Submitted by Porridgeboy
Senator Orlando Marville, Chairman of Governance Advisory Board

The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) came to power on what is known and clearly established as a myriad of EMPTY promises. This country was promised an accessible and transparent government. In his 2008 Budgetary Proposals, page 25, the late Prime Minister David Thompson spoke about a Governance Advisory Board that was set up under the Chairmanship of Independent Senator Orlando Marville, former Central Bank Governor Calvin Springer, Professor Dr. Eudine Barriteau, Attorney at Law Monique Taitt, the Very Reverent Frank Marshall, Dean of St. Michael and Shantal Munro-Knight a leader and policy–advisor in the NGO movement.

This board was to prepare draft legislation in the following areas:

• Integrity (to include declaration of Asset by Public officials, and a code of conduct for Ministers
  • Defamation
  • Freedom of Information
  • New Constitutional Provisions to rationalize the power of the Prime Minister.

Hence I am forced to ask a few question:

• Where has this board disappeared to?
  • Did it die with the late Prime Minister?
  • Was this just another promise to capture the vote of the people?

Folks, I am only asking.

In it’s 2008 declaration of principles, policies, and objectives, commonly known as a Manifesto, the Democratic Labour Party stated on page 6, under the caption “Putting the People First” that lowering the cost of living was its objective. It stated factually that the BLP was responsible for ordinary Barbadians not enjoying a comfortable living in this country. Because of their failure to correct the imbalances in the wholesale and retail sectors, hence forcing small and medium size business (including black businesses) out of the sector.

It further stated that a new DLP administration will use the power and patronage of the government not to disadvantage existing participants in the distribution sector. Instead to allow for new and efficient players to come into the sector and through increased competition contribute to the creation of a fair market structure. Also to liberate the sector and spread options and opportunities to Barbadians creating a new environment for lower prices.

The question once again goes a-begging. Has this administration done anything different since taking office in 2008? Is it not the same distributors that the DLP accused the BLP of giving monopolies?  Are we still not waiting for businesses like Cost U Less that was promised by the late Prime Minister, if the distribution sector did not pull up their socks? We are then left to conclude that the statement “to liberalize the sector and level the playing field by spreading more options to Barbadians” was just the same old rhetoric by the DLP.  Simply put, a whole set of emptiness to fill the minds of the people. One thing for sure and that is, life has not been made any easier for Barbadians as promised by this DLP administration. Inflation has soared since 2008 -2011 and the erosion of the middle class is well on its way to being extinct.

This Caring For The Poor government also stated in its 2008 Manifesto under the caption Improving Access to Property Ownership, page 8 that Barbadians from all sectors of society, especially those now starting out on life’s journey a piece of this rock. They promised to maintain the plight of pensioners with “a roof over their heads’’. The manifesto goes on to say that “decent housing is the key to good family life,” and that every citizen has the right to decent affordable housing.

But what has this administration done? The Coverly Project which was to be a pilot project of fifty (50) houses has turn into one large concrete jungle. These houses were built by the private sector and government at a cost of over $300, 000.00 each. For whom are there built? Not the poor.  Over one thousand houses and very few are sold, and serious inquires are dwindling by the day (More on this later),  while those who are really in need of a piece of the rock can only drive-by and look over the walls.

The poor and those who are now starting out on life’s journey are required to rent two and three bedroom houses at places like Country Road Towers at $600 and $830.80 monthly, Tweedside project  three bedroom home rented at $590.80 monthly, to whom? These minimum wage workers are required to meet the high cost of utilities and high cost of food in the supermarkets and pay these exorbitant rents on their little minimum wage. Let us not forget that most of these are very young people with two or three children. Do the math. What about those single mothers and fathers who can’t  find work and will never qualify for any of these homes. What has this caring Government done for them and the poor, NOTHING. Sadly those who were able to elevate themselves through the programs that were put in place by the BLP in the fourteen years they held government now find themselves slipping back down the ladder under the pressures of this idol Government (What humour).

Who has reaped the sweets from this administration?  The little work generated by this administration has largely gone to the private developers that kept all the work for themselves thus avoiding any crumbs falling off the table for the poor to get. The jury is still out on the amount of work small contractors would have received from the developer at Covertly.

