Submitted by St George’s Dragon

David Cameron, UK Prime Minister (l) Hillary Clinton, US Secretary of State

The recent debate about gay rights started with the UK Prime Minister saying that in future some UK aid would be linked to adherence to “proper human rights”. His statement was related to one of the recommendations of a Commonwealth report which recommended ending bans on homosexuality.

The UK’s stance has not been well received in Barbados but it is important to note that despite the uproar, this is only peripherally aimed at us.

This for two reasons:

– Most importantly, we do not receive any aid which will be subject to these criteria. Please note this well. We receive no money from the UK which is at risk because the UK Government has decided to bring in these rules. It is therefore a complete non-issue for Barbados.

– The policy is aimed more at States which ban homosexuality completely. See for instance Uganda’s proposal for an “offence of homosexuality” which would normally make any homosexuality carry a penalty of life imprisonment. This would be increased to a death sentence if the offender was HIV positive.

But make no mistake; the pressure will continue to mount.

As an example. Hillary Clinton has just made a speech at the United Nations in Geneva, where she said that US Government Agencies will now “consider gay rights when making aid…… decisions”.

With the USA taking this position, we have to recognise that the game is really starting to change across the world.

You can say its colonial pressure; you can argue the Biblical interpretation; you can debate the morality. What is clear is that in the near future, if we want to continue receiving international aid and loans, we will have to review our laws.

The by-product might be that Barbados will be a more tolerant place.

152 responses to “Time To Get Real”

1. To Miller:
    Again, your are stretching into the extreme to make a point; yet, you expect persons to respond rationally to a position of extremism. Bombarding Bush Tea, me and any one else does not secure the type of discussion you are hoping to extract. The harrowing point about man’s existence and experience here on Earth is that we have a lot of foolish people who do foolish things and then bleeding hearts like yourself try to set them up a paragons of life gone bad. Before the young girl had 7 children, she had none, but made poor choices. And that is the same for all of the other examples you continue to scrape up. We are our brothers keepers but are we to be held responsible for their foolishness too.

2. Those who support homosexuality are clearly saying that God’s plan is flawed. for God Almighty designed family relations and to have a family as in every living thing male impregnates female and the growth starts. Even with flowers.

This discussion will come up again and again. “The earth is the Lord’s and the fullness thereof the world and all that dwell therein.” The riches that the UK have are the Lord’s and He will provide for Barbados and all nations that put their trust in Him. God will bless the good and the evil. Let us watch and pray.

God’s plan is eternal. We choose what we will, however, God’s plan will not change to facilitate anything contrary to righteousness. Jesus will be exalted from the earth and He will draw all men unto Him. “Righteousness exalts a nation sin is a reproach to any people.”

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ lemuel | December 9, 2011 at 10:40 AM |
    “We are our brothers keepers but are we to be held responsible for their foolishness too.”

No! But who are you and the likes of Bush Tea to judge others?
    I am certain you have skeletons in your closet you don’t want to let out.
    “Those who are without sin cast the first stone!”
    Look who is talking about stretching to the extreme to make a point!
    You and Zoe with your Judeo-Christian double standard crap that, if followed to the ridiculous, would still allow rich people to keep slaves, bar women from being priests and attend church without hats. Fundamentalist rightwing mouthpieces of you god who blatantly and hypocritically refuse to adhere to the teachings of Jesus about love, compassion and forgiveness are no different from the Jihadist Muslims. I am opposed to this sort of extremism whether hiding behind a crescent moon or a cross supported by the Light of the Sun. How more extreme can you get when the likes of you refuse to accept that a few billion of the 7 billion humans on this earth can have a spiritual relationship with the Creator without following the dictates of a book written and rewritten so many times as to make it sound like a story book or fairy tale that can be turned into a play to suit the circumstance of the actors and audience. We are in the season of the Nativity play. What is your enlightened view of the characters and scenes involved?

