Austin

The current DLP keeps telling Bajans that things are “OK and NOT that bad in Barbados”,  however below is the overall summary of the DLP produced 2012-2013 Barbados Estimates.  The DLP has given Bajans (5) straight years of a major account deficits due to poor fiscal alignment, budgeting coupled with ZERO fiscal vision for Barbados.

• Estimated Current Barbados Revenue – $2,656,139,783
  • Estimated Total Barbados Expenditure – $3,645,859,147
  • Estimated Excess of Total Expenditure over Current Revenue $989,719,364
  • Capital Expenditure at January 31, 2012 increased by 6.2% over capital expenditure for the same period in fiscal year 2010-2011
(excerpt from DLP produced 2012-2013 Barbados Estimates)

Now you tell me BU does the 2012-2013 Barbados Estimates summary above give you the “warm fuzzy” that things are OK in Barbados, keeping the PM in mind and the possibility of giving the DLP another term?

A Few Facts

• In 2008 under the BLP corporate taxes earned $499 million dollars today under the DLP corporate taxes are bringing in $203 million dollars LESS than 4 years ago.
  • In the 2011-2012 DLP projected budget revenue was 2.5 billion, actual revenue was 2.4 billion, a budget “over estimation” of $100 million.

Now a little on our recent Moody’s report which did not downgrade Barbados but “WARNED” that Barbados national expenditures MUST be reduced to avoid a downgrade in the next period (see excerpts from Moody’s report below:

Rating Outlook:

Barbados’ ratings have a negative outlook. The negative outlook reflects Moody’s view that while the worst appears to be behind in terms of economic deterioration, and deficits should continue decreasing slowly due to the government’s strategy of gradual fiscal consolidation, they will remain relatively large for the next few years unless the government takes more drastic action than currently expected. As a result, government debt ratios are likely to deteriorate further over the next 12 to 18 months to levels that may no longer be consistent with an investment grade rating.  The negative outlook also reflects the possibility that pressures on Barbados’ fixed exchange rate could result due to an anticipated rise in the current account deficit in a context of large and increasing government deficits.

What Could Change the Rating – Up:

Given the negative outlook, Barbados’ ratings are unlikely to face upward pressure in the near-to-medium term. However, the outlook could return to stable if Moody’s determines that (i) the government is likely to exceed current expectations regarding the pace of fiscal consolidation, (ii) economic growth is likely to pick up on a sustained basis, and (iii) the government demonstrates a credible plan to successfully reverse the recent increase in debt ratios.

What Could Change the Rating – Down:

The ratings will be downgraded if Moody’s determines that the recent increase in debt levels is not likely to be reversed in the near-to-medium term, or if pressures on the currency peg materialize.

In closing on this submission based on facts … you tell me BU does it appear that this is the time for us as a nation to be building a “society” like the DLP likes to say, or is this building a society talk a distraction from the real state of national affairs?

1. David

Thnx, will submit same to U asap

2. The DLP has made severak mistakes or maybe they were driven to retain the government. Whatever they have done has not resonated well with teh majority of Bajans and since the passing of DT, this country just seems adrift. No issue seems to have been dealt with definitively and completely. CLICO, Alexandra, International Business, REDJET, Roundabouts, Drug Service, Cultural Industries, Four Seasons, the list goes on and on. Nothing seems to have been properly led. Nothing.

Well sorry, I will give them a passing grade for their housing effort because they said they will build houses they never said that people will be able to afford or occupy them.

The more I listen to the younger demographic, the more I am getting the feeling that the DLP will lose the next election. I woudl really liek a CADRES poll conducted to confirm if what I am hearing is indeed true.

3. old onion bags Avatar

@ an Observer
    Why …..with 500 people on the breadline come month end…some people will choose to debate OAS and the issuing of 800 policies jinx …that leads to a case going NOWHERE???

MY dear friend have a look at what is PRESENT and pending…..
    Alexandra Dispatch,the ‘CLICO Bonnie n Clyde’ the Knights closings,the International Business up and runnings,The Walmer Lodge miss-givings(,FTC), The FourSeasons Persuads,The BL&P-NIS emeras lodgings, the Round-a bout and Templar misunderstandings and now the Neal and Massey unforgivings (Almond )……we still have about 8 months to go… so adequate time for more to float up and add to the list.

