Submitted by the People’s Democratic Congress (PDC)

Mark Adamson, leader of the PDC demonstrating outside Barbados Light & Power against high electricity charges by Barbados Light & Power

The current political economic depression in Barbados, and the depth and duration of it, ought NOT to have come as a surprise to the broad masses and middle classes of people of this country.

As that, a few years before the coming about of this depression, the PDC was warning the public of Barbados that if certain political financial systems remain in existence in this country in the long term, that they were going to substantially cause very staggering and profound amounts of decay and decline in the production and exchange structures in the country.

Furthermore, too, then, the PDC warned the public of Barbados that certain actions that were  from time to time being taken by the so-called leaders of the national tripartite social arrangement (esp. those of BLP/DLP Governmental leaders), to disgracefully expand these very systems, such as TAXATION; INTEREST RATES; REPAYABLE INSTITUTIONAL PRODUCTIVE  LOANS; IMPORTATION OF THE COST OF GOODS AND SERVICES FROM OVERSEAS; EXCHANGE RATES PARITIES; WORK; etc. (which invariably are some of the same fundamental causes of the massive production and exchange decline that is now being witnessed by many people in Barbados), were going to mean the guaranteeing of political economic recession soon after political economic recession, for Barbados.

Also, during the first year of our party’s existence in the said 2005/2006 period, we reinforced in the minds of the said broad masses and middle classes of people, the notion that if the systems and other relevant ones were not REMOVED TOTALLY once and for all from the the political material financial landscape of Barbados, and were NOT at the same time replaced with modern viable systems, how their continuation would make sure that Barbados would become so much vulnerable to external shocks and turbulences, that the country would certainly accelerate tremendously towards becoming a second rate Third World country in the next 10-15 years (from the mid 2000s) – with all the attendant chronic social illnesses for many to see.

The truth is that whether or not our warnings were taken heed of by many persons in Barbados, as it stands now, Barbados has been in a severe state of political economic crisis since the last part of 2007, with many businesses closing down, many thousands of people being laid off, and there being significant declines in national output, there being substantial increases in the cost of living and doing business in the country, with also crime going up, and increasing hopelessness abounding.

But, as can be gleaned from economic textbooks and from the teaching and practicing of economics (and Western Financial subjects) in Barbados, theories of TAXATION, INTEREST RATES, etc., have long been seen by many people to be integral parts of this dark and discredited discipline called economics.

Make no doubt about it most (80%) of the concepts, theories and principles that are found within the economics discipline are totally obsolete and backward and are antithetical and irrelevant to 21st century national development for Barbados.

So, having studied much economics ourselves, the point must be hammered home that with these above mentioned systems and other ones being responsible for the massive production and exchange decay and decline (soon substantial ruin) in the country, and the consequent worsening social environment, it makes absolutely no sense whatsoever continuing to teach and practice political economics any where any time in Barbados – given that the above mentioned systems and the relevant unmentioned others, in theory and practice, are at the core of the economics discipline  in Barbados and elsewhere.

That is why the  PDC has been letting the broad masses and middle classes of this country know of the absolute need for them to wholly and systematically dispense with most of the concepts, theories and principles making up this very dismal approach called economics.

And that is why, too, we have been asking some individuals from within these said categories of people to take the lead in coming up with a new and relevant people centered discipline; a set of new and rigorous  tools of analysis; and a body of fresh and exciting methods, theories and principles, that, et al, would definitely aim to describe and explain multi-farious aspects of the productive, material and income affairs of this and other countries, and that would positively seek to describe and explain countless relationships that would exist between numerous political, social, production, commercial and income related variables.

Indeed, a proper understanding of the history of the emergence of the discipline of economics in the 18th century in Europe and its later development across other parts of the world, is also very necessary in any fundamental understanding as to why the ordinary people in Barbados must evolve a new dynamic and scientific discipline, as a means of not only properly projecting and at the same time substantially reflecting the productive material and financial circumstances of the country, but also as a means of signifying a substantial thrust towards providing greater intellectual political social and financial growth and development.

For, any overwhelming breaking away from the clutches of colonialism, not only means the quest for political independence for a previously colonized country; for a country’s own final courts, but also the doing away with things like economics which are loaded with imperialist oligarchic biases and prejudices.

