Tony Marshall, Chairman of the NIS Board was summoned by the Prime Minister last week to Government headquarters

The taxpayers of Barbados have risen from their slumber this morning to the report that the NIS Board – headed by retired banker and talk show host Tony Marshall –  has been ‘briefed’ on the Four Seasons project by the Cabinet of Barbados and ‘ordered’ to relook its imminent investment decision. The Four Seasons project stalled when capital markets went soft as a result of the global financial crisis. The decision to work with Professor Avinash Persaud to revitalize the project was steeped with optimism given his reputed international connections. However after many promises that the project would have restarted the government is now seen as the creditor as last resort.

It is evident from commentary on BU and on the ground that Barbadians are very weary of using social security funds to bail the Four Seasons project. The 101 reasoning by many is if the project is as viable as Minister Chris Sinckler and the IDB believe then why is it so difficult to acquire private sector investment?  It was not very long ago in response to an actuarial study the NIS adjusted its pension eligibility as a result of the state of the NIS scheme vis a vis our ageing population. Barbadians have become very sensitive of late about how decisions are being taken about at the NIS. By the way has the CBC repaid that one million dollar loan yet? Did any heads roll as a result of the cockup with mailing old age pension cheques?

Related Links:

The composition of the NIS Board is meant to convey that it should be independent in its decision making. The reality however is that the board is appointed by the minister responsible, in this case Minister Ether Byer-Suckoo, who has been unacceptably silent on NIS matters when contrasted with Ministers Sinckler and Kellman. When all is said and done Minister Sinckler has veto powers over the Board decision in this instance. The decision to summons the NIS Board to Bay Street last week to pressure them to rule favourably on a request from Persaud for 50 million NIS investment must be seen as a ploy to avoid Sinckler having to overrule the Board. It would be seen as a very unpopular decision at this time, a fact not lost on politicians who occupy marginal seats in parliament with a general election looming.

More worrying to Barbadians is the fact that our most important fund has lacked transparency over the years by not producing timely audited financial statements. This is an inefficiency which has existed under both governments and is generally accepted as endemic to the public service. Hopefully the CLICO Affair which is still spouting its mess across the Caribbean will sensitize all concerned to the importance of transparency in how we do business and the need for a robust governance system. The failed implementation of the FOIA by government and the lack of advocacy by the Opposition Party should say to Barbadians that the political directorship is happy with the status quo. Such a position reflects on us the people of Barbados who the government and the leader of the Opposition are required to serve.

The decision to summons the NIS Board to Bay Street must be seen as an intimidatory act. There is a process established for the NIS Board to make decisions. If there was a need for the Marshall led board to clarify issues contained in the proposal from Persaud then he should have been summons to the NIS board room. The act by government has set a dangerous precedent and the eagerness with which the NIS board reported to Bay Street should concern Barbadians taxpayers. The only action which should have been taken by them would have been to make their letters of resignation available to Minister Esther Byer-Suckoo. Then again why should we expect such in a system where to be a member of the NIS Board adds to the status of the individuals in a society which places a lot of credence on such things.

The NIS Fund should not be used as a bailout fund by the ‘naughty’ professor to quote the Chairman of the NIS. The reason why the high paying consultant was contracted in the first place was for him to exhaust his expertise and international network to resuscitate the Four Seasons project. To date he has failed to so and therefore his non performance should come under the microscope. The explanation by Minister Kellman that a restarted Four Seasons will employ people and their NIS contributions  justifies the restart rises to the peak of stupidity. .

1. @Pat

The answer is simple, the Four Seasons job is considered a shovel ready project which can be mobilized quickly to create much needed economic activirty in the country. That is the business logic behind government’s decision when the rhetoric is stripped away.

