Austin

The DLP had a meeting in St. Michael for five constituencies and it is reported that only 130 persons attended total for all five constituencies. Now compare that to the BLP Dwight Sutherland’s St. George South Branch meeting held on Sunday the 25th March at St.Luke’s Brighton Skills Training Centre which featured Opposition Deputy Leader Dale Marshall and former political leader Mia Mottley where over 100 persons attended.

What is happening in St. George South is beginning to happen all over Barbados as the election grows near, finally the people of St. George South will get the kind of representation they deserve in these challenging times from its BLP candidate Dwight Sutherland.  Dr. Suckoo has “not” served the people of St. George South well, and she has done a “poor” job as Minister of Labour.    The labour force in Barbados and the people of St. George South want more that seeing their representative “cheesing in the newspaper every day” saying and doing absolutely nothing tangible for her constituency in St.George South, or bajan people.

Bajans are starting to see through the smoke screen of poor governmental leadership and under performance coming from the current DLP administration and does like Dr. Suckoo.  To make matters worse our nation is suffering from a “PM LEADERSHIP CRISIS” which no one is talking about but many Bajans know it, including some DLP supporters.  I call him the “Accidental PM”, which may be a good title for a book or movie after he is out of office, but in “these times” with “these challenges” PM Stuart is not the “one” to lead Barbados.

Fortunately, Bajans are beginning to understand that the current DLP has “NO” socio-economic strategic vision for Barbados, NONE AT ALL.  The DLP slogan of “they are trying to build a society” in the midst of an economic crisis is simply “pure nonsense”, and you don’t need to be an economist to know that (mark my words that slogan is going to come back to bit the DLP).  The best evidence to date of this lack of a strategic vision is the 2012-2013 Barbados Budget Estimates.  The DLP budget shows NO evidence of the kind of comprehensive fiscal vision needed to slow our growing national fiscal deficit, it does nothing to get government expenditures under control, and adversary impacts economic growth.

“MAN CALL THE ELECTION, YA KILLING WE”

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ! | March 29, 2012 at 10:29 AM |
    “The ones the MPs were speaking about was those persons who can go to every show, every cat fight, travelling, the latest in everything but have no time for the old person who raise them.”

Then the Minister must learn to stop putting his foot in his mouth and letting it run like a burst pipe that has been reported two weeks ago to the BWA. Instead of using one brush to tar all people who have old family members to look after, be proactive and help solve the problem. Stop the pension payments and if public housing is involved then repossess the housing unit. Get the army of officials in his ministry to do their job and stop the annual harangue we have all heard before ad nauseam.

2. Observing (and asking) Avatar
    Observing (and asking)

@!
    Before I respond I’ll give you that hour so please go ahead….succint if possible for the benefit of our cell phone readers 🙂

3. “Heritage Tourism” i know about this well. this is a joke. person just trying to control and get as much money from a Pay to Play system. Barbados is sure to lose its world heritage site status.

4. being patriotic at times come with a heavy price .meaning putting parties and ideaologies and self last. as i must reiterate that a people who only sees it needs first are the takers always wanting more even when the cupboard is empty but the givers ae those who are willing to sacrifice and sees it as a duty to replace that which is missing .putting ciountry first is the ultimAte sacrifice ione has to offer in hard times and history always get it right..

5. Miller QUOTE “stop the .long talk” So Sir what long term measures did your beloved party of yesterday put in place to combat the promblems which the elderly are facing now. for indeed these problems did not start yesterday

6. old onion bags Avatar

@!
    I have written an entire article “Stop Blaming All on Global Economies” back in January ..so if you care to..you can re-visit. In a nutshell, the WHOLE World is been subject to it…. YET some ..Brazil Guyana,Canada..prevail.Wonder why..?..Those leaders rather than throwing their hands in the air or doing NOTHING to counter-act the impending….. are more astute, and implement the correct fiscal measures….not those of killing what lil growth Barbados was experiencing by a 2% VAT…yet still holding PARTY PARTY PARTY…and not missing a minister’s opp to fly …China, Malaysia,Australia…you see wastage don’t stop for Global economies right ?

