World Draught Champion
Ronald Suki King, Perennial World Draughts Champion

After reading Al Gilkes weekly column which laments how miserably World Draught Champion Ronald ‘Suki’ King has been treated by his kind over the years, there is not much BU can add. It seems there is the irrepressible desire on the part of the authorities to dish out the highest recognition to those who achieve on the world stage, the exception being Suki.

To explain the lack of consistency applied by government over the years when recognizing significant achievements by Barbadians some might suggest that draughts is not a mass sport in the global arena. The easy response to such a view is to ask what are we rewarding? Has Suki not excelled in a recognized sport on the local and world stage? By recognizing him will we not be exemplifying to all Barbadians that there is reward in being the best in your chosen endeavour?

Sad the say the glint in the eye of Suki has been fading of late along with his intimidating use of repartee. It is of immense embarrassment that Suki after many years of demonstrating excellence in the sport of draughts at home and abroad continues to be shunted to make way for the more glamorous.

It is not too late to right the wrong!

86 responses to “Ronald ‘Suki’ King, A King In Name Only”

1. Every skin teet en a laff Avatar
    Every skin teet en a laff

Suki is his worst enemy- Blogger 12 and 40 acres are in the know.
    The infelicities Suki perpetrated at NSC made me smh.
    Not just the Minister of Sport but a raft of Ministers and key persons in and out of politics have provided Suki with thousands on thousands of dollars in help and in kind because he is a world champion.
    Suki in return gives scant appreciation to his benefactors except jokingly shirley biscuits.
    He’s perfected the art of crying to the public and crying down whoever he targets when he doesnt get his way. Somebody asked if the near drowning was a Suki trick, an interesting question indeed. It is hoped that was not the case.
    Suki with his wealth of mind games expertise should focus on his god given talent and on using the monetary and work opportunuites he is given wisely and honestly.
    Enough said.

2. @Blogger2012

Suki has been representing draft for years. Why is all this negative stuff now coming to light?

3. Its interesting that all this negative stuff is coming out now when Suki has given his reasons for his apparent bout of depression and in so doing has ruffled the feathers of a couple politicians who, if they wanted to be fair and still help the man who is down, would have omitted from their response some of the negative and leading things about suki which they disclosed. The responses could have been framed very differently.

Could it be that the silly season is on us and they couldn’t let anything that might appear to cast them or their ministries in a negative light appear to pass? One just has to read the articles to see that they care not one whit nor tittle about the man.

It might be of interest to compare how Sir Garry was treated in his reputed hours of need with how Suki was treated in his. But then he is of a different class and played a real sport and was feted by kings, princes and movie stars. They can’t be compared. Scratch that thought.

But it would seem classism still has a role to play in this country, even if it is by poor black politicians, and of course it would appear that suki has no class. He washes cars for donations! what could be less classy than that?

4. Suki like he is a con man…whaaaaaaaaa call that strategising thousands of dollars nah….boy I ent know what to believe….i hope a grain of salt applies eveybody

5. @Checkitout

sometimes I wonder if we understand logic and reasoing. The response from mr, lashley was to what mr. king accused the govt of not doing. he was write to refute the charges. it has nothing to do with the silly season, but to put the record straight. it has nothing to do with classism. Mr. King has an ego, that he wants people to always stoke. he must recognize it is not a marketable sport among the business community, plain and simple. Rewards are based on what the sport can geneerate. look at the rewards from football as opposed to table tennis or hockey or one of the lesser sports.

Go come again about this classism. I wont deny that it does exist, but i do not think in mr. king place it has anything to do with that. try another angle.

6. @David

It is coming to light because suki cast the first stone. He ought to be ashame to take the approach that he did, but such is the nature of the man.

You cant turn off people who help you, you cant be a begging and chosing also. He needs to respect those who assist him and be honest in his dealings like going to work etc. It has something to do with honesty. Your parents taught you about honesty and not to bite the hand that feed yah.

we all contribute to barbados development. One day a old lady pee in the sea and some one asked her why she did it and her response was every little bit will help to full up the ocean. Think about that.

7. If what is being said of Suki is anywhere near the truth, perhaps he should think over taking up that promised job in Eire.

