Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

On March 23, 2012, I received a telephone call from my mother who informed me that the postman had just delivered a letter addressed to me from Parliament. I could not imagine why Parliament would be sending me mail. At first, I thought that it could have been my invitation to the joint sitting of Parliament, for the recent royal visit, that had been lost in the mail.

Imagine my surprise when I opened the envelope to find two pieces of correspondence: one of which was an invitation to a meeting of the St. Thomas Branch of the Barbados Labour Party scheduled for April 15, 2012. I was surprised and disappointed all rolled into one. Firstly, I have not attended nor have I been invited to a branch meeting since 2002, and I have no intention of attending one now or in the foreseeable future. So I really don’t understand why they would even consider sending me an invitation in an “On Service” envelope to boot. I could only surmise that they wanted me to share it with the readers on Barbados Underground since this is now the medium that I use to complain about what I believe to be wrong doing.

As far as I am aware, a public officer who sends out his personal mail using the free service provided to Government institutions would be committing an offence. Why should parliamentarians use the free mail service, provided to Government and its institutions, to send out what is essentially their party’s mail? Is this a case of one law for the Medes and another for the Persians?

In a more mature democracy the Member of Parliament concerned would be called upon, at the very least, to explain such a transgression or even pay for the service that was used. I wonder how widespread is this practice, and how much revenue the Post Office would have lost.

1. Caswell Franklyn wrote “David Simmons who embrace that aspect of my personality and used it to keep himself on track.”

You really want us to believe that David Simmons needed you “to keep himself on track”.

They should have made you Chief Justice.

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Bush Tea

Thanks! That is the best testimonial I ever had. I have saved it.

3. old onion bags Avatar

@ Caswell Senator Kerri-anne Ifill…. I apologize for the fool. He is not well.

@ Bush tea
    Who ever gives you the right to think you are so big and mighty to cast aspirations on people as you so wish (Caswell,Kerri anne ) .
    You seems to think you are God’s gift to mankind. In case you don’t ..for the short time I have been in here ..everybody is your problem,
    You are becoming so lame with you self impose stupor. To be the commentator of something nasty for anyone you feel ( you are not well ) you don’t like.Just because you feel like the Head of the Senate is incompetent..because you feel like Onions is over bearable ..because you feel like now Caswell is a natural pest….Oh bug off bush man ..who gives a damm what a bigot like you thinks.

4. @Onions

The BU household values the contribution and opinion of Caswell and Bush Tea very much. In fact their comments/blogs are always recommended reading.

5. old onion bags Avatar

Oh ..OH ?
    My humble apologizes to the ‘BU family ‘ if I perchance….offended any of you…the truth matters..

6. old onion bags Avatar

“For the cause that lacks assistance, The wrong that needs resistance, For the future in the distance, And the good that we can do ” Thanks
    George L Banks. Happy Easter family….. forgetting my manners

7. old onion bags Avatar

@ Caswell
    Caswell is an asset to any organization in which he takes an interest. He is a pest, a nuisance, and a bother. He is paranoid about the intentions of others and he automatically thinks the worst about people in position. Trust Bushie
    The Viceroy speaks…. mere mortals listen….his word is his bong..bond sorry

8. anyhow if yuh got something to say yuh gotta come wid clean hands and no personal agenda or vendetta if not no one gonna take yuh serious

@ ole onions
    you going to church be sure you asked for forgiveness fuh all dem things you said about fumble stuart
    Happy and blessed Easter to all BU

9. old onion bags Avatar

No ac gf
    I will do no such thing…..lol …may I remind of you (Bushie) “Revenge is a dish best served cold .” Its Easter Sunday and the third day….enjoy

10. mission impossible Avatar
    mission impossible

CROOKS? Ask Franklyn where the credit union money is, why he never took it back. Is that not crookedness ? BU family, as you call yourselves. The problem is not wanting to shut any boby up. Sure, he like all the other not it all shall have their say, here of else where, but when we come to equity come with clean hands. otherwise dont be pissing all over people while holding some pius position as if you are some saint sent to guard the honour of the poor. Who will guard the so-called guards. He is absoutely right that what the oppositio did was not right. But they all do it and its not the first time because i have received correspondence from both B and D that was political in nature in on service envelopes. In fact i received invitations from the BLP when Franklyn was PA to David Simmonds inviting me to political functions (social not hardcore) in government mail. was that right NO, does it make this instance right ABSOLUTELY NOT. Should it be stop OF COURSE.

No one in their right mind can argue with that, but consider the source of the rubuke: a man that stole the credit union’s money. Yuh can’t be a little bit dis-honest and a crook can’t be lecturing a theif on his moral imperfections. It like the devil trying to condem sin. So BU you could up hold that hypocrisy, fortunately I don’t.

