Let me have men about me that are fat,

Sleek-headed men and such as sleep a-nights.

Yond Cassius has a lean and hungry look,

He thinks too much; such men are dangerous

Julius Caesar Act 1, scene 2, 190–195

credit: Nation newspaper 13/12/2011

Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart was the man trusted by the late Prime Minister David Thompson to manage the affairs of state during his sickness. It was a difficult time for the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) we can all agree, the protracted global economic slowdown would not have made the situation better.  Stuart, his failings as a human noted, was a calming influence during that time. Some like Peter Wickham argue that he appears to be slow in decision-making. Besides the fact Wickham has overstepped his professional boundary as a pollster, one wonders how would he have known what considerations Stuart had to deliberate over to make those decisions he felt were slow in coming. Could it be that Wickham is simply sharing his opinions which like ours have no empirical support?

The reality of the matter is that our parliamentary system requires the leader of the political party to have the support of the parliamentary group in order to perform the job. When the leader is Prime Minister the procedure to remove him may differ compared to what occurred in the case of Arthur (the Gang of Five) and Mottley.  In both cases there is a common factor, the leader needs the support of the parliamentary group.

BU sources have confirmed that Prime Minister Stuart does not have the support of the majority of key players in the parliamentary group and the party. Some are willing to go public while others are scared and prefer to be protected by the shadows. The charge laid by DLP disaffected members is that Stuart has failed to lead.

Prime Minister Stuart should be aware of this situation by this time if he wasn’t before and is astute enough to read the tea leaves for himself. BU has already advised Stuart to ring the bell and let the people decide. How he does it is up to him. Will he defer to Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler who appears to be the popular choice or will he be nasty about it a la Sir Lloyd. If the disaffected parties can hold their nerves it seems obvious that the DLP cannot venture on the campaign trail unless swords are returned to their scabbards and all line up behind the Old Head or the young Turk.

Some question how the transfer to Sinckler should occur. There is the emerging view in the BU household that the Governor General is not required to call an election or to submit to Prime Minister Stuart’s call for an election if he demands it. Provided the DLP has a leader that is able to form a majority government, the Governor General has the authority to remove Stuart and give the job to Sinckler. The idea that there must be a general election may not be supported in the law.

The parliamentary model of government as it affects how we change leaders often leave a bitter after taste but it is what it is. The same occurred with Mottley when her support shifted overnight to Arthur and left her on the outside looking in. BU supports the call to amend the law so that the people vote for the leader and pre-empt a few people in smoke filled backrooms who currently influence the selection process. We need to protect our fragile democracy from those with deep pockets who in the current system find it easy to manipulate our politicians who carry a ‘hungry look’.

There is enough evidence in the public domain to support that there is a palace coup unravelling in the DLP camp. Sinckler’s continued denials will dent his integrity the longer it takes to accomplish the goal. Many conclusions maybe drawn but the one which comes to the top of the pile is that this is imperfect timing for the DLP.

162 responses to “Can Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart Rally His Men?”

1. TO Eva Skin:
    What is more interesting is that most people looking on are missing that Mia is pulling the strings behind the scene with a big laugh.

2. The Palace Coup did not get the numbers expected so some of the fellows who signed are now trying to hide in the shadows of others.

Curiously I note that nowhere in the Nation front page article today do they say these ate 11 men and woman who signed the letter. In the Sunday Sun the Nation News says they have a copy of the letter, WHY HAVE THEY NOT PRINTED IT AS SURELY THIS WOULD BE MORE IMPACTFUL THAT PICTURES ALONE, TRUE?

Who will be the first to challenge the Nation News to produce the evidence? Estwick, Brathwaite or Jones?

3. William Morris

Good catch … my sentiments exactly

4. George what gains made? All revenue is going to wages and repaying outstanding debt that “a flourishing well-run economy under the BLP government” left without savings, bonds, investments for this torrential rains financial crisis. In addition, new housing projects, welfare grants, child care needs and education.

Step back and check. Tell us the investments the BLP made during the time of plenty lead my your astute Economist OSA (your mouthings not mine, though I respect your view I do not agree) that will bring returns to Barbados’ economy during financial worldwide crisis this year or next.

Joseph in Egypt a foreign land stored in the time of plenty and had in a severe famine. Tell me the wisdom shown by your “established, beloved” leader OSA?

5. Carson you do not need it. However, you have my full support.

David and BU continue to ask for the letter with affixed signatures (not names typed on it) but legitimate signatures as stated in the Nation.

