Submitted by RUSERIOUS

What’s up my fellow bloggers, just thought I’d stop by with a small bit of information you thought you knew. 🙂 Do you really want to know the sad, pathetic state of the judiciary and our laws? Here’s how it goes. Our young friends who are snatching your phones, your jewellery and your handbags from your cars, as you drive in traffic, walk in Bridgetown or even just go for a stroll down your gap do not fear the law, capture or the Police.

Why you ask? Aren’t they going to go to jail? Well yes and no. You see the act of snatching your property from you is a minor offence under the Theft Act. No jail time. Then there is the youthful offender who is sorry, and the bleeding heart judiciary who gives him a chance to commit more crime. Meanwhile poor grandpa and some women (the main targets) suffer at the hands of these thieves.

Moving right along, there are the ever increasing robberies, which are just as frequent as snatching, where your suddenly attacked and before you can hit the ground you are overwhelmed and your property taken. Now the even more sinister part. Some youngsters are appearing before the court with about 5-10 charges of robbery and theft. But instead of pleading not guilty they plead guilty. Why you ask? Well here is why they learned to stop worrying and love the court.

If you plead guilty you get two years maximum to run concurrent on all your charges. If you plead not guilty, you will more than likely get remanded awaiting trial. Since not all of your matters can be heard at once, they will be heard separately, and depending on bail and what’s not, it could be many many years before you have all disposed of, while you wait behind bars. So let’s see, minimal chance of being caught – check, when caught – chance to get off with a chance – check, when caught chance to get off with two years only for multiple offences concurrently – check. Lucrative loot – check.

So the plan? Snatch/rob/steal as much as you can, because if you get caught (small chance) more than likely you’ll be back doing your favourite hobby in no time.

Then comes the burglars, again many young men involved. The same rule applies here. Commit numerous amounts of burglaries over a period of years. By some unlucky stroke get caught and admit to 50 burglaries. Plead guilty to all, get two years maximum in prison on all charges concurrently, rinse and repeat. When you do the maths you discover why then we have over 2000 residential and commercial property burglaries/years. When the Police lock up one half, the other half is our doing damage, when they lock them up, the locked up half is ready to roll. Lose Lose for the public.

What can be done? Well what is usually done when we have serious crime plaguing the country, enact laws to deter it and show people you mean business.

This was done with firearms. Now yes we still have a problem with firearms, but they are hot potatoes. No one wants to be caught with one, and it is likely you could receive a hefty jail time if caught with one. Enact legislation to give Magistrates the power to sentence consecutive on each charge. Give magistrates’ the power to sentence to a maximum of 10 years for robbery and burglary. Last but not least: Enforce that legislation against offenders. Make the crime not worth the time.

What is even more disturbing is that a number of the robberies are committed with firearms, however because no firearm is found in possession of the robber at the time of their subsequent arrest, no firearm charge can be applied. So a gun toting robber who commits hundreds of robberies, still gets his two years under the theft act.

If you think it’s bad now, just wait. A word of advice to plantation owners or dwellers/remote housing dwellers/ persons who live in remote locations, beef up your security. You are being targeted. Didn’t the Police just finish solving the Chadderton murder, and stop one set of home invasions? Now we’re right back there again.

We can’t be serious.

76 responses to “How Young Criminals Learned To Stop Worrying And Love The Bomb”

1. @BAF

right Heyyy! Tool and come again!

2. islandgal246 | January 17, 2012 at 6:32 PM |
    AC… BAFFY could try all he want BUT his tool is too old and rusty um need some WD40. And eff he want to plant he stick in muh garden I gine chop chop.
    *********************************************************************************
    Not to bother too much if your Tetanus shot is up to date. Good for nail jucks ,and when handling rusty old iron.

3. There may soon be many vacancies in top positions, given the fact that Grave Diggers ,aka Soil Technicians are taking home much more than University Graduates , real Technicians and Agronomists.

4. so what? doesn’t baskeball and football players take home more than teachers!

5. ac

You are the task … ? … Well for that task, le’me see, how does thick and hard grab you…?

6. I find ROK’s comments, mildly interesting. I take it you have an axe to grind with the Police, since you are referring to them as beaters and hiding behind the law and etc…

I can’t say the last time I saw P.O rob someone walking down the road. I can say that when I’ve walked down the road late at night and passed one by, or a vehicle drove by, I’ve felt safe, or safer.

I would also ask you, you are in some sort of denial, everyone points out to you that this isn’t about social inadequacies, there are just some people in the world, throughout history who are evil and born that way and regardless of any intervention have continued to be and will always be evil.

And I ask you this, how would you deal with someone who has convictions for robbery + burglary + firearm offences, and is now facing the court on say several armed robberies, and/or 20 more burglaries as happens frequently.