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Fractured BLP | November 20, 2011 at 5:50 PM |
    “The NIS fund has in over 3 billion dollars in reserve, it also has an investment portfolio. So if government determine to invest 50 million in a local project that is deemed viable for the economy down the road, what is wrong with that ”

Wait, what are we hearing? Has the NIS recently published current financial statements in order for you to arrive at this position?
    Please let us know where we can find this info! After all we are all stakeholders in the NIS! FoI or no Integrity legislation we still want to know what’s going on with our money. Perhaps this means nothing to you; and signs of growing arrogance and big-headedness it took the BLP 9-10 yrs to manifest!

3. I repeat that there is over 3 billion in resrves in the NIS fund…to prudently invest 50 million in a shovel ready project to jumpstart the Barbdos economy during 2012…what is wrong with that ?

Or is it because being in an election year SOME BEES wish to say nothing ain’t happening in Barbados ?

Well I have news for the BEES this project will be funded by the NIS and just in case ENUFF forgot….Mia Amor Mottley as the Attorney for the Four Seasons project wants it restarted also…..NOTHING LESS SHE SAYS !

Please REMEMBER that Mia Mottley is the Queen BEE and she has already given Chris Sinckler her blessings for this project.

TEk dat !!

4. It is instructive that a government operative, we assume, would make so bold a statement that the project will go ahead before the Board has given the green light.

5. If the NIS invests $50 million in this project what are the risks and what is the roi..

Nuh lotta long talk. Somebody please explain.

6. ”the recession must end at some point in time”
    —–

Unfortunately aside from the issues of what a pension fund should and should not invest in and the proper decision procedures, if the overall philosophy of current financial decisions are based on the asumption above, then some people have a major shock coming.

The current scenario is not just a ‘recession’ in the book sense i.e. a downturn initially recorded by two consequtive quarters of reduced edonomic activity, but the current and medium term scenario is actually a MAJOR financial correction and restructuring of major econoimies in North America and Europe, with international balance implications.

So, it will be YEARS before we see any real shift in demand internationally , consumption will be lower for a while and one should not expect any huge change in money flows for a good while.

Therefore, basing decisions on expected future ‘improvements’ is not only optimistic, but foolhardy and reckless.

It is hard news yes, but this is the reality.

7. I suspect the rationale for political arm-bending is tied mostly to economic and political will, rather than securing the NIS funds for the future.

Unfortunately the Government is faced with a scenario where the unemployment rate could really spiral next year, into the 20’s and 30’s percentages.

Therefore, they are probably trying to stem the tide as early as possible, plus remember an election is on the cards, need to get money into the system and flowing.

That is clearly the rationale, fair enough. Those of us who believe that it is not proper for the NIS funds to be so invested, are not the ones in the face of riots next year if the employment rate hits 30%+.

Who’s right / wrong?

8. PRETTY BLUE EYES Avatar

@Fractured BLP – you only sound like an idiot. Tell me wha part f the NIS have the 3 billion dollars, every one who want it restarted obviously have something at stake, the others who do not want to touch the NIS money have their pensions at stake. The DLP government knew that was a failed project from the beginning if the mega rich investors pulled their money yet they went ahead and made commitments to it. So let it restart that is jobs for how many bajans for how long..When that project was going they were far more Chinese than bajans, look around we bajans are being fooled. Years from now we will have no land to pass onto our children. Why can’t a few dollars be loan to the NHC to build houses for the poor as the DLP had promised for the Coverley fiasco. But doan care what we say even if the NIS Board votes against it, MIns. Sinclker can usurp his authority as Minister of Finance and instruct them to do otherwise

9. Bear in mind the Greeks are refusing to accept the bitter pill of reduced standard of living, from their Government, in the face of a collapsed economy (virtually).

Now, they are going to be faced with a forced reduced standard of living, if removed from the EU, or if the EU breaks apart.

This is far more serious than some have been making out and remember that the US economy is also in the dumps.

10. David | November 20, 2011 at 7:23 PM |

It is instructive that a government operative, we assume, would make so bold a statement that the project will go ahead before the Board has given the green light
    ———————————————————————————-
    To act this way is the hallmark of decisive leadership. This caring DLP government cannot dither with the future of unborn Barbadians just to placate the wishes of some over zealous BLPites in this country.