This is the Government that boast that they are doing so much for the poor? All this DLP GOVERNMENT has done since it as come to power is to make the poor poorer and is on the verge of bring the middle class to their knees by taxing them here, there and every were,  however they feel like .The DLP conviction leaves a lot to desire .

If this the fulfilment of some of the promises in the DLP Manifesto to the people of Barbados, then I salute them. But did the administration think that we would let them get away with a do nothing cabinet? Ooops I forgot, a Manifesto is not a social contract between the people and the party.

292 responses to “The Democratic Labour Party Caring For The Poor”

1. What’s the matter Sarge…can’t get it up ?…….Wait …..Wait….seems like you on PAUSE….AFFA ..that impotent volley hurled at Truth Man…..search for the viagra man.

2. @ Onions way above

Of course you’re right – a recognition of one’s own idiocy is the first step. The problem is that most of us don’t recognise it though it stares us in the face. When we do, the way is clear for ‘battle honours’. But that was not the point I was making – which was more about the qualitative significance of those idiocies – as I say, which we all share at the trivial level. I was not, of course , condoning theft from pensioners or beggars or anyone else – though, doubtless, theft from the rich for charitable purposes raises interesting questions.

Which leads me to say that this post has become an argument about Biblical interpretation between a pentecostal (DLP) and Roman Catholic (BLP) – it’s going nowhere very much. The battle lines are already fixed and the sniping is from the trenches.

3. @Old Onions

Are you auditioning for your next consultancy? You have shown a remarkable consistency on being able to make multiple comments on every situation with an obvious political slant. As a bovine scatologist you would be familiar with the sound and odour originating from “breaking wind”, to you it wouldn’t even be considered an occupational hazard.

The issues about ethics would be above your pay grade, there is a reason for not casting pearls before swine

4. @ Scrupie
    He is talking like a real minister of education.

Stand corrected; He come fa Prime Ministership boysie….see all them jostling for spots every night…photo ops can dun …also see the hand pose…real arrogance boy…. stupseee PM wha he better look fa holes.

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ old onion bags | February 25, 2012 at 9:35 AM |
    “I still ask why is Terrance ThornHill still at the helm at CLICO….David , anybody ???”

Ole onions bag, you got wax in your ear or you trying to play DLPite politricks, (burying ya head in de sand and exposing your tail!).

De man sweet as ass! You think an (educated” young man could get so close to Greenverbs unless he sold his soul to the devil or his cornwell for some help (aid) from his masters just as he did to ‘lawrency”. This boy got loads of financial secrets on the big boys; especially those in the House on both sides. Secrets not even the forensic auditors can reveal. Not even a pinch of snuff can penetrate the tightness that exists between those that don’t even know their elbow from their arses and the misguided morally indifferent, materialistic “accountant” yes boy.

6. @ Sarge
    a bovine scatologist you would be familiar with the sound and odour originating

Wait it took you that long to Google up dem BIG words…..true to form of the Blowgoat you are… but Onions ain’t got to pretend ..like you he is more than ordinary….you can join the crowd of losers( down here) the DLP..that is one you could put in your pipe and smoke it ..and everybody (down here) understand….(by the way ya “smell” it wrong)…

7. @ Visionary
    Thank ole buddy , but I ain’t need no help ridding of a mongrel kicked to the kerb by his kind. He cud stay out in the cold and holla like an Arctic fox all he likes,his party’s days are numbered and few ( coming elections). He may then have to seek out the help of that assologist to aid his constriction.

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant | February 25, 2012 at 11:52 AM |
    “Old Onions: The issues about ethics would be above your pay grade, there is a reason for not casting pearls before swine”

Sargeant, those who live in glass houses, especially in Martins Bay, should NOT throw stones.

When it comes to your view of ethics and morality leave old onions out and deal with should we say “heavier weights. Bring it on! WE can walk down Yonge St. holding hands just like Grrenverbs and the Dead king David used to do in Miami. Hartley can confirm!

9. Puddin n Souse time boys…in Bim…..will be right back (2 hrs)..

10. Wuhloss, incoming fire from Old Onions and Miler, I think I will wait for the next member of the triumvirate to join before returning salvos. What’s the matter Miller? No Puddin & Souse for you? Is Saturday is your Cou Cou and harslip day? Perhaps it was you I saw in JB’s buying their BBQ chicken.

