Extracted from the Facebook Page of Rosemary Parkinson. This blog was forwarded to Miles Howe, a Canadian journalist at the Halifax Media Group doing some good work to keep EMERA ‘honest’.

New Managing Director, Mark King

Many of you might remember the tirade I did on BARBADOS *NOT REALLY ANYMORE* LIGHT & POWER a few months ago. And how far dat little diatribe went. From Facebook to Barbados Underground to Brass Tacks et al. Remember you sent your CEO to me? Remember I posted what I would still consider to be answers that only Dale Carnegie would have had the balls to write about in his now so very famous book “How to win friends and influence (really meaning fool) people”? Well…after all dat episode our billl went back down to high but hello I understand the cost of living an’ all de ress of it and it still did not make me happy but it was manageable. NOW THIS MONTH WE BACK UP TO WHERE I BELLOWED AND I GINE BELLOW EVEN LOUDER NOW ‘CAUSE NOW I KNOW YOU RIPPING OFF CERTAIN PEOPLE WITHOUT A DOUBT!!!!

This last month’s bill is so raas high I gine have myself a heart attack together with my landlady nexx door….we done both sick already with chess cold. And her mother done spend a week almost in horspital so she was saving electricals at home. But dis’ month’s bill 20th November to 21st. December gone from the usual $600/700 a month now back up to $1200!!!!

1. Now we done do all the tests with electrical so please doan go there again. 2. I ent even had a Christmas light on. My house been in darkness except my bedroom and office, and dat goes out at night when I sleeping. Next door had up a few but in the scheme of lights, it looked like we poor ass people cyant afford (which is true) to light we life at Christmas. 3. We both got gas stoves and I ent even cook a ham for the monff but as doan need electricity, you can blame de ham nor de turkey. 4. All we lights on energy saving and de only ting wukking on power is we fridge. 5. I even turn off de hair-conditioner now for weeks. Maybe one or two nights….but when we were getting the big bills that rose from 300 to 6/700 we had on air-conditoners day and night – so doan come wid dat one again! And dem energy savers too!! 6. The electric dryer nexx door brukk down (probably from your surges) and I does nuse mine once every two weeks as compared to befo’ every three days!!! 7. My microwave which I did use only on very few occasions also brukk down now for monffs (mussee’ also gorn because of the surges…and the lights off and on every now and den – you did it with me lass’ fridge and I ent send you de bill, I jess went out quietly and bought a new one as I had a likkle money in me pocket den!

All ya tell me to my face dat Amera gine help you out with all o’dis ’cause dem have money and clout and you will now be able to improve de plant and wee better rates and and and….when dis’ gine happen? 4012 when I done dead and gorn ’cause all ya kill me wid bills? Or is it dat Amera suddenly decide that what all ya was doing in order to reach the goal of 75 million profit, yes! dat is what you tell me, was such a good idea, dem implementing de same wukkings as befo’ so as to mekk a few dollah off ah we in de meantime? Or is it dat in de interess of all de people over Xmas living in small house and small income in certain areas who buy up de whole of the shelves in Buhabayduss in every supermarket, and light up dem whole house inside and out, all ya billing up people ’cause of wey de live? Doan go dere with me…’cause I might live in an area dat mos’ people would consider high up but watch me and watch me good…I in a small apartment and I is a creative person, and

WE ALL KNOW WHAT CREATIVE PEOPLE DOES EARN ‘BOUT HEY!! AND DAT IS WHEN DEM GET PAID FOR DE JOB DEM DO AT A SMALL PRICE FOR WANT OF MONEY TO LIVE!!! I REALLY WANT SOME ANSWERS. NO WONDER I RIGHT NOW MIGHT HAVE TO GO BACK TO THE DOCTOR TODAY ‘CAUSE I FEEL ASTHMATIC!!! I VEX ‘TILL I VEX. AND IN THE INTEREST OF NOT BEING SENT TO JAIL FOR CALLING PEOPLE NAMES…LET ME SAY QUITE CATEGORICALLY TODAY THAT IT IS ALLEDGED THAT ALL YA DOING CROOKERY DOWN ON BAY STREET HEAR? AND DE PEOPLE CANNOT TEKK IT NO MO’! DIS IS 2012!!!

108 responses to “I Have Had It With The Barbados Light & Power Company”

1. Rosemary

I am thinking it is possible that one or both of the airconditioning (AC) units may not be under the control of the temperature sensor(s).

The result is a 100% duty cycle, one or both never cut out.