Mia Mottley said it aptly earlier this evening when we met……this country needs a BI PARTISAN approach to most seemingly difficult issues/decisions facing it.

Unfortunately, Owen Arthur quite recently declared…he do not give a DAMN about Bi Partisanship !

11. @Fractured BLP the queen B Mia is not alone King B Owing Arthur give thumbs up to NIS funds to 4Seasons the BLP start the project BU refuse to treat to Arthur and his arch rival Mia both endorsing 4 Seasons restart with NIS investment.

12. PRETTY BLUE EYES | November 20, 2011 at 7:39 PM |

@Fractured BLP – you only sound like an idiot. Tell me wha part f the NIS have the 3 billion dollars,
    ——————————————————————————
    I challenge you to prove that there is NOT 3 billion dollars in reserves in the NIS fund .

13. Dear Minister of Finance, if you need money, here is a plan Avatar
    Dear Minister of Finance, if you need money, here is a plan

Dear Minister of Finance, if you need money, here is a plan:
    http://money.cnn.com/2011/11/16/news/economy/tax_millionaires/index.htm?iid=HP_River

14. these local deep pockets not stupid . unlike the government past and present they not going to throw good money after bad and when it comes to signing contractual agreements they and they high power lawyers go over the contracts with a fine tooth comb , unlike our government who is looking for good friendship and small talk in the deals, some body must pay the piper for this four seasons debacle because for sure four seasons not going away anytime soon without giving a fight. they have invested money and was given a financial guarantee from the government which the government must now deliver. Fasten your seat belts it is going to be a bumpy ride.

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

Speak for yourself.

I give them permission to touch my “Blasted NIS Money”.

16. The up side to restarting this project is jobs both directly and indirectly.

The down side is that Government does not make all information about investments available to the public.

We still have not seen hard evidence that implicates politicians in criminal wrong doings on major projects like Dodds,Gems or Hardwood Housing.

There is no evidence that politicians “criminally”profited from any project in Barbados in the last 18 years.

In these difficult times people need jobs so maybe the risk is acceptable.

17. That’s the main point Hants.

The 4 Seasons project is a shovel ready project and government has a vested interest in ensuring there is a favourable environment for persons to find employment.

The NIS has the funds to support this project and they will be used for the good of all Barbadians as prudent as ever.

18. Hants and DLP supporters…….If it is jobs wunna guvverment want tah create den build a horsepital dat will benefit wee. How de fcuk can 4 Season benefit wee. Wunna really want tah see a white elephant in Black Rock.

19. THe NIS have to save face in the public Forum but inthe end they will have to delivered in order to prevent this government from looking incompetent . BTW this is one of the projects left behind by the BLP that the DLP has to resolved. Fuh sure if the BLP was in power they would not have cared about what the people think this matter would have been closed using the said funds and only after would the public would have been aware

20. @islandgal

The government will say to you the project will have the capacity to create forex.

21. St George's Dragon Avatar

I think it is worth going back and looking at the history behind Four Seasons.
    Some people posting here seem to assume that Four Seasons, the hotel chain, is the developer. That is not the case. Four Seasons is a hotel operator. They work with developers who pay for and build hotels, which they then come in and run. Basically they “rent” them, usually on the basis of shared income.
    The development was started by Mike Pemberton (Paradise Beach being the company name) who thought he could build it on a wing and a prayer by financing it through the deposits the villa purchasers paid. He aimed to use their money to build out the complete development.
    Where Paradise Beach went wrong was that when they ran out of purchasers’ money and had to go to banks to borrow the financial meltdown happened and the banks refused to lend any more.
    The situation now is that the Government has guaranteed repayments on loans from Ansa McAl, but that money was spent on paying off suppliers and contractors, as well as buying land needed for the development (sorry, but would you start a development when you did not own the land?).
    So Paradise Beach has no funds. The IDB loan is not yet committed; the local lenders have all said “no thanks”; the villa purchasers have also said they will not put in any more money partly because they were promised they would have a hotel as part of the development – part of the reason they bought in the first place – facilities, catering etc.
    The hotel is going to cost US$110 million to build and they do not have enough money even to pay for the Architects to complete the design at the moment. They cannot get more money from the villa owners until some assurance is available about financing the hotel and timescale for completion.
    If I was a villa owner paying $20 million for my house, I would not want a hotel being built next door to me over a 2 year period with all the noise and disruption that means. So Paradise has to get the hotel built before the villa owners will pay/occupy.
    Tricky, and I can see why the NIS does not want to invest.

