Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

It never ceases to amaze me, the amount of time and energy the Government puts into trivial pursuits. The country is hurtling from one crisis to the next while Government seems to be fiddling while our economic Rome is burning.

The recent ceremony for the swearing in of 120 new citizens of Barbados is one such unnecessary waste of time and effort which serves no practical or even sensible purpose. All we have achieved is to demonstrate that we are a nation of copiers by parroting what takes place in the USA, but to what end.

I could understand if Barbados were a republic and new citizens were required to swear allegiance to this country. However, that is not the case: those who were sworn in would have been required to swear allegiance to Her Majesty the Queen. My understanding is that most of the persons who were sworn in were already Commonwealth citizens who already carry the burden of allegiance to a foreign monarch. In some cases those who were sworn in were already citizens of countries who have Queen Elizabeth as their head of state and as such were already loyal subjects of the Queen. Other than copying the US, what has the Government achieved with the elaborate ceremony?

It was announced that the silly ceremony was the brainchild of former Prime Minister, Sir Lloyd Sandiford. Someone should have told him that it was a silly idea, but it seems that when “big ups” come up with some hair-brain schemes no one is willing, out of some misconceive sense of respect, to tell them that the idea does not make sense.

David Thompson sent Sir Lloyd to China to keep him from being under foot but it seems that Freundel places too much confidence in Sandiford’s wisdom which by the way could only recently have started to develop. Did he really come back to Barbados for this foolishness or is he now ready to take up the post of Governor-General and this nonsense is being used as a cover to bring him home.

1. @ Robert Ross
    Why don’t the same experts and specialists get involved in party politics? We continue to behave as though ALL politicians are corrupt and dishonest, and armchair and real experts Gods.

2. @robert

BU plays a role of many that is required in exposing and hatching ideas for those in the mainstream. To bring pressure it will call for a full press yes but we are playing our part.

On the matter of commenting anonymously: has anyone every logged on to the BBC, CNN, Huffington Post and others to read the comments? Hello? Most use handles. We need to understand that if a civil servant feels compel to share a concern on BU to use a real name means he couldn’t do it.

Let continue with the discourse and expose ish whenever it shows itself. The Internet is recording our story and when more and more out there ‘google’ decisions are being influenced little by little.

3. “This couple you referred to apparently met in the a “dance club”. Hence the scepticism of the Immigration officials.”

Prodigal RFL…you mean to tell me that single people shouldn’t go to dance clubs? How many of the BU family when they were youngsters ever met a nice looking girl/man at a disco, night club or dance club they liked, danced with them and exchanged phone numbers and later became an item. Well well well, where does immigration expect them to meet? In church? To all would be non Bajan spouses of Bajans please tell immigration that wunna met in the church to avoid suspicion. LOLL I wonder what immigration officials would say about online dating?

4. but to be honest the Internet can not do the hands on job required on a day to day basis to do the monitoring and investigation necessary as that with manpower . seriously lets admit that bajans are not proactive in such areas but rely on word of mouth and takes a lackadaisical attitude of waiting and see what happens .having a “watchdog committee ” made up of John Q pUBLIC works well in the public favour and also keep the politicians on the straight and narrow as the main stream media only seem to act as a lightning rod to divide and conquer

5. old onion bags Avatar

Hey Bushie
    I hear Jeff “the mess” packing…..Mary take out a new lease on life…soon got your nearly apostle like rant to deal wid …LOL..smell dat for size ..LOL
    Yours truly
    Sweet Onions

6. I am a citizen of Barbados and I was never forced to pledge allegiance to Elizabeth Mountbatten Windsor. That has and will never happen. How odd that I am already a citizen of a commonwealth state, but if I were to seek citizenship of another I would have to swear allegiance to a White woman …

If in the future by some amazing fluke in events I am elected to “serve”, I will NOT be permitted to enter Parliament

7. BUSH TEA

I printing 1000 tea shirts and 5000 panphlets that will read

“VOTE INDEPENDENT or not at all”

Leff Caswell. Because he decide not to use a handle like de res’ a’ we don’ mek he a candidat fa anyt’ng. Why you don’ start somet’ng of you own … Bush Action Caucus

8. @ Enuff

Because then you get ‘sucked in’ to the system. You have to observe the standard loyalties or be branded a traitor and ostracised. Joe Public then feeds off the offal.

9. @ David

I think you understand that I was not criticizing BU….merely recognising its inevitable limitations and, indirectly, its self-evident strengths.

10. @ BAF

‘Elizabeth Mountbatten Windsor’…oh you are a one!

