Submitted by WordSong
Kaymar Jordan, Editor-in-Chief of the NATION Newspaper

No Kaymar Jordan you did not tell the truth and stand justifiably accused by the general public. Your manipulations and distortions converted what could have been an otherwise great story into a scandalous piece of journalistic tripe. Now you and whoever helped you write that editorial would hoodwink the public (again) into believing that there was merit in what you did; all you have done in the editorial is to confirm the stupidity of the NATION’s newspaper policy. Technology has seen it fit that newspapers remain widely read. So what was the point you were making about technology again? No amount of spin doctoring will alter what remains a travesty.

You distorted the truth – for effect and commercial gain and possibly out of pure ignorance. You could not even give the public that your deliberateness in distorting was influenced by the expectation of more information and for that you apologize. I now say any decent newspaper would have fired you or put you on the back bench like they will put Sinckler. I for one will not buy another Nation or Sunday Sun newspaper. But what does it matter? Who cares? Not the Nation . Harold Hoyte I am ashamed of you too because I know you still have influence in what goes on at the paper.

150 responses to “A View Of The NATION From Underground”

1. Dear David:

Is Word Song the same as Hartley Henry?

And if so is Word Song the “architect” of “the letter?”

2. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@random Thoughts

Should you revert to the discussions on the removal of the PM or the B’dos Constitution, you have answers. The ball is still in the PM’s hands. There are specific ways for removal and at this time, clearly the numbers are not adding up favourably to the dissidents.

3. Like I said before David, there will be a letter but no signatures only names.
    The Nation newspaper will pay out some cash if Noel Lynch got $60,000. for a question then most of the 11 should be looking at $250,000.00 easily.

4. @Undertaker. Plus legal costs. Please I beg you, don’t forget the legal costs – lawyers got to eat too, you know.

5. @ looking

Wait, you calling me a woman wid balls? Chile you t’ink so highly of me …? Thanks hear.

Just for the record, I simply ain’ got na time fah women executives … none, unless they own their own businesses, and then of course I find them absolutely fascinating. This “I am existing in a man’s world so I have to be tougher and more devious than them” thing has worn so thin that dey ain’ nuttin’ to it no mo’. And of course dey got a whole heap ah quasi men out dey who is carry on like dey “have arrived” too! (I luv dese side issues :))

@ Amused

I disagree. Lawyers should NOT eat at all and let nature take its course.

6. George you should be banned from using the English Language ,You are a threat to World Peace. Like the Nation newspaper you are an undignified DISTORTIONIST,.

7. Dear Mr. PM,

I think Mr. Sinckler should be returned to Foreign Affairs to continue where he left off. It will be hard for him to get up to a more mischief if he constantly on an aeroplane, in a terminal somewhere on in a taxi or hotel room in Beijing, Tokyo, Buenas Aires, Cape Town, Sydney or Moscow.

Barbados really needs to open a mission is Moscow and Mr. Sinckler would make an ideal person to lead that mission initially. Naturally Mr. Sinckler will be upset but think of all the Air Miles he will earn.

8. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

Thanks. Now ban me!

9. Who is this Tennyson Joseph the Nation touts as a political scientist he gets plenty space in the newspaper its a puzzle to know why because his analyses are shallow and provide the reader with little food for thought.

B.C Pires as assinine as he is comes up with more insightful outlook of Bdos political affairs.

It looks as if Kaymar Jordan thinks joseph is special which its hard to see why because his only contribution to the political deabte is a hairy fairy postulation that Barbados following St. Lucia.

BU’s horde of bloggers present more thought provoking stuff than the guy so its a mystery why he is in the Nation today again as he is so often saying nothing new.

