We must transform or perish,” Arthur warned yesterday in an address to the Barbados Association of Office Professionals at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre – Nation Newspaper

Leader of the Opposition, Owen Arthur

Today the corporate media has Owen Seymour Arthur mouthing the arguments that BU has made for several years about the pressing need for radical transformation in Barbados, as a cultural construct. But we think he means the economy alone. Any real cultural transformation, the type we have been calling for, must of necessity transcend the dubious arithmetic methods of the Keynesian, post world war two architecture, to which Owen Arthur is an avid devotee. He knows nothing else and this old dog cannot be thought any new tricks. He seems to have now awoken to the truism, which has been obvious to those of us who closely follow global events, that all of what we think of as Western ‘civilization’ is under threat – and may well collapse sooner that we think.

This is a man who whole-heartedly embraced the Washington Consensus Neo-liberal policies of his masters in American and European capitals for more than 30 years. This is a man who is known to have a close relationship with one of the most plutocratic ‘leaders’ in the West, Tony Blair. It was Blair who spearheaded an illegal war on Iraq to steal Iraqi oil. Arthur has no history of transforming anything, with the possible exception of his personal life. We well remember him shedding crocodile tears on the floor of Parliament in a public relations (PR) gambit to attract resources. That this kind of man would now want to present himself as an agent of transformation is an affront to all that is Barbados and more particular those of us who have been fashioning this argumentation for many years.

Arthur is no more than an imposter!

But is must be the responsibility of BU to call out this neophyte as a real and present danger to the development of a new form of people-centered or direct democracy for which BU is possibly the sole voice in Barbados. We must be very careful that this troglodyte does not succeed in compromising our search for a better way by which we organize our society. We must make sure that this ideological frame does not end up being the basis on which Owen Arthur again seeks to stage a soft coup in Barbados. We can be sure that if Arthur hinges himself to a populace rhetoric it will only be for electoral reasons because everything that he is anathema to the type of transformation we seek. After such an election it shall be business as usual and the historic moment for real transformation would have lost its innocence and its non-partisan nature.

Stand firm!

150 responses to “Transform Or Perish!”

1. old onion bags Avatar

Eco butt a boab a wattle
    Al-luff if at all sound……
    Wilt some not see the follies…
    Looking to the wasteland..
    Some know and not
    Still trashy, even wacky…
    They swallow still but all……
    Give me Sir Lance any day
    At least an honest troll

(Obb .Orig)

2. @ Pacha
    Would you please flesh out the ‘people centred or direct democracy’.

3. @Inkwell…thank you for your kind comments will you MYOB*?

4. @ Bush

Would you please flesh out your ‘National Supervisory Committee’. Is it my ‘watchdog with fangs’? Your nice pic suggests it might be. But, please, you can’t be the ‘Chorus’ for ever.

5. @ David

Thankyou for (twice) trying to give flesh to the standard round of village gossip.

6. They weren’t even interested in censuring Bonny Peppa when he/she/it was polluting the blogosphere with the most foul and lurid language. Indeed, some applauded it.

Inkwell…leff out muh friend Bonny. How I loved her and miss her soo much. If you find me offensive don’t read my posts . BTW who is the “they” you referring to? David? Well you have some nerve!

7. David (not BU) Avatar

“however GOOD NEWS is on the horizon the economy has been able to withstand the free fall with a new CARPENTER and builder and is on the road to ECONOMIC recovery.”

who is this person? please tell me so i can follow and see if you are correct. thanks

8. islandgal,

If you didn’t have a bonny peppa in your bonnet, you would not have so easily misread my intent. I am not at all suggesting that your comments are offensive. In fact I find you to be one of the more interesting and down to earth contributors.

“They” refers to several BU bloggers who took me to task for telling Bonny Peppa to wash out her potty mouth and stop being so needlessly offensive and vulgar. Some of us subscribe to other than gutter standards. I trust you don’t have a problem with that.

9. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac…the new comedian
    new CARPENTER and builder and is on the road to ECONOMIC recovery. Not another day with the VODDO economics of OSA which left this country in economic shambles and free fall.
    That was a laugh …Bajans awake n kickin….ONE TERM

10. Inkwell…I apologize for my tartness (waaait me apologizing ?sumting has gone wrong wid me dis morning) BUT you didn’t understand BONNY at all. Yes she would sometimes be vulgar but she was harmless. She made us laugh and made this blog interesting.

11. I feel assured and re-assured that the economic team including Mascoll and Arthur can transform and reshape the economy. Why do people seek to go to the lowest low because they are in one party or the other?

Mascoll (regardless of the fact that he was in the DLP as Opposition Leader) is a brilliant economist and Arthur has implemented several policies that to this day have paid dividends. I laud the DLP administration for the delay of tax businesses had to pay and the extension of the unemployment benefit. But if I were to choose one over the next, it would have to be the Mascoll/Arthur/Mottley (for social systems) team over the Sinckler/Stuart/Estwick team.

12. Long Live Bonny Peppa (Desmond Bourne)

Her/His mutterings were too filthy
    He/she behaved too badly and it had an effect

13. old onion bags Avatar

Imagine
    I now come out of town…for once she was BUSY….fa real….. Raggae shows I imagine……The store owners were so happy ….one asked me to inform the blog. that this spurt was a blessin from above…..never mind he said…..they made up their minds. “The PM can call the ting as he feel but they dun know what has to be done”…..well I said NO MORE

14. old onion bags Avatar

But as for this UNEMPLOYMENT figure of 11%…..nah buddy that ent right…somebody got it wrong….more like 1 in every 5 persons (20%) is more realistic….lots of young girls….fellas too….Wickham I wish you could conduct a survey….using FOR REAL RULES ..= Are you looking for work ? Not these mess up conditions the Statistical Dept does use….like… if you wash your neighbor’s car once or a weekend , you not considered unemployed nonsense. PEOPLE out there are really looking and can’t find…so do something before late.JOBS Governor….JOBS..we can’t be stable..500 more come Tuesday from Almond.More strain on the NIS Reserves, both IN and OUT. How could we call that stable….?

15. @Onions

Are you suggesting the Statistical Department should change its research methodology?

16. The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall Avatar
    The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall

@OOB…

You raise an interesting point.

Do we know the metrics which are used to report?

17. old onion bags Avatar

Explain their policy of dropping from “the Unemployed” category.. a youngster who worked 3 months from Jan-Mar 2012..(.no unemployment benefits given) …but because he washed the neighbor’s car on weekends for pocket money ..as he can’t find lil wuk..the visiting surveyor..listed him as NOT UNEMPLOYED….or if one fails to go to the Office every 3 weeks to re-register…they take you off even if you call in….(no bus fare )…real foolish rules.,,Its they way of under-estimating the figure for obvious reasons….11% ..that is a laugh!

18. @Onions

The question remains, has the methodology changed?

19. old onion bags Avatar

Tell me if these figures seems right..Since 2011….from Barbados Statistical Department……http://www.barstats.gov.bb/

Latest Socio-Economic Indicators
    Gross Domestic Product 2008 at Basic Prices BDS$ 5,675.90 (M)

Inflation Rate at December 2011 9.4%
    Unemployment Rate for 4th Qtr 2011 10.2%
    Inflation Rate at November 2011 9.1%
    Inflation Rate at October 2011 8.7%

We only has an increase of …. 0.8% (4th Qrt) since then…..til now 11%…..how many entities shut down since ? Nuff..How many layoffs ? plenty.

20. ole onions i hear you head been spinning all day trying to figure out dem number and guess what by election time Pm Stuart would have made your head roll right on to the floor! Tranform or you will Perish!