The Nation is looking quite ugly in the rich red colour. I can see people spitting on this paper very very soon and with good reason.

6. @Morris

BU asked the same question last night on the Nation newspaper FB page.

@lemmie

Why are you blaming Mia? Was it Mia who ran to the GG to remove Stuart and consequently forced his early retirement?

7. Let’s face it, during the sickness of the late P.M, Stuart allowed things to drift, even though we were deep in a recession. After Thompson’s death Stuart did not or better still has not stamp his authority, and things continue as Thompson left it, that why many said Thompson was running things from the grave. Even duriong this crisis which the DLP now have, the P.M calls a press conference and some secondary students would have done a better job. One thing Stuart doesn’t do is give the quarterly Cabinet reports that Thompson did. If there is one person who is vocal enough to come out anbd speak against their P.M and fellow parliamentarian, then there is reason for concern. To run off to USA without dealing firmly as a leader shows cowardice. I remember in the 70’s Errol Barrow wanted to change the constitution and some members of his government were not in favour, Mr Barrow told them to be in parliament on the day of voting or deal with the backlash,they were all there and voted for the amendments. A leader has to be a bit of a dictator sometimes and show his/her colleauges who is in charge. Mr Stuart you can call the shots, you have less to lose than many of those who challenge you, so show them who is in charge, ask Owen what he did when he was challenged.

8. @David

I not getting involved in the BEE/DEE cross-talk because I haven’t spent
    enough time on the ‘Rock’ over the past 48 years to make a meaningful input. However I dont think the editor of the Sunday Nation would be that naive to use the words ” Eleven Government members of parliament yesterday affixed (past tense) their signatures to a formal letter” unless he/she had proof that the letter was written and signed. I shall be listening to the 12.30 4.30 5.30 and 9.30 V.O.B news to hear if Mr. Adriel Brathwaite responds to the article on the front page of Today’s Nation. He is our Attorney General and the person who should be very au fait with the libel laws of Barbados.

9. Those who ride on the back of a “tiger” will find it difficult to dismount…..stand firm Prime Minister Stuart; they wanted you to speak, yes speak on your own terms, hold the line.

For if they are so confident let the electorate decide.

10. The AG au fait wjth libel laws? This AG is turning out to be the wosrt AG. I was at a formal function recently where he was the featured speaker and the man was so under dressed, it was embarrassing, he rambled all over his face, seemed unprepared and left as soon as he finished rambling. I am still surprised that he is one of the eleven. Et tu brute?

11. My new cabinet would be as follows: Freundel Stuart PM and Minister of Finance,Immigration, Defence and Security, Richard Sealy Deputy PM and Minister of Tourism & Industry, Denis Kelman Minister of Commerce, Small Business& Rural Deveolpment, Stephen Blackette, Minister of Housing,Lands and Urban Development, Dr. Denis Lowe Minister of Education and Youth Affairs, George Hutson, Minister of Transport and Works, Dr. Byer-Sookoo, Minister of Health, Patrick Todd, Minister of Community development, sports and culture. Of the dissidents I would retain James Paul for Minister of Agriculture, Hamilton Lashley for Ministry of Social Care. After that the rest can be filled by Senators even if it means added new ones and replacing people like Harry Husbands and Maxine McClean who seem to be of the same ilk as the bandits. Haynesley Benn could remain. These are just a few thoughts . I am always thinking that as a trade off Dr. Estwick may be given Minister of Finance to ease his disgruntlement..

12. ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    lemuel | December 13, 2011 at 9:38 AM |
    To Political scientist:
    You need to give the analysis on why Mia persuaded Sinker to do this dastardly deed. Carson is right when he said opposition forces are included; Mia is friend and supporter of each face you see on the front page of the Nation this morning.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    I thought it was only me. When I saw this development I immediately figured that someone was attempting to rule vicariously, through this move and there had to be a power behind the throne.
    Power corrupts and total power corrupts totally. We would rather kill Barbados than to let someone else have it nuh?!
    What are we to make of this hungry mess. Will we as Barbadians, keep a cool head and be ready to stand on the side of what is right and decent or are going to fall into the morass, of who we like and who we can get favours from they get in power.

Is this for the good of the majority or for the good of a self-titled, self-aggrandised, self-entitled few. Give me the facts and let me make my own decision. Thanks

13. There is a tide in the affairs of men that, taken at the flood leads on to fortune, omitted, all the voyage of their lives is bound in shallows and in misery, On such a full sea are we now afloat” From my recollection of a famous Shakespeare quotation, I think Donville Inniss was probably exposed to the same work at HC.