8. Blogger 2012; With respect I beg to differ to most of your points above.

Mr Lashley had every right and, indeed duty, to respond but there are Responses and there are responses. Do you see people of the ilk of Mr. Lashley trying to destroy the egos of the big-ups and powerful in the society? They don’t, in public. Mr. Lashley was not compelled to go any further in his response than stating that Suki had misrepresented his and his government’s input in providing assistance to him over the years. He could have provided chapter and verse and timing of such inputs. There was no need to hint that Suki had been severed from the NSC for cause nor any of the other negatives the other minister hinted at. He would have had bloggers like you and others who presumably have the lowdown on everything to fill in the blanks for him.

Re. the silly season. I think that logically one would have expected a different response say 2 years ago to Suki or any other person suggesting that he had contacted Government ministers for assistance but without success. The difference is that now we are within sight of an election. Every impression, negative or otherwise matters and have to be countered forcefully if they appear to be even likely to have some negative impact on votes. The vigour of the responses imho seem to be related to the Government not feeling particularly comfortable in its skin at this time.

Re. the ego of Suki. Tell me how many world or even Barbados class performers in whatever area of endeavour does not have an overweening ego because of their outstanding abilities. Does Rhi Rhi have a big ego? Does Sir Garry? Does Owen Arthur? Did not David Thompson have a big one too? Didn’t Errol Barrow have a huge one? Outstanding people, not all, but most, usually have big egos and it is not imperative or usual that politicians try to cut them down (except by their opposite numbers). Classism can often be the key that explains why a politician might treat differently with different people despite their protestations otherwise. I am absolutely certain you know that as well as I do.

I think I understand reasoning and logic no worse than you do.

9. afterall he isa “draftman” he makes the plays!

10. @Checkit-Out

Agree with your interpretation of Lashley’s response. It appeared unnecessarily harsh in the circumstances. It was though Minister Lashley wanted to give Suki a lesson.

11. @ David

Unfortunately, Blogger2012 is much more in the know than you are on this subject. Don’t continue to press him.

As to why ‘all of a sudden’ these accusations have surfaced….?
    …..For the same reason you should probably close this blog. It will not serve anyone’s purpose to pursue the matter….

many persons who are clearly genius in some special areas, seem to carry serious challenges in other areas…. A la Whitney of late…
    Numerous genuine attempts have been made to reward and honour Suki over the years….. Let’s just say that it has been challenging…

The pursuit of this matter benefits no one.

12. @ac gf you still living ?

13. Blogger 2012; Seems like you personally know Suki. I don’t. Perhaps your impression of him is correct but I would just like to ask you to put yourself in his place even if he might have been mainly responsible for his current situation.

If you were someone who had lost your job, car, etc. had enormous debts, didn’t know where your next meal was coming from, had met with powerful people about assistance and it didn’t seem to be forthcoming, had just had a bout with a near death situation, etc. etc. do you think you would be totally logical about calling out the people who you thought could have provided you with some of the assistance you direly needed in a timely manner?

Do you also think that in that situation it was absolutely necessary for the ministers to react in the way that they did or was it possible for them to really mute their reaction instead of giving the impression that there were other heavy facts they could divulge that would really scuttle Mr. King’s boat?

Is that how the Dear Loving People really treat poor black people?

Blogger 2012, I think I know you from perhaps 14 years or so ago in the Public Sevice, and I did not have the impression then that you were callous in regard to the plight of your brothers, no matter the size of their egos.

14. BushTea;

I’ve just read your submission above. Based on my belief that your counsel has a track record of being always spot on, I will pursue this matter no more.

15. @Bush Tea. “The pursuit of this matter benefits no one”

Good call Bush tea. Too much long talk but no one on this blog will do anything to help Suki.
    Typical of the human race including me.

16. really! then who next! tantomount to holding the government up for ransom or blackmail. He is a sportman.! thats it !good at what he did or does and recognize as such. apparantly he has been recognised before and rewarded but when does the government responsibilty to him end or does it?

17. @Checkitout

I dont play mind games, knowing me or not will not change my reasoning.

He should seek counselling. I always welcome bushie advice, but i still maintian he brought it on himself, when u have a job produce.

18. DONT you know that some comments on this blog fully illustrate how Bajans dont support their own??
    DONT you know that the statement that Checkers (draughts) is not a marketable sport, it aint big, is testimony to this fact???
    DONT you know that they only come out the wood works if an athlete hits it big but leading up to that point there is no help ???
    DONT you know that when they do this that they dont really care about the athlete but it is about their own publiciity ???
    DONT you know that what you consider small could become big and Suki would have paved the way ???
    WAS cricket always big ??
    DONT you know that at some time somebody thought of cricket as nonsense too, ditto for boxing , foorball, basket ball etc???
    HOW did all these things start ??
    DONT you know that all of these games started with so-called small people, peasants, slaves etc ???
    WHY dont check your history ediat bwoys –Forty Acres and Blogger????

