Submitted by Austin

There is a lot of activity recently between Barbados and China being reported as a positive national development.  However the Bajan politicians brokering our relationship with China need to be “cautious” and look beyond the “clear” benefit of opening new markets to Bajan businesses to things “not so clear”.

There is a Barbados National Security component to the relationship being established China which needs to be carefully evaluated by folks that understand “China”.  China in recent years has focused diplomatic efforts on many African nations (having embassies in almost all) and now is focused on the Caribbean.

We need to ensure that at the “end of the day” whatever China is getting out of the Barbados-China relationship does not “adversely impact” the average bajan man or woman, noting China ability to product low cost goods which would drive cost down and make it hard for bajan small businesses, at a time we trying to promote small business development.  There is a real risk of killing key components of the Barbados small business community if this relationship is not carefully analysis from both near term and long range perspectives, the phase “ good from FAR but FAR from good” comes to mind”.

So beyond the daily photo opportunities we see in the papers between Bajan and Chinese government official, “a real caution exists”.  The current government has not demonstrated an effective ability in crafting international trade relationships, an example of this is our current high prices at the pump.  The government need not to pretend that they know what they are doing when dealing with an economic great like China, and seek the appropriate academic and consulting guidance needed to ensure that our  Barbados National Security interest are protected during all the sweet talk.

1. Portfolio: Eurozone Debt Crisis Reveals China’s Economic Weakness
    As China’s largest export market, Europe has a major impact on the Chinese economy. The ongoing crisis has brought home to China the impending need to restructure its entire economy.This weekly Portfolio video series is part of our members-only content. We hope you enjoy this exclusive chance to access this video free.

Portfolio: Eurozone Debt Crisis Reveals China’s Economic Weakness

Vice President of Strategic Analysis Rodger Baker explains how Europe’s debt crisis exposed the vulnerabilities inherent in the Chinese economic model. Click here to view.

2. “seek the appropriate academic and consulting guidance needed”.

Is this a pitch to get “consulting”work for Bajans in the Diaspora?

3. Nutting is free so when yuh go hat in hand a begging there will be serious repercussions down the road.

4. CHARLES S. CADOGAN SR Avatar
    CHARLES S. CADOGAN SR

I for one think that the powers to be who makes the choices that they say are for the good of all Barbadians. Are making a big mistake by allowing China to take such a big foot hold on Barbados. To add insult to injury, I have read quite a few times where the Prime Minister suggested that Bajans should take up Chinese as a second language..
    For wanting Bajans to do this means one things for sure, that China will become a MAJOR PLAYER all around in Barbados;
    China doesn’t make investments without reaping big gains in return. This quick fix policy that the people in power is taking as long as they feel that money can be made,is going to come back and bite Bajans in the ass for sure in the long run. You need to look out for the long haul what difference it will make going to bed with China;
    China is loaning just about any and everyone money. Because I will put them in KEY POSITIONS over in the world trade and development..
    This is not a very smart move that you are taking which will for sure cause some hardship for sure at the end of it all;
    Remember the old saying: – “Money can be the root of all evil;” So PLEASE don’t sell off Barbados to the Chinese, using the term INVESTMENTS;

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

islandgal246 | November 11, 2011 at 8:36 PM |
    Agree!
    But you can also borrow and don’ t pay back! That’s what America plans to do! They can’t pay back so the only wipe the slate clean is to start a war.

You should be aware of situations where you lend people money and they promise to repay. But when the day comes for repayment you get all kinds of excuses. Some go like this:
    I will pay you next month when I get my pay check (which never come, of course)!
    Things tight, my mother needs an operation and she can only get it by going t o a private doctor! Wait a bit longer! (until the “Twelth of Never”).
    I don’t know what you are talking about! I don’t recall you lending me money!
    Put me in Court! “You ain’t got no proof that you lend me money”!

6. And China is putting her hand in strategic countries around the globe and is equipping her army, the largest in the world. They say it is the next super power. China is building allies right now it is Iran and Russia. The debt in Europe plus America’s debt will alter China’s method of doing business. As they say cheep ting no gud, gud tin no cheep

7. @islandgal246

Your thinking highlights my concern on this issue….

As a point of clarification, exactly where does your comment about repercussions fit in this discuss …

8. There are a bunch of navel gazers who think the world revolves around Barbados so I will let the air out of their collective tires tout de suite.

China may want something from Barbados but it is not what you think, we don’t have the land mass to support the citizens that they export, nor do we have the rare earth metals or copper or other resources that they mine in Africa. We aren’t in the market for their arms, as a matter of fact there is not one thing we have that the Chinese want, the few Chinese manufactures that export their trinkets to Barbados wouldn’t miss it if the sea swallowed us up.