4. @Miller
    You sound so much like a Billie… sometimes…. No need for bush baths and such exotic options…

“What would Bush Tea recommend we do with the deviant cells….?” you ask…
    First you would need to understand what the ACTUAL problem is, what is the root cause of the problem… and then the solution will hit you in the face.

Just like we need to do with cancer, which we have been trying to “cure” with irradiation and aggressive ‘bush bath like’ approaches…when the obvious solution is preventative action, and is as natural and palitable as you could wish.

The trick is to understand the fundamentals.
    So Miller, if you really want to explore solutions you can count the Bushman in the debate. If you just need to defend your deviant cells – you have the Bushie’s right-of-way….

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | December 9, 2011 at 11:40 AM |
    “First you would need to understand what the ACTUAL problem is, what is the root cause of the problem… and then the solution will hit you in the face.”

Since you have the solutions to human sexual deviant behaviour problems, can a similar analytical and rational approach to understanding and controlling human behaviour be applied to other economic and social challenges this country is experiencing?
    We know how you would deal with homosexuals but let us know how you would deal with the fiscal deficit, falling economic activity, growing unemployment and significant pressures on the foreign reserves. And while you are in the lab concocting solutions to these economic problems come up with a formula to solve the ever increasing breakdown in law and order both in the communities and on the roads.

We await your workable recommendations in due course.

6. To Miller:
    Firstly, Jesus was not born on December 25. This was celebrated as the birth of the SUN. This is a PAGAN celebration. Even National Geographic repeats this every year. Miller you have not been the only person to attempt to downgrade or make of no effect the Bible; that has been going on from the time of St. Aquinas. If you so bad then tell me why Eve was made from the rib of Adam and not from the bottom of his foot.

7. @ Miller
    Had you been an earlier part of the BU family, you would have been aware that the Bushman does indeed have those solutions to which you have alluded.
    Indeed a brief review of David’s archives should be illustrative. However do not expect that the Bushie’s postulations will be immediately clear…. Previous bushmen who brought the same “solutions” were laughed at, scorned and even crucified ….

….anyway, brilliant attempt to change the subject now that your foundation has been essentially exposed as unsound….

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ lemuel | December 9, 2011 at 1:42 PM |
    “Firstly, Jesus was not born on December 25. This was celebrated as the birth of the SUN. This is a PAGAN ‘

Lemuel, you are committing a cardinal sin of blasphemy. Why are you going against the teachings of the Church that Jesus was born on Xmas day? Were it not for enlightened and tolerant folks like Wycliffe and Tyndale among you lot you would have been burnt at the stake for making such pronouncements. Now if your are so smart tell us when was the real Jesus born. You emphatically rejected the 4th day after the Winter Solstice. So when did the virgin Mary (Virgo), after receiving a visitation from the lord (the Sun- 4 days after the vernal equinox- 25th March), deliver the divine gift? use your calendar and count 9 months hence and you will come up with a date of your saviour’s birth.

9. readydone | December 9, 2011 at 2:28 AM |
    one question i havent got answered for a while now.

is gay humman?

i mean gay people willfully dont produce offspring, so can they be called hummans? technically?

It was always my opinion that only about 50% of the people who are claiming to be gay,could be considered so; The other 50% are opportunists,for want of an acceptable word, who would anchor their boats in any port, storm or not. Hence the clarification in an earlier post by ac that some homosexuals do contribute to the birth rate.

10. @Colonel buggy

Opinions are just that! What you need are facts for clarification. However i can cite persons as of recent well publicized in the media who are gay and are or were married and have children from their heterosexual wives. One of the major problems that “closet” homosexual have is trying to live a double life one in order to live according to society standards and in so doing the outcome can be devastating to those with whom they seek refuge.

11. @Miler the worm

Is there a correlation between homosexuality, the fiscal deficit and economic downturn? Please educate me as i am very uneducated and a slow learner.