Do you still want to discuss what will lead to a thrown out $ 1,000 max case ?

4. @An Observer

What you have posited will definitely add some spice to the debate. Whether it is enough to stem rising disgust with the government is another matter. It is all about the urgency of now for the Clico policyholders.

5. @!
    the reason you use the “!” character of your blog responses as your name is because you are in deed a “CHARACTER”, so that we agree on 🙂

This submission started of with the FACTS as provided by the DLP budget and Moody not the BLP … the data provided speaks volumes by “itself”, however all the DLP supporters responding to this blog what to do is place ALL our nations challengs on the “global recession” , who is really trying to fool bajans. The recession is a reality the world is FACING, but not an excuse to “stick our heads in the sands all the way to China” and do nothing tangible for bajans families.

If bajans take the “TIME” to review the tons of data which highlight the under performance of the current DLP administration for THEMSELVES – “WUNNA DONE” ….

As much as possible I plan to kill wunna with the FACTS of the DLP underperformance ….. why? because as a bajan patriot who places country “FIRST” bajans need to know the “TRUTH” about where we are as a nation, and how close we are to the edge of the cliff that the DLP wants to run Barbados OFF. The current DLP does not have the leadership, WILL, intellectual capacity, or “know-how” to avoid running Barbados off the cliff.

6. We keep hearing from the current DLP administration that Barbados is in the same “economic” position as compared to other nations in the Caribbean. However other nations are doing better then we are FACT.

Now these stats are from 2010, however tell an interesting story again the backdrop of the DLP blaming all Barbados’s national challengs on “The Global Recession”…

Now to be fair they are economic structural differences between Barbados and some of the nations listed below, but what is compelling to me is that “WE ARE BEING OUT PERFORMED” by nations that once looked to Barbados as the example for a range of Caribbean centric economic best practices.

During the GLOBAL RECESSION (2010): DOING BETTER THEN BARBADOS
    – Dominica – GDP – real growth rate: 1%
    – St.Lucia – GDP – real growth rate: 0.8%
    – Trinidad and Tobago – GDP – real growth rate: 0%
    – Aruba – GDP – real growth rate: 2.4%

NATIONS IN OUR REGION SERIOUSLY STRUGGLING (2010):
    – Barbados – GDP – real growth rate: -0.5%
    – Jamaica – GDP – real growth rate: -1.1%
    – Grenada – GDP – real growth rate: -1.4%
    – Antigua – GDP – real growth rate: -4.1%

I am NOT comfortable watching Barbados continuing under the current DLP in the race to the bottom.

7. old onion bags Avatar

@ Austin
    I remember the Central Bank’s Govt praise….and all the commotion that at least to move to -0.5 was UPWARDS movement (neg- growth) from the previous month’s Thanks Austin…I was forever searching for those figures.

8. old onion bags Avatar

corr: year’s

9. @Austin

Are you serious?

10. Observing (and reading) Avatar
    Observing (and reading)

slight tangent.
    Has anyone read the paid advertisement from the FSC on page 25A of today’s newspaper? I’ll leave my comments until ohters weigh in…. Choice of words is usually of critical importance…..

11. old onion bags Avatar

Next time you bad boys the like’s of ac and ! and “the real deal c “… talk about Global Economies…..redirect them PLEASE ! They want economic debate well here Clone…you’ve been answered…weigh in …debate these figs.

12. old onion bags Avatar

Are you serious?

In good times growth hardly exceed 4 % av.bout hay.

13. @observing

The advertisement can be given several interpretations. An easy one is that the FSC has sought to establish timelines around the report.

14. FYI: All

The real GDP growth figures provided for 2010 came from >>
    http://www.indexmundi.com/ , home of one of the Internet’s most complete country profiles, that contains detailed country statistics, charts, and maps compiled from multiple sources.

Go take a look ALL including DLP supporters and try to defense our race to the bottom posture…. standing by ..

15. old onion bags Avatar

Thanks Austin
    Maybe this should hush those horn blowers of Global Econ, for good.
    also top growth countries of the world growth chart is most interesting wit Qatar at No.I …interesting viewing Austin.

