Marston Gibson, Chief Justice (l) Andrew Pilgrim, President of Barbados Bar Association

In an email to Andrew Pilgrim, president of the Barbados Bar Association, Chief Justice Marston Gibson has slammed the BBA, thereby raising many points that BU has been promoting about the Justice System.

The Chief’s email to Mr Pilgrim is posted to the members section of the BBA website and requires that it be accessed by passwords available to BBA members only. However, BU has been able to obtain a copy and states that it posts this as a matter of public interest!

This comes at a time when BU understands that the Registrar has been told that she may not sit as a judge to replace judges on leave (in this case, Madam Justice Kentish) and that her job is to stay in the Registry and sort out the mess. Instead, Madam Justice Kentish has been replaced during her six month leave by the Chief Magistrate.

Here is what the Chief has had to say to Mr Pilgrim and the BBA.

“Subject: Our 14 March 2012 Conversation

Mr. Andrew O. G. Pilgrim

President, Barbados Bar Association

“Leeton”, Perry Gap

Roebuck Street

BRIDGETOWN

Dear Mr. President,

I refer to our conversation last evening, 14 March 2012, in which you intimated to me that the Bar Council, or a majority of them, were “up in arms” over a report in the Sunday Sun of 11 March 2012 of my address to the Fair Trading Commission (FTC). You indicated to me that they had written a letter which was “ready to go” to the newspaper “to print.”

My practice is to pick up the Sunday Sun at a gas station on my way home from church. This past Sunday I did not do so and did not see the report until a friend pointed it out to me on Tuesday 13 March, at which point I noticed some inaccuracies. The one glaring example related to the Court of Appeal. In attempting to “set the context” in which the proposed Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) is to work, I stated that I had discovered 363 pending cases in the Court of Appeal, some filed long ago as 1993 and a few filed by attorneys who have since passed away. One of those attorneys, I pointed out, had been elevated to the same Court of Appeal, had died, but his pending matter was never heard. Other attorneys, I had noted to the audience, had been elevated to the High Court, had retired but their cases remain unresolved. Apart from a passing reference to attorneys who had passed away, there was not even a mention of the number “363”. I decided, however, to “let it be.”

What I had said to the FTC is that a large challenge will be to get “buy-in” to the concept of ADR from the Bar. This is not new. You and those of your Council members who attended will, doubtless, recall the lecture of Mr. Stuart Kennedy at the Bar Association in October last year when he noted the same thing. People are naturally suspicious of change and attorneys are no different. The system which we have, with its court delays, is what the attorneys know, with the ability to bill for every court appearance. Obviously, then, the longer a case exists, the more likely it is to generate fees for an attorney handling that case. The problem is that there is, equally likely, a dissatisfied client who wonders why the case is taking so long to resolve and who, again likely, will be told “it’s the court’s fault.” If what is reported in the Sunday Sun says or implies that, then I stand by it.

I also recall that, attending that lecture, was an eminent QC who remembered his initial reluctance at the ADR concept but, having had the scales removed from his eyes, now is the beneficiary of a reputation that he not only does things but he “gets things done.” That is what I meant by “buy-in” from the Bar – your clients will see you as someone who gets their cases resolved rather than as someone who is there when their “day in court” is transmogrified into “years in court” whether it is the court’s fault or not.

You mentioned your letter to me of 8 March 2012 which referred to a prior letter to me of 17 January 2012. I am in the course of replying seriatim to the 11 issues in 17 January letter. I am not sure why you or your Council members believed it sensible to ‘demanded’, in the January 17 letter, that I should resolve, “within 14 days of this correspondence” “a number of issues affecting the administration of justice which have been the subject of a number of meetings and written correspondence between the respective Chief Justices (including those acting in the post) and the Barbados Bar Association since October of 2009.” If my arithmetic serves me correctly, at the date of the 17 January letter, I had been in office exactly four months, two weeks and three days!

I will complete my reply to that letter after my meeting today with the Judges since many of the issues implicate how we Judges do business in the Supreme Court. I give you but one example. Issue number 1 in the 17 January letter asks that chamber court matters be scheduled by appointment. I am going to suggest to the Judges a temporary measure which I outline in my letter to you. But two of your members, Mrs. Angela Mitchell-Gittens and Mrs. Liesel Weekes accompanied Registrar Marva Clarke, Deputy Registrar Jackson and me on a visit to the Trinidad Courts at the end of January. They either have reported to you, or will report, to you that chamber court does not exist in Trinidad. All cases filed in Court are assigned to a Judge by random selection of JEMS. That Judge is then responsible for every application, motion, conference or pre-trial review of that case. We will adopt that system this year or early next year. There will be no more distribution of files by a single senior legal assistant neither will there be any more situations, reported to me anecdotally, of lawyers choosing WHEN to file a matter depending on WHICH Judge is doing chamber court. Random selection by computer will be the order of the day.

