Image extracted from Facebook, BU apologizes if anyone finds it offensive

Successive Barbados governments in the last twenty have shown little appetite to develop a vibrant agriculture sector. There is now a resignation by all but a few that the way services go so too the economic fortune of Barbados. The Barbados Labour Party’s  (BLP) chief spokesman on economic matters Clyde Mascoll is on record dismissing any significant investment by his government in the sector, reason being the high cost of inputs.  The commonsense view that investing in a homegrown agriculture sector has more to do with addressing food security seems to be lost on policymakers. Of course there is the other reason which has to do with protecting our right to grow food which is not genetically modified and at the same time align with the positive message that healthy lifestyle is a worthwhile endeavor.

This government has uttered the correct messages regarding the need to etch  an agriculture policy. However after four years there is not much one can honestly agree has been accomplished. There is the news making the rounds that the government currently has  several acres of land under fruit cultivation. The project is expected to supply local demand. Up to the time of posting this blog BU was unable to identify the location. The reality is that members of government reflect the values of the society which produced them.

Barbadians have bought into the values of others where to cook a meal is today considered an irrelevant activity. We have become  slaves to the taste of food because it is fashionable to do so. The fact that ingesting the food is known to do irreparable harm to the body is of little consequence. It hardly matters to many Barbadians that eating and drinking food sourced at the many fast food outlets is doing our bodies irreparable harm. Stake out any Return Bottle Depot at a local supermarket and see the car trunk loads of pep-bottles which are returned by the minute. We have also become slaves to convenience. We have time to go to the movie theater and enjoy other forms of entertainment, gossip on the telephone – both mobile and landlines, text away all day on the ubiquitous Blackberry, iPhone, iPad etc but little time  for the important stuff. How many busy Barbadians would give-up ONE hour to visit a plantation to buy ground provisions and vegetables  saving themselves dollars and protecting their health in the process? How many would pack a daily lunch bag instead of forking out $15-$20 to KFC and Chefette? Has anyone noticed that Chefette Restaurant is one of few businesses flourishing in the current recession?

Rosemary Parkinson, Kammie Holder and others continue against the odds to educate Barbadians about the likely repercussion of eating genetically modified foods manufactured by Monsanto and others. The news that consumers elsewhere felt concerned enough to mobilize against Monsato did not even make it on  local media radar.

The saying that there much information circulating but little knowledge is as true as John 3:16. What will it take to address the everest like challenge of planning and executing a relevant agriculture policy in Barbados? What will it take to change the  attitudes and behaviours of Barbadians to improve the quality of what we eat? Why should Carmeta Fraser have lived her live in vain?

193 responses to “Carmeta Fraser Trumpeted ‘Food First’!”

1. Given that the world poulation is over 7billion and climbing how does one proposed to feed this much people worldwide on a daily basis without having genetically modified foods .

2. Perhaps what is needed is AN EMBARGO to cut off the Bajan appetite from Uncle Sam’s JUNK FOOD

See what good things the Cubans have been forced to do for themselves

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JIWsxo5nNgg?rel=0&w=560&h=315%5D

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Ras Jahaziel | February 7, 2012 at 11:34 AM |

Well researched!
    That you tube video is most disturbing. How can mankind treat animals like that? And meat eating Bajans who buy imported meat from animals who died sometimes in excess of one year ago are slowing killing themselves and are no more than vultures. No wonder most of them are obese and overweight.
    But where is God in all of this? How can this so-called Supreme Being allow “human(e) beings to treat other animals in such despicable manner?.

Maybe something big is in the works for this destructive species. When the day of reckoning comes to mankind these awful acts will be remembered. The sins of the current generation will be paid for by the next.
    We need to eat more plant-based produce and less animal products for our dietary requirements. If we are going to use animal products then let us raise the animals in more “humane and organic” conditions as we did in earlier times.

4. @MTA: “If we are going to use animal products then let us raise the animals in more “humane and organic” conditions as we did in earlier times.

