relevant.

The trade union movement is very relevant and needs to be protected for future generations from people who aspire to leadership whose main agenda is not the cause of the workers. If the movement ceases to exists, workers would be at the mercy of employers who want to make money without regard to the living and working conditions of the workforce.

1. Observing (and relaxing) Avatar
    Observing (and relaxing)

“This question only arises because people look on and judge the movement by the current crop of leaders.”

Methinks this doesn’t only apply to the trade union movement…. Question begs… Is there better leadership “around?”

If so, where is it or why hasn’t it “risen?”

If not, what the hell are we teaching and mentoring?

2. The Trade Union Movement must not just die but must be absolutely sacrificed in honor of a greater thrust that lies ahead – that of – the evolution of the status of workers into that of partners – where by these persons will become partowners of the only multimember corporate business entities that a future PDC Government will create for Barbados – partnerships – in the forseeable future in this country.

Such partnerships will give those partners greater say in the direction in which those partnerships go; they will have the rights to access and scrutinize all critical information relative to the functioning of those partnerships, and will make sure that all persons will be remunerated in profits – which are rights and privileges that workers do not have now.

It is these trade union bodies – moreso their leaderships – that wish workers to remain workers for centuries to come in Barbados and elsewhere, so that there will continue to be this very damned domestic international state oligarchic political economic exploitation marginalization and dispossession of these many otherwise hard working persons

It is sad when such trade union leaderships ally themselves with owners/directors – private and government – in this most ungodly dehumanizing enervating process.

Just like the BLP and DLP which emerged out of the pre-independence era in this country, so must the Barbados Workers Union, the National Union of Public Workers – which emerged out of those times too – and sundry other later day unions and associations too, must be seen as the some of the biggest obstacles to the further development of the affairs of the masses and middle classes of people in this country.

These archaic moribund and the more recent obstacles must be totally permanently REMOVED at all costs by the broad masses and middle classes in the interest of the securing of greater freedom and liberty and in the interest of the further development of a stronger better more progressive Barbadian society.

So, now is the time to greater instil in workers that they are capable enough, with all their highly trained/qualified skills and services and interests, of becoming owners of capital, assets and property, and of becoming greater craftmen and women of our fate in this country.

Present workers and many others must join with the PDC in this rallying call for us – the majority of people in Barbados – in forming social organizations that will exist to pursue such greater human development causes.

3. @Caswell

If the union membership is as passive as you suggest does it not mean they are happy with the representation they are getting?

4. ‘However, we do not have people asking if governments are relevant.’
    bro franklyn- i do believe there must be some form of governance but it must be driven by parliament and not the political institutions. i believe that political parties have outlived their usefulness unlike trade unionism. i do agree that trade union leadership is weak; the present crop haven’t prepared themselves for the industrial relations challenges which have emerged as a result of the changing environment. had not for the solid foundation laid by leaders of times past, the trade union movement would be hardpressed to survive.

5. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Workers are not happy with the representation that they have been receiving, but they are too docile to do anything about.

6. @Caswell

Your explanation doesn’t compute. Barbadians are docile but when it comes to compensation most docile people should get aggressive.

7. @ Caswell
    Are you saying that the reason for being in existence is that bosses continue to exploit workers and working conditions continue to be sub standard….?

You just explained exactly why the leadership is poor, why the movement is failing and why the very question of continued existence arises at all.

ANY ORGANIZATION THAT EXIST ONLY FOR NEGATIVE REASONS deserves to become extinct. If managers were intelligent enough to act in their own interest by treating workers like partners what would the current unions be needed to do…? …and if the role is simply to fight idiotic bosses – why do we need anything other than the current Mary R types? No common sense needed for that…

After the Frank Walcott era, the union movement, (if it was as visionary as it likes to think that it is,) would have transformed itself into a true representative of the workers by FINDING ITSELF IN THE BOARDROOMS OF BARBADOS as significant shareholders on workers behalf.

Rather than fighting for crumbs in the form of pittance wage increases, they should have been fighting for FULL PARTNERSHIP of workers at the decision making level.

But little men were more interested in building their little empires – which meant playing ball with the politicians and the businessmen….and pretending to continue with the 1950s tactics of ‘march and strike.’