21. Onions and 2Dpoint
    Provide the evidence that Mascoll is a brilliant economist. If he and Owen Arthur are so brilliant, their talents are needed in the UK which has now slipped into a double dip recession. They could even go to Spain where the unemployment rate is now 24% because they are not needed at this time because Barbados is being managed carefully and with commonsense. The Minister of Finance with brilliant BARBADIAN economists in his Ministry and the Central bank has been guiding Barbados through the worst recession since the great depression. They are doing a great job and the Governor of the Central Bank was able to say today that the economy has started to show signs of recovery. He also said that Barbados does not require any stabilization programs as was projected by the great DOOM AND GLOOMERS led by Arthur, Mascoll and puppet onions.

22. old onion bags Avatar

Send somebody in town ..a week day…ask people ..You working ? You want a job ? Den do a REAL “RUNNING Survey”…No. surveyed….100…..no. who say they looking for wuk…27…compute 27100 = 27%….. Do it for 30 days …take an average….Now is that real or not ?

ac gf ..a went town an brek….but a like what I saw nuff people again spending….confidence or D reggae shows dis weekend..

23. Onions
    While you are up all night trying to figure out the stats go and read this story in the Daily Mail in the UK
    Recession has created ‘scavenger’ pupils who hunt scraps of food in schools and use it as a place to warm up, poll reveals
    A new survey of teachers in UK concludes that the economic crisis is meaning some schoolchildren are coming to school in a malnourished state and are having to pick at the lunch scraps leftover by classmates.
    Onions NOT IN BARBADOS. The safety network is working onions. Secondary school children can get school meals in Barbados on request by guidance counselors.

24. The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall Avatar

@Clone: “Onions NOT IN BARBADOS. The safety network is working onions. Secondary school children can get school meals in Barbados on request by guidance counselors.

Just for the record…

Was it not promised that a Freedom of Information Act would be enacted by this Government.

To the best of my understanding, this promise is still outstanding.

Hmmmm….

25. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac
    Did I not tell that cloxne…..I finish wid him every sense…D man like he hard of hearin….boss…..let the people decide…we waiting on FUNDY….D man say wait and we waiting…Nah lotta long talk….we gine wait n see …ok cloXne ?

26. The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall Avatar

@OOB: “Did I not tell that cloxne…..I finish wid him every sense…D man like he hard of hearin….boss…..let the people decide…we waiting on FUNDY….D man say wait and we waiting…Nah lotta long talk….we gine wait n see …ok cloXne ?”…

Just wondering.

Was any of that meant to make sense?

27. Onions
    If Barbadians are as educated as is touted then they will return the DLP to government for five more years as they have proven that they have done everything to look after the most vulnerable.
    Onions picking on Freundel will only take you so far, but Barbadians are fair people and will recognized that he is an honest man running against a dishonest one for the country and constituency.
    You have not won the argument that the DLP don’t know what they are doing with the economy because this is going five years and the economy has not crashed as was predicted by your gurus.

Halsall
    I am with you on the need to pass these pieces of legislation but the BLP did not pass them or will not pass them therefore I will be voting for the DLP unless a viable third party comes along. BUT not the BLP.

28. @Clone The BLP yardfowls do not care about logic or context.

A blind man can see that Owen Arthur is no special or magical economist. He said Mottley was ORDINARY and so is he.
    Why do the BLP spindoctors keep trying to suggest that we need some magical solution that they alone have but will not tell the world.
    Now the growth in 1994 – 2007 was based on inflows from the UK market especially in the villa, west coast developments,etc.With the UK IN RECESSION, do you still expect this money to be pouring into the country. Get real and be honest.
    Yet, day after day, educated BLP supporters come on this blog to mislead people.
    Is it not interesting that the BLP PR machine always tells you how the DLP does not have the talent to run the country but if these same people end up in the BLP they become chief spokesmen, senators and the best thing since slicebread?
    There is no superior talent in the BLP – check the piss poor lack lustre BLP candidates one by one and you will get my point.

29. “There is no superior talent in the BLP – check the piss poor lack lustre BLP candidates one by one and you will get my point.”