7. @island girl Quote”we need to build more geriatic Hospitals. you mean after 14 years you now figure that out.what we had back then was a visionless and selfcentred captain with a people who had no care in the world about the future it is only now that reality has taken a serious foothold we are being asked to pause and take a deep breathe and wonder what did we do in those years of plenty that was indeed beneficial to all and not An entitled few

8. AC ole girl ….like yuh need some spectacles…please read the post above mine. Cor blind muh dem got nuff peoples here wid Alzheimer.

9. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac
    You just can’t call a SPADE a SPADE….Truth of the matter is, you all DID NOTHING but spend and travel and sponsored your FAMILY FIRST slogan….WITH NOTHING TO SHOW now after 4 years….. what else to do but….. BLAME the past administration of course …for everything else not covered by your recession PLASTER…..You are all are a sad case !!! …..ONE TERM baby… ONE TERM…..got your staff yet ?…lol

10. @Onions

You are comparing Barbados to countries which have commodities to sell?

11. This problem with old folkes didn’t start recently and both governments didn’t take time to correct a growing problem with Barbados being one of those countries in the world where life expectancy rate is very high. my problem now is with this governmwent, Mr Stuart has now declared that because of the problem with the Cuban/American man Garcia, he will build a STATE OF THE FACILITY to house such persons. Tell me, how many of these cases we get? so why spend so much money on that project, when we are in dire need of additional facilities to house the growing elderly in this country? Even those who have their old parents at home are struggling to deal with them and work too, with a devaluation in the spending power because of the high cost of living, these families are finding it hard to cope with dealingf with these old folkes properly. Sometimes, it means neglecting your very family (children) to purchase items needed to keep these old folkes happy or just comfortable. Forget about the Garcia man and concentrate on providing additional facilities for the elderly.Private Senior citizen homes and nursing homes are very expensive and totally out of the reach of the average bajan family.

12. Wasn’y this country in recession when for two years after winning the 2008 elections, to divide the “fatted calf” as DT had said, this administration spent millions of dollars on the Independence Garrison Night Spectacular. Money this country can do well with right now. It is time ythe DLP stop canvassing and start governing the country that they BEGGED for to administer. Stop blaming the BLP and admit to this country that you made some mistakes and are much wiser now, I Hope, to govern this country for another 5 years. I’m not saying that this will work but to me that is the only DRASTIC thing this government can do to get back a little confidence in this administration that promised so much but gave very little.

13. old onion bags Avatar

Our position was over the years never changed…The BLP had developed a vibrant International Business nest, revenue earner which if managed effectively and proactively won’t have seen the loss of million in revenues and jobs due to laziness. Our commodity always was our people and the service industry. These will once more be managed effectively one day coming soon again ..you’ll see.
    Other places still, as well, thru effective marketing, are still reaping benefits from diversified tourism products….The truth is this admin. just fail to be on the ball and be proactive and were warned of the impending….and did NOTHING . The reserves ( $2 billion) seemed colossal , the projected Vat income bountiful….hence the parties…only to be visited by the truth….less sales equal less collections.No brainer to some, difficulty for others.

14. What ever happened to the “champaign mout and mauby pocket” promises that were being brandished about? Project like NEW HOSPITAL, PIER HEAD MARINA, CRUISE PIER, TWO NEW SECONDARY SCHOOLS, etc. The samall promises made in 2008 are yet to be given, yet the DLP is coming with these elaborate project. Is there a “fairy godfather” we don’t know about? Ask Sandie for one

15. @ !
    The majority of what you listed are not accomplishments to brag about, there are mere day to day chores of any government. Not to mention many were initiatives of the previous government and some disingenuous like for instance your claim of diversifying tourism. If you intend to win an election with these may the Gods help you.

16. @Onions

Simply wanted to point out that to compare Barbados with those countries which are blessed with natural resources was not an apple comparison. Of course we can debate the efficiency in management of the IB sector which is another argument.

17. old onion bags Avatar

@ Scoutie
    These fellows approached this like Alice in Wonderland….couldn’t believe their EYES…. the amount of money around and in store.Tell me who would pay off the Highway contractors in cash….throw lavish parties for SIX Rd ..new tenants..function ??..SPEND SPEND..was the call. Grey Goose the drink of choice at football meets….THEY COULD’NT BELIEVE THEIR EYES..people…spendamania….now they begging.