Gotta run myself, got to full up the old gas guzzler before the prices go up some more, but I hedged my bets got shares in two oil companies so I am losing some and WINNING a little

11. Sarge
    Ya hungry fa souse n puddin nah stand pun ya fours like the yardfowl ya is and tek D cold ya ole moose ah back..bag full and all ya ole dawg…tekkin the liberty ta call out my name..ah see Miller sandpaper ya gud..now I ready fa tag

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant | February 25, 2012 at 1:11 PM |

No Sarge, I eat those dishes very sparingly and infrequently. They are seen as delicacies by me. Just had some veg, sweet potatoes and fish. Drank some avocado pear leaf tea for sexual stamina. Interested?
    I will soon be feeding my cornwell and pet yardfowls which I have nicknamed them “david dead king, greenverbs, sarge, ac and bajanfulife”.

13. @ Miller & Old Onions

What a pair! Who would have guessed? (Onions) The wife makes a good Puddin & Souse if I have a craving and we have another friend who does a good job and invites us over whenever she makes it.

You can call me whatever you want but this yardfowl is different from the likes of both of you, don’t you know they call us “free range chickens” today? We are the rage, we forage for our own food, get plenty of exercise and good old sunlight and some old fashioned sex and are expensive as hell and promoted extensively as seen a source of good nutrition. Contrast that with you factory raised birds, a diet of diseased offal, penned up with artificial light, no sex ( in fact you are asexual), get pumped with all kinds of antibiotics and you shorten the lives of many people.

When I think of you factory raised birds, I remember that you are so rancid that you have been forever immortalized in the song “Chicken & Rum”.

Tek dat.

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant | February 25, 2012 at 5:27 PM |
    That’s why I raised them in my grassy back yard for all the reasons you alluded to!
    Sarge, man, you should be proud to have such a wonderful bird named after you! I even invite you to take one to your bedroom (not when the wifey is around though; she might get jealous with all the noise and all that).
    It would bring back memories of when you were growing up in Bim with all those free range animals around for your taking. LOL!!

15. @Miller

Bring it on! WE can walk down Yonge St. holding hands just like Grrenverbs and the Dead king David used to do in Miami. Hartley can confirm!
    Sometime ago I asked for the real Miller to stand up, and now that you have I am disappointed. Whatever happened to the person who excoriated both political parties for their misdeeds? Was that a front, were you just trying to establish your bona fides as an impartial observer but was an undercover agent? When I was at school a contemporary ( well known in Barbados today) said that when someone becomes well known in Barbados the first thing that Bajans say is that the man is a B…. at that time the not so loud whispers were about two famous cricketers who were and are still household names.

Fast forward to 2012 and I see that not much has changed in the nation that likes to think of itself as “First World” the same anonymous taunts are being made , the same snide remarks about “broke back”, the same hints again and again. Instead of speaking truth to power we skulk around the edges with whispers about someone’s sexuality. This is done to diminish the reputation of the target, we may not be able to lay a glove on them otherwise but this always works. The target is now in a Catch 22 position if they confront the anonymous whispers, it becomes a bigger issue, if they remain silent people say well it must be true “X” never confronted any one about it.

I believe that you are smart enough to make your contribution without resorting to scurrilous innuendo about the sexual proclivities of others unless you have incontrovertible proof and the subject is contextual to the debate.

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant | February 25, 2012 at 6:56 PM |

Remember what was said to you about people who live in glass houses should not throw stones. You attacked old onions when he commented about the immorality of the CLICO fiasco with DT & Greenverbs at the centre of the controversy.

When there were all sorts of scurrilous and dirty innuendos and downright lies regarding MIA’s sexual proclivity you said nothing in defence of the woman.

Go away you putrid hypocrite!

17. My man…sorry let me take that back ..bosie….why you don’t stop all the high faluted talk and big able words and just come out and say that his whole mess was centered around a cadre ,group what ever of ole nasty Bu**ers.Sodom and Gamorrow-ers,… losers eva one of them..back in the day we used to call them bot bot men…for those ova and away who ent following the lingo. It shameful..