It is because several of your 11 issues have repercussions with the Judges, the fact that I was planning to visit Trinidad exactly 13 days after the date of your letter and, more simply, because, with four months’ experience, I had to “get the lay of the land” that I have not yet responded until I had something to say to you, at least something more than “I have received your letter and will get back to you when I can.”

I am not sure whether all of the above assuages what feelings of umbrage your Council members have taken but that is my position. You should be receiving my letter on Friday 16 March 2012.

Finally, Mr. President, and I will expand on this point in my responsive letter to you, I am concerned over the public diffidence at the pace at which the Disciplinary Committee works. I have received several complaints, some in writing but most of them verbally, especially during the Question and Answer sessions which invariably follow my public lectures. At one of the seminars on Criminal Law issues sponsored by the Bar Association which, regrettably was also not well attended, you stated that you supported amending the Legal Profession Act to tighten up the procedures by which disciplinary matters are handled. I hope that you, and your Council members, will see the wisdom in publicly allaying public concerns about this since, as outgoing Chief Justice Hugh Rawlins of the OECS recently said, it is imperative that the Bar retain, in some cases regain, the “trust and confidence imposed in it by the public.” I will continue to work on the public’s concerns with the Court system. I trust that the public can rely on you and your Council members to work on regaining its confidence in our noble profession.

Sincerely,

Marston C. D. Gibson,

Chief Justice.”

It is of interest to BU and to all Barbadians that off-shore investment worldwide had Barbados as the fastest growing off-shore port in the World 10 years ago, with Russia, futilely, trying its best to even compete at second place. Today, largely because of the lack of a credible justice system, Barbados’ off-shore investments have all but disappeared. Yet, every rub that could be placed in the way of Mr Gibson to become Chief Justice was placed there by Owen Arthur and his party (excluding Mia Mottley who, indeed, was part of the selection process, before she was debunked by Mr Arthur).

The rot set in when David Simmons became attorney-general and supported the rank inefficiency of his wife as Registrar. And as a reward, he had her created a Justice of Appeal. Her tenure as a Justice of Appeal ended when Simmons himself was made Chief Justice by Owen Arthur and thereafter the Justice System stood not a hope in hell. The mess of the Registry soon invaded the Judiciary and the whole Justice System went to hell and with it, Barbados’ yearly billions of dollars off-shore industry and with that, a seriously compromised economy in large part resulted.

Now the new broom has started to clean things up and he clearly does this with the full cooperation of Government.

So, if anyone wants to ascertain the marks of the CJ for his first 6 months in office, we are able to reply that they are 100%.

159 responses to “Chief Justice Marston Gibson Slams Barbados Bar Association President, Andrew Pilgrim”

1. old onion bags Avatar

Silence
    Will you be the one bold enough to put the can opener to that begrudged can of worms.

2. old onion bags Avatar

or should I have used the word…”incestuous”

3. Bush Tea for Governor General ..!

4. The Scout | March 25, 2012 at 10:04 PM |
    “independent
    The behaviour of some bloggers, especially ac and islandgal246, is deplorable once you don’t sing from their hymn sheet. ”

SCOUT…..What de rasta George yuh callin muh name fuh? I hav been tryin tah behave muhself now you cum to upset muh. You ole bigoted decripit geezer. Guh back under yuh bed before yuh wife ketch yuh at de computer and put some blows pon yuh again!

5. Islandchick

Da is a drop kick … But wid a man like Scout yah gun need more weapons than that tah shut he up … ha ha ha

6. @ Amused

I am not your witness and so I cannot be ‘hostile’. But I will answer directly some of your questions – indeed I will amplify them slightly.

1. I am not a Member of the Bar Association. I could not practice unless I was a member. May I refer you to section 44 of the Legal Profession Act? You state that not all lawyers choose to be members of the Association. Well, if they are not seeking a practising certificate you are quite right. But then, if they’re not practising we are not talking about them anyway, are we? Section 44(1) of the Act makes it clear that it is mandatory for lawyers seeking certification to become members (subject to s.44(2) which does not apply for present purposes) and, of course, to pay the fees for doing so.

2. I have no office in White Park Road nor anywhere else.

3. I was not present when Mr Pilgrim and the CJ met; but that they did meet is so obvious that even you, I think, would have grasped that. It is equally obvious that Mr Pilgrim put his case forcibly. Indeed he mentioned a letter which was supposed to demonstrate the frustration which members of the Association felt – I assume because the the CJ had failed to respond in any shape or form to the Association’s January letter. All this comes from the CJ’s email.

4. I have met both the CJ and Mr Pilgrim. I respect them both. They are both lawyers – which tends to be forgotten when we snipe at lawyers as ‘vultures preying on the entrails’ of the rest of us. Maybe you’re a lawyer too…..though from what I read of you probably not…perhaps just one of the plethora of self-appointed ‘experts’ we have here. But, as I say, I don’t know and I don’t really care so long as you get the law right – which, sadly, you don’t.

