Each country is entitled to the ‘exclusive’ rights within their 200 mile EXCLUSIVE economic zone. Barbados, Trinidad and Tobago and most other regional states are party to the Law of the Sea Treaties that provide for those rights. Barbados has no right to give the impression that Barbadian fishermen have any right AT ALL to venture into that exclusive zone without penalty. In the EEZ, the coastal state has the sole right of exploitation of the resources contained therein under international law of the sea treaties to which we are all party.

So when fishermen do so, let it be clear that they do so at their own peril. I don’t agree that anyone should be defending it. Unless and until CARICOM has the political will to come up with a Common Fisheries Regime and countries agree on the shared use of common resources (like the sea) Barbadian fishermen need to respect other peoples space.

Flying fish are a migratory fish species and while they spawn in the waters off Barbados, they migrate to the warmer waters off Tobago as they get older. Barbadian fishermen understand that and follow the fish to their habitats, but that happens to be the coastal space of another state and they have no right under any law to do so. They can and will be arrested and noone can fault the Trinis for it except for sensationalism purposes because we have allowed for too many years, the notion to prevail that we went to the Arbitral Tribunal over fishing boundaries when in actual fact that was little more than a secondary issue. More importantly the finding of the tribunal re the fishing issue was that the two countries should come to some common agreement on the matter. So there exists no framework to allow Bajan fishermen into Trinidadian waters.

Lisa R. Elcock

Flying fish – Wikipedia

It was not too long ago when what appeared to be all of Jamaica dropped like a ton of bricks on Barbados.  Not to be left out, Guyana, St. Vincent and other neighbours had a lot say when Barbados sought to enforced its sovereign right to protect its borders.

The recent arrest of Barbadian fisherman by T&T authorities serves to remind us that Barbados finds itself in a very lonely place in Caricom. To present the blunt argument that the Barbadian fishermen perpetrated an illegal act is to be dishonest in the argument. This longstanding T&T/Barbados fishing agreement straddles both BLP and DLP governments and leads one to the conclusion that there is no desire on the part of T&T to close an agreement. There are much bigger fish to fry in a pan which is full of oil.

Of course this is a golden opportunity for the politicos to do what they do best, muddy the waters. The irony in this case is that Barbados has led from the front in pushing CSME under the former Prime Minister. A consequence of our CSME-friendly strategy is that Barbados’ borders became easy to access by all and sundry and there was a huge inflow of T&T investment into Barbados. Most if not all of Barbados ‘Fortune 500’ companies have been acquired by T&T capital. One would have thought that back in the Arthur era was the best time to make a stand by calling T&T to the table to finalize an agreement. In recent days Arthur in one of the few times he has taken a bipartisan position has signalled the BLP opposition is prepared to stand with the government in taking a position against T&T.

Politics does make for strange bedfellows!

155 responses to “Barbados Should Tell T&T To ‘Go To Hell’ Too!”

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

A vibrant fishing industry in Barbados would have tremendous spin offs. Not to mention employment.

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Instead of depending so much on Tourism, the economy would have another important leg to stand on.

We could export fish to the world!

3. There is nothing logical or rational in politics and sometimes it is necessaryv for us the people to the politicians way so theyu can followv as in this case nothing has been agreed upon because we have been too silent.

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ lemuel | December 7, 2011 at 12:48 PM |

Heart attack! Very unlikely when one is having great laughs and CCC & Co! Like the people from the land of the rising Sun I eat loads of fish (some of it a bit “salty” but a good slice of aloes and a little rum with ginger take away the potential pressure). But then again you are an orthodox man when it comes to “eating”. Hormone laced chicken in the open but bully beef hindquarters in the closet.
    But why you want Mia to talk to Kamla? Knowing you, the next minute you would be in the “scissors” position trying to insert two female plugs in the ac/dc outlets to spread your electrifying propaganda. Why should Mia fork up ground to let washed-up electioneering monkeys run over it! The CSME guru is the best man for the T&T fishing expedition. Let us see if he could win friends and influence people instead of wrestling buxom lasses to ground in order to overthrow a queen bee.
    What do you say, defender of the faith (aka Lemmie Joseph Goebbels the OSA gopher)?

5. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

All a fishing agreement might do is to further strengthen Trinidad’s strangle hold on Barbados.