10. I say let the triators go to court.Let them agrue their case on a signature. I say let them agrue their case on their absence from the discussuoin.Let them argue their case because they have not affixed their signatures to their intent. Let us see what their signatures are worth.Let us see what their treachery is worth.Let us see what is their good name.. Are theie good names more or less than their signatures. The Bush lawyers have advised them that they will got thousands.I say they willl get thousands of comdemnation and wil be seen for what they are. Everyone now believes they were part of the deal.We have men of no hopnour leading this country and now they want fithy lucre for this deed ? How pathetic How wrong! Think on these things

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“JB | December 18, 2011 at 9:42 PM |
    Men be careful how you bash women. You may be showing the cloth you are made of..”

Why didn’t tell that to Owen”seethru”Arthur and his co-conspirators when they stab their long knives into the back of the HON MIA AMOR MOTTLEY?
    Or you have one law for the Medes and another for the Persians?

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Anyone reading the Nation newspaper for any period of time easily comes to the conclusion that the Nation newspaper is allergic to the TRUTH.

13. @ Random Thoughts

Good morning…
    no, please don’t put me in that camp.
    i’m just an independent observer- impartial.
    anyone who knows me well, is aware of that.
    and this is about more than narrow politics
    it’s about the falling journalistic standards and the need for someone with balls ( not a woman posing as Hartley Henry ) to stand up
    but i will call a spade a spade when and if i have to.

it is not a compliment to be likened to Hartley Henry
    but keep on guessing…

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“So when The Nation falsely reported that eleven members of the DLP Government affixed their signatures to a letter to Prime Minister Freundel Stuart, and published bits and pieces out of context to give their readers the impression that the letter was something it was not – that was a calculated move to further a political agenda.

To whom the benefit?

That’s easy: the beneficiary of the fuss was the lapdog Nation’s master, The Barbados Labour Party and Owen S. Arthur.”

BFP

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“But, just analyse her reported comments on the Caribbean Daily News website and see why the so-called Fourth Estate is crumbling in Barbados: “I grew up on the Nation. For me, it is the leading newspaper in Barbados and to be given the opportunity to lead its editorial team is truly humbling.

“I look forward to working with the entire team to ensure that the Nation remains the paper of choice,” she said, in accepting her new mandate (Caribbean Daily News).

She(KAYMAR JORDAN) sounds more like an apprentice corporate excutive with a clear marketing mission in mind, and that is playing to the tune of the shareholders/owners of the Nation Publishing Company, and some of its political backers ( not to forget that she has in the past sounded on many CBC TV programs more pro-BLP than any thing else), rather than her sounding, first, like a true seasoned journalist, with managerial office taking a secondary role, but who will still be there in that position to really take charge of the media affairs at the company, and to make sure that journalism at the Nation newspaper is taken out of the depths that it is currently plumbing, and eventually onto greater heights.”

http://bajan.wordpress.com/2010/08/28/nation-newspaper-paper-turning-new-chapter/

16. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ CCC

Anyone taking seriously what CCC writes is exposed to every allergy one can get from not being righteous, truthful, and objective. The only thing you offer CCC is blind loyalty to the DLP, to CBC, and to the Barbados Advocate; three entities that are all wrapped up in one and could easily pass for the Democratic Labour Party’s propaganda machinery. The thing is, all of them are unsuccessful.

17. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@UWI Guild

I am now convinced that we are not half as literate as we boast to be. If you want to say that you do not agree with Tennyson Joseph, say that. But to suggest that his opinions are shallow or that he provides little food for thought, is the silliest feeble one can tell. Put Peter Wickham (your pollster) and Hartley Henry (your prankster) together and he would make fodder of them without even trying. Tennyson Joseph’s proven academic record and intellectual capacity far surpasses the likes of many if not all who have had the liberty to write on a wide variety of issues affecting Barbados and the region over the past year. One does not have to agree with his positions or his conclusions, but to say his analyses are bereft of things worthwhile is to highlight your stupidity in extra-large doses.