Yeah… Right…

How many customers of KFC (or Chefette) will pay more for “organically grown” chicken flesh?

Second question: “Would you like fries with that?

5. @AC
    And tell me how selling our VALUABLE land (THE LITTLE THAT WE HAVE!) to a foreign power will save us. You preach of being subservient to China, and getting “help” from her. Get real, CHINA is not a charity case and she’s clearly not “helping” anybody excepting herself. Those African governments who have created deals with China that basically gives Beijing free access to their farmlands are either incredibly INCOMPETENT or are EXTREMELY SHORT-SIGHTED! Instead of SELLING OUR LAND to the Chinese, we should send Bajan students to China to learn engineering; and Chile and Brazil to learn Horticulture with a focus in Agriculture. One, because Chile’s and Brazil’s are developing rapidly and are on the same economic footing as we are. Should we establish closer ties with these economies, we could mutually benefit economically and industrialize Barbados relatively quickly (quicker than the Czech Republic, I speculate). That’s the only Use that China could be of to us Bajans. This “Helping” situation that you’ve thought up is HIGHLY idealistic (and unrealistic) to say the least. Plus, it wouldn’t be in our economic interest to establish our Agricultural industry with Chinese funds and products because we would be in THE SAME EXACT SITUATION AS WE ARE NOW IN WITH AMERICA QUELLING BIM’S AGRICULTURAL SECTOR! THINK! Not to mention is NO WHERE NEAR BARBADOS, so how does it make sense to rely on a foreign power that isn’t even NEAR Bim??!

Barbados needs to develop a healthy domestic economy in order to keep her head afloat. There’s no short-cutting it and no quick fixing it! We are now on the FRINGE and we must think PREEMPTIVELY, STRATEGICALLY, AND ALWAYS ACT IN BIM’S BEST INTEREST (EVEN IF IT CONFLICTS WITH OTHERS). What you’re arguing is for Barbados to look or the SAME EXACT accommodation with China that she had with the U.S., U.K., and Canada. I’m afraid that IT IS YOU THAT NEEDS TO DO MORE RESEARCH! BECAUSE YOU ARE ESSENTIALLY PREACHING THAT BAJANS SHOULD ALWAYS BE SUBSERVIENT TO A SUPERPOWER AT THE EXPENSE OF DEVELOPING ANY EFFICIENT SYSTEM OF SELF SUFFICIENCY!

LAWD, WHAT A DANGEROUSLY SHORT-SIGHTED INDIVIDUAL YOU ARE!
    NEXT THING YOU KNOW, YOU’RE GONNA PROPOSE THAT BAJANS LEARN CHINESE AND THE CHINESE NATIONAL ANTHEM!!!

GET REAL! IF U TRULY HAD BIM’S INTERESTS IN MIND, YOU’D BE LOOKING AT WHAT DAVID AND MS. PARKINSON SAID WITH DEPTH!!

***LET BAJANS DEVELOP BARBADOS WITH THE BLOOD OF BIM!***

6. @Brudah-Bim: “***LET BAJANS DEVELOP BARBADOS WITH THE BLOOD OF BIM!***

The problem is we don’t.

We eat what is bad for us because it’s easy (but not cheap).

We watch what we’re told to watch because it’s “cool”.

We’re addicted to social media because if we’re not “there” we’re told we’re no where.

Meanwhile, many spend more on telephony than they do on food.

Hmmmm….

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Christopher Halsall | February 7, 2012 at 3:10 PM |
    “How many customers of KFC (or Chefette) will pay more for “organically grown” chicken flesh?”

Not many, I suppose! But if the cost of telephony goes up astronomically Bajans in this 2×2 place will still rack up massive bills at the expense of a person’s most valuable asset – HEALTH. Nothing wrong with the odd fast food serving but to make it a regular (staple) of one’s diet is asking for serious trouble ahead.
    I hear it is much more expensive to inter a chronologically “young” obese body than a wizened one! Ask the “Undertaker” for confirmation!

