Terrol Inniss, President of BPWCCUL

The last blog posted regarding BPWCCUL has resulted in the wrongful dismissal of several workers including a very hard-working and honest Finance Manager, the continued harassment of an equally honest and sincere Internal Auditor and a professional and competent IT Manager. It has also triggered the running of two Directors who I’m glad to see the back of and the resignation of the Chairman of the Supervisory Committee. We only hope the Financial Services Commission is taking note.

As a pre-cursor to the Annual General Meeting it is essential to fully ventilate the issues and therefore we shall be posting on a regular basis to try to make sure that what has happened at CLICO does not happen here. In this situation more than fifty-thousand Barbadians would be affected.

This first post is a friendly game of 20 questions but if the Board is not forthright with members then it will be escalated with severely damaging information. Nothing short of the stepping down of the BPWCCUL President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary, Director Marilyn Mapp, Director Keiva Cadogan, the CEO, CAPITA’s Chairman, Deputy Chairman and CEO will avert this course of action.

These issues have not been raised officially with the Supervisory Committee because that has proven to be 100% ineffective and impotent. Remember, money talks and once Supervisory Committee members are offered trips to attend meetings across the Globe, they forget their duty and chase after a Board position.

So the 20 questions:

1. Who is the individual or firm that was paid nearly half a million dollars in fees to provide services during the Credit Union’s acquisition of CLICO Mortgage and Finance Corporation? Why was there no contract and no Board approval or knowledge of the transaction and what is the relationship between this individual and the CAPITA CEO? Was this relationship declared to the Board in accordance with the Act? Was this the single-largest fee during the acquisition? Is it true that neither the legal fees nor the due diligence attracted fees this high? What services could have cost so much? And were there any BPWCCUL Directors who benefited financially from this transaction?

2. What is the special relationship between Bay and Wellington and BPWCCUL? Who are its Directors and beneficial owners? Is the provision of corporate event management services tendered in a way that allows other members with similar firms the opportunity to submit a competitive bid? What is the value of these services provided to the Credit Union? Is it really over $740K? Can these services be provided more competitively elsewhere? Who are the Directors who benefit financially from such contracts? What is the annual total of corporate gifts made by Bay and Wellington to BPWCCUL Directors and Management?

3. Is Director Marilyn Mapp a resident of Barbados? What percentage of Board meetings has she attended? Of these she “attended” was she physically present? Do the rules of the Credit Union allow for Directors to attend meetings using electronic methods? If not, why is the Secretary and President signing Board Minutes which say Mrs. Mapp is present when they are fully aware that under the existing Corporate Governance framework there is no provision for electronic meetings? Are other Directors aware of this aspect of the Society’s by-laws? If they are, are they equally aware of the implications of falsifying Board Minutes?

4. Who is the “Parris – wannabee” within the Credit Union structure? Is it true that this “Parris-wannabee” sits on 5 boards related to BPWCCUL? How much money has been spent on travel by this “Parris-wannabee”? As CEO? As Credit Union Director? As Director of Capita? As Director of Legacy Foundation? As Director of BPWCCUL’s Holding Company? As Director of the Barbados Cooperative Credit Union League? As Director of Cooperators Insurance? Is it true that Mr Parris-Wannabee only travels First Class and ensures he travels a minimum of 200 thousand frequent flyer miles annually? Why do some Directors travel exclusively First Class and others Economy? What is the policy? How many Corporate credit Cards does Mr. Parris Wannabee have assigned to him?

5. Who is the individual who, not being a Director or Manager was issued one of the Society’s Corporate Credit Cards which was used in a far-away land?

6. What is the special relationship between Tree House Media and Directors of BPWCCUL? Was this interest declared in the awarding of the various contracts? Is it true that these contracts for various (PR) services were in excess of $400 thousand over the period? Were these services put out to competitive bid? Who are the beneficial owners of Tree House Media? Are BPWCCUL Directors present or past associated with this company? Were there breaches of the Procurement policy?

