Submitted by Hamilton Hill
Minister Kellman and Noel Lynch, Bajan Politicians

As the hands of life’s time peace moves us closer to the end of yet another year on planet earth, we as a people are faced with the realization that it also moves us closer to the crossroad where the wrong turn takes the most stable nation in the region down the path that others bigger and more resourceful have followed, and are yet to see even a glimmer of hope that recovery is within their grasp.

The up-coming general elections may well be yet another watershed moment in the history of the land to which we all lay claims of love. If those claims are to be taken seriously then we must engage in the act of introspective soul searching with the intent of bringing Barbados back to the days of yore when party affiliation was secondary and surfaced only at election time.Today it predominates our every move.The group that speaks begrudgingly of “The Fatted Calf” are constantly reminded of the life they enjoyed while living “High On The Hog” and the unconnected lot wait patiently for the crumbs that fall from the Party Table.

What choice do they have at this point?

Even here at Barbados Underground simple debates are as educational as they are partisan, and can quickly depart from every tenet of civil discourse, only to be replaced by language reminiscent of that from a political meeting of the People’s Pressure Movement. What some may refuse to admit but cannot overlook is the fact that there are glaring traits of similarity that bind the two major parties in a way that only serve to breathe life into the growing movement of scepticism. Dennis Kellman is the government’s version of the opposition’s Noel Lynch. They both have fallen head over heels in love with the sound of their respective voices, to the point where some say that they both are plagued by that malady Bajans call “Short Man Syndrome” (see me and hear me at all times)

Lets go as far back as the murder of Victor Pele`Parris. Were we not told by one party that they would get to the bottom of that? From Atlantic Shores to Brooklyn stretched the trail of evidence and? Fast forward to Jonathan Danos and 3S steel. While working for a company called Mabey & Johnson Ltd Mr. Danos was sued for taking kickbacks on deals done in Jamaica, Panama and the Dominican Republic, yet  was in bed with the Arthur administration. Today’s government still does business with 3S. Planted in the centre of a ministry is a man painted in infamy by the then opposition.

As both sides remind us of their quest to guide us out of third world status, they find it easier to facilitate a chosen few who found over-night riches, than to find a way to replace the pit toilets that far too many still have to use in this modern day Barbados. Silly as it may sound, after this election we may be talking of the Barbados we used to know. My vote goes to the first party that gives some politician a taste of prison. Perhaps I will never vote again.

1. “A partnership is not a legal person, as a corporation is, under the law. As with a sole proprietorship, the individuals involved are personally liability for the liabilities and obligations of a partnership. Presumably the law will still look to the then partners in respect of any liability that may arise. Related to CLICO, has it been determined whether the audits were completed and whether clean audit opinions were issued?”………………………………………………

It was an error on their part to continue this practice under this name but I guess they figured they could cash in on the name recognition. But alas, they did not know that that name would become so rediculed that it could come back to haunt them so quickly. I think they are doing the right thing. Start afresh.

My goodness, no one now wants to be associated with that name!

2. @ Proud
    No one is buying your lies. Give up!!! If you are legitimate, kindly let BU know what prevented you from ‘citizenship’ and how were you handicapped prior to 2008. Stupse.

3. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

@Prodigal Son | April 13, 2012 at 12:34 PM |
    “My goodness, no one now wants to be associated with that name!”

Prodigal my friend, you are punching so viciously and so swifly today, all “o DEM cowering in the corner.

But what a ting about this “NAME” from St.John neh, that nobody now wants to associate themselves with? What kind of Families First attitude is that?

Do you believe they will still hold that proposed elaborate ceremony to unveil the sparkling new marble tomb, or you think they will go ahead without any shame at all?

You know how it is with the DEMS! Always looking for an opportunity to put up a tent somewhere and hold a partywith nuff tax-payer funded “free” food and drinks
    Dey building a society bo, but every single one of them ought to apologise to the people of Barbados.

4. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

Lord have mercy pun Buhbaduss! Richard Sealy acting Prime Minister again? Wha really gine on in de DLP? Dis is de best dat Fumble Stuart could do? No wonder yuh aint hearing a pang from bulldog Estwick. Somebody tell me he cleaning de barrel!