Would you say to them? Aw poor boy couldn’t find a job? On your way then? Or would you give them what they deserve, as the British put it, their just desserts. Reap what you sew.

You sir… are making a victim out of the perpetrator and the VICTIM some person who either deserved to be violated or who it is of really no concern but simply exists to be robbed/burgled by the criminal. How dare he complain and wish the person to be punished?

As someone once said, you aren’t in the BUD stages anymore. You cannot socially reform a hardened psychopath. Everyone has a choice, lots of people do not have jobs. Some choose to take what others have, others choose to suffer through it. It is a choice, free will. You sir, just give them all the more excuse they need.

Oh Gov’t didn’t pay my food bills, oh I can’t make as much money as you in a life time.

You are right about social injustices, but again I ask, how does that relate to the sentencing and protection of law abiding citizens from predators.

I am sure if your little girl child was raped in her butt 10 times you would be a little disturbed about it.

And if not then you are a pacifist. Someone who stands idly by and does nothing, and like UNDERGROUND says if you stand for nothing, you fall for anything.

If the world was full of pacifists who let other people bully them because they could or because they were bigger or more violent, then Hitler would be our Overlord or his children and American would never have entered the world war in 1941 when it did, because they wouldn’t have cared what Hitler was doing in Europe, not their business.

Just an off track analogy to how you come off.

I wish that all the criminals could be put on an island with people like you, and you can have all the time in the world to rehab them.

You claim the OP has an agenda, but he spewed some facts relating to sentencing which are seen in news coverage, what you spew is libelous. P.O who it can be proved breach laws are charged and dismissed from the Force.

When was the last time you saw a corrupt Gov’t official, a member of Customs a member of Immigration charged/dismissed.

At least the Police try to be transparent. You are like a spin doctor. You twist facts to suit your own reality because you cannot accept them as they are.

So too long, didn’t read.

fact: sentencing is wacked – newspaper court reports.

fact: victims are forgotten, all focus is on the poor criminals – opinions of people like ROK.

fact: P. Force attempts to and gets rid of bad apples – newspaper reports
    fact: criminals are just criminals – duh

fact: It is better to have police around than criminals. Unless you’re a criminal or benefit from criminal activity. Duh

fact: no other agency, private or public in b’dos investigates their own and puts them before law courts. – no reports of any others being charged ever.

Spin doctor (my def) – someone who changes the facts to suit their perception or reality.

7. Two years ent enough for snaching a bag?
    How much time them should get then?
    Or what should be the punishment?

How much time is good enough for clico?

How much time good enough for that container of weed that get hold?

How much time good enough for a dead son?

What we should do with teachers that dont teach?

8. @readydone

Flogged them!

9. BAFBFP….I got two old hoes here waiting fuh yuh yuh tink yuh coud handle dem?
    “BTW by the time you done choppin’ I might still have somet’ing lef … You never know …! I might be just what you looking for …! :)”

BAFBFP…..I doan hav nuh uses fuh a shortie LOLLL 🙂

Colonel…my tetanus shot aint up tah date so I aint gine try out any old rusty tools and walk bout bare foot. Tings too dangerous dese days! LOLLL

10. Those of you who have so much sympathy and make so many excuses for the thieves and robbers, why don’t you invite them to rob you instead and leave the rest of us alone. Poverty and hard times is, was, or never has been an excuse for such behavior.

11. “These are hard times people need real money to survivor not monopoly money. Any society who refuse to listen to the cries of its poor would suffer the consequences.”

Have you heard that HALF a loaf is better than none AC. Are you saying that the people who work for small salaries are or will be the criminals? LOLLL Girl Chile please think before you talk. Do you make real money?

12. After last year’s riots in England, all sorts of excuses were trotted out by the left to explain the behaviour. The perfect response came in the form of a letter to the Guardian last August:
    “Late on Monday night, news went around Twitter that Turkish shopkeepers on Stoke Newington Road in Dalston were fighting off the marauders with baseball bats, and someone tweeted “Bloody immigrants – coming over here and defending our boroughs and communities.” And it struck me that it hadn’t even occurred to me to walk on my high street and see what was going, let alone defend anything, because we would fear arrest and imprisonment for fighting. Normal people in our society are afraid of cops and the criminals aren’t. It’s a disaster. The left is lauding these Turks but not asking what it (the left) has done to the police so that they don’t fight these fights for us anymore? Why the community doesn’t pitch in anymore? Why the Chavs don’t fear the criminal justice system anymore?
    This is the rising-up of the Chavs that the left denies exists. It really isn’t poverty, it’s bad families and while people have been fleeing estates to get away from them, schools to get away from them, the left continues to insist that they are just being snobs. The fact is that we abandoned these areas to them long ago, we abandoned the schools to them long ago, and now still they want more.
    Poverty isn’t the cause of all their problems, it is the result of their actions. The way they live couldn’t result in anything but poverty. This the left’s problem, not the bankers. This is the ruin school, ruin neighbourhood, ruin lives selfish benefit-dependent criminal underclass.
    This is what happens when you excuse people from any personal responsibility for their actions, for themselves or for their children. This is what happens when you allow people to contribute nothing and only take from society……
    We need no-go areas to become heavily policed, we need courts to lock up people for a proper length of time……..We need a fundamental change in society to deal with these people, we need a fundamental change from treating them as victims.”