We might as well become a Colony of Trinidad.

6. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@Lemuel

You wrote: “Sometimes, it seems as if straining to be wise and seen as very very bright, George talks a lot of foolishness.”

Why do you not deal with the issue on the table; see if you can rack your brain to come up with alternatives or some solutions for the fisherfolk. Why attempt to come after me with nonsensical streams of envy. I have merely acted upon what the builders of Barbados gave me as a cherished gift — enhanced possibilities through education — not by kissing ass. Now go your way and know your place. In fact, better yet, go and read the Book of Solomon and you may come to the realisation that it is not a bad thing to try to strive for wisdom, not that it is an accurate sense of my ambitions. Let me talk my foolishness, that is choice in a democracy.

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Carson C. Cadogan | December 7, 2011 at 1:38 PM |
    “But you see they have never asked for a loan. They are all happy with their little “moses” and being caught by the Trinidadians, they have not yet learned to think outside the box.”

But why do you come down so heavily on these poor fisher folks? These are just simple but enterprising and adventurous hard working people with a basic education but who made the untold sacrifices of sending and supporting others to go to university or indirectly through huge contribution to the educational financing pot in the Treasury.
    Don’t you think it is the responsibility of those who have benefited from these financial and other contributions (especially those with the finance and business training) to step up to the bow of the fishing boat, take charge of the managerial helm, look towards the Eastern horizon and launch a new dawn of maritime business opportunities and ventures?

Boy, to get a compliment from CCC instead of a May or June 2012 anti DLP bashing is like shaking the hands of Jesus or Peter at the Pearly gates, most likely.

Thanks anyway! But go over my blogs and you will identify pearls of suggestions for a more viable Bim in order to survive the coming new age of economic and social realities. The new APD will become the pad on which tourist numbers from the UK will fall on. As the children of the UK Diaspora return home and die out this source of sterling forex will dry up along with the tourists numbers who like the flying fish will migrate not to T&T waters but to exotic Cuban shores.

Here is another pearl of investment wisdom that has been thrown among the importation & retailing swine. What about serious investment in solar and East Coast wind energy projects! Why wait on a gas pipeline from T&T which can put another ro(p)e of dependency around our necks? You see those Cave Hill campus buildings, Warrens NIS financed new office buildings and even Kensington Oval, let them be crowned with solar panels paying homage to the Creator while at the same time generating energy to provide for their own needs but off-loading the excess into the national grid to cut down our dependence on T&T second grade fuels and potential holding up to ransom by shady oil dealers/gamblers and environmentally risky and suspect foreign-owned shipping companies. Polluted beaches mean no tourism or what little will be left of it after APD & bankrupt AA.

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

For reasons yet to be known to me, there don’t seem to be the will in Barbados’ private and public sectors to break free of the Trinidadian yolk.

We appear to be to be constantly taking initiatives which will make us, not less, but more dependent on Trinidad.

Not having a fishing agreement with Trinidad might not be a bad thing if viewed properly.

The fishing industry might be the only industry not taken over by Trinidadians If we move quickly to continue to make it our own.

9. Now you people see what is missing from the CSME puzzle?

10. @All… If I may…

If you go to T&T, you will observe that there are almost no solar water heaters on the homes and business. And yet Trinidad is ~10 degrees above the equator while Barbados is ~13.2 degrees. Empirical evidence.

So why doesn’t Trinidad use solar water heaters? Because T&T happen to find themselves blessed with oil reserves within their territorial boundaries.

And so they give their people energy (artificially) cheaper than what can be derived from the sun using flat panels to heat water.

I suspect that T&T are actually breaking WTO rules by doing this. And it might make more sense to sell all the oil on the open market than discounting it to their citizens and businesses.

But, hey. Because of where they happen to find themselves, they can buy up Bajan enterprises…

And so the question then becomes: What do the Bajans do in response?

(Hint: It might involve our brains, rather than illegally fishing.)

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“What about serious investment in solar and East Coast wind energy projects!”

I can’t believe this, the rain is going to fall today. We seem to be on the page.

I agree with everything you say there.

The government should allow the duty free, vat free, importation of solar panels and wind turbines for household use. Taxpayers should also be given the opportunity to claim back the cost of them on their income forms as is done with solar water heaters.