11. Now yuh see what i mean!was Jesus a prophet ? Opps i just stump my toe!

12. mission impossible Avatar
    mission impossible

Finally, my post has clearly demonstrated a feature of these blogs that in my view clearly compromises their ability to be taken seriously in their attempts be credible sensors of our leaders. the quick and un-hesitating defense of the in-defenseable in Franklyn’s case with the psuedo eulogies to him shows that many in the BU family want to hold politicians to one standard while applying a different one to themselves and their fans.

I tell yuh!

13. @mission impossible

Good to read your admission that both political parties do it. This is the point which concerns BU. You are obviously new to BU because Caswell dealt with the credit union matter you raised months ago under one of the BPWCCL blogs. BU will always ride shotgun for those who come to the blog using their own names. If he stole money form the credit union they have recourse to the law courts.

14. @mission impossible

You can define credible how you like, it explains why the blogs continue to be read even by you apparently.

15. old onion bags Avatar

Ride on King David …Ride on…ac did you remember to put down the palm leaves ?

16. @David

Off topic there is an interesting article today in the guardian .co.uk. it makes for interesting reading regarding the racial divide and the impact it has lend itself into the news media in reference to trayvon martin case . Very interesting must read maybe you can reference article here on BU

17. @Caswell

On a more constructive note, the Commissioner of Inland Revenue (think it is ) is quoted in the press agreeing with a point you have made on BU that the entertainment allowance was not the government’s or Sinckler’s to take away. Hmmm. This was in response to queries if/when the tax on entertainment should be reinstated.

18. @ac

There are many links, do you mean this one?

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2126299/Trayvon-Martin-Poll-shows-73-black-Americans-think-George-Zimmerman-arrested-youth-white.html

Waiting until the dust settles on this matter. It keeps twisting in the wind but yes it exposes that race continues to divide the world. Something we have preached on BU for a while now.

19. LOL @ onions

Bright an early this Easter morning you trying to pick a fight that you are sure to lose…?
    What revenge best served cold what??! …..take care you don’t get yours served hot hot hot. LOL. You don’t know any better than curse one of BBE’s boys? You better take ac advice and go to church.
    ….anyway, Bushie already beg for a break for you – “as you know not what you do”…. In fact you seem to know not ANYTHING. 🙂

Perhaps by now you may have figured out that the Bushman has known ( and admired) Caswell for decades. Bushie knows Caswell almost as well as Caswell does (better in some ways as the AX matter should demonstrate). Bushie’s assessment of Caswell is simply HONEST and FRANK and Caswell would verify such.

He is by no means PERFECT (certainly not as perfect as Mission Impossible) but he has a SPECIAL RARE GIFT that makes him very valuable to any organization interested in good governance.

On the subject of GOVERNANCE, perhaps you truly miss the symbolism of the PM’s appointment to lead the Senate. In this case you are again forgiven for not knowing what you say….

Onions, maybe you should get back to your yard fowl style comments where you are obviously much more learned.

Re Cricket:
    Congrats for being able to sneak into the Press Box yesterday. For once you are correct that Bushie would not be seen there. You see, the Bushman tends to frequent the Executive Lounge at such events. perhaps next time you are sneaking about you should pretend to be an attendant there, and you may get to meet Bushie…. 🙂

20. old onion bags Avatar

Oh Bushie
    You are a bucket of laughs…What are the BBE boys.? Is that Rum Drinkers Anonymous in French ? What does that means anyway ? Educate me.. I thought on the AX blog you professed to be the son of a fisherman from Speighstown, where you used to pitch marbles with Jeff “the mess” Broomes…pardon my ignorance here… as I seek no fight with you..I being a Yard Fowl and you a Palin cock…Fa real doa are you ona DEm one foot soldiers boys from the NUPW or what ?

21. @MI

Finally, my post has clearly demonstrated a feature of these blogs that in my view clearly compromises their ability to be taken seriously in their attempts be credible sensors of our leaders.

Whooaa there, it seems that you hold the blogs to be some paragon of virtue, the people who post on the blogs are just a mirror reflection of the rest of society and come complete with biases, prejudices and not so well hidden agendas.

Treat each post with some healthy skepticism and you’ll be fine.

22. old onion bags Avatar

Oh Sarge
    How well said..like you vying for the spot of my academia scholar… the Miller…where is he anyway ? Three days now….and I am being shadowed by a bush man….with a salmon tot dog…damm

23. @ David
    i was referencing the guardian. co.uk. newspaper maybe you can read the article under the headline: John Derybshire Fired” i have a problem trying to linked it here

Leave a Reply to David (not BU)Cancel reply