Austin’s 2012 Q1 Blog Poll

Austin

The people of Barbados spoke loud and clear in the last election for change they could touch and feel, however in 2012 Bajans still find themselves “touching” and “feeling” in the dark created by the current DLP administration.  Their vote came after hearing all the “right stuff” as detailed in the DLP manifesto. However what was lost in the excitement of the historic moment was an analysis of whether the promises in the DLP manifesto could actually be fulfilled. At this point in 2012 the answer appears to be clear, honest and a disappointing “NO”, but don’t take my word for it go review the DLP manifesto and see what was accomplished to date “not much at all”. The blaming of the global recession for all our challenges in Barbados as a reason to “not act”, “not lead”, “wait and see”, in defence of Bajan families got weaker by the minute in 2011, now it gets weaker by the second.

Forgetting politics for a second (just a second) the fact of the matter is that our “ROOT” crisis as a nation is one of “POOR LEADERSHIP”, sad but true.   The current PM is a great Barbadian as history will show, but he is not the natural leader, at a time we need a natural leader.

The question that “STILL” comes to mind is whether “today” the people’s choice of a DLP administration to bring about desired chance was a good choice, again the answer has been proven to be “NO”, just as it was last year.

Whether you like it or not the BLP has put Barbados back on track historically at key moments, we are at one of those “moments NOW” and we simply need the BLP running this country again.

I’m not a political strategist but the BLP had healed it’s internal wounds, produced quality candidates, taken on a visible people first oriented campaign, and has demonstrated compassion for the struggles of the average Bajan family.

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

millertheanunnaki(May2012)

I cant think of a single member of the DLP Govt. that I dont like.

2. Actually it was same old same old from our politicians. At a time of economic crisis anyone who looked for hope to drop out of the mouths of our politicians would have been disappointed.

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

Speak for yourself.

4. wuh lashes i aint talking about lashes i talking about the smell ! anyhow having said that i have revised my trend of thought after listening to Chris Sinckler rebuttal and his engaging back and forth with MIA which at times was amusing and as Chris so well demonstrated the art of political diplomacy to gain leverage and present facts over Perception . A point which i have over and over again alluded to. I was exceptionally pleased to hear Chris rebuttal on the issue which Mia had brought up about BNOC an issue which was indeed needed to be cleared up in the minds of the electorate. He kinda of touch base with Clico but giving the electorate as to what will be told in the coming months. BLP brace wunna selves i told you so!

5. @Agree with you about the BNOC matter.

6. @ David

Thank you and given the form of parliamentary system we have the onus is on the governing party to bring hope. We have been hearing ‘brilliant’ since the days of DT at the helm, yet we stuck with an economy still in minus.

7. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The Government seems not to understand that there are certain constitutional niceties that should be observed, and are behaving like a herd of bulls in a china shop. We all know that the Prime Minister gets his way in the appointment of the President of the Senate. However, the Prime Minister should know that the Senate appoints its president, and he should at least appear to respect our constitutional institutions. If the government senators do not elect the PM’s choice he always has the option of revoking their appointments. But the decent thing to do is not to shout the name of the President from the floor of the House before senators get an opportunity to do their thing.

The Prime Minister’s announcement of the name of the yet unelected President of the Senate goes a long way in demonstrating that the Senate, as presently constituted, is a totally useless body and serves no useful purpose. When are we going to abolish the Senate and the office of Governor-General. They are just a drain on the resources of this poor country.

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Carson C. Cadogan | March 14, 2012 at 6:27 PM |
    “millertheanunnaki(May2012): You are like a drowning man catching at a straw. When are you going to get tired being wrong? You are just an empty vessel just making a lot of noise. Nothing you say makes much sense.”

Am I wrong in saying you are in love with your bitch? That’s one heck of whirlwind romance ending in a quickie divorce. Could the BU family look forward to a litter of little CCC’s (cute, cuddly, cadogans)?

