Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

The eagerly awaited Peter Wickham Cadres poll has been leaked to the media. Based on the report Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart appears to be viewed as less likely to lead the DLP to victory. It is bad enough the DLP government has had to combat managing the economy in an austere environment, to float a damaging poll  at this time is perhaps the final nail in the coffin. One did not need a poll to assess that Prime Minister Stuart does not have the national profile or support at this time. Who can forget Minister David Estwick wearing a red short on the morning of the tragic event.

It is sad that a BLP government which was voted out of office less than five years ago will probably be returned without having to revamp or promise any radical policies to Barbadians. At this stage BU is somewhat nonplus about what the political landscape is likely to be. What is sure is that it will be more of the same. Prime Minister Stuart the best advice BU can give you is to ring the bell. The country cannot afford yet another political cat fight.

A people will get the government it deserves.

282 responses to “Prime Minister Stuart, It Is time To Ring The Bell”

1. @PM, call elections NOW | December 11, 2011 at 2:27 PM |
    Zack | December 11, 2011 at 2:07 PM |
    Yes, the PM should act in the best interest of Barbados. If, with his intimate knowledge of the interested parties, he knows that Barbados will be at risk, he needs to do his best to protect Barbados from them.
    ================================
    Majority should rule…he’ll get nowhere without the support of the team. He needs to either have the team in his corner, or vacate the post, otherwise it will be a deja vu of the Sandiford era.

2. By calling elections Stuart solves the problem because post election day the parliamentary group will have to meet to select a leader be it Pm or opposition leader anyway.

3. @David | December 11, 2011 at 2:30 PM |
    The party is going to pay a price which ever way it blows. Do you think the DLP can win an election with Sinckler or Estwick at the helm?
    ========================
    Stranger things have happened. I do believe that Sinckler carries more popularity that Stuart if elections were called tomorrow. I’m not saying the DLP would win, but they would stand a better chance.

4. Will Stuart cancel hs trip overseas?

Perhaps he wants to make his decision to call elections before Tuesday this week there preempting Arthur possible making noise by requesting a no confidence motion.

5. @David | December 11, 2011 at 2:37 PM |
    By calling elections Stuart solves the problem because post election day the parliamentary group will have to meet to select a leader be it Pm or opposition leader anyway.
    ===============================
    And what if they lose, and the loss is blamed on his low popularity and subbornness to do what is best for the party? Would that make alot of sense to you?

6. PM, call elections NOW Avatar
    PM, call elections NOW

Zack | December 11, 2011 at 2:35 PM |
    There are higher levels of majority – if they do not want him, we do not want them. They can decide which majority rules.

7. @ David

The meeting was in condo 312 Sapphire Beach apartments in Dover on Monday night and it commenced after the Parliamentary Group meeting.

I have it on good ground that those entering and leaving the meeting were photographed from a car containing the most senior goverment officials. Photographs were also taken of the car license plates, why do you think it has broken wide open?

8. It is an option i.e. let the people decide is one option. Bear in mind the fact that many have signed the letter it does not mean they agree Stuart should go. Agree with you though, what a bunch of jackasses with less than a year to go.

9. @Antz

Then to put this to rest we look forward to those pics being made public to quell the speculation.

If those pics are made public effectively many careers will be flushed.

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Excuse me guys, can anyone on this blog tell me what all the hullobaloo about?

I all I am seeing is a bunch of words written by people who are always wrong.

11. @George C. Brathwaite | December 11, 2011 at 2:14 PM |
    @Zack
    I take departure. I would never use such words to describe an individual that has held the highest and most coveted executive post in government; to do that i would be subscribing to do what the band of 11 is attempting to do. We must never discredit our institutions of governance.
    ===============================
    Don’t worry George, I’m not attributing the “jackass” part to you, that is all mine. I will continue to refer to Sandiford as a jackass as long as I live, because I believe the cap fits.

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I wouldn’t want the BLP to run my dog house, they might steal all the dog food.

13. @ David

A non-bidder was awarded a contract to build a marina out of the bidding procedure in which it did not participate. That is one of the books, even by political stardards that is a gem of a deal.

The non-bidder is now rumoured to be unable to secure the funding for the project, so the BTI has paid out $40 million in re-design fees and also faces a law suit with a potential liability of BDS $58 + dollars.

We could have a situation where BDS$100 million pay out and nothing to show for it but re-design drawings, not a block, not a street light, not a window.

STUPSE.

14. @Antz

Are you ruling out the NIS being a financier of last resort?

15. @PM, call elections NOW | December 11, 2011 at 2:46 PM |
    Zack | December 11, 2011 at 2:35 PM |
    There are higher levels of majority – if they do not want him, we do not want them. They can decide which majority rules.
    ==========================
    Let’s see how that works out in the next general election if Stuart is still PM.