If that happened and you did not catch it, (it is easy to miss) your bill would rise even although you exercised complete control and were using them only when you needed.

AC dominates your power consuption.

That is where you need to be in control and automatically know if it is not working right.

You can have the identical equipment as another house and use it the same way, but power consumption can be completely different if the equipment is not working right.

To see to what extent AC dominates, on your day off when you don’t need it and it is off measure your consumption.

Compare it with days when it does run.

You will find a huge difference.

2. @ John
    Yuh hear she ain’t using de AC!!

Look Rosemary, do a simple thing for de Bushman’s peace o’ mind…

1 Turn off everything you got in de Apartment by pulling out de plug or turning off de switch.

2 go an look at de meter. NOTHING SHOULD BE MOVING AT ALL…..de disc should be completely still.

3 It the disc is not spinning – GOOD!!

4 if the disc still spinning, – tell your electrician YOU HAVE A FAULT or you are paying for someone else’s usage of electricity….

Repeat this a few different times over a few days since the neighbor’s load for which you may be paying may be turned off when you do the first test…

5. Finally turn on appliances one at a time and look to see which one causes the meter to spin very quickly when turned on.
    SUSPECT THAT APPLIANCE.

3. BT

Rosemary has been there and done that too …. from day 1.

If the consumption can vary between 17 and 38kwh per day it is unlikely to be wiring, or meter. I would guess the 17 is when the AC was off and the 38 is when it was on.

Meters don’t go bad … rather I should say I have never heard of an electric meter going bad.

The one at me is probably 40 years old unless it was changed sometime when I was out of the island … or my memory is going bad … which is far more likely!!

4. Ms. Rosemary, I feel sorry for you with your light bill. But it only goes to show how bajans so lay back and letting any & anybody come in the country & do what the hell they feel like. How many things are owned by Barbados, you got the TRINIS, GUYANESE, & all other types of nationalities buy up the damn place and bajans hardly own their own birth right selling themselves to the devils. Money cannot buy happiness but it killing the bajans to go and buy name brand clothes & lastest of everything them eye see, instead of coming together for the country do nt matter who party in power, we are all one. Time will tell this year, hope & pray that the people of barbados would open their eyes and see that BARBADOS DO NOT BELONGS TO THE BAJAN PEOPLE ANYMORE. FOREIGNERS ARE TAKING OVER BARBADOS.

5. SUZYQ | January 12, 2012 at 4:08 PM |
    BARBADOS DO NOT BELONGS TO THE BAJAN PEOPLE ANYMORE. FOREIGNERS ARE TAKING OVER BARBADOS.
    **************************************************************************************
    Our late Prime Minister ,TRH. Errol Barrow, predicted this sometime in the late’60’s early ’70’s, when he said that we will wake up one morning,and find that we no longer own Barbados.The morning has long gone.
    Perhaps we like it so. I knew a shop in Harmony Hall, which used to see very frequent changes of shopkeepers who rented the place, due to a lack of support from people in the neighbourhood. Eventually an Asian took over shops and quickly afterwards had to install wrought iron burglar bars, against the likelihood of being robbed as he was making so much money from the same people who previously refused to support their own.
    Look at Roebuck St.,a place where local businessmen thrived up until the mid to late ’70’s. Now its all in the hands of non-Bajans , who seem to be doing extremely well. They no longer have to live upstairs, like those old pioneers like CC King and others, but have mansions in the exclusive heights and terraces,and commute in top of the line SUV’s.
    We are followers and not leaders, buyers and not sellers, talkers and not doers, educated and not common sensed . That why others will continue to take fair ,or unfair, advantage of us,usually with the assistance of our own.

6. Colonel Buggy, you aint lying. what you see in barbados is enough to wake up the dead bajans. once a country of pride is now a open season every year for foreigners to come & rub shite in the bajan people face cause them know that bajans eyes big & they love the name brand material things.

7. BL&P watch on power switch
    By by Geralyn Edwards Business Editor | Thu, September 20, 2012 – 12:08 AM ,Nation News.
    BARBADOS’ lone electricity company says customers switching to photovoltaic power could pose a threat to its bottom line.

However, a top official of Barbados Light & Power (BLP) yesterday said the company was still giving its full support to the push towards renewable energy as the country tries to reduce its near $700 million annual energy bill and respond to unpredictable oil prices.

8. Wonderful blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News. Do you
    have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Thank you

Leave a Reply to Sunshine Sunny ShineCancel reply