Submitted by Porridgeboy
Senator Orlando Marville, Chairman of Governance Advisory Board

The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) came to power on what is known and clearly established as a myriad of EMPTY promises. This country was promised an accessible and transparent government. In his 2008 Budgetary Proposals, page 25, the late Prime Minister David Thompson spoke about a Governance Advisory Board that was set up under the Chairmanship of Independent Senator Orlando Marville, former Central Bank Governor Calvin Springer, Professor Dr. Eudine Barriteau, Attorney at Law Monique Taitt, the Very Reverent Frank Marshall, Dean of St. Michael and Shantal Munro-Knight a leader and policy–advisor in the NGO movement.

This board was to prepare draft legislation in the following areas:

• Integrity (to include declaration of Asset by Public officials, and a code of conduct for Ministers
  • Defamation
  • Freedom of Information
  • New Constitutional Provisions to rationalize the power of the Prime Minister.

Hence I am forced to ask a few question:

• Where has this board disappeared to?
  • Did it die with the late Prime Minister?
  • Was this just another promise to capture the vote of the people?

Folks, I am only asking.

In it’s 2008 declaration of principles, policies, and objectives, commonly known as a Manifesto, the Democratic Labour Party stated on page 6, under the caption “Putting the People First” that lowering the cost of living was its objective. It stated factually that the BLP was responsible for ordinary Barbadians not enjoying a comfortable living in this country. Because of their failure to correct the imbalances in the wholesale and retail sectors, hence forcing small and medium size business (including black businesses) out of the sector.

It further stated that a new DLP administration will use the power and patronage of the government not to disadvantage existing participants in the distribution sector. Instead to allow for new and efficient players to come into the sector and through increased competition contribute to the creation of a fair market structure. Also to liberate the sector and spread options and opportunities to Barbadians creating a new environment for lower prices.

The question once again goes a-begging. Has this administration done anything different since taking office in 2008? Is it not the same distributors that the DLP accused the BLP of giving monopolies?  Are we still not waiting for businesses like Cost U Less that was promised by the late Prime Minister, if the distribution sector did not pull up their socks? We are then left to conclude that the statement “to liberalize the sector and level the playing field by spreading more options to Barbadians” was just the same old rhetoric by the DLP.  Simply put, a whole set of emptiness to fill the minds of the people. One thing for sure and that is, life has not been made any easier for Barbadians as promised by this DLP administration. Inflation has soared since 2008 -2011 and the erosion of the middle class is well on its way to being extinct.

This Caring For The Poor government also stated in its 2008 Manifesto under the caption Improving Access to Property Ownership, page 8 that Barbadians from all sectors of society, especially those now starting out on life’s journey a piece of this rock. They promised to maintain the plight of pensioners with “a roof over their heads’’. The manifesto goes on to say that “decent housing is the key to good family life,” and that every citizen has the right to decent affordable housing.

But what has this administration done? The Coverly Project which was to be a pilot project of fifty (50) houses has turn into one large concrete jungle. These houses were built by the private sector and government at a cost of over $300, 000.00 each. For whom are there built? Not the poor.  Over one thousand houses and very few are sold, and serious inquires are dwindling by the day (More on this later),  while those who are really in need of a piece of the rock can only drive-by and look over the walls.

The poor and those who are now starting out on life’s journey are required to rent two and three bedroom houses at places like Country Road Towers at $600 and $830.80 monthly, Tweedside project  three bedroom home rented at $590.80 monthly, to whom? These minimum wage workers are required to meet the high cost of utilities and high cost of food in the supermarkets and pay these exorbitant rents on their little minimum wage. Let us not forget that most of these are very young people with two or three children. Do the math. What about those single mothers and fathers who can’t  find work and will never qualify for any of these homes. What has this caring Government done for them and the poor, NOTHING. Sadly those who were able to elevate themselves through the programs that were put in place by the BLP in the fourteen years they held government now find themselves slipping back down the ladder under the pressures of this idol Government (What humour).

Who has reaped the sweets from this administration?  The little work generated by this administration has largely gone to the private developers that kept all the work for themselves thus avoiding any crumbs falling off the table for the poor to get. The jury is still out on the amount of work small contractors would have received from the developer at Covertly.