Since, it is economists and their cohorts (in the political, business, legal, banking and other relevant fields), that have been failing to recognize that it is economics  (as well as its political underpinning and structures) – out of all the other disciplines – that has been bringing about the greatest possible harm, destruction and degradation of the national/sub-national affairs of Barbados, it must therefore be the duty of the most keen and knowledgeable practitioners of the other social studies and other disciplines in this fair land to take the lead in creating alternatives to economics teachings and practices in Barbados, and to at the same time continue the process of steadfastly pulling the country out of the big giant mess that it has been put in by certain political people in it.

For, the country cannot now afford to be seen to be committing more of the same egregious blunders as in times gone by when persons like Dr. Frank Alleyne, the late Wendell McClean, Owen Arthur, and other ruled dominated public policy making in this country in the 80s and 90s – and when things political economic now, such as the alarmingly high government debt, deficit financing, etc. are partly as a result of advice and information given to government and private sector officials by them.

Therefore, Owen Arthur, Clyde Mascoll, Anthony Wood, Dr. Brian Francis and others must not appear ever again to be catapulted into the limelight of current events, esp. by the traditional media, when in the country’s search for solutions to its material and financial problems, it is seen that NOT one of them (as economists) in Barbados has brought forward any solutions to the myriad political economic and financial problems we in Barbados are faced with at this stage.

In closing, we would like to ask BU readers/visitors the question: How could Arthur and Mascoll have been reported in recent, different editions of the Nation Newspaper (but in different contexts) as bemoaning the disastrous effects that – as they say- the printing of money (government borrowing from the Central Bank ) can have on the performance of the so-called Barbados economy? when borrowing of money/value by all kinds of entities from other kinds of entities is a common place thing in this country?

Whereas Arthur reportedly termed such action by the Central Bank, as the last desperate step before going to the IMF, if the history of Barbados was correct, Mascoll reportedly stated that this action in the context of the Caribbean economy, was the fastest and deadliest way to undermine stability in a country like Barbados.

However, both these economists must be told that while it is true that such printing of money at very alarming levels can lead to disastrous consequences for the so-called Barbados economy (NOT through any really false and fictitious economic concept of building up inflationary pressures in the economy, BUT really through the cost of use of money going up as a direct result of that type of Central Bank action and other effects) it is absolute rubbish to suggest that money/value when added to other amounts of money/value can anyhow devalue the existing value of the existing money pool in a country like Barbados. What old, archaic economic thinking!!!

The truth is that anytime a  PDC Government comes into existence in the future in this country, the government will have the right to borrow up to 35-40% of the then current GDP, in any one given fiscal year, from the core financial system without having to repay such, such within the context of the implementation of a National Institutional Non-Repayable Productive Loan Scheme.

1. The Minister’s response on 4Cs was interesting. Firstly he rubbished the comments on BU and Peter Booth.

He attacked booth subtlety by referring to the Legacy Project where millions are owed by government and where private consultants were paid in excess of 30 thousand.

Although he defended his position not interfering with investment decisions of the NIS Board his argument to continue with the project left no doubt how he feels about the government investing in the project.

The question for the minister is why can’t the IADB, Ansa and others already in the hole fund the difference?

2. The question is if the other nis in region want to fund why hasn’t the 4s started back? The next question is if other private project can make do with private investors why then does 4s need quasi government agencies of iadb and nis to fund it . The comparison to apes hill and 4s made no sense. since cow has manage other projects before of this magnitude. The 4s bosses seem to be at a loss at managing this one. The incorrect figure of 180 million us to supplied by the iadb and ansa. He wish it was that since if would shore up fx reserves more, fx reserves haven’t been reported since august and it almost November. The final question is what if iadb council say no to 4s. What is plan c,d,e what ever letter we reached? I still think direct takeover of the project by government finance thru the fx reserves would be the best option.

3. The other thing to note is the Clico and Alico proposal. I smell a situation once again where tax payers will be soaking up much of the debt of a troubled enterprise to pave the way for a private buy out. This smells like BCCI and a BNB all over again. I say if public money is used, then the Government on behalf of the people of Barbados (to hell with wunna who would luv to argue about Government’s track record, yet still feel that political parties deserve to be voted for) should run the f#cking thing …

4. My man also claimed that there was a resolution on the Barrack claim on Government. I still feel that the plan by Government is to move the lazy ass public servants into the spanking new facilities just completed with NIS’ money (nothing new for governmetn) and return ownership of the Barrack building to Barrack, with interest.

5. In theory they could but as the award is cash not property the lawyers on either side would hold the building in trust until it is sold. from that if the fund cover the judgement all is well if not then there still money to be paid out.