18. “academic record and intellectual capacity” … Wait wah you talkin’ ’bout Padre. Give me somebody that wuks fah heself, someone wid sufficient intellect to figure how to do that, how to produce and sell something, anything, particularly something to the outside world, and you will be dealing with a person with real intellect, relevant intellect, not some Hilary Beckles knock off …!

19. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@BAFBFB

I read your comments; I know that sometimes you can be unashamedly sarcastic but I have never equated lack of comprehension on your part. I also have heard you in the past take a dig at academics, the UWI, and yours truly, but tell me:
    1. When an academic writes books and they are published by a reputable international publisher and have currency in the international world is that a productive venture? Does it also bring in foreign exchange? When universities the world over use copyrighted and patented intellectual property is it not a cost involved that redounds to the individual and country? I kindly submit, without knowing who you are, that persons of your ilk are wasting precious air space and should be left breathless since whatever you offer to society is the very thing or things that keep your people down.

20. So academics write books and sell them to other Universities (who are obligated to buy …?) and gain from intellectual property. I suppose there would also be a quid pro quo, so you should be writing a hell of a lot of books in order to have a FX trade surplus no? Oh give me a break, if the academics actually made FX you could bet that would easily be lost again as they travel the world on what ever excuse they could create, including getting a PhD in some far flung part of the globe.

21. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@BAFBFP

Does your mother acknowledge that she gave life to an imbecile masquerading as a man. Now go back to your trough from whence you came. I was streetwise before becoming book wise and I guess I still carry some demons. Go f**e yourself.

22. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

Tis the time of the year to be happy, merry, and be at peace. George you cannot let the envious rile you into writing anything that suggest that you are not at peace. The devil can be found in some strange places. Get behind me BAFBFP (i.e. the devil himself).

23. Ah that’s the spirit, now you showing the colours that I recognize. You ain’ carrying nah Demons, you is a quasi intellectual, the same as just about every other academic on the Hill. Welcome back, and with pride. Now yah talkin’.

24. @George C. Brathwaite
    You have clearly lost it. You basically sought to introduce BAFBFP’s mother into this exchange because you cannot respond to his point. And he does have a point. Although I don’t bash academia like BAFBFP, I do understand his criticism of the role of academia, or lack thereof, in providing foreign exchange and really taking this small country forward. George C. Brathwaite, on this day you failed to properly defend academia and basically proved BAFBFP right!

25. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@Oilman

Thanks.
    For you it was about right or wrong. I told him what I think he wanted to hear. So now, I have obliged you both. Merry Christmas and God’s peace be with you.

26. […] Barbados Underground […]

27. WORDSONG !
    This article is bare crap
    Crap on top of crap
    Crap masquerading as crap
    Crap all up in Crap
    Crap besides Crap
    Crap inside of Crap
    Crap outside of Crap
    Crap and more Crap
    ———————————-
    OTHERS : The DLP is in trouble.
    Who will lead the DLP in opposition after the next election should be decided now –well after the next election really but yeah now . Will it be Kellman or Mara /

28. I wonder if Ms. Jordan has a staff which is answerable to her and if that is the case, how does she reprimand them for coming up short on facts.

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“This is why I have a serious problem with women being placed in top positions.”

I too have noticed that there is a vast difference in behavior between “appointed” women and self made women.

Self made women can not be minipulated.

30. I am supporting Freundel Stuart as the PM but am giving him some advice, not to fall into the trap being set for him.
    When George Belle woke up from his slumber after presenting a poll that was in favour of the BLP winning by a landslide. Please Mr. PM do not listen to his advice, neither Peter Wickham or Joseph from St. Lucia.
    I may be naive but keep your cabinet in tack forget about the call for heads must roll. Your party can win the election with careful planning and execution.

