Minister Denis Lowe (1) Peter Allard (r)

What has been exposed by the hair raising report prepared by Judicial Manager Deloitte is the light regard directors of CLICO companies viewed their fiduciary responsibility. Directors followed meekly the dictate of Parris which  speaks to a weak corporate governance system. It is only god’s mercy we have enjoyed a stable financial climate through the years. What other rotten situations are waiting in the wings to surprise Barbadians? A read of the Auditor General’s Report gives a hint at what happens in the public sector. BU is waiting patiently on the newly established Financial Services Commission (FSC) to demand insurance companies like CGI, Trident and others publish timely financials in the private sector.

If one can find reason to laugh at the current situation, it is the suggestion that the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) can easily run a campaign in the next general election on the need for improved corporate governance and transparency! The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) has failed to deliver on transparency legislation although there is still time. Against the foregoing we are concerned at goings-on at the Caves of Barbados Limited.

Those who have visited the Caves since major repair work have been rightly impressed. It must be stated however that Barbadian taxpayers will have to repay a loan of 88 million dollars as a result. There is also a BNB 5 million dollar overdraft which the Caves of Barbados require to support its day to day operations.  In the circumstances the role of the board of directors at  Caves of Barbados is important to ensure taxpayers interest is safeguarded.

BU understands the Caves of Barbados board expires on Wednesday (29/02/2012) but it has been a stormy tenure. It is reported Haldene Dottin in protest resigned as Chairman some time ago. In the circumstances Deputy Chairman Wismar Greaves as required under the by-laws of the company has experienced difficulty in calling monthly board meetings. It appears Minister Denis Lowe, the minister responsible for the Caves of Barbados has issued ‘an order’ that board meetings should not be held until he introduces a new Chairman to replace Haldene Dottin. A copy of a letter sent by Deputy Chairman Greaves in October 2011 to CEO of the Caves Joanne Grant expresses the sorry state of affairs prevailing at the Caves of Barbados. A reminder that the Caves of Barbados is a limited liability company with government as the sole shareholder.

Why did Minister Denis Lowe believe he should prevent or frustrate the scheduling of board meetings as required under the by-laws of the Caves of Barbados? Why has the full board of directors not tender their resignations in protest?  What does CEO Grant of Harrison Cave and Minister Denis Lowe have in  common as employees of the crown? Why is the son of former politician Rommell Marshall still entitled to a Blackberry from the cash strapped Caves of Barbados with a high bill?

In the letter attached there is the notification that Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart authorized relevant parties at the Caves of Barbados to allow Deputy Chairman to call a meeting on the premises. How on earth does anyone anyone have the effrontery to go against the instruction of a Prime Minister?  This is not the first time we have have asked for the resignation of Minister Lowe. His relationship with Peter Allard has generated several unanswered questions. The fact that Prime Minister Stuart has to tolerate such weak performances from ministers to shore up his parliamentary support is regrettable.

124 responses to “Corporate Governance Awry At Caves Of Barbados”

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

800 Words

I hope the BLP dont forget to tell the people that if the Supervisor of Insurance and the man he reported to had done their jobs properly, for which the taxpayers of Barbados paid them, then no insurance company would be a problem to anyone.

Of course we now know that they were all asleep at the wheel.

2. @Carson

You are so totally out of step with how made people feel about this CLICO business that it is beyond words to engage you on the matter. What matters is how the situation is retrieved.

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

As the old people say, “if you start wrong you will end wrong”, the Barbados Labour Party created the mess and they are now attempting to weasel out .

What should really happen is the former BLP cabinet members should make a size able monetary contribution to the policy holders of CLICO since they are the ones that have them in this mess in the first place. They failed to provide proper oversight of the Insurance industry in Barbados. Hence we are where we are now.

So I am not letting them off the hook.

4. @Carson Cadogan

Let us accept your last comment. What about the report delivered by Deloitte which paints a murky picture of David Thompson. Why don’t you comment on that if you will.

5. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Can anyone refresh my memory what happened after Trade Confirmers kicked the bucket?

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

If in doubt, read this:

“the Barbados Labour Party created the mess and they are now attempting to weasel out .”

“They failed to provide proper oversight of the Insurance industry in Barbados. Hence we are where we are now.”

If you understand any of this, then nothing in the Deloitte report would be “murky” to you.