12. I listened embarrassingly as the PM tried to explained the “buggery law ” as one that was not enforced and the more he kinda espoused his views about the law and the reasons for its not having been enforced the more i kept thinking then ‘What is the purpose of the law.” In this case maybe is the PM saying that the law is an “ass” even though he has no intention of removing it.I hope you PM bears in mind for all intended purposes even though the law was and has not been challenged as some point and time in this homophobic climate they are people would who would be willing to pursue those avenues which would challenge such a law.

13. Quoting ac “However i can cite persons as of recent well publicized in the media who are gay and are or were married and have children from their heterosexual wives”

Yup. My gay or bi uncle has had the same wife for 55 years, and the same boyfriend for 40. My uncle has 7 children and more than a dozen grandchildren, and his boyfriend has 1 adult child from his former wife. All right here in this sweet Barbados.

Now I am not saying that I would wish to be a part of the above situation but I can assure the person who asked if gay people are technically human.

Yes gay people are fully human.

14. PM, call elections NOW Avatar
    PM, call elections NOW

Are homosexuals willing to live and mix with only their own or do they prefer to live and mix with heterosexuals?

15. Don’t worry there is an election in the USA in 2012 and if Rick Perry is elected President none of this will come to pass.

16. homosexuals would preferably prefer to live among they own. However because of the Holy war waged on them most of them try to fit in with heterosexual lifestyle out of fear of being found out if they habitat among their own. There is nothing better than freedom whether it be sexual or financial no one wants to be ostracized and and feel as if they are unacceptable because society sees one as immoral or having a deviant behaviour one which they had little or no choice of choosing. There are too many homosexuals worldwide to say that they all choose that alternative lifestlye wether or not we agreed it is they way they are treated that should take precedent ,

17. Quoting PM, call elections NOW | December 10, 2011 at 2:35 PM | “Are homosexuals willing to live and mix with only their own or do they prefer to live and mix with heterosexuals?”

First of all most homosexuals are born and raised by heterosexual parents, and I expect that homosexuals love their parents, siblings, neices and nephews, aunts and uncles and other extended family as much as heterosexuals love their family members.

18. But of course a lot of people don’t love the families into which they were born and can’t wait to get the hell outta there.

19. whether barbados likes it or not they are going to have to amend the archaic law called ‘ Buggery” in order to be part of a global economy where the bottom line is the dollar the gay community commands a hefty sum of monetary power and influence world wide and a country who is now on the forefront of world heritage status and looking to make big inroads in the arts and entertainment world these are areas within were the gay community wheels a lot of power ,Barbados it is easy to talk the talk but sometimes it is necessary to have a lifeline before making the deadly fall.

20. BUGGERY law should be removed from books –why ???
    WHAT does buggery law have to do with homosexuals ???

21. buggery is the unlawful act of two men having anal sex it also includes the same for females where anal sex is applied or humans having sex with animals.homosexuals are mostly affected by this law because homosexuals have anal sex .
    Homosexuals travel worldwide and a law such as this can affect Tourism in countries who continue through ignorance to remove it from their books. The homosexual and gay rights movement can use this law effectively to boycott the Tourist Industry of these countries if barbados wants to be on par with big nations barbados must act and be seen as one.

22. My Goodness its good to see that Bush Tea is back on form – talking BS!
    And Crasswel Franklyn – do you have to be so literal – most people know what gay people do – such detail shows an unhealthy interest IMO.
    How about the milk of human kindness as precribed by the good Lord in this festive season – to ALL regardless of their sexual orientation.
    And to the unspeakable who question the humanity of gay people – i can only imagine this was a a remark from a throw back to some prehistoric ancesters of Homo sapiens.Genetics are so unpredictable.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | December 10, 2011 at 8:25 PM |

Excellent presentation!
    Spoken like a true intellectual!
    Unlike lemuel, caswell & co who let bigotry, biases and closeted fears get in the way of seeing the issue from a macro or helicopter perspective. Barbados is a tourist destination and must not push discrimination against any segment of society based on the personal dislikes and hypocritical views of some narrow-minded section of its society. If that were to be the thinking of the government in America many blacks from Barbados would not be able to visit places in America south of below the Mason Dixon line.

