Submitted by Old Onion Bag
Acknowledged Father of Independence (l) succeeded by one who transitioned Barbados to the ‘modern economy’ (r)

Rather than have to think about my crime, I’d prefer to be completely unconscious – MACBETH

As once one of the more rapid evolving Third World countries, Barbados in past years has shown  the world (once envied by Singapore) its sustained economic prudence and masterful copying of the Westminster style Government and laws aptly earning the nickname Little England. This economic prowess which was conjured, was matched only by larger Caribbean communities the likes of oil rich, Trinidad and Tobago, and bauxitegold laden  Jamaica and Guyana.

Likewise were its leaders, who played the most important part of steering the ship through rough and uncharted waters, always finding safe harbour and never abandoning ship. Men the likes of Grantley Adams, Errol Walton Barrow, JMGM ‘Tom’ Adams and more recently Owen Seymour Arthur to name but a few have, all left a legacy of astute and celebrated leadership, that has borne fruit for this country.

Prime Ministers were looked up to for advice and direction in times of chaos. One could rest assured with the country in the hands of such men, that there would always be a solution to a problem and a phrase of  long lasting remembrance….”friends of many , satellites of none “.

How things have changed. We were always occasioned protection from the WOLVES who at many times came to our doors, with sinister plans and cohorts to disadvantage the Barbadian. With our then leaders, we could rest assured, that they would be right on hand to swiftly drive any such blackguards and bandits back to the shores from which they came, restoring peace and order to the country.

We long for the return of such days.

1. old onion bags Avatar

@ an Observer
    Point taken, however I think the word was.”ushered in the period..
    snip
    Observer
    The point being made is that the process of governance is a continuum which successive persons who ascend the leadership steps may build on .
    While being a continuum, I think you may agree that to do the right things at the right times and not the opposite such as to use OSA analogy…”the take off or an aeroplane with four open parachutes”…does carry decisive weights (no pun intended) to whether something will materialize or not…good times or bad.
    Throwing fodder…..Hamlet (for Carson) ..Rather than think of my crime, I prefer to be completely unconscious.

2. Thanks David for your astute a political response !

3. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Old Onion Bags

You wrote, “Wonderfully put and crux of the post. Excluded is Owen Arthur’s ushering in the unprecedented rise of the middle class and infrastructures to new and welcomed heights.”

There is a reason why Owen Arthur is excluded. Barrow, Grantley Adams and Tom Adams were revolutionary leaders. All three of them did things that have left significant impacts on the lives of all Barbadians. On the other hand, the same cannot be said about Arthur. Can you point to Arthur’s enduring legacy: it is non existent. He came and found policies and programmes and built on them. At best, he can be described as a good technician. He is like my mechanic who keeps my 19 year old car running in good order, but he did not make or design the car. I am not saying that he did nothing, far from, he did a lot to keep the country running. All I am saying is that he carried on: he kept it working. It pains me to say it, but that might be what the country needs in these trying times. Arthur was brilliant: he understood the economy. The same cannot be said for the current Minister of Finance. I was trying very hard to find one word that would describe him and only buffoon seems to fit.

4. i agree that present does not define the greatness of a leader . but the future does !in a historical perspective if one look at leaders of the Past most of them were not well received by the majority. History does define a great leader as it can put everything into a capsule and one can have more of appreciation and understanding as to the Hows! the Whys! and the where!bringing more of a realistic view of the past into the future.
    PS recently i read an article in one of the caribbean news paper and some mention to great leaders and to my surprised Sandiford name was mention as a great leader who took political risk for the betterment of the country.i mention that as to tie in my comment as to history perspective of “great leaders”

5. @ Old onion Bags .
    I can assure you that you will reap no success with CCC. You must let him be . Fighting with CCC will ” dim the senses ” . I am sure there is an over abundance of those from your side ( LOL . tek dat ; how yuh like it ) who are willing to take him on at that level . You should appreciate by now that I avoid certain exchanges ..Peace my brother.

