Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

On reflection there have not been many blogs which were written by BU (David) when the laptop keys were banged in anger – consider this blog the exception. Of all the issues which have challenged Barbados and the government since it assumed office, it is the Alexandra matter (AX) which continues to provoke the ire of the BU household. A lot has been written in the last decade about this matter. The bottomline, Barbadians brag about how wonderfully educated we are, and how socially and politically stable we are, and how the Social Partnership has worked for Barbados and is viewed as a beacon of success for others to admire and emulate. Yet despite our many achievements we find ourselves where we are today; unable to solve a 10-year dispute which came to a head in recent months.

After 4-months of the AX matter having been escalated to the Prime Minister of Barbados Fruendel Stuart, and his early success to get the teachers back to school there was great expectation amongst the population that the matter would be resolved soon after. The Prime Minister by his language coupled with a public demonstration of confidence by the BSTU arising from meetings with Stuart, Barbadians rightly in our view perceived that the matter was being thrashed out, the fact that it is known to be a complex issue notwithstanding.

On Thursday when the Prime Minister held a press conference to announce on the matter, honestly, whatever expectation and admiration existed for Stuart was deflated when the solution approved by the Cabinet of Barbados was aired. BU has recorded in earlier blogs our concern that Stuart has demonstrated a tendency to ignore the political dimension to the many issues he has had to battle albeit during a difficult stewardship. The fact that he is a politician whether he considers himself one should make such an observation moot anyway. Barbadians are stark raving mad at the decision by the government of Barbados to establish a Commission of Inquiry as the means to solve the problem. It is not that constituting it is was not well intentioned however the perception of Barbadians is that the matter requires the urgency of now.  Whatever the level of the political stock Stuart and his government enjoyed before the press conference it has significantly fallen since.

Perhaps what this issue will do is to revisit the issue whether Stuart is the best man to lead the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) into the next general election which beacons. Truth be told the Eager 11 matter remains outstanding in the minds of many and is perceived as yet another matter which Stuart has not adequately addressed. Barbados is a small place and the underground buzz on that issue remains. If Stuart is the one who will lead the party into the next election he needs a political strategist onboard tomorrow. He is simply making too many errors which have devastating political implications for the party managing in a difficult time. In the meantime Arthur and the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) hardly needs to address any of the important issues.

On the question of leadership in DLP, if we subtract Stuart, there is not much left to chose from. Sinckler is a neophyte and his role in the Eager 11 matter would make his elevation too polarizing for the party. Also the perception by many that he is/was too close to Leroy Parris is not an asset. Kellman is too grassroots with a maverick approach to be able to garner the support he needs. The fact that he believes he can be leader is irrelevant. Estwick is perceived and many times has supported the belief that he is a loose cannon. Sealy has a passive public image and at this late stage in the game it is hard to imagine he has what it takes to carry the party on his back at a difficult time.  Innis has been quietly grooming his image, greasing the media and working the Who is Who Class since the death of Thompson. Incredibly he seems to be the one who stands out from a weak pack. The saying that in the land of the blind a one eye man is king is most apt. Of course the x-factor is who has the coattail to bring home the bacon going into an a general election which will require swimming against a strong current flowing from the other direction.

For many Barbadians, should they chose to exercise their civic duty by voting in the next election, it will require the ability to hold the nose to avoid the permeating stench currently emanating from our political system.

461 responses to “Stuart Not Getting The Job Done”

1. old onion bags Avatar

@ Bushie
    re: tarring and feathers… one woman incharge

or…THE RACK…for Bushie…..dangerous grounds…hold ya hide boi…..
    I go watch ra wriggle…here goes

2. @Hants

Here is the link which represents a summary of the findings:

http://bajan.files.wordpress.com/2012/01/alexandra-school-report.pdf

Asked the question earlier, when is Broomes expected to go on leave?

Why has the AX posse gone so silent?

3. @ Yardbroom

Your list of unmarried is interesting. But to do a proper ‘performance’ check we would have to look (a) at faithful married men; (b) unfaithful married men;(c) those married more than once; (d) divorced single men; and (e) married men living with another woman. Into this collection we would have to factor bi- and homosexual men and single
    men who play the field.