7. When will the CAPITA CEO compensate the credit Union for the use of the Credit Union’s CEO vehicle for more than 36 months? During the period is it true that the current CEO was unemployed? Is it true that during the period he received over $150 thousand in per diems for travel that was not approved by the Credit Union Board? Another $50 thousand that was approved and that he benefited another $100k in free fuel, lunches, and dinner meetings unrelated to Credit Union business?

8. When will the CEO of the Credit Union compensate the Credit Union for allowing the vehicle assigned to her to be used by the current CAPITA CEO and incurring additional expenses to the credit union by employing a separate driver and vehicle? How much fuel was wrongfully charged to the Credit union during the period?

9. How is it that the current President of BPWCCUL travels on Credit Union business without such travel being approved by the Board? Are there other members of the Credit Union who, not being Directors nor Managers are allowed to travel on Credit Union business? What is the role of the CEO in this? On what authority does she process such transactions? Why are extracts of the requisite Board Minutes not required to authenticate such decisions? Is this part of the reason the Board agreed to terminate the services of the Finance Manager?

10. What is the relationship between the CEO’s of CAPITA and BPWCCUL? Between the CAPITA CEO and the BPWCCUL Marketing Officer? Between the CAPITA CEO and other BPWCCUL Staffers? Is the nature of these relationships declared to Directors? Are Directors aware that a person by the name of Pearson was asked to leave the Board because he had a relationship (husband) with a worker?

11. What influence was exerted by the BPWCCUL President to ensure that a blood relative would qualify for a loan? Was this relationship declared? And did The President utilise the Extra-ordinary Credit Committee to approve this loan according to the By-laws? Or was this loan simply approved as though no relationship existed? What role did the CEO play in this? How many aspects of the Credit Union’s policies were breached?

12. Why was the Credit Union Board summoned on three occasions to appear before the Financial Services Commission? What were the issues? Have these issues been addressed? What was the FSC’s position on the frauds that had been perpetrated against the Credit Union? Does the current board treat the FSC with the same disrespect that it treated the Registrar of Cooperatives? Have issues raised by the registrar been addressed? The Credit Card issues? Has the current CEO ever been appraised by the Board?

13. What is the relationship between the person formerly known as Edward Corbin and BPWCCUL? Has this contract been approved by the Board? Are fees approved by the Board? Are Directors aware of the existence of these contracts? Is it true that he has already worked out that the IT Manager, Internal Auditor, Finance Manager, Call Centre Manager, Collections officer and one position of Branch Manager will have to be terminated in aligning the staff to strategy? Was he associated as a hatchet-man for the BPWCCUL Board in the past? Is it also true that the CAPITA CEO writes papers for the BPWCCUL Board, signed by Mr. Corbin? Is it also true that this former Edward has been paid over $400 thousand over the last couple years?

14. Does the Board review each Director’s portfolio to ensure there are no inherent conflicts of interest? Is the Board comfortable with a regulator sitting as part of the Board? Was that regulator comfortable being hauled before another regulator? Were her bosses enthusiastic about their colleague, having to explain issues before the FSC? Will persons working for the FSC be allowed to sit on the Boards of Banks?

15. How was the CAPITA CEO selected? Was the position advertised? When? In which newspapers? Who were the other applicants? What were the specifications for the job? What independent firm was asked to provide these job specifications? Did CAPITA’s Board do all that reasonable persons would have done to ensure they got the best person for the job? What is the Corporate Governance Ethos that guides this company? Is it simply operating on the same principles that CLICO operated under? Is it a contracted position? How often are CEO appraisals planned? What is the political connection?

16. In the selection of the CAPITA Board were the best persons selected? Was the primary purpose of selecting the Board to do with how fast a specific new CEO could be appointed? Did that guide the election of the Board of BPWCCUL?