Caswell, when you going leave out that Unity thing and start working to take up your REAL calling…? 🙂

8. maybe instead of the word docile it maybe the workers might feel threatened by the backlash from leadership if they speak out against them. but that is sad because then what is the point of being in an organisation where leadership cannot be trusted .

9. If the movement ceases to exists, workers would be at the mercy of employers who want to make money without regard to the living and working conditions of the workforce.
    ————————
    Is this not this case anyway? The head of the nupw works in a building where the workers are constantly complaining for respiratory complaints, where the edp did testing on air quality, where mold is visable on cabinets, furniture, glass partitions and what has he done?…….NOTHING TO REPRESENT THE WORKERS!

The trade unions are of no relevance to me because I cannot trust leaders who will try to play the friendship card (with the ones against whom I have a matter) and tell me to hold off while they try to sort the matter out and three years later I can’t hear anything from anybody but can see a man rise up off his sick bed to represent Jeff Broomes!

No, I will do like so many others and simply wait for the government to change and then go another route to get my matter resolved another way!

10. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Mystified

Your comments are symptomatic of what is wrong with the labour movement in this country. Workers have given up and have taken the attitude that there is nothing that they can do to change things, and they do nothing. Unfortunately, there is a core group that have a few items on their agenda, mainly; their own self interest and securing their party in power, that have taken hold of the major unions namely: BWU, NUPW and BUT. When the DLP is in power these unions forget that they are suppose to represent workers. On the other hand, when the BLP is in power the unions compete to prove who is the most militant. Workers do not have to stand for that but they are so disillusioned that they just throw their hands up in the air.

Your comments about the environmental conditions at NUPW are quite true, but haven’t you realized that unions are the worst employers: they treat their employees like dirt. There are employees at NUPW who haven’t received their annual increment in at least ten years while the union continues to promise to put a different payment scheme in place, mind you there are others who get increases under some very curious circumstances.

Earlier someone questioned my use of the word docile to describe the membership of the established unions, but how else could you describe NUPW members saying nothing after discovering that in excess of $700,000 of the union’s money has been spent on a project that was never approved by either the general membership or the National Council of the union.

11. But Caswell,
    You know that Dennis Clarke’s illness raised the issue of NUPW’s future. They use to have Wayne Waldron out front as a face for the future but all of a sudden he is scarce. Derek Alleyne is gone and fast approaching retirement age, You are gone with your own Union. Who next after Clarke finally retires?

At BWU Trotman keeps saying he wants to go but they keep begging him to stay. Bobby is gone, Gabby Scott is an old man, Richards already retired, Mayers is almost 80 years old. And they don’t seem to have a young crop.
    So, is there even going to be a labour movement when the current old heads go?

12. @Caswell

Lizbeth makes a good point. Is there an opportunity to work your way back into the executive of any of the two leading unions?

Surely the BWU can’t be considering Toni and Walrond at the NUPW?

13. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Lizbeth

NUPW has been on autopilot since Goddard retired. Clarke was promoted to the level of his incompetence. He was quite happy to let Wayne speak and be the alternate voice of the union because Wayne would make even Clarke look competent. NUPW will survive after Clarke, I believe that “after Clarke” would be the best thing that could happen to the union. With Roslyn at the helm while he was on sick leave, the union started to really do some work. The work at NUPW does not happen as a result of Clarke: it happens despite Clarke. You should really be asking what will happen after Roslyn Smith and Delcia Burke go.

At BWU, Trotman is not holding on because they need him: he is holding on to groom an “ungroomable” young lady, all the while holding back the young talented Julian Hunte, who is the future of BWU if they let him.

14. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Question: Are trade unions still relevant?
    Answer: Yes

15. old onion bags Avatar

Caswell
    As long as we have capitalism and some greedy employersbusinessmen who set out to rip off workers unscrupulously…we will need people like you and Unity.A world without TU’s would be chaotic,with frequent strikes and down times ..productivity falling.

16. Just heard that DIAMONDS INTERNATIONAL fired a bunch of workers today when the boss found out that they met with the Union. Let we all hope this is not another Royal Shop.