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Christopher Halsall | February 7, 2012 at 3:19 PM |
    “Second question: “Would you like fries with that?”

Yes, Please! But with the skin on and fried in fresh vegetable oil, preferably Sunflower seed oil. But in a kitchen at some home.

9. @MTA: “Yes, Please! But with the skin on and fried in fresh vegetable oil, preferably Sunflower seed oil. But in a kitchen at some home.

LOL… 😎

My mother visited for two weeks earlier this year. Her gift to me was something called an “ActiiFry”. It can make one kilogram of frys with only 1.5 table spoons of oil. We choose to use sesame seed oil because of the flavor.

(As an aside, the customs agent didn’t understand the difference between electrical and electronic, and charged my mother 50% import duty on my gift….)

10. RE : “millertheanunnaki | February 7, 2012 at 3:00 PM | @ Ras Jahaziel | February 7, 2012 at 11:34 AM |

But where is God in all of this? How can this so-called Supreme Being allow “human(e) beings to treat other animals in such despicable manner?.”

Now that is a most interesting observation. I was talking with a “Christian friend” and she said that every sunday after church she and a group of her fellow church-goers usually hang out at a spot and eat plenty of chicken.

I always wondered WHY BELIEVERS IN JEEZUS SEEM SO ADDICTED TO THE BLOOD-SUCKING DIE-IT and always try to find a scripture to justify THAT WHICH CANNOT BE JUSTIFIED.

11. @Ras Jahaziel: “I always wondered WHY BELIEVERS IN JEEZUS SEEM SO ADDICTED TO THE BLOOD-SUCKING DIE-IT and always try to find a scripture to justify THAT WHICH CANNOT BE JUSTIFIED.

Calm down Raz.

No one can honestly claim absolute certainty.

Except, perhaps, the Agnostics, who admit up front that they don’t know for sure….

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Brudah-Bim | February 7, 2012 at 3:10 PM |
    “One, because Chile’s and Brazil’s are developing rapidly and are on the same economic footing as we are. ”

What arrant nonsense! How can you compare Brazil & Chile with Bim as far as current economic growth and expansion is concerned? . Bim has tourism. Full stop!
    Offshore banking and other “under the radar” activities have had their day in the Sun and the darkness is slowing closing in.
    Please don’t compare a 166 sq. mile sun spot with Brazil with her multifarious or faceted economy. Get real, man! Bim is not Singapore. Never will be, either! People here are too “indisciplined”. So let us stick to what we are good at- tourism and entertainment.

13. chocolate city hussle Avatar
    chocolate city hussle

i find this pic of a black man having sex with a bucket of chicken offensive. hence i would not respond to the article. i really pity the black bajan man…it seems they are portrayed as having no class and less than dogs in heat..but then again i presume it was a black man who did the pic and probably thought that of himself

14. chocolate city hussle | February 7, 2012 at 5:02 PM |
    i find this pic of a black man having sex with a bucket of chicken offensive. hence i would not respond to the article. i really pity the black bajan man…it seems they are portrayed as having no class and less than dogs in heat..but then again i presume it was a black man who did the pic and probably thought that of himself
    ———————————————————————-
    Hey Chocolate,
    It is just not a man….it is Owen Arthur

15. @millertheanunnaki
    FYI. Before you get your britches all knotted up, it would help if you understood the context in which I was coming from. By stating that Barbados is on a comparable footing to that of Brazil and Chile, I am merely pointing out that Barbados’ infrastructure is certainly up to par with that of Brazil and Chile. In other words, we are roughly as up to date in our functioning like that of the aforementioned countries.