5. “Island gal, I don’t deny you your freedom of speech, but it would be far more beneficial if you and Hamilton Hill go and join him/her!”

@Fruitman Button…. I trouble you? You feels yuh is a blogmaster bout hey? Well if yuh want tah be one GO GET YUH OWN BLOG and block me and Hamilton Hill! You are one dangerous kangaroo. You feel you could bome bout here and tell me where to go? Why didn’t you reprimand Onions for usng profanity against a lady like me. Well you and Onions can go where the sun don’t shine! You see menz like wunna are usually closet queens and wimmen beaters. Stupse Leff me alone PLEASE! And Leff Bonny outta dis too! You ole fruitcake!

6. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

Hi Island Gal 246, relax old girl. I see that I have again succeeded in rubbing you the wrong way, and I am enjoying it seeing old die hard DEMS like you and Hamilton squirm and twist and weep, as your Government that promised so much, come up so very short!

And it’s so pitiful to read all the excuses you fellows offer to right thinking people, as though you think we are idiots.

Anyhow, the electorate will shortly put all of you out of your misery.
    By the way, I am not a fruitcake. I am STRONG HEALTHY HETEROSEXUAL, happily married to a woman for many years, thank you.

7. Fruitman Button…”Hi Island Gal 246, relax old girl. I see that I have again succeeded in rubbing you the wrong way, and I am enjoying it seeing old die hard DEMS like you and Hamilton squirm and twist and
    weep, as your Government that promised so much, come up so very short!”
    If you have been reading these blogs carefully you would know by now that you are climbing up the wrong tree you idiot. I have NEVER been a die hard DEMS nor BLP. One thing for sure with Bonny, she was die hard DEMS while I was supporting the other side and even though our politics differ we were good pals. I will also be alert and critical of the BLP as I am of this present party. So stop trying to put a label on me and trying to put me in a box. I am a free spirited individual and unlike you will NEVER idolize any Politician or Political party. You still sound like a fruit cake to me doah!

8. OH! god!

9. old onion bags | April 12, 2012 at 9:03 PM |

Thompson & Associates to Close | April 12, 2012 at 8:48 PM |
    SIGNS:
    Take heed …..the bell coming out !

They got two others that shut down kind of sudden too and disappear from the scene!!

Here I was thinking it was business as usual!!

10. George,

I too saw on DLPTV this evening that Richard Sealy is acting PM. Wait, ac, what going on in your party? The PM did not chop off the necks of the GANG of 11 but he sure as hell is killing them softly.

Is Ronald Jones on the island?

Where has the PM gone? I thought he was not due to leave until April 22? The news item did not say where the PM has gone.

But was this not supposed the be the most transparent government?

If the PM has gone off to Washington, what has he said or done about PHASE 2 at the Alexandra School?

What will happen on Monday? Will Ms Redman call out the teachers once more?

Just Asking (with due respects to JUST ASKING)

11. @prodigal

Wunna too MALICIOUS! Stop asking!

12. old onion bags Avatar

@ George
    Sealy making acting PM again>>>>…..if you hear a certain cowboy dies with a hatta-attack…..you know who to blame>>>>…..I see steam rising ..lol

13. Truthman Burton; Why yuh don’ leve Islandgal alone? She is one of the relatively few posters on BU that cannot be labelled as BLP or DLP based on her posts.

14. old onion bags Avatar

The Eager 11 are bear jokers though……FUNDY making them look like school boys in detention.LOL……D man cut dey ass..and get on pun a airplane and GONE…jus so den..LOL
    If ONA them had BALLS …this is the TIME to UPRISE…wid Sandi here an ALL…then the peoples of Babadoes will hold DEM in lil esteem….instead of ‘mice men’ following a leader off a sure cliff…..I hope not a fellow get back he seat….they TOO SILLY….ac u doa kno nabody ?

15. @ Prodigal
    “My goodness, no one now wants to be associated with that name!

Not even ac. Note how he referred to David Thompson in his earlier post:“… would indeed be detremental to the law firm and the law firm is right to dissassociate itself from the the name DT in an attempt to stop the bleeding.