4. As a second time reader of the Ax Report ( link above wth thnks)…I again am appalled….at the status of things…given the report’s vivid CONCLUSIONS….Are these commentators totally gone bananas, being so insensitive to the REPORT ?….frig bias and get real some of you (s).
    Why won’t the MOE listen or even act ? …..To put the Report on the shelf to catch dust or for the PM to say ..first time seeing the report ( though maybe true) is MADNESS to the nth.

5. However, I suspect that even if you did that (and so looked, eg, at Tchaikowsky, Proust, Liszt, Bertrand Russell, Francis Bacon, Horowitz as odd balls) your case would still be made.

6. @David

but he is not in the private sector and therein lies the problem, Weber did not develop the theory of bureaucracy just for so, it is recognized that the public officers must be protected from ruthless politicianains, for that reasons the checks and balances are in place.

I hope that the moe have substitute teachers in place monday to teach the nation’s children.

7. @Onions

Perhaps a relevant question is why did the MORHR sat on and withheld the report from the PM/Cabinet? What have been the implications of him doing so? Is there a credibility issue to examine here?

8. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I just noticed your comment at 6:11 a.m. where you pointed out that Cecil McCarthy does not agree with me. With all due respect to my teacher, I think that he has misled himself: he is mixing apples and oranges.

The attempt to dismiss Smith from the Lodge School was fraught with difficulty because he was not a public officer, that was appointed by the Governor-General in accordance with section 94 of the constitution and the Civil Establishment Act. He was appointed under a different dispensation by the Governing Body of the Lodge School. He was not a public officer and therefore not subject to the rules of the Public Service, but those rules were invoked against him. That is why he prevailed. Broomes is a public officer.

9. @Blogger

This matter has been swirling for how long?

How long is too long in the public service?

10. The writer of this piece, and we are not persuaded that it was David, fails to locate the political happenings in Barbados within the global crisis of so-called ‘democracies’. This crisis is manifesting itself in different ways in different places. In the case of France, we have the rise of the far right and far left within a culture that presents a greater range of electoral ‘choices’. In the USA, this fascist revival is no less apparent though within a narrower and plutocratic two major party system where it is difficult to discern any real differences between the main actors. In Barbados, we have a governing party which is struggling with what would normally be mundane issues of governance. In all circumstances it is the economic issues that are driving the political agendas. The difference however is that everywhere, other than Barbados, recognizes that there is a crisis of democracy as an economic system. Some Barbadians still seem to believe that some kind of electoral result can fix the underlying ‘democratic’ malady. More specifically, some bajans seem to contend that the re-elevation of Owen Arthur to the prime-ministership in itself would somehow make their lives better. If this were so, how could we explain the near negative growth in almost all EU countries? If this where so how do we explain an anemic 2% growth in the USA, real unemployment of up to 20%, debt to GDP ratio of 100%, growing budget deficits, 50 million people living in poverty, real national debt (including other commitments) of up to 100 TRILLION dollars.

Given these circumstances, we have been calling for the exercise of a political option that avoids the dictatorship of the two parties in Barbados. This will require a social movement of the people not unlike what is happening elsewhere or what has been going on for more than ten year in almost all the countries of South and Central America. And how could Barbados be in a sea of revolution and remain unscathed while wrongly blaming one man or one party for a generalized and systemic failure of governance. A failure, whether we like it or not will result in a seismic refashioning of all systems.

11. @ Amused and David
    We both have our Hilda’s. In essence the DC has reported that there are many cases stretching back years which need to be resolved. They seem intent on having a shot at it. But the post is ‘full’ and it’s difficult to write. Many questions remain – not least what earlier Committees thought they were doing. It is difficult to see this development as other than CJ inspired.

12. @David

I have not read the report as yet, i have been relaibly informed that Mr. Broomes had not seen the report up to the time thee was somuch hullabulu and therefore he was not asked to respond to anything in the report. Yjats the usual procedure before a conclusion could be drawn. all parties mentioned where there is nagative comments must have an oportunity to defen themselves,

I have been futher informed that the charirman was overstepping his boundaries according to the education act, and that he should soon be served by some lagal document and that why he is hesitant to talk. This thing getting real sweet.

13. @David

I dont know when he was appointed to the service, but if he had an appointment prior to 1974(hope that is the right year, but caswell dont ju,p on me i am speaking from memory, but if i am wrong just correct the year) this as a guide so this means that he could have retired at age 55, but with the amendment to the pension act he can work until age 67.