18. Go away you putrid hypocrite!

Whhhhaaaaaaaaaaaaa..Miller sandpapering boy. If you want onions tag boss cuz I got a few selective words fa he….ole botty man

19. @ Sarge
    No Sarge, I eat those dishes very sparingly and infrequently. They are seen as delicacies by me

Ya can’t tek the pepper you mean…sure sign of a ole B……..sparingly is right.Ever hear the song sweet in goat mout ,fire in D bum bum !
    Onion ent want Miller fa he …..I ready to mek this botty man shame breds as soon you read tag Miller let me leggo in he ram bam. tag boss

20. @ Sarge
    We are the rage, we forage for our own food, get plenty of exercise and good old sunlight and some old fashioned sex

That is what you call it up there..foraging….I hear the A word got wanna stressing doa..free range bird nah….ya mean a buncha CSers.
    bet ya does visit Grennich Village puna regular..nah…..we dun know how D property itemized in NY…smeary

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ old onion bags | February 25, 2012 at 7:57 PM |

I am a great souse maker. But eat it less often these days. Everything must change, you know. I can’t eat souse unless it got loads of pepper and lime in the pickle. Pepper is a very healthy seasoning (antioxidant for high blood pressure, diabetes, and bad cholesterol). Can’t eat food without it, mate. I have jars of corned pepper-scotch bonnet, bird peppers, chilli. Soaked in onions, vinegar and olive oil with a small quantity of salt. Don’t have to worry about my cornwell, still a one-way street no head-on collisions possible.

22. Yo Miller…that was meant for Sarge…….sorry if I got twisted in my rage boss

old onion bags | February 25, 2012 at 7:57 PM |

23. Where is the ole Broke back Mountain boy anyway ? Son of a Gun.

24. Probably back there Googling up some selective words for his “Salvo”

25. @Miller

Go away you putrid hypocrite
    It takes one to know one, but it must be upsetting to get called out on your moral high ground where you are right about everything. Don’t try to twist my position on CLICO, I have already said “let the Chips fall where they may” about that mess. About Mia: I have made many comments about Mia on this blog both supportive and non supportive but all in the political arena. I have never made any reference to her lifestyle whatever it is, If people of your ilk choose to attack Mia because she is a threat to Arthur then
    a) why should I get involved in Party skirmishes and b) why didn’t you say a word in her defense?

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant | February 25, 2012 at 8:59 PM |
    “I have never made any reference to her lifestyle whatever it is, If people of your ilk choose to attack Mia because she is a threat to Arthur then
    a) why should I get involved in Party skirmishes and b) why didn’t you say a word in her defense?”

For all intents and purposes I withdraw my seemingly derogatory reference to hypocrisy.

One realises that you carry the genetic syndrome of the short memory Bajan.
    Lemuel would tell you that I have taken a barrel of licks for that poor woman and her right to her own sexuality as long as it does not infringe on the rights or well being of others.

Your speak out of ignorance, so all is forgiven: “Father in the Sky, forgive him because the Sarge does not know what he is saying”.

27. Miller
    You are a boss….touche’

28. “The issue with the cheque is that politicians in Barbados routinely deposit money to their personal accounts. In this case with Arthur it was tied up in the CCB/CLICO affair. This amplified it in the eyes of the public”.

David……the hypocrisy of DT. I wonder what all the people who went to Haggatt Hall that night are now saying. All this time, he calling out the BLP and saying they are corrupt only to win a government because the dead king knew what he had planned with Green verbs. But alas, we now know that DT was a slime ball! Hope he can rest in peace!

29. “Al Barrack was hired by the BLP and their were the ones responsible at the end of the day for him receiving his money. The long and short of the story is that the BLP hired and because of their refusal to pay him the issue after being pas through the court was handed down to the present administration. but that does not give clearance to the fact that the past administration refused to pay Barack afterall the BLP did hire him.”

ac,

You had better stay away from this Al Barrack story, you may not like what you will hear. This is a sorry mess that your dead king had a hand in to embarrass the BLP and now the judgement rendered has now come back to bite the DLP in its backside! I would tell you more but as old onions told me, leave some for the platform!!