And nobody here is trying to establish Barbados as a Singapore. And what is wrong with planning for a solid future for Bajans to come? You call it “indiscipilned” thinking; What nonsense you speak of. You sounf just like another short sighted hound that has long been taught to think lesser and not to aspire and achieve. You are weak, the epitome of what I deem as the “Enslaved Bajan” I don’t know about you, But there are people who can clearly see that Barbados is at a clear advantage hear to shift from a SERVICE ECONOMY to a PRODUCTIVE ECONOMY. We have the infrastructure, no to mention the favorable markings and reputation, as well as the location to achieve all the suggested strategies.

It is weak willed ‘pets’ of the west like you that contribute to Barbados’ short-falling. You fools regurgitate non-stop about tax adjustments and tourism as if it would help remedy the situation. STOP BEING LAZY AND BE PROACTIVE AND PREEMPTIVE!

16. From way back in the 70’s there was a voice amongst you preparing you for what is to come, but that voice was not wearing A COLLAR AND TIE, so it was scorned, reviled, and PERSECUTED.
    But there is good reason why it was VILLIFIED, because
    If you had listened to that voice you would be questioning the very foundations of the colonial system…SCHOOL, CHURCH, AND POLITICS…THE WHOLE NEO-COLONIAL SMOKE-SCREEN NETWORK that functions to keep the people under PERPETUAL MENTAL LOCK-DOWN so that the same thing that happened during chattel slavery would continue today in its new form. SEE WEB PAGE BELOW and study it from top to bottom. http://rastafarivisions.com/about-us/we-were-told

17. Random Thoughts Avatar

The Chinese have already asked to buy my land. I told the no.

I am sure they will ask again. I’ll tell them no.

When other try to fcuk us up we do not have to lay down and say yes, yes, yes.

It is ok to say no, even to the Chinese.

18. Blogger2012 | February 7, 2012 at 5:53 AM |
    @Colonel Buggy

Persons involved in argriculture are given incentive for irrigation inputs into their business. THe SJPP has an agrricultural component and st augustine teaches agriculture, we need no outside instittuiton to teach us about agriculture.
    *********************************************************************************
    Ah Yes! just as we teach engineering and management at such institutions, yet cannot properly maintain common run of the mill vehicles at SSA, Transport Board, Ambulance Service et at. The same goes for Road maintenance, Roundabout designs et al. Not to mention public buildings. We are a clever lot who prefer to attempt to reinvent the wheel, instead of adopting tried and tested methods. City and Guilds has been with us since the late 50’s and have contributing much to the development of this country,via the many trained and certified technicians and artisans,most of whom are now retired and has left a gaping gap in many industries.

19. Blogger2012 | February 7, 2012 at 6:01 AM |
    @Balance

it is unfortunte that people like you dont underdstand the context in which abarrow was speaking. Any of the persons whow were involved in the strategy of development would enlighten you that barrow was pontificating on the need to restructure the eceonomy of barbados in a meaninful way from being dependent on sugar, as the mainstay o our economy.
    **********************************************************************************
    But Balance is quite correct, many people did not understand that Mr Barrow was suggesting diversification ,and not being so dependant on a single crop,and like it or not , “this did fueled the people’s perception to get out of the cane fields.”,aided and abetted by the politicians on the other side who knew exactly what Mr Barrow meant, but wanted a score a few points with the masses..

20. @ Brudda Bim

I noticed you did a little research on the china Africa connection . But knowing now the close connection that China have with Africa would you be still interested in doing business with Africa

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Brudah-Bim | February 7, 2012 at 5:09 PM |

I am not getting my breeches far less my ‘nickers’ in a twist, thank you! Please Sir or Madam, understand that little Bim is just 166 sq. miles and easy to manage just like any other town any place in the World. Measure performance with that in mind and don’t compare with countries that are hundreds of times larger than this little ‘Rock’. This misplaced self importance would blinker you in seeing the woods from the trees or vice versa, Sir or Madam.

Are you denying that Bim is becoming a very “indisciplined” place? Are you so blind to what is going on in this Society or are you comparing Bim to some West African town? For example, the ZR situation or millions owed to the VAT Office because of thieving businesses.