7. Ok, delivered in predictable fashion.

8. Carson Cadogan is a one trick pony–$75k cheque–and recent events have ended his revue.

9. I heard a DLP yardfow, a Mr Massiah on Brasstacks today saying that Leroy Parris is a good man, he did not keep all the money for himself, he helped out other people, he shared the money around. I wanted to screamed because Dennis Johnson let him get way with that nonsense.

Mr Massiah, the money was not Leroy Parris’ own for him to do as he bloodly well liked. How can anyone justify this thiefery and corruption?? The yardfowl like the one above will bring in all kinds of red herrings but what is bad here is that the a man who was steeped in politics, opposition leader and then Prime Minister aided and abetted this FRAUD.

Corporate jet least at US$71,000 a month to fly Parris, Thompson, Denise Mongerie, Fay Parris and Mara Thompson around! LP had three company cars, guaranteed bonus of $300,000 up to $600,000. All to an air head.

Look I am so mad………..he really needs to be arrested!

10. Perhaps the BTA and other government agencies should become sensitive to the caterers they contract.

11. Carson

The ‘insurance industry’?
    The last time I checked it was only CLICO and BA that collapsed not the industry. Moreover CHL is not an insurance company and the Supervisor had no knowledge or control over jet leasing, 100% increase in pay, $10m bonus with no performance targets attached, fraudulent invoices for $3.3m and decision-making without the approval of the Board. The late PM however knew and as an aspiring and then PM ought to have known better.In my humble opinion his actions were worse than the Supervisor and the BLP government combined.

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Prodigal Son

Stop foaming at the mouth,

The door was left open for anything to take place because the proper oversight of the Insurance was not made a priority by the Barbados Labour Party.

People were paid with taxpayers money to ensure that all was well in the industry and they failed to do their jobs properly.

If you want anyone locked up, please include them for dereliction of duty.

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

If ten prisoners escape from Prison because a warder left the gate open, when the prisoners are recaptured dont just charge them with escaping lawful detention, also charge the Warder, who left the gate open, with gross negligence and lock up him too.

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Prodigal Son

What about the Audit firm that audited CLICO’s books?

They had to sign off on CLICO’s financial reports. Did they report anything wrong?

If not not how come?

You dont think that they should be arrested too?

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Prodigal Son

I do hope that the Barbados Labour Party mention all these points at their
    “show & tell”.

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Can anyone remember the name of the Audit firm which Audited CLICO’s books?

17. The talk show hosts on VoB make me laugh with their constant labeling of callers as being political somehow forgetting or failing to realise that politics is not solely about political parties but ALL the players.
    Anyone familiar with politics knows very well that the media is a political institution that forms part of the power structure, and seeks to influence decision-making that suits their vested interests. VoB is no exception! Case in point the Guinness Rush Hour,

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I will bet the last five dollar bill that I have my pocket that if the Commissioner Of Police was the Supervisor Of Insurance that policy holders of CLICO would not be in the position they now find themselves in.

It is just that some people do their jobs and others dont. Including Cabinet members of the last Barbadso Labour Party administration.

19. I thought the Commissioner of Police ‘had to go’ under this government? Have you not criticised him in the past too?

20. wow. Carson you are a rabid supporter. Engaging you achieves nothing.

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Any mention of CLICO’s Auditors or former Auditors in the Deloitte report DAVID?

Dont tell me they completely ignored their role in this saga?

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Observing

You have it wrong as usual.

I am just FAIR AND BALANCED!

23. @Carson
    THANK YOU!!!! I haven’t had a good fall out my chair roll up pun d floor wake up de neighbors belly laugh in years!!!! murda….I owe you one!

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Observing

You are welcome!

The truth sets you free, I know.

25. truth. oh lawd… there you go again!

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Carson C. Cadogan | February 28, 2012 at 10:24 PM |
    “Any mention of CLICO’s Auditors or former Auditors in the Deloitte report DAVID? Dont tell me they completely ignored their role in this saga?”

I must agree with you here. A rare conjunction of intellect on this blog.
    A “fair and balanced” observation.
    But do you think one audit firm would squeal on another?
    Even your man T T is still on the job at CHL drawing fat salary and perks at the policyholders’ expense. All part of the continuing vampire scam to bilk policyholders and leave them like financial skeletons or walking dead similar to the Trade Confirmers victims.