I have already told you I was wrong about the man “Molasses”. I thought he was a decent, honest man with a measure of confidence, assertiveness and a possible decision-maker if given the chance. But I was wrong. Maybe the CLICO scandal changed everything. So you can rechristen me “millertheanunnaki(January 2013)”. I’ll even bark for you now.

9. actually Chris rebuttal was sterile in the sense that for the average non political listener it gave a clear and concise view as to the operation of government and as to why the taxpayers are footing the bills and one cannot borrow and don’t expect to pay.all the money and the good times which barbados experienced in the past 14 years was borrowed a fact that no one wants to accept and as simple as that the reality is that we have to pay it back.

10. On the question of national public opinion polling of a politically partisan nature in this country, the PDC will soon fulfil a promise that we made some time ago on here and elseplaces, to write to the Electoral and Boundaries Commission concerning that type of polling that is done by Mr. Peter Wickham, George Belle, etc., and of which so-called findings which are drawn from such polling are later broadcast on some sections of the public radio and television media in Barbados.

For, such activities, esp. the intention to do such surveys and then to have some findings published – when taken together have – as we have previously found out in our own informal polls on the type of Peter Wickham political polling – the effect of influencing some persons in Barbados to vote for a particular person or a particular party at election time, or the reverse effect of influencing some persons in Barbados to not vote for a particular person or party at election time.

Such activites are in fundamental breach of the principle of conducting free and fair elections in Barbados.

National Political Opinion Polling must be rein in in Barbados.

11. BLP=PERCEPTION ! voodoeconomics!

DLP=FACTS! ECONOMIC STABILTY! SUSTANIBILTY!

12. 500 000 civil servants in the UK to be sent home in our number one market for tourists.
    In Barbados , through a caring and competent government not one civil servant gone home, the DLP is doing a fantastic job in managing our economic affairs in a tough global environment.
    We must give credit where it is due.Do not be fooled Barbados. We have a good government in power.

13. G.C. Brathwaite Avatar
    G.C. Brathwaite

Listening to the PM speak since he realises that has a voice is like standing near the toilet when you know that a bout of gastro is affecting you. In other words, it can be a frustrating wait to get the jod done even though you must somehow be relieved of inner matter and burdens. The PM of Barbados is a very disappointing leader and perhaps the only ones he does inspire at this time is the Eager 11 that will do anything to hold on to their seats. How dare they use education as a basic yardstick to beat their chests for jobs poorly done? Barrow must be spinning (not simply turning) in the oceans.

14. G.C. Brathwaite Avatar
    G.C. Brathwaite

@!

And only you would accept that crap from Stinker (sorry Sinckler).

15. David (not BU) Avatar

“We must give credit where it is due.Do not be fooled Barbados. We have a good government in power.”

Bajans catching them ass to make ends meet and this is what you going to tell them? i heard Dennis Kellyman say the other night we are not in a crisis. I think you ppl need to pull your heads out of whatever it in and look around and get off the DLP BLP shit and put this country first.

the DLP is doing a poor job at easing the pain persons are feeling. outside of that, they are partying and spending taxpayers money like nobody’s business. yet you people come and talk about “fantastic job” and “tough global environment”.

when its all said and done, the BLP only has to will 7 seats to regain the govt. polls have been done and DLP is losing 12 seats in the polls. the BLP has 1 that could go here or there.

say what you like the DLP is in trouble and all the spin is not going to help.

16. @ GCB

Wud dam George next time drink some senna TEA! For one the PM couldn’t careless what you think of him! Look how the OSA made a damn fool of MIA and Chris Sinckler let her know that right before her face . Why don’t you deal with the two faced general who you would like to lead the country into many more years of financial smoke and mirror economics. BTW you don;t Have to listen to the PM i would hate to know you had piles while relieving yourself because of him deservedly so

17. Has anyone considered based on how the CLICO matter shakes out that Mara Thompson could suffer a backlash at the next polls?

18. @ac

What do you call funding UWI, BTA, Transport Board etc with Central Bank and NIS money and claiming to have stabilised the economy and reduced the deficit? Man STFD!