22. PRETTY BLUE EYES Avatar

In answer to you statement, we saw when it came to the “Hardwood” affair
    the Government got rid of Abed, without stating why,. They knew from the beginning that Mascoll had little to do with it if anything at all but the big maguffy was riding on the tails of the DLP

23. @ David

That may be, but it is not a wise investment. Thank the stars and Sun it is your money and not mine. Rest assured that $50 million is only the beginning. There will be more payouts. How long can a project like that survive on $50 million? With no capital now to even complete a few villas? Three months at most. I will bet you dollars to doughnust that you Bajans will end up paying in the hundreds of millions into that project. Larger economies are in worse shit.

The Canadian government talking of downsizing the civil service. We already had two downsizings during my time and two wage freezes – one for 5 years, the other for 6. This impacted me so severely that I had to work and extra 3 years and then my pension was still $20k below what I had calculated it to be without the freezes.

Now my union the Professional Institute of the Public Service (PIPS) just voted to join the Canadian Labour Congress. They fear what Harper plans to do and want the numbers behind them. PIPS is the elite of the service and has always frowned on radicalism and strikes, or even supporting a political party. Joinging CAL says a lot – imagine these professionals hobnobbing with the blue collar “rabble rousers”. Never thought I’d see the day. But it speaks to the times. Why should Barbados be any different?

Leave peoples pensions alone. Many of the beneficiaries have no assets other than this pension.

@ Pretty Blue Eyes

Thanks for that confirmation that there were more Chinese than Bajans on that project. Pat.

24. island gal you want introducing to blue soap for your stink mouth its my money in nis too the Four Seasons sounds a risk but with projected roi its a risk i am preparded to take with my nis contributions.
    Why? Jobs for us Bajans, getting the economy moving and growing, putting money from workers back into said nis. Bringing fresh product offer to the tourist industry.
    Last by no means least Four Seasons brand name attracting rich visitors and assisting gob in marketing the island in a way peach and quiet never can.

25. What we have here, an NIS investment committee which is lukewarm on the investment and a Cabinet of Barbados driven by political considerations to do the project. Bear in mind as Dragon wrote the IDB loan will not be approved for another year perhaps. The project will also need more money, the professor is on record as saying so.

26. @ Accuntant……..it is proffesionals tiefs like you would find 4 Seasons attractive. It is a black hole and there will be no end. After the building done who de france gine garantee dat Tourises gine cum when de world plunging into a deeper recession.

27. BTW Accuntant …..you need introducing to depends because bare shoite cumming outta yuh.

28. Quoting Fractured BLP “When Owen Arthur was pillaging the NIS funds on all sorts of dubious projects (including GEMS ) where was your voice ?…The NIS fund has in over 3 billion dollars in reserve ”

So you think that 3 billions in reserve is a lot of money? If the NIS is so rich why did the BLP raise the age at which one can receive a full NIS pension from 65 to 67?

If the NIS is so rich, then let the government (I don’t care which party) restore the retirement age to 65. After all it is we money, so why shouldn’t we get our full pensions at 65? Imagine how many votes the DLP would get if tomorrow the retirement age was restored to 65. But it won’t happen and we know why. In spite of its reserves the NIS is still under pressure, and the issue is demographic (not economic) and we don’t want a Greek tragedy. Unless of course the government plans to execute us as soonas we turn 65; or unless the government has found a way to compel women to have more babies.