11. @robert

Of course not. The comment was to those who seem to think a comment on a blog by itself will change the world. We ALL have to play our par to pressure the system,. Be a Eric Fly if you will 🙂

12. @ Observer at April 13 , 2012 at 5.29 pm
    IT IS NOT I , neither do I share the sentiments of this OBSERVER . LOL..
    @ Checkit-out.
    How would you say that the Myrie affair may potentially embarrass ” several ministers ” especially the Prime Minister ? The issue at stake in this matter before the CCJ IN ITS ORIGINAL JURISDICTION is the limitation on travel placed upon nationals of member states . Miss Myrie is claimeng that her right to move freely in Barbados in accordance with the Treaty was breached by Barbados , a signatory to the Treaty . Peace .

13. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Re: Your comment at 11:55

Do you really have confidence in our courts with a bunch of handpicked presiding officers, some of whom are of questionable competence? I was informed that when they went through the motions of interviewing for magistrates, they went as far as to set up a video link to satisfy the requirements for an interview. That candidate ended up with the job. From his performance so far, I can’t say that the effort was worth it.

14. @Caswell

By what yardstick have you evaluated the goodly gentleman?

15. @ Robert Ross
    Understandable, but isn’t the intent to rid the system of the bad apples?

@ BAF
    You running or just your mout?

16. An Observer; Thanks for clarifying what the Myrie case is all about and, concomitantly, the limitations on the issues it can address. My mistake. However, I still think that the case has the potential to provide negative publicity, even if obliquely, on the lack of dispatch of the PM in handling the original matter with dispaatch as well as the attempts by other ministers to gloss over the seriousness of the issue. I suspect wrongheaded action or inaction led to this CCJ matter. It could have been handled differently.

17. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

@BAFBFP | April 14, 2012 at 7:15 AM |
    “… How odd that I am already a citizen of a commonwealth state, but if I were to seek citizenship of another I would have to swear allegiance to a White woman …”

because we, commonwealth also practice Neo-colonialism. so Britain does not pay our taxes but the queen still must gives permission on important things…and are supposed to be independent

18. @ David…of Caswell

By video…can only mean one person…how interesting….I have heard whispers from the stratosphere that even the gods are dissatisfied….You ask by what yardstick of Caswell…please read my blogs (well I know you have) but….well, Caswell, over to you….

19. @ BAF and Bush and…….

Time to stop talking isn’t it? Time to sow…….’a think-tank with fangs’….that can’t be beyond us surely?

Someone told me that both here and on BFP bloggers were often government stooges. Is that right can you say? Point is I was warned to be careful.

20. Ross

You still new, but in the early days so many, SO MANY ideas and solutions were thrown out by so many people some of whom are still here. Bush Tea still preaches a bit, but for the likes of me, other than for printing the t-shirts and panphlets, I runnin’ my Mout’ … and if as a result of some virtually impossible set of circumstances I end up runnin’ fah a seat, It gun be my Mout’ that I gun run on …. ha ha ha

BTW
    BFP fah White people hear ..

21. Earskine Sandiford’s presence in Barbados is merely to act as Lead Consultant as in the process of raising the salaries of Parliamentarians in such a way as NOT to alarm the general public about an impending devaluation. He of course is highly qualified in these matters

22. @ BAF

Well beloved BAF, I understand, I think, everything you say. Yes, I’m new to this and there are all sorts of psychodelic nuances, flashing lights, voices off, dark alleys where even the most spotless might be dismembered, that I’m only just beginning to understand – and so keep my meat cleaver, my mouth too, by me at all times.
    And yet in my own life I suppose I’ve always tried to create and build – even castles in the air fit only to pin dreams to. And it may be that your own experience is directed now to the now – here. But if you’ve really printed the T shirts and the leaflets then I know we are not so very far apart – and that too with or without T shirts.
    Someone said somewhile ago that we shouldn’t forget the ‘third force’. Well, I haven’t; the poet, priest, philosopher, praetor in me won’t let me. Well, I know you understand………..though for some sleepful ones this will be a one star job. Lol.

23. It’s all gone very quiet. This evening I went through the first post I contributed to I think: the Garcia hunger strike story. It made fascinating reading two months on after getting to know fellow bloggers a little. Miller was there looking for a creative solution from government. BAF was there pointing the way to find the cavalry. Observer was there knit picking about differences instead of looking for similarities. Hal Austin was there signing himself ‘Hal Austin’. AC was there allowing her kind heart to flower. Random was there letting her non-existent son die. Balance was there getting honestly muddled. Hants was there for a moment speaking as a citizen of the world…and many others whom I have not seen since. I wonder what you’re all doing now. I’ve been watching Rumpole in search of clarification, conviction and fortitude….oh yes and laughter.

24. How much does the Barbados taxpayer have to pay to defend this Myrie/CCJ matter? How often can disgruntled Caricom Citizens force the Barbados government to defend itself before the CCJ and at what costs? Are our treaty obligations under the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramos worth the potential costs?

Leave a Reply to Smooth ChocolateCancel reply