6. thanks anthony for the information and you to milleranu for educating the forum on this to me complex issue. i do enjoy the discourses between you both.however people run businesses to make profit or theyb will close down and workers would be out of a job and the closure could impact on a host of other variables which can impact on peoples lives and the economy as well’ the BLP light and power is no exceptipon. they provide a service and expect a profit. now the government is not providing any electricity service to the consumers and they are raking in the most money and strangely no one seems to care but prefer rather to vent their vire on the light and power.

7. actually they not raking in the most money. If arthur statement are in fact true, then bnoc/bntcl has made 50 million on fuel sale to bl&p, public & companies last year and another 60 million this year ( that almost blp total profit over 2009 & 2010 if you remove cfh sale) . If this is true i think price gouging is the what everyone would be thinking.

8. It is obvious government is managing its macro-policy through its MTFS by reducing debt and stabilizing/increasing revenue.

If it gives up revenue the strategy becomes unstuck. We are managing by the numbers just the way the IMF will if they have to come in.

An interesting point made by the Minister is the UWI and monies owed.

Are we hearing correctly the government maybe a little wary of how the UWI is building out its model which is putting a strain on the government policy to transfer sums to the UWI?

Talk about doing an audit is very interesting. What is it the government knows that it is not saying?

9. given central bank figure on-line revenue hasn’t improve david its down. taking into account inflation and increase in excise & vat the indirect taxes are also down .expenditure has come down slight. total expenditure is missing some figures so now real idea where it is but should also be slightly down. overall debt is still gather at same pace but would be less due to increase in nominal gdp fir debt to gdp ratio.

The issue with uwi currently is that majority of the money currently owed is tuition + economic cost for this semester.the rest for is for actual capital running of uwi. The is minor part of Barbados funding in this capital funding. sinckler report that debt of uwi stood @ 30 million as of 1999 and now is region of 80 million. He is suggesting the uwi building too fast for the government to sustain it which is the minority of the money owed. he may have a point there if barbados withholds payment for bajan students. Once they is paid they they have adequate cash for the payment for the loans. further building out will probably need to be finance with private contributions until government get back on its feet.

10. as for clico new “fifth option” no insurance company in their right mine will take over all those policy. Either they would negotiate a write down of interest and/or principal for the efpas or government will be left with them while the insurance company absorbs the other policy and insurance companies pay some nominal figure to the government.

11. @anthony

Going with the minister’s position that the deficit is tending downwards.

12. the deficit is at best stable currently david

13. UWI producing doctors, ask me as a tax payer for my opinion and I say right on. If there is cutting to be done, Clyde Mascoll said last week that the UWI is in the business of producing people for the Government, cut these people, and lef the medical program.

14. Very good open press conference by Min Sinckler. Lest not forget that the present government had to find the resources to pay off a number of outstanding debt left over by the BLP and has still found a way to stabilize the economy

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“Arthur, however, painted a picture of an economy still in deep trouble and headed for disaster unless Government changed its policies. He accused Government of wasting money”

Talk about “wasting money”, the BLP while in office spent like drunken sailors.
    Anyone remember the ACKEE TREE? $10,000.00 paid for cutting down the ACKEE TREE and MCW still had to go and finish cut it down.
    $400,000.00 on the GOLDEN BATHS, remember?
    The BLP has no moral authority to talk about “wasting money”.

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The South Coast Sewage Project cost more than four times its original estimate.
    South Coast Sewage Project projected cost, $19 million actual cost, $80 million.
    Hilton Hotel, projected cost, $170 million, actual cost $212 million and that cost does not include the law suit which followed its completion. Add another $20 million to the the cost.

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ CCC:

“Anyone remember the ACKEE TREE? $10,000.00 paid for cutting down the ACKEE TREE and MCW still had to go and finish cut it down.”

And the person who picked the ackees was welcomed with open arms by the George Street wild boys and is about to score an “own goal” in the footie gravy train.

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ anthony:

Here is an extract of the Nation newspaper quoting Minister Sinckler on the CLICO matter:
    “Both major regional insurance companies have expressed an interest in looking at the CLICO portfolio and working with the Government to resolve this matter. We have given instructions to the judicial managers to do the normal exchange of information . . . to see how this matter can be dealt with.”

Given your incisive competence to comment on such matters what is your take on the Minister’s action of “giving instructions to the judicial managers”? Can one conclude from this wide ambit displayed by the Minister to issue instructions that similar action could have been exercised in regard to the scope of the forensic audit?

Now don’t get me wrong! I am not in any way imputing any kind of motives to any party or agent. What I want to know is who has the authority to issue instructions to the judicial managers and supervise their actions?