Wasn’t this the same ac who only two weeks ago was adamant that there was no proof with regards to the $3.333m cheque now suddenly the name ‘DT’ is “detrimental” and there is a need to “disassociate”? Will this name be also detrimental to the DLP and will there be a severing? What about Mara? God don’t like ugly.

16. @ac,
    “Wunna too MALICIOUS! Stop asking!”

These are legitimate questions for any Barbadian to ask. We the taxpayers are paying for these expensive junkets that these ministers are taking like bringing Sandi down here at a cost of US$19922.00 on a first class ticket to witness giving out 120 citizen documents because he, Sandi suggested that a swearing ceremony should take place like in the US. What madness!

We have a ONE BILLION DOLLAR deficit and these clowns still spending money like water flowing through a pipe. Everything for the Dems is a feast on the fatted calf. After the swearing in, food flowed in abundance and this is caring government. Do they care anything about the country? Who will clean up this mess?

I guess it will have to be the BLP as always to clean up the mess the DLP always make whilst in government!

17. old onion bags Avatar

Prodigal
    Haven’t you heard ? The middle class is to pay for all this…we spend .those suckers who been living well under OSA …..>>> PAY!.

What the DEMS dont realise that by punishing the middle class, they DOUBLE punish the poorer class….for if I don’t have any money to spare I don’t wash my car, I don’t cut my lawn, I don.t wash my windows, I don.t visit KFC as often, I don’t visit the cinema,I don’t visit the barber until necessary, I don’t visit the rum shop too often, I don’t give the parro a tip ,I dont give a hand out to the beggar……..AS they depend on my prosperity.

Econ 101…..diminishing the money supply thru increased taxation…will retard any growth while inhibiting economic activity…….no wonder today the island of lil Dominica and st.Lucia …are miles ahead of Barbados on the GNP chart for 2010..Yes people….you better believe it……We heading for a WRECK with the DLP ship .

Chk Austin’s link below : will supply later)

18. Oh dear! Stop the sulking and face the harsh realities of the global economy! when there is a substantial recovery in employment the policies of giving more money would be sufficient to weather the storm until now those who have feasted off the fatted calf would have to give back some of what they had received ask OSA or as he has suggested cutting social programs which itself would deliver a devastating blow to the country.

19. old onion bags Avatar

Here is the link as promised……for those newcomers..which shows OUR SAD POSITIONING……versus other once lesser Caribbean countries in terms of GNP…..click on “All” to compare with the world …..notice, all the countries in the world are affected by the recession….however ..those that depend on TOURISM like Dominican Republic , St.Lucia and the Turks and Caicos…..STILL REGISTER ,,, POS (+) GROWTH….

http://www.indexmundi.com/g/r.aspx?v=66&t=50

How come ?…I’ll tell you how…. why differing fiscal policies adopted…not ALL spending on party ,party, party, or Citizen’s Inaugurations but genuine saving strategies….not $14 Mil road signs…not $12 Mil football tournaments….not $2 mil Goal airline Brazil..not Expedition China…(CBC incld)…not $ 40 mil NIS money Four seasons……not marblizing St. John Church yard,..not Ob-Round-a-bouts..over-runs..not ,,not..need I go on ?

20. old onion bags Avatar

Because of these SICKING WASTAGES…..look what we have..INCREASED CRIME, UNEMPLOYMENT,FOOD PRICES INCRESES, COMPANY CLOSURES,……in short ..bare suffering ..but who care..GIVES THE DEMS another CHANCE…OH HELL NO….!!! Whatever for …to visit the IMF, World Bank, and while you there IADB..whatever for ?

21. old onion bags Avatar

@ Prodigal
    We have a ONE BILLION DOLLAR deficit and these clowns still spending money like water flowing through a pipe. Everything for the Dems is a feast on the fatted calf. After the swearing in, food flowed in abundance and this is caring government. Do they care anything about the country? Who will clean up this mess?
    Ouch>>>>>You stole my thunder Prodigal….you stole my thunder..