14. Can you imagine what Her Majesty will say when she sees the delay and neglect of the children of her loyal subjects?

As a mother and parent of children who once attended school she will be appalled.

Big able men and women charged with dealing with the matter before it got to this stage need to be disciplined.

15. ac | April 22, 2012 at 8:40 AM |

the circumstances must be EXTREME for thirty teachers not wanting to work with BROOMES! and strike not ONCE but TWICE, doesn’t seem to be a place that anyone wants to be a part of. THE place on Fire and the occupAnts are being asked to re enter to be burnt to a crisp.

how many teacher are at the school teaching now the 30 are out? your comments are truly amazing.

While i’m not the biggest fan of Peter Wickham because if his clear bias, i think he has said it best, this problem does not have any external factors, this is a problem that the PM inserted his self in and it should of been one that he could of fix to show he is a leader.

i believe most right thinking people supported the PM in getting the teachers back to work a few months ago but this action he has taken is weak. i fail to see how the DLP could move forward with this man in the lead.

what the country needs now more than ever is a leader who will lead. who that person will be on the BLP, we know. the DLP side is up in the air and this more than anything else will hurt the party greatly.

16. From page 5A of the Sunday Sun,April 22, 2012 under article “STUART LAUDED FOR DECISION” by Ricky Jordan – and I quote ” He ( NUPW General Secretary Dennis Clarke ) also recalled that despite comments from the opposition about “swift action”, the previous administration (BLP) had dealt swiftly with four senior officials at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital- Neville Millington, Tennyson Springer, Keith Sandiford and David McAllister – by sending them on special leave in 1996, which resulted in their being paid more than $200 000 in damages and court costs.
    Prime Minister Stuart is no fool, the BLP on this issue like so many other issues are Nuff Criticism and No Solutions.They have no moral credibility on this issue.They swept it under the carpet and left it to fester and now complaining about it not being solved. Gimme a break.
    The BLP will fool those who allow themselves to be fooled.

17. yes David not (BU) and lest you forgot that the thirty teachers did work with BRoomes until they say ENOUGH! is Enough! so what is your point again

18. @ David (not BU)

Answr: 21 mostly unappointed..The 30 on strike comprise of ALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL the head of Dept…and mostly ALLLLLLLLLLLLLLL the senior teachers.Just clarity….

19. @Onions

All those on strike also include old scholars.

20. Hi robert ross
    Your point is well made, the remark to which I responded was so throw-away that I could not grasp the logic of it. I felt it was a convenient stick, used to beat The Prime Minister, whose actions were not in accord with their expections.

I have always felt that being married is not really a good indicator of leadership qualities and that is for men and women, because of many reasons people do not get married.

Some men are married and it would be difficult to find persons less “committed” to the union.

We should see the Alexandra issue as a separate entity and treat it on its merits. It serves no useful purpose to lump it with other matters of the day. It could be said that it is an indicator of a less than effective Government, that is a view taken by some here but that should not cloud our minds in making a “fair assessment” of the specific situation.

The Prime Minister – and I am not being political here – has given the BSTU a life line but they cannot see it.

They can return to work saying they have done as the Prime Minister has requested. They will wait on the report and see what its findings are. The interval will give a cooling off period and show them to be “reasonable”.

When the report is available either way they can still maintain a modicum of respect and take the high ground. Mr.Broomes has been well advised. We should not encourage decent men and women to ride into the valley of death, as marture adults we can serve them better than that.

21. Will someone expedite some VIAGRA or CIALIS to the PM? He needs a refill for his pen.

22. @Pachamama

At the moment we have to work with the choices we have until that the damascene moment comes.
    Unfortunately it is not something which can be turned on.

23. @ David

Implicitly a generalized teachers strike may be the necessary but insufficient condition for the cultural revolution we seek. Therefore, the seemingly ineffectiveness of Freundel Stuart; the vacuousness of the opposition BLP and its leadership; the failure of other elites; the monarchist and archaic structure of the public service and the general lethargy of the populace may present a decisive and historical moment for national transformation. You must remember that these moments are rare and tend to happen when we least expect them and might not necessarily appear at the end of some recognizable continuum.

24. @Pacha

Your point is taken.