Donville Inniss was impressively Prime Ministerial in his interview reported in Today’s Nation. Chris Sinckler has lost his pick. He better look for a job.

I haven’t hear of Owen or Mia commenting on the issue, yet the DLP people here are taking preemptive strikes on them. That’s politics for you!

The damage is done. Whatever happens neither the fractured DLP or the fractured BLP have an advantage as a party. The Economy and the numerous mistakes the DLP has been making suggests that they are going to have a serious fight on their hands at election time next year.

14. One other point.

As I’ve stated here before. It is in the BLP’s best interest that Freundel Stuart stays on as PM. His lack of leadership skills and propensity to preside over mistake after mistake is just what the BLP will be happy with. Their job is going to be a bit more difficult with almost anyone else at the helm of the DLP. Hence they will support him and excoriate the “wild boys”.

The wild boys most likely recognize the danger to Barbados and their party if Stuart stays there as PM much longer. They could not have got the support of some of the senior Government ministers if they did not have a good case for requesting Stuart to leave. So far I have not heard of an ultimatum.

Reading between the lines. To me, it looks like they thought that they were doing what was best for their party and Barbados by trying to convince Stuart to demit office without fanfare. Someone put a spoke in their plans and I would think they would be more sensible than to allow Mia Mottley to lead them in a matter like this. There’s a double agent in there somewhere.

15. @Checkit-out

How do you explain the group running to the GG before the alleged request to meet with Stuart?

16. @ JB I would put Irene Sandiford-Garner as Minister of Health, she seems to be able to get things done, after he incident SC Warrens had up lights quick and fast. We must do away with this recycling, after a while just a whole set of worn out people who just looking to get what little money left in the coffers.

@check It. I feel if you check it you would see that the people don’t want the old hat of either the Dees or the Bees. Surely there are some young ones with a built in desire to see this country move forward. Out political like cannot be held in the hands of these few people. Stupse.

17. David; Is there any truth in the GG rumours? If so, this thing was festering for over a month and Freundel did absolutely nothing discernible about it. Isn’t that enough for some people to ask him to leave.

IslandGirl; You may be right but only an election will tell for sure. I think there needs to be a mix of old wise heads and young wise and energetic heads with the enthusiasm and drive to mould the society and economy into a true 21st century one..

18. To David and All:
    A situation like this mess we are seeing does not drop out of the sky just like that. Other forces are involved. If the leaders of this eleven were not sure of a back up plan to make sure they regained the purse strings and the financial trough, they would never try a thing like this. I f it had worked, they needed to be assured that with a close elections they would still be the victors. That is where Mia and her gang came in. Remember the unexpected removal of Husbands to run in St. James North. That assured Rawle another term and agent in the BLP camp. This thing is nastier that it looks on the surface. There is much more here than meets the eye.

Mia is Mara’s children god mother; she is Estwick’s cousin; she is Donville’s school friend; she knows Jones from union days when she was Minister of Education; she and Sinker were best friends when she was member of the DLP young socialists; she knows Hammie la and was instrumental in his crossing from the DEMs; should I go on before you people take this seriously?

19. Btw what happen to Cassius the one who talked as if he had inside info.

20. Perhaps PM Stuart will give the rebels in his Cabinet an early Christmas gift. He may be patient in his usual approach to disciplining these dissidents – patient man ride donkey but remember that Dipper Barrow fired two senators under a streetlight. Let us see a copy of the letter sent to PM Stuart signed by the dissidents. In the meantime PM Stuart and his loyalists should focus on delivering Cost-U-Less, the cheap fruits from Dominica, the state trading agency to provide basic foodstuff, improving the water distribution network AND REDUCING THE COST OF LIVING as was promised by the late PM Thompson.It would show that they arent selfish focussing on just winning the next election but concerned for Barbados. On another note, there is also talk of a third party being formed between the people’s choices of Sinckler and Mottley to challenge the established DLP and BLP. It is expected that this new party would have a majority of members in Parliament based on those MPs showing support to either Mottley or Sinckler.

21. To Barbados First:
    Are we the only ones seeing this development. These young saps actually believe that they are the Errol barrows and Grantley Adams of this century time and place. What they have not taken into account is that the people of this time and place are not the same people of that time and place and all of we went school to. Do know that in mathematics it took the three volumes of books to demonstrate that 2 + 2 = 4. What is the reality of what we are witnessing here politically?