17. What are the current levels of related-party transactions between CAPITA and BPWCCUL? It is clear that this was one of the major CLICO issues, so what are the policies of the two entities to ensure that the level of such transactions are reasonable? Have there been breaches of either entity’s investment policies and if so when? And by how much? Was this a factor in the parting between the Finance Manager and the Credit union? Was the Finance Manager concerned about the concentration of Credit Union Deposits with CAPITA?

18. What is the nature of the relationship between CIBC First Caribbean and Directors or Past Directors of BPWCCUL?

19. Why does the Internal Auditor have to use lawyers during certain meetings at BPWCCUL? What are the specific areas of discrepancy which have been turning up, not being dealt with by Management but causing all the hype at Board Meetings? Is it true that The Marketing Officer is the most frequent flyer of the organization? How does that fit in with its strategy? How often has the Marketing Officer – soon to be Chief marketing Officer, travelled with the CAPITA CEO as a percentage of all travel? Is it not true that 100% of her travel has involved the CAPITA CEO? What was the nature of their Corporate business?

20. Did members authorize the establishment of “Legacy Foundation”? How does the BPWCCUL Board justify the Board appointments? How will this entity report to members and account for any money allocated to it? Who have been appointed auditors? What specific skills are brought to bear by the Directors: Dr. Reece (Credit Union Secretary), Paul Maxwell (frequent-flying CAPITA CEO and soon-to-be BPWCCUL CEO) and Tracia Pounder (frequent-flying soon-to-be Chief Marketing Officer)? What is the level of travel associated with this non-profit company? What is its budget? Why are there Trustees and a Board of Directors? What are the fees these Directors are paying themselves? What is this entire thing costing BPWCCUL? Can BPWCCUL contribute anymore to reinforcing inter-locking Directorships? Can we expect that Bay and Wellington will provide all the event planning, marketing, PR and branding services to this entity too?

The 21st question:

21. Are any of the issues raised in the last blog incorrect?? Why is the Board so concerned about “information leaks”? Are the Directors aware that if your hands are clean you have no problem when someone wants to inspect them? That whistle blowers only have an audience when wrong-doing is perceived as having been done?

1. @ David and Checkit-Out

LOL… Why wanna don’t let sleeping Bushes lie nuh….?

There is nothing wrong with the Credit Union movement owning a Bank….. Don’t mind Caswell. He is a good fellow, but he is MUCH too conservative in his thinking. That is why Bushie has him tagged as Chairman of the SUPERVISORY Committee….. But will keep him FAR from the Board room.

Just as there was nothing wrong with the movement owning an Insurance Company back in the 1990’s.
    The truth is that Credit Unions, at this stage, should be major shareholders in such entities as BL&P, the food retail and processing industry, Banking and indeed any area where ITS MEMBERS need to conduct critical business.

The IDIOCY of accumulating billions of dollars and lodging it in Banks for crooks to access and make massive profits OFF THE BACKS OF MEMBERS is suicidal.

Caswell violently opposed Doyle and those who pushed the Insurance company and other similar ideas. He was wrong then, and he wrong about the bank now too….. But Bushie still want him as chairman of the NSC 🙂

2. @ Checkit-Out
    What perfect storm what??!!

Think about it, if there is to be a failure of a business, the VERY BEST type of failure will be a Credit Union. 90% of the liabilities of the organization is in the form of loans TO MEMBERS.
    Even if it fails, ( and history and common sense shows that because of the openness and transparency, failure is ONLY POSSIBLE if practically ALL of the members deliberately cause its failure by their disinterest and inaction.) the assets will be in the hands of its rightful owners for the most part.

There is no better form of organization in existence. the more of our organizations that follow this principle, the more robust will be our society.
    Unfortunately, we have retained a corps of self-centered and closed-minded leaders without the vision needed to strategize at such a level and they have managed to squeeze out those with the broader view and the cooperative spirit ( such as Bourne, Doyle, Caswell and Sandiford-Garner)

3. @Caswell

You assert that the credit unions can do what banks do. Are you sure?