16. To carson Codagan:
    If what is being said here is not true, and the Nation has printed BLP propaganda, then come and set this story right; it does not look good on the eve of a general election.

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

If you Barbados Labour Party supporters on this blog including the blog owner, want to see the return of the BLP to office you will have to do better than this.

The last time a joker accepted the taunt of a leader of the opposition to call an election that one is now opposition leader and also leader of the split in two Barbados Labour Party.

If one does not learn from the mistakes of others then one is doom to make the same mistakes. The Democratic Labour Party have too many wise and intelligent persons in its ranks for something like that to happen.

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Lemuel

Take it easy, where ignorance is bliss it is folly to be wise.

19. WHERE ARE THE PICS? And even if there were pics, who to say what was discussed in the room other than a fly on the wall …! Peter Wickham was in Florida on Monday last

20. Where ignorance is bliss yah bound to find Carson Cadogan

21. Two institutions with no legal personalities, not even registered anywhere, yah can’ even sue either of them for breach of contract… Stupse and people expect them our any of their membership to do the right thing …

22. To Carson:
    I am not part of any thing so I can only find out when the thing is exposed then I can do like you and say that these fellas cannot be serious at this stage of the game. By the way I do not take that thing about senior civil servants in a car or vehicle taking pics outside of the meeting seriously. They would be political pimps not civil servants. And Carson ignorance is not bliss only for a very short time, for sudden destruction cometh around the corner.

23. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ Antz
    I suspect you are wrong when you say there will be nothing to show for the expenditure of $100 million.
    It may not be the Bajan public but someone, somewhere will have a tidy pile of cash set aside as a result of this.

24. @ Carson
    The following excerpt has been allegedly made to the Barbados Today on-line paper by a source from the DLP:
    “It would be preferable that he steps down for health reasons. He has had two public fainting spells and one unknown to the general public at Ilaro Court. So it would not ring as strange or untrue if he retired on medical grounds,” the source stated.
    Asked the preference of the ruling party if Stuart acceded to a request to step down, the source said Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler and Minister of Health Donville Inniss were seen as the options with the most national appeal, dynamism and charisma to lead the party.
    “What is important is that the private sector is comfortable with both of them, although with Sinckler, his appeal to that sector might be by virtue of being currently the Minister of Finance,” the source said.
    Carson, you should be ashamed of yourself now; during the past few months you have been coming to this blog and lambasting the “gang of five” that ousted Mia. It is ironic that your party had a “gang of four” that ousted Mascoll in a similar manner, and now there are reports of a “gang of eleven” that want to over-throw Stuart. The BLP may be crooks, Carson, but your lot are not only crooks, they are power hungry as well.

25. @ St George’s Dragon

You might be right.

If the Nation News had a copy of the letter signed by eleven MP’s why didn’t they display it? Why didn’t they say who where the signatories to it? Why didn’t they say what the contents of the letter is?

This is a plan by a few power brokers, currently on the outside becuase of Stuart being PM, who are trying to get him on the run before making a final push to land Sinckler.

The only landing expected in the next few days is a crash landing of the ring leaders.

26. @Antz

Interesting last observation. How do you respond to BAFBFP who asserts that Wickham was overseas on Monday?

27. @ Carson

In 1986 the DLP won the government, fired the consultants of the previous administration, told the heads of departments and statutory corporations to park all the MP and ML cars; many of the heads of statutory corporations were replaced, while line employees were dismissed on the grounds that they were not qualified and were replaced by DLP supporters [who were subsequently appointed to their posts], the mess left by the BLP had to cleaned up. Unfortunately, Barrow died, he was replaced by Sandiford whose style was often criticized; recession came, Sandiford implemented IMF measures; there was protest from his party members, which led to a no confidence motion; Sandiford lost the government.

In 2008 the DLP won the government and there was similar talk of mess and corruption, consultants were fired, some of the heads of statutory boards were replaced, some went to court to avoid being sacked; persons were replaced with DLP supporters who were said to be qualified; recession again; Thompson died, and was replaced by Stuart, who now comes under fire for his management style; now there are protest from party members. Same shit, different day, Carson.

28. DID I not ask for the DLP to take stock ???
    DID you seee Paul James consulting a fortune teller ?
    DID you see Freundel crying ?
    WAS the 2008 election campaign not an exercise in lies and deceit that is now punished with a possible one term, leaderless , confused bunch of wild boys ???
    DONT you know that dont care who the DLP BRING NOW THAT THEY —GONE !!!
    DIDN’T I indicate before that the people have already made up their minds ???
    DONT you know that you can do and say what you like they have decided that anothe r term with the DLP is definitely a RISK ???

29. @ David

It is not for me to prove whether Peter Wickham was there or not, matters have over taken that issue and palace coup in now well and truly in the open.

