Submitted by Caswell Franklyn
The Houses of Parliament, seen across Westminster Bridge in England – Wikipedia

At a press conference just prior to his 80th birthday in March 2011, former Soviet President Mikhail Gorbachev said of his country Russia:

“We have everything – a parliament, courts, a president, a prime minister and so on. But it’s more of an imitation… We have institutions but they don’t work. We have laws but they must be enforced”.

With the exception of the reference to a president, those sentiments are equally true for Barbados. Our country is supposed to be a democracy which operates under the Westminster System of governance as practiced in England. We have copied all the major democratic institutions from England but our copy does not work. It seems as though when they were making our copy of the Westminster System, the copier was extremely low on toner.

One of the main planks of the Westminster System is a separation of powers among the three branches of government, namely: the judiciary, parliament and the executive (cabinet). In Barbados the separation that is vital for the effective functioning of the state is virtually non-existent. What passes for governance in Barbados makes a mockery of the Westminster System and is merely a parody that should be an embarrassment for an educated people.

According to the Westminster System, the lower house of parliament has the power to dismiss the Government. In our present parliament, the cabinet forms the largest group of members in the House of Assembly, even bigger than the Opposition and the Government backbench combined. It therefore means that the Cabinet members of the House can out vote the other members, which in effect means that the House of Assembly has no control over the Cabinet. What we have can only be described as a dictatorship operating under the guise of a parliamentary democracy.

In order to dismiss a government, the House would have to pass a resolution with a two-thirds majority, but that is not realistic because in order to do so the Cabinet would have to vote against itself, effectively making them a judge in their own cause. If our Parliament is to function as part of a truly democratic system, the members of the Cabinet who are also members of the House should be restricted to a maximum of one-third of the size of the House. However, even a cabinet of ten members seems a bit much when you consider that Barbados is really a micro state with few resources. The only reason why a prime minister of this country would need such a large cabinet would be to provide jobs for his colleagues. A cabinet which contains sixteen members of the House in the context of a House of Assembly of thirty persons destroys any notion of a separation of powers between the Cabinet and the Parliament.

The non-existence of a separation of powers between the Executive and the Parliament is cause for concern, but of greater concern should be the non-existence of a separation between the Executive and the judiciary. The Governor-General appoints judges on the advice of the Prime Minister after consultation with the Leader of the Opposition, but the Leader of the Opposition has no power to block the Prime Minister’s choice. Effectively, the Prime Minister appoints the judiciary. The unseemly spectacle that emerged surrounding the appointment of the present Chief Justice should make every right thinking person shudder, but the Prime Minister got his man.

Another cause of concern that does nothing to put a distance between the Executive and the judiciary is the fact that a high court judge could only be promoted to the Court of Appeal with the Prime Minister’s blessing. Just imagine that you have a case against the Government in the High Court and there is a vacancy in the Court of Appeal, and immediately after you lost the case, the judge who presided in your case is promoted to the Court of Appeal. Would you be able to shake the belief that the judge sold you out for the promotion? Whenever a person loses a case against the Government or the court awards small damages against the Crown, there will always be the lingering belief that something went wrong because of the non-existence of a separation of powers between the Executive and the judiciary, which takes away a judge’s independence. There is a saying that justice must not only be done but must be seen to be done: there will never be the appearance of justice being done as long as the Government maintains its control over the judiciary.

140 responses to “Barbados’s Imitation Democracy”

1. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

NEXT! Barbados. The DLP = 1 Term. Dun wid DEM!

2. Ping Pong asked above:-
    “By the way, does the victory of Portia Simpson-Millar and the PNP in the J’can elections have any implications for B’dos?”

I think the implications are enormous. It would appear the dominos are falling around us and this result could possibly make FS hold on for dear life until 2013. So don’t look for a February election again. Also don’t expect any serious changes in Cabinet. Also expect the spin from Stuart that the “eager 11” affair was of no consequence. It does not merit any chopping off of heads.