24. @Miller

From your last comment you subscribe to the view that economic consideration only should form the government’s policy making on this matter?

25. This was how Christopher coloumbus spread syphilis to the new world so called, then it was the tuskegee experiment. The exaggerbation of syphilis is aids. It runs through the royal family bloodline because of GAYNESS, It is written into the first books of the bible. Look up sodomites walk in your search engines. Look at the catholic church exploding with peadophilia and the past roman culture its really based on and join the dots!
    The film stars that have died of this and some musicians have all been kept secret in the past until they die, so its been a long time.
    Prince Charles is gay or bi-sexual. David Cameron is cousin to the queen!

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | December 11, 2011 at 11:59 AM |
    No. But given Barbados’ almost complete dependance on tourism and int’l business for its survival blood of forex our laws should not openly discriminate against groups who are not faced with similar prejudices in the countries from which we seek patronage and do business.

27. @ru4real
    Bushie KNEW that, based on the increasing “sour grapes comments” from various anonymous sources about the great mistake of not granting the flyover contract to 3S, you would shortly resurface.
    …What!!? Is this your other life or death issue? LOL!! Well come out and give some assistance to your colleagues cause they surely need it…

It is not an easy assignment to argue the case that deviant cancer cells that have invaded a formerly health body should be encouraged and supported and nurtured…..even for an Anunnaki.
    Contrary to any straw men arguments postulated, the Bushman NEVER advocated any hateful or vicious remedies for this situation…. Indeed even though the cells are cancerous there are a part of the person – what’s to hate part of one’s self?

Bushie has always advocated PREVENTION as the means to dealing with cancer.
    In life that means no smoking or other such known bad habits; eating pure and clean foods, and drinking clean water…and hoping for remission.

In Society it means avoiding known bad habits like the unhealthy love of money; injustice; and general righteousness. It means ingesting clean and uplifting ideas and concepts.

If we expect that our justice system can be so blatantly disfunctional; our politicians can be openly thieving; our youths can be exposed to the worst possible kind of shows, parties and school experiences – and that there will not be such consequences then we are all ac’s.

A sign of cancer in the body is a warning to CHANGE habits. To look for root causes and MAKE CORRECTIONS…and pray for remission.
    It is NOT an opportunity to embrace the deformed cells and to continue merrily along….. Unless of course death is the desired end.

28. If it is one thing that is inevitable is that Barbados stands more to lose than the gay community. The gay community has made major inroads in large countries and the developing countries and barbados need all the help possible from those countries. Barbados does not have the luxury to be labelled ANTI GAY this is a slogan which its people and country would be defined by and have to live with and one that would follow us wherever we go. The fall out in this respect can be devastating for the country as a whole. Then we would be understand the harshness and reality of being ostracized.Just take a look at the entertainment industry in USA and Britain and also the modeling industry see who are the movers and shakers and tell me who needs who. Barbados is playing a game with the future of the youth who wants to broaden their horizons in those fields and one that is going to cost them dearly.

29. littlebopeeplosthersheep Avatar
    littlebopeeplosthersheep

Brilliant bushtea said that for the human body to remain healthy it must reproduce…….uhhhuuuuhhteeheebboomooo omg. Now does not that sounds lIke very higj science from an asstute man?

30. @ Bush Tea “In life that means no smoking”

Bushman yuh mean not even the “medicinal herb” MaryJane as we call it in Canada?

31. @ Hants
    Only proper bush – the medicinal stuff…. LOL

@ little bo peep
    Maybe you should read some more advanced books before engaging the bushman….or send big bo peep….

@ ac
    One thing about you is your consistency

32. those who are shouting to keep the law in place should be aware that barbados is not the world and they are more gays worlwide than the population of Barbados. The balance of political and financial power therfore lies in their hands and Barbados still remains a dot on the map with little influence worldwide. increasingly ther is also a growing number of heterosexual who have joined forces with the gay commiunty in consolidation and therfore barbados also ran the risk of isolating those who lends their sympathy to the gays,

33. @Bush Tea

Can’t argue with you on that!