There is also no superior talent in the DLP – check the piss poor lack lustre DLP candidates one by one and you will get my point.

It works both ways brudder “!” BTW can’t you get a better handle?

30. And the electorate really up shite street!

31. The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall Avatar

@islandgirl911: “And the electorate really up shite street!

Only if they choose to be so.

32. the economic news seem to have put a lid on the blp yard fpwls whose daily rheortic of sounding like chicken little has not taken root. poor onions seem to be the only lonesome bird to take the body blows.

33. From 1994 – 2007, the Barbados economy never grew while the UK was in recession. The biggest decline we saw was in the shock from 9/ 11 which was mild compared to what our trading partners are experiencing over the last few years.
    Therefore,my fellow Barbadians, Owen Arthur and the BLP can show no evidence where the USA and the UK were in reccession or experiencing sluggish growth while Barbados was booming.
    I challenge any BLP apologist to show when Barbados under the BLP was booming while the UK was in recession.

34. Onions
    Yah gone sleep.I know yah have to go to de picnic tomorror
    Go and read the last two edition of Barbados Today online and see The Honorable Prime Minister representing our country with dignity while meeting with the big boys and feel proud to be a bajan represented by the Honorable Freundel Stuart.

The spiteful, wicked Barbados Nation Newspaper is farming the news on The Prime Minister visit to Washington. All they wanted to know is if he is going to the IMF for to get involved in a stand by arrangement.
    The Nation did it to Sandiford and now to Stuart

35. the spiteful nation newspaper and nauseauting too.filled with half truths .

36. National newspapers should be patriotic even though they may support a particular political party. I read more positives about Barbados from overseas media than from the Nation.
    For example in today’s Gleaner Newspapers in Jamaica a story with this headline caught my attention,
    Barbados best of Caribbean in Global IT Report. Nothing about that in the Nation this week. Is it because a non-national is the editor?

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/business/Barbados-best-of-Caribbean-in-Global-IT-Report_11342589#ixzz1tKjKJQ6g

37. @Clone

Without realizing maybe you have fingered another foundational issue which we need to get right. A relevant Fourth Estate.

38. Bajans like too much ‘political’ basabasa… it would be amusing if the situation was not so SERIOUS. The TRUTH is: we are all sheep to the slaughter.

Get Serious and get active and do something about THAT which is in our own Power…and REMEMBER the BIGGEST problem in Barbados is not Political leadership but Moral Decline and BREAKDOWNS in the Family . Oh yes and all that Malicious Gossiping about family and ‘friends’ (Epidermic or is it Pandemic in Barbados) …and in front of our Children at-that…TEACHING them Hypocrisy and Dishonesty. How can we then expect them to grow-up and become Trusted and Reliable Leaders?

We MUST get real and stop fooling ourselves that we know much about Politics. How, in deed, can we influence the ‘Politicians’ to be ‘good’ when we cant influence our Children to be good?

39. @ Clone
    Would this ranking have anything to do with Edutech, the breaking up of the telecommunications monopoly, community IT programme and or removal of VAT on computers?

40. David
    I think blogs like this and other social media are actually going to replace that original fourth estate. The original fourth estate is out of touch with what is happening and shortly will be extinct.

41. Enuff
    Yes
    I am a patriot and so this country achievements make me proud and it does not matter if done by D or B. By the way which ever government is in power is my government.

42. @Clone

Don’t start up BU on the Fourth Estate. However Barbados given our conservative bent will lag in embracing the movement. What the traditional media does not realize is that the more they push agendas which run counter to national sentiment the thirst for alternatives (social media) will increase. There is no journalist, politician et al who do not peep at the blogs, facebook (FB), own twitter accounts etc. Although the Nation (the advocate has not even bothered) has attempted to integrate with FB etc it is more cosmetic than substantive.