What we do have is a vote at some International bodies which could come in useful in support of their aims. A Barbados vote is worth the same at some International Agencies
    as e.g. Brazil (think of the disparity in land area and population).

Last year The International Whaling Commission wanted to continue the moratorium on Whaling but the Japanese were very much opposed as they wanted to continue the “harvesting” of whales for “scientific” reasons. The Japanese courted some of the developing nations in the Pacific, Africa and the Caribbean into support them by providing “grants” and “loans”. When the issue was put to the vote guess which side won?

The result? Japanese fishing boats are still collecting whales for “scientific” reasons but most of the catch ends up on dinner plates or restaurant menus in Japan.

So the author is barking up the wrong tree when he asserts that Barbados should be wary of the Chinese for Economic or Security reasons.

9. Well said Charles ..

10. @sargeant

Are you serious .. So I guess when bajan small business are fighting for survival more then we already are against low cost chinese goods which are sure to come, you may get it then..

Because we in the caribbean don’t view ourselves or behave like a single market ecomony, does not mean others don’t see us as such ..

Wake up..

11. An article excerpt from the Hindustan Times …

“Security concerns over investments by Chinese companies continue to be top on the government agenda. The latest company to come under the home ministry scanner is Mass Financial Corporation, a firm based in Hong Kong and incorporated in Barbados.

The firm recently purchased an 18 %  stake in Canadian company Canoro Resources Ltd, which has operations in an oilfield — Amguri in Assam. Suspecting it to be a case of indirect investment by a Chinese company in an oil-and -gas field in the security-sensitive Assam, the home ministry has ordered an investigation.”

… from the Hindustan Times article China link in oil raises brows

12. Whether we like it or not China is now the economic power of this time.

13. Excellent point Sarge ….after receiving all that Chinese AID the repercussion will unfold at the UN and other bodies we belong to.

Austin…repercussion…….is an often indirect effect of an event or action or a reciprocal motion after impact.

14. There is merit to Sargeant’s point if we consider China’s poor human rights record and the willingness of the world to trade. In the circumstances a foreign policy which endears China to needy countries must be seen as strategic.

15. Ref CommentDAVID NOV12.2011.644

There is merit to sargeants point if we consider CHina”s poor human right’s record.

However that has not stop major world countries from doing business with China and the question still remains is “What’s are the benefits for Barbados doing business with China . The only one i can think of is that Barbados might be finding it easier to export and promotes its local products via Chinese markets therfore opening a door for our products eventually getting into more international markets.

16. @ac

This is not rocket science, Barbados’ foreign policy is geopolitics 101. In the same way the USA has conferred favoured trading status to China Barbados sees China as the economic supper power which can become more of an economic partner be it trade, aid, grants, exchange of expertize etc.Just like the great USA which is borrowing heavily from China at the moment.

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Sargeant | November 11, 2011 at 10:01 PM |

You have my vote on this one!
    A well-focused and realistic analysis of the Chinese-Bajan connection!

18. Do u really believe, china or america gave you anything free. It is up to the negotiators to extract the best terms. China wants us not to recognize Taiwan so in return we should negotiate hard. America is watching the ermergence of China as an economic giant and eventually a military one. American needs us to thwart Chinn’s ambitions in the UN and other body, so what do we do extract the best terms and conditions when we have to support America. Plain and simple.

All countries are about their interest, America encouraged and supported the revolutions in North Africa and the middle east hoping to extend its spheres of influence to their oil industry. She tried with iran first but was beaten back, she had no chance in china when she was supporting the the revolt there. she is cautious with syria as there are consequences for Isrelal. Its all about national interest and we have to learn to protect ours as well.

19. IF you were uneducated would you be able to write and spell as you do ??
    WHY dont you stop trying to fool people ?
    IS Millertheannuaki Peter Miller ???

JUST ASKING

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

JUST ASKING | November 12, 2011 at 9:29 AM |
    “IS Millertheannuaki Peter Miller ???”
    I have already denied the man!
    But I must confess that I was secretly in love with his sexy ex-wife!
    Go figure that one, just joking!

21. Anyone thinking that the intent behinf International politics is altruistic is living in a dream. See this for example, from Reuters

>>”Amir said he hoped a deal would be signed next year on the second batch of 36 F-16 warplanes Iraq plans to acquire.

“Eighteen planes have been bought, the contract has been signed, and the other 18 planes hopefully next year,” he said.

Iraq made the first payment in the deal to buy the first set of warplanes worth a total of about $3 billion in September.”>>

Now, firstly, why would nation in the midst of being ‘rebuilt’ need warplanes? Surely education, health and social development are more important?

Secondly, why need them in the first place, who is now going to attack Iraq, now that Nato has done, so..who else? The Klingons?????

