Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

In 1998, a panel of Law Lords took the unprecedented decision to set aside a ruling of a differently constituted panel of judges of the House of Lords because of the appearance of bias, in an appeal brought by Senator Pinochet, former president of Chile.

The Government of Spain was seeking Pinochet’s extradition from the United Kingdom to face trial for acts that he was alleged to have committed when he was head of state of Chile. He pleaded that he had immunity from prosecution because of his status of head of state when the acts were alleged to have taken place, and that was upheld by the lower courts. To make a long story short, the lower courts’ decision was overturned paving the way for the continuation of extradition proceedings.

Subsequent to the first appeal it was discovered that the wife of one of the panel of Law Lords, Lord Hoffman, was employed by Amnesty International who sought and was granted permission to be an intervener in the Appeal. Lord Hoffman was not a member of Amnesty International, but he had raised funds to assist them to acquire a building.

The second panel accepted that there was a real danger or reasonable apprehension of suspicion that Lord Hoffmann might have been biased. There was no allegation of actual bias, but the panel ruled that the appearance of bias was enough to cause them to set aside the ruling in the first hearing before the Lords.

Just recently, in Trinidad, that country’s Chief Justice was embarrassed into returning the instrument constituting him a senior counsel, what we call queen’s  counsel in Barbados, because it was bestowed by the Government. It was submitted that such acceptance would conflict with the doctrine of the separation of powers, and also there would be some appearance of bias if the Chief Justice were to adjudicate a case involving the Government.

Based on the two examples that I cited above, imagine my surprise when the Chief Justice of Barbados could be seen on the front page of a newspaper receiving honorary membership of the Rotary Club. My head immediately started to work overtime: should I join Rotary in case I am ever at the receiving end of a law suit; or what would happen if I had to go up against one of his Rotarian brothers in court.

Ever so often, we hear unfounded allegations that some of our judicial officers being lodge members cited as the reason why certain cases are decided in a particular way. It does not matter how unfounded these claims happen to be: they would tend to reduce confidence that the populace should repose in the judiciary. I am not saying that the Chief Justice would be biased but I would sleep a whole lot better if he had declined the invitation.

I do not know if it only me clutching at straws or is it that the Chief Justice has exercised extremely poor judgement in accepting honorary membership of Rotary. In my opinion, he should be required to return one of his instruments of appointment: it should either be Rotary or Chief Justice, not both.

137 responses to “Rotarian Chief Justice! What Was He Thinking?”

1. To David:
    We in Barbados daily show to world on this blog that we are some of the most uneducated people in the world. That email has more emotion in it than is needed. This issue is not about where the CJ came from or where his roots lie. So because the cj is associated with the Bay Land should he let all the criminals for that area go free. Whether the CJ was black, blue or pink, the point is he should not be fraternizing with an elements who can be seen to blunt his good judgement, and cause justice not to prevail in Barbados.

2. @lemuel

There is a semblance of good argument on this topic to warn the CJ that he should thread carefully if he wants to make a difference.

We need a CJ who will reorganize our justice system.

Fact is nobody is questioning his motive for engaging in the many extrajudicial activities which he has been covered in the media.

Those who live in Barbados understand well how decisions are made.

The CJ should do well to heed advice how he goes about championing an independant judiciary.

3. 1. Read Lowdown Hoad in today’s Nationnews.

2. The CJ will be under attack because divisive politics and racial discrimination is mired in our dna.

Ever heard of the Hants experience.
    Red man Hants is a nobody. Hants stands next to highly qualified black friend but Hants is approached on the assumption that Hants is the “knowledgeable” one.

I hope the younger generation of black barbadians will be motivated to treat people with the respect they have earned and not by the variations in skin colour.

4. We have a man who has been appointed because he is bright and is believed to have”integrity”. We are supposed to be educated and cannot see the ground is being tilled for a later position, sometime in the future.
    A blind man on a trotting horse should see what is happening.

My friends I will leave it to you guys…good luck.

5. While the Alexandra issue is Hot why not Picket the Courts too see how the CJ responds. I still believe he is in a retirement phase. Is he also a Honorary member of BARP?

6. To David:
    My point was about the email. I concur with you on the matter.

7. what sparked my attention to such a god awful event was the uncermonious disregard for the elderly couples dignity by the judicial system and the undignified way of how it all ended by bulldozing the home

8. something is catergorically wrong with s system which would go to the lowest after everthing else fails inresrting to bulldozers to remove their people from house and land.Those of us who might be resting comfortably on their in silence should in fact be asking OR THINKING to themselves “(his could happen to me..i will make a mental note of this disastet and at some point and time remind the system and the people thefolly of their error

9. i meaning i don’t have no problem with the owners wanting to acquire the land but my bone of contention is the inhumane way the order to acquire and achieve was executed. reminds me of totalitarian govt. as a country on the cusp of first rate status we can do better than that.

