Submitted by Old Onion Bags
Significant oil discovery by T&T

Just heard the good news on CMC late news. New oil reserves have been discovered in T&T….48 million barrels of light crude in one offshore field and a further 34 million in another…WOW 82 million barrels of black goal to boost Pamela &; Co. coffers.

The implications for Barbados…..much more T&T investors will be coming our way to buy out our troubled capital assets. How does Trinidad & Tobadoes sound fellas ? Given our uncertainties…..it’s a good possibility.

But how will the two peoples get on ? If Kellman’s much sought after fishing agreement is much to go by..well you tell me. Like granny used to say …..better born lucky than rich.

Harsh luck for off road bike and quads riders here as well…….such bikes have been banned from the road ways and the Scotland District..just like that…boom. Sorry fellas do like me and catch the bus ..it’s safer all round.

1. PassingThrough Avatar

Such Sensationalist Tripe…

1) This rather insignificant discovery was made in 2011, and is now being spun in 2012 by the TnT Government to a ludicrous degree. Even technocrats have warned the TnT Government that spinning this as an “Oil Boom” (as some stupid UNC sycophants have) is irresponsible. The discovery of millions of barrels of oil is not even noteworthy, where billion barrel finds are often commonplace.

2) There will be no more dollars for Trinidad to roll in since in recent years, projected oil revenues have continually fallen short, hence the focus on Natural Gas since the early 2000’s.

3) The hype surrounding this find contradicts the present Government of TnT’s promise of diversification.

In other words this is much ado about nothing.

2. old onion bags Avatar

@just passing

Sir Who do you want us to believe ?

3. PassingThrough Avatar

A Government veering on Political Stability – such as the current PP Partnership – will use any ole thing to distract and fool people. It would be good to take their every pronouncement with grains of salt. As for this supposedly great find, ask the technocrats or any economist worth their salt the difference this is supposed to make. TnT plays with a budget in excess of $50bill, this find will hardly make a difference. In fact one respected Economist suggested it *might* add revenues of $150m. No one even knows the correct figures yet so to spin this as some new great discovery that will launch further Trinidadian Investment in the region (God forbid right? lolol ) is naive.

This is just ridiculous PR from a desperate Government.

4. This announcement is generating heated political flack in T&T:

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Rowley__Govt_timing_a__PR_gimmick-145256945.html

5. old onion bags Avatar

Relevance to this post…….Passing through

FACT: NEW OIL DEPOSITS DISCOVERED IN T&T…..(this yr or last yr irrelevant)…maybe we can get some @ a cheap price

……much ado about nothing …Shakespeare stuff

6. PassingThrough Avatar
    PassingThrough

You fell for the hype , suggesting this will be the find to launch a zillion more Trinidadians on Barbados. So I am providing you some perspective …. seen?

Also, yuh see the lil part where I type that projected oil revenues have fallen short in recent years thus will find will not make a difference. Absorb that well.

7. old onion bags Avatar

ok I gotcha…thanks PEACE

8. old onion bags Avatar

Et al
    Goodmorning all,
    2) There will be no more dollars for Trinidad to roll in since in recent years, projected oil revenues have continually fallen short, hence the focus on Natural Gas since the early 2000′s.
    Drawn from TT blogger Passing Through extract:

Could this be the reason for this secret natural gas pipe line DEAL ..that NO ONE WANTS TO TALK about ?

We just had the budget estimates……..nothing….one call in DLP-ite last week says we getting it for FREE…joker !

Thanks,Passing Through

9. old onion bags Avatar

Been told this Almond play out……got more in the mortar than…..BL&P observers….. watch out.

10. old onion bags Avatar

Barbados….has itself too exposed…..beware!

11. @PassingThrough | April 1, 2012 at 1:12 PM |
    wrote:
    You fell for the hype , suggesting this will be the find to launch a zillion more Trinidadians on Barbados.
    Passing Through…..you sure?…man you sure ?..I ent know Boss..you sure you ent sure ???

12. old onion bags Avatar

Why the flying fish like the Gulf of Peria now is understandable…..they like people we know …..like the hub nub with rich fish…..The draw back for us in Bim…Sardine or Mackerel on the menu today. Hope when the natural gas pipe line comes, they can follow it Bewitched ..like some of us again…straight to Oistins or the Bridgetown Fishing Complex.

13. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac and !
    Pleasant Good Friday morn..
    If Kellman and now Bobby were truly the men for the mission…Barbadian fisher folk would have had money in their pockets this Good Friday morning and WE not eating brumswick bloated jacks fit for the cat. Tell me ac had these men been skilled and sliddery like a true bajan conga eel..pardon the expression…..now they want to send a natural GAS pipe line..is time to barter for flying fish rights of passage don’t you think ? Kaymala getting away with murder….and we wid empty nets and dwindling bank accounts. What does two fishes mean to an oil rich country anyway ?
    Freundel……..so wait nutting in dis deal fa we ?

14. old onion bags Avatar

Official news by CEO PetroChem…acknowledging Trinidad’s largest OIl find in the Gulf of Peria……where is the trini blogger Passing Thru…after all are you really sure…are you really sure ?