JUST ASKING ???

19. so som yuh wunna whocussing de guvment fuh not doing nutting fuh suki de same ones who be cussing de guvment fuh sponsoring de fooitball and cricket tournaments fuh de youth. wunna bunch yuh hypocrites

20. Blogger2012 is on target. He knows the man personally. I support Lashley 100%. We keeping it real. Nothing emotional. BU fans can investigate these:
    1. Did Suki invoiced the National Sports Council for work not done at many primary schools? Ask Erskine King?
    2. Did Suki work at BMC and did not go to work many days while still drawing a salary?
    3. Did Suki received thousands of dollars from many politicials individually, including the late David Thompson? Check with the politicians. Is Suki’s favourite line: “I gine up by parliament and tek e dowm?”
    4. Tell us the number of companies that helped Suki with programmes that never came off, and they never got anything in return. If we conduct a survey what would it reveal?
    5. The gentleman that manufactured hundreds of draughts boards for Suki, did he pay the gentleman though he sold the boards?
    6. Is it true that a man wrote many successful letters for Suki, who always got money tell the man he will get back to him and never returned until he wants another; and that Suki dumped many graphic artistes one after the next due to none payment.
    7. Does he have a weakness for prostitutes and other women who spend most of the money he collects.
    8. How many times associations from abroad sent accommodation and paid Suki’s airfare for tournaments and then Suki collects airfare and accomodation from many Barbadian companies for the same trip and tournament?
    9. How much money did Suki collect for a draughts association (not the Barbados Draughts Association) that held one single meeting?
    10. How many time did Suki collect money in the name of the Barbados Draughts Association and never paid it in?
    11. Did Suki’s wife object to the use of children to collect money in the name of a none existent Checkers and Draughts Federation.
    12. Would you believe that Suki told a few people close to him that the drowning was an attention stunt?
    When God is ready for a man none can stay the hand of judgement.

21. @Just asking. Why don’t you go and take up Suki cause. Why don’t you start marketing draught as Barabdos national sport. See how far you reach with that. I support real sport not some fringe activities where a guy excel and then expects the tax payers of this country owes him something.

22. The truth about the so called international draughts tournaments is that they are played amongst a fraternity of people that in most cases are just over and in most cases under a hundred people. There is no media coverage. Hence, no news paper, radio or television coverage. The only coverage is putting up the info on the associations websites. It is impossible for Barbados to benefit from the so called draughts world championship exercises tourism wise. This record of Suki is only impressive home and among the checker fraterninty which in most cases is a bunch of old men playing for recreation. The whole thing is a big myth in the heads of Barbadians. There is absolutely no recognition for this sport in England, Ireland, the USA and such like either at governmental, national or community level. Nor by the sporting bodies the world over. Investigate it and you will see that not many except for those in the small checker fraternity know that Suki King exist further more that he is a “world champion”. The myth lives on. Before you criticise me check it out. Soon you will realise that road tennis in its infancy has and will do more for Barbados in a year than draughts has done in Suki’s so called 20 year reign. This is a fact, not a myth. Research and you will find the truth.

23. look i know and all you know that if suki were white or was from a well-to-do black family efforts would have been made not only to adequately reward suki( and not only talking in monetary terms) but to educate him in the fine art of etiquette. cricketers like sir garry and sir everton weekes have only been reconized in recent times because of pressure or because it became fashionable to do so. compare their status and prominence in society in the same era with persons like dennis atkinson anf john goddard and even harrison college boy clyde walcott. the fact is that sir garry emerged from bayland and sir everton from the pickwick gap area and were considered nobodies with cricketing talent. for a long time mr sobers was ridiculed and laughed at for his purported foibles inexpressing the queen’s english.

24. forty acres- how many scholl children wouldrecognize the name eric holder and yet his name is on a government project in st joseph which should have been rightfully named after lloyd boychild smith who adequately represented st joseph in parliament for several years.