10. some thing is categorically wrong when a system that is supposed to right the wrongs ends up on the wrong side. How is it that in the 21st century laws of such nature are still on our books and it seems to be endorsed by all and sundry. How is it that a government that prides itself on the educated ability of its country is constantly finding itself in twist are turns which are unabashedly shameful.

11. How is it possible that a government who is to serve and protect its citizens would use such strong arm tactics to demolished a home from an unarmed citizen . That smacks in the face of cruel and inhumane punishment and for what because this elderly couple after living on the land for over 40years was sanctioned to move by the law and refused . Was the actions by the Law justified .? Couldn’t there have been another or series of alternatives that would have been more palatable to the human psyche and also been justifiable by action. How could the actions taken be seen as justified when this elderly couple have been put on the street.

12. it maybe be rubbing some people the wrong way from thec way i have approach the subject. but living in a so called civilized society aren’t we supposed to treat others with a respect. we espoused christian values but shouldn’tthose values be a reflection of our true beliefs.shouldn’t we be leaders instead of followers.i have heard of people being evicted but never in my wildest dreams would i thought Barbados would be seen worldwide using bulldozers as a means to an end. What would they think of next DYNAMITE! but yuh neva know

13. this is a rewrite of my comments posted on Jan. 20/2012/2. 07pm

Something is catergorically wrong with a system which would go to the lowest after everything else fails resorting to bulldozers to remove people from home and land.those of us who might be resting comfortably on their laurels in silence should in fact be asking or thinking to themselves”this can happen to me” i will make a mental note of this injustice and at some point and time remind the system and its people the error of their folly.

14. LAws should be so design that even the guilty is treated with some sense of dignity and humanity. How can anyone look at those pictures of a demolished house and not be recoiled. a picture they say is worth a thousand words but in this instance the bulldozed and demolished house might have broken a million hearts. Is it me that only see the inhumane treatment undeservedly so all to acquire a piece of land as disgraceful and an offense to a person dignity. Weren’t there no other alternatives.

15. @ac

Don’t you think you need the facts to form judgement?

If the parties were ordered to move by the Courts and refused as reported what would you like to have happen?

You don’t think the owner of the property has rights?

Yes it is unfortunate what happened to these senior citizens but don’t rush to judgement unless we can find out the full facts of the matter.

The Nation should be complimented for publicizing it. The good thin is that these senior citizens have a young son who on the face of it can look after them in the short term.

16. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

AC
    I can see that you are heart broken, but it does not surprise that with all your comments no one has come out to show their disgust by the way poor people are treated in this country. I have been crying out for years about the mistreatment of those that are less fortunate, but it is like winking at a pretty girl in the dark: nobody knows but you.

Politicians pretend to care about poor people every five years or sooner if the poor person has a young good-looking grand daughter.

17. Will the facts justify the mishandling and mistreatment handed down to the elderly couple. I don;t think so.The judgement handed down was cruel to say the least David. BTW i have no beef with the property owners david don’t even go there. i have read the story in all the differing newspapers and see the pictures and they are all the same.The property could have been seized as judgement against the couple instead of having a demoralising picture of a bull dozer running amock over a home while the owners look on. What facts David ! what Facts! Do you understand the psychology of the mind! do you know how many people seeing this picture and wonder what kind of laws would allowed this to happen. Those are the facts. If we want to be seen as first rate nation . We must act it. Now body seeing those pictures and readfing the case would think the outcome was justifiable. Nobody with a sense of decency and integrity in their mind.

18. @ac

Did you read the part that these people refused to moved over what period of time?

Do you appreciate they would have been told the consequences of their action?

BTW the property was and old dwelling with negligible salvage value.

It is a difficult situation which it seems the old couple were poorly advised by the son, and this is a guess.

19. @ caswell

I was not expecting a reply . Barbadians have always been of the mindset if it doesn’t apply to them”It is none of their business” as a matter of fact i was thoroughly enjoying getting the message out without instigators and political yardfowls from both side of the fence .My message is not pol,itical driven but in order to look at antisocial behaviour within the highest level of government which when unleashed can distribute a deadly and longstanding blow against those who can least defend themselves.

20. the facts are the facts. These old people lived onn the property for 40years.
    Owners wants to sell property
    Government offer the elderly couple land in a prone flood zone they refuse,
    After two years’ The government sends a bulldozer to demolish house.
    Simple right! david O.k. right ! Now put yourself at the age of seventy with no home and standing on the sidewalk watching your home which you worked and struggle for bulldozed to the ground ! is that the picture of a barbados we want to live in. I don.t so i would continue to speak out against any form of injustice wether it be sanction by government or other entities. What i see is wrong and should be condone and not justified ,they got to be a better way if not we are all doomed.