18. old onion bags Avatar

@!| March 29, 2012 at 11:07 AM |
    You are a real man….I telling you..I would not have the gall to publish that that list…is that all ? …for $ 5 billion..? The only capital asset you speak on is one school BlackmanGollop…$4 mill right….So you saying the balance…..$4,996,000,000.00 spent on what ?…the rest of those “things” on the list ?Tourist relief fund, initiate Fifth forms, a generator for QEH,natural gas frm garbage, small houses, increase in welfare pay outs, free bus fares and summer camps ?
    I think we need another forensic audit

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | March 29, 2012 at 12:58 PM |
    When are you going to stop living in the past and face up to what is before us? The reason why Bajan voters put the DLP in power in January 2008 was for that party to make a difference and do the things that were needed to be done. Not talk, talk and talk and continuously blame the BLP. How can you blame the BLP for the current state of abandonment of our elderly? This is the third year this problem has been highlighted in Parliament. The DLP has adopted the baby, it’s now their child to raise. The BLP are like hecklers in a crowd watching the DLP performing in a comedy show cracking jokes that nobody is laughing at.

Get on with it and stop the long talk and blame game or else you will see a reversal in fortunes very soon.

20. A government without Vision for 14years has what got this country into the dilemina we are experiencing. All the LONG TALK is just a friendly reminder of “WHAT should HAVE BEEN” instead of “WHAT SHOULD WE do Now . Hopefully this would be a lesson this government has learned from the past as it as it meets the obstacles and challenges confronting this country.

21. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac
    So laugh-able…man you really got nothing to say….anything could be worse than this continuous ineptitude? You realize that if LIME bosses overseas say NO is strike On !…not to mention…I ent sayin it.

22. you can say many things about the BLP for the referenced 14 years, however what you “cannot” say honestly is that under BLP leadership the government lacked vision or leadership which is the case today with the current DLP. Its time to looks forward AC to what Barbados needs now vs the “always looking back approach” … it is ineffective to keep one eye on the past and one eye on the future, you are going go blind which appears to already be the case.

23. What a disappointing blog, 3 or 4 BLP yard ducks maybe even less using mutiple handles begging like vagrants for elections to be called. Why so? There is no outcry form the three hundred thousand Bajans for elections.
    Citizens are carrying on with their lives in a tough world economic climate.

We are better off than Greece, spain, Ireland , Portugal, Italy, and all the Caribbean countries bar none. How is a rum drinker and a ship of fools we threw overboard a mere four years ago going to turn the streets of Barbados into gold and honey?.
    Elections will not be held because OSA and his gaggle of BLP yardfowls want it. Elections will be held when Prime Minister Stuart decides.

My advise to him is to take down to the wire. The BLP have a long frustrating wait to get catspraddle at the polls again. The writer of this article can go hibernate until at least this time next. Read my lips there will be no election this year. We the poeple dont want it OK.!.

24. I am uncertain whether to vote either Party when elections calls. The performance from this government I will say at best mixed. I’m not too certain if we need to change governments too soon in the middle of the recession. I’m going to wait and see until the election day where I’m going to cast my vote.

I can vote either Dem or Bees or maybe spoil the vote (there’s no third party). It’s going to take a hard convincing from either side before I cast my vote.

Mr Arthur and Mr Stuart good luck!

25. @austin

i know the BLP ites would prefer more mention of a past which highlights only the good , but in as much as that is being said there were a lot of golden opportunities missed along way. The Present is a reminder of the past . Many of the problems that barbados are experiencing today were brought about because of a “LACK OF VISION” as clearly stated that a man who builds a house on sandy ground when the winds of trial and tribulation blows the house will fall. A Govt in building a country is like building a house and must have the vision to be prepared for stormy weather if not the efforts would have been in vain. Now it is incumbent for this government to build such a country that not only is economically sound but socially aswell leaving all the political hat tricks behind while teaching the people that doing what best is not always doing whats right and eventually the seeds which were sown in the past would yield dividends not only in the present but continue into the future.