5. I have no direct knowledge of cherry-picking. You say it occurs. What I do know is that every time a lawyer goes to Court he may well be faced with a different judge – and there are really not many of them – but if he is so placed the matter starts all over again with the resulting delay. You certainly can’t cherry-pick at the Criminal Bar. Judicial quality is mixed. Some are lazy and not terribly acute. Some, like A-B, are of the highest quality; ditto an Acting fella I know. If I were a lawyer, yes I would want to cherry-pick the latter not the former.

General Comment: my observations, to which you take objection, are based solely on the email as I made abundantly clear. That’s the nearest we’ve got to direct evidence. I belong to no political party. I do not think the euphoria to which the email has given rise here is justified. For all sorts of reasons, I have little faith in many of the lawyers I have met in a professional capacity. But that does not cause me to accept the ‘wisdom’ which says we should burn the offices of the Bar Association. And I have to say that there are aspects of the email, not yet mentioned by me as yet, which continue to cause me disquiet.

Now none of this will satisfy you, Amused, so – again – you’ll just have to live with it.

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ RA Sutherland | March 25, 2012 at 8:06 PM |
    “A blogger mentioned the CJ and the PM think alike they should because both are products of that great institution on Oistins Hilll the one Hartford Skeete built namely Foundation School. Looking around a majority of our current leaders are Foundation alma mater.”

It is also said that if one wants to undermine a building (nation) start with the “Foundation”. The termites that were ‘hatched’ in the same Foundation have infested the four corners of the crumbling building. Only a fire ignited at the electoral polls would put paid to this spreading infestation.

8. To Hamilton Hill

Eye of newt, and toe of frog,
    Wool of bat, and tongue of dog,
    Adder’s fork, and blind-worm’s sting,
    Lizard’s leg, and howlet’s wing,–
    For a charm of a powerful trouble,
    Let a hell-broth boil and bubble

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ robert ross | March 25, 2012 at 6:02 PM |
    “The problems are pretty obvious and the time has come for some creative action and not just flaccid ‘chat’ on social occasions’

It’s time the same new kid on the block reduce the cocktail circuit and the ‘getting-to-know-him’ public relations stunts. T his perceived attempts to curry favour with the local social elite and political family members can only breed incestuous relationships that could cloud judgments and compromise the absolute sine qua non principle that ‘Justice must not only be done but must also seem to be done’. Perceived conflicts of interest in a small jurisdiction can impair the integrity of the very system that protects the average citizen from the excesses of the Executive (political or administrative) and the abuse by those with money or high social connections (LP is a case in point). Any long-term distrust of the judicial system in the eyes of citizens can only spell chaos and a breakdown in law and order possibly leading to a return to the ‘social jungle’ where neither an economy nor society would mean anything to anyone-whether B, D or with no political stripes.

10. @ Miller

Funny, I was just thinking about you and also of a prayer of which you may not approve in form (since it’s a prayer for the Church) but may do in substance. I reproduce it here, since it’s not very accessible, and because it represents my position on most things…as you also I think (and even though composed by Archbishop Laud).

(of the Church)
    Fill it with all truth;
    In truth with all peace.
    Where it is corrupt, purge it.
    Where it is in error, direct it.
    Where anything is amiss, reform it.
    Where it is right, strengthen and confirm it.
    Where it is in want, furnish it.
    Where it is divided, heal it
    And unite it in thy love…..

11. @Robert Ross. There are many attorneys who practice and are not members of the BBA and your information (or is it interpretation) is in substantial error. Indeed, there are members of the Inner Bar who are NOT members of the BBA and choose not to be members of the BBA. But according to you, these don’t practice law and therefore don’t need to be counted. Interesting indeed. I wonder if they know that, according to you, they are practicing law illegally.

So, with members of the Inner Bar refusing to join the BBA or having resigned from the BBA, it must be seen that some message is being sent. Indeed, it would seem to be a very strong message indeed. But fear not. If Andrew manages to follow the advice of the CJ and clean up the BBA, maybe these members of the Inner Bar (all with enviable law practices) will feel impelled to join (or re-join).

Also, I am interested to see that the CJ’s e-mail to Andrew and the BBA was NOT provided to BU by the CJ, but it is suggested that it was by sources within the BBA. Another unhappy member about to withdraw from membership in the BBA and practice (according to you) illegally, perchance?

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ robert ross | March 26, 2012 at 11:30 AM |

The Miller is a spiritualist; an high priest after the Order of Melchizedek. The “Laud’s” prayer (dictated to him) is a basic tenet of the Order; just like that of Saint Francis of Assisi; or the universal advice given in the Desiderata poem which you should follow when dealing with the likes of “Amused”.
    May the Light from my Father & Mother shine upon you and give you peace of mind (the only thing worth fighting for in this mad world).
    As-Salāmu Alaykum!

13. @ Amused

Are you referring to sections 4-7? In that case I concede you may be right albeit that section 44, which you don’t deal with, is the over-arching provision post 1978. There can’t be too many people in the 500 plus list in the former category can there?

