Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

Government was advised, by an actuary, to take steps to protect the National Insurance Fund because they had calculated that the NIS Fund would be in trouble by 2035 if pensions were continued to be paid at the then existing rate. They reasoned that Barbados was an aging society, and with current life expectancy and a declining birth rate that there would be too few persons contributing and too many persons receiving pensions for the scheme to remain viable. The Government had several options to ensure the fund’s viability, and this is what they have done so far:

1. Increase the pension age with the hope that more people would die before attaining pension age;
  2. Increase contributions;
  3. Change the formula for calculating the pension, resulting in a much smaller pension; and
  4. Give people the opportunity to receive a reduced pension if they applied early, and an enhanced one if they deferred applying for their pension. They guessed that there would be a neutral effect on the fund because the people who opted for early pensions would somehow be offset by the numbers who deferred. Unfortunately, hundreds opted for early pensions and less that 10 deferred as yet according to my information.

The corrective measures clearly show that the NIS Fund is under stress. It is inconceivable that the fund is as healthy as the Minister of Finance is telling the country. For the sake of argument let us assume that the Government is correct in their assertion that the NIS Fund is healthy. Then they must also explain why they thought it necessary to sell off the NIS shares in the Barbados Light & Power Company which were paying handsome dividend yearly, and projected to do so for the foreseeable future. If they needed cash so badly that it forced them to sell off assets, how can they justify the gamble of putting $50 million in the Four Seasons apparent white elephant.

In whose interest is the NIS Fund being managed? Everything that the Government has done to date to protect the fund has proven to be detrimental to the individual interest of persons who contribute to the fund. On the other hand people like the Canadian company Emera, CLICO and now Four Seasons are reaping the sweets of the labour of Barbadian workers.

The Minister maintains that the fund is healthy, and I sincerely hope so, but how can he make this assertion without the benefit of audited financial statements for a number of years. Where did he base that conclusion?

The National Insurance Office is in a very poor state in terms of the management of the fund. I challenge them to deny, with proof, that the NIS fund is so poorly managed that they were unable to detect an ongoing embezzlement for years which resulted in the loss of millions. The only became aware of the embezzlement when a commercial bank brought it to their attention.

Some Years ago, I was representing a lady who NIS accused of receiving a benefit in duplicate, which she denied. I well remember, at the meeting to resolve the matter, I identified, by job functions, the persons that were embezzling NIS money. Rather than deal with the matter, I was threatened with a lawsuit for defamation. Years later and millions of dollars later, I was proven correct by the arrest and confiscation of assets of one very junior employee from the area that I had identified years earlier. So don’t tell me that the fund is sound; you just don’t know, you might be counting money that had already been embezzled.

147 responses to “Prove That NIS Is Sound Before Investing In Four Seasons”

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

So on what basis is the Minister of Finance making the grand assertions about the integrity and financial soundness of the Fund?
    The worst thing a government can do is to “cook the books”! Look at what has befallen Greece?
    IMF and other International lending agencies might be looking on.

2. Obviously the NIS has internal financials which are shared with the minister.

We know them to be unaudited however which as we all know raises the issue of the integrity of the numbers.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

David | November 21, 2011 at 1:35 PM |

So what’s so secretive and confidential about these financials? If they are prepared based on accepted accounting principles and good enough to attract ministerial reliability then what is wrong with making them available on line (to save costs, of course) with the clear warning that the financials are interim and have not yet been approved by the Board. This proviso would indicate that the accounts should not be relied upon as a true and fair view of the Scheme’s financial position. But at least it would put to bed the rumour mongering and misinformation that are currently in circulation especially in light of the many loan requests and investment proposals before the NIS.

4. What does the Act say about declaring the financials?

5. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The NIS is financially sound. Wunna ain’t overstand that yet. There is nuff nuff money in there to fund Four Seasons. There is no risk and bajans do not have to worry the government knows how best to spend we monoey. After all the only ones gine in four seasons in the ones with nuff nuff money too—wuh lawds I wonder who!!

6. I am a little lost here, if this project is so viable why hasnt the majot land development players in the Private Sector jumped on board? What ever become of Bizzy Williams Association with this project? wouldnt this be ideal for Williams Industries in view of the fact that they have all the necessary resources (equipment and financial) to execute this project along with their joint partners? What about Mike Pemberton didnt he benefit originally? what happened to funds paid in by clients as stage payments for the construction of the houses? I dont know i am loss somebody tricking me

7. Indeed lost. If is so viable why are they depend on government/nis money to finance ? As for NIS the peak collection year according to central bank was 2007 it was went down in 2008 and much more drastic drop in 2009. wonder how 2010 and 2011 fearing

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“What does the Act say about declaring the financials?”