Productive economy, my foot! Have you seen the state of the former agricultural fields recently? Even the “Barbados Today” online newspaper featured what a sorrowful state we have come to in respect of the Wakefield and Todds plantations. Do you really expect to compete with Trinidad as far as production of goods is concerned? Trinidadians own Bim and their exporters pay subsidized energy prices to facilitate their export drive to earn forex from places like Bim.

Bajans are subservient and are just glorified educated servants. Why did they sell their shares in BS&T, BNB, and BL&P? For a pint pot of pottage?

22. @ Brudda Bim

Pray tell me how is barbados going to be self supportive with only sand and sea to sell without having the financial backings of countries like USA and Canada. You know we can’t support or self on a bottle of jam or bread and fish. I await your reply
    Another question which i previously asked on 2 /7 2012 @ 11.11amhopefully you can answered .You really need an injection of a healthy dose of reality. Barbados is not the world and the world is not going to stop because of Barbados all these pie in the sky ideas are just that when a man belly is empty he look for some one to feed them . I am not against being self reliant but only if you have the means to do so. Read miller he can educate you!

23. @ac: “I am not against being self reliant but only if you have the means to do so.

Let’s run a thought experiment…

Imagine that tomorrow morning Barbados was cut off from all international trade.

This could (and has (9.11 anyone?)) actually happen.

How would we feed ourselves?

24. I guess we couldn’t because we have used the land to build concrete jungle!

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Colonel Buggy | February 7, 2012 at 5:46 PM |
    “Ah Yes! just as we teach engineering and management at such institutions, yet cannot properly maintain common run of the mill vehicles at SSA, Transport Board, Ambulance Service et at. The same goes for Road maintenance, Roundabout designs et al. Not to mention public buildings. We are a clever lot who prefer to attempt to reinvent the wheel, instead of adopting tried and tested methods.”

So true but don’t expect support or action from those in control!

26. When yuh belly full yuh can say No all yuh want. but when them hunger pains hit yuh that is adifferent story. a man or person or government would do anything to survive and barbados would not be an exception. like they say Money talks bu….lsh..t walks and the rest is history.

27. [@ AC]
    I Am the first person to declare CHINA as a neo-colonial power that is gripping Africa. I am also quite familiar with how the west has manipulated the African continent. TO answer your question, YES, I still would do business in Africa despite China’s presence. Why? Because like China, I too am aware of the vast potential that Africa has, and I am willing to look at them as business partners and brethren as opposed to proxies that creates profit. Perhaps You should educate yourself on the Structural Adjustment Programs that Anglo-American backed organizations such as the IMF, World Bank, and WTO impose on Africa. While you’re at it, try research the United States African Command Center (AFRICOM) and see what they’re trying to impose on Africa. You are in no position to try to lecture me.

[@ Both AC & millertheanunnaki ]
    Your arguments are not centered thus I dismiss them. If you were REAL scholars, you would literally RESEARCH all the viable options that we have in order to enable Barbados to compete through our agriculture sector. You don’t have to be a genius to figure out that the strategic placement of Human capital (a.k.a. Bajan citizens) in demanding sectors and fields that are growing. Science has proven that you do not need soil nor large plots of land to grow food. I suggest you look up “Horticulture” and research how it can be applied before you continue to make an arse out of yourself.

Look at my previous posts. I gave very clear suggestions on ways in which the government can succeed in making our agriculture commercially viable through strategic and preemptive measures. DON’T HAVE ME REPEAT MYSELF! READ MY COMMENTS BEFORE YOU TRY TO COME FUH ME!

28. @ AC
    “a man or person or government would do anything to survive and barbados would not be an exception. like they say Money talks bu….lsh..t walks and the rest is history.”

29. @ bro BIM.

For the very last time and where does Barbados get the funding and resources to do what you have proposed.