14. While not fully onto the inside politicking….when will we see the resumed prosecuting of the BACK LOG of Appeal Cases (which I consider the most important) Mr. CJ. ???..I know of a case where a person was wrongfully dismissed ..pursued the case in the Magistrate Court and won a judgement only for the employer to Appeal….this is makes 10 years now to date… and no date can be given for the case to be heard …..THIS IS WHAT THE PUBLIC ..more wants to hear.,

15. @ Miller

Then, dear Miller, I can call you ‘brother’ and ‘friend’.

16. “all with enviable law practices …”

What is this that I am hearing … People who practice in an archaic environment, benefiting from inefficiencies and confusion, who seek to be paid as a percentage of the value of settlements, whose productivity if it were possible to be measured, would find them being considered among the laziest of operatives in Barbados, could speak about envy … Wah .. man the “practices” that are being spoken of need to be gotten rid of

17. millertheanunnaki

I ain’ know wah to call you though, you too high fah simpletons like me man …

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

To the Non-legal members of the BU Family
    By robert ross | March 26, 2012 at 10:09 AM |
    “May I refer you to section 44 of the Legal Profession Act? You state that not all lawyers choose to be members of the Association. Well, if they are not seeking a practising certificate you are quite right. But then, if they’re not practising we are not talking about them anyway, are we? Section 44(1) of the Act makes it clear that it is mandatory for lawyers seeking certification to become members (subject to s.44(2) which does not apply for present purposes) and, of course, to pay the fees for doing so.”

By Amused | March 26, 2012 at 11:39 AM |
    “There are many attorneys who practice and are not members of the BBA and your information (or is it interpretation) is in substantial error. Indeed, there are members of the Inner Bar who are NOT members of the BBA and choose not to be members of the BBA. But according to you, these don’t practice law and therefore don’t need to be counted. Interesting indeed. I wonder if they know that, according to you, they are practicing law illegally. ”

TWO statements from TWO “learned” students of the LAW that are Diametrically opposed to each other. Which one is the Legally correct position?
    No wonder people view the Law as an ASS with too many dumb jockeys riding in the donkey Derby not knowing their elbows from their “a(rs)ses”.

“Observer”, please come to the rescue with your erudite judgment to decide in camera the winner of this legal photo finish.

19. Old Onion Bag’s last comment speaks to the manifestation of the inefficient, incestuous and moribund system which our judicature causes Barbadians across the spectrum to have to suffer.

Need all be reminded that justice delayed is justice denied?

Would it not be equitable for our noble Fourth Estate to embrace the issue of a judicature which is not delivering justice? Barbadians should worry if the Fourth Estate is currently hamstrung by a similar inefficiency.

20. The Fourth Estate should review its own activities and determine whether or not it is in fact worthy of such a title …!

21. @ dear Miller

Now dear Miller, you know very well that in any legal dispute, as in life generally, there are always two sides to a story. In legal disputes, the result, if not some sort of out-of-court settlement, is formal conciliar contention.

Amused spoke in generalities on this one. I tried to be specific. But in the latter process, for my part, I ignored sections 4-7 of the relevant Act – which provide for persons, practising the law, in 1973. Amused has still not been specific. But if my reference to those sections is what he has in mind then it may be – and the sections are very convoluted – that they operate to exempt lawyers as at that date from joining the Bar Association; which explains why the Association itself has a provision for Attorneys to be ‘elected’. Amused, it seems, is referring to Attorneys (of the pre-1973 cohort) who never sought election or, having been elected to membership have not renewed their membership. This is not, then, a question of ‘interpretation’ as he suggests, but rather getting the appropriate provisions sorted for different classes (by date) of attorney. Post 1978, section 44 is the overriding provision.
    Thus you see if I am right on what I’ve just said, we are both right and the result is a dead heat. Of course, we shall have to pay our own costs.

22. old onion bags Avatar

Thanks David for acknowledging me….I thought it had gone on deaf ears.
    David we talking of an out of pocket to that person of approx. $35,000.00 with no interest added to the judgement by the then Magistrate…..money that that individual could use….. WHERE IS THE JUSTICE !!!!!
    What make matters worse, that individual wrote both the Attorney General’s Office and the Chief Justice’s Office each and every year since asking for a date, but NEVER once received back a letter of receipt…TRUE TRUE.

23. @Onions

You may not like this response but the problem which an inefficient court system presents for Barbados is bigger for Barbados than what Clico brings. Unfortunately a heavy injection of politics cloaked in classicism and fraternal behaviour causes many to view priority matters through jaundice lenses.

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@robert ross | March 26, 2012 at 1:28 PM |
    “Thus you see if I am right on what I’ve just said, we are both right and the result is a dead heat. Of course, we shall have to pay our own costs.”