19. Observing (I am not observer) Avatar
    Observing (I am not observer)

Very much so. Hudson has stayed the course apparently. He won’t win, but getting a “fair” amount of votes will be enough of a message sent.

20. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

B

21. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Not that I like them summuch, but I tired o’ de udder guys already.

22. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac and Carson
    ….lol this is what it come to ? You know the two of you all sound so pathetic today…we know it hurting…while the BLP blogs bring SOLID ISSUES the two of you continue to hit out at everything about the BLP to no avail..with no strategy…we understand..you got to say something to represent…

Like David ask ac,,,,,”the licks HOT nah?….look gf I am not one to kick a bird when it’s down….so I will just offer some wise advise and even a few condolences…
    The SHIP gine DOWN…each day it lists more to the starboard….the amount of lashes she enduring its no wonder…even the Bismark could not survive such a sustained attack …especially when the first captain threw a match in its own magazine by tiefing…..and now the second captain at loss to navigational skills ( he was more cut out to be a poet )……..only a miracle could save her now. ( or the Eager 11)…my foolish advise …..stay clear of the CLICO matter ……..June Fowler bringing an Exocet….that go tear out the SS DLP bowels. I hear Marshall also coming wid a googly.
    BE WARNED !

23. old onion bags Avatar

@ Miller
    So you can rechristen me “millertheanunnaki(January 2013)”. I’ll even bark for you now.

LOL LOL …man ya terrible man….you ain’t has to COVER DRIVE he so rough …LOL

24. old onion bags Avatar

BUT wait…wah bout the GG ?

25. @! | March 14, 2012 at 5:36 PM |

Prodigal Son said at 10.30 am this morning :
    “CORRUPTION, CORRUPTION, the BLP is corrupt”
    Well said Prodigal, ya now seeing the light………………………

Please dont twist my words around to suit your narrow partisan mind. Just imagine whilst the dead king was saying this, he was head and heels in deep in corrupt practices helping Leroy Parris take the cash out of Barbados too on the CLICO jet with Mara and Fay and having at the very same time taken 34 MILLION DOLLARS of CLICO policyholders’ monies to splurge in the election.

But wait !, Mara really had the nerve to show her face in Parliament today talking about neglect by the BLP. You all have no shame at all!!

26. @! Wuk fa Wuk was too busy looking fa wuk to build houses.”

Hey !, have you heard about your guy, he is known as Mr Five and Ten.
    No wonder we are now hearing about FBI ’bout here and about accounts frozen in US Banks.

Gosh, you all know that you will be a one term government and it seems to be a mad rush to grab all by the time FUMBLE finish washing his socks.

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Prodigal Son

“You all have no shame at all!!”

That is the pervue of the Barbados. Labour Party.

28. @! March 14, 2012 at 6:01 PM |

“This is the worst performance by a BLP parliamentary group that I have ever seen”.

Hey !….did you see and hear the contributions of….Dennis Kellman, George Hutson, Esther Byer Suckoo, Patrick Todd, Kenny Best, James Paul, Mara Thompson, John Boyce, Ronald Jones, Dennis Lowe, Richard Sealy, Chris Sinckler, Stephen Lashley, Michael Lashley, Hammie La, Steve Blackett, Donville Inniss and the historian Freundel Stuart…. a rehash speech for every year the DLP has been in power.

Now this is the poor rakey cabinet we have, the worse group we ever had to lead this country. God help us.

29. @ ac
    “Chris so well demonstrated the art of political diplomacy to gain leverage and present facts over Perception” .

ac, you really think that Barbadians believe anything coming out of Chris Sinckler’s mouth?? Especially since he said “….what letter what, I dont know anything about any letter, I only know what I read in the Nation”…..Then low and behold the Nation forced out of his lying hole…he had to confess that he not only knew of the letter but of the plot to get rid of FUMBLE. The Nation then did not have to produce the letter, Chris had to confess. Bloody liar!

Bring the facts on CLICO, we waiting.

30. @!