27. @ Carson C. Cadogan

Was it PWC?

By the way before David Thompson died he appointed Andrew Marryshow, former managing partner of PWC, as the chairman of the Barbados Tourism Investment Inc.

As far as I know he is still the chairman of the BTI, is he a card carrying member of the DLP?

28. Any mention of CLICO’s Auditors or former Auditors in the Deloitte report DAVID? Dont tell me they completely ignored their role in this saga?”

When one decides to go after the auditors….boy ya talking BIG dollars..Enron’s auditors Arthur Anderson went under after being sued.
    How in June & Co…calling dem kinda blenza’s …truly however its the way to go

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Is this a case where Deloitte is protecting a brother Audit firm?

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | February 29, 2012 at 10:24 AM |
    “Is this a case where Deloitte is protecting a brother Audit firm?’

You are getting smart, CCC. Now you see why these “crooks’ got away so long with breaking all the rules.

But CCC, advise your man at the top to ask the man who is in chair of the body which over turned the decision of the marina contract award to resign before he is fired and disgraced. The same man who turned a blind eye to the junior auditors’ concerns about the financial shenanigans and assets unaccountability of the CLICO behemoth over the years.

31. @ millertheanunnaki

Ouch!!

How much will the BTI have to pay for recinding the contract for the marina? In truth doh CCC, you don’t expect that Bajans going to accept that it is going to cost $40 million to redesign a marina, do you?

You have any blasted idea how much work has to be done to justify a redesign const of $40 million dollars? I can bet you that there has never been a marina designed, anywhere in the entire world which cost that kind of money for a design.

32. @CCC
    “I will bet the last five dollar bill that I have my pocket that if the Commissioner Of Police was the Supervisor Of Insurance that policy holders of CLICO would not be in the position they now find themselves in.

It is just that some people do their jobs and others dont. Including Cabinet members of the last Barbadso Labour Party administration.”

CCC,
    I promised myself long time ago not to answer you but will do so now. We all agree that the SOI felled down on the job (who knows if he was paid off to turn a blind eye, CLICO is famous for offering bribes). But does this absolve Leroy Parris of spending the policyholders money like if it was his own. Even if there was a deficiency in the required Statuary Funds, if the money was being invested wisely and not being spent willy nilly, there should have been no problems.

I watched this company spending money and I said to my circle of friends, this company is not investing wisely and that was after the purchase of Sam Lord’s Castle, Rayside, Villa Nova and numerous plantations. Nobody ties up so much capital in so much property. But Leroy Parris had plans with the dead king to develop lands and sell houses but all that went up in flames.

When all the truth comes out, your king will be relegated in the annals of history as a liar, a cheater and a thief.

33. Uncle Carson…nice seeing you up and about
    If Fruendel wants his planned new legislation on transparency to stick, Carson whisper in his ear for the Ole Onion, that he gots ta deal wid Leroy and Mara first, or Digga dog ain’t gine eat um.
    To do otherwise, he go be the laughing stock COME ELECTIONS.Mara have to resign she seat and LeBoy some jail time wid D lepers.
    Man David things heating up real cruel these elections boy.Neva a dull moment..wha BTA does say Beyound your wildess Imagination.

34. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

PricewaterhouseCoopers fined £1.4m

Accountant gets record penalty for allowing JP Morgan to appear to comply with rule demanding that client money is kept separate from bank’s own funds

PricewaterhouseCoopers has been fined a record £1.4m and given a rare “severe reprimand” by the accountancy regulator over the failure of investment bank JP Morgan to safeguard billions of pounds of clients’ assets.

The Accountancy and Actuarial Discipline Board (AADB) said PwC had admitted its standards had fallen short after it allowed the UK securities arm of JP Morgan to appear to be complying with rules requiring client money to be kept separate from the bank’s own funds between 2002 and 2008.

The fine against PwC, which had admitted in August to years of mistakes, was eventually determined after a discussion among regulators which had suggested the penalty could be as high as £44m.

PwC had been required to submit a report to the FSA on whether JP Morgan complied with its client money rules and had the internal systems to ensure this was the case. While PwC had done so for each of the seven years in question, JP Morgan had not, in fact, been complying with the rules. The errors meant that an average of £5bn of client money was at risk each day.