30. Bro BIm i noticed you said that China saw the advantage of working with Africa or is it the other way around.

31. @ AC
    For DE LAST TIME,
    IT OLD YOU TO LOOK AT MY SUGGESTIONS FOR THAT ANSWER.
    To make it simple for you, we will allocate such funds by doing the following: “I suggest that the government safeguard a portion within our country’s national reserves in order to be able to initiate such plans.”
    Case closed.

And it WAS in fact China who avidly sought business with Africa. China is the one with the resources and funds in order to stimulate growth and is the second sole largest investor in the continent after the U.S.

Do your research. African economies are at the mercy of the Chinese economic tirade. You SERIOUSLY NEED TO OPEN UP YOUR EYES!

32. Trading with China as “intimately” as Africa has or rather; as much as we have in regards to the US, UK, and CANADA; would most certainly hinder all prospects of Barbados ever sufficiently developing.

Time is ticking fast and the opportunites for Barbados to establish any meaningful and truly beneficial economic ties through diplomatic means is slipping away as our GROSSLY INCOMPETENT Politicians pay us lip service and give us theatrics.

WE THE BAJAN PEOPLE NEED TO MOBILIZE NOW IN ORDER TO PUT THE RIGHT PRESSURES ON OUR GOVERNMENT FOR OUR FUTURE!

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Brudah-Bim | February 7, 2012 at 7:10 PM |
    “[@ Both AC & millertheanunnaki ]
    Your arguments are not centered thus I dismiss them. If you were REAL scholars, you would literally RESEARCH all the viable options that we have in order to enable Barbados to compete through our agriculture sector.”

Don’t make me laugh (LOL), mate!

When you can get “educated” Bajans managers and supervisors to arrange for the debris that is placed on the pavement (sidewalk) after weeding and de-bushing to be removed within a period of 24-48 hours I will listen to any argument you put forward regarding productivity and competition. Now that is real research based on daily observation!
    Awaiting you response if you have a band-aid to this known situation.

34. @MTA: “Your arguments are not centered thus I dismiss them.

That would be foolish.

All input should be considered seriously.

35. @ millertheanunnaki
    “When you can get “educated” Bajans managers and supervisors to arrange for the debris that is placed on the pavement (sidewalk) after weeding and de-bushing”
    What you are arguing at this point is the failures in the bureaucracy and mismanagement of the administration.I already pointed out that it is up to the people of Bim to mobilize in order to apply the pressure on the Parliament.

It doesn’t take “hard research” (as you so well put it) to figure that out. Alas, your views are WAAAYYYYYY under-developed.

36. And speaking of GMOs and the ongoing attempt to monopolise the world’s seed supply by one particularly avaricious and psychopathic corporation, just came across this interesting article by the Indian human rights and environmental activist Vandana Shiva:

The Seed Emergency: The Threat to Food and Democracy
    Patenting seeds has led to a farming and food crisis – and huge profits for US biotechnology corporations.</b
    by Vandana Shiva

New Delhi, India – The seed is the first link in the food chain – and seed sovereignty is the foundation of food sovereignty. If farmers do not have their own seeds or access to open pollinated varieties that they can save, improve and exchange, they have no seed sovereignty – and consequently no food sovereignty.

The deepening agrarian and food crisis has its roots in changes in the seed supply system, and the erosion of seed diversity and seed sovereignty. [In India, 95 per cent of cotton seeds are reportedly controlled by Monsanto, a US biotechnology corporation (EPA)]

Seed sovereignty includes the farmer's rights to save, breed and exchange seeds, to have access to diverse open source seeds which can be saved – and which are not patented, genetically modified, owned or controlled by emerging seed giants. It is based on reclaiming seeds and biodiversity as commons and public good.