PassingThrough | April 1, 2012 at 12:53 PM |

15. AAH boy how could we find a way to get Trinidad and Tobago riches. We tried the fishing thing / law of the seas at the UN court and failed, CCJ has no power. We keep complaining Trinidad and Tobago not fair and get no sympathy. We tried the Red jet Irish camouflage trick on the trini and got burned with cheaps flights from Guyana with planeloads of people looking for jobs and no money to spend. Ahh boy GOD is a TRINI

16. old onion bags Avatar

Why D ass Trinidad got to be so SELFISH…..last year we IMPORT from them according to Sen. Benn CBC TV just now over $900 MIL….and only Export $111 Mil….now ya mean we lil Pine Hill Dairy milks and juices wanna BLOCKING….but waana buy up all we assets and shut down Almond..5oo jobs yet expect we to be smiling….?

17. Onions

Listen my man these jokers at Banks Holdings din shouting Barbados first when they went a dilute the share holding of Barbadians by selling off a sizable portion of the company to Latin Capital. I have NO sympathy for those f#cks. I challenge you to find one ex-ployee of Banks that will speak favourably of that hell hole …! As far as I am concerned every cent that they stand to mek out of Trinidad they could shove straight up their royal %&*&$&s. It amazes me that Allan Fields and Neville Nicholls could be knighted (actually it doesn’t, but I thought it would mek the argument look a little more right of centre …!)

18. old onion bags Avatar

Yo Trini
    LIKE YA WANT ALLL….and then SOME……greed duz mek a man shite ee self hear…..read sense from dat !

19. Mash up & buy back Avatar
    Mash up & buy back

I second you on that BAFBP – what the ****##@&** fields and nichols do to get that knighthood.Soon Miss howard cat might get one too – fuh real.

Neville nichols has done not one jot to assist consumers at the FTC – BIG BLOATED IDIOT and yet he still dey warming a seat.Steupes.

20. old onion bags Avatar

Late news..Trinidad….back wheels……Min Commerce Dias states it was not intentional…..places blame on another internal govt dept..aligned to Min Health….which has been getting things wrong now for sometime….PHD milk n juice just may be exported to trini market….affa all!

21. old onion bags Avatar

Like Bajan reacting….to the BNB Bank now Trinidad Republic Bank… SIGNS…taken down over the weekend…. vocal concerns on Brass Tacks program this morning, we not gettin no flyin fish..T&T banning our PHD products…..I cuttin and pastn from Article above…
    …………………………………………………..
    “The implications for Barbados…..much more T&T investors will be coming our way to buy out our troubled capital assets. How does Trinidad & Tobadoes sound fellas ? Given our uncertainties…..it’s a good possibility.”

Onions….on the ball again.

22. @Onions

Remind us again which government sold BNB. The people continue to be screwed.

23. Onions ……. got to start marrying the Trinis….that seems the only legal way to get you foot in.

24. old onion bags Avatar

@ Islang ….can i start wid You ?

25. Sorry Onion I ent nuh Trini …LOLLL

26. Barclays Plc sacrificed its chairman Marcus Agius over an interest rate rigging scandal that has dealt “a devastating blow” to the bank’s reputation, apparently seeking to defuse calls for chief executive Bob Diamond to go.

27. old onion bags Avatar

Did the MOF in this No ball Budget not plan to offer up 13 of BANOC and two other state own Co. to offer up for privatization ?

…….yet again ….you missed my point..or you seek to give me another..by the way is not PHD owned by the Trinidadians already ?

@ islgal
    Aliens seek to marry…I already born here for when all the trouble gine start..know the undergrounds too..

28. @Onions

No point missed at all. You seek to sensationalize the fact T&T investors will use Republic Bank to funnel MORE investment into Barbados. When you are reminded that Mr. CSME himself sold the nak you want to brush it away. All cut from the same cloth.

29. old onion bags Avatar

What a most unfair comment above….polarizing a Govt policy to my party. Look my dear fellow in this last Budget speech was it not MOF Chris Sinckler who made a point that he will be informing the FSC to make the necessary arrangement to put up as offering on the SE…13 of BNOC, GAIIA and worst of all the Bdos Port Authority…..or was I dreaming and running in my sleep like a sheep dog ?

On a lesser point ..visited B’Town today and saw the much talked about Republic Bank signs….fa real, they do look quite ominous on Broad St….of note however, was the ATM machines which were much more conspicuous at eye level…they did not bear the name Republic Bank…but one …”BLUE MACHINES”…what D rassta fari is this a third bank now ….or diff sock ?

30. @Onions

If not Republic who?

31. old onion bags Avatar

Just know how to shift the goal post now do we…..Why were we not talking about the ole famous blame game that some have master so well..like who was responsible …..But NO…..flip the script…If not Republican………Next time flip me a sardine omelet, maybe then, I might be better able to read and palate have expectations…All banks are not the same…..especially when there are so many Bajan workers that can be sent home…..by whim and fancy…less we forget Almond Beach. Contemplate that .

32. old onion bags Avatar

Since we in a supposing mode today…ah wanda wat wud happen if all these companies wid a T & T interest start losing money like water ? Then they won’t be good investments rite ?Suppose D workers start wid Trinidad workers culture Partieeeeeeeeeee and Fuc D wuk….things won’t be that profitable now …. I wonda if they wud go back on the Sotk.Exchng ?

Leave a Reply to old onion bagsCancel reply