Thirdly, pity they need mew planes, the previous ones were destroyed by Nato, same countries they are now spending over 3 billion to purchase new ones from.

Ahh, maybe this explains why Nato does not move on Syria (after its butchering of 3,500 citizens in demonstrations. i.e. Syria does not have momey to buy new USD 25Million per unit fighters, so Nato is worried that if they do, it will not be able to protect itself after. Good thinking Nato.

International diplomacy? Really?

As they say, someone out there has a bridge to sell, if you have the money.

22. from Sargeant ”What we do have is a vote at some International bodies which could come in useful in support of their aims. A Barbados vote is worth the same at some International Agencies
    as e.g. Brazil (think of the disparity in land area and population).”

————

But of course, so USING this, Barbados should look at any foreign Government with the query…’what have YOU done for me lately???’

Who pays the piper calls the tune!

23. Already Chinese are causing more than a rimple here in Barbados, there construction companies are quoting prices sometimes 40% below the lowest local company. What makes it worse, they don’t employ locals but bring in their own workers and pay wages way below those paid in Barbados. Also as I drive aroun, I’m seeing more and more Chinese businesses springing up all over the country, especially restaurants. We all know the rate at which Chinese breed, it’s just a matter of time Barbados is swamped with a lot of chinks; it is then they will start calling shots.

24. @Scout ”just a matter of time Barbados is swamped with a lot of chinks; it is then they will start calling shots.”

————–

Scout Sir, I have never had occasion to be afronted by anything you say and indeed, of all the people here, your ‘best intent’ for Barbados shines through, even if I may disagree with content oftentimes.

However, on this occasion I am alarmed by such a racially derogatory statement being made and coming from someone who should know better too.

Surely the early West Indian immigrants into UK, Canada and USA would have wanted the residents of those countries to accept them with good intent, without subjecting them to racial bias?

Is that not what you are doing, to Chinese immigrants?

Should we be doing this?

One must not become subject to that age old and much cruelly used, including in Nazi times, of the divide and rule method, including ‘he taking your job’.

Good intent.

25. The Scout wrote “We all know the rate at which Chinese breed.”

Yes we do. 1 child per family in China. In Canada some have 2 or 3 but to suggest that they have large families is a falsification of veracity.

Anyway it is up to Bajans to eat in chinese resturants. Nobody is forcing you to eat chinese cuisene.

26. Crusoe ….didn’t you realise that Scout is racist to the bone? He has displayed his racism openly here on BU on many occasions. So what he is saying come as no surprise only that it has taken him some time to post here.

27. Hants …Scout is an ignorant racist old man who believes that he is a good Christian and will go to heaven when he dies. He has never eaten Chinese food, visited China town in the USA or Canada and can only talk off the top of his head. In fact he has never had a Chinese friend or shared a meal with them. So he doesn’t know any and yet he is an authority on them. So typical.

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@The Scout | November 12, 2011 at 2:25 PM |
    “What makes it worse, they don’t employ locals but bring in their own workers and pay wages way below those paid in Barbados. Also as I drive aroun, I’m seeing more and more Chinese businesses springing up all over the country, especially restaurants. ”

Come on Old Scout, you can do much better than that!
    Are these Chinese given work permits and approval to set up businesses by a black-run government? It is said that bribery is a powerful tool in the Chinese businessman negotiating bag. Use of it cuts out the long talk and time wastage. This style of business dealings has found great favour among the African officials and the Caribbean is no different.
    If there are illegal work and business practices being carried on by this group from the land of the dragon they should be dealt with immediately. The same way the bureaucrats can expel 20 exotic dancers and working girls from neighbouring lands why not pack the “illegal pak choi growing in human waste” sellers on a slow boat to China?

29. Miller
    Many countries around the world are running scared of the influx of Chinese into their country. Like we export sugar, China exports people, what they do is offer assistance to the country in exchange for their nationals to come into their country. right now Jamaica and T&T is being invaded by Chinese and the locals are complaining. Call me racist if you like but we must protect our workers. How many local workers are employed on Chinese construction sites? How many small to medium construction companies have had to close their doors because of these chinese companies who underprice the projects? In their favor what I can say is that they don’t have over-runs in cost or time, but that is because they workers are paid a minimum wage. I understand that it is listed that these workers are here on holiday and are just given a stipend, the money is then deposited in their account back in their country. If this system is allowed to continue, our locals will have to find something else to do. On a site in Jamaica, the local workers protested vigorously and they were forced to hire locals as well, here in Barbados we keep quiet.

30. Since China have so much money to throw around and citizens to migrate all over the world, especially in the developing countries, eventually, they will become the No1 Super Power in the world and we know Chinese culture.