The AADB said: “PwC admitted that it failed to obtain sufficient appropriate evidence on which to base these opinions and failed to identify and consequently did not report that [JP Morgan] had not at all times held client money separate from the firm’s money and/or had not taken the necessary steps to ensure that client money was held at all times in an account identified separately from any accounts used to hold money belonging to [JP Morgan] , in breach of the client money rules.”

The action by the accountancy profession comes after JP Morgan was fined £33m by the Financial Services Authority – the largest penalty imposed by the regulator – in June 2010 for failing to segregate client money from its own funds over a seven-year period.

Lack of segregation became a key issue for the FSA after Lehman Brothers collapsed in September 2008. It was discovered to have mixed together its own funds and those of its clients, leaving customers such as hedge funds with concerns about their assets.

The AADB said its tribunal found that PwC had committed misconduct in respect of each allegation in the disciplinary complaints that had been put before it, and found the misconduct to be “very serious”. It imposed a “severe reprimand” on PwC. “A global organisation with the resources of PwC … should never place itself in a position in which an elementary inquiry as to the final destination of client money is not properly answered, and no check is made of the banker holding client money as to its treatment of money, whether the banker is an entirely separate entity or an associate company in the same group,” it said.

The fine of £1.4m – reduced from £2m because PwC co-operated with the AADB investigation– is the biggest levied by accountancy bodies in the UK and surpasses the £1.2m of penalties related to the auditors of companies connected to Robert Maxwell. However, that £1.2m figure would now amount to £1.6m if adjusted for inflation in the intervening period.

Penalties more usually range from £17,000 to £500,000 and more often are connected to the size of the audit fee collected by the accountancy firm.

But the decision by the tribunal showed that on this occasion it had considered whether the fine should be as high as £44m. PwC had argued for a £500,000 fine.

PwC said: “We are pleased that this matter has now been concluded. We regret that one aspect of our work on the private client money report to the FSA fell beneath our usual high standards. When the issue was identified, and before any complaint had arisen, we took action to ensure that staff received additional training in the client monies area.”

http://www.guardian.co.uk/business/2012/jan/06/financial-sector-jpmorgan

35. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Explain to me again why no one is going after The Audit firm here in Barbados?

The Audit firm that allowed all of this to take place without saying a single word of warning.

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Prodigal Son

You are being very selective with who or whom you want arrested.

If you are really interested in arresting people please include:_

The Supervisor Of Insurance

The Minister he reported to

The Govt. man at the top of the Ministry of Finance

The Principals or Partners of CLICO’s Audit Firm

Can you believe that all of these people were paid to protect the people interest, and paid quite handsomely.

But what did we get, A MASSIVE FAILURE OF OVERSIGHT. AND ALL OF THEM ARE STILL WALKING ABOUT FREE AS BIRDS.

I do hope that the Corrupt Barbados Labour Party mention all of this at their “show & Tell”, dont just tell half the story.

37. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I also notice that no one answered as to what happen after Trade Confirmers kicked the bucket.

38. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Which Audit firm audited Trade Confirmers accounts?

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | February 29, 2012 at 6:18 PM |

First start with firing the man at the helm of the marina project fiasco.

Collect evidence in order to do the following:

Bring charges of negligence against the Audit firm in question with the aim of naming and shaming the firm.

Then charge Greenverbs and T T, your friends, btw. And take possession of any real property acquired during their tenure at CLICO as a form of restitution to the policyholders.

Charge the then SOI and Seethru.

But we can’t charge a dead man so we go after his estate as a form of restitution to policyholders.
    But we can charge the office manager for aiding and abetting a fraudulent scheme.

Then justice will not only be done but will also seem to be done. What sayest thou, CCC?

40. CCC,

Most people on this blog see you for what you are, a DLP pimp. The fatted calf is about to be taken away from you all by the voters of this country and you all would do whatever you can to continue to lie, cheat and steal.

41. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Prodigal Son
    “lie, cheat and steal.”

You are talking about the wrong party. “lie, cheat and steal” are all attributes of the Barbados Labour Party.