6. @ac
    recently i read an article in one of the caribbean news paper and some mention to great leaders and to my surprised Sandiford name was mention as a great leader who took political risk for the betterment of the country.
    Hopefully if you could put your hands on that article….without hesitation….please forward it for all and sundry.

@ Caswell
    I engage you as I am in disagreement.
    Without what was ushered in during the last 14 years, where would have been the crescendo ? Everything jelled at this point in time…. earlier postponed by bleeped years by ac’s visionary….re-mended and controlled back to reap intended fruits engaged by Observer’s continuum.

7. @ole oniions

Actually you could read it in todays jamaican gleaner under commentary.in reference to Potia!

8. Oh The Gleaner….we must with thanks !

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | March 25, 2012 at 9:50 AM |
    “i agree that present does not define the greatness of a leader . but the future does !in a historical perspective if one look at leaders of the Past most of them were not well received by the majority.”

Sorry if it appears I am putting you down intellectually but what kind of “tautological nonsense” (pardon the expression) is wrapped up in that statement? A person can only become great especially in a pluralistic democracy if he or she is accepted by the overwhelmingly majority of the people. In the Barbadian context, you name just one ‘good’ leader who was not accepted by the majority of the people? Grantley Adams the Moses to Bajans of an earlier generation, EWB? Sir Erskine?
    Your man Stuart seems to foot your bill or fit your theory. Let him prove his mettle and win the next general elections with the eleven and growing eager beavers ready to carry out a Cassius & Brutus plot on him.

10. @ Commentary ?…like Dear Christine ?…why CCC could have written dat!
    Come how ac…what a sinister blow.

11. Onions i don.t have to intellectually spare with you.however i will take the high road and let history be the deciding factor. however in reference to the column wether one agrees or not FACTS always trumps Perception and that is what history is doing in the case of Sandiford. and what you perceived does not matter only FACTS are written in History

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

It is really sad that when speaking about good leaders of Barbados the name of tom is used and his photo displayed.
    This is the same man who rush to the now Grantley Adams airport to force members of the Royal Barbados Police to release one of his ministers who had been arrested at he airport for importing a large quantity of cocaine.
    This is the man who was famous for beating women and broke the bones of quite a few women.
    This is a man who had a great love of snorting cocaine.
    This is the man whose demise is blamed of cocaine overdose.
    This is the man who went Paradise Beach Hotel in order to get Maurice Chase fired because he supported the DLP.

I am sorry he was not a great leader, He was not even a good human being.

13. old onion bags Avatar

See what I mean..CCC is a most infamous and scandalous character who make it a point to dream up regularly nasties..thinking they would be to his party’s benefit but all to no avail.He is indulges in gutter politics which comes with no facts.One wonders why he chooses this audience.

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Tell me which part of my submission is wrong.

15. @onions!

Now are you going to let CCC submission stand as fact or are you going to give him a lethal dose of PERCEPTION ! Look whay CCC gone and done to one yuh wunna dearly and most beloved !

16. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac
    How like a true woman’s tumultuous tongue …a Jezebel…..like Sampson’s Delilah ….but I will not engage…Onions has turned a new leaf….under advisement….lol… and leave you two to cackle like true yard birds in a market place of sour.

17. old onion bags Avatar

To whom the cap fits…

And since the quarrel
    Will bear no color for the thing he is,
    Fashion it thus: that what he is, augmented,
    Would run to these and these extremities;
    And therefore think him as a serpent’s egg,
    Which, hatch’d, would as his kind grow mischievous,
    And kill him in the shell

Brutus…..lol

18. old onion bags Avatar

Think FUNDY one got lingo nuh…

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Ask Fernandes about tom.

20. old onion bags Avatar

@CCC
    “Asses are made to bear, and so are you”

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

You still have not told me where in my post I am wrong.

22. @onions
    is all that all yu got under your belt . i hope the real ting is much bigger. BTW i think you meant “under advertisement” a line which you would be more familiar with. Anyhow as fuh Shakepeare he must be rolling in his grave! yuh need to leave the poor guy alone.

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I am not like DAVID I have a very good memory.

I dont reinvent history surrounding insidious people.