Spoken like a true lawyer! Hence my use of the term ‘Photo Finish’ to describe the result of the donkey race. A true ‘win-win’ situation -heads you won, tails Amused lost, how funny!
    So for a bit of clarity in plain or crystal English for the layman: Would it be true or fair to conclude that there are legal dinosaurs of the EWB creation that are not required to pay registration fees or to purchase licences to practise at the ‘Lie’ bar?

25. @ Miller

No there are not (LOL – well so far as I know)…bray- bray. We were talking about membership of the Bar Association…which, techically , is not THE SAME AS the Disciplinary Committee, which is……well I want to come back to that one in relation to the CJ’s comment in the email. And don’t run away with the idea that I’m uncritical of the Bar Association. I will offer a bray-bray on that one too.

26. @ Prodical Son & Old Onion Bags…..Very well we know the saying “Two wrongs don’t make a right”.I make the point that from your posts it is clear for all to see that from where you sit the deception seen in the present government wipes away fourteen years of the the same from the other side.BU produced a copy of the infamous OSA check,and what was your response Prodigal?In fairness bla bla bla.How about fairness to poor bajans and giving one of these politicians some effing time in jail?Old Onion Bags does this piece qualify for your ratings of blog of the year?I doubt it.

27. @Robert Ross

I must confess that I have never had to deal with the legislation dealing with the registration of lawyers, nevertheless i have a few questions for you,

what is the role and function of the BAR association>

Who determines that a lawyer is registrable?

Who is responsible for the registration/registration of lawyers.?

Doctors dont have to be members of BAMP for registration with their council, Lawyers do they have to be mebers of the bar Axxoiation to be registeres as lawyers?

28. @ Miller

“an high priest after the Order of Melchizedek.”

Nonsense. Only Jesus fits that bill

29. @ Blogger

Candidly neither have I until now though in a way I’m closely connected. If you look at my response to dear Miller, you will see that I’ve said that I will come back to that….and I will. It’s in hand. Thanks for asking.

30. CJ Gibson has a chance to succeed because he is starting off correctly.

This statement alone suggest he clearly understands how some are benefitting from weaknesses in the legal system.

“The system which we have, with its court delays, is what the attorneys know, with the ability to bill for every court appearance. Obviously, then, the longer a case exists, the more likely it is to generate fees for an attorney handling that case.”

Another issue of greater importance is the protection of Client’s money.
    It should not be possible for a Lawyer to have control of Client’s money and spend it as he pleases.
    There are people who have lost substantial sums to thieving lawyers in Barbados.I am referring to those cases which I have read in the newspapers.

Clients money should be placed in a commercial bank account and the signature of the Client and the Lawyer should be on any transaction involving the Client’s money.

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@+ve | March 26, 2012 at 6:59 PM |
    “an high priest after the Order of Melchizedek.”

Yes child, which one of the Christs?
    What about Abraham?

Word of advice, stay clear of the mill and be silent where dumbness is an asset not a liability.

32. @ Blogger

The simple answer is ‘yes’. All lawyers who obtain a practising certificate automatically become members of the Bar Association and are required to pay the appropriate fee. Indeed, the practice is for this fee to be paid first and the receipt is then presented to the Registry at the time the fee for the practising certificate is paid. There is no longer an election to the Association. It is section 44 of the Legal Profession Act 1978 which inseparably links the practising certificate with membership of the Association.
    Now Amused has asserted that many attorneys who hold practising certificates are not members of the Association. I am really not clear on this and, as yet, he has not justified that statement. All I can suppose is that these may have been solicitors who, before the fusion of the profession in 1973, would not have been required to join a ‘Bar Association’ by definition. Sections 4-7 of the 1978 Act provide special, and very complex, provisions for special cases and I suspect that IF there are exemptions from joining the Association these provisions are the ones which in principle authorize the exemption for those thus practising as at the time of the fusion of the profession, ie as of 1973.
    Though I am not exactly a young man, I think it needs someone who was demonstrably ‘kicking’ (in Miller’s sense) to corroborate or deny what I have written in relation to Amused’s assertion; or someone on the Council of the Association.
    The Bar Association has a website which very adequately explains what it is supposed to do. You do not need a password to read all that. The Association is established under subsidiary legislation. Under Section 18 of the 1978 Act it must nominate seven of its members to serve as the Disciplinary Committee, and the names of those members must be sent to the Registrar who his/herself acts as Secretary to the Committee unless she/he nominates someone else. The findings of the Committee are ultimately reported to the Chief Justice who himself reports to the Court of Appeal (section 21 of the 1978 Act). In cases of alleged fraud, or, I think, any other matter, application may be made directly to a High Court Judge who may himself refer the matter after enquiry to the Disciplinary Committee (section 15 of the 1978 Act).

I hope all this answers your questions adequately. Usual disclaimers. Remember I do not profess to hold a practising certificate.

33. Ahhhmm…
    so Abraham was “a Christ”? Abraham was the Messiah?

Dude stick to your esoteric drivel and leave the truth alone if you have no intention of obeying it.