For those not familiar with the term, “Chav” is defined as follows:
    “Known fundamentally for being loudly low-class. The wearing of new, name brand athletic clothing and shoes, tacky gold jewellery is important. Associated with low level criminal activities and other crass misbehaviour, with their frequent use of mobile phones being a common complaint against them. The ownership of large and dangerous attack dogs and a lower-end automobile which has been “souped-up” or “tricked-out” with an impressive paint job and loud exhaust.”

Sound familiar?

13. @Victim We need no-go areas to become heavily policed, we need courts to lock up people for a proper length of time……..We need a fundamental change in society to deal with these people, we need a fundamental change from treating them as victims.”
    *************************************************************************************
    Perhaps we need to start treating the rest of the United Kingdom.like we did Northern Ireland for 38 years.

14. @Colonel Buggy
    Don’t forget I was quoting. We don’t need soldiers on the streets, just a properly paid, properly trained police force, who are given licence to enforce the law.

15. Even though we Bajans is pride our self on having an efficient schooling system. Young minds are losing precious time, why aren’t they teachers substituting with these youths?
    A teacher refuses to teach and get full pay RESULT Young minds squandered and teachers get free living.
    A gardener sleeps on a job for one day RESULT the last bed ent get fork up and He is fired, got to look for next week rent money.

Looking at both situations one would think both parties would have gotten similar punishments because they are both cases of insubordination. In fact one would think that teachers would have been dealt with more harshly because their actions have greater consequences.

But no it dont work so.

16. ISLAND GAL just keep your doors locked and hope one day that these boys on the block would pull themselves up by their boot straps and work for little or nothing. Half a loaf cost just as much as a whole loaf get it.People need money to buy the loaf not a bunch of gobbly gook talk which once was used to motive people to work for nutting dem days are dead and gone .

17. AC…..My doors does be open all de time….eff yuh want tah come and rob ah ent got nutting tah tief. You sound as if you belong to a gang but leh me tell ya don’t come pon muh turf cause de lick yuh gine get yuh ent gine fahget. LOLLLLL

18. don’t pay minister Jones no mind . he is caught between a rock and a hard place every other day he is going to be betwixt and between. What ever the reason Bstu did send a representative and there was no need tfor Minister Jones to get overly emotional. it shows him as losing control of the situation.Jones knows he has a hard road to travel and it is not going to be an easy one after all one of his best friends have allegations brought against him and Jones might have to be the one to make the call that would affect Broomes life. It must be hard being MR. Jones and having to remind yourself that a “friend is a friend through thick and thin.

19. AC…What yuh smoking? Yuh posting in de wrong place! Girl wake up nuh?

20. up! but sometimes a lil sumtin sumktin is good fuh the head but i might have had too much of a sumtin. i tink i gonna have me a drin of mauby and

21. wait island gal i see david say he gonna banned all we by not updating new blogs. wuh he punishing we for we ain;t got nuttin to do wid de bigups we don’t have a dog in that horse and pony show at Ax we just blowing smoke signal in the air talk some sense in david head isgal he gonna listen to youas fuh me well !

22. Btw island next thing you would be saying we all should work fuh free and thank god dat we gotta a job and we got it better than we foreparents and on and on and on .

23. @ victim after reading your last paragraph i just flush a pair of 2000 dollar pair of diamond earrings down the toilet and i smashed my tablet and also slashed the tires on my BMW all because of you . Now look want you now made me do become a victim too you are very motivating indeed.

24. @ island gal
    No i don’t want to come and rob .you say you ain’t got nuttin to tief. i prefer to be paid for doing a job after all no sense in wasting my time and yours.

25. Sorry….I’m new to this I suppose and maybe antedeluvian myself….but I can’t help saying that I find it sad that so much of the stuff here is seemingly written by self-indulgent and incestuous ego-ridden jokers. The private inter-personal stuff is…gee soooooooooooooo ‘borin’.

26. Alot of people these days all want to live the feel good life. This is acquired by the drugs, cigarettes, heaving drinking, sexual acts and criminal activities.

So the young ones are seeing this and some are even encourage to take up the acts and fall in line and everyone is happy.

Why complain? Individualism is the very much the in thing.

Leave a Reply to acCancel reply