16. old onion bags Avatar

Using the above link Type in “ALL” is most interesting reading Chk -it out

Listed order prominence in GDP growth
    148 Belize
    171 Dominica
    176 St.Lucia
    180 Bahamas
    188 T&T
    193 Barbados

17. Surely it is not enough to give a static listing, where is the analysis?

18. old onion bags Avatar

Come now…the chart speaks for itself..Econ 101…do you find difficulty ?

Notice USA listed at 126,India and Taiwan in top 5 ..well well well.

19. @ Clone

“Mr Enuff most of you are like that, just find a dotish counter argument.”

Dotish? Conservative ideology is pro-market and anti-“big government”; therefore conservative parties like the Tories and their supporters have no problem sending home public servants.

20. old onion bags Avatar

So wait DLP crew….Global Economies ain’t hit Dominion Republic a country whose No.1 income earner is TOURISM in the Caribbean ???
    ALL in doubt….CHECK THE LINK ABOVE……(listening for excuses)

21. old onion bags Avatar

Listed :21 Dominion Republic…a country located near Haiti for those interested.

22. old onion bags Avatar

Dominican Republic sorry..#22

23. @ !
    They are telling Bajans that the global recession is imaginary and it is not the cause of the sluggish economy?

Just like your party led by the late King from the east misled the public into believing that the high cost of food had nothing to do with international conditions and there was no looming global economic recession? You recall these words ‘what global recession what!’? It is a good thing the Bdos economy wasn’t in the sordid mess claimed by the Dems because we would be dead by now.

24. To those doing the straight line comparison here is a question(s):

What is the per capita income for those countries being used as example for Barbados to follow

What is the level of support for said countries for social programs when compared to Barbados

25. old onion bags Avatar

Excuses : All these fellows were saying before was…” Oh Global Economies was responsible for this and that “…..now you got more questions? We were not hearing per capita income being raised before…its called shifting the goal post….a favorite past time of politicians ..and now journalist.

26. @onion

You response can only be described as befuddling but you are entitled. God help Barbados.

27. old onion bags Avatar

Of interest is Antigua #210…..- 4.1 neg growth……the home of Allan Sanford the infamous ponzzi merchant, now incarcerated somewhere,after messing up the lil country’s economy. At the bottom TOO.

28. old onion bags Avatar

Befuddling ?
    Again I ask what is so confusing about the chart David?

29. old onion bags Avatar

Other Tourist destinations registering positive growth …

19 Maldives Islands 8%
    67 Isle of Man
    76 Turks and Caicos Islands
    107 Malta 3.7 %
    139 Aruba 2.4 %

Who ever said these islands dependent on tourist arrivals were not subject to Global Recession like us, and did not find a way around it. Check the link, see for yourselves.

30. i guess you ole onions and Austin have become economic guries with a one sided way of looking at world events
    here is realistic point of view given by the world bank read and digest .
    http://www.guardian .co.uk/…/2012/jan…/ world-bank-warns-global-recessi…

31. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac…..
    Everybody yes have been warned of the recession BUT some (unlike us) heeded and made prudent decision to combat it. Not like increasing Vat to stifle any little growth …and drying any lil up cash flows…or increasing all utilities , bus fares, fees licenses, professional fees and the like ALL AT ONCE….What do you expect, people had money printing machines at home or $100 dollar bearing trees.? Those measures are counteractive and would only recess us further. .. and DID….and they were TOLD !!!!!

32. @onions
    Finally straight from the horses mouth we all agreed that we do have a global recession.NOw i remember old folks saying which is economics 1A to always planned for a “rainy Day” now to me that means that one does not wait to fix the hole in the roof after it starts raining and their are not enough buckets around to catch the water.this is the senario Barbados is facing now the previous owners did not plan for rainy days because it was plenty of sunshine and instead of fixing the roof they decided to splurge the money on other things which were important but nevertheless was not as important as the hole in the roof. now the new owners have the problem of either fixing that hole or continuing the same policies of the previous owner and what makes it so bad is that the previous owners had plenty of money and time to do so. while the new owners doesn’t have the same.