Maybe Isis will enlighten you? Or perhaps Osiris or Ra…

34. @Robert Ross. I will do what you could certainly do for yourself before pontificating half cocked. I will telephone a couple of the lawyers who refuse to join the BBA and ascertain from them on precisely what basis they refuse to join. I will then report back so as to save you the trouble of pouring through the Act and announcing that all lawyers have to join the BBA, when clearly a large number have not, will not and have no intention of joining. And at least four of them, despite the fact that they have not joined the BBA, are members of the Inner Bar (in other words, Queens Counsel). It is not an area of law that I have personally looked into before, but am happy to do so now based on the fact that I personally know many counsel of which four at least are Queens Counsel who are not members of the BBA, who refuse to join the BBA and who, despite that, are practicing members of the Bar. Indeed, two of those QCs have served notice of intent on the Registrar that they will be filing proceedings against her for having left their names off the list of attorneys in the Official Gazette (which was covered by BU a few weeks ago).

Now, I don’t know about anyone else, but I repose great confidence in many of these non-BBA members and I am damned sure that no way would they expose themselves in law in the way RR states that they have. So, a quick telephone call to them will ascertain the facts.

The essence of the argument, however, remains unaltered. The CJ’s e-mail to the BBA/AP is as brutal as any such official communication gets. Personally, I would love to see the CJ’s promised letter of 16 March. Seems to me that the CJ is saying that he knows there are massive problems within the Registry and the Courts and he is dealing with those. However, he is urging Mr Pilgrim to deal with the clear and abundant abuses within the BBA. Meanwhile, the BBA is trying to suggest that it and its members are not part of the process of rot in the courts, but the sole reason for the demise of the Justice System has been the judiciary and the registrar.

The BBA clearly thinks that the general public is as stupid as Mr Ross.

35. We find ourselves in a place where to be solution oriented is premium.

We know that our lawyers have been trained to argue the points with gusto and time is no limit to how long they are capable of doing so.

But to the example which Old Onion Bag gave yesterday, it is time to step up to assist ordinary Barbadians who are being screwed by the system.

All the stakeholders in our system of justice need to come to a shared position that the time is now to knock over the road blocks.

36. old onion bags Avatar

Hear Hear !

37. @ Amused , robert ross et al.
    The right to freedom of association is GUARANTEED under our Constitution ( see s 21 ) . You may only derogate from that right in the manner set out by ss 2 a,b,c. This being the case NO LAWYER IN BARBADOS MAY BE FORCED TO JOIN A TRADE UNION ; the BBA is a trade union . The right to associate carries with it a concomitant right to DISASSOCIATE . It is as simple as that . I hope i have been of some little assistance gentlemen . Peace .

38. @ President of the Bar Association

“LET HIM WHO IS WITHOUT SIN CAST THE FIRST STONE”.

I attended the Lecture given by Chief Justice Gibson at the Accra Hotel on Friday March 9th 2012 and was impressed by the path that the new Chief Justice had the “intestinal fortitude” to PUBLICLY state, post what only amounts to weeks in his current position.

I was the second person to rise during the Q&A session with the view of commending him on his appointment and his vision and to ask a few questions about what recourse private citizens had against state agencies and governments.

The chairman for the the evening’s session, CEO of the Fair Trading Commission, Ms. Peggy Griffith, understandably could not see me, at 6 ft 4 ins, and I remained standing for 42 minutes, with one of the remote microphone operators at my right side. I was not allowed to use the microphone nor voice a single question. 7 to 8 people who stood after i did were permitted to present their questions.

That relegation to the shadows is par for the course in my island BIM, I call it Phoenix a la BIM, reborn in the new modus operandi of the nouveau arrivee, a shadow of the exclusivity that the Barbados Yacht Club meted out in the 1970’s, what Gabby sings of in that timeless Calypso “Jack”, only thing it is a practice that is being administered by “new masters, in the Castle of my Skin”.

“These fields and hills beyond recall ARE NOT OUR VERY OWN” we are dancing to the drum beat of a black massa – de nigga wid de keys!.

But i digress from the substantive matter.

In 2008, I went to the same Bar Association which has demanded this resolution in 14 days, the words of that old lingering song “wha barber yuh want,14 days, de big juicy barba” just flashed through my head.

I went to the BBA to lodge a complain against a member of the Bar Association, one to whom I had scraped up $1500 to pay for legal representation for a matter which is mentioned elsewhere and which i will not repeat here other than to say that I had gotten less than spartan representation. That is another story (smile)

But here is its BBA connection – remember to sing “14 days, de big juicy barber, 14 days” while your read https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B0Hc4MFCmayjdlh4Q3JOMG5Rc09RZkxLb1dVdU5hQQ

It is farcical that the BARBADOS BAR ASSOCIATION can be so sanctimonious and “DEMAND” that the Chief Justice Gibson, who is so recently appointed, “respond to them in 14 days” particularly their own mandate has been abandoned with such impunity, (I almost said Immunity) and my own request for investigation has languished within the walls of Leyton House, Perry Gap for 365 days x 4 years WITHOUT ONE SINGLE LETTER acknowledging receipt, far less some action to address my concerns. Have any of you tried to go the the BBA office to follow up your matter? If you find the office open during the week you are lucky lucky!.