This is the Government that boast that they are doing so much for the poor? All this DLP GOVERNMENT has done since it as come to power is to make the poor poorer and is on the verge of bring the middle class to their knees by taxing them here, there and every were,  however they feel like .The DLP conviction leaves a lot to desire .

If this the fulfilment of some of the promises in the DLP Manifesto to the people of Barbados, then I salute them. But did the administration think that we would let them get away with a do nothing cabinet? Ooops I forgot, a Manifesto is not a social contract between the people and the party.

292 responses to “The Democratic Labour Party Caring For The Poor”

1. @ Observing 21/20/12 @10:16pm
    Yes Observing I do agree with you it is a question that will be ask and it will have to be answered I will try to do that now. Never will I dispute that the BLP did not make mistakes in their governance of this country , and I will not put them on any pedestal that is to high , I will never dispute that the DLP was a part of taken this country forward. This is our Barbados and we have come a long way, but under a BLP governance the programs that were set out have always been clear, and therefore one can plan their business and projections to suite a time limited. With a DLP government and more so with this administration there have not been a single set of polices that have offered consumers or investors any confidence. This administration has flip flop on their owned polices on several occasion and therefore has not giving the stability that is so badly needed at this time to the people, the private sector and investors who are eager to take this Country forward.
    Let me leave you with this analogy “You are on your sick bed and the doctor waiting to perform your surgery has a success rate of 1: 10 next to him is another surgeon who has a success rate of 8:10 whose hand would you prefer to put your life in. My friend I have my choice along with several Barbadians. The choice is now yours.”

2. It is amazing that some would chose not to understand how the CLICO issue is resonating.

It was on the lips of most people today and did not portray the government in a good light.

It matters not that the statutory deficit occurred under the BLP.

What matters is that the shit hit the fan under the DLP’s watch and Thompson’s and the DLP incestuous relationship with Parris has only served to blacked the issue for many.

3. @Bajan for life
    I have told you once I have told you twice nobody is going to judge Stuart on integrity or some simple foolish ness which you have propose . Stuart has done nothing. He continues to do nothing and will end up doing nothing. Where then is his integrity? He had a job and did nothing with it D o you like that? Stuart is incompetent, he cannnot deal with his ministers , He cannot deal with Jefff Broomes He cannot deall with a simple announcement of GG What is Stuart competent in? The Dems would like lto know . They say they cannot win with him. He cannot raise money for the campaign.. When it comes to Arthur and Stuart this is a no contest. The two do not compare. Look for something else Stuart is a no starter in any race against Arthur and the Eager 11 say so How do you plead? Think on these things

4. @Check-it out
    “but he inherited a cabinet in which dishonesty demonstrably flourished”
    where ,who and How?

5. so may i remind you that David Thompson is not the PM of Barbados and will never be again unlike OSA who have a sordid Past and is in the running for becoming the PM again.

6. @ac

With respect you are absolutely out of step with what is happening on the ground in Barbados.

7. @ David

The optics look pretty bad when 3.3 million end up in the PM’s firm account from a Company that was in the throes of a financial meltdown, especially when the PM was the Firm’s lawyer prior to his elevation as PM.

One other thing which account did the 3.3 million dollars end up in? Lawyers in Barbados don’t segregate client’s funds from their General operating accounts by means of a Trust account and there is no mechanism in place to determine the ownership of these funds. Is it any wonder that many clients have difficulty retrieving their money from lawyers? Is it any wonder that some lawyers end up on the other side of the defendant’s box?

Don’t expect this to change the PM is a lawyer and many of the leading political figures BLP or DLP are lawyers, perhaps this is an issue that the CJ can address.

8. @Sargeant

The Nation report indicated the executives at CLICO Life confirmed to Deloitte that it was a gratuity payment in favour of Parris.

9. @David “What matters is that the shit hit the fan under the DLP’s watch and Thompson’s and the DLP incestuous relationship with Parris has only served to blacken the issue for many.”

I concur.

10. @David

That was a roundabout way to do it, I would want my funds in my hands not channeled through a lawyer, unless it was done for legal reasons but what do I know.