Do credit unions sell foreign exchange for example?

4. David!!!

It is well past Bushie’s bedtime, that makes a Bushman irritable so don’t set yourself up for a cussing now….

What foolishness are you asking …?
    Credit Unions can put themselves in position to facilitate ANY LEGITIMATE business that its members may need to have. Just like BNB or FCIB, it can hire the needed expertise to manage these services.
    WHAT WILL BE DIFFERENT is that the Board room will be influenced by the wishes and desires of the movement. THAT is what economic enfranchisement is really about.

Same with agriculture and manufacturing. It does NOT mean that people like Caswell and Bushie will be into farming, but that the movement will be influencing the decisions IN THE BOARDROOMS…. Decisions such as where major contracts go, how investments are made etc…. To the benefit and in the interest of members.

5. Oops
    Sorry David, thought you were questioning credit unions’ s ability to operate banks…. 🙂

6. @Bush Tea

You need to reread the question.

Under the Act which governs credit unions are they allowed to offer the same services as banks.

It is a simple question Bushie.

7. Touché David
    completely misread it…
    Bushie hitting the sack….

8. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

@Caswell Franklyn | March 26, 2012 at 8:54 PM |

as usual ur right on the ball. i love ur intellilect. it seems Bush Tea had too much bush tea, cause he’s talking pure ……..

9. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

sorry I meant ‘intellect’

10. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Bush Tea

You wrote:
    “Caswell violently opposed Doyle and those who pushed the Insurance company and other similar ideas. He was wrong then, and he wrong about the bank now too….. But Bushie still want him as chairman of the NSC :)”

You know that is completely untrue: it was me who proposed the formation of an insurance company on the floor of a league meeting, not Frank Alleyne as it is now recorded.

11. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

David | March 26, 2012 at 10:25 PM | @Caswell You assert that the credit unions can do what banks do. Are you sure? Do credit unions sell foreign exchange for example?

The only thing that is stopping credit unions from issuing cheques is the Central Bank. The only thing that is stopping credit unions from dealing in foreign exchange is the Central Bank.

I know of at least one travel agency that sells foreign exchange. If they can why does the Government restrict credit unions?

A credit union is really a co-operative bank. To demonstrate I will quote from a book called “People Not Profit – The Story of the Credit Union Movement” published by Kendall/Hunte Publishing Company, and the Credit Union National Association of the USA in 1993:

“First Stirrings in the U.S.
    As the Canadian movement became established, interest grew to the south. The parishioners of St. Mary’s Church, in Manchester, New Hampshire, decided they wanted to form a credit union. They invited Desjardins to help them. The first U.S. credit union was organized in 1908 and chartered in 1909. It was called La Caise Populaire Ste. Marie, and was chartered under a special act of the New Hampshire legislature. It still operates under that authority, with the same progressive tradition. The Caisse Populaire Ste. Marie is known today as St. Mary’s Bank, but don’t let the name fool you. It is a credit union”.

I rest my case. Co-operative bank my foot, these jokers don’t know what they are talking about.

12. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Google “St. Mary’s Bank” or follow the links below. When you do so, it will be clear to you that the people leading the credit union movement in this country are just a bunch of jokers. What pains me about this whole exercise is that they are prepared to waste members/workers money hiring Sir Courtney Blackman, one of the most anti worker persons that I have ever encountered.

http://www.stmarysbank.com/member-services/branch-atm-locations.asp

http://www.stmarysbank.com/

13. @Caswell

To clarify, are you saying that credit unions in Barbados are not following the model established elsewhere like the example you gave of St Marys Bank?

Are you saying the movement in Barbados is restricted under the Act is currently operates and amendment would be needed to allow the movement to over similar services to a bank?

How do you respond to the fact that the FSC is charged with oversight of credit unions and not the Central Bank of Barbados.

14. It is MUCH easier to invest in owning a bank through which Credit Union policy and action can be channelled in the interest of members, than to seek to change the needed laws, attitudes and mis- perceptions about the possible scope of the credit union.