I wonder if the BBA since they are so hot on the number 14 and tell me what 365 x 4 divided by 14 is?

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ +ve | March 26, 2012 at 10:02 PM |
    Ahhhmm…
    “so Abraham was “a Christ”? Abraham was the Messiah?”
    “Maybe Isis will enlighten you? Or perhaps Osiris or Ra…”

So you refuse to take a bit of advice?
    You must h’ve heard the saying: ‘Little children should not play with matches’. So if you insist in being a ‘nosy parker’ I would seek to satisfy your budding or child-like ‘arcane’ curiosity.
    Answer this simple riddle: Who comes first: the Son or the Father? Or is the child the Father of the Man?

If your Jesus the ‘son of man’ was from the seed of David and David from the testicles of the Lion of Judah whose roar came from the randy Jacob whose ability to climb ladders to heaven came from a genetic germ in the seminal issue of Issac where does that leave Abram?
    I don’t know about you but my lineage can be traced back to the same promiscuous Jacob whose messianic ability to climb the stairway to heaven could only be matched by his inherited satyriasis requiring the need to sleep with two sisters and their slave maidens; with the younger sister producing the dreamer Joseph that went to the land of Ra to worship Isis and Osiris. Now you see why King David would want to lust after another man’s wife as to arrange for the man to be killed thereby passing on the trait to his son Solomon the wisest man that ever lived having had 700 wives and 300 concubines.

If you can’t interpret neither the minor nor the major arcana contained in the riddle ask your Muslim brother, or if brave enough, your Rabbi Father on whom your god has bestowed many blessings through Abba Abraham and with Melchizedek witnessing the ordination from his royal Court in Salem.
    “Then Melchizedek king of Salem brought out bread and wine. He was priest of God Most High, and he blessed Abram, saying, “Blessed be Abram by God Most High, Creator of heaven and earth. And blessed be God Most High, who delivered your enemies into your hand.” Then Abram gave him a tenth of everything.”

Now who is closer to The Most High RA, Ab(RA)ham or Melchizedek?

Two parting shots, for little -+or -Ave Maria or Mario:
    A visit to the land of RA to learn about Isis and Osiris is where your version of the “TRUTH” was stolen or should one be a bit subtle and say “copied” and turned into “Esoteric Drivel” aka Jewish story telling.

Now go away and don’t come back unless you are prepared to contribute to the topic in this thread.

40. “We know that our lawyers have been trained to argue the points with gusto…”

What shite. This gusto thing is ego, plain and simple.. the same ego that determined for these shites careers that they pursued.

Peggy (“the FTC report on the practices of Banks in Barbados will be ready by year end 2010 ..”) Griffith … ha ha ha, can ignore the presence of a man standing 6’4 in an audience. She was uncomfortable when Ms Ram unpick she teet, when another man stood up and spoke about how his son’s case got tied up in the adjournment culture to the point where she tried to shut the guy down and was almost booed by the audience… man they was no way that she was going to allow a case like David’s make the evening even more uncomfortable …..

Public Servants are paid by the public to serve the public alone … this is the simple fact that everyone needs to acknowledge

41. How accessible is the BBA …? It appears that it is not!

42. @ Amused

Oh dear…..fella you really do have a problem. Ring them. I can’t. I have no idea who they are. Don’t you get that yet? And I would have thought you would have done that before speaking with all the auctoritas of a mouse.
    …by which I mean peddling hearsay.

@ An Observer

Nothing is ever ‘as simple as that’ is it? The Bar Association is a statutory body.

@ David Weekes

Taking a leaf out of Amused’s book, I just rang the Bar Association. I was told that their offices are open five days a week from 8.0am till 4am….this by the Executive Officer. I also had it confirmed by a lawyer close to me that this level of ‘openness’ is accurate. The number is 437-7316.
    I have no idea how efficient the Disciplinary Committee is nor, of course, anything about your case. BUT when I rang the Association, I was told that the Chairman of the Disciplinary Committee is Malcolm Deane. I have met him and have formed a certain perception. But no matter – he is a partner in the firm Weekes, Kissoon, Deane. Their number is 228-7900. If that doesn’t work, there is the President of the Association himself, Andrew Pilgrim, at Pilgrim & Associates, 429-2961. If that doesn’t work, call the Office of the Registrar since, as I said above, the Registrar or her nominee is the Secretary of the Committee. If that doesn’t work, then write to the Chief Justice. He has publicly stated that people with grievances should do so and, in any case, as I said above, he is the functionary to whom the Disciplinary Committee reports.

43. @ BAF

See my comment to David Weekes.