Islandgal 246
    I’m still working on you, pity you are from my parish

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

The Scout | November 12, 2011 at 5:49 PM |
    Come off it Scout!
    What is the role of a government? Chinese just can’t “up so” and do as they like except with the connivance of corrupt politicians and bureaucrats?
    Take a step back and see where the invasion is being facilitated by home-grown “niggers in a woodpile”.

32. Scout go and wuk pon yuhself yuh ole obeah man ah doan need yuh to wuk pon muh at all.

33. And since when did you own a Parish Scout? I have never heard that you were the owner of St. Lucy. You really want something to own, go and buy a goat and a cow.

34. The only race that does not stick together is the black race. We are so cosumed with envy that we are not watching the invasion that is taking place. We will soon become the marginalized and other ethnic groups will be calling the shots.

35. uneducated | November 12, 2011 at 7:34 PM |
    … will soon…

36. @sCOUT”eventually, they will become the No1 Super Power in the world and we know Chinese culture.”

Ammm…. In case you did not note, the US is broke, Europe is broke, China is wealthy.

So, China IS the superpower, they just need the US and Europe to sell their goods to.

They need the consumers to sit in the living room clad in Chinese drywall, watching China made Television, eating China produced (US branded) potato chips, drinking Coke from a Chinese made pastic cup, wearing Chinese (yes, China makes most of the world jeans) made clothes and wearing Chinese made sneakers.

After that they can get medication made in India, to counter the symptoms of fatness resulting from sitting all day and watching Television eating garbage.

37. Oh Scout;

You be velly sad person… not of good breed at all. I think you not speak on this topic for rest of life … maybe you not speak on any topic that involve non-White non-Western people for rest of life … You not show brightness at all at all. Velly sad indeed. You call me chink no? BU David let comment stay … no? You say I fuzky fuzky too much … no? You not show brightness at all at all … At least my comrades not Christian or Muslim or Jew … we have not need for extreme approach in living

38. China is moving into the smaller markets as the bigger countries like USA and Britain is laden with debt and the unemployment is wrecking havoc on Chinese supply and demand. China is no Fool . China is looking out for China there is no rich dollar or poor dollar to China The bigger markets are slumping and China is having to find ways to sell their ballooning inventory, don;t be fooled that China is going to help any body but themselves. A country that doesn’t care about it;s people;s Human Rights should send up a “RED FLAG:I hope Barbados doesn’t borrow a dime from them butinstead ponce upon their knowledge and expertise in helping us to build expand our local industries

39. ac

I forgive you … you have much forgiveness for America and Britain, much forgiveness … but China not bomb people and infrastructure of other government … China not impose embargo on other country and starve population … But China only country that violate human right … I forgive you

40. @ CHARLES S. CADOGAN SR, Mr. AUSTIN & and other similar ilk

“To add insult to injury, I have read quite a few times where the Prime Minister suggested that Bajans should take up Chinese as a second language..
    For wanting Bajans to do this means one things for sure, that China will become a MAJOR PLAYER all around in Barbados;
    China doesn’t make investments without reaping big gains in return.”

A language is an asset and a second language is a greater asset and I consider it prudent to learn Chinese; for the way the wind is blowing most of the world will be heading to China to do business in the near future whether they like it or not. That’s the way thing are and are going to be for, at-least, the next fifty or more years.

Is there such a thing as BUSINESS??? and since there is…what’s wrong with doing business with solvent business enterprises such as China? would you prefer to do business with a shop that has no goods…with Europe, who themselves heavily depends on China? with Russia? With Africa? or with ourselves? are you worried that China will take our seawater? our tourists…no-way!!!!

From where we stand our Barbados is huge but from other vantage point you will get a different perspective.

doing business with someone does not necessarily mean you will be taken advantage of. it is about negotiating an equitable deal where each party benefits from the enterprise. We can be sentimental about our dear Barbados and guard our interest but we must not let your paranoia get the better of us.

41. @ ilandgirl246

“…And China is putting her hand in strategic countries around the globe and is equipping her army, the largest in the world. They say it is the next super power. China is building allies right now it is Iran and Russia. The debt in Europe plus America’s debt will alter China’s method of doing business. As they say cheep ting no gud, gud tin no cheep”

Girl I can understand why you will be concerned that China might replace the thousands of USA Army Bases around the world and perhaps ours in ST Lucy. It still puzzle me though that those untrustworthy Chinese haven’t done Iraq, Grenada, Panama, Afghanistan, Libya or all those other villainous people…perhaps its because they like villains. perhaps you can shed some light on the above.

42. islandgal246
    You told me to go buy a goat or a cow; I DIDN’T KNOW YOU WAS FOR SALE.!!!!!!!!!, but then I’ll prefer to buy a jackass than you in any case.