25. chocolate city hussle Avatar
    chocolate city hussle

barbados was once a colour society then it evolved into a class society and has remained that way. the reason why government pays no attention to Suki is due to the fact that he is perceived as being from the lower class, draught is not a sport like cricket or golf, his speech is primarily an embarrassment (he speaks total bajan creole, which is still looked upon as a lower status that the queen’s english). for these reasons he will never be seen as value to government

26. chocolate city hussle Avatar
    chocolate city hussle

@”
    WAS cricket always big..DONT you know that all of these games started with so-called small people, peasants, slaves etc ???”

that would have been over 200 years ago right? and draughts started along with them probably even before. draughts still has not yet achieve international standards and it never will. many games were created long after draughts and have found their way into the Olympics, what happened to draught? it’s because it is a sport not worth anything that’s why and it never will.

27. chocolate city hussle Avatar
    chocolate city hussle

@JUST ONLY ASKING
    “WAS cricket always big..DONT you know that all of these games started with so-called small people, peasants, slaves etc ???”

that would have been over 200 years ago right? and draughts started along with them probably even before. draughts still has not yet achieve international standards and it never will. many games were created long after draughts and have found their way into the Olympics, what happened to draught? it’s because it is a sport not worth anything that’s why and it never will.

28. chocolate city hussle Avatar
    chocolate city hussle

@David | February 13, 2012 at 5:11 PM |
    .” As a country we should reward excellence in any field of endevour. The young ones are looking on. It should not matter how popular the field is in the global arena”

so because the young ones are looking on implies that people should pump energy into a sport that is obviously not interesting to many? what’s the logic behind that? you cannot force people to like anything…please, you should know better

29. Hi Crabs! Ever heard of crabs in the barrel syndrome? Well, read your own comments above.

Why not knock it off as Bush tea suggested? How are these “revelations” helping you or the alleged politician victims; or the alleged thankless benefactors or anyone reading?

David. I suggest you consider archiving and closing this discussion/blog. It is helping no one.

30. DONT you know that you have completely missed the point ??
    WHY am I not surprised ??
    DONT you know that we have more education and more educated assholes than ever before ??
    DONT you know that I am seeing the lack of understanding of where we came from as a people. who we are and how we should aspire in the comments of forty acres and chocolate ??
    DONT you know that your comments show why so called ‘small people ” dont get help with sometimes the most brilliant of ideas ??
    DONT you know that your comments betray you and with people like you making decisions we aint getting no way because you only look at what is big, what has this and what has that but will not help to build anything??
    DONT you know that you would be the classic bandwagon jumper, only when somebody makes it big , you identify???
    WHY dont you go to the ants thou sluggard and parasite living off of other people- you fish rowe??
    DONT you know that you are logical but wrong , insensitive and ignorant of certain sensitivities?

31. @Just A

Do u know u fit the profile of the biggest educated ass hole on this blog? Saviour the praise as u dont get it vey often.

32. Besides, some domestic bathroom remodel cost estimate energy monocrystalline silicon
    wafer company supplied bathroom remodel cost estimate energy silicon wafer with low absorptivity universally,
    it will affect photo-electricity effect directly.
    New bathroom remodel cost estimate energy system for environmental and economical reasons.

I wrote this article myself, and it goes away quickly when aeration is interrupted.

In the likely event Q-Cells completely dissolves,
    the entire industry would have to be integrated, with consequent loss in ef ciency and increased cost.
    This is very normal but when an imbalance lasts for too long, we
    may experience physical manifestations of illness.

33. Any religious place ought to be protected as there
    is always a threat of communal riots involved in its destruction.
    CCTV Taiwan have a good grip on their public relationships and always see to it
    that their customer is happy and does not come up with complaints
    and objections. They will put themselves in the burglar’s position and see where home CCTV would prove to be most efficient.

34. It’s a sign of professionalism and experience if the contractor
    can provide you with a specific timeline, with a sequence of construction, and is willing to estimate when he’ll be
    able to complete the project. “There’s the convenience of calling one number no matter what job you need done. Appraisers offer the best values to homes that conform to the neighborhood around them.

35. But home renovation can be a beautifying experience or
    it can be a stressful and confusing experience. Hence, bear in mind every possible aspect while
    purchasing a toilet. This is the modern innovation of home renovation as it not only beautifies
    your home, but keeps it looking clean and stylish
    as well.

36. An MLM advertising system that mixes the power of the research, money and
    effort on affiliate marketing which made him big in the Internet are
    different from their competitors. There are so many options out there and put your own
    successful online business owners. Try multiple formats and see what they
    have done and what you can do something differently.
    The formation of an online business you must work hard to promote
    it and to gain solid business value out of it.

Leave a Reply to Blogger2012Cancel reply