11. your last comment david with which i wholeheartedly agree

12. @Sargeant

There is probably more in the pestle here. The message the Judicial Managers have sent to the authorities is that some investigation is needed. Whether Parris made the payment via the law firm under advice maybe a secondary consideration.

13. It seems that the rich and famous lifestyle makes politicians corruptible.

14. david i meant to say that i agree with your comment about ac not in step with what is happening here and more or less can be likened to a batsman without a clue as to how to handle the swinging ball. by the way can you enlighten me as to the quantum of the statutory deficit which started under the blp.

15. @BLP porridgeboy
    You warm over the porridge again
    The fact is the BLP had NHC pun pause – the facts are there for all to see. Instead of building houses, the BLP had a man build a office building and did not pay him- that was the misguided focus of the NHC under the BLP.
    The visionary leadership of this DLP has changed that.

You need to come out of Coverley and drive around. Talk to the people that I know that have received calls from NHC in the last 4 years and who have moved into their own homes, not millionaires but clerical officers, secretaries, masons.
    Only you and onions cannot see the housing progress. The BLP cannot win the housing nor the integrity argumement.
    You are dismissed. Next!

@the surgeon analogy – bare nonsense- if a man perform 8 out 10 plasters to scrapes and bruises sucessfully does not mean that he will be a successful at major open heart surgery which he has never done.

16. Dead men tell no tales but there is anecdotal evidence that could tarnish the “reputation” of the DLP.

17. @Miller etc.

So let the governing party bring or rekindle legislation before the House and see if the Opposition would oppose it. Then we would know who is decent or who is for or against the people.

I don’t believe that the Governing Party will do so at this late stage in the game, but I don’t believe the BLP will do so either if they get the keys to the Treasury. If I was there I would walk down Broad Street in the middle of the day with a lit Gas lamp and like Diogenes proclaim I was seeking an honest man to lead the country.

However since I can’t be two places at once I nominate you to act on my behalf, you can ask your second man Onions to accompany you, I’m sure he wouldn’t refuse.

18. @balance

At the time the crap hit the fan CLICO deficit was stated at 54 million.

19. Sargeant | February 22, 2012 at 11:52 PM |

That was a roundabout way to do it, I would want my funds in my hands not channeled through a lawyer,

your statement tells me you don’t know or understand the relationship between the former Pm and Parris. these men were brothers from other mothers.

believe that.

20. Until a full investigation is carried out and findings show that they are improprities on Thompson’s part i will continue to sing solo

21. @ac

There are two aspects to the CLICO matter which should not be bundled.

One there is the suggestion of impropriety by Thompson which you correctly opine has to be investigated.

Secondly there is the collateral damage which the DLP will suffer because of how decisions were/have been made to date which give the appearance of a lack of transparency.

It is this second reason when added to the albatross of the economy on its back that will likely make regaining the government a gargantuan task.

22. David, never heard how much it was. 54m. Some clarification, is it not that the statutory fund cover even if fully paid up will only provide 25,000 person according to law? So policyholders would still be in muck. I heard somone say that Thompson had policies too and get it back while the rest of we sucking the salt. Is this likely to be confirmed by that audit? Is Parris still drawing 80,000 a month. He only resign as chairman, not CEO.

23. @ ac

what word describe your last post. let me think….. I would have to make up one. What you think a forensic audit is? it publishes facts yhuh…..

24. David commented
    What matters is that the shit hit the fan under the DLP’s watch and Thompson’s and the DLP incestuous relationship with Parris has only served to blacked the issue for many.
    Thank you .For one moment, I thought David Thompsin and LeBoy Parris were pardoned by powers from above, and that those poor suckers whose monies were MOVED, SPENT,DEPOSITED in a bank account in Castries, were the thieves and crooks for working hard all their lives.
    I cannot believe the audacity of permanent YARD FOWLS like ac and DLPFaLIFE, in treating money laundering and swindling as a misdemeanor.

I am sure many senior citizens have died or their health seriously impaired stressing or unable to attain medicines or an operation, because their monies that we put aside for a RAINY DAY were pocketed and manhandled by racketeers the likes of these CRABS,Leboy and Thompsin.