21. @ac

No one is denying that it is a bad situation.

Bear in mind all of Barbados is flood prone except Mt Hillaby.

22. O.k. David one day you will get it when your turn come. I am not dismissing you but in order for you to see the perspective of it all you must see the humane side and that is where the court and laws failed in this case in seeking resolution In other words is it worth dehumanising a persons well being in order to seek compensation for another and the court and laws failed miserably on that part.

23. Hi @ ac
    January 21, 2012 at 12:02am

Quote:[…. “you must see the humane side and that is where the court and laws failed in this case in seeking resolution]

The important word here is “RESOLUTION”.
    Resolution can only be found when people negotiate.

If they say they are “NOT BACKING DOWN” it cannot happen…remember a certain school, Alexandra.

This lady had her day in Court she knew what to expect. When her son was asked why she did not move in time as requested. His response was: “I am not talking about that”

Some people in Barbados believe they are always right, they blame the Government, Politicians and everyone else, when that fails they fall back on EMOTION.
    Everyone has a right to fair treatment in a just society and that applies to the young and the old, the landlord as well as the tennant.

Nothing personal ac just a point of view.

24. @Yardbroom
    The WORD FAIR does not apply here in the court seeking RESOLUTION. In order to resolve varying components must apply , one of which should be compassion . Not only for one side but for both sides seeking the resolove . Therfore it should have been left up to court inspite of the foolhardinees and misguided attempts to challenge the system by the elderly to seek a more humane approach for resolve.

25. Notice i have not said the elderly were not to blame for the outcome. but did the outcome justify the method taken to evict them? There is a real problem here folks that is when human beings are brought down to the level of being subhuman by any means necessary and we can all agree. Some where along the road we have lost our ability to grasp or to feel what it is like to be human.

26. Hi ac
    Should “compassion” be shown only to the tennant because she is old [ despite an alternative having been offered to her] are younger people not worthy of that compassion in a FAIR society?

27. Yardbroom first we are all human beings no matter what age. Our society should and must have laws in place that reflect a more humanistic approach to dealing and resolving with delicate and deliberate isssues such as this. In that way the appearance of vigilante justice does not rear its ugly head.Missing in all this is the Human aspect which is being clouded by the “Appearance of Justice” for the landlord.

28. Hi ac,
    The appearance of “Vigilante justice”? a properly constituted Court made a decision, a Court the tennant was prepared to go to. Unfortunately in this case the decision went against her.
    In Court decisions “everyone” cannot win.
    Do you really believe all the people involved who made the decision are bad, have no respect for human rights etc.
    On the facts available, I do not believe that to be the case.

29. No i don’t not believed that the decision makers are bad. However it is the LAW that is BAD and the decision makers interrupted the law as is. However we as a people should make some noise and demand that these archaic laws be removed and replaced by LAWS with a more Humanistic approach for justice.The old couple they too could have benefited even though they might have Lost the right to remain on the property .

30. Hi ac
    Quote: “No I don’t not believed that the Law makers are bad. However, it is the LAW that is BAD and the decision makers interrupted the law as is.”

Please, tell me how the decision makers interrupted the LAW?

31. i can say that in this case the judges orders if attached to the demolition was flawed. it was Alright for the court to order them from further use of the land. but the sentenced handed down was cruel.

32. The law in its quest and correctly so protected the rights of ownership however it did make a critical error in excluding the human aspect of dignity.it makes one wonder if we are of less/ value than personnel property seeing what transpired this week.

33. Hi ac
    January 21, 2012, at 11:32 am

Quote ” I can say that in this case the judges orders if attached to the demolition was flawed. it was alright for the court to order them from further use of the land but the sentence handed down was cruel”

How can the ruling be flawed! when you have said: “Alright for the Court to order them from further use of the land.”

If the tennant is prevented from further use of the land by Court Order. Should the landlord not repossess what is legally his?

34. @ac

How should that human aspect have been applied bearing in mind the occupiers of the property refused to follow the court order?

35. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The occupiers of the property did not refuse to follow the court order. They were incapable of carrying it out and that is another matter. They did not have the means to do so. Similarly, when an unemployed father does not have the means to make child support payments, he is jailed for 42 days for contempt of court for refusing to carry out the order of the court. The State then take no further action to recover the arrears, as though his children can eat 42 days. The sensible thing would be to put the father to work and take his wages to support his children. But the mentality in this country is still lick and lock up.

The law where a persons’ home can be dismantled and taken to the dump, and the one where people could go to jail for contempt when he is incapable of complying with the court order is in serious need of reform. You ever realise that it is the “poor black man” who suffer in this way.