The gang of 11, which really is a gang of no more than 7 maybe 8, should that if you wish to topple a sitting Prime Minister, there is a well trodden path, either go to the Governor General or bring a motion of no confidence in Parliament. They have done neither, why?

They simply don’t have the numbers and given that fact, the PM only need segregate the ring leaders before scattering their parts as far and wide as possible.

30. IF the BLP was so bad at running the country, howcum between 1994 and 2008 things were so ‘ sweet like honey from Bees ?
    HOWCUM things so bad now -2008 –2011 like dropsy from the DEES???
    WHY when things go well we take the leader for granted and say –‘anybody could do dah–he aint do nothing ????
    WHY when things go bad , we blame the leader ???
    WHY is it that only deceitful DLP supporters would say that OWEN ARTHUR did a bad job during 1994-2008??

YOU dont know that dem lies is wha got wunna now?
    REMEMBER when wunnah did talking nonsense about the happenings in the BLP that people warn wunnah that wunnah turn coming and um aint gwine be sweet ???

31. IS every one aware that the contributor/commenter know as Bonny Peppa is now well ahh ahhh shhhh yah yah shhhhhhh??????

32. St George's Dragon Avatar

I my view the choices are:
    1. Get Fumble to change the way he deals with making decisions and communicating with the public. If it was possible it would avoid a split in the DLP and might put them on the road to scraping through at the election. Result – unlikely to work, as I don’t think the man will change.
    2. Leave him in place doing (or rather not doing) what he does now. Avoids the public humiliation of getting rid of him. Result – probably means that the DLP will lose the election as the pressure regarding Fumble’s performance will only increase.
    3. Replace him. Would only work if there was sufficient agreement in the party that this was the right answer, otherwise they will be in an Owen / Mia situation. Result – at least a chance for Sinkler (?) to swing perceptions around before the election.
    So in reality it looks as though the DLP will only get back in if they are brave enough to boot out Fumble and install a new leader. Whether there is enough support amongst the MPs to do the deed without splitting the party is the 64 thousand dollar question.

33. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ St George’s Dragon

Your analysis or thinking of the situation appears narrow. Do you truly think that the cards are with the 11? If you know the constitution well, the cards are now more than ever in the PM’s hands and he knows that. Everything from here on in is his call. It takes a majority of the entire HA to oust him. Or, if a no confidence motion is moved, he has the time to pull the rug from under the very men that have moved against him. My bet is that he will call election sooner rather than later and the DEMS will wake away with their heads bowed in shame. They deceived Barbadians with many promises and talk of change, but the greed coupled with blind ambition is now at the fore of these latest events.
    I urge you to go back to the history of the DLP between 1987 and 1991. Therein are many of the answers.

34. Bajans are facing 4 to 5 more years of declining economic conditions.

You all know this. DLP,BLP or PIMP. Hard times hittin wunna.

The next election is a good one for the DLP to lose.

The PM should call the elections in February and walk off into the sunset.

35. St George's Dragon Avatar

@ George C. Brathwaite
    I bow to your superior knowledge and note “Everything from here on in is his call”.
    Unfortunately this is the man who is not exactly famed for his ability to make a decision.

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Artaxerxes & Co.

Lightning does not strike the same place twice!!!!

37. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Artaxerxes …”

” they are power hungry as well.”

The most powerhungry person on the face of Barbados is Owen”seethru”Arthur.

The proof is there for all to see.

38. WHY do people used the label of “power hungry” to scare other people ??
    DONT you know that this is as old as calling someone a communist ????
    DONT you realise that this old time crap aint working and that the one term DLP GONE ?????

39. Wow, I cant believe this is happening.

Just awhile back, the Dems were on this blog saying that the Bees will be in opposition for 30 years and more recently, they were lambasting the Bees over this Mia issue calling the MPs the gang of five and now look what is happening. Oh my goodness, look trouble. I know that these Dems could not stay together for too long. The Donville who always had talk for the BLP now cant comment. Wow!

PM Stuart, call the election and catspraddle all the plotters. They knew that the Bees met at Prior Park, now we know they met at 312 Sapphire!

But tell me this, on what merit does Chris Sinckler qualifies to be PM of this country? How is he any better than Freundel? He has no experience that is why we are in such bad shape. He has charisma, charisma, my foot? All I see him as is a big bully and a thug. And Donville Inniss is the other name touted as PM material. Heaven help us all.

40. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Artaxerxes

Here is part of a comment from another thread:-

“Rack by bitter and cannibalistic infighting the likes of which Barbados has never seen before, the BLP jokers on this Blog including the blog owner are trying desperately to convey the impression that the Corrupt Barbados Labour Party are in with a chance.

Pure claptrap”

Kind of hit the nail on the head don’t you think?