24. @ Old onion Bags.
    Man I advised you to let CCC be ! there can be no benefit in descending into this personal mudslinging match .MOVE UP AND ON !!!!

25. @CCC

What you and your ilk don’t realise is that Barbadians have become sick of your kind of politics.

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The truth is being called “personal mudslinging” now?

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

I guess that you would prefer the White Washing which is taking place on this thread.
    The selective reporting of information.

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

An Observer.. | March 25, 2012 at 2:49 PM |
    “@ Old onion Bags: Man I advised you to let CCC be ! there can be no benefit in descending into this personal mudslinging match .MOVE UP AND ON !!!!”
    “Lives are in the making here
    Hearts are in the waking here
    Mighty undertaking here
    Up and on, up and on.
    We are arming for the fight
    Pressing on with all our might
    Pluming wings for higher flight
    Up and on, up and on.”

“Up then! Truest fame lies in high endeavour
    Play the game, keep the flame burning brightly ever
    Up then! Truest fame lies in high endeavour
    Play the game, keep the flame burning brightly ever”

Now old boy, please don’t tell us you are, should we say, “intimately familiar” with those words and chorus. The old onion bag does occasionally reveal himself as a prankster similar to Pigeon of ‘Rubber Nut vintage. But not you “observer”, Just can’t be true what one is reading between the lines! Just say you are a chorister and likes to sing a good song from any songwriter.

29. @ The Miller..
    Foes in plenty we shall meet ;
    hearts courageous ,scorn defeat .
    So we press with eager feet
    Up and on , up and on .
    Ever upward to the light
    Ever upward to the fight ;
    Ever true to God and right
    Up and on , up and on .

You take that ! you rascal you ! You never thought I had a secret weapon and an ace up the sleeve….LOL; LOL .I have been waiting on you ever since
    Peace my brother .

30. Owen Arthur my ass … You people really do not know who you are talking about ..

31. old onion bags Avatar

Miller -the annuaki, an Observer…two friends twisted from D same chord ….no holds barred…what is this ?….two demons..looka mah crosses !!

32. old onion bags Avatar

@ Carson
    I know you feel jilted…but it is not necessary to reply to every post.

33. old onion bags Avatar

I have been saving this for both of you…snipsters
    Othello:
    O monstrous, monstrous!
    Iago:
    Nay, this was but his dream.
    Othello:
    But this denoted a foregone conclusion.
    Iago:
    ‘Tis a shrewd doubt, though it be but a dream,
    And this may help to thicken other proofs,
    That do demonstrate thinly.
    Merrily merrily we go on..

34. @ Old Onions
    LOL ! LOL! I warned you yesterday that you were ” CAUGHT IN A CROSSFIRE ” you had no idea what i was hinting at . I am sure the Miller had none either !!!! LOL , LOL . Anyhow , they did not teach us treachery at that noble institution either ; FEEL SAFE MY BROTHER..FEEL SAFE , LOL , LOL .

35. old onion bags Avatar

All the world’s a stage,
    And all the men and women merely players;
    They have their exits and their entrances,
    And one man in his time plays many parts,
    His acts being seven ages.

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@old onion bags | March 25, 2012 at 4:42 PM |
    “All the world’s a stage,
    And all the men and women merely players;
    They have their exits and their entrances,
    And one man in his time plays many parts,
    His acts being seven ages.”

Oh, old onions bag you, ye old pirate, you stole my Shakespearean thunder. That was supposed to be my parting shot across the bow of the good ship SS Waterford captained by that old sea dog “Observer”.
    Anyway: “…. Once more unto the breach, dear friends, once more…”

“Fair before us lies the way
    Time for work and time for play
    Fill the measure while we may
    Up and on, up and on.
    Life and time will not delay
    Time is running fast away
    Life is now – today, today
    Up and on, up and on.”

