The following email was received from a customer who shared an interesting experience while shopping at the leading supermarket in Barbados.

Team investigation of pricing in the big stores, today I bought 4 items and 2 were wrong… or at least missleading!!

I visited your store this morning in Warrens for a few small groceries and on the receipt comments were requested from this experience.

Firstly I would like to congratulate you on your fruit and vegetable department, you have the freshest and most inviting selection on the island, today I was drawn to the Idaho potatoes $10.99 for 5 lb bag so I grabbed one…. Upon reaching the till I then noticed I had a 10 lb bag that looked identical to the 5 lb for $24.39!!! Very naughty trick!! Next I grab some coke $10.50 as advertised, then tonic $11.29 even though advertised as $10.50.

So in conclusion I’m a very angry customer are times not tough enough?

I await your reply.

Many Thanks

59 responses to “Super!”

1. @random
    And onions instead of buying sardine is $2.15 and Middle Cut or Mackerel for $4.85 and Corn beef $4.15….” use the $11.45 go to the fish market and buy $11.45 worth of flying fish fish from a local fish vendor, you should get about 30 fish for that money

When last you visit D market……flying fish….gone Tabago luv..is sardine or Bangamaraies nowadays….or tin of Mackerel..fish scare..onions fishing when the night come in the Flour Mill.

Call the Child care Board
    You live in Barbados Miss Random ?….like you want Onions get rub out
    These girls got pimps lurking in the background to protect these young ladies Maam.
    Lady we living in rough rough times…and if you want to live.

2. @Sarge
    (a) if the correct price of the product is $10 or less, the retailer will give the product to the customer free of charge; or

Sarge you got onions laughing man…boy dis is Barbados..them things don’t happen bout hay man….somehow always the merchant does come out on top.

Just to show only recently a famous retailer of TV’s by St.Marys advertised a gift of a laptop if you buy a certain item via the newspaper.One fellow went to buy the item and was given a laptop table (tray) as the gift instead…the loyal sales attendant realizing something was wrong..informed management.. who were quick to call in on call in program informing of the mistake.As to the first buyer of the item looking for the advertised laptop…no way hosea… he had to settle for a laptop tray.
    A lawyer called in and said according to our laws…C Bdos.Ltd was right.

Now tell me Sarge..don’t you think in good customer relations they should’nt have given the poor guy the laptop ? Just this one ?

Barbados and Canada miles apart when it comes to these tings boss.

3. @Hants
    Why don’t you put some fishing line,lead and hooks in your jeep and teach the fella to fish.
    Hants boy when ya fishing at night..? When dun he my relieve me of my fishing gear and wallet. Time hard bout hay and head ain’t only made to wear hat…ya got to be sharp nowadays to survive..that ole wise saying for back then .lol not nowadays

4. “Haaaaaa ha. good one but NO.I fish on the beach for relaxation(food too) and sardine oil is good for scenting up D fish.

Ole onion bags I wunder whose fish yuh does be scenting up and which beach yuh does be fishin pon? Graves END? Yuh does catch anyting doh? LMAO As de mighty Sparrow does sing… saaaaalt fish Sparrow was de greatest lover

5. What about Chefette running a Chico pack special advertised on the board as $14.50/$14.30 and at the window you pay $15+.

6. @ islan gal 696
    LMAO As de mighty Sparrow does sing… saaaaalt fish Sparrow was de greatest lover
    I just was doing some Back Reading and could not allow you to taint the good name of this true son on the beach.

Dear Island gal
    I say to you 69 old granny you>> U2 WATLESS and need the Lord.
    You need to go retire that “mud pump” and stop hallucination on what used to be. As my friend Mr. Hoad wood say “accept the ole age wid goats milk” and live out the last sunsets.Try not to be a young yam in a ole pram.
    I await your sentiments my old friend.

With kind regards,
    Youthful onions (poop..excuse me)

7. OH yeah Islang gal
    and pick those low hanging fruits.

8. chocolate city hussle Avatar
    chocolate city hussle

@islandgal246 | February 4, 2012 at 1:43 AM |
    “Some supermarkets/retailers do not allow the customer to see the monitor as they enter the prices. I always demand that I see the monitor or ask what was the price entered. ”

u cannot be speaking about any supermarket AT ALL. u could have from the beginning said DaCosta Mannings NOT “Some supermarkets/..” as i know that THE SuperCentres, Popular and Trimart have prices right up in ur face

9. chocolate city hussle Avatar
    chocolate city hussle

@”Son Of Spam | February 4, 2012 at 8:17 AM |
    There are a number of ways to stretch your money,……
    Nescafe mid-size is $15 from SC, but buy two packets of “Clasico” at $11, when the jar is used up? Pour the 2 sachets in, the bottle is almost full! You pay 5 or 4 dollars for the container, Bajans, use the refill method ONLY! Same for Ketchup…

Dollarwise on Swan Street can get you Detergent Bars, Shaving Cream or Shampoo for 3$ each. They have Tang powdered juice in Grape, Orange and Raspberry – why waste on Coke or Sprite? The boxed noodles they have are very salty so add some milk or potatoes to them to draw off the salinity”

U have very UNHEALTHY HABITS plus i CANNOT put detergent bars in my washing machine. Popular sells Lily blue which works really or B-29 if ur washing by hand. i would never use potatoes (which u should avoid) to draw off salt it totally backward because u will in turn eat the very same potatoes. DO PUT USE SALT PERIOD

Leave a Reply to JohnCancel reply