19. Who directs the JM the minister or the courts?

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

millertheanunnaki(may2012)

Your Barbados labour party only spitting up in the air and letting it fall back in their faces, when they talk about “wasting money”. More than $12 billion in vat revenues and we still dont know where it all went under their mis-rule.

For sure a potion of it ended up in their secret overseas bank accounts.

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

CCC:
    If you are so certain about these charges of financial infelicities, squandermania, corruption, bribery and kickbacks allegedly perpetrated by the BLP then do you think it is imperative that the DLP administration lay these charges in the law courts and punish those found guilty?
    Unless you get your party to do this and don’t follow the BLP along the same lines by their (DLP) involvement in the marina redesign project, CLICO cover up, land lease on the way to the airport, etc.

22. millertheanunnaki

I hope you is a woman … I in love !

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I am wondering if your BLP spoke about how they may help Barbados in these difficult economic times at their dog and pony show over the weekend.

The members of the Barbados Labour Party can help Barbados in one fell swoop by simply returning to the Treasury the hundreds of millions of taxpayers dollars that they have stashed in their various secret overseas bank accounts.

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BAFBFP:
    Partly! I’m androgynous (LOL!!). Will that do or no ac/dc for you? From the “innuendos” floating around in bloggersphere you are strictly a “ladies” man prefer to be “in uterus” of all colours than in prost(r)ate.

OK mate, I am strictly a cricketer with a large bat and fully rounded balls to boot (ask Bonny Peppa). But not an all-rounder, though!

PS: Above meant as a joke to tickle you pink (like fellow blogger “ac”)!

25. @millertheanunnaki

as said before just ignore ccc. he/she crave attention as can be show in the nonsense he/her post the majority of times. While i do say that it also import to correct the nonsense he spouts sometimes.

As for the clico. i taught only the courts could instruct the JM but is seems like most things the minister has his hand in it as well. In theory only the courts can do so.So why couldn’t he instruct them to do forensic audit as well.

total vat collected to date from 1997 to Q32011 is 8.6 Billion. total vat collected under blp is 5.7 billion . total vat collected under dlp is 2.9 billion. As can be show by government spending we all know where it went.

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

anthony

“While i do say that it also import to correct the nonsense he spouts sometimes.”

I know that I am the thorn in the side of the crooked Barbados Labour Party.

You can not correct me, everything I say about the crooked Barbados Labour Party is the gospel truth. It is embarrassing for you, I know.

You would prefer it not to be said in public and keep the masses in darkness about BLP misdeeds. Sorry for you but I will make sure that the people of Barbados do not forget how crooked the Barbados Labour Party is

That is my mission in life..

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Did the HON MIA AMOR MOTTLEY attend your dog and pony show this past weekend?

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ CCC:

“The members of the Barbados Labour Party can help Barbados in one fell swoop by simply returning to the Treasury the hundreds of millions of taxpayers dollars that they have stashed in their various secret overseas bank accounts.”

Why should they do such a thing! To refill the hog trough so that you and fellow piggies can overextend your sour corruptible guts. You guys have no shame whatsoever, not even an iota of decency and political decorum!
    How do you think right thinking Bajans view the audacity of your bunch of incompetent pigsty boys to flaunt their hobnobbing with and blatant protection of a man of seemingly criminal repute?
    Get off your hobbyhorse and be more proactive. If you know that the BLP crooks have “secret” overseas bank accounts then they are not secret any more (you know of them!). By gollywog man, since you are incapable of performing such a sophisticated task, pay the Chinese to hack into these accounts and transfer the balances to the Families First Account, with a 50 % fee deducted of course.
    CCC, bring something worthy of intellectual debate and stop being a chorister in band of blue ass flies infecting the economy and society of Bajans.

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

True to form.

Keep talk of the stolen millions quiet, right?
    Such talk will prevent the corrupt Barbados Labour Party from regaining office.

30. A Minister of Finance holding a Press Conference on the Sunday of an Opposition party’s annual conference spells desperation.

31. enuff | October 31, 2011 at 4:02 PM |
    A Minister of Finance holding a Press Conference on the Sunday of an Opposition party’s annual conference spells desperation.
    Your response should have been written like this ” After 14 years in office as Finance Minister (1994-2008) what can I offer the citizens of Barbados after wasting taxpayers money on GEMS, putting BLP party funds into my private bank account and CLANDESTINELY forgot that I chaired the Cabinet meeting to award VECO the contract for the Dodds Prison ”

Desperation POLITICS indeed !