22. On a tangent somewhat – can anyone imagine if Stuart absented himself from parliament and Arthur reverted to his old ways of giving the poorakey parliament a pass the vacuum which would be created?

Leaves one to shudder.

23. Here we go again! Avatar
    Here we go again!

And Mara name pon de list! Oh what is dis, oh what is dis list?

24. All the PM has to do is to reshuffle the cabinet once all this is true, and put them on the back bench or dull ministries that way he can give his loyal subjects like Denis Kellman a push up. I would deliver the reshuffle in a xmas eve message on CBC TV if it were me.

If I get trouble after that, then call elections in the New Year.
    Who don’t float would sink.

Can James Paul, Stephen Lashely deliver their seats easily? I think not.

25. I am not in favour of no “loyal subjects” getting no push up, more than 50% of the time they can’t do the jobs and they are more trouble then profit.

26. The nature of politics means that there is a place for keeping those loyal close but it must balance with the ability to do the job. The Brutus move has exposed the dearth in talent and options open to the PM.

27. @Undertaker | December 13, 2011 at 12:40 AM |
    The PM is certain of the support of Denis Kellman, he should move immediately to make him Deputy PM then reshuffle the cabinet, if he still gets trouble then call elections, who don’t float will sink. Sandy style politics.
    ===========================
    Another jackass who puts self before party and country.

28. @ David
    How did the Nation get a copy of the DLP poll?

29. @David | December 13, 2011 at 5:59 AM |
    However one looks at it how there is an attempt to grab power in this way is very distasteful. Call the PM and have a private chat – whisper in his ear that this is how the party faithful feel as well along with others in the parliamentary group. To be texting to ‘others’ in such a clandestine manner is unacceptable.
    ===================
    Now com’on…don’t you think that all the necessary internal protocols and requirements would have been met by now? Even the calypsonians had their sing of Stuart’s silent leadership. It doesn’t take a Harvard graduate to figure that by now Stuart’s leadership would have been a topic of discussion within the party.

30. If you were PM Stuart, would you want to be distracted with constantly having to peep over your shoulder as Chairman of Cabinet about members within the Cabinet looking to oust you….and prevent you from properly delivering on your manifesto (contract) with the electorate? The excuse of a bad global economy aint holding water not when the electorate can clearly see what is going on with the in-fighting within the DLP parliamentary group. Dont think for one minute that any member of the rebel 11 will resign, so PM Stuart should take them out of their misery….and if he doesnt, the Barbadian electorate will do it whenever the next elections are called. Oh yes, we gine beat them dissidents with our X (what a set of power hungry ungrateful bastards)

31. @enuff

Do we know that the DLP commissioned the Cadres poll?

32. I think that the behaviour of the eleven should be punished with laughter. Sinckler is Stuart’s pal. He appointed Adriel to his position and Stuart is rewarded with this stunning and stinging rebuke by him.There are eleven named but I am forced to ask are these all? I think not. But the ballless man now seek to absolve themselves from this nonsense. I think that the people of Barbados can judge from their behaviour if they are worthy of their support. It is an act of pure cowardice and self deceptiion that small boys want to behave like big men but do not have the balls to say I sign the paper and I still feel that the PM is a liability to our chances. They must stand by their word. I know the majority of people believe like the Oceans11 that Stuart is unelectable as a leader. they knew that when they picked him but they were influenced because they wanted to appear united. you can fool some of the people some of the times. but it is a shame when you fool yourself.Stuart’s behaviour in the present impasse demonstrates his unfitness for the pressures at hand. He is indecisive, unsure and generally inept and nothing will change that.
    I cannot believe that none of these men did not tell him of their concerns. I cannot believe that these men did not say what they are found in their ridings so the move to confront Stuart in this manner seems a little out
    of hand. Think on these things .

33. @ David
    You are smart. It clearly was not the Nation and based on comments by the pollster when barbadostoday mentioned its existence back in July it is the Dems or someone with their interest at heart. I have however been reliably informed that it was in fact requested by the PM.

34. Minister Ronald Jones has released a Press Release (to traditional media) that he has not signed or attended any meeting in connection to this matter. The pressure now should focus on the Nation to produce the letter with the 11 signatures.

35. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Don’t worry the Nation newspaper will be asked to produce the “evidence” when the Lawsuits begin.

This is going to be bigger than the St. George Secondary School pornography fiasco where the Nation newspaper tarnished Teachers reputations forever.

Kaymar Jordan will be looking for a very big rock to hide under!!!