To you DLP-ites,it is only have when you have a senior in your family and see the tears and worry that has been occasioned to them by this conspiracy by these THIEVES( whose wives have lots of money, good jobs). Many a day I passed by this 83 year old kin, wrecked with sorrow, asking if there was any good news on the CLICO matter.

And you yard fowls chose to speak nonchalantly as those this was just another nothing.>>>>
    “some similar events happened under the BLP watch and now there is some evidence that some irregularity was afoot under the DLP.”
    BULL SHIT Sargeant..ARE YOU AWARE OF THE HUMAN ELEMENT..?.the pain and suffering of those ELDERLY Barbadians who are still suffering as a result of this ?
    The insensitivity of it also falls within Mr.Freundel Jerome Struart’s domain, not a cent or an immediate relief fund set up to aid the victims who have pressing needs,(operationsmedicines), as we all know these people WERE ROBBED of their savings.
    So you insensitive DLP ranters could put a plug in it. This is not Sunday evening drive casual discussion, dismissing the serious gravity of this most insidious criminal act by a man Barbadians were fooled in to believing was a “king on earth”, but GRAN LARCENY perpetrated against weak and defenseless citizens he as PM took oath to protect.

Thank you June Fowler & Co. for the tenacity and resolved you gave to this matter, thank you forensic audit team ant Deloitte and Touche Canada, for setting about to do something for these hard working Barbadians whose contributions to this society should not be kicked to the kerb, and wicked criminals be allowed to go unpunished.

25. @old rotten onions
    You are full of crap and you do not give a hoot about the policy holders – you care about the BLP plain and simple… save the crocodile tears.
    We all want policyholders – life,health,etc to have access to their funds.
    If you cared about the policy holders you would be man enough to also admit the BLP’s culpability in this matter – NOT one one word from you on Affa’s ignoring the statutory fund deficit while praising de same Parris in 2007. The alarm bells went off and Owen Affa did nothing.
    You will no doubt ignore that as it suits your selfish political motives to do so.

The problems with CLICO were varied but I fully expect you as the CEO of BLP Yardfowls Inc. to ignore any thorough analysis and blame the late PM for everything.

Even if Affa and Parris were not buddies, from a regulation perspective AFFA as Minister of Finance dropped the ball, that is a an undisputable fact.
    The forensic audit looked at the transactions between the law frim and CLICO but the regulators fell down before Jan 2008. The sad thing is while Thompson is gone, the hypocrite Owen Affa will like you try to act like it is all the DLP’S fault.
    Let the typical yardfowl responses begin.

26. @Bajanfuhlife

You are correct it is about political opportunism and this is to be expected.

What is also expected that the DLP would have use some political savvy in dealing with the matter knowing all that is known.

A lot of the stink which has stuck to the government is off its own making.

27. NO NO NO BajanDLP ..NO NO NO ….
    Are you have you gone stark blaring MAD ? Do you believe the Supervisor of Insurance to be in constant communication with the Prime Minster’s Office at all times ? Even if there was a Statutory Fund deficit back for CLICO back in 2007,sometimes a little latitude is given by SOI to companies in terms of a time extension, to make up the shortage in monies that they are required to lodge in the Treasury. In am sure if you were to check today, there may be Insurance companies on your books in a similar temporary position. Does that mean, they must close down tomorrow? You give them some time to make good

REGARDLESS >>>>THERE IS A BIG DIFFERENCE BETWEEN….MONEY laundering and FRAUDULENT PRACTICES….And

An EXTENSION ON A REGULATORY REQUIREMENT.

The people are not foolish>>>>anyone with an inkling of sense can see the difference.

WE SHALL SEE WHAT ELSE THE AUDIT REVEALS…..thank all mercies it is being done INDEPENDENTLY.

ONE TERM BUDDY…….YOU all and “the King” MADE THIS OPPORTUNITY ONE TERM ..for SURE

28. Boondoggle #7
    Sealy yesterday open the Sherbourne car park cost under $9.3 Million….imagine dat $9 million for a car parK ?We musse got gold beams and silver streams in that construct…but wait this is nearly 15 yrs and the white elephant aint PAY BACK for itself yet…..but 9.3 M more boy
    FAMILY FIRST boy !…off loading time.