But you know and I know that the government raised the etirement age to 67 because the NIS is under great pressure from pensioners who are living longer, and from young people who are having very few babies.

29. If the government keeps dipping into the NIS, the pension age will need to be raised again, perhaps to 70.

Tell me which of you want to be compelled to get up and go to work every morning when you are 70?

Or I suppose we can let the NIS fail. We can say to old age pensioners, sorry we have no money for you.

Why don’t you go and die?

30. http://www.thestar.com/business/article/1087073–is-our-ei-system-broken-only-46-per-cent-received-unemployment-benefits-last-year-report-finds
    The task force, co-chaired by former Saskatchewan premier Roy Romanow, found only 46 per cent of the country’s unemployed received EI benefits last year, compared with 86 per cent in 1981. Toronto Star, November 15, 2011

Can this happen here? If you are unemployed and you hava aless than 50% chance of receiving unemployment benefits, then what do you do?

31. If the NIS has so much reserves why are contributions are going to be increased from January again?????

32. Bajan businessmen got nuff sense. Gine be mekkin nuff money in China just now.

“Barbadian businessman Sir Kyffin Simpson is now the major supplier of BMWs in china,after taking over a company that was managed by City Bank.

33. So the NIS is rolling in dough, but retirement age has gone up to 67 years and premiums will be increased in January. This is a DOUBLE whammy, two increases to the detriment of contributors. What $3 billion what?!?

So, they hope to get foreign exchange from non existent tourists. Please people, the days of “build it and they will come” are over. What Four Seasons brand name. The hotel here was closed or taken over by another chain. There are now only one in Toronto and one in Vancoouver with a lodge at Whistler, which does most of its business during ski season. Mind you, I have stayed at the one in Vancouver – sheer luxury with excellent service. But that was in 1979. The disco bar Annabelles was hopping every night. The Four Seasons has nothing on the Ritz or the Hiltons that I have stayed at.

During tough times peole hold on to their money and have ‘staycations.’ The people with money buy their own villas and rent them out when not in occupancy. This money goes abroad. Only the servants wages and grocery money stay on the island. Besides, Barbados is an expensive destination. Tourists are dropping less and less $$$.

34. So Four Seasons need $ 270 millin to complete the project. The goodly professor approaches the NIS for $ 50 million of our pension money, ( I thought he was employed because of his expertise and international connections to raise funding for this project,by the way how much he raise internationally so far) then the Government trying to secure a loan from the IDB for how much again? Am I to assume that the IDB is going to lend the other $220 million? If not where will the balance come from? Are they any guarantees that the IDB will approve the money? Or this $ 50 million going to be spent like the first loan (which we have to pay back) to pay outstanding debts will $40,000 /monthly fees for persons doing nothing when the day come. In the hotel sector when it is slow season staff are laid off why are these persons still drwing salaries and the project is not generating one red cent? If we think that this money is going to restart the project we better think again .

35. The retirement age has gone up to 67 that is for us the common man and the politicians can draw a pension at 50 or 55 now tell me how fair is that? We are being screwed from both ends and wunna ent saying nutting bout de politicians drawing pensions before de common man. Something real wrong with this picture. How much more can Bajans take lying down?

36. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

After the NIS’ position is made today, and if the decision is followed by Marshall’s resignation, crapaud smoke your pipe.

37. Construction magnate Avatar
    Construction magnate

Avinesh Persaud like he is a jokey fraud.

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ George C. Brathwaite | November 21, 2011 at 6:29 AM |

I like you would wish to see what kind of man the marsha(l)l is!
    We will measure the man by his actions; not words on radio talk shows!

39. The politicians had no problem with raising the retirement age to 67, because they know that this will not affect them. They will have no difficulty with raising it to 70 because it will not affect them either (and in any event so many of our politicians are hard living, hard drinking smokers who never exercise that few of them live to 70 anyhow.)