However, such actions will allow the situation to continue festering in the DLP camp. FS, by nature and inclination, appears to be a procrastinator. Most of his MP colleagues, however, while ostensibly going along with their leader, might prefer that elections be called sooner rather than later, given all that the tea leaves are saying about how the Barbados (and World) Economy is likely to do in the next 2 years or so and an earlier election might preempt the eventual dire fallout from DT’s and FS’ and CS’ management of the CLICO affair, inter alia . There is therefore likely to be some discomfort in the camp with some people feeling that typical FS leadership decisions might put their individual and collective seats at risk when the elections are finally called.

The situation is going to be very interesting, to say the least.

3. @GCB

NEXT! Barbados. The DLP = 1 Term. Dun wid DEM!
    Counting your chickens already? Stop salivating in anticipation of legs, your trough may be filled with chicken feathers.

4. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@Sargeant

That is true! However, I am not one to sit on a fence or to do as this DLP administration has been doing and rely solely on fate without being proactive or innovative. That means, I shall do my active part and hope that the hive does it part.. Hence, my optimism and not salivation.

5. Read about Fabius Maximus Cunctuntor and read about PM Stuart they are the same . Stuart is beating the DLP , He has no work to look to. He has no ministry of note and so is prepared to be dilartory and without a sense of purpose. Stuart has been given some false virtues and some have put his sloth and laziness as traits we should follow. and uphold Let him go he is a waste of time . Think on these things

6. George

I happened to see a former minister in the Arthur Administration today, and obviously, the talk turned to politics. I found out that they monitor the Barbados Underground. Apparently, he reads our contributions: he suggested that I should ease up off the party. Needless to say that won’t happen, I’m having too much fun. When I asked about you, as far as I can recall he said, “I don’t know what nonsense he doing, he ain’t helping” and then he made some other remarks that I would not reduce to writing and then sign my name.

7. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@Caswell

Well said. The thing is that i too have a conscience, and an opinion. I will not ask you to be silent because I would not expect anyone to silence me. Be that as it may, I am not in a popularity contest. I call it the way I see it. In fact, and I have said this already, any time the BLP thinks that I do them more harm than good, all they need to do is to ask me to kindly step off. According to the Barbados constitution I have several freedoms and one is association. Notwithstanding, if that person is more prone to talk behind my back than in front of my face, then it means that whatever was said is not worth its merit in truth. Over to you Caswell and all the best for 2012.

8. Uh Oh, based on what Caswell wrote above does that mean that if the BLP wins the next Election George may still be on the outside looking in?.

I mean here you are promoting the cause of the BLP to all and sundry and some Ex Minister commenting “he ain’t helping” Don’t they realise that you only bleed red because it’s the colour of the BLP?

George let me give you some advice don’t depend on any political friends, if you want a friend get a dog, at least you can depend on him to be loyal.

9. George

I would be a liar if I told you that I was sorry. I enjoyed relaying the news to you almost as much as I enjoyed receiving it. The difference between you and me is simple: you care who wins the Government, I don’t. I have come to realise that the DLP is six and the BLP is half dozen.

10. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@sargeant and caswell

Let us be realistic. I am 50 years old. I have spent my life struggling for whatever I want and being determined to achieve what little I receive with the help of Almighty God. Do you really and truly believe, that I would be unemployed, have no income, unable to take care of self and family, if the BLP does not throw a bone or crumbs my way? Is that what you believe? At the end of the day, I am a Barbadian but with the world before me. I assure you, that with God’s help and continued blessings (however small or large), I shall achieve even against the odds. I always have and expect that God shall always lead me to a spot higher than I am at now. I am sorry to disappoint both of you. Now back to the politics.

11. wizard any semblance of democracy in barbados was destroyed by the passing in parliament amidst vibrant public opposition of the 1974 constitutional amendments by mr barrow our so-called father of independence and which paved the way for political decisions like those of mr simmons and a host of other judicial officers both bee and dee to be made. WAsn’t mr frederick smith elevated to the bench after serving as a politician as well? answer me.

12. didn’t mr barrow have a an illegitime child whilst he was married as well and where was the condemnation , o ye hypocrites? and does not mr stuart have a child out of wedlock as well?