The past twenty years have seen a very rapid erosion of seed diversity and seed sovereignty, and the concentration of the control over seeds by a very small number of giant corporations. In 1995, when the UN organised the Plant Genetic Resources Conference in Leipzig, it was reported that 75 per cent of all agricultural biodiversity had disappeared because of the introduction of "modern" varieties, which are always cultivated as monocultures. Since then, the erosion has accelerated.

snip

An article in Forbes, titled "Why Uncle Sam Supports Franken Foods", shows how agribusiness is the only sector in which US has a positive trade balance. Hence the push for GMOs – because they bring royalties to the US. However, royalties for Monsanto are based on debt, suicidal farmers and the disappearance of biodiversity worldwide.

http://www.aljazeera.com/indepth/opinion/2012/02/201224152439941847.html

37. millertheanunnaki | February 7, 2012 at 6:16 PM |
    @ Brudah-Bim | February 7, 2012 at 5:09 PM |

Bajans are subservient and are just glorified educated servants. Why did they sell their shares in BS&T, BNB, and BL&P? For a pint pot of pottage?
    *********************************************************************************
    As someone so rightly put it, the only difference is that these Degreed fellows are now working in air-conditioned plantations in Bridgetown and Warrens. But isn’t it a pity that many caught on and misconstrued Mr Barrow’s Cane Blade Speech, just as these same “educated servants” misinterpreted Mr Barrow’s reason for allowing all free secondary education. In the old days , to be a manager or an executive in the private sector meant being trained on the job, under “experienced” managers, and we all know who was given preference. The free secondary education and eventually a place in UWI was meant to short circuit the Kith and Kin Great House College which existed. This new breed of young turks were supposed to come out of university and become mostly entrepreneurs,and like Moses, provide guidance and leadership to the people. But what do they do on exiting university?, line up outside CO Williams and BS&T doorsteps begging for jobs.

38. @Green Monkey…

Thank you for bringing this issue forward.

It is rather sad and pathetic that our staple foods are now a function of the US of A’s patent laws….

39. I personally think we need to take baby steps…and the first thing we have to do here in Barbados is to ensure that Monsanto Products are banned, GMO foods and seeds banned. How to do this? I guess the only way is to perhaps start a petition, get as many people as we can to sign up and present it to the Minister of Agriculture demanding immediate action.

I am going to say this very clearly – I find it disgusting that there is a possibility that we cannot achieve this very important goal (the banning of Monsanto et al) because “money talks and bullshit walks”…and I will further ask the question very clearly: who getting the money to keep this company and its products here is what I want to know… and how do they feel about having their own people, their own mothers, fathers, children, all their family and friends, walking in the shit that their bull is causing!!

Read this slowly and assimilate:
    Monsanto kills and anyone who is receiving money to allow these products in, any festival of any kind that is being sponsored by this company, anyone person who has anything to do with this company at all, at all…even by selling or promoting or using its products, please note your are murdering your own.

AND TAKE NOTE OF THIS WARNING:

BARBADOS NEEDS TO GO ORGANIC. OUR FOODS ARE CONTAMINATED. OUR SOIL CANNOT TAKE ANY MORE PESTICIDES/INSECTICIDES. OUR WATER TABLE IS IN TROUBLE. OUR REEFS ARE IN TROUBLE. OUR PEOPLE, OUR CHILDREN ARE DYING DAILY BECAUSE OF THE ABOVE.

WE HAVE TO START SOMEWHERE….FORGET ALL THE BACK AND FORTH OF TALK. LET US GET SOME ACTION HERE ON WHAT IS OF THE UTMOST IMPORTANCE. WE MUST BEG OUR GOVERNMENT TO SEE THE LIGHT….THEY HAVE FAMILIES TOO…WHAT WILL IT TAKE.. A MINISTER’S ONLY CHILD TO DIE OF AN ASTHMATIC ATTACK OR OF A DREADFUL BLOOD CANCER CAUSED BY WHAT WE ARE INGESTING.???????? GOD FORBID!

FAST ACTION IS REQUIRED HERE BY THE POWERS THAT BE IN GOVERNMENT. SIMPLY DAT.