26. old onion bags Avatar

@ Voter too
    Is that the best you can do on this blog as an inaugural speech ?.
    We all could see you are not in touch with ‘out there ‘ .Look lady…(you write like a lady) tell that to those mice of the once Eager 11… in case you forget…make them feel relieved that there are assured of at least 8 more months of largess salary coming out of the treasury, before they will once more have to….. every man brek for himself.

Hopefully we will hear more from you, and on behalf of David BU.. read my lips welcome Georgina Bush.

27. @ austin
    Those who forget the past are doomed to repeat it. Those are profound words. Why should we want to forget the past for within in it is a tour guide of the future and also a road map as to where we were at that moment in time not to mention the lessons learned and an open and objective appreciation of were we want to be in the FUTURE. The BLP has left a treasure box of real and unreal realities that we all can learn from so it is there where the story begins and hopefully after shifting through we can learn from their mistakes and use them as lessons that would guided this country smoothly into a prosperous future.

28. David (not BU) Avatar

i want to wish the DLP the best of luck in the next election because if what we read here is anything to go by, they will need it.

someone told me recently that politicians live in a bubble and because if this they have supporters telling them everything to make them think they are kings.

i for one don’t hold any water for anyone but i fail to understand how you can make the case that in the last 14 years of the BLP government, they are the reason we are seeing all these troubles today. here is a FACT that CANNOT be challenged, the BLP did not lost office because of bad management of the country. they lost because it was highlighted in neon lights in the dark that the past BLP was corrupt. at every step, it was implied persons did all these shady deals.

i for one fell for the trickery. so to come and make it look like bad management of country was the reason they lost is laughable at best.

what you die hard DLP supporters have to worry about is the fact information is being pass by government worker to person about the bad management this government is engaging in.

lets forget that persons in the country are saying they is no leadership, when things like the real story behind who made millions off the Rihanna show, how much person sell license for things like chicken wings and the like come out and the spending on travel, (i believe from what i heard, this alone will shock this nation) the DLP will be up a shitey, shitey road. let us not forget the Clico mess and what that may spell.

like i said, i’m not a member of any part and if i could hear about these things, what more is out there? so for the DLP to then come and tell this country about what happen in the 14 years of good as we often hear, it will be a joke and 3.3 million pounds of nails in the DLP coffin. from what i’m hearing i ask myself if person like Dennis Kellyman could lose his seat because what is sure to be a massive swing or lack of support.

i really don’t expect anything from the DLP supporters because the bubble ain’t burst yet.

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Voter Too | March 29, 2012 at 5:18 PM |
    “We are better off than Greece, spain, Ireland , Portugal, Italy, and all the Caribbean countries bar none.”

Your use of the term “and all the Caribbean countries bar none.” must include Trinidad & Tobago.
    How can we be economically better off than a people who own much of the commercial and industrial life of Bim, supplies our economic blood (petroleum products) and controls our preferred fish stocks?

Stop with your jingoistic crap!
    Next minute you will be saying we are richer than China.

30. Observing (and thinking) Avatar
    Observing (and thinking)

@A-Fish
    welcome. What issue would “sway” you in one direction of the next?

@!
    That was a pretty long hour

@ac, and Voter Too
    Do you believe that the BLP would have done any worse than the DLP when you reference “keep us afloat, stable and in better condition than others.” Or, let me ask, do you think they would have failed to keep the country sound during this recession?

31. The DLP would have been hardpressed not to want to repeat the policies of the past years. THey would try and try very hard against all odds but in the end they would have been forced to seek shelter in austere methods in fighting the onslaught of the global recession.

32. Observing (and thinking) Avatar
    Observing (and thinking)

forgive me, I’m confused. I’m not quite sure you answered the question. Other may be able to help me out.

33. @Voter too…..”We are better off than Greece, spain, Ireland , Portugal, Italy, and all the Caribbean countries bar none.”