22. Political hanky panky

INFORMATION IS LEAKING OUT of a certain Government agency like water from a basket. Apparently, the staff there are so fed up with the political hanky panky going on that they are willing to spill the beans on just about everything. This week we received a letter and two phone calls from separate people.

The angry staffer wrote: “This is a follow-up on the item printed on March 31 headlined Not Smart Move By Govt Agency.

“The rent is not twice what was previously paid but four times. That is not the only issue. The big boss has two large offices for himself while the accounts department, which has about six officers, is cramped up in a small space.

“There is also a large office reserved for another big-up called a consultant, who is paid big bucks to occupy for half a day each week.”

The writer claims that when a certain big shot was in charge of this agency, “about 12 unqualified people” were brought in and paid big bucks – more money than appointed officers. They are at this time doing nothing, yet the one responsible for them sponging off taxpayers is crying over Government’s spending.

One of those who called told Cou Cou the $9 000 cellphone bill, which was run up when the person it is assigned to was on a pilgrimage, was cleared this week.

And the other caller revealed that the consultant was the one who had racked up the big cellphone bill. That caller also claimed that the consultant rakes in $11 000 a month – nearly as much as a Government minister.

23. @enuff

Sound familiar doesn’t it? Same old same old.

24. @ David
    It sounds worse!

25. @Onions

Why don’t you read this link as one example and apply critical analysis to understand why you can’t compare DR’s economy for example with Barbados.

http://www.theodora.com/wfbcurrent/dominican_republic/dominican_republic_economy.html

In fact what your comparison does is to expose the fact that in the last 2 decades we have build an economy entirely of services. DR has been smarter.

26. old onion bags Avatar

TIME they stop this forever plaster of Oh the Global Economies responsible for this…oh the Global Economies responsible for that..HUSH DO ! You all sound like parrots..How come other countries..under the same recession and doing well>>ANSWER ME THAT…..

Tell the people the truth..FIGURES Dont lie ..
    107 Malta
    171 Dominica
    177 El Salvador…..??? yeah rite
    187 Cook Isl……Bare Tourism…nuttin else or breatfruits
    193 BARBADOS…….wha laud MURDER….at D top of D bottomers

Chk link and see for Ya selves…..not BIG MOUT Holla outs !

27. Why don’t you compare the unemployment numbers?

Why don’t you compare how many live below the poverty line in some of those countries,e.g. DR is 42%.

If you want to appear credible that is.

28. @ David
    I would appreciate your comparing and contrasting ‘restructuring’ efforts as well. Rather than constantly suggesting that the BLP ‘failed’ because they focused solely on selling land and FDI.

29. Let us have a look at Dominica now and not the mix of sectors (export) in the economy.

http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/2295.htm

30. old onion bags Avatar

Goal post shifting..thats what its called Goal post shifting….now they not interested in real GROWTH (GNP) ….the crux of the debate of Central Bank Gov .v.,Mascoll but now conveniently …..how many live below the poverty line….figures that DEPEND ON PAST ADMINISTRATIONS performances,( long term effect) NOT THIS ONE…we spotlighting this ONE….

31. @enuff

It is understood that this government has engaged in a conservative fiscal/monetary policy of containment to protect the international reserves. As it is the reserves is trending downwards now at 16 weeks. Isn’t is known that 70 cents out of every dollar leaves Barbados? There is the litmus test of the kind of economy groomed under both parties. This is where we need to locate our discussion, the challenge of a small open economy totally reliant on IB (tourism) to survive with source markets counted as USA, UK and Canada.

On 14 April 2012 12:07, David wrote:

> Let us have a look at Dominica now and not the mix of sectors (export) in > the economy. > > http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/2295.htm > > > >

32. @old Onion

Your propaganda will not fly in BU ok?

GDP is only one statistical indicator to measure how a country is doing.

Economics 101.

Take a leaf from enuff who will oftentimes bring something meaty to support a position.

33. On a different note is there any feedback on the progress of the Ministry of Tourism White Paper?

http://www.tourism.gov.bb/white-paper2.html

To those journalist reading here is yet another issue which should get airplay instead of those issues which generate ratings paper sales etc.

34. @ David
    You are trying to say that Dominica’s economy is diversified?