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Enuff

Let me make it quiet plain, I am completely oppose to CSME

13. @CCC: “Let me make it quiet plain, I am completely oppose to CSME.

Could you please explain why?

I’m sincerely interested.

14. To miller:
    I just love that piece and I had a hearty laugh. If you insist I shall defend see thru OSA to the hilt, but how do you see me fitting in between Mia and Kamla, especially when Kamla drunk; I hear she does wine real bad bad.

To carson cadogan:
    I have to agree with you the fisher folk have to look beyond their little moses and seriously upgrade, and it will have a major impact on the economy.

To George Brathwaite:
    I sat here and read someone indicating that your thesis (which by the way should be an educated guess) is about nothing in the world of nothingness, and I was a bit sad. But you have clearly demonstrated in your piece why that person’s assessment of you is obviously correct. And the sad thing about it is that you are no a bright spark, so be very careful whose tail you pull. About the envy, as a magistrate once told a man who put someone in court for slandering and defaming his name, the magistrate said to him he must first get an unsullied name. Given what I have seen from your pen brother George there is not much to envy or emulate.

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | December 7, 2011 at 4:13 PM |

We trust you also agree that the leaders/elite in both parties are in the pockets of vested interest groups who don’t want to see Barbados moving away from this commercial stranglehold of importing and retailing with little risks or effort for the easy profits raped from a captive market.
    Now here you go off page, singing from a different hymn sheet! Too good to last! But it was sweet while it lasted. One felt as if in heaven! Putting paid to the old 1971 slogan: “how long is too long when it’s good”!

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

There is nothing in CSME for Barbados.

We have not benefited in any way from CSME. Even free travel does not work for Bajans.

I know of Bajans who were educated at UWI yet Immigration officers in Trinidad gave them limited times to remain in Trinidad.

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Trinidad see Barbados as one big Supermarket.

18. @millertheanunnaki: “We trust you also agree that the leaders/elite in both parties are in the pockets of vested interest groups who don’t want to see Barbados moving away from this commercial stranglehold of importing and retailing with little risks or effort for the easy profits raped from a captive market.

That is a non-zero probably based on the empirical evidence.

19. @CCC: “Trinidad see Barbados as one big Supermarket.

Indeed.

Who can name a Supermarket here in Barbados owned by Bajans?

SuperCentre. Trident. PriceSmart…

Why do we Bajans buy our food from foreigners?

(It’s a trick question, but the answer is informative.)

20. the opposition leader especially in the light of his snake-in-the grass like behaviour evident in recent times is n favourite of mine but to dismiss his pledge of support to the govt in the fishing dispute as political posturing is speculative and therefore unfair.

21. Who de hell cares what Trinidad sees Barbados as, Right now the problem is how can the fishing agreement be solved and what actions the Bajans would take in forcing the government of T&T to finalise an agreement or are we waiting till a couple more fisherman are held and be sentenced to an unprecedented amount time in jail for catching fishing before something is done. You people taking this one upmanship by Trinidad for sport but Trinidad is not going to budge until “WE” the people let them know that we are serious and will boycott their products. All this political BS not going to help people lives and livelihoods are at stake the fisherman deserves better and i am certain we can show real support towards them. . .

22. PM Stuart flexed his muscles in the Redjet Barbados/T&T matter why not do same here?

23. @Miller

Sir Harold St. John was tasked eith the repsonsibility of having a fishing agreement. Do You Have any recollection of that? Owen and Mia fooled Barbadians that we needed international intervention to have a solutions, they wasted a lot of money and after 14yrs of the BLP rules, where did we reach with the fishing agreement?

If we would stop this partisan foolishness and recognize that Trinidad nationalism takes precedence over everythin,g then we would develop Barbadain nationaslism too and deport the illegal Trinidadians from our shores as a start as Barbados land is we teritorry too.

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Christopher Halsall | December 7, 2011 at 4:55 PM |

“Who can name a Supermarket here in Barbados owned by Bajans?”

Bajans can show their disgust by boycotting T&T owned supermarkets and buy from the Proper Pork man supermarkets.
    But unfortunately, many of the food brands Bajans like are controlled by the same T&T controlled import & distributive sector.
    But things can change if only government can free up the market and importation process to allow true competition to take real root.

25. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@lemuel

Your clairvoyance is startling and interesting. I still feel somewhat relieved that you or the individual that you choose to follow have absolutely nothing to do with my success or failure in presenting a body of research that is ‘original’ and ‘publishable’. Amen to persons of your kind!
    Now, since you are done with me, would you please offer some sensible solutions to the fisherfolk of Barbados. They need all the support and help that they can get so they can ultimately feed the rest of us in Barbados whilst at the same time paying their bills and taking care of their families. Is that too much for a brilliant person like yourself to achieve or do you see that as draped in the misery you seem to have perplexed your soul when thinking of the nothingness that I write?

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ undeucated | December 7, 2011 at 5:55 PM |
    “If we would stop this partisan foolishness and recognize that Trinidad nationalism takes precedence over everything then we would develop Barbadian nationalism too and deport the illegal Trinidadians from our shores as a start as Barbados land is we territory too.”

Are you recommending compulsory acquisition of Trinidadian owned strategic assets in Bim? Trinidad did it in the 1970’s under Eric Williams!
    Make your position clear on this one! Stop pussyfooting on this one!

27. I have a Guyanese friend who goes fishing with her son in law on his trawler. I asked her if they have had any problems with the Venezuelan coast Guard because I know that the Venezuelan Coast Guard shoot first and then ask questions. Ask any Trini fisherman about them. She told me that they fish in Venezuela’s waters and have never had problems with their coast guard. She said that they keep several bottles of Johnny Walkers black label , some cartons of cigarettes and beautiful pieces of fabric. She said that when the coast guard comes next to them they greet them and offer them some bottles of whiskey and cigarettes. the coast guard accepts the gifts and go on their merry way leaving my friend and the crew to continue fishing. She told me that when they want to buy fuel they buy it from the indigenous people along the coast who would come along in their canoes with large containers of fuel. Now this is illegal in Chavez land but everybody has to make a living however they can. The fabric is for the wives of the men who own the canoes.

Now tell me who is smarter at fishing?

28. The issue here should not be only seen as what’s right or Wrong. as there is no disputing that. seeing that T&T has the right to wheel whatever justice necessary to protect its water should be of utmost concern to Barbadians who have the best interest of their fellowmen at heart. it is only a matter of time before another occurrence happens and by law T&T have every right maybe use of a shotgun to protect its water. we bajans are too lackadaisical and always waiting for the last moment to do things.

29. @undeucated…

I understand you’re taking the piss… But just for the record…

Bajans are given access to free education, up to university Bachelor degrees.

Let me guess — you have a BS in Political Science? Or perhaps Anthropology? Creative Writing? Quantum Mechanics?

30. So de onliest place in de caribbean dat got flying fish is Trinbago?

I ent nuh marine biologist but effin duh got flyin fish in udda waters we could mek an agreement an fish someway else. Dominica? st.Lucia?

Jus tinkin on undaneat de box.

31. Hi barbados when you all going to wake up from the 20years of slumber of becoming the doormat of the carribbean. What you all waiting for. Everybody got they own interest and would die to protect it . what you all willinging to die for. it is obvious nothing. but by the time you wake up the barn house would be smoke and ashes and absolutely nothing to live for.

32. Flying fish and cou cou Avatar
    Flying fish and cou cou

Have to endorse CCC stance Bajan fishermen ought not go fishing in TnT waters. If the shoe was on the other foot we would be pissing mad if the Trinis illegally fished in our waters. What stuns me is the fishermen reported they caught 250 flying fish . Why in God’s name would you use up hundreds of dollars in fuel not to mention risk your life to go to Tobago to catch a few flying fish. Barbados has no leverage on Trinidad so there will not be a fishing agreement anytime soon if ever. The Trinis hold the aces the only thing they would like to swap with us are murder rates.
    Barbados should try to outflank the Trinis by robustly going after the oil the Norwegian geologists claim is within our maritime boundaries. Start extracting that black gold and see how fast fishing or any agreement would come.
    I cannot support Bajan fisherman going into another man’s territory and breaking their laws after all we deport Guyanese for doing it here. Fishermen must get into another profession if they cant catch fish in the hundreds of miles of ocean that make up Barbados’ territorial waters.

33. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Flying fish and cou cou

Amen.

34. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Islandgal246

I guess you have no idea of the cost of a bottle of Black Label in Barbados.

35. @flying Fish’

What a defeatist attitude. For a country to be great it must take a stand and defend itself Right or wrong, ! What barbados must do is not roll over and play dead just because its opponets might have more aces.No matter how many shoes you wear it is always the one that feels the most comfortable you prefer and right now Barbados feet are really hurting because of a lack of an agreement. Our bargaining chip is spending power and money goes along way towards the upkeep of an economy and T&T knows that !Another point you made is that of asking “Why would the fisherman take the risk ” well it doesn’t take a genius to figure that out and the answer should be obvious. that alone should tell you the importance of having a resolution to this 20year problem.

36. Trinidad is not interested in settling the fishing dispute as long as Barbados continues to be a profit centre for Trinidad companies.

Barbadian fishermen should stay away from Trinbago. Bajans can learn to Salmon and Tilapia.

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

I think Bajan fisher folk have to give the flying fish a chance to re-establish stocks to a sustainable level. Overfishing, reduced food sources and breeding environment (regional seaweed and drift wood) along with massive pollution caused by reefs erosion, plastic and chemical dumping have depleted stocks. The fish have now grown accustomed to the Bajan fishing tactics with their noisy polluting diesel engines and have probably retreated to safer waters for their own survival.
    Time to look East and acquire a taste for more exotic catches before the Taiwanese and Japanese trawlers deplete the Atlantic reserves.

38. Carson Cadogan what about some Mount Gay Old Gold instead of Johnny Walker? I agree with you for once that the Bajan fishermen have no right fishing in TNT waters. They should form a company and register it in Trinidad to be able to operate there. There are many ways to skin a cat you know. Or they should register their boats there like many others who do that. Now if they refuse we will know how to go about fighting that under the treaty of Chaguaramas.

39. Can we agree that illegal Caricom citizens have no right in Barbados but it did not stop all and sundry from braying foul when Barbados tried to enforce its sovereign right to protect its borders. What an unfair and hypocritical world we live in.

40. The difference David is that many of the illegals came here legally and overstayed. The fishermen entered TnT illegally. My mango tree ain’t yours and you will get some when I and if I offer. If you ask and I refuse doan get vex……because dem ain’t yours!

41. Islandgal does it matter if they entered legally if the end result is that they are illegal?

Just asking!

42. Anyone overstaying their time should be deported when caught!

43. all ya baje just talk... Avatar
    all ya baje just talk…

… no action.
    – still gotta eat we icecream from chefette
    – still gotta drink we soda from chefette
    – man stop at de talk – we germany and you greece

44. the point that the Bajans should not be fishing in TT waters is Mute Everbody knows that.However what people seem to be overlooking is the fact That people when they need to survive are going to take RISK and that is where governments must play an important role in overseeing and implementing laws or agreements that would be beneficial to those involved.As of now only T&T benefits and they are at liberty to protect their waters by any means necessary! Even for one to protect their property the law only gives one a certain amount of leverage to do so after which charges or disputes are settled in the court

45. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Islandgal246

If they want to form a company and register it in Trinidad maybe I can help.

I have a Trinidad daughter who could regester it them under her name.

46. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Bajans have always been a smart people, we have to know when we are butting our heads against a stone wall.

47. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Cou cou and salmon is not so bad, I eat it all the time.

48. I have a Trinidad daughter who could regester it them under her name.

Carson so you like Trini meat nuh and you plant a seed and it growing there.

49. If the Trinis read the contributions to this blog, they know that they are safe, and must be laughing. Talk – just bare talk. Bajans will never organise a backlash. They will keep on piling up the shopping carts with Trinidadian goods, legal and illegal. Rafterall, there’s a reggae concert to go to this weekend. Steupse!

50. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ all ya baje just talk… | December 8, 2011 at 5:50 AM |
    “… no action.
    – still gotta eat we icecream from chefette
    – still gotta drink we soda from chefette
    – man stop at de talk – we germany and you greece ”

Hi Trini,
    Got to agree with ya here! Baje is bare boo when it comes to action. Looka clico gone away so so so! Soon loads of files will go missing!
    But Trickidadian, I gine got to put back me rice in de pot wid ya meat and let ya have the whole kit and caboodle!

Leave a Reply to HicksCancel reply