41. @ Carson C. Cadogan

Did they not choose him just over a year ago on the morning of Thompson’s death? Leave them man in peace and let the man try to manage the estate knowing the difficult economic times and that elections are just over a year away.

If the DLP spills blood amongst themselves over this Sinckler wanna be PM matter then it is almost certain that the people of Barbados will given an extended break from the halls of power.

Owen vs Fruendel sound like a good battle of the wits to me. Owen would maul Sinckler.

42. DOES everyone realise that the sitting MPs have no choice now but to get rid of Fumble and that they are ‘caught’ in a no-win situation ?

43. @ Prodigal Son

The difference between Prior Park and Sapphire 312 is that Prior Park was not organised, catered and led by campaign financiers, no?

The campaign financiers in 312 told the political and other folk there that a condition of their financing for the upcoming election is that Sinckler has to be Prime Minster.

PM Stuart give those campaign financiers a pass, they more than feed good from the last election money, look around and count the houses you see.

44. Just over 5 weeks ago Mark Maloney called into Brass Tacks and told the moderator that 200 houses were sold at Coverley. On tonights news he says in effect, 60 homeowners have already moved in and they have another 200 applications.

Applications for what, permission to live in the Village or to borrow money they otherwise can’t afford so that they can end up in the Village for political purposes only to default at sometime in the future?

How come the the Land registry in Barbados do not reflect 200 or even 60 sales for that matter by way of conveyances at that Village?

45. Antz,

I was just discussing this very point with a friend. A few months ago, Maloney said 200 houses were sold but on a tour on one of the open days, a tour driver told my group that as soon as we leave, she has to go and pick up all the sold signs that they were only put up to fool the public. So I am not surprised. Then when he said that they had to set up a mortgage company to lend persons money, I knew that the houses were not selling. They seem to have “bought” David Eliis because he was defending the project, I wonder what says David tonight?

But tell me, who in their right minds would pay so much money for one of those cubby holes. Look at the size of the houses east of the development and tell me which one is better value!

46. Reading Tony Best’s article today the CJ is quoted as saying” I can say this as a dual citizen of Barbados and the United States”.

Is this right, how can he be a citizen of the US and be CJ of Barbados at the same time?

Caswell, do you know? Just asking like “JUST ASKING”.

47. To Carson Cadogan:
    I am still waiting for you to refute these BLP people here about the gang of eleven, seven or five, maybe by tomorrow it will be a gang of two Sinker and Michael Lashley. Man I am willing to stand in the breech with you the BLPites can call me any thing I do not care. The more this goes on the more the public shall believe what is being said as Tom Adams always said “you need to get in front of a lie”. You know why I am standing with you; you said before the NIS funded the four seasons that it shall be funded, and it was. Break out the fact and evidence and safe your party man. Call in Uneducated and Poor Man and Business Man. I breathlessly await your attention to this most humble call.

48. Peter Wickham gone from pollster to a wannabe king maker, shades of Hartley. He dislikes Staurt to the hilt and is pushing unashamedly pushing Sinckler to be leader .
    It is unclear if Sinckler is a full acessory to Wickham’s plans. Wickham is bold faced tho, here’s a individual discredtited as a snitch and paid spy for the Americans instead of showing remorse is launching a behind the scenes bid to oust a Prime Minisiter.
    What four costituencies what!!
    The Nation neswpaper and Kaymar Jordan are like Wickham diametrically opposed to Fruendel and have joined forces with the Wick-ed spy to cause panic in the Dees. Now is not the time to change leaders in the DLP and Sinckler as much as I have bit of time for him is not ready to be PM. Wickham has to watch himself he is not a pollster anymore he’s gone into uncharted waters as a spy, a mole, a double crosser and trouble maker. Its said he’s a hen but the crap he is stirring up around Fruendel is absolutely wrong.

49. lemuel,

He is too ashamed to see that there are plotters, deceivers, liars, back stabbers and power hungry people in his party. A label who loves to throw at the BLP. Plotting and scheming and coming up with the Sapphire Accord. Poor fellow, people who live in glass houses should never throw stones, my grandmother always told me.

50. To Prodigal:
    I feel for Carson Cadogan though; he has been true to his cause like a soldier of the royal infantry, and these plotters have pulled the political rug from beneath him, unceremoniously. I myself can not believe it either; months ago we were waiting for an election show down featuring Sinker lambasting Owen, but that is up in the air right now with these developments. This situation shall result in an election in the last part of 2012; Stuart can not afford to call it before. He is an honorable man and he would not want to sully the name of his party like that. He himself said that he was around that party from a boy. Alas, these plotters have no sense of decency or respect for the politics of maturity. Carson did you join with them when they call Richie “too damn power hungry”. It seems that sooner or later you shall have to call “see thru”, Mister Prime Minister.

Leave a Reply to St George’s DragonCancel reply