Remember that once the age was raised from 65 to 67, all those who died between 65 and 67 got a $1,200 funeral grant instead of a pension of maybe $1.000 to $2,000 per month for 24 months. So for every person who dies before 67 and therefore does not receive a pension NIS saves about $24,000 – to $50,000.

Why are we surprised then then that the government, the Four Seasons people and Dr. Persaud are viewing the NIS as a pot ‘o gold. This is dead people’s money that they are hoping to spend. Dead people who worked for 40 or more years and at the end their families got $1,200 to bury them. And why by the way is NIS paying only $1,200 for a funeral grant when everybody knows that a decent funeral costs between $8,000 and $12,000

40. Has Dr. Persaud ever worked in Barbados. Has he ever made any NIS contributions? And is so how much and for how many years?

I know that he got an excellent educationpaid for by the tax dollars of hard working Bajans, but how much has he given back. And now he comes asking for $50 to $80 million of our pensions toput in that big hole in Black Rock? Even while we have to scrunt to bury our elderly parents because the most that NIS can “afford” for a funeral grant is $1,200.

THE NIS money belong to those of us who have worked long and hard and have been putting in a little bit at a time since 1967; and now the big fat cats want to write checks $50 to $80 million checks to those who are just passing through?

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Random Thoughts | November 21, 2011 at 8:55 AM |
    “Has Dr. Persaud ever worked in Barbados. Has he ever made any NIS contributions? And is so how much and for how many years?”

It’s admirable to see some bloggers are able to dig a bit deeper below the surface.
    Dr. P has earned a very nice living from providing consultancy services to and paid “speechifying” sessions to local entities.
    The question to be posed is this: Is he resident for tax purposes? If so, does he file any tax returns with the necessary declaration of the various amounts and sources of income as required by the Income Tax Act. If so is the relevant tax paid in whether by way of the PAYE or Withholding Tax method. He must be earning a living whether from his own company or as a self-employed consultant.
    A person who does not adhere to the basic laws ordinary people are subject to should be viewed with great scepticism especially when poor people pensions are involved (the CLICO! CLICO! Bell should start ringing loud and clear).

42. Just side note

He is not Dr. Persaud. He is Professor Persaud. He has not earned or been conferred a phd,dll , dphil etc. as yet.

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ anthony:

In the world of business and chicanery the title “doctor” has more appeal.
    If he is a professor then it is then OK for us to bestow the designation “Professor Anthony” because you make more sense that many parading under a similar academic umbrella. (LOL!)

44. lol @ millertheanunnaki. I ain’t no professor just got more common sense than sum

45. Give four seasons a chance and stop. Using it as political football. What we should be insisting on is that the NIS investment is tied to the restart of construction in the project. The hotel will take four years to construct. If the signs of the recession has not cleared by then we woulf have bigger things to concern ourselves with. Right now we are swabbling over a 50 m investment which accounts for less than 2% of the investment portfolio of the NIS.

I noticed someone mentioned four seasons Bahamas closing this was a unque case and is no way similar to Barbados. The resort was located on a remote Island which was more suited for small boutique hotels. The property was reopened under the sandals brand.

46. what was unique? it the same brand. same people with money you trying to attract ( people love to pay for remoteness). the hotel couldn’t make enough money to stay open and default on it loan the creditors closed it. It entirely possible for that same thing to happen here. who then be left to hold the bill the nis ? with earning back pennies on the dollar ?

47. PM, call elections NOW Avatar
    PM, call elections NOW

Optimum | November 21, 2011 at 6:33 PM | … for less than 2% of the investment portfolio of the NIS

2% here, 2% there, 2%.. it seems to be adding up.

48. PM, call elections NOW Avatar
    PM, call elections NOW

How about the NIS buying the building in Warrens and the money being used to pay Barrack

49. PM, call elections NOW Avatar
    PM, call elections NOW

Should every Barbadian be willing to play a part to save Barbados – a one time tax, based upon wealth, be it 0.1%, 1.0%, 2.0%

Leave a Reply to PatCancel reply