36. Caswell in this case wasn’t the elderly couple offered a place to relocate and all that it would have taken?

37. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

That is my understanding, but the house was not in a state that it could be dismantled. It was only suited for firewood. Giving them a spot and no house would be no help to them.

38. Hmmm, perhaps this is the point ac has been relentless in making if this is the way it went down.

39. Random Thoughts Avatar

I would prefer that our justices not join any organizations, not even churches. If they want to pray they shold go into thier closets, shut the door, and pray to their God privately.

40. YES DAVID and it all goes back to such a word as DIGNITY.IN a system where the POOR do not have a fighting Chance to defend themselves financialy it is only FAIR and ethical that laws which do not show compassion and are geared to stripped a person of self worth are removed .And in the long run we would be all be better.

41. Yardbroom caswell comments entertain that the a law that does not have humanitarian grounds weighed into them . the fact that an orderwas issued such as this is not adrress say that we have come far and have gotten nowhere because our holier and better than approach to life has held as back .The fact that a court can order the bulldozing of any one property without thought or concern for the basic diginty of a person over the value of property is troubling.

42. Hi ac,
    With the greatest of respect you are advancing an emotional argument. You should not suppose no one cares, because I am sure many people do.
    As I understand the situation:
    (1) The Court gave the tennant a “reasonable” time to move.
    (2) The time expired.
    (3) The Court then had to act, the Landlord wanted his land.
    (4) When the tennant’s son was asked why they did not move in the stipulated time, he is reported as saying: “I don’t want to talk about that.
    (5) The house was in a bad state of repair.
    (6) When you are in that position you cannot “dictate” terms.

Caswell’s arguments go into other areas not “germane” to this specific issue, and could confuse the matter in hand. I do not reason in that way. I will concentrate on “evidence” which relates to this matter.

43. Yardbroom

You are correct the court order was enforced as per the law.

The point ac is making is that our laws reflect society’s ‘panacea’ and as part of civil society there is an opportunity to craft a win win position.

It is not unusual for Court officials to consult with stakeholders in civil society to ensure justice is adequately dispensed.

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Random Thoughts | January 21, 2012 at 2:41 PM |
    “I would prefer that our justices not join any organizations, not even churches. If they want to pray they should go into their closets, shut the door, and pray to their God privately.”

I wish to support you on this position. There is NO NEED for these people to join or to be associated with any social or “fraternity” organisation in Bim, given the “caste type” system that seems to permeate the society.
    They should not even attend or be a part of any religious grouping or institution. if they are Christian by ‘faith or persuasion” they should follow the injunction as set out by their Teacher in the book of Matthew 6:6 as you have alluded to (” But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, who is unseen. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.”)

I wish to support “ac’s” humanitarian perspective on the situation.
    Its amazing how some of you are in support of the enforcement of the Court’s orders regarding this case but on the other hand turn a “blind eye” to the need for similar treatment based on equity and fairness regarding the Al Barrack judgment.
    The Law must not been seen as an “Ass” but as a “Blindfolded Maiden” carrying the scales of justice in her hands, if you understand the symbolism.

45. @ David

The Law Courts are “Adversarial”: Involving opposing parties or interests in a Legal contest.

It is not a Social Services Panel but they – Magistrates & Judges – do or should try to have a “reasonable outcome” in specific cases. In some issues that is just not possible.

46. @Yardbroom

In this case it would not be unreasonable if counsel for the elderly couple had approached the judge in chambers and put a case given the circumstances.

The judge could then have asked his staff to reach out to the relevant government department to determine how best to apply the order.

47. @ David

I will not second guess the learned Judge in this case, because he/she had the “evidence” before him/her.

However, when the time was given for the Tennant to vacate the land, the Judge or the Tennant’s Counsel would or should have explained the likely outcome to the Tennant if the land was not vacated

I believe and this is only an “opinion”, the house was demolished in the way it was because of its condition, the intention was not to seem uncaring.

48. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Yardbroom

The law requires the Chief Marshal to remove the house and convey it to a public dump. When a house is dismantled and place next to the road so that the owner can retrieve it is as a result of the senior marshal showing a little mercy on his/her initiative. I agree that the court interpret the law, but it is for the elected representatives to remove these 19th century concepts from the statute books and replace them with a more enlightened set of procedures. But I will continue to say politicians only care about poor people at election time.

49. Caswell there are cases where the judge ‘structured’ the court order to show mercy.

50. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Sometimes the magistrate tries to show some mercy but their hands are tied and eventually have to enforce the law. The problem is not one for the courts, but really it is a matter for the legislature.

I am not blaming the magistrate, because if and when they fail to behave in a judicial or judicious way, I am the first person to be critical. One journalist said to me once, “Caswell are you mad? You are the only person in Barbados that would criticize a judge”.

Leave a Reply to JohnCancel reply