25. @robert ross | April 22, 2012 at 10:59 AM. So that comment of yours about the CJ having a go at the Disciplinary Committee are, in fact, completely speculative. I would also argue that your grounds are not as firm as they should be. If the CJ decided to take the matter of discipline of attorneys over, he would have to go no further than the Court of Appeal (of which he is head). Indeed, any disciplinary measures imposed by the BBA have to be sanctioned by the Court of Appeal if the lawyer against whom they are taken, rejects them. So far as I am aware (but my friend An Observer can confirm or deny this and I will defer to him) there is no reason why a complaint against any attorney cannot be taken directly to the Court of Appeal.

@Bush Tea | April 22, 2012 at 9:47 AM. I am married and truth (as well as a certain degree of self-preservation expediency, I admit) forces me to say that your contentions regarding women are not only unjust, but untrue and chauvinistic. So, donning my black cap, I now sentence you to the tender mercies of my friends Islandgal and Bonny and the other lady members of the BU family – and may the Lord have mercy on your soul.

On the AX matter, I am by no means sure that government should just up and fire the AX teachers, although it might well come to this. A certain degree of reason and restraint, in my view, needs to prevail if possible, even though government is undoubtedly within its rights to sever the teachers without further notice or formality. I believe that is what the PM is trying to accomplish and it is all very well for OSA to jump up and down and talk about delay, BUT if OSA was PM, he would be doing exactly the same thing that the PM is doing. BUT, while I condemn OSA for hypocrisy, I commend BU for holding the government’s feet to the fire. Somehow, given the latest goings on, I suspect that we are about to see this matter resolved, one way or another.

@Yardbroom | April 22, 2012 at 11:49 AM | Hats off to you, sir. I completely agree.

26. David thanks for the link.

I just read the report. Clearly there were problems that should have been dealt with by the Ministry of Education.

The report shows me that there is no need for a commission of enquiry.
    There are existing rules and regulations governing all the elements of managing a school and the oversight and enforcement by the Ministry of Education.

Decisive leadership and an agressive resolution is needed.

The children who are entitled to a good education.

27. @ Yardbroom
    Do not be misled into complacency by Robert Ross’s technical sounding support, there IS as direct relationship between the actions of the PM and his marital status.

IslangGal have a point (Bush Tea bites tongue 🙂 )

The fact that FS failed to look objectively at what he was getting himself into – after this woman publicly announced her intention of going to the highest level to get her wish – for starters…. Any married man would have “been there, done that…”

The fact that FS actually seems to think that BSTU “must have a good reason for what they are doing…..” ARE YOU KIDDING?? …even a youngster with a girlfriend knows better than that…

Even worst for FS, he has a grown daughter.
    Now even old and wise bushmen are known to become complete idiots when influenced by beautiful daughters…. Until they remember that the wife was once like that too…

If FS had a wife, ( and if said wife was a Bajan 🙂 ) she would have taken one look at Mary, HATED her guts!! and instructed FS not to have one SH£€ to do with her….full stop.

Lastly, if FS had a wife, he would have been so fed up with being nagged day and night that he would have dealt with the matter EXACTY as Owen did…. “Not tonight Mary.. I will be working late…”
    Later…

No man is complete unless and until he is married…..

28. Morning all, hey playing catchup so here goes

@caswell
    thanks and I understand the desire to use the pension act.IMHO though it seems wrought with potential challenges and possible legal wranngling and fallout unless an iron clad case has been presented or the officer is willing to accept and go.

@amused
    nicely put

@check it out
    the report cannot be conclusively used as teh reason for termination or retirment of Broomes. It is inconclusive as to a definitive reccommended action, and it also speaks to other fissures and issues within the school. BSTU’s grievance did not use the report as their primary case. then again, they seem to have never had a primary case since December 2011.

@OOB
    The report is a call to further action and investigation, not a conclusion in and of itself that could/would lead to dismissal. If we take it to its fullest conclusion some teachers would have to go too.

@!
    you keep dodging the political reality in an attempt to foist facts on us. you;ll need to address perception and public sentiment if you’re to win us over

@YArdbroom re. lifeline
    BSTU too blind, arrogant and stubborn to realise the PM actually trying to help them make their case. Go figure.

29. @ Amused

Brilliant response. You did not have to say that you are married,… It shows in the propriety of your response.
    Clearly the kind of maturity that ensures that you can still enjoy your Sunday lunch and perhaps even a bit of weekend crumpet…
    …at the same time those with eyes to see can read your wink….