13. bush tea i have already posited on this forum that political parties have outlived their usefulness and to regain trust in our system of governance,the perception of accountibity, and transparency must be improved. to do this we have to take back parliament by having officials elected to parliament from the bowels of the constituencies to look after the interest of the constituents and not the party. Parliamentarians can be assigned certain respionsibilties as members of various oversight commiitees or ministries selected from among the members of parliament. these oversight bodies suitably staffed by persons of varying disciplines would decide policy and forward to the technocrats in the relevant administrative departments for execution. In this way, it is hoped that the chances of parliamentarians getting involved in corruption would be limited if not fully eliminated. The various independent public service selection bodies would be restored to select persons for employment and to head the various government agencies.There will be no need for a primus interpares. The role of meeting dignataries and shaking hands can be assigned to the speaker of the parliament or rotated on an annual basis among the parliamentarians. In this system, the role of the governor general and term limits for parliamentarians would eventually come under scrutiny.

14. To George C. Brathwaite:
    If what Caswell said is true about your worth to the BLP, then get Mia back in contention for leadership, for I know Mia is your girl right through. By the way, I am very happy that Caswell finally “fixed” you.

15. @George

I hope you realize that the party you support feverishly does not care about you, when you were struggling before you head off to do your doctorate, it did not even offer you a meaningful job to so that you could have looked after your family, but then again politic is a funny game.

By the way, i believe caswell is being mischievous, that is his way of striking back.

16. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Uneducated

I plead guilty. I was being mischievous. I did not have to tell George what was said to me.

You might be uneducated but you are not dumb.

17. To Bush Tea:
    Why is no one taking your call for a supreme committee seriously. I believe that mechanism would work wonders for the current political landscape. I t would also allow Barbados to have its best and brightest talents available. The problem the social planners would have with it is that most of them would lose their social and political influence which currently allows them to dictate at times and manipulate at other times our social and political structures.

18. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@lemuel

Well said. I am happy that you got a chance to read of me being ‘fixed’. Yuh mek me laff!

@Uneducated

Your opinion may have merit to some, however, I am not worried. I hope you can accept what I am about to say. It is sincere and it is the truth.
    I voluntarily asked and sought membership in the BLP not for the party to advance my lot in life as one individual, but because I was happy based upon the history of the party that things would indeed become better for all. At the time I joined, and in discussion with some non-partisan persons, I came to the realisation that I need a vehicle that was going in the right direction for enhancing the quality of life of all Barbadians. I can tell you that I have absolutely no regrets about becoming a member of the party, I have no regrets about supporting Owen Arthur, Mia Mottley, and Owen Arthur once again. When one is a member of an institution such as the BLP, there are some things to be expected, and one if to support whoever that leader is, and when in disagreement, deal with the matter honestly, directly, but respectfully. So to say it again, I am not looking for bone or scraps. I am looking for a much better Barbados for all; I shall play my part in that one way or another without expectation for riches.

@ Caswell

These days I am more humble, more unassuming, and definitely less mischievous. I am not at all perturbed but I do wish that you have as much fun as to fill your heart. No mischief on my part.

19. Uneducated;
    Thought I heard you on the Jamaica Election Broadcast Call-in on CBC last night excoriating Portia Simpson-Miller’s lack of education. I know Caswell is right, you are not uneducated at all.

I don’t know why George Brathwaite seems to be taking Caswell and you seriously re. Caswell’s “revelations” on what an unnamed former Politician told him in private. Really, Caswell telegraphed the fact that he was being mischevious in that post. He normally names names!

20. enuff
    “Sir David was a BLP MP but where is the evidence to suggest he was political as CJ”

If the process worked okay for you this time with Simmons, can you guarantee that it will work again the next time around?

“Go get involve in party politics and help shape the slate of candidates.”

… Sure and draw validity from the opinions of those who represent the lowest common denominator. Not my cup of tea sorry …!

21. lemuel | December 29, 2011 at 1:50 PM |
    “To Clone: I shall not attempt to defend Caswell; he can do that very nicely for himself. But I would very much want you to SUBSTANTIATE the hidden agenda”

What hidden agenda, the man is a simple hypocrite … so Clone made s slip … big shit!