43. How many households in Barbados have computers and internet access?

44. old onion bags Avatar

While assisting a comrade …in beating the Monday 30th Deadline.. I am forced to ask….how can the present administration defend the logic of abolishing $ 10,000 max Allowable Deduction on one’s income tax calculation ..on amounts paid into Credit Unions as ShareSavings on 2011 TX Forms ?
    Employees were once encouraged to save their monies over the years, thru this medium to avoid foreign banks’ domination of locals’ investment savings. Now in 2011 this ??….It is an abomination to say the least .. Having further examined its effect, thousands of MIDDLE CLASS single individuals stand to pay or lose $354.00 min. by this withdrawn benefit. A young Cave Hill recently employed graduate for instance , having already lost his her travel and entertainment allowance of say $1,000.00 ..is now saddled with this extra burden in these already hard times.With an effective tax rate burden of 37% approx on already on every ‘manjack’ …it is most enervate to subject individuals to this crap.

While we at it….I think the Department is setting itself up for unnecessary problems, having gone with online filing, this during a ‘tax hunt year’. To compound matters, there were reports of shortages of forms for those without computers. Not only is filing online cumbersome to start, but the placement of a $ 500.00 penalty for late filers is absurd..
    I can only see this a faux pas .in 2012 as a preamble to negate payments to a majority of filers…. once on the receiving end of claims.Again all this in an elections year….. what could they be thinking , are they really thinking ?

Graduate salary : ex. $60,000 p.a

45. Hants

The desktop will soon be extinct. The last stats given on cellphone use in Barbados said they were over three hundred thousand for a population of just over two hundred and seventy thousand. Most of phones are smart phones with data plans and therefore there is no need for internet access in the home. Young people use the social media widely and therefore no surprise of that ranking. If they get involved in producing apps for this social media then that would really be good for Barbados.

46. @ Old Onion Bags,

stop complaining. Fellas like sargeant and Moneybrains got to pay a 10% surcharge on their income.

I too poor so it don’t affect me.

I gine fishing.

47. Onions et al;
    It is a given that the Governor of the Central Bank is a creature of the Minister of Finance. There is also a perception that the current GCBB appears to be more of such a creature than his predecessors. However, the news that he has given us this week that by his efforts, foresight, guile and wisdom, that Barbados has evaded the Standard and Poors and Moody’s of this world and will not be downgraded is very good news for which he must be sincerely congratulated.

That said, We should not forget that there now seems to be a correlation between increasing Tourism arrivals and decreasing tourism receipts or even tourist plant closures and we are not quite certain how the imminent and recent closures as well as CLICO EFPA’s maturity committments by DT, the Governor himself, the Min of Finance and the current PM, have been factored into the good Governor’s projections for growth.

I am hoping that the next CBB quarterly report will be as upbeat as this one.

48. Onions
    I do not like to post so many times but it is a Bank Holiday and I am at home and therefore will take you on with your normal critical approach.
    I would come to the conclusion that you are not computer savvy if you say filing online is cumbersome.

49. I forgot to add above that perhaps the Governor might see one good thing coming out of the ABV closure in the short term. That we may now see tourist arrivals being positively correlated with receipts once more.

50. Clone; I just saw Onions’ post on the Income tax above and I concur with it almost totally. The only aspect of it with which I disagree is the one with which you also disagree. Online filing is immeasurably easier that paper filing, but of course, only if one has access to a computer.

It boggles the mind that in an election year the Government continues with the removal of the longstanding allowances for persons making savings with credit union shares and maintains the double taxing of the NIS pensions of pensioners along with the Travel and Entertainment allowances of workers.

Of course, this might be the distaff side to the GCBB’s announcement of his multi million reduction of the deficit which allowed us to avoid Moodys and Standard and Poors. I suppose, we can’t have it both ways and it might be the better of 2 evils and may well show maturity and good overall judgement of the MOF and the Governor.

Who said being a Minister of Finance, a PM or even a GCBB was easy?

Leave a Reply to David (not BU)Cancel reply