31. Holy shit Cadogan agrees with something that I said. Now I have to seriously reconsider my position, I really have to take stock of my whole life …. oh no! Something has gone wrong …

32. To carson Cadogan:
    If you are who they so you are, then I have to be led by your expertise in this area of journalism when you offer some analysis of Ms. Jordan. But can I ask if some of this venom is driven by her success.
    To BAFBFP:
    We need the intellectual and the operational people in all societies. I know that you are inclined to the operational people, but for the most part they do not constitute the thinkers within any society. They operate more like regimented people, you send in an army and then direct their guns at the supposed target. They shall make and deliver things but they lack the capacity to apply the mental fortitude to develop those things. It is like the difference between scientific thought and technology.

33. The nation publishing co ltd should be sued by all eleven individuals identified in the plot to replace our beloved prime minister.freundel Stuart. The government of Barbados ought to cancel all government ads and notices in that rag tag for a newspaper.The Nation Newspaper receives about $30,000.00 monthly in government ads and notices. Beloved Prime Minister Freundel Stuart plea do the right things.Firstly,fire Chris Sinckler,Donville Inniss and Michael Lashley.While at get rid of the parasite – Hamilton Lashley.Finally,marginalized the ambitions of MaraThompson becoming the leader of the party. It is interesting that the views of the constituents in the constituencies represented by the disgruntled eleven were not canvassed by The Nation Newspaper.I believed the results would shock and surprise many of us.I also believed the response the disgruntled eleven received in their respective constituencies is reason for the about turn by many of the disgruntled eleven.

34. It is so amazing that there are some bloggers who are willing to think the worst of others. Why is it impossible to believe that those who stated that they gave no one the permission to put their names on a letter actually did so?

Why is it easier to allow the Nation Newspaper and its Editor In Chief to get away with lying to the people? To take them along a path of deceit and misrepresentation. They never corrected the view, which they conveyed that they had a signed copy of the letter. They stated that it was sent to the PM. He indicated that he never received such a letter. They left the reader with the impression that they did. That is unethical They never had what they said they had. They are the ones who created the deceit and lies. But I guess we can give them a free press pass.

Some of the bloggers might be totally unaware of all the facts, but as usual must sound off. George “Know Most” Brathwaite leads that group.

George Brathwaite please let us know the relationship between Owen Arthur and the Nation Editor and Chief, You should know.

Anything to damage the Government you will support.

I am not saying that some of the DLP members might not have acted injudiciously. Why a letter (draft or otherwise). Never leave your intentions in writing.

The person who released the letter, (in which there had to be sinister intent) did so to achieve a given response. The machinations by the Nation was also to obtain a given response. They got it. It mattered not who was innocent or guilty. In our country today once you put someone name in or on a document, without their knowledge then that is all right. You are guility. That letter cannot stand up in a court of law. It would not have been allowed. The Nation knows what is wanted to achieve and did so. Chris Sinckler aided and abetted Kymar Jordan (his good Friend). More will come I am sure.

35. Why is it so important what George Brath says on politics in Barbados. De man is a bon
    afide party hack; does anyone expect consistent truth from such people? lol! or wunnuh simply on the other-side of his argument? Is so carry on then. chupse!

36. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@Samuel Morrison

Am I Owen Arthur’s shadow or personal aide? Since when do we come to conclude that if you are political you should not interact with people from the media in one way or another. We live in a small society and should expect that persons interact and intermingle among many different groups and associations and, therefore it is highly likely that people will know and possibly have working relations with a cross-section of people.

@Adrian Hinds
    I like you; you never give up. Thanks for letting them know!

37. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“But can I ask if some of this venom is driven by her success.”

Not at all, I admire women who succeed, but as I said self made women will tell you where to get off if you ask any foolishness of them.

Appointed women on the other do what ever is asked of them no matter how wrong it is.

38. Dear Fellow Members of the BU Family!

You know what we really need?

What we really need, in all of this, are the wise words of Dr. Terence M. Blackett and the PDC. Those words of comfort will see us through these difficult days.

