Submitted by Charles Knighton

It has been reported in various sections of the press that Jamaica’s Prime Minister-elect, Portia Simpson Miller, plans to rely on divine guidance in her decisions on government policy, and has strongly suggested other members of government the same strategy. After all, if God is personally providing guidance, how can one possibly go wrong?

How many are aware that four Republican candidates were personally recruited by God to run for for President? Rick Perry, Rick Santorum, Herman Cain and Michele Bachman each provided detailed stories about where they were and what they were doing when God gave them the nod.  So just what kind of game was God playing? He told four people to run for president, but (barring a miracle, I guess) all four of them are going to end up disappointed. Imagine the situation: God himself told you to run for President. What an endorsement! What a boon to their fund-raising! And what a downer when he fails to deliver!

While I would hope the cognitive dissonance produced by the outcome of this test of faith might serve to disabuse at least these four “chosen ones” of such thinking, there rationalizations, I am sure, will keep them firmly attached to their delusional beliefs.  Should Prime Minister Simpson-Miller persist in governing according to the dictates of divine providence, one wonders what game “God” may play with the Jamaican people. A look at the world’s theocracies may offer some perspective.

62 responses to “God Made Me Lose!”

1. Thanks kiki for posting the martin Luther video in respective of his Birthday being celebrated tomorrow. as we watchthe of turn of events engulfing our little Barbados in Martins own Words”LET FREEDOM RING”

2. To David:
    Are you really calling for a combination of church and state. Man experimented with that once it was called the rule of the Roman catholic Church. Without its despotic rule in Europe, we would have the USA today. Remember the inquisition, and remember that Hitler’s Pope, the current Pope, was in charge of the inquisition as it waits for the final time to reassert the RC status as the true church of god on this earth.

3. @lemuel

Point taken but why bother to invoke the faith in God when running?

Seems hypocritocal!

4. @GP

Good to see you back here my friend. Best wishes for a blessed 2012 to you and the family.

5. I am SOOOO disillusioned by all this. I really did think God was an old man up in the sky.

6. To David:
    It is not being hypocritical. The average person in the USA wants their politician to say that he or she is connected in some spiritual way. If you do not say it, then you will have a hard time being seen as the type of leader to lead the “free world”. Most if not all of the politicians in the USA are born hypocrites including Barrack Obama, and I solidly support Mr. Obama. Here in Barbados very very few care two shakes of a lamb’s tail about poor people or Barbados. That is a reality we have to live with and be aware the type of animals we deal with called politicians.

7. chocolate city hussle Avatar
    chocolate city hussle

@islandgal246 | January 14, 2012 at 6:42 PM |
    “God must have spoken to Jippy Doyle before he raped the young girl because if God didn’t who did? Like God spoke to him again when he was released………Stupse …… Like God working overtime nuff overtime.”

how could u compare the two? just because someone says they are christian and does somethings in Jesus’ name means nothing. even Christ warned of those. so being that raper Jippy Doyle into this equation only shows ur lack comprehension about things of God. u certainly need to look at how u stand up to God. don’t look at anyone else. God will NEVER ask you about Jippy Doyle, hitler, etc he will ask u about u – what u did with Christ.

8. chocolate city hussle | January 17, 2012 at 4:24 PM |

Like the Hindus, Buddhists, Bahai Muslims etc my God is not Christ!

9. So how come hermain Cain got a pass to run for president or was god asleep when he cross the line. But yuh know all this foolisness about god telling them corrupt politicians to run reminds me of the crazy person who says “the devil made me do it” everybody seems to have a voice roaming around in their head maybe they all “CRAZY” and the public falls for it. CRAZY !

10. chocolate city hussle | January 17, 2012 at 4:24 PM |
    @islandgal246 | January 14, 2012 at 6:42 PM |
    “God must have spoken to Jippy Doyle before he raped the young girl because if God didn’t who did? Like God spoke to him again when he was released………Stupse …… Like God working overtime nuff overtime.”

else. God will NEVER ask you about Jippy Doyle, hitler, etc he will ask u about u – what u did with Christ.
    **************************************************************************************
    God’s message to Jippy Doyle was to go into the world and be a Therapist. Unfortunately, Jippy misread the script,and thought He said The Rapist.

11. Buck A. Fuzzard Avatar
    Buck A. Fuzzard

Wow, that’s a lot of words spent arguing over imaginary friends.

Leave a Reply to robert rossCancel reply