“Religione, Humanitate and Industria”

37. TO : Old Onions .and The Miller
    I am sure that this exchange will do more for you than resorting to senseless invective with CCC WHATEVER HIS PHILOSOPHICAL LEANING . We have had some enlightening exchanges today on the matter of leaders and leadership . As a final comment ( I hope ) I shall merely restate the view to which I lend unrepentent support . Judgment of leaders and leadership must be done retrospectively , not intrspectively ; by looking back and not looking across ; and like President Castro said ” history will absolve me ” . Have a good evening my friends . Peace and love .

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

An Observer.. | March 25, 2012 at 5:26 PM |
    Before you take your leave for either a visit to the religious house or the other type that has on offer ‘spirits’ of the fermented variety one last pearl for you to rub in the palms of your hands for authenticity:
    A vital sign of a potentially ‘great leader’ is a person possessed with a VISION. A person with a ‘Mission Statement’ that the average political Joe Bloggs can buy into. Do you ‘see’ that ‘Vision’ on display, currently? If so, please lead a poor blind man like me and my visually impaired partner Old onions bags to the light so we can see this great communicator who can make the people sit up and listen. If one needs a friend (amicus curiae) to plead with St. Peter at the pearly gates on his behalf you would be the first to spring to mind; even with a final bill of 40 pieces of silver in demand.

39. @ The Miller and Old Onions .
    I have gone on record on this blog to urge that our present Prime Minister , Mr Freundel Stuart MUST NOT be underestimated . That man is a Philosopher . You MUST NOT take a philosopher lightly . Stuart acceded to the office under less than favourable circumstances and to this day , for one reason or another , has not been able to take time to get on with the job of leadership . In spite of all this however , he has demonstrated a remarkable ability to keep his head when all around are losing theirs . This is without doubt a major qualification for leadership . He , being the philosopher , MUST HAVE A VISION . And he demonstrates that fact whenever he addresses an audience be it at a school prize- giving or at a gathering of business leaders . Unfortunately for him , he succeeded a man who had greatness thrusted upon him and has had to cope with the fallout which naturally followed his tragic and sudden demise . That Mr Stuart has been able to cope with that event speaks volumes of his own capability . As a great communicator yourself who eschews every attempt to give sanction to the mediocre , I am sure that you and our cohort Onions do carry great admiration for Stuart’s ability to communicate . And you must admit , he is not the kind of person who speaks condescendingly but is a man who believes that ordinary persons must and can be able to appreciate the finer usage of language. In short , I am firmly of the view that this Prime Minister will do this country proud . That my friends is my sincere assessment of the man . Peace and love .

40. old onion bags Avatar

@an Observer
    I am sure that you and our cohort Onions do carry great admiration for Stuart’s ability to communicate . And you must admit , he is not the kind of person who speaks condescendingly but is a man who believes that ordinary persons must and can be able to appreciate the finer usage of language.

speak for yourself……you too Miller…Onion will not be a cohort to any

41. Caswell Franklyn | March 24, 2012 at 9:00 PM |
    “Grantley Adams et al that you mentioned in this post were intellectually superior to any of those who presently lead this country…. ”

How you know dat … You din even walkin’ den! Norman Manley, Forbes Burnham and Eric Williams would have had a far different opinion I could tell yah. He din no real maguffy hear … and I will not forget about the old women who had to beg for money from poor people to pay him to represent Clement Payne (now a National Hero). He ain’ the same man that defend a White man for shooting a Black man that he claimed he mistook for a monkey …

I was alive and kicking to hear Forbes Burnham mek mince meat of Tom Adams at a Caricom heads meeting … Tom and his pro-American stance. Burnham mek he look like a’ idiot!

Yo people attach more significance to these old guys than is really merited.

42. And BTW the only reason why Barbados is not a part of the OECS is because the St. Lucian Premier was preferred to be the leader of the group over great “Wah … I am de Prime Minister ” Errol Barrow. Do not confuse ego with intellect …

43. old onion bags Avatar

Ok..BAFBFB
    Going by your recollect…..there were no GREAT leaders….as long as anyone of that then era was criticized or had an issue with any one (and there were many)…..going by your methodology….you are therefore NO great leader.Things just happened …not to mention ..the Grace of God…the Almighty Creator…( which by now you are at a boil)…Barbados just had a group of Darwin ordinary men….given charge by Ying or Yang…and you know what somehow…by some strange unique phenomena… Barbados just turn out to be the most politically and economically stable, been able to avoid nuff pending devaluations, of the highest (GDP .pp) standards of living in the hemisphere, the sustained envy of others,and STILL the BEST COUNTRY, (I repeat best country ) to live in the WORLD….Right BAFBFB, correct me if I am wrong…..