Workers whether Union or not must shout that this cannot do in “Our Barbados”, Decent employers must shout that this is not what we practise in “Our Barbados”.
    We got to fight for our Barbados, people! Tomorrow is Labour Day.

17. it seems that these unions are too closely politically tied and as a result some thing or some one have to suffer and unfortunately leadership self interest takes precedent over workers what in reality can be termed a conflict of interest leaving the members out in the cold with no one to turn to. it would take a concerted effort agree by all members to withdraw their membership and that would not happen because of the many factions and allegiances made by leaders within the union.

18. old onion bags Avatar

Lizbeth
    Two weeks ago I made the comment (LIME dispute) that many will now try all ‘kinds of thinks’ under this administration..and may get away with it, as they see the indecisiveness in decision making. Sadly like it is coming to being……

19. old onion bags Avatar

corr: things

20. @ liz

Wuh kind of crap-o-lah is dat. that kind of thing should’nt be happening in barbados.

21. onions boy,
    Your teacher friends are very mad with Freundel, they say that he has let them down, he is not trustworthy and one a hardcore Dem on the Executive say that she is done with the Dems. Both the President and the General Secretary are Foundationers and I wonder if they thought that Fruendel who is also a Foundationer would have taken their side. But they say that the PM sold them out and led them to believe that he would send the principal on leave. One principal at this gathering I was at said that this is a victory for all principals that had the PM given the union what they wanted, it would be hell to pay for principals everywhere in Barbados. WOW!!!!

22. Here we go again blatant propaganda by au provcateur de prodigal.

23. de unions does employ de people dat join dem

24. Peoples. Imagine the UNION in Dalkeith really stink with rusty furniture moldy atmosphere and stupid posters on the wall with olddd papers hanging around and you preach Occupational Health and safety. Shame on those leaders.

25. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I just saw Sir Roy on television claiming that 30 workers were dismissed from Diamonds International because they attended a union meeting. He then went on to threaten industrial action. If what he is saying is true the management of Diamonds International would have committed a criminal offence. That being the case, Sir Roy should report the matter to the police or consult their lawyer with a view to instituting a private criminal prosecution. Section 40A of the Trade Union Act speaks for itself:

40A. An employer who –
    (a) dismisses a workman or adversely affects the employment or alters the position of a workman to his prejudice because that workman –
    (i) is or proposes to become an officer, delegate or member of a trade union,

(ii) being a member of a trade union which is seeking better labour conditions, is dissatisfied with his conditions.

(iii) has absented himself from work without leave after he has made an application for leave for the purpose of carrying out his duties or exercising his rights as an officer or delegate of a trade union and such leave has unreasonably been refused or withheld, or

(iv) takes part in trade union activities outside or, with the consent of the employer, within working hours: or
    (b) threatens to dismiss a workman or to adversely affect the employment or alter the position of a workman to his prejudice –
    (i) because that workman is or proposes to become an officer, delegate or member of a trade union or other combination which has applied to be registered as a trade union, or

(ii) with intent to dissuade or prevent that workman from becoming an officer, delegate or member of a trade union.
    is guilty of an offence and liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding $1,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 6 months or to both.

I also saw the Prime Minister vowing that he and his Government would protect workers rights. What about the rights of the workers at the Urban Development Commission who were dismissed just because they were suspected of being members and supporters of the BLP?

26. old onion bags Avatar

Wha loss Caswell ..man you is a real demon fa trute….lol tek care D man can’t sleep tonight….Caswell call the police nah !

27. old onion bags Avatar

@ Caswell
    I also saw the Prime Minister vowing that he and his Government would protect workers rights. What about the rights of the workers at the Urban Development Commission who were dismissed just because they were suspected of being members and supporters of the BLP?
    As usual Caswie…top shot…..its called a “prejudiced one-eyed view”…..By the way has anyone heard anything of the LIME wages settlement ? What has become of their dispute ? Last word…..we were supposed to be be briefed on the matter since Good Friday weekend..(I was overseas since} did I miss something ?

28. Adrian Hinds Avatar

This is not a fight for Government alone. This is a fight that the people of Barbados need to get involve with and in. They can engage this company by boycotting them. You the Barbadian people have the ultimate power to bring this company to it’s knees.

29. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Adrian

The evidence presented so far suggest that employer would have committed a criminal offence, since it is against the law for an employer to dismiss a worker who joins or proposes to join a trade union. What do you think of my suggestion to report the matter to the police or to bring a private criminal action against the employer?

30. @Caswell

You are well placed to know that unions give great credence to making noise for the gallery. Is this a case going the traditional route to demonstrate the might of the trade union?

31. Adrian Hinds Avatar

@Caswell:
    It is a good point and approach; however if there is no proof that they were indeed fired as Sir Roy suggested then there is no case. Although Barbados does have a problem with foreign born business people flouting cultural norms, and established practices, it is an unusual step to engage in illegal practices such as you have suggested, and in such a public and crass manner. It would be silly for this company to say in writing or in the media that the reason they fired the workers were as the Union boss said.

If true -what Sir Roy stated- this isn’t only offensive to the fired workers, it is offensive to every law abiding Barbadian, and they should urge government to intervene, and they themselves to abstain from conducting any business with this company. You cannot get change if you do not put in your two cents worth. People will continue to walk all over you if you don’t stand up to them, in their faces.

32. ac,
    I do not spread propoganda, that info came out of someone who was there, a fellow Foundationer. You cant handle the truth about your party at all.

33. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

It is clear that making noise for the gallery and what you called the traditional approach has not worked in the recent past. If you do something in a particular way over and over and you get the same result, what would make you think that if you do it the same way again you would get a different result? It is time that the unions use a different approach.

Without going into the details of the Royal Shop matter and assuming that the workers were fired because they joined the union as alleged; let us imagine that the matter was taken to court and the employer convicted and sentenced, Do you think that another employer would have tried dismissing workers for joining a union any time soon?

34. Would be interesting to get feedback about the robust statement delivered by Sir yesterday:

“to tell these foreign people that this is not Syria, this is not Damascus, this is not Libya”.

35. Prodigal Son! That disclosure that the teachers are upset with Stuart was a given. There is no way they could not be upset given the AX events.

36. I would like to Join Onions in asking what is the status of the Lime deal. It would appear that the workers are not on strike and Sir Roy has stated that the PM negotiated a good settlement that would apparently commit Lime to pay out more to its Barbadian employees than to its other subregional employees. The PM was supposed to come out and take a victory lap several weeks ago but since then there appears to have been a gag order placed on both sides.

Do we have another AX phase 1 type settlement here with Sir Roy engaged in wishful thinking?

Could it be time for Sir Roy to go? He seems to be making the kind of mistakes that are only analagous to the mistakes made by a tired OSA in the last 2 years or so of his 14 years as PM.

37. His decision to back the BSTU and of late no comment by him is passing strange.

38. old onion bags Avatar

If I may offer my side on this…. it’s not within Sir Roy’s place to go against PM ‘s wishes. I distinctly remember Sir Roy pointing to the fact that …”we will hear more on the LIME settlement from the PM in a press release. ” Since then, (Monday morn.) there was news of something gone array.
    Why seek to implicate the man Sir Roy ?

The problem seems to be a leadership matter of …” Who robbing this train ..You or Jesse ? “…syndrome…people testing who is boss…having noted past events.

39. The trade union movement has blended into the socio/political fabric of the society. Once the movement moved away from activism to the so-called social partnership, its activism wing either disappeared or simply became comatose. I will continue to suggest that the social partnership is a two edged sword.

40. @Onions

Who is legally bound to represent the LIME workers?

If the Prime Minister is tardy in making a promised public announcement why does he (Sir Roy) not feel obligated to speak on the matter of the PM’s silence?

41. David; I agree with Onions on this one. Sir Roy should only be expected to comment further on the Lime matter if he had knowledge of behind the scenes moves by Lime head Office overseas to water down the “preliminary agreements” reached between the Lime local reps and the PM and Sir Roy. In fact such a behind the scenes move is the only possibility that makes sense re. the PM’s promise to have a press release on the matter several weeks ago and not keeping that promise.

So perhaps we may hear something soon, a la AX where the PM, may once more, be appearing to go against a Union. If that indeed happens then we should really hear Sir Roy pompasetting.

But I wouldn’t hold my breath on that one.