“In Barbados , through a caring and competent government not one civil servant gone home, the DLP is doing a fantastic job in managing our economic affairs in a tough global environment”………….

Wait until after elections and we will see if you people can still hold this line. You did it once and you will have to do it again. If the DLP was not manhandling the NIS funds, they would have been in an IMF tough programme all like now. DLP, you can thank God for the NIS, it has been your saviour.

31. @David,

“Has anyone considered based on how the CLICO matter shakes out that Mara Thompson could suffer a backlash at the next polls?”

My friend was saying this same thing to me today. I told her the people in St John would still vote for her!!

32. “The current PM is a great Barbadian as history will show”
    please enlighten me Mr Austin.what makes Mr Stuart a great Barbadian as history will show’ Perhaps english or american history but certainly not Barbadian history. Mr Stuart appears to be a good and decent man.That’s about itand you can’t ask for more than that but to ascribe great to him is stretching imagination a bit far.

33. david march 13- nyou ought to know better than that or you are just catching at straws.the letter was not signed because it was leaked too early and the furore caused a change in plans.signed or not signed Mr Sinckler did admit there was a letter.

34. DLP…tings looking BAD……..how did you all get yourselves in such a MESS …correction NUFF MESS ? Never in all the history of this island’s political scenery .. was there ever a party in such do do….wow ..wow

I smell candles burning….and green lavenda

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ! | March 14, 2012 at 7:40 PM |
    “500 000 civil servants in the UK to be sent home in our number one market for tourists.
    In Barbados , through a caring and competent government not one civil servant gone home, the DLP is doing a fantastic job in managing our economic affairs in a tough global environment.”

“!” & “!” if these UK civil servants are sent home do you understand the impact it would have on our tourists arrivals from that market. Many tourists coming from Britain are employed in the public service in case you did not know.
    So in true inimitable fashion we would say “go ahead UK, little England is behind you”!
    I am sure you have heard the comical phrase: “Whatever me do, me monkey do too”.
    This is glaringly exemplified in our foible attempt to practice Westminster style of governance. The PM by announcing a new president of the Upper House amply displayed his total ignorance of protocol and sensitivity to traditions regarding the niceties and nuances of this august chamber. A clear case of “monkey handling gun”! Caswell can certainly fill you in on this aspect of what is called “separation of powers in a bicameral system of parliamentary democracy”.
    So the adverbs ‘yet’ and ‘so far’ need to be included in your assertion that civil servants have not been laid off. But how long can an economy carry on its payroll a large set of people (army of occupation to use one of your party founding fathers’ phrase) where there is no productive or measurable output because there no work or materials to work with. How long can a hard-pressed private sector which is loosing its capacity to create wealth and hence tax revenues to support a burgeoning public sector continue with this millstone around its neck?

36. Freundel Stuart brought nothing of substance to the debate. It was the warmed over speech he gives every year.

I beg to differ that Freundel Stuart is this great Barbadian, (was not David Thompson put up as a great leader?) What I pray thee, makes Freundel great? Settling the Alexandra matter, the Myrie matter, the GANG of 11 matter, the appointment of a GG, saying that Leroy Parris is his friend and that he is not a leper, telling Al Barrack that his cabinet colleagues dont want him to settle the matter……etc. etc. etc.

One thing the BLP does not have to worry about, Freundel Stuart has never won a seat twice. Now that certainly would put him into folklore of Barbadian politics!