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Brudah-Bim | February 7, 2012 at 7:49 PM |
    “What I am talking about is feasible ways for the government to strategize on how to safeguard our economic future. What you are arguing at this point is the failures in the bureaucracy and mismanagement of the administration.”

Tell us Brudah, how does one separate the strategic planning of the Barbados government from the workings of the bureaucracy and administration. A plan is mere talk and words unless it can be implemented. The Government of Bim has had over the years high sounding strategic plans-even up to 2025 to make Bim a “developed’ country. Have we to date implemented at least one of the strategic requirements? For instance getting the PSV’s to comply with the requirements of the law. Or would you consider this observation “WAAAAYYY” underdeveloped and presumably FALSE?

41. I AGREEE WITH SISTER PARKINSON!!
    ONLY I DONT BELIEVE WE SHOULD “BEG” OUR GOVERNMENT, WE MUS DEMAND IT FROM THEM!

42. @millertheanunnaki
    Which is why I stated fot the millionth frigging time that there MUST BE MOBILIZATION ON PART OF THE BARBADIAN PEOPLE TO BY DRAFTING A PETITION WITH A CLEAR DECLARATION IN WHICH THE BAJAN PEOPLE WISH FOR THE APPROPRIATE PRIORITIZATION OF GOVERNMENT EXPENDITURES TO OUR MUCH NEEDED SECTORS!!!

43. @millertheanunnaki
    Please, just stop while you’re ahead. You are clearly too dense to even think from a wide spectrum that is both tangible and realistic. You have been taught to think from a very warped and contorted view. I suppose that you will argue that Barbados should be “wise enough” and opt to further engage in policies established by the IMF and World Bank. You sicken me….

A hapless louse who is willing to trade up the productivity capabilities of his homeland and doesn’t even fart on truly setting his eyes on harnessing the human potential as well as our modern infrastructure.

You’re poorly mistaken if you think that further manipulation of our finances and “providing common ground for foreign firms to compete domestically”.
    I advise you stop talking now or else I’ll accuse of having a monkey’s arse for a brain…

44. I am on a diet and love my veggies….so Ill keep out

45. [@ millertheanunnaki & AC]
    ***TO THOSE WHOM ARE SKEPTICAL OF BARBADOS’ AGRICULTURAL REVIVAL, PLEASE LOOK HERE TO EDUCATE YOURSELVES BRIEFLY!!***

These videos should provide you with better insights as to the potential of rescuing Barbados’ agricultural sector and enabling it to become competitive. Here’s an insight on two fields of Horticulture ( A field in which the government should be focusing on investing in ). Horticulture would MOST CERTAINLY be a strategic investment on part of the government because of the long term capabilities of the country to not only be self sufficient but to also export.

Here’s coverage on the Horticulture sub-field of Aeorponics:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y4UWGtb4Fmw&feature=related

Here’s coverage on the Horticulture sub-field of Hydroponics:

46. Rolling Calf II Avatar

The sight of a man fornicating with a barrel of chicken is offensive. Although Negroes like chicken, I thought Bajans were flying fish eaters. I stand corrected.

47. Look once and for all i am not arguing methods of farming with you .my argument is how barbados gonna get substantial amounts of money to finance the projects it would be either by increased taxes or borrowing. thats my point.

48. @ac
    my argument is how barbados gonna get substantial amounts of money to finance the projects

Morning gf
    Take the money..the $60Million and more… that is planned to throw down Jacob’s Horse Nostrills>>>>(Four Seasons) and put into Agriculture. This would surely provide over 7,000 jobs(over 5 years span)in addition it is Medium Term strategy and sure ROI….Not to mention the other indirect employment..distributionexporting. Agriculture includes fish farming…open sea.Mahai Mahai ( bds dolphin) pens, indoor Talaphea…..good export thrust.

Instead $60 million on a dead or nearly dead project…going to get its third injection and a further $160 Million from IDB. Ladies and Gentlemen welcome to Barnes and Bailey Big Top…

Leave a Reply to old onion bagsCancel reply