I’m sorry..I don’t agree with you about ‘gusto’…though it may take different forms. There is the ‘gusto’ of the exocet missile, for example. On a good day, Miller is that if you see what I mean…the cold and deadly stuff. There is ‘theatrical’ gusto – when the lawyer ‘plays up’ to a jury or cocks a snook at the judge or magistrate. it acts as a leveller in face of inexplicible arrogance. Then there’s ‘go for the jugular’ gusto…the kind that will not let go like a pit-bull. You know, clients like that. They feel their attorney is really fighting for them – well, as he should – and as he is. Certain lawyers are almost household names because of this quality. Whether underneath it’s all about ego, I don’t know. But then, eg, is fighting for your children about ego?

44. @ robert ross

Sorry man I really did not know that “gusto” was a trait that could be imparted in a classroom

45. @ David….on coming to a “shared position’

David, I’m fast coming to the conclusion that a ‘shared position’ on any of this is impossible and, candidly, it doesn’t help if BU or BFP or whoever begin by demonstrating a self-evident bias one way or the other. That’s the very thing you all accuse the Nation of.
    This post is an example. You were kind enough to refer to my ‘thought provoking’ stuff. I hope it is. It is intended to be. I will not accept anything just because someone has said it. That’s flat earth-ing. But see what putting this ‘thought provoking’ stuff results in: arrogance, rudeness, name-calling. It’s all very cheap and simply a substitute for thought..in other words camouflage to hide, all too often, ignorance and superstition. Whether Amused is right or I am right about the matter he raised really doesn’t matter that much so long as we get at the truth. But as I said, we are a nation of self-confessed experts on everything and the idea of ‘backing-down’, giving way, accommodating different philosophies, compromising is anathema. Is it because we all want to be the ‘plantocracy’, the ‘colonial masters’? I really don’t know what it is. Perhaps, as BAF just said, it’s all about ego. And maybe Miller is right when he talks about happiness being the personal answer to these things. We can all play the name-calling stuff and, for myself, I have no problem with ‘mixing it’ if I have to. Sometimes it’s all people understand. Of course it’s right for people to have places like this where they can vent, express concerns. But for it to be meaningful, it surely has to be in a context which spells openness, frankness, and some sort of ability to see ourselves as we are. And that’s where you come in, or should.

This post was in a way a non-starter – not because there were no real issues to discuss – but because it all began from a prepared position. If you hate lawyers, that’s it. If you like the CJ, that’s it. If you’re DLP, that’s it. If you hate lawyers, like the CJ and are DLP, that’s REALLY it. And so it is that people like me, who actually don’t have a prepared position, are regarded as footballs, out of sync with reality. But the reality is what? That’s what we’re searching for, isn’t it? It’s said we only ever see 2% of reality. On two recent occasions, I’ve searched for a ‘shared position’ – with PhD the other day, with Amused yesterday. Look and see their responses. And then look at my little verse – the ‘teaching pigs to sing’ verse – on the Matthew text. And then ask all youselves what, if anything, we can do to falsify the verse. I suspect nothing very much and maybe it’s not even worth the effort. But it does mean that you too have a very heavy responsibility for us all – as pitiful as we so often are.

46. @ BAF

Was your response an example of your ‘ego’?

47. @ robert ross,
    ” the Barbados bar Association is a statutory body.”
    That statement does not make sense to me . Because it is such a body is the very reason why I mentioned the Barbados constitution since the BBA can be brought before the courts for judicial review AS IT IS A STATUTORY BODY . Please explain your statement ; the presumption is that you know what you are speaking about and not just repeating some misinformed view . Peace .

48. @ An Observer

My point was that it is not a trades union. And sure, section 44 might be tested by way of constitutional motion. Has it ever been? Maybe you should go for it. You might even get legal aid.

49. @ BAF

But actually, you have a point. I don’t know what they teach them on advocacy in the law schools. But, yes, something of the sort you insinuate seems a very proper thing to do.
    Think, eg, of the different inflexions we give to the word ‘Sir’ and how it’s often used in a derisory sense. Maybe a course on ‘Sir’ or ‘Your Worship’. Lawyers are all too often prone to bow and scrape to the Bench. Mind, the rules do say they must act respectfully at all times. And yet sometimes some ‘gusto’ of the appropriate sort would not come amiss….and particularly when a magistrate has, for the umteenth time, ignored the provisions, say, of the Bail Act and slavishly followed the prosecutor’s line. And there are some attorneys, of course, who are well known as being prepared to do this. The Bar Association President is one.

50. @ robert ross.
    lol . I really do not require legal aid ; I am not a modern day Blackburn . But you must know that there are de jure and de facto bodies , The BBA has ALL THE CHARACTERISTICS OF A TRADE UNION ; IN LAW THEREFORE IT IS , de facto , A TRADE UNION . No man , can be forced to join a trade union. Peace my brother .

Leave a Reply to BAFBFPCancel reply