37. @ Balance

All of you with this thing about good and decent man. What rubbish! How can Stuart claim to be pals with Parris but now would rather discredit the nation newspaper and anyone who dares to tell him he should speak on CLICO and lead from the front. The people will decide if he is in the clear, but by the looks of things, there seems to be things to be hidden. The endorsement of an invisible legacy left by David Thompson (that of a dead man) who Stuart cussed after losing the presidency of the DLP in 2006, does not tell me either of them are good men.
    Stuart did not even want to see the people in St. Philip after he lost up there; then when he lost to Lynch he was nowhere to be found until things seemed greener with a swing. Todate, the man does not have the decency to respect the fact that each time he delays making a decision he is slapping down the intelligence that the same Barrow would have ensured had the free education. I do not want you to forget that Stuart has made quite a few insulting remarks to groups of Barbadians and to the nation in general since being challenged by the eager 11. I am sure the pot will boil again when Tony Marshall and some others start talking. Yes, and ppeople like Ellis of VOB fame knows better. Birds of a feather will …!
    If you read all the best Prime Ministers the world has seen including at least 3 of our own, politics under the westminster model demands a certain amout of guile, acumen, and resolve to deal with the peoples’ business if at the same time one must go out of the extraordinary for the good of all. Stuart is an ordinary lawyer, that tries to be verbose and impressive as a leader when in fact all he does is to show up his big weakness and inability to connect with the ordinary folk that abide in Barbados. The sooner the people rid him of his obvious burden, the better. Yes, it depends on when he rings the bell. Stuart somehow believes inteligence and reading history stoppped with the last read he had, and no one else can read or even write. I have no apology to make. He in my opinion lacks the imagination or vision to lead this country.

38. David;

I think the St John people would still vote for her under ordinary circumstances. However, if the CLICO matter continues to provide regular, embarrassing disclosures of serious malfeance by persons connected to her, perhaps coming out of court cases like in Trinidad, she might opt or be forced not to be the candidate for St John in the next elections.

The CLICO case and revelations are far from finished. Who knows what LP might do if he is cornered and his nest eggs threatened?

An opposition campaign blitz that goes into the nitty gritty of certain aspects of the CLICO problem could well have significant influence on her prospective candidacy.

Re. the AX affair, a new flareup might be in the interests of BU and the former striking teachers as it might provide fuel and materiel for FS to invoke stage 2. Alternatively, if impatience by the Union and the Teachers leads to a new flareup at AX, stage 2 might take even longer than they think to get started.

39. @ David

I need your help. Is it against the standing orders of parliament to read your complete speech without making it a document of the house? Mara, after 1 year and 2 appropriation bills, she is still reading a damn script with no pretense to even say 1 word from the heart? She should join David is she is still mourning or go to hell back to St. Lucia. All of those things why Barbados is fast losing its repurtation that was built by successive prime miniters and administrations up to January 15 2008.

40. Well said Quick Draw. Excellent post on Stuart.

Great leader my foot! Waste of space he is. Is this not why the GANG of 11 were secretly meeting to plot against him.

By the way, as far as I know, you should not be reading from a script except for leaders presenting the budget and estimates. Remember read from a script on all the by election platforms.

41. The prevailing sentiment on this blog portrays that the BLP will win in a cake walk, perhaps Freundel should not even bother to call an election just call (not text) OSA and tell OSA to meet him at the GG where he can hand over the keys to the Treasury. Elections cost money and besides there is no more CLICO or CLICO subsidiaries to fund the politicians or political parties.

Speaking of a BLP Gov’t someone sent me a partial list of the projected Ministers and it lists OSA as PM and Min of Finance; George ( Hats) Payne as Deputy PM; Mia as Minister of Education ( no more Deputy PM); Dale Marshall as Atty General; Noel Lynch as Minister f Tourism ; S Bradshaw as the Min. of Culture etc. and Kerrie as Min of Foreign Affairs (they think he would be a good diplomat and wouldn’t refer to the overweight women at the UN as “blubber”).

When I saw the list I thought the sub title should be “Back to the Future” The little birdie also informed me that the swearing in will be at Haggatt Hall (for the symbolism and Kensington is for cricket) he also advised that one of the new Gov’t first acts will be to get the Deputy PM to hand Barrack a cheque for 50 million at a public ceremony (just to show that the Gov’t will take care of the little people).

42. A lot can happen in less than then a year. Bear in mind the government has not mounted a response to CLICO yet. It promises to be an interesting period in the next months.