29. @Bajanfor life
    You continue to mislead yourself. The NHC was broke and Arthur recapitalised it. The BLP like the DLP built office space in Warrens so we have the Barrack Building and David’s Castle there.. The strategy of the BLP was multi-pronged on housing.1. Reduced mortgage rates 2. direct house building by NHC 3.Houses built by small and large contractors 4. Homeowners borrowing monies from various places including NHC to start homes 5.Other housing solutions eg renting land , UDC and RDC housing for the poor and indigent, rent to own, Urban tenantry help at 2.50 a square feet. I know you remember these iniatiatives and would have given them your fullest support. Now tell me how the DEMS are doing in these areas. . I remind you of the multipronged attack not the PR of giving keys in public with the Police Band , RPB and food in tow.Small things amuse small minds. The facts will be stated . You can stay with the fluff and froth. Think on these things

30. Imagine
    When the Earl and Countess of Wessex get wind of what’s happening, she gine leave the DIAMONDS pun D ship fa sure ..and hold D handbag tight tight tight… welcome to.D Den of de once ALIBABA

31. @truetoform

The reality is that the independent/swing voters are disillusioned by the approach of both parties. That is the issue some of us must grapple with as we read the sound bites which will only appeal to the base but do nothing to address the worry.

32. @Old Onions

I was waiting for you to add to the family tree, you’ve already told us about your son and daughter who are having a hard time under the BLP and now you’ve introduced another member (83 year old kin), spare us the suspense, tell us about all of them at once.

BTW I used boondoggle to describe the BLP failures Greenland; Castle in the Air ( Barrack/Payne/Arthur folly) etc.so come up with another word if you want to describe the DLP shortcomings.

33. If this Govt had any remorse, and were caring towards the needs of those elderly policyholders,they could have set up an interim Emergency Fund..This to be repaid from any recovered court proceeds of this debacle, for those who may need that costly operation, medicine, etc….instead of finding $$$$ endlessly for spending on …a sign $14 million, a car park $9 million,a future BNB bank in 10 mths, current paving of roads, sprucing up Govt hse,sprucing up schools,sprucing up the Police HQ….
    No the Clico policyholders are lepers.

34. @onions –
    You got any idea how much a multi storey car park would cost – get real!
    You have a first class conference centre and you want people to park on sidewalks , in people driveways and down by the BCC. The car park will also complement the additional office space which will earn revenue for the facility. Your political myopia is amazing but expected.
    The competent DLP government is working. The budgeted cost was 9.347 million and the structure was completed for 8.5 million – ON TIME AND UNDER BUDGET which is a concept unheard of under the BLP.
    Well done Minister Sealy, Take a bow!

35. @BajanFa Death

The car park will also complement the additional office space which will earn revenue for the facility. Your political myopia is amazing but expected.

.give a dog enuff rope and he go hang ee self..

Point exactly, what earnings ? That monstrosity of a white elephant ain’t pay for itself yet……and they spending more money on it ?..I hear a further $ 28 million for Offices…..office fa who ?Offices all bout de place in bdos EMPTY…..and we building more ? NO… you get real…..you spending what we don’t have on what we don’t NEED….Oh but least Onions forget this is the last TERM…and some people ain’t GET FED yet….say what ya mean

Operation : OFF LOAD UNLIMITED

36. old onion bags | February 22, 2012 at 8:14 AM |

The plot thickens…….But I ent hear about the St. Lucia connection yet when and where a Golden parachute deposited in a company named consisting of part names on the wives of ElBoy and the dead king….of $10 million in event….shit hit the fan.
    To think such a calm subdued St.Lucia face could be behold behind such secrets …..besides its down right dishonesty .. madam, CLICO got St.John policy holders too ya know… ……………………………………

onions,

you know what sickens me, it is every time she speaks, she says “my beloved husband” as if he was a saint or no one else has a beloved husband or wife. Strange enough, the JDM fail to mention the trail leading to FAMILIES FIRST. I agree with Miller, Terrence Thornhill should not be still at the helm of this company, far less now after these revelations.

37. ac, No i am just trying to point out the hypocriscy coming from the BLP camp. more over the fact that all this is being played out in the public forum speaks to the integrity of the DLP in wanting to give such negative information in an election year. i call it as i see it. now deal with it no apologise……………………..