34. So ac, let’s see if the bushman is following you correctly.

Practically everyone who are anyone, have accepted the reality that the gay folk are in the majority. You are convinced that our best bet is to go with the flow….. Since we won’t wish to upset the folks with the money …. Or the anannakis.

Brilliant – sounds like a familiar tactic……of sheep.

35. @Bush Tea “Brilliant – sounds like a familiar tactic……of sheep.”

But I saw sheep crossing de road by de Lancaster roundabout an they did it safely.
    Sheep got sense too.

36. WHAT is anal sex ????
    IS anal sex buggery
    WHAT is homosexuality involving itself in this buggery and this what you call it -anal sex thing ??
    ISNT homosexuality just men dressing up like women ????
    DO they have sex tooo ???
    HOW can they have sex ?
    WHAT is sex ???

37. lol before it was name AIDS it did name GRID or Gay-related immune deficiency

38. @bush Tea.

First of all the issue of “human rights” is the defining point where the laws of “buggery” threatens and discriminates against the sexual lifestyle of the homosexual seeing it as illegal. People have come to the realisation through medical research and advance science through DNA and various biological studies that the homosexual lifestyle is just as much a part of their being as that of the heterosexual and have accepted the various medical findings so if the millions of us who have agreed ed with the medical profession are sheep so be it. Which mean the very few who are of differening point of view are LOST but there is hope that somehow somewhere in the future the Lost would find there way home,

39. @ Hants
    Don’t mind those, they are St James sheep –

40. To Ac:
    Where is this medical evidence which indicates that to put a penis in an anus is natural. The gay and Lesbians even wanted to flag the hyenas when the female was dissected the organ is not a penis. Even their attempt to use DNA evidence still does not support their position. Why have you allowed Miller to stroke your ego and make you make a fool of yourself here. The essence of your argument is the gay have some silver; we shall join them to get some even if we sell an entire nation to do so, in the name of the fear that tourists may stop coming to Barbados. They are more normal tourists than homosexual ones , my friend.

41. @ ac
    Do you know that many of our criminals who are locked away in jail or in mental institutions are just unfortunate human beings with warped psychological, physiological or attitudinal assets.

So if Peter Wickham can engineer a poll which show that a set of pathological killers have tourist dollars to spend, should we welcome a tour group?
    What about their human rights?

A few killers will kill a few persons, but the cancer of homosexuality can destroy a whole society if allowed to spread to vital organs.

Let’s hear your human rights pitch here….

42. @lemule
    After all you only get your medical research from the bible. i use the bible as well as other medical information for the basis of my opinion unlike you i do not have “Tunnel vision:

43. To Ac:
    Only Island is allowed to call me Le Mule; you have not merited that position yet. Furthermore, read the Journals of Morphology and Nature, and broaden your horizon my friend. Ooops I forgot the scientific language maybe a stretch for you. It is a pity that a Bible thumper like me can read it so easily; maybe you need to read the Bible more and broaden your intellect.

44. I am not aware that Genetic engineering was the same as conducting a political survey . However based on what scientific knowledge i have read it has been agreed and widely establish in the medical field that they are sufficient findings that would prove that homosexuality is indeed genetic. Now if you want to dispute that on religious grounds go ahead but i caution you that it is not sufficient to say it is the “Bible LAW” because behind every law they might be different reasons which would not necessarily apply in today’s society.

45. @ MULE

i only read the information that is scientifically proven and factual/ Not ones that try to brain wash people into morphing religion and science. it is like mixing fire and gasoline event though the two are valuable when mixed together can be deadly.

46. today one high roller in the public is up in arms against the gay community having acess to Barbados Tourisim Industry. What more can be said .He needs a reality check for sure because they are other carribbean islands who are hurting financially would are willing and eager to have them there as tourist, Talk about shooting yourself in the foot. sometimes silence is truly golden.

47. “sometimes silence is golden…”

@ ac
    Can’t believe that you knew that……

Leave a Reply to acCancel reply