43. old onion bags Avatar

You mean ..” a lot worse could surface “…Why is the PM seemingly STRETCHING OUT TIME.? Allowing the CLICO vultures to cover they track of course.. This is making 2 years that all this S***E is going on.The stench that permeates is sicking…. THIS PAUSE on everything is more to his detriment as people are seeing clearer NOW…let him continue…the surrounding landscape declines with the passage of time..Oh sleep dear PM enjoy your slumber….the people are no idiots.When you awake the race will be over ! INTEGRITY my bot bot

Count down : 8 12 months…..259 days approx.

44. old onion bags Avatar

@ Sarge
    Just chill ..my Canadian cousin…..these Jesse James-ers enjoying their last rites…who could blame them…seeing that not one of them could be found with BALLS to face up to ________= TOO TALKATIVE….It seems like they all have thrown in the dirtied towels and each just want to secure a seat for a MP salary…nobody wants to be associated with stench no longer..who can blame them ! The best thing that could happen now is a purge..A Dr.Cheeseman special…..in St John too.

45. old onion bags Avatar

@ Quick Draw
    Your best writings ever…..a star is born…blogger extraordinaire’…evolves
    Stuart is an ordinary lawyer, that tries to be verbose and impressive as a leader when in fact all he does is to show up his big weakness and inability to connect with the ordinary folk that abide in Barbados. The sooner the people rid him of his obvious burden, the better. Yes, it depends on when he rings the bell. Stuart somehow believes inteligence and reading history stoppped with the last read he had, and no one else can read or even write. I have no apology to make. He in my opinion lacks the imagination or vision to lead this country.

WELL SAID..VERY WELL SAID !

46. The PM told off that “dirtyrag” the Nation newspaper and rightfully told them of their shortsightdnesss and its “rush toprint articles which are unfounded in a quest for sales. THe PM is correct in not forming or making a comment on any story which is soley based on information in any leading newspaper especially when the story is of a high sensitive nature. FACTS first !.

47. @ac

And if you recall last general election it was the turn of the BLP to tell off the Nation.

Arthur even referred to Harold Hoyte as a Negorcrat and not singing in a choir?

So what is new?

48. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

i don’t care about politicians but i will vote for BLP. i say this due to the fact that the one who will most likely get my vote would be the one who inspite of the economy gives the public servants an increase in salary. 3 years and my salary is the same. not only that VAT increased by 2.5. we are being told every day about the horrible state of the economy…fine i can understand that but when the PRIME MINISTER gives his friends, PERMANENT SECRETARIES, DIRECTORS, MINISTERS a huge increase in December or January, tell me how that is fair? no one talked much about, y? because we lived in a previously slave economy, where it was law that the black man should NEVER have more than the white. but it was been transposed now to mean that the man at the bottom must be so far from the top, there would be no hope of catching u. come 2013 and all those gorilla look animals in suits will be thrown back to the jungle that they escaped from in 2008. i really cannot stand the prime minister, he looks like some dumb gold fish, nor donville inniss, he especially who crawls my skin. he looks like if he has a really nasty, sleazy character. whenever i see him, i literally have to turn away, as i am totally nauseated. Owen Arthur may have been all the evil they say but my God tthese imbeciles that make up the DLP are little less than grease monkeys. i just wish they would return to their habitat or just bury themselves in the same grave with Errol Barrow or David Thomspon, maybe they can learn common sense from these two men. that is the level of my contempt for them, except for Dennis Kellman and Richard Sealy both of whom I admire/

49. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Sargeant

“The prevailing sentiment on this blog portrays that the BLP will win in a cake walk”

Dont fool yourself.

As usual the Barbados Labour Party supporters are counting their chickens before they are hatched.

I was at a meeting of the Barbados Labour Party just before the last elections where Seethru told the huge crowd that they were saying that they wanted him but he begged them not to forget his team. And As they say the rest is history. This guy dont seem to learn anything. Now he is saying the same thing again, the people want me.

What a laugh!!

We know that he wants his hat-trick of defeats and we will give it to him.

50. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Smooth Chocolate

My family and I will be voting for the Democratic Labour Party.

Leave a Reply to old onion bagsCancel reply