No ac, do not call the word integrity in conjunction with the DLP. The two are not synonymous. The fact is the JDM has to report its findings to the Court. This is nothing about the DLP allowing negative information to get out in an election year. Have you selectively forgotten that the dead king refused to appoint a JDM when Mia Mottley was shouting loudly for this to be done.

The dead king then reluctantly agreed to an Oversight Committee just to fool the policyholders that something was being done. William Layne complained bitterly that he found it difficult to get info out of CLICO from either Greenverbs or Thornhill. The dead king played for time and the time expired for the Oversight Committee and then the grim reaper put in his appearance. It then took Chris Sinckler and the PM nearly a year before they agreed to a JDM. In that period, Greenverbs was still calling the shots.

The rest is history.

38. Hey Bajan
    Correction 17 years ( Sherbourne Conf. Centr)
    I dig up some info on the White Elephant that Sandi built for all to see the waste:
    Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Conference and Cultural Centre

First opened in 1994, the building contains a total of over 164,000 sq ft (15,200 m2) [1] of meeting space and is made up of space which may be subdivided for smaller events of between 50-1200 persons (theatre style). The building is also serviced by one of the most advanced telecommunication services on the island including direct fibre optic cable access, a microwave receiving and transmitting link, a hospitality lounge with teleconferencing, internet access, audio and visual recording and editing suites, a business centre, and a multi-purpose outdoor gazebo. The Conference Centre is equipped with the latest technology in Building security.

A trying to find some financial info…so hold…it doan mek nah money..or not yet a profit ok

39. Miller wrote,
    Minister Donville Innis has eventually let the cat out of the bag.
    He said that Barbados is NOT experiencing any economic recession but an “Intellectual” one.
    Intellectual Depression, more like it and starting with his colleagues!
    Do you agree with the Minister, Canadian Sargeant?
    How about you bajanfuhlife and ac?
    Old Onions, you really got these fellows on the run especially now that the CLICO/Thompson nexus has been officially established…………………………………………………….

miller, I could not believe my ears when I heard the Minister saying this. Were we not lead to believe that all the problems in Barbados are a result of the economic recession? The more the monkey climb, the more exposes his tail!

40. All ya see that “Yacht” de Royalty arrived on ?
    Prof. boy you # 1 investor now reach these shores…..Go show us your metal..D Wessex got $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$.

41. And to think that with the little money that was left in reserves the DLP in these hard recessionary times can still build a state of the art car park.and still was able to bring thev deficit down and have been able to put an extra 12 millions in the coffers.

42. @porridgeboy
    Well debated. If only the DLP people could get their soundbites and statements together in such a cohesive way we could have a good national debate. It’s not that they lack facts, willpower and some accomplishments, it’s just that they’re all over the place and as David said, letting sh#$ hit the fan all the time instead of sweeping it out the door.

“David is not the PM”

BUT, the DLP got into power SOLELY because of him, his machinations and public image. What they should have done is consolidate that vicotry to buttress any illusions of impropriety, coruption or malfeasance. Alas, they did not read the manual on securely keeping a government for more than one term, nor are they reading the frustration of the public.

Also, in politics allegation and appearance of impropriety sometimes is enough, proof or not. In this CLICO case enough has been said and done (or not done) to place the entire government, th PM, the former PM, and the MoF under justifiable scrutinty and question. The ball’s in the FSC’s court. HOw they handle it will inform their integrity as an independent commission. The newborn baby has to swallow or choke on this hard food.

@Bajanfuhlife
    Can you inform us of any other nationally beneificial policies (that were promised in the manifesto) other than housing? And, performance aside, would or will the housing minister be able to withsatand any allegations or exposure of potentially questionable buisness dealings??

@all that are placing blame on ARthur for CLICO
    True, BUT, he never publicly defended the company nor Parris when it was clear that there were problems, neither did he wax profoundly on his friendship, association and relatinoship with the esteemable Parris, neither did he refuse a months long call for judicial management, which still was needed anyway and neither did he publicly toast, party, lounge and lime with a aman whose company has thousands of Barbadians seeing red and holding their breath. On the CLICO issue its at least 3-0 to the BLP. In a close election that may be all that’s needed.