35. @enuff

You know what is being said.

Economy GDP (2010): $765.4 million. GDP growth rate (2010): 1.4%. GDP growth rate (1998-2008): 0.8% Per capita GDP (2010): $10,500. Inflation of consumer prices (2008): 6.3%. Natural resources: timber, water (hydropower), copper. Agriculture (10% of GDP in 2005): Products–bananas, citrus, coconuts, cocoa, herbal oils and extracts. Manufacturing (3% of GDP in 2005): Types–agricultural processing, soap and other coconut-based products, apparel. Trade (2005): Exports–$39.0 million (merchandise) and $82.0 million (commercial services). Major markets (2009)–Japan (28.62%); U.S. (19.81%); Antigua (7.7%); Guyana (6.52%); Jamaica (5.4%); Trinidad and Tobago (4.2%). Imports–$165 million (merchandise) and $49 million (commercial services). Major suppliers (2009)–Japan (31.29%); U.S. (19.73%); Trinidad and Tobago (11.8%); China (11.58%).

36. old onion bags Avatar

If David would put aside his political coat ..which he pretends not to have one…yet an ole yard fowl (as they pout.. because of allegiance, with no apology.. if CLICO be my guide)….. Like me, 34 Barbados can see
    SPENDING on WASTAGE ..will lead you to deputizing a Sealy as PM ..and going CAP IN HAND to any if not ALL ..IMF,World Bank,IADB….while giving a lecture or not…whether a spokesman from Govt (unnamed)
    ..while we have a GIS..could only say….otherwise….Don’t think Bajans are that stupid…even if they may get loss in “an extensive econ analysis”that can be forever exhausting ,(due to economic variables)..that no two countries are exactly alike…

ANYBODY CAN SPOT WASTAGE…(I think) SHED THE BLINDERS MAN !

37. @Onions

Whenever a commenter disagrees with you your throw the labels about but be assured this is something the BU household is use to. If BU wanted to protect a partisan position our model for BU would be very different. All are welcome to BU from the PDC to BLP to DLP and we have a discerning population here who can work things out for themselves

38. old onion bags Avatar

@ David >>>Dominica
    …your figs……lol
    Pointed exactly….Agriculture accounts for only 10% GNP
    Manufacturing 3% GNP
    Tourism and others 87% GNP
    With Thanks…

39. old onion bags Avatar

You have conveniently missed the point (BLP DLP NDP)…..all I was saying we all are influenced ( as much as we try ) and have an inclination….though we may try….hard as it is…….to keep it out of our writtings.
    Don’t get sa hott nah…

40. The Interloper Avatar

David | April 14, 2012 at 8:11 AM | @enuff … Isn’t is known that 70 cents out of every dollar leave Barbados? [There is the litmus test] of the kind of economy groomed under both parties…

There is the action of a foolish people – a people unwilling to learn and adjust for their own benefit. Even more disappointing is that much of the $0.70 is spent on meaningless purchases, enriching people that have not provided any meaningful value in return and, in many instances, have little regard for the people spending the money. The fact is that the Barbados in which we grew-up, for which our forefathers made much sacrifice, is now slipping from our grasp and we have not, nor have we positioned ourselves, to be the main beneficiaries of our forefathers’ sacrifice. Achieving and maintaining our position in this world requires that we least promote, support and represent our own interests as much as any other people do. To do less is to allow the point of equilibrium to forever be out of our favour and to our disadvantage.

41. @onions

Of course we are all influenced but some of us work 24/7 to keep open minds by evaluating issues and not remain comfortably married to those positions.

In you last comment can you outline the profile of tourism Dominica offers?

If one is growing a base of 10 to 16 and the other is growing a base of 10,000 to 10,500 what happens?

It is what we mean about doing critical analysis.

The following may help you in your reasoning:

James Wiley (1998: 170) notes that due to its different touristic profile, Dominica is not so dependent on the North American market as are most of the other islands. In 1994, North America provided just some 20 percent of the visitors, and Europe some 25 percent. More than half of the tourists come from other Caribbean islands, and according to a preliminary study of year 2000 the proportion is still approximately the same (Bellot 2001). The development of Dominican tourism is now at crossroads. The question is, how and to what extent the cruise ship tourism can be developed in order to be compatible with nature tourism (Pattullo 1996: 126). Another, related question is whether or not the international airport should be constructed.