You have made Bushie’s case.

30. BU understands from a usually reliable source that legal advisor to the BSTU Hal Gollop in response to the PM’s announcement on Thursday commented that it means ‘there is light at the end of the tunnel’. At the time he was participating in a panel discussion at the St. Michael’s School contributing on the subject ‘Is the education system adequately catering to boys’. What can be interpreted by the comment when we consider the BSTU remains on strike.

31. David; re. your 12.58 pm post. My interpretation is that the BSTU will call off that strike by as early as tomorrow. The problem is however, that by starting back the strike after the PM’s last announcement, and continuing it until someone allowed them to see reason, they have essentially telegraphed that they were very upset with the PM not being able to separate mr Broomes from the school with dispatch, and perhaps some annoyance at implicit promises not being kept. Striking for that cause now makes even less sense that it made in the beginning. Watch how many teachers turn up to school tomorrow. I suspect the number will include, if not the majority of the 30, at least a sizable proportion of them.

32. @david
    it’s pretty straight forward. Hal is playing the legal card for show, the PM’s buddy for leverage and the concerned activist for the BSTU. I think he should also hold blame for where we are now but that’s another story.

33. @ check it out

Yeah right. Didnot the BSTU said that would give lead way for cxc. You guys taking this as a done deal with the BSTU giving up but there are more rows to hoe that the BSTU could use. after ten years of aggression and going for more then what is the point of striking in the first place.it is not only ab out Principal Broomes but the Principle of what is right in seeking resolve, Short term resolution is what have gotten this debacle out of control.

34. @observing

Maybe, not sure though if it is fair to impute improper motive to the goodly lawyer.

35. Observing (and questioning) Avatar
    Observing (and questioning)

@david
    Improper? I think in the context of him achieving his objectives he is quite proper. Lol. Nothing wrong. With doing your job, using friendly “ties” and keeping a “solid” public image. 🙂 just for the record and I’ll confess, I’ve been wary of him from day one. Mary’s “not the brightest”, freundel’s not the most “politically smart.” One’s left to wonder where true leanings or alliances lie…especially given the bright “red cardl deeply rooted in his top left pocket.

36. Nationnews “The relationship between the principal and the board of management is strained. The principal wrote a letter reporting two members of the board to the ministry. He requested that they be removed from the board.

The chairman was summoned to defend the allegations in the letter. Another incident cited was a letter sent by the principal to the board of management stating that its members were not to be on the school’s premises without the principal’s permission. Another area of concern was the principal’s attempt to change the minutes of the board’s meetings”

37. In the meantime Barbados is facing a loss of business from Canadian offshore companies because of a Supreme court of Canada ruling.

38. @Bush Tea | April 22, 2012 at 12:53 PM | While “Qui tacet consentit” (silence implies consent) may be imputed, I prefer “silentium est aureum” (silence is golden). Peace, my brother.

39. @ David

It always seem that Bajans have too much respect for the ruling system. Few people seem to understand that this system cannot exist without the implicit or actual support by the people and irrespective of who won the last election. We have been complaining for years about all manner of ills. We have been deceived for generations by political tribes on all sides. We have an education system that is not much different than it was 100 years ago. That system is headed by people like Matthew Farley and Broomes who believe that they have some god given right to influence the culture in ways which are determined by their backward worldview. A world view that is properly located within a bygone era. An era in which certain people were to be ‘respected’ axiomatically. They social reference is to the mother country. A country that has long abandoned that frame of reference and which itself is facing widespread social dislocation presently. A country that has long abandoned the 11 plus exam but 40 years hence the education establishment in Barbados will never make that step. It is the mis-match between present demands and the outdated and authoritarian mindset of people like Farley, Broomes and Beckles that will continue to give us problems. The difficultly at Alexandra’s School is but a representation of the failure to reconcile these forces. A reconciliation that of necessity must remove the mindset of Broomes and company and transform the education system to the demands of a new world.

40. @Pacha

To be fair to Farley he is anti 11+.

41. DONT UNMARRIED MEN fantasize a lotI

ISNT it true that Stuart has been fantasizing when talking about Phases or fazes or fantafazes = fantasizing ????