Are you sure about this? How can you compare a small dot like us to those countries that are many many times larger than us? Our problems will appear smaller than those of large countries but that does not make us better off when we depend on those countries like the UK for 90% of our Tourism. Remember the government borrowing to pay salaries, to pay for imports, we are not manufacturing for export, sugar prices are down and we can’t meet our export quota. We import every damn thing how sustainable is that? You are like many who have their heads up your rear and walking about pretending that their crap don’t smell! Stupse….Stop fooling yourself and face reality for once nuh?

34. We are better off than Greece, spain, Ireland , Portugal, Italy,..

Clear signs of grasping at straws. Now pray tell how you want to make a comparison with countries that took DIRECT hits from the global financial meltdown? In simple terms if Barbados fell 5ft down the well the PIGS fell 15ft, if we were worse off than these countries there would be civil war in Buhbaduss.

35. Enuff do you really believe that we are better off? Our shit is slowly heading towards the fan.

36. @Voter ..”We are better off than Greece, spain, Ireland , Portugal, Italy, and all the Caribbean countries bar none.”

Apples and Oranges Voter …. You cannot compare the Barbados ecomomy to any of the countries referenced, as we are still considered a third world nation …

Try again…

37. @enuff

“if Barbados was worse off than those countries!
    So in fact aren’t you not agreeing with the point made by Voter! understandably our economy is much smaller than there’s but to keep insisting that the global economy did not have a real impact on the Barbados economy in similar ways is ludicrous and insightful.an economy which in part relied on Tourism has seen the rug pull from under it and be it Greece or Barbados the impact is Real and problematic

38. Hey fellas…you ever listen to a demented PARROT ?
    XX…stands for “Actually Crazy”…so please caution advised, I know you would figure it out. lol

39. The globlal recession continues to be used as a reason by the DLP to “DO NOTHING” …. just lets “wait an see” is the current DLP economic strategy.

What I am saying is this:
    1. Governmen Expenditures: Others nations are looking to lower government expenditures in light of the current economic situation, DLP government is doing nothing, and is actually growing expenditures with the so called “building a society non-sense” some people a swallowing.

2. National Deficit: Current approaching a totally out of control % of GDP.DLP government is doing again nothing,

3. Economic Growth: The DLP is void is any ideas on how to grow an economy, “they just dont know how to do it” (FACT), or have the talent to do it (FACT) … hence why the wait and see is the preferred DLP approach.

In some ways the DLP approach is like a HOUSE SLAVE approach to running a government. The global recession may be the thing we have needed to lower our dependenct on Tourism and start leveraging the talents of bajan people.

No one knows what the future will hold, however what Bajan people do know is that they have “EXPECTED MORE” of an effort from the DLP, vs the daily shi_te rambling in Parliment coming from the PM and his favorite students (chris, esther etc).

40. Addittionally:

Barbados for the frist time is history is being surpassed in key areas by other regional nation’s.(example ICT) … I dont want to “WAIT and SEE” that happen, our bajan youth deserve more.

The PM is not being cautious as they would like folks to believe, he has NO idea for the way forward.

A DLP win n the next election will “SEAL the continues decline of Barbados” internationally and regionally. If the DLP has no ideas NOW and for the last 4 years, what makes DLP supports think they will get some in the next 4.

41. What is amazing is how institutions like the QEH, BWA,BNOCL,NHC,UDC were left in almost shambles a few years ago by the BLP.
    The auditor general reports consistently highlighted bad management practices – yet we are hearing we need an election now- to go back to what?
    Stop looking for manna from heaven folks!

42. old onion bags Avatar

@!
    Stop looking for manna from heaven folks!
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    Anything from Heaven better than the Brimstone and Hail Fire we ARE NOW occasioning…….Help us Father Help us !