30. “anybody who is ranting is the BLPities who keep baying like hyenas in heat now that they think or suspect that a cheque written to DT law firm is the winning ticket to the next election ! have you not noticed that no other leading paper in Barbados has even mention this story except the BLP rag the Nation”.

ac, which other leading newspaper you talking about?? Certainly not the Advocate, no body buys that!! They do not print or publish the news only anything favourable to the DLP. The download all their news from the internet. They are worst than DLPTV. And you got the nerve to criticise the Nation.

The Advocate is in the tank for the DLP, they are more bias than the Nation. Case in point the political address by the kingmaker at the king’s funeral. The kingmaker got nuff flack for what he said about he and the dead king choosing boards and the dead king saying that every board must have a Combermerian on it. Do you know that the Advocate printed the speech and edited out that part.

Too bad for them, I have it on tape!! It will probably come in handy in the election campaign.

31. People of intelligence is not going to buy into the bu….sht that is being spouted by the BLP in regards to DT and money laundering this man is and has been respected by the political divided in what is seem as a blatant and a out of out war to defamed and discredit DT and to pacify the conscience of the BLPites in an attempt to reconstruct the highly tarnished image of OSA. This might seem all well and good on their part but the intellect of the bajan psyche is going to see the ulterior motives designed and proved the BLPites wrong.

32. @ ac
    People of intelligence is not going to buy into the bu….sht that is being spouted by the BLP in regards to DT and money laundering this man is and has been respected by the political divided in what is seem as a blatant and a out of out war

Girl the word is on the streets ALL bout …so what bull you informing ?..BU bull.?..but there again knowing you ….you say it ..and believe it…sign of a maddie, BlckRock candidate..
    SWEET PART is we got plenty keeping BACK for the BIG SCREENS ..come elections baby…..It Go B Hot and savvy…so you keep hoping hon…dream too.

33. Mar’s best bet is to resign party and parliament , pay over the $3.3 millions take her children and her self esteem and GO TO St.Lucia and use the parachute $10 Mil… Dravid & Co..provided in case THIS HAPPENED….make a clean DIRTY break..(Hartley entry)

34. @ ac
    Buy into this Bu sht,,,na ac….you need to buy today’s Sunday Sun and read.

35. @ ac February 26 2012 @ 7:49AM

I quite agree with you ac intelligent Barbadians don’t have to buying to any thing that is spouted by the BLP in regards D T not when we have Deloitte’s Forensic Auditors revealing every thing for us I wonder ac do you remember this slogan THOMPSON FOR PM HE WILL NOT LIE , CHEAT or STEAL l ol

I will leave you with Galatians chapter 6 verses 7
    Be not deceive for God is not mock for what so ever a man sow that he shall all so reap

36. porridge boy ! buzzoff you ole vulture!

37. @old onion bags | February 26, 2012 at 8:11 AM |
    “Mar’s best bet is to resign party and parliament , pay over the $3.3 millions take her children and her self esteem and GO TO St.Lucia and use the parachute $10 Mil… Dravid & Co..provided in case THIS HAPPENED….make a clean DIRTY break..(Hartley entry)”
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    OLD ONION muh boy, I think that the following note which I posted on the thread “Toppin As Judicial Manager – The Smokescreen Which Cloaks The CLICO Mess ” applies here as well!

AND I ASK SARGEANT AND ac TO TAKE NOTE!

QUOTE:
    @Prodigal Son | February 26, 2012 at 11:19 PM
    “I cant help but to remember the crocodile tears, big women and men crying for this man, people running to St John churchyard to get rocks taken form the man’s grave, the Nation Newspaper for two filled with tributes (the Nation was glad for the foolish money people spent) Edwin Yearwood on TV on his way to Trinidad singing this man’s praises, boys from the gangs in Black Rock, rasta men from St John woods, businesses, everybody telling everybody DT was a saint, a king, like God himself and a man of integrity, my bank called him.
    I wonder what they are all saying now! Would it be….wow, I was conned!!!”
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Prodigal, I agree with you totally.

Engrained into that Large 2008 Election DLP BillBoard, that screamed in a most compelling way to the Barbadian Electorate, “I WILL NOT LIE, STEAL OR CHEAT”, was a villainous and predatory intention ….. to CONSTRUCT A CULTURE OF DECEIT in this country now so pervasive, that the country is caught up in a vortex of SHOCK, DISAPPOINTMENT, HURT, DISGRACE and DISTRUST IN THE PILLARS OF OUR SYSTEMS OF GOVERNANCE.