42. @Bushy toetee……I realize that you are from the hills and that the laws of the hills differ greatly from the laws of the plains. So I will say this once and once only. If I ketch yuh rass down pon my side of the plains yuh will get a foot up yuh pooch dat de doctor will havta see both ahwee to remove it. Yow cud only be married to anudder bushy woman who would bow down to yuh like yuh is she lord and master. Many a time I have heard at funerals of menz like yuh dat de wife does feel a burden lifted when she sees the final spade full of dirt pon de grave. Many a time a big green lumpa cole does land pon de dirt too. So keep yuh chauvinistic opines to yuh self. Tell yuh wife to give yuh some bois bandee yuh sound like yuh need some.

43. I was about to jump on the anti PM bandwagon but on reflection he must have thought that he was dealing with adults, Stuart now has to ponder “what happens when an irresistible force meets an immovable object?”

44. @ IslandGal
    If Bushie was not married he would be surprised that, having come out on your side of an argument FOR ONCE, you would seek to implant your size 12’s in the bushman’s behind….

However as a longgggggg married man, Bushie knows enough to accept your love, and will keep to the hills….

45. Bush Tea | April 22, 2012 at 12:45 PM |

The fact that FS failed to look objectively at what he was getting himself into – after this woman publicly announced her intention of going to the highest level to get her wish – for starters…. Any married man would have “been there, done that…”

The fact that FS actually seems to think that BSTU “must have a good reason for what they are doing…..” ARE YOU KIDDING?? …even a youngster with a girlfriend knows better than that…

Even worst for FS, he has a grown daughter.
    Now even old and wise bushmen are known to become complete idiots when influenced by beautiful daughters…. Until they remember that the wife was once like that too…

If FS had a wife, ( and if said wife was a Bajan ) she would have taken one look at Mary, HATED her guts!! and instructed FS not to have one SH£€ to do with her….full stop.

Lastly, if FS had a wife, he would have been so fed up with being nagged day and night that he would have dealt with the matter EXACTY as Owen did…. “Not tonight Mary.. I will be working late…”
    Later…

No man is complete unless and until he is married…..

Bush Tea you seem to have a problem with relationships with mature women.

By your own admission you could not deal with the fact that like you your young wife matured as she got older.

Perhaps she matured quicker than you and you felt dominated … whatever the reason you seem to envy the single man … and yet you belittle him for not being married.

You seem to be threatened by Mary Redman, a woman, articulating the position of the Union she represents. To me it is clear that there is the collective wisdom of years of experience in her executive and her confidence is well founded.

What ever your motives, if you want a single man in history as an example of leadership look to Jesus.

Two thousand plus years later billions follow him.

… that is not to compare Freundel to Jesus, it is just to show up the complete red herring you have introduced.

You can do better …… maybe you should consult your wife for advice in this matter!!

46. …. ultimately, if the pension act applies, it will be a Woman (HRH) who solves this impasse …. so get over it.

47. @ Amused @ David

Amused you are reading, or were reading, far, far more into my aside than you should. There is NO direct CJ involvement so far as I am aware. However, it is difficult to see the apparent determination of the DC to get up off its ass as other than ‘inspired’ by the CJ given EVERYTHING we have discussed on BU of late and given the email and then the letter. It is in that sense that I reject the words ‘wholly speculative’ since the matter is inferential. and self-evidently so.

48. @David
    Regradless of the lenght of time it was going on, the point is due process must be followed in the public service, in statutory boards which may have their own legislation dismissing some one might be quicker. Look at condemed murderers they have to exhaust all their appeals and becasue of this executing them is rather difficult.

49. i think the bstu overplayed their hand in asking for mr broomes’ removal and thus leaving no room for manoevre. i am surprised that a wise and sensible trade unionist like mr frost would have allowed them to adopt such an intransigent position irrespective of whether their case was strong and just or not;this position would have backed the best of negotiators trying to solve the issue into a corner for fear of accusation of favoring the bstu side.in my view, there is no legal impediment to the transfer of mr broomes’ to a post similar in status in the teaching service. i would be grateful if mr mccarthy could spell out what are the legal implications as suggested by him to prevent mr broomes’ removal from alexandra to another secondary school.

50. @ Bush

Yes, you are right. Mind I do wonder whether the married state has a tendency to strangle the cognitive processes and destroy the serious possibility of free thinking. But then perhaps it’s the first step in becoming a citizen of the world.

Leave a Reply to old onion bagsCancel reply