43. No! the blp don.t want to talk about the sh..t they left behind with not enough toilet paper to clean up but rather in a dotish manner talk about all the mundane issues that do not have a real impact on the economy like the”C” word an issue that only the courts can resolve they are a bunch of LOSERS hoping that the ole days of OSA policies would be enough to RESCUE.! RESTORE! the economy. What a bunch of bull sh..t and to make matters worse the BLP has not even realise that the world is in golbal recesion

44. Ac?..Are you OK? Can you PLEASE turn over the page and start a new chapter? I am getting real tired and bored with you rhetoric. Please start a new book or chapter.

yuh frien
    islandgal

45. old onion bags Avatar

Oh how fail the inking of a propagandist…..suited in darkness…fed with the knowledge of swine …..All that left for you to do is consult the DLP’s map for directions to the wilderness, because your visionary is not giving you exact time,…. but assurance of place. Onions however, forecast the EXODUS by January, and THY WILL be DONE.
    Then you shall have good reason not to regularly visit BU blog with anymore of your loud nothings, as you shall be filled with vexation and anguish, having looked back at the foolishness of your rants.On remand for another 14 years for your ignorance, for having seen, but no taken heed of the light.

46. old onion bags Avatar

@ IslnG
    Ac?..Are you OK? Can you PLEASE turn over the page and start a new chapter?
    Call the physician…ac gone stark raving mad !

47. Ole Onions you beginning to sound like an echo and I am also tired with your rhetoric. Try something new cause you are boring me as well. What about the health of the Minister of agriculture? I heard he was not feeling too good. Do you know what is wrong with him?

48. old onion bags Avatar

Rhetoric, rhetoric, why you doan head to hell back to Sin.John or where eva ya comes from ya ole bacjonnyredlegg…Min Agriculture, Min.Agrekulture, doa ask me nuttin….ask he ole frien Physical Deficit cuz he from D hickky way u so cum frum…lol…… doa ask me nuttin ya ear !

49. Irene Sandiford-Garner Avatar
    Irene Sandiford-Garner

David, whoever you are,
    I thank my Creator every day for the strength, motivation and love of this country that drives my purpose to leave Barbados better than I found it.

I am happy that we have sought a solution for a problem which spoke to the tattered fabric which our society has become: Abandoning our elderly.

That persons would seek, at length,on this blog, to justify this practice and malign individuals and processes aimed at halting it, is proof positive of a degenerative element that must be battled against at all costs.

As a “dimwit” and “sensationalist” as per your bloggers, I would hate to think this highly agitated response is springing from political discomfort. Some of the reactions seem to be rooted in guilt. Sometimes when uncomfortable truths hit home, people strike out.

Black people come from a heritage of nurturing elders. Some of us still acknowledge our ancestors in everything we set out to do. We grew up in districts and cart roads where the only persons watching us for 8-10 weeks during the day were those no longer able to go in the field or clean somebody’s house. Not all of them were blood relatives either.

Yet they did an excellent job in stopping vice; teaching us to cook; preventing us from getting away to the East Coast, Brandons or Morgan Lewis to drown; making us move and water stocks, and teaching us the bible, local and international history and long division.

We learned our lessons well, passed exams and went to “big school.” Now we can get on these blogs and on call in programmes, with all the “learning” and whine about people who curse you for kicking those same old people to the curb. There is absolutely NO EXCUSE for taking some person to the hospital and walking away and not coming back. Especially when you sleep under their roof and draw and spend money that the government cannot get from you. NONE!!! We have the documentation and social survey for every single one. To the misinformed, as long as state care is provided, government stops the state pension.

@Islandgal246 whoever you are, I respect your humanity. And you are correct in all you have said. Obviously you have common sense and a heart. The “know alls” you battle with who have all the solutions in their heads for the blogs only are almost comical in their rants.

But this is too tragic a societal development to laugh at. What I can advise is that it is sometimes pointless engaging in battles of the conscience against opponents who are unarmed.

Rest assured that this move is one (Health Minister Donville Inniss has spoken about this time and time again, in detail, but it suits some to mouth off that there is none) step towards our holistic approach to elderly care for those too busy, too pressured, too scared, too caught up in adversarial politics, and too “broke” to love who loved them.
    Senator Irene Sandiford-Garner

50. Irene Sandiford-Garner

Tekkin’ too long … Political parties tek too long … Talk Talk Talk … Promise promise promise … then comes another election.

Ma’am you were very public with a remark about “not giving handouts but preferring hand ups” … Ma’am, with respect, all, ALL public servant jobs are “hand outs” …!

Leave a Reply to David (not BU)Cancel reply