Rule #1 in politics, if an ally looks certain to make you sink, ditch him publicly…drink a brandy with him late at night behind closed doors. The DLP lacks the political astuteness to weather the multiple attacks they are facing and will continue to face. God help us

Sorry for the length but I just had my morning coffee 🙂

43. “When a former PM could have been so deeply intertwined in such corrupt and unlawful dealings then persons involved directly or indirectly have to take responsibility for this sordid act of maladministration and malfeasance. We pretend we follow the Westminster form of governance”. ……………………………….

miller,

What is galling is the fact that David Thompson lured half of Barbados to Haggatt Hall to tell them how corrupt the BLP was and all the while he was so corrupt.

Well, all the people who voted for them must be feeling rather duped. The morning after this meeting, as I walked into my office, some Trinis (would you believe this) light into me, man your party real corrupt, how do you explain this cheque and 3S’s. They had a field day at my expense. I took it all. I wore black to work that day because I knew Bajans would live to regret what they did.

Now we know that all the while the dead king was purporting to be a saint! To this day, I am still annoyed with my bank, Scotia. In their full page ad in tribute to Thompson, they had a picture of him and under it the word “integrity” spelling out the meaning. I was so vexed, I called my Personal Banker and complained. I wonder what Scotia is saying now….moral excellence, honesty, wholeness, soundness…does this really describe the dead king?? Hell no!! But I said then and I maintained, people got on the bandwagon and tried to portray David Thompson to be something that he WAS NOT. I said then and I still say, Thompson must have been laughing how he fooled the people so. I wonder what they religious leaders who backed him are now saying…..David Durant, the one who said that Thompson would not die under his watch, the Holfords, Guy Hewitt (who spoke of an epiphany) and Lucille Baird.

By the way, miller and onions, what is the connection with the Antigua Commercial Bank?? Remember that Antigua is the most corrupt country in the Caribbean. Is Stanford connected in any way? What about the company called MARFA?? (Mara and Fay) Did the audit pick up any info on this company?

44. @ ac
    to think that with the little money that was left in reserves the DLP in these hard recessionary times can still build a state of the art car park.

After reading Observer’s submission above, you and your silliness just fade into the background…..this is not the ac to which we are accustomed… we look forward to better….facts tell us otherwise…..sadly the DLP has no asset count.

45. @ Prodigal
    Shhhh boy you got to left lilbit fa D platform ..ok enuff said…

A super submission !

46. @ DLP for life In a crisis DLP aching and craking about money, debt, hard to pay 30m for the prison, wunnah find money fuh everything that is peripheral and unnecessary when other urgent things are needed. Donville boasting bout cutting health care by 12m., gov’t borrowing from NIS to pay salaries at RDC, UDC, Sports council and a carpark is priority. Are you a Cornwell? In what category do you put the Thompsons involvement with Clico? What part of good government is it? Will you join us in calling for Mara Thompson to payback that money and all other monies that may have been filched from Clico that may form part of David T.’s legacy to her so Bajan old people could get their Clico pension and buy some rice.

47. Last night on the CBC News, a Guyanese contractor alleged to be a fraudster and racketeer, was taken into custody, by police while shopping in a popular supermarket. It is alleged he obtained fraudulently monies from poor people to the tune of less than> $200,000…..Yet we have another alleged racketeer and fraudster hub nubbin with the rich and famous for a good few years….amounts in question in this case…. the $100,000,000 of dollars ….shopping in the very same supermarket as he likes, when he feels like.
    What did Anonija the calypsonian sing “Two Barbados-es”…hmmmm

48. Are you guys for real OSA borrow m.oney to the hilt to fiance projects like the grantley like the kensignton oval and the harrisons cave project so much so the deficit was out of control between 2005 and 07.

49. June Fowler has asked a good question. How involved was David Thompson. As PM he could not have been involved as an attorney, as the office would not permit it.

My sources tell me that on becoming PM he had sold his interest in the law firm that still bears his name.

But the question remains, how involved was he.

50. Whatever wuuna say about the DLP does not erase the corruption of the BLP 14years ago. keep tryingDavid is dead all thatis left now is for the BLP vultures to feast on his carcass. BONNE APPETTIE

Leave a Reply to old onion bagsCancel reply