The high level of deception is easily seen when one recognises, especially in ongoing current attempts to establish for a man, a totally undeserved LEGACY OF GREATNESS, we are confronted with JUDICIAL MANAGERIAL episodes of GREED, THIEVERY and ILLEGALITY.

The rascality is of such magnitude, that it has brought MISERY, SADNESS, UNHAPPINESS to a large segment of our population, particulary those who are policy holders and investors in CLICO.
    My heart is heavy, but only for the policy holders, and the innocent children of these perpetrators.

So much for the shady promotion of The ST. John Dynasty, and may the remnant “Queen” retire to the gentler environment of St.Lucia, in order to maintain her sanity and that of the children.

LET JUSTICE BE DONE, FREUNDEL. TIME TO AWAKE FROM YOUR RUINOUS SLUMBER!

38. “SNAKE” PARRIS was the one who obtained the exclusive document, and gave it to THOMPSIN for deceptive campaign purposes, to display at that HAGGATT HALL meeting, for the sole purpose of shaming Arthur”.

Truthman,

And all this time these two bandits were thiefing by the millions from the policyholders. Criminals are they!!!

39. ‘And whatever you say DAVID one cannot overlooked the fact that the BLP policies or lack of refusal to pay Barrack has been cause for the AL BARACK issue to handed over to the presnt administration. if he had been paid by the BLP we would not be commenting on it !”

AC,

Are you aware that governance is a continuing thing. The DLP takes credit for everything good that has happened in the last four years including the UNESCO designation of Bridgetown, “wunnah” just went recently and had big bash on the Boardwalk and stick Richie Haynes name on it. “Wunnah” did not give the BLP the credit for such a marvellous piece of work. So take ownership of the Barrack issue, respect the law, pay the man,stick the dead king’s name on it and have a big drink up as “wunnuh” like to do.

And dont forget, the dead king had a hand in some of the fine print in that initial judgement. Karma is a bitch!

40. @ AC
    I have followed with great, and sometimes painful, interest the comments and rebuttals you have made throughout this article on this Clico issue. I am now more than ever convince that you are a deep sleeper and a compulsive dreamer or for the sake of your political fantasies you don’t care about the plight of poor people innocent POOR people who would have deposited they hard earn money into CIL to provide for themselves and they families.
    I am one of the thousands of victims in this Clico mess. I have two life policies and one pension plan. I am therefore alarmed at your haste to protect the image of D.T, over the many poor individuals who are currently suffering from this fiasco. I would like to draw to your attention that this man that you claimed is “respected by the political divided” came to the Barbadian public, including the current policy holders, and assured us that Clico Holdings was a company well manage and that we had nothing to worry about to confirm his confidence in them he approved $10M as a measure of faith in them. Having confirmed that there were well managed, we must conclude that he was aware that annual bonuses were paid out to an individual to the total of $3000,000.00 for over a four year period it was upgraded to $600,000.00 from 2008 until his resignation. Are you asking intelligent people to believe that there was no wrong doing?
    Prime Minister Dr. Ralph Gonsalves said this fiasco has the ability to “wreck Caricom” his counterpart Prime Minister Boldwin Spencer comments were similar he commented that it is the worst thing to hit his country since the Allen Stanford debacle unfolded. Are you asking me to believe that these goodly gentlemen are unintelligent? For many this has nothing to do with politics we would welcome assistance from any person of persons who would provide some incite on this matter instead of the empty promises now being offered by your team.

41. Take it from the Onion bag..we will now see a whole lot more bull happening here and throughout the Caribbean …as financial companies take advantage of our LOOP HOLES in law …Has anybody noticed the recent entrance of INVESTMENT COMPANIES ??…..Citizens,and Royals..hint.
    I call for the FSC ( Carrington and Dr.Alleyne) to immediately start working for their bread and get some Anti trust legislation and strong protection regulations to safeguard bajans from future financial failures….if nothing else is to be had from this Clico mess.

42. @ Fire Fox Black!
    Can you point out to me where in any of my comments i stated that the people were not to be compensated for their lost funds.