42. @checkit-out

Fair enough but you should consider we have two issues at play here. The promise 1) that the PM would make the agreement public, and he has not to his political detriment and 2) the need for BWU, the union responsible for the workers, to agitate for a final agreement if the time for the PM’s announcement is deem too long.

What if he takes 6-months are you saying Sir Roy remains anchored to a promise by the PM which appears to be stillborn?

43. Sir Roy has overstayed his welcome. He is now worn and just marking time. His success rate is highly questionable. Now he is making these racist statements which are totally out of place! Sir Frank must be turning in his grave!!

44. “If the Prime Minister is tardy in making a promised public announcement why does he (Sir Roy) not feel obligated to speak on the matter of the PM’s silence?”
    perhaps even Sir Roy realises that that it is a lost cause trying to get the Prime Minister to speak on matters of which he does not intend to speak. My understanding is that the Prime MInister has received an official Clico report yet there has been no comment. Perhaps he is still at phase one of the report.

45. re. balance post of 1:30 PM;

Or perhaps he is in phase 2 of the Government’s CLICO public perception management strategy which seems to be purpose built for his proclivities. i.e. avoid any engagement with the public on anything related to CLICO.

Phase one probably was; avoid being served with any official negative information on CLICO that a typical Government might consider it necessary to respond to. (i.e. any information on CLICO)

Phase 3 might be; ensure as far as possible that nothing negative comes out of the JM report about CLICO before the Elections.

46. @Caswell

Heard you today on the talk show. How could you have done the unthinkable by criticizing the social partnership? Don’t you know it is a sacred cow!

47. HAMILTON HILL Avatar
    HAMILTON HILL

Since time eternal foreign companies have with impunity,treated Bajans like step-children in good old Barbados.Truth be told there are some pets that receive better treatment.Caswell is right on point.This is a matter for the law courts.This is also a matter that every trade union in the country should speak to,in one clear voice.However that will never happen.Over the years inaction on the part of the leaders in the movement led to disillusionment,hence the members’s docility.I take you back to one Saturday morning at a store on swan’s street when a bajan man was kicked– yes kicked in the ass by a syrian store owner.What happened? Nothing.Lets go back to the indignities bajans endured while they gave their labour to Ram Merchandani.The same institution that stymied every attempt to get the Rams to respect us back then is very much alive today,so the end result most surely shall be the same.Know why that institution still lives?WE VOTED FOR THEM.

48. @David

I think Sir Roy Trotmam should leave BWU. he is past the retirement age, even though he has asked the Council for an extension to ensure that Robert Morris never becomes head of BWU. He has succeeded.in that effort.

I think he should remember the Royal Shop and the Sandy Lane issues and one at the Harbour Road, The result nothing came out of them after pontificating on what he was going to do.

Please note that I am not against trade unions, nor am i am against freedaom of association. I am against him raising peoples’ expectation and delivering nothing. He must recognize that u cant use brute force in this situation as the emppyer is not duty bound to continue to employ the workers of whom he spoke. . if they are entiled to severance, every effort should be made to ensure that they receive their severance. He has no legal authority to act on their behalf although he might think it is morally wrong for the company to have fired the workers.

I would suggest that he appeal to Barbadians to exert pressure on the company by not doing business with it, but are we our brother’s keeper..

49. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The worst thing that happened to the cause of workers in my lifetime is the establishment of the social partnership. It was created in at a time when the politicians in government and in the labour movement wanted to control the anger of the workers. Around the time of the 8 per cent pay cut, when the workers were demanding action from the union leaders. You would recall that Bobby did not support the workers and Sir Roy was conveniently away from the House for the vote. I remember seeing him signing cheques at the CCL instead of supporting the workers. At that time all the leaders of the major unions were firmly in the camp of the DLP. I would put my head on the block that the social partnership would not have been formed if the BLP were in power. The social partnership was conceived in sin and born in sin, it is high time that it is exercised.

When Owen Arthur came to power he took over the demon that is the social partnership and also used it to control the legitimate expectations of workers. The resulting trade union movement is now totally disrespected.

50. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The word is “exorcized” the iPad kept changing it. It would only remain if I used a “z” like the Americans.

Leave a Reply to Random ThoughtsCancel reply