Is the Act accessible on the NIS website? NO!!!!!!!!! If Yes please confirm!

But all statutory bodies are required to submit to the Minister or Ministry responsible for that body audited financial statements for the previous financial year just ended no later than 4 months after the end of the previous financial year. For example if the financial year ends March 31, then by July 31, financial statements approved by the Board should reach the Ministry and by extension the Minister.

For which financial year has the NI Board last met this legal requirement? And this is a management team we can rely on to invest our hard-earned contributions! If the NI scheme was based on voluntary contributions for employed persons then this sort of lax performance would be dealt with by the voluntary members like say a credit union. But given the mandatory regime we would expect employees, employers and indeed the management of the scheme to fulfil the requirements of the law.

9. miller

You have obviously not perused the Auditor General’s reports lately.

10. chocolate city hussle Avatar
    chocolate city hussle

i look forward to 2013

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

David | November 21, 2011 at 3:30 PM |

What a sad state of affairs for a country that boasts of its high level of education and its major asset being the massive investment in human capital!
    Paradox of the highest order!

12. More spin, this time in The Barbados Advocate. Note the author of the article gives no time to the economics of the project and the myriad of other questions which merit answers.

Four Seasons a worthwhile investment
    11/20/2011
    FOUR SEASONS Hotel and Resorts would be a welcome addition to the tourism product of Barbados.
    Barbados boasts of being a premier destination. Tourism is also our main foreign exchange earner. However, when we look at the hotel compliment in Barbados, we have very few five-star or five diamond properties. We also have very few brands which are known internationally and have marketing capacity. Four Seasons has both qualities – five diamond standard and brand recognition.
    Four Seasons is the world’s leading operator of luxury hotels and resorts. Since the opening of the first Four Seasons Hotel in 1961, this Canadian-based company has grown to 85 hotels in 35 countries. For nearly 50 years, Four Seasons has transformed the hospitality industry by combining friendliness and efficiency with the finest traditions of international hotel-keeping. In the process, Four Seasons has redefined luxury for the modern traveller. It is one of the most recognised luxury brands in the world. With the opening of the Four Seasons Hotel in Barbados, Barbados would be one of two Caribbean territories which would be able to boast of having the brand as part of its tourism product
    http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=letters&NewsID=21058

13. Life in a Bannana Republic without Bannanas Avatar
    Life in a Bannana Republic without Bannanas

it is clear that NIS is not sound, otherwise there would be no need for pension reform like raising contributions and raising the age of retirement. if it were sound then all could be paid without changing a thing.

Also the case of investing ad infinitum in paradise beach is madness, all that i have heard is tine and again they need Millions more, but what about revenue. After the last multi million dollar investment how much further along is the project. can anyone say how many bags of cement or blocks have been used since? was a single building completed? Debts were paid and the Pailing repaired and painted but what else?

As nice as a project looks if it costs more than it brings in it is a disaster. Let us recognise this is not another expenditure like sherbourne, the gymnasium or the oval which ( unlike how advertised) are expenditures in social development and not business ventures where a financial return on investment is expected. A hotel and condo project is not social development and is clearly a buisness investment that needs to be a private sector venture.

14. There quite a few villas around that do offer the same service standard and quality as four season. it fallacy to say we don’t have much we have much 5 star/diamond properties what is true is we don’t have lots of hotels and for good reason so. sandy lane and what ever other 5 start properties you might include don’t have 100% occupancy. only time it approaches that is Christmas/new years. we have not yet gotten how to saturate our limited markets. will the end result of four season opening just be the moving of current guest from one hotel to the next. until they can show that four season actually drives new markets will four season hotel make sense ?

15. Given that our credit rating has been revised down by Standards and Poors where does this put us now?

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

So if the 4 Season is so attractive to investors where are they?
    No one is against the project per se. As a matter of we all want to see it restarted. But where is the private sector? They are always decrying government for getting involved or encroaching on their briar patch. The GEMS project comes to mind!
    From this article in the DLP mouthpiece it can be seen that the spin is being advocated that the NIS investment is a done deal.
    If things go wrong the hotel plant can always be used as an annexe to the main Black Rock Institution to cater for the massive influx of middle class guests that would be going off their “rockers’ when they find out that they have to work to 70 to get a little piece of mind before meeting their Creator.