39. Um serves wunnuh DLP hacks right. I did telling wunnuh everysince to stop buying de nation news, now wunnuh wait till duh help mash up any chance wunnuh had of returning to office to see the truth about these people. Wunnuh must stop seeing things base political partisan observations. lol!

Owen Arthur once famously called Harold Hoyte a negrocrat, he accused the Nationnews of bias in the run up to the last election. Both parties when things go wrong with media publications they cry foul. I pick sense from that and done wid de nation, but no, wunnuh DLP people laugh and enjoyed now tuh de BLP people, um is payback time. Wunnuh both better remember that wunnuh is Bajan first, don’t mind George he done sell he soul and heart, duh aint a patriotic bone left in he. lol!

40. Adrian Hinds

He is George Braf, not George Brath … a Braffit not a Braithwaite (I tekkin a turn in some a dese bloggers now that de season start … I catch George today after he may have had a couple). George you awright Bro …? Peace.

41. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@BAFBFB

Peace my friend.

42. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The nation had brought light to a sinister plot by the DLP. Sinckler showed no balls when he blatantly lied about the letter. The nation is at fault for padding up the story to give it hype and hype it certainly got. Think what you like about the nation but this has shed some serious perspective on the nasty game call politics. By the way Kaymar Jordan is very good looking woman I wonder if her body looks like her face. Wuh lawdddddddds

43. Bajans are a shameless lot, Party after party spend taxpayers money to use CBC as a propaganda machine, and you all say nothing. The police beat and lock up media workers and the people remain silent.
    You all have no right to say anything about the media in Barbados ,
    Tek wha news wanna get and STFU.

44. @ Sunshine,
    She look good as shite and she got a nice looking ass.

45. lemuel

You are wrong. Sorry, let me put that another way. lemuel, I respectfully disagree with your sentiments.

Maybe you missed the lecture by Dr Cardinal Warde MIT Professor at the Frank Colleymore Hall last month but the major point of his talk is about the need to elevate the status of those who work with their hands, and we are NOT talking tedious repetitive work like that done by surgeons, dentists or shoe makers, but builders of prototypes with considerable design input (musical directors, computer and other engineers of all types, writers and designers of clothes, vehicles, robots and cell phone apps).

You see sir the fraternity of lawyers, doctors, accountants and other academics in Barbados do NOT “constitute the thinkers within this society”. It is they “that operate more like regimented people, you send in an army and then direct their guns at the supposed target” where the target is the population of Barbados who are obliged to consume of the services that they provide along with their scale of fees. The people doing the sending in are those from the Big Euro-Centric Educational establishments whose main interest is the continuance of an economic model that views all before it as a commodity to be exploited.

“They shall make and deliver things but they lack the capacity to apply the mental fortitude to develop those things” .. I believe you are referring to slaves. That period in our History is long past, sir, with respect.

There is NO “difference between scientific thought and technology” … same coin, different face.

46. Wait wunna never see Kaymar in profile. But if she got a nice lookin’ ass, well I appologise for every bad t’ing I say ’bout she …

47. Kaymar maybe unwilling to give an apology given the legal implication of it i.e. admitting that there was wrong doing on the part of the NATION.

48. Why should the Nation issue a public apology that will make it vulnerable to the threatened civil lawsuits?
    Anyway as I have said before let Lashley et al sue, all the Nation needs to do is subpoena Chris Sinckler. We will find out what was discussed, where, when and with whom in addition to why the author(s) of the letter felt confident enough to affix specific names. If the Dems want this to blow up in their faces go ahead and file law suits.
    When the BLP had its leadership issues, the Nation was relentless with its stories and all the current naysayers never uttered an opposing word. We all know it was an attempted coup by the ‘Eager 11’, so I see no need for the false pretences. The Nation should recycle one of its headlines used during the BLP saga– ‘Coup aborted’–given is aptness for what’s transpiring at George Street.

49. aaah David you beat me to it…lol

Leave a Reply to BAFBFPCancel reply