Even people like Caswell fail to be able to see the potential of the movement in such areas as politics, food production and distribution etc, too; so how can we blame government for not seeing the credit union as equal to a bank?

Caswell
    You may well initiated the proposal to get into insurance, but your subsequent role in the early life of the resulting entity was to say the least questionable….
    Looking at the kinds of businesses that other credit unions get into is not helpful to us. Cooperatives own electric utilities, Farms, Manufacturing Plants etc in large areas of the USA. In Many parts of the world, the largest insurance operations are coops….. So the sky is the limit.

The question is ‘what are we capable of visualizing and actualizing….?’

15. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

To clarify, a co-operative bank and a credit union are basically one and the same thing.

There are no restrictions in the Co-operative Societies Act to prevent a credit union from issuing chequing accounts or dealing in foreign exchange. Those restrictions are as a result of policy and Central Bank intransigence.

Who regulates credit unions is not the problem as long as they do so in accordance with the Co-operative Societies Act. By the way the FSC is not now regulating credit unions: there is only one officer at the FSC that has any knowledge of credit unions. FSC was ill conceived but the need to change as much of the Public Service into statutory boards to facilitate political interference prevailed in this case. Presently, credit unions are like ships on the high seas without a compass.

16. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Bush Tea

My early role in any controversy about the insurance company was limited to going to Corporate Affairs and collecting a copy of the incorporation documents that showed that the principals behind its formation were creating an organization with credit union funds with the credit unions having no say. As a result, the whole structure of the insurance company was changed to reflect its ownership.

Now to deal with your misinterpretation of my views about a co-operative bank versus a credit union. They are one and the same thing. Yes, like you I believe that the co-operative model is best suited for governance. However, a financial co-operative is called a credit union. If a co-operative forms a bank it cannot be operated as the league and you seem to suggest because it would only be able to serve its membership. It could not even use the name “co-operative in its title because of restrictions by section 13 of the Co-operative Societies Act.

Bush Tea get it through your head that a bank that is operated as a co-operative is a credit union

17. Caswell
    Step back for 1 minute
    Bush Tea is looking at the PRACTICAL, SIMPLE way to skin a cat. You are right that the credit union is the same as a bank, you have been saying that for 20 years. 🙂

The PRACTICAL approach ( which will accomplish the same end immediately) is to own a bank – which you can then operate AS YOU WISH. Obviously, you and the Bushman will see to it that it is operated according to cooperative principles.

Even if you went to court to enforce your legal right to operate an a bank, how long you think before you get a license? Or welcomed into the local network of banks? Or gain the trust of members?

When in Rome, do as the Romans do Caswell….

18. BTW Caswell,
    Your recollection of your role in the Co operators saga seem to have been viewed through rose glasses and with the wisdom of time having passed….. Remember that BT knows all…and have documents…. 🙂

19. Caswell is 100% correct. Credit Unions cannot even now meet the legal requirement of 10% capital. How are they going to capitalise this bank? If it is a bank that is the bank exclusively for credit unions like the US Corporates where will it invest the credit union deposits? How would it deal with the concentration risks? Indeed wouldn’t these deposits be inter-company in nature with even higher contagion risk profiles. No don’t be fooled this is another way to line the pockets of directors and their friends? BTW this same Sir Courtney was doing some work for Public Workers before they should tell the public what his findings were then. Don’t think we ever saw anything in writing from him but he used to meet with certain Directors quite frequuently. In fact Public Workers used to put him up at Hilton when he was here.

20. http://www.gao.gov/products/GAO-12-247

This link shows up how these big Corporate Banks in the US failed a couple years ago. And now they talking ’bout doing the same thing in Bim? Must be joking!

21. “What pains me about this whole exercise is that they are prepared to waste members/workers money hiring Sir Courtney Blackman, one of the most anti worker persons that I have ever encountered.”

Is that the same Sir Courtney Blackman who was on Allen Stanford’s board of directors?