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

David | November 21, 2011 at 4:36 PM |
    “Given that our credit rating has been revised down by Standards and Poors where does this put us now?”

Unfortunately, we can’t borrow from overseas private lenders cheaply without special measures under the watchful eyes of the IMF.
    This would put significant pressures on foreign reserves, starting with a flight of capital by the banks and numerous applications from the foreign owned multi-nationals to remit profits.

18. “Given that our credit rating has been revised down by Standards and Poors where does this put us now?”

Drifting Out in the Atlantic Ocean in a Moses with a broken engine, no fuel no flares and no fresh water. With no ship in sight on the horizon.

19. Memories of 1991 come quickly to mind.

20. technically it not a degrade david. the outlook been revised to negative meaning a degrade may come or may not. End result is that think we will be getting worse in the short term but as with all things in the future they just don’t know for sure other .

21. @anthony

However you spin it it is a downgrade. Do you think the economy is poised to get better?

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ anthony | November 21, 2011 at 4:51 PM |
    I know you like to look on the “bright side” of things economic.
    But anthony, given what’s going on locally and in our international trading markets do you think that the search lamp might need a new battery or bulb? You strike me as an accountant by training or in-depth exposure so you ought to be a bit more conservative in your outlook on this current economic landscape

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David:
    This topic is so crucial a person with a sound background in Economics and Finance should comment under a separate thread.

24. Honestly without the restart / start of major infrastructure projects is not going to happen. Tourist can coming in more number but spending less. what we need is for them to spend more that unlikely to happen in the short term. If we hit oil we could be save but it still take a couple year for any operation to start getting returns but it would be huge investment in infrastructure in the meanwhile.

25. @miller

It is the people with sound economic and financial credentials who landed us in this mess to start with.

26. I trying to be optimistic because have pessimistic view we can easily end up in greece position and begging for money. Many of the loans government take out have investment grade clause where if we fall below it the interest goes up. These clauses can mean that we end up paying anywhere from an extra 10%-30% on interest payments. it all add up quite quickly. with the downgrade in outlook that also mean any foreign financing would be receiving points increase on their rates.

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ islandgal246 | November 21, 2011 at 4:45 PM |
    “Drifting Out in the Atlantic Ocean in a Moses with a broken engine, no fuel no flares and no fresh water. With no ship in sight on the horizon.”

So who is in charge to shout for SOS? Or has everybody jumped ship and started swimming to shore for a rescue landing at Bats Rock?

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ anthony | November 21, 2011 at 5:18 PM |

It follows from your optimism that you would recommend a new captain for the drifting ship. A captain that knows how to map a course to the nearest and safest port where no IMF welcoming party is awaiting!

29. @millertheanunnaki

of course the captain(s) at the helm don’t seem to know what they doing and should be court martial and thrown in the brig.

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

I just can’t wait to hear what the minister has to say about this “realignment’” of Barbados credit rating.

I suspect he and the likes of CCC and other DLP Fractured apologists will keep rather quiet (stay under the radar) on this one hoping the discussion would drift away soon. Don’t expect any write up in the Advocate unless it is in the form of spin like this is just a temporary oversight by S&P which will be reviewed and adjusted accordingly.

31. “Memories of 1991 come quickly to mind.”

No David, we in the period just before the elections of 1991.

32. guess central bank will put out release tomorrow stating that the outlook change was totally uncalled for or it was re-evaluation of the current S&P rating with the new rating criteria..

33. Dear Minister of Finance, if you need money, here is a plan Avatar
    Dear Minister of Finance, if you need money, here is a plan

anthony | November 21, 2011 at 5:18 PM | … Many of the loans government take out have investment grade clause where if we fall below it the interest goes up. These clauses can mean that we end up paying anywhere from an extra 10%-30%…

and the Minister of Finance knows this?

34. PM, call elections NOW Avatar
    PM, call elections NOW

So should we expect an early g-election to prepare the way for real action in the near future?