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Carson C. Cadogan | February 29, 2012 at 8:47 PM |
    “You are talking about the wrong party. “lie, cheat and steal” are all attributes of the Barbados Labour Party.”

it is known that the DLP was formed out of the bosom of the BLP. But to follow in their shoes and continuously hold on the apron string like a frightened little boy to his mother’s is tantamount to monkey mimicking a human. Whatever the BLP do the DLP monkeys do too.
    Man grow up and stop blaming the BLP for your shortcomings, incompetence and infelicities. Time that you stand on your own feet or at least bend over backwards and take it like a true CLICO-like man.

43. CCC
    If you plan to go after Auditors…..hope you have some good money.BTW they would be charged with neglence in tort…not a CRIMINAL act of money laundering and fraud like the two thieves= Parris +Ghost ? Chalk an Cheese man.If I hit your car by accident is different to if I thief it…wha you saying?.Thompson wife why she don’t come out and say something doa …she got 2 lil children to role model ya know…….and tell FUNDY…the sword gine cut both ways starting wid MARA.

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ old onion bags | February 29, 2012 at 9:06 PM |

One hopes OSA lives up to his bravado. He has a habit of spitting verbal fire like a dragon but when it’s time for real action he behaves like a little pussycat and his political viagra seems to disappear. We don’t want any premature political ejaculation where this matter is concerned. This not the Pierhead marina decoy. Many people’s livelihoods in their old age are at stake (I am not referring to greedy EFPA’s investors). The country’s reputation is on the line both regionally and internationally. We need to display a sense of maturity where our laws and integrity of the financial system are concerned. Overseas Bajans would be rather reluctant to invest in any financial instruments back home if we take a lackadaisical approach to this rather serious matter; one in a long line of abject shame and slander(Trade Confirmers, BCCI, Narsham, Northern Rock et al).

45. old onion bags Avatar

Overseas Bajans would be rather reluctant to invest in any financial instruments back home if we take a lackadaisical approach to this rather serious matter; one in a long line of abject shame and slander(Trade Confirmers, BCCI, Narsham, Northern Rock et al).
    @June & Co
    V.well said Miller….poor Carson C tru. Cadogan….he wants to compare onions wid a digga potatoe…how he expect to rant THIEFERY with NEGLIGENCE , a fool evatime….auditors is the last body you go after …deal wid ELboy and Mona Lisa… get back summa the money first…..den look to spend some on the Auditors…..don’t get distracted will all the long winded submissions by BLIND MAN CARSON….he wants to distract unna

46. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

What happen to Trade Confirmers clients after it collapsed?

What did the Govt. of the day do?

Who were Trade Confirmers Auditors?

47. old onion bags Avatar

@ CCC
    The Mr. Diversion Man>>> I Reprint
    If you plan to go after Auditors…..hope you have some good money.BTW they would be charged with neglence in tort…not a CRIMINAL act of money laundering and fraud like the two thieves= Parris +Ghost ? Chalk an Cheese man.If I hit your car by accident is different to if I thief it…wha you saying?.Thompson wife why she don’t come out and say something doa …she got 2 lil children to role model ya know…….and tell FUNDY…the sword gine cut both ways starting wid MARA.

48. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

None of the BLP people on this blog including the Blog owner want to answer my questions because they know full well where it will lead to.

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Carson C. Cadogan | March 1, 2012 at 3:22 PM |
    “None of the BLP people on this blog including the Blog owner want to answer my questions because they know full well where it will lead to.”

Let me give you an answer you want to hear to titillate your large political clitoris.

All the thieving, corruption and scandal relating to the other failed Insurance and financial institutions happened under the BLP terms in office.
    To even see how bad the BLP administration was in regulating these rip-off scam entities Owen Seethru Arthur was in charge (even during the collapse of Trade Confirmers) and got rich from them. Is that what you want to hear? You now feel satisfied and orgasmically fulfilled by getting off on Seethru. Go and swallow the filth and lies just given and catch verbal diarrhoea.

Now for the antidote: How much money did the DLP receive from CLICO for the January 2008 elections?
    Under which administration did CLICO pay $3.3 million to DT Associates with the office manager fully in charge of all receipts and payments.

PS: David (BU Master Blogger): Forgive the robust and sexually loaded language. But I just had to “get if off” my chest where Carson is concerned.
    Sorry BU Family. My apologies sincerely offered!

50. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

millertheanunnaki(May2012)

What or more correctly who cause the failure of Trade Confirmers?

Leave a Reply to Carson C. CadoganCancel reply