PS- aside: always wanted to know what your initials stands for by the way.

44. old onion bags

You are wrong. What has been Barbados’ strength over the years is its strong positioning with British travelers. Its stability is more likely the result of the passive almost inert nature of its population, one that will swallow just about anything that is thrown at them, including one hundred and thirty different sects of Christianity and a growing population of Chinese and Canadian questionables (and African snails). Antigua is a far happier country and I am sure that Trinidadians and Lucians see themselves as better off. Keeping the countries in the Caribbean apart serves to breed sentiments like the ones you hold fast to.

BAF stands for Banned Again From. This blog (BU) has never had a need to block my comments in the many years that I have been talkin’ my shite. Even though David don’ like me, he is let me be …!

45. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

OFF TOPIC

Former minister describes tainted Turks and Caicos regime

By Caribbean News Now contributor

PROVIDENCIALES, Turks and Caicos Islands — Following the mysterious leak of witness statements claimed to be from the files of the special investigation and prosecution team (SIPT) in the Turks and Caicos Islands, in circumstances reminiscent of the infamous Watergate break-in of the 1970s in Washington, “Statementgate” continues to be a source of much local interest, with the witness statement of Karen Delancy being dissected both for the information it contains and for the historical scenario the former Progressive National Party (PNP) minister of health describes

Delancy’s 26-page statement dated June 27, 2011, lays out a story of a regime wherein Misick himself became increasingly dictatorial and was openly critical of Delancy as then health minister for her plans to build two hospitals: one in Grand Turk with 15 beds and one in Providenciales with 40 beds. During the previous PDM administration, Taylor wanted to build one hospital on his home island of Grand Turk.

http://www.caribbeannewsnow.com/topstory-Former-minister-describes-tainted-Turks-and-Caicos-regime-10309.html

46. old onion bags Avatar

@BAF BFP
    Barbados’ strength over the years is its strong positioning with British travelers. Its stability is more likely the result of the passive almost inert nature of its population, one that will swallow just about anything
    Now we know your take……I repeat….the sustained envy of others.
    A captain (or no captain) with no vision nor nautical skills will only take his charges to the reefs …inevitably to become but jetsam and flotsam.

Aside : Ok so much for BAF , what about BFP ?

47. old onion bags Avatar

Rather than have to think about my crime, I’d prefer to be completely unconscious – MACBETH

48. Old Onions

I believe you meant “flotsam and jetsam” … surely a parody of the close relationship that we have with those things British … Bajans are a pliable, passive set easily managed by expatriates and local Whites and the politicians that do their bidding … you know this. Sparrow, a Grenadian firebrand, knew exactly what he was doing when got married to a Bajan instead of one of his own.

BFP is the other blog, the one dat is suppose’ ta be free.

49. old onion bags Avatar

Banned Again From Barbados Free Press…BAFBFP…man you like you did bare trouble man ! Cannot support you on your stance however, everyone (incl.BAFBFP) know the importance of a good (if not great) LEADER…why look at our present predicament ? SURELY, you can see what has gone on and presently going on in Barbados now…..

50. @old onion bags

“Our present predicament … what has gone on and presently going on in Barbados now…..” is exactly what has gone on for as long as I can remember. Occasionally a political boss would step forward and claim responsibility for some initiative (for example free education in secondary schools which was touted by so many others and already in the process of initiation), but basically just two political parties doing just enough to claim to have done something but in main they mark time while blaming the other side for wrong doing. Political is NOT the art of the possible, it is the art of popular deception, a thing that has most certainly worked with success on you…

Leave a Reply to old onion bagsCancel reply