33. old onion bags Avatar

You should add …now the current owner will get kicked to the curb…and its followers to 14 yrs in the wilderness…..lol nice story telling ac

34. @ ac
    Why did the then PM Thompson dismissed the argument that there was a looming global meltdown?

35. old onion bags Avatar

Enuff
    Please don’t take ac serious tonight hear..like she real vex tonight ,I wonder why ?

36. Observing (and learning) Avatar
    Observing (and learning)

befuddling. I kinda like it David. lol

Instead of just comparing statistics as David says, what policies did these countries implement circa 2008-2009 when the recession was on? How does their macro-economic makeup compare with Barbados? What was done “differently” or not done? Where were they coparatively speaking in 2000…or 2004?

Just observing questions that will be asked by people just asking 🙂

37. Observing (and learning) Avatar
    Observing (and learning)

Also, for balance. anyone took a look at the unemployment comparisons? or the percentage of persons below the poverty line?? just for “balance” sake.

38. The BLP “monkeys” (no disrespect intended……. to the monkey,lol) really showing their tails,stupse!
    When people could use very minute differences in GDP without any analysis or reference to per capita income to try to prove how succesful a country is, it is really the silly season! Barbados has never been highly acclaimed because it had the highest GDP numbers but because it remains the most stable, law abiding country with a high level of social and human capital financed primarily by tourism and foreign investment.

I repeat if your economy depends on UK tourists spending and foreign investment, when the UK slumps- it resonates throughout the entire economy – ask the hotel owners. Every tourism official in the Caribbean will tell you that tourists are spending less- The BLP argument is that the tourist will check to see if Freundel Stuart is Prime Minister and then decide if to come (ridiculous ,isn’t it?)
    The per capita income of Barbados exceeds that of the Dominican Republic which has a large Free Zone and is also supported by mining ( ferronickel,gold,silver)! Let any Haitian worker tell you about the income inequalities and wage rates in the Dominican Republic.
    Let us be fair – Unlike many other countries children in Barbados can go from primary to tertiary education without looking for thousands yearly,a strong safety net for the elderly, poor and disabled, you get the point….
    It is like looking at the debt while not acknowledging the importance of the structure (local or foreign) of that debt.
    Barbados like many others is facing the strong economic headwind but for the BLP to try to mislead people that others in the region are soaring is to lie to the Bajan People.
    The BLP will fool those who allow themselves to be fooled!

39. David (not BU) Avatar

! great reply. i have to give that to you. you set up your man and you lick he down. how could any reasonable person disagree with what you just said. i can’t but here is your problem which you will never admit to, while they are external factors, they are also internal factors. for a government that is finding it hard to make money from things you highlighted, tourists spending and foreign investment, what has the government done to curb its spending?

now i’m not going to buy into sending home government workers but look at the amount of wasted money that is being spent. if the government really cared would we have all the waste we are seeing? what waste? i don’t need to repeat what has been said before because you know it well but those things speak to bad management in a weak environment.

i personally don’t think the DLP had to deliver on any of its pre election promises. i believe bajans are fair minded people (yardfowls aside) a good/great case could of been made to say look we all have to tighten our belts and ride out this recession but no. they don’t deliver on the promises and for a government and supporters that are quick to tell you who thief what in the BLP, they are setting records on the funds they are moving from taxpayers to their personal accounts.

so you have bad management of the country along with some OPEN funny business deals that only a handful of people making money in a time when money is tight for everyone else. when these things finally come to light, the DLP will have a long hard road to travel.