42. @ David
    Have the geological, topographical and hydrological conditions in Dominica allowed that type of diversification? Does that 10% represent less in dollar terms than the 3.2% contribution of agriculture in Barbados?
    What about those islands with similar economies: Cayman Islands, Bahamas, Turks & Caicos, Aruba, Virgin Islands?

43. @enuff

First, who has all the answers? We are probing the issues to see where we land. Contrary to what some thing there is no silver bullet here as we navigate this global economic mess we find ourselves.

In the case of Cayman is it fair to suggest its geographic location as well as its enhanced offshore/banking reputation has a positive correlation to solid tourism performance?

Bahamas again benefits from its proximity to US, a more diversified product added to which there is Casino gambling.

TCI and BVI and many of the islands you mention last operate under the wing of the mother country as it relates to tourism and other economic activity.

Traditionally Barbados has benefited by our good infrastructure, stable political and social climate among one or two other factors.

44. @ David..
    At the recent Inter school primary school sports…..Jamal Estwick in the under 9 boys….won 4 gold medal in that group…..Dequan Herbert in the
    under 11 boys won 3 gold medals and 2 silvers in his age group…..Can we say which Jamal or Dequan is the better athlete or even who is more likely to go on to represent Barbados at Carifta in 2019 with and surety? .NO
    The most we can do is a cardinal listing IN EACH GROUP… of THE TYPES of MEDALS using ONE STATIC statistical base at a fixed point in time.

Likewise with each country ..it is impossible to go into further sensible analysis on each Caribbean island (sch.boy) other than CARDINALLY account for their achievement based on a known measurement (GDP) or Unemployment (UNP) or poverty line (PL)….to combine and project is like saying Dequan has more potential than Jamal…..no meaningful projection of the truth.
    We can only compare oranges with oranges and limes with limes….we don’t have lime-oranges yet.

45. @Onions

You have made BU’s point, one indicator i.e. GDP cannot do it. Barbados has built a model which many of the countries you have listed do not compare by a long shot. What is the poverty line is those countries? What is the standard of living those countries enjoy? What is their literacy rate for example? Let us face it Barbados has built its economic foundation on an anchor which is almost exclusively influenced by external factors and given the level of entitlements which we have historically had to support it is imperative it be looked at. Any political party or surrogates who argues more of the same demonstrates a lack of vision and reinforces the proclivity of political parties to gorge on the political calf at the expense of the people. A simple thing like RE and the cultural sector should be aggressively promoted within a framework of a robust governance structure on a bipartisan basis. Instead you resort to propagandize on the issues which speaks to your good understanding of the results of a flawed model instead of adding your voice to the need to redesign the system for the benefit of all.

46. @ David
    Sensible points, but why then are Anguilla and BVI, which are also British Overseas Territories, doing worse?
    Restructuring the B’dos economy is no silver bullet either especially when the private sector is content with buying and selling, and that has been my point from the outset.
    Economies like ours operate on ‘striking when the iron is hot’, and capitalising on our advantages that is what the BLP did. One of the weaknesses, however, was the direction the small business funding took in that not enough went into the development of new products/services/ideas.

47. @ David
    You have made BU’s point, one indicator i.e. GDP cannot do it.
    On the contrary…one indicator at a time…(never mix)..readers be the judge…

48. @enuff

We will always have anomalies which others more qualified maybe able to explain.

What is known, when we were in the boom years of global economic performance as a people we should have been insisting and measuring ‘leadership’ based on creating capacity not in building forex reserves only but moreso capacity strengthening of our economic fundamentals within our economy.

49. How can you MIX ..say Jamal is a better athlete than Daquan by medal count ?

50. What we can say with certainty is Jamal has more gold medals than Dequan..and Dequan has more silver medals than Jamal.Get the point ?….combining is too subjective. David for worth..

Leave a Reply to old onion bagsCancel reply