22. @ Hants
    “The man who cut cane and manage to send to school his children who are now doctors lawyers and bankers is probably not too unhappy with the way Barbados was “ruled”. … It is now his educated children and grand children who will want to change the status quo.”

Why … the system has worked extremely well for them. Why should they want to change it?

23. To George Brathwaite:
    You continue to attempt to throw your barbs all over the place, but why are you trying to involve me?. Uneducated and Caswell interfered with you not me. I am not glad to the degree that you think; my gladness stems from the fact that someone has finally found those words and structures linguistically that have made an impact on your prose output on this blog. George, I think that you are trying too hard to defend or promote the cause of the BLP; spice it at times with responses of human interest. And, then I am sure Uneducated and Caswell shall leave you alone.

24. @ enuff | December 29, 2011 at 7:43 PM |
    ” @ David. I am a realist, my aim is not to elect the PERFECT just the best possible.”

Now how the f*ck are you to determine that?

25. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@lemuel

Maybe I do not want to be left alone. Hahahaaaaa!

26. @BAFBFP

While the system has worked well as you say its sustainability given the current economic realities should make them engage in introspection with a view to become receptive change.

27. BAFBFP:
    Who is the hypocrite, Caswell or Clone?

28. enuf
    “There is no pure system; they all borrow and are chopped and changed to suit the demands of the State. In this regard, it is my view that we must put a Law Reform Commission in place to implement new workable legislation and jettison that which has become anachronistic”

Demands of the State. Now what would those demands be? Surely the “State” comprises a number of special interests groupings which would have mutually exclusive demands of the It? And what of this Law Reform Commission, who would populate it? The same members of the “profession” that make a tidy living out of the obfuscated nature of its being

29. Lems

Franklyn … of course

30. To Check it Out:
    Now that Portia Simpson has won; what is your take on the impact of that win on the coming general elections in Barbados. Your previous post on the subject was mere speculation.

31. One can well understand the kind of political yard fowl in Barbados who spends their day in the rum shop ‘talking global strategy’ and local politics. After all, the occasional $20 dollar bill from various political aspirants (from either persuasion) is a significant achievement.
    However, when alleged intelligent BU contributors can proudly display such yard fowl characteristics while at the same time ascribing to high academic ideals, one is forced to wonder about the quality of academia – or at least of the Academic Institution involved.

In the midst of a serious discussion on national governance this ‘George’ person insists on peddling his rum-shop quality slogans and associated diatribe about his political heroes. ‘Heroes’ who were dumped by Barbadians for miserably failing to manage a blessed economy during boom times when even complete idiots in other economies ‘survived’. ‘Heroes’ who left shameful legacies from Greenland to Dodds and ICCC Kensington. Heroes who established “contracts” with known international crooks that have been convicted of bribing government officials in other jurisdictions.

Stupsss…
    How about bringing some semblance of high quality academic input to the discussion? …or at least some useful common sense…

32. @ David

Agreed … but where is the talent to develop something new? The Bushman refers to an existing system that seems to work and can be implemented on a national scale, but my contention is, and has always been that those who benefit most in a system are the ones who are least expected to change it …

For me the voice of the majority has been clear for decades … Don’t f*cking Vote and send a clear message to all the advocates of West Minister …!

33. @BAFBFP

Yours is an impractical position if we accept that both parties always enjoy a core support of close to 40%.

34. Oh and David I never said that the system has worked well …nah … Don’ confuse me BAF with Braf …

35. David I think that 40% is what the BLP claim and that really should be 40% of the people who vote

36. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@Bush tea

Why should I when you have all of the answers? Maybe rather than attempting to discredit my credentials or those of the institution for which I am registered, maybe you could enlighten BU readers on the very insights you appear to challenge others to bring. A jack ass by another name is still a JACK ASS. Happy and prosperous 2012 to you Bush tea or whatever your real name is since it is only your species that I can recognise.