40. old onion bags Avatar

@!
    When people could use very minute differences in GDP without any analysis or reference to per capita income to try to prove how succesful a country is, it is really the silly season!
    I beg your pardon.Oh it’s no longer the undisputable cry of the Global Economies but now..”reference to per capita income” as a rider. How lame.
    Your reply had done nothing but take one foot out the hot water and replaced it with the another,… with socks this time.Now we are shifting the goal post conveniently. You want the analysis using the GNP (growth ) yardstick but with an added variable per capita (people well being) to make the comparison.
    ‘Setup what to lick down’ who (David not BU)? Its no longer comparing oranges with oranges. No sir, we want to compare ortinigues from Mexico with ortiniques from Basille Spain and there is to be not the slightest difference in color or smell either. Should you be so lucky to find such,cut it, it must have the identical taste, and seeds side. Such is your new request.
    What an op out, for the sake of not admitting this administrations faults.
    The spendamania, and total incomprehension of the fact that they should cut partying and wastage.Come now….. find the balls , and stop all the lame foot dancing and misinforming by “who should know better”. Hoping to win elections,before doing the inevitable, ..is like wishing for a snowball to exist in hell.
    This administration shall not be around come this same time next year.That is an almost certainty. And for good reasons too, … five years more in this hell hole should be tolerated much longer. Already repercussions of all the S*#t has begun to float….Almond, Knights,and BAICO. We cannot go on much longer without greater upsurges in unemployment crime, and lawlessness. Barbadians have been on the “bitter pill diet” now, for too long…and offering excuses after excuses while shifting goal posts does not provide a laudable solution to our problems.

41. old onion bags Avatar

corr :should NOT be tolerated

42. old onion bags Avatar

addenda; Almonds and Knights demise has been aided by high Input Cost..ie. expenses cost of Direct Materials..food, utilities, fuel..increased expenses…not occasioned in a Dominican Republic will erode profits to losses….if we want to get technical.

43. @Onions

Your last comment exposes that you are simply making comments in the wind.

The decline of Almond has to do with over leveraging which interacted with the global recession.

The inability of the hotel to upgrade its plant is the main reason for its demise.

A plant sold as a 4 star which is now regarded as a 2 star in the market will not cut it.

Bear in mind up to 2007/8 its occupancy rate remained over 70%, one of the highest in the island.

Please don’t insult the intelligence of the BU family.

44. old onion bags Avatar

@ !
    Unlike many other countries children in Barbados can go from primary to tertiary education without looking for thousands yearly,a strong safety net for the elderly, poor and disabled, you get the point
    Don’t be fooled we pay for these ..and dearly to Government takes on average 37.5% out of the working man pay pack each ..monthly
    P A Y E 20 %… (NIS will not incl)..
    VAT 17.5 %
    How do you think NIS could have so many billions…we PAY
    We recently had pay high water rate increase 60 %, Could you image what it take to full a swimming pool far less four ? Telephone bills went up 15 %.. Almond’s Utilities bill alone each month would be in the millions.

45. old onion bags Avatar

The decline of Almond has to do with over leveraging which interacted with the global recession.
    So my good man ….how do we pay for debt ?…..unless a company profitability ratio is high enough to absorb debt …the company will be in the RED.Profits are what services debt…..expenses is what erode profit …please get the gist.

Insult intelligence ? Spare me.

46. old onion bags Avatar

As a matter of fact 3 of the 4 of the items you list are have a DIRECT relation to profits.
    1.The decline of Almond has to do with over leveraging which interacted with the global recession.

2.The inability of the hotel to upgrade its plant is the main reason for its demise.

3.A plant sold as a 4 star which is now regarded as a 2 star in the market will not cut it.

>>>>
    1. (addressed earlier)

2.If Almond was struggling under its HIGH cost , monies wouldl not be there for upgrading now .. would there ?

3. In order to remain competitive, not losing its market share (revenue), management may have made the decision to list as a 4 star but could only afford to maintain 2 star status due to increasing HIGH cost.

Remember we promote Barbados as a high cost destination…not by chance ..but for a reason..

47. What do you think buying properties i.e. expanding would have done to Almonds debt burden?

Anyway we don’t have to argue about it because CEO of Neal & Massy and the Chief Financial Officer made the same point.

BU will go with their view.

You can have the last word.

48. old onion bags Avatar

DaviD
    Do you honestly believe a major decision to invest in buying addition properties could have been made locally ? Don’t mind Neal and Massey, they would have had to vetoed and closely collaborated any major financial undertakings of the like… DO NOT BE FOOLED.a major regional corporation like NM..nah David.All Ralph would have had power is to personnel manage and minor financing the likes of table and chairs…..being absurd of course.Something smells…I say it again

Leave a Reply to old onion bagsCancel reply