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Barbados First | December 13, 2011 at 3:43 PM |
    “Dont think for one minute that any member of the rebel 11 will resign, so PM Stuart should take them out of their misery….and if he doesnt, the Barbadian electorate will do it whenever the next elections are called..”

Give him until the first week in the New Year. If he does not act decisively one can only conclude that all the rumours bandied about are indeed merited of some serious thought. Rhianna might just be right when she said the Bajans favourite word to describe a foolish person is the sweetest thing a man and some women would kill for.
    But FS might be seeing it differently. It’s better to be born lucky than rich. I have achieved my ultimate dream as top dog but the responsibilities and headaches are not for me. I know nothing of the economy just big words like the Don Blackie. I don’t give a damn. Look at the colourful and garish shirts I wear. Doesn’t that tell you something?

37. @ millertheanunnaki

Leave PM Stuart and his madras shirt under a jacket with pinstripe pants alone!!!

38. David

You need a topic that exposes the use of public funds to prop up private property owners when scores of Government owned buildings (at Newton, Harbour, Grazettes and other parks) remain vacant and derelict. Space is being made at a Bizzy Williams owned complex to house Ministries in Government.

Now when tax payers monies are used in this fashion one has to ask if it is in repayment for funds obtained during a political campaign of some sort. Why should tax payers pay for the debts of Political Parties?

A similar arrangement existed (and probably still exists) between BS&T and the Government.

39. Miller
    In this world of modern technology, you expect these cowards to come out and declare their hands after being exposed? They can all claim, the signature was not done by them, but in true bajan parlance” where there is smoke, there is fire”, and sooner than later the explosion will happen. I predicted a political volcanic expolsion and I was hoping it never happened but the volcano is rumbling . This is going to make Barbados look really bad, maybe the only positive to come out of this is the return of many non-barbadians to their countries and we true bajans to begin putting this country back together; Oh for Barrow’s duppy to come to our assistance. Luther Vandros sang, ‘dance with my father again’ someone can compose “only to have errol for one more term.” Had errol Barrow live 24 more hours, things would have been different

40. And that is why the NHC built Warrens so that gov’t money could be recycled (rent used to build houses to avoid JadaGate) rather than go to private property owners. Unfortunately the execution went awry….another story.
    The current Housing minister argues that they should stick to building only houses, yet we surprise he allegedly signed a letter.

41. enuff
    The Minister of Housing and a couple of the alleged persons who signed that letter, were ready to jump ship when the DLP had their turmoil with Thompson and Mascoll, so it wouldn’t surprise me if they are ready to do it again.

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BAFBFP | December 13, 2011 at 5:38 PM |
    “You need a topic that exposes the use of public funds to prop up private property owners when scores of Government owned buildings (at Newton, Harbour, Grazettes and other parks) remain vacant and derelict.”

There is a government agency with less than 40 employees that does not generate not one cent in revenue or earned not even US$ 1.00 in forex for the country yet has a monthly rental bill in excess of $60,000.00 (Yes, sixty thousand per month!) payable to a supporter and financial backer of the pip.

43. Looking at the pics in today Nation, the faces of these persons looks puffy, as though they are overfed or simply enjoying the good life. I was told that one particular person eats at least three shares of food at every function he attends.

44. it looks like since Roland Jones has issued a statement of denial Wunna BLP supporters have gotten very quiet. I hope fuh wunna sake none u wunna operatives didn,t have nothing to do wid these character assassination attacks. my eyes on one Cassius all of a sudden he gone into retreat,He was singing like abird about wuh he know.

45. @ ac
    Anybody can issue a statement. What about the other 10? lol

46. The focus swings fully to the Nation now. Acting Minister Jones has practically accused them of fraud.

If this is the case expect a law suit.

47. Didn’t any of you see David Estwick on CBC midday news calling on the Nation to produce the letter with his signature on it?

If the Nation fails to produce, I think the credibility of that paper and a lot of you know-it-alls will be in Maxwell Pond

48. Enuff also Dr Estwick challenge anyone to produce documentation showing where his signature is attached to the “socalled” letter. and now that makes three . who have denied . Try finding Cassius the BLP operative and hangman who was eagerly awaiting the demise of Chris Sinckler he was of recent here on BU telling what he knew about this master plan. Boy the backlash against the BLP is one that they will never ever recover from.

49. it would be a waste of time and money going after the Nation . After all when it is all said and done their credibilty would be their own undoing.

50. Lashley told Marilyn Rice-Bowen to bring proof too.

Leave a Reply to lookingCancel reply