37. @BAFBFP

The beleaguered Peter Wickham is obviously better placed to speak to the numbers and other characteristics of the local electoral landscape.

Sadly what we have in Barbados currently is a crisis of political leadership which has no boundary..

38. BAFBFP:
    That is an excellent point to Enuff; too often we, in Barbados, seek some sort of reform and each time we drag up these human fossils who have no regard for man or beast except when these creatures are related to them. When ever you hear them postulating about the “state and the people” it is a ploy to rob all of us blind.

39. To BAFBFP:
    Caswell seems to be in good form this morning; see how he dealt with George Brathwaite. I would suggest that you leave him alone. However, I must call upon him to defend his good name in the face of this accusation.

40. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@Lemuel

Do you have a fascination with my name because I would think it is with the person since I do not go that way.
    Better you make a contribution without inserting my name; some may think of you being too happy and gay under the circumstances.

41. @George

One characteristic you cannot afford to display on BU is to demonstrate thinskinness :-).

Don’t you see it is what the ‘boys’ are trying to achieve?

42. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@david

Hahahaaa, trust me, I am far from thin-skinned and I am having a bit of playful banter myself. I am in no way offended. Thanks anyway.

43. @ David

I can assure that Wickham is not beleaguered and Secondly the crisis of leadership is well past just being “political”

44. lemuel

Franklyn don’ respond to people that I “believe” to be differently adjusted …

45. @BAFBFP

Has Peter been told why the government fired him from the CBC? Obviously he was fired because his successor Maureen Holder has assumed the same designation.

46. @ David

It is my considered opinion that Mr. “Stasis” Stuart was uncomfortable with the results of the poll that the DLP members commissioned him to do, and unilaterally decided as Min in charge of CBC to shut Whickham’s access to the tax payers medium down. Refute that if you dare …

The dissenting group had every reason to be concerned, and in my view did nothing wrong

47. I still believe that there is a difference between being fired and not having your contract renewed …

48. It is not very difficult at all to expose an idiot…..

Of course Bush Tea is a Jack Ass!! Who else would waste time trying to talk sense into an idiot? ….and with respect to anonymity, surely it is George C Brathwaite who is fascinated with his own name…why else would he put it up on a public forum – especially if he knows that he can’t stand the heat of public scrutiny?

Stupssss
    Any constructive input on the question of a solution that will work for Barbados ( as opposed to political pimps and yard fowls)?

By the way, Bush Tea prefers to remain anonymous because the bushman prefers not to seek to push his qualifications or accomplishments on this forum – but rather to stand ONLY on the quality of the ideas presented…. You seem to fail with both approaches Georgie….

A prophet is without honor in his own country.
    The Cooperative movement has been a phenomenal success here and other places, but since it is run by ORDINARY people, since parros, pimps, yard fowls and other ‘hangers- on’ are not tolerated, the George’s, CCCs and enuffs of this forum will not see the clear potential for its national application.
    Do your research and see how ordinary Bajans have managed the Credit Union Sector to the point where the Bankers and other money grabbers have turned to the law to get their hands on the spoils….

Some of those “ordinary bajans” are crooked too…. But the SYSTEM has been able to bring such persons to a common understanding and equally importantly, to catch them at an EARLY stage. …ask Caswell about specifics….
    The SUPERVISORY COMMITTEES – consisting of small groups of empowered ORDINARY PEOPLE (not religious fanatics Ping Pong LOL) have been the source of transparency and openness that has made it UNCOMFORTABLE for the crooks to thrive.

The greatest man who ever lived came from a small town…
    The greatest system for democracy will come from a small movement…and the bushman comes from a small island….LOL

Dat fuh lick George…

49. You see it is all very well to talk about separation of powers that are restricted to the glorious three (exec, legis, and Judges) but what about the f*cking Central Bank and international monetary policy … What about the FTC and consumer interests, particularly with respect to the services offered by Utilities and Financial Institutions, what about the power to award Contracts that involves the spending of the Tax Payers purse by operatives of a political party…

50. @Bush Tee

Indeed, the members of the move has a lot to be proud.

Leave a Reply to de hoodCancel reply