22. One and the same!!! He should have been asked to ay back all those board fees he earned as one of the major forces behind the Stanford Ponzi scheme.

23. http://barpublish.bits.baseview.com/story/301474523603352.php – Did the Barbados Credit Union movement even do any due-diligence before hiring Sir Courtney? He should inspire lots of confidence.

24. Does anyone think that most Barbadians will question Sir Courtney’s credentials?

25. @ David
    Is it Sir Courtney Blackman or Harcourt Lewis?

26. According to the news clip Hally Haynes indicated Sir Courtney was contracted to prepare a viability report.

27. Two weeks have now passed, what is next?

On 29 March 2012 22:14, David wrote: > Does anyone think that most Barbadians will question Sir Courtney’s credentials? >

28. What is happening. These people who we, the rank and file members, put to lead us are only out to poke out our eyes while grabbing all for themselves. Look at what the BPWCCUL give us on our deposits and investments – bare pittance while they do dixie with the money they are responsible for. As it is understood they can offer more than they give, and it would still be within the Central Bank guide lines. But why should they when they have taken over from NUPW flying club. If you thought that NUPW was bad think again.
    And what about the COB. I understand that Caswell is down there and seems to be unearthing just as much shit and those who are in the archer’s range want him gone.
    Look if there is wrong doing bring it out before we end up losing all that we try so hard to muster. Caswell if you find wrong doing expose it.
    What is wrong with these people and people’s money.

29. Sir harcourt Lewis has a proven track record. He was responsible for the setting up of the major governmental financial institutions in Barbados under both administrations unlike Sir Courtney whose claim to fame has been his chant for little or no increases for publicworkers at the commencement of salary negotiations while all the time living high off the Central Bank hog.
    Here is what the esteemed late great Errol Walton Barrow had to say about the performance of the tingod Sir Courtney,( the man who once described himself as the creature of the Minister of Finance) when Mr Barrow was speaking in the House of Assembly on a Resolution for the approval of a loan to be raised by private issue in Japan.

” I think that the Govenor of the Central Bank should go alone, because it would have to be due to his bad advice, and i am not pulling any punches at this stage of my political career. I am not going to participate in this business of sheltering people who have sold this island down the river. It would have to be due to his bad advice, or to his lack of basic manhood, if he gave good advice if he failed to resign from a position he is larging off with, in a structure bigger than Buckingham Palace, that we find ourselves in this predicament.”

30. Martin St Mark Avatar
    Martin St Mark

I am an active member of the BPWCCUL living overseas. I must disclose that I served as a member of the supervisory committee back in 1996-1997. It must be noted that all members of the Board are members elected at the A.G.M. Perhaps the quality of the Board and Committee members is a reflection of the membership and the small group of people attending, participating and influencing meetings. It is true that the credit union has operated like a boys clubs and at times some board members have been know to hire persons of questionable character. I probably have more to lose than some of the person commenting herein. We need to attract qualified persons both as employees and members of the committees. We need to ensure that staff, Board members, and committees of management operate in such a manner that they disclose conflicts of interest, whether it is business interest or involve family members.doing g business with the credit union.

I suppose I will have to book my ticket and come home to this year’s A.G.M. When are elections? Others commenting in this forum should declare their interest. lol. Howerver, it appears everyone commented here except for one person are all ghost. If members beleive that wrong doing as occurred then they should use the credit union by-laws to correct exist problems.

31. @Martin St. Mark

It is known that there is a small group of people who play musical chairs to represent the various supervisory and credit committees across the movement. If you were as involved as you have indicated then you know that this is the problem. The vast majority of people who save with the credit union do so with no desire to serve on mentioned committees. Have you ever attended an AGM or Special Meeting and witness how a member who wants to be strident when making a point is treated by the in-crowd?

BTW you should ignore the names people are using and focus on the points being made. You have no idea why people are operating under the cloak of anonymity or how much share balance they hold.