35. If i know it he should definitely know it too see page page 3 point 10 of the loan that was brought to parliament recently http://barbadosparliament.com/htmlarea/uploaded/File/Resolutions/2011/Resolution%20Money%20FirstCaribbean%20International%20Bank.pdf

36. PM, call elections NOW Avatar
    PM, call elections NOW

Can the Minister really not do any better or are we being pushed to the edge for other reasons? Can another 8% cut solve this problem?

37. Why the surprise? Stupse. Look how long the gov’t did ‘leaping ’bout in the dark’… lmao.

38. “So who is in charge to shout for SOS? Or has everybody jumped ship and started swimming to shore for a rescue landing at Bats Rock?”

MillerA……..de captain frighten and ent gotta clue, some of de crew dun jump ship and de first officer trying to push de captain overboard to tek charge. Dem ent gine mek it back to land because dem lost de compass and doan know how to let the North star lead dem. Dem gine down like de 16 men and long John Silver wid a bottle of rum. Ho Ho Ho

39. Dem bones gine wash up at Bats Rock and de moral of dis story is doan go to sea eff yuh fraid de water.

40. PM, better a little medicine now than a coffin later Avatar
    PM, better a little medicine now than a coffin later

PM, let us do this – decide what we need to do to correct the GOB finances and do it.

41. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

So far I haven’t seen anyone comment about the large scale haemorrhage of NIS funds through embezzlement. Despite all of this the Director got promoted to be CEO of the Financial Services Commission.

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“PM, better a little medicine now than a coffin later | November 21, 2011 at 8:04 PM |”
    “PM, let us do this – decide what we need to do to correct the GOB finances and do it.”

First step to road of recovery is to stop the lying!
    Like an alcoholic who needs help the GoB must admit there is a major problem and come clean with the people whom you proudly boast of as your products of free education up to tertiary level and you would rather suck salt than make the capstone of your social project earn its way!
    This act of admission and contrition would endear you to the people who would be prepared to make great sacrifices to save the ship of state and their hard earned fiscal and monetary independence. (Friend of all, satellite of none! What’s your mirror image?)
    This is the second bulletin warning of an oncoming tsunami!

43. In dat, I wid ya.

44. Let Me Tell You How Sick These Women Are Avatar
    Let Me Tell You How Sick These Women Are

Let me tell you, in harmony with Dr. Roosevelt. O. King, who has something to do with Bango, HOW SICK THESE WOMEN ARE.

45. Deeply, Deeply Creepy Little Man Who Keeps Pretending to be Chinese and Who is OIviously Frightened of Women Avatar
    Deeply, Deeply Creepy Little Man Who Keeps Pretending to be Chinese and Who is OIviously Frightened of Women

De intelligent agent say: first bush and den D. teas. Heah? Peninsularwoman247, heah!!!! Honey chile!!!!

46. PM, better a little medicine now than a coffin later | Avatar
    PM, better a little medicine now than a coffin later |

Dear PM, we also need some long-term strategic goals to aspire to. Let us move to reduce the GOB. Privatize all state-owned enterprises that may be privatized. Simplify the tax code by eliminating income tax and having VAT and/or revenue taxes only – no room for manipulation of income to avoid or evade tax. Adopt a no-nonsense attitude towards fraud and similar practices. For example, implement technology to transfer VAT electronically as it is collected. Use technology to force residents to comply – electronic ID cards, which may be coded as NIS, debit, credit… cards all in one. No more physical cash. You may call it InterLink – I call it BarLink. Watch the world look on in awe.

47. @Caswell

Why are you surprise?

There is a resignation about many things in Barbados.

48. “So far I haven’t seen anyone comment about the large scale haemorrhage of NIS funds through embezzlement.’

Fill us in on this please ……We know that where there is money there will be thieves. Lawd dem tiefing from Central Bank, Inland Revenue, De Registry, De Customs, De Police, and De NIS Wha leff fuh dem tah tief from? Shoite eff ah stan tah long pon de computer dem gine tief from muh. Lemm go and check round muh house wid de dawgs. Good nite all.

Waaaait …..BONNY PEPPA….girl chile ah miss yuh baddddd. Hope yuh gud.

49. the loan they getting for cbc has interest tiered directly to the rating agency grade for the country.

50. If the Four Seasons in Bahamas is not acceptable perhaps the one o St. Kitts can be used as a better example. Follow the link:

http://www.nia.gov.kn/index.php/Download-document/99-Overview-Laurie-Lawrence.html

Leave a Reply to Life in a Bannana Republic without BannanasCancel reply