From the DESPOT…Owen Arthur

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Peter Boos:
    Why don’t you stop hiding behind the name of a real person who wears no veil in his blogging presentations.
    Get your own moniker and be your own man even if operating behind a DLP mask.

33. @All…

Might there be the possibility that we can find a solution without fighting amongst ourselves?

Seems to be a reasonable question and solution.

34. Note that BU can’t speak to the veracity of the name used hence is was changed.

35. @ (Fake) Peter Boos
    Your response does not surprise me, after all it fits right in with the modus operandi of the government and its supporters since January 15, 2008–maintain Opposition style politics. Like Minister Sinckler did on Sunday, you just continuing the trend.

When will you and others come to grips with the FACT that Owen Arthur ceased to be Prime Minister over FOUR YEARS AGO? It isn’t Owen that printing money; sending UWI to illegally borrow from NIS; can’t get the ABC highway sorted after 4 years; can’t get the cost of living down or stabilised; struggling to pay civil servants; entered into silly agreements with JADA at Coverley; paid $40m to the same Bannister your lot called a crook to redesign the Pierhead now got to pay Lagan $60m; or failed to implement 98% of manifesto promises and MORE. It is the DLP government!!!!

36. @BU.David: “Note that BU can’t speak to the veracity of the name used hence is was changed.

How dare you.

But, for the record, you publicly admit you change submissions.

37. @BU.David…

Just putting this out there for consideration…

You might like to speak for yourself….

38. @anthony.

CCC. is the DLP very hard to ignore

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Today is the last day in office for the present GG.

What a relief!

40. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“But, for the record, you publicly admit you change submissions.”

………and he deletes some too.

41. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Everyone Peter Boos is pro corrupt Barbados Labour Party!

42. @ Carson C. Cadogan
    “Anyone remember the ACKEE TREE? $10,000.00 paid for cutting down the ACKEE TREE and MCW still had to go and finish cut it down.”

Carson, you asking that ackee tree question in the wrong forum. Go in George Street, The Pine, or Martindale’s Road, and ask your man Hammie La that question.

43. @Artaxerxes and @Carson C. Cadogan: “Anyone remember the ACKEE TREE? $10,000.00 paid for cutting down the ACKEE TREE and MCW still had to go and finish cut it down.

Please give us a flying fucking break.

Can anyone tell us the truth about this question?

44. Carson C. Cadogan

And wah you is …?

45. David … Christopher Halsall cursing stink

46. @BAFBFP….

Have you consider that David allows me to curse.

No worse that is allowed on BBC3.

No worse than Aunt Peppa….

47. I heard the “Trinidadian Lady” on Brass Tacks this morning talking (and very passionately as usual) about the cost over-runs (cost over-runs is actually a cost accounting error) and corruption that Carson is also alluding to. Ellis reminded her that she and the DLP were pushing this agenda before and during the election campaign, and almost four years after being in office, they cannot seem to get anyone of those they accused to be held accountable for their actions. She told Ellis that someone told her that they have the information, but forensic audits are very expensive, and the government does not the money to pursue such a venture at this time.
    In my opinion the government should secured the relevant financial and other information from the government departments they suspected the financial infelicities occurred, and audit one department at a time when funds become available. Based on how this present administration presented the corruption issue, I thought that it would have been of the utmost importance for them to pursue this matter to its entirety. Then they could have reassured us that no such thing would occur in Barbados again by implementing the transparency and freedom of information legislation that they promised to introduce during the first 100 days in office.
    If money is the problem, then they could have used the US$10M that was given to CLICO to start the ball rolling (nothing has changed there since they got those funds); the funds used on the Constituency Councils could have paid to audit at least two more departments; and the funds used to promote the DLP via the David Thompson football tournament could have been used to start another audit.
    So far, nothing has been done after all this corruption talk, and we are only hearing from the party pimps on this issue, and not the politicians. Are we to think that these accusations were mere empty allegations and political strategy at work? The DLP told us TIME FOR A CHANGE, yet after 3 years and 10 months, the status quo remains the same.

48. Fractured BLP Party Avatar
    Fractured BLP Party

Poor ENUFF, Owen Arthur past transgressions like an albatross around the necks of the BLP.

Too bad there is more revelations to follow.

49. @Fractured BLP Party: “Too bad there is more revelations to follow.

Look forward to hearing about it.

Please bring it forward.

50. BAFBFP | October 31, 2011 at 8:17 PM |

David … Christopher Halsall cursing stink.

Halsall is a Canadian. He meant to write fuddle duddle.

Leave a Reply to millertheanunnakiCancel reply