Reproduced from                       Mercola.com

It’s a common notion that part of the reason why so many people are overweight and obese and saddled with diet-related chronic diseases like heart disease and type 2 diabetes is because they simply can’t afford to eat healthy. But are healthy foods really more expensive than their junk food counterparts?

An interesting opinion piece in the New York Times, by columnist Mark Bittman, argues that you can actually feed your family home-cooked meals for less than it costs to go to McDonald’s. Most people can, in fact, afford real food, Bittman argues. Which means, of course, that money alone doesn’t guide decisions about what to eat. In fact, the convenience, pervasive presence, and the addictive nature of processed food may be far more important factors.

Is Junk Food Really Cheap?

Most families nowadays are juggling not only tight schedules but also tight budgets, and when it comes time for dinner, a $1 hamburger from a fast-food “value menu” may seem like a frugal option. You have the U.S. government to thank for that $1 hamburger, as U.S. food subsidies are grossly skewed, creating a diet excessively high in grains, sugars, and factory-farmed meats. So there is some truth to the idea that junk foods can be cheap.

But if you’re basing your family’s diet on fast-food dollar menus, you are quite literally fueling future disease, which will exact a hefty toll on your family physically, emotionally and financially down the road. Perhaps you already know that fast-food is not the healthiest option, but you’re thinking, “I have $10 to feed my family of four, and I get off work at 7 pm, what else can I do?” Actually, quite a bit, which I’ll detail below. The reality is, any money spent on junk food is an absolute waste, not a bargain!

Why Spend Money on Food That Will Make You Sick?

While it’s certainly possible to find cheap junk food, much of it is actually quite expensive. I’m often surprised at the prices people are willing to pay for breakfast cereals that are nothing more than sugar, bags of chips that offer nothing good for your body, soda that is an absolute health disaster … these pricey processed foods will eat up your grocery budget in the blink of an eye and will actually cause disease in the long-term.

The fact that manufacturers are able to keep pulling the wool over people’s eyes, convincing them that these products are “foods” worthy of buying is nothing more than a marketing victory, albeit a very persuasive one.

As Bittman writes:

“It’s not just about choice, however, and rational arguments go only so far, because money and access and time and skill are not the only considerations. The ubiquity, convenience and habit-forming appeal of hyperprocessed foods have largely drowned out the alternatives: there are five fast-food restaurants for every supermarket in the United States …

… Furthermore, the engineering behind hyperprocessed food makes it virtually addictive. A 2009 study by the Scripps Research Institute indicates that overconsumption of fast food “triggers addiction-like neuroaddictive responses” in the brain, making it harder to trigger the release of dopamine. In other words the more fast food we eat, the more we need to give us pleasure; thus the report suggests that the same mechanisms underlie drug addiction and obesity.”

Since junk food is convenient, for the most part affordable, addictive and created to appeal to your taste buds, the system is orchestrated to keep you buying more junk food in lieu of real food, and the more you do this, the more you’ll lose touch with the foundations of healthy eating — and your kids may grow up never knowing the value of a home-cooked meal. So getting back to the original question, how to feed a family on a very limited budget, with a limited amount of time, the answer lies in choosing foods for their nutritional value, first and foremost, as well as planning out your meals carefully.

How to Eat Real Food on a Budget

In order to protect your health, I believe you should spend 90 percent of your food budget on whole foods, and only 10 percent on processed foods (unfortunately most Americans currently do the opposite). This requires three strategies, especially if you’re working with a tight budget:

1. Become resourceful: This is an area where your grandmother can be a wealth of information, as how to use up every morsel of food and stretch out a good meal was common knowledge to generations past. What I mean is getting back to the basics of cooking — using the bones from a roast chicken to make stock for a pot of soup, extending a Sunday roast to use for weekday dinners, learning how to make hearty stews from inexpensive cuts of meat, using up leftovers and so on.
  2. Plan your meals: This is essential, as you will need to be prepared for mealtimes in advance to be successful. Ideally this will involve scouting out your local farmer’s markets for in-season produce that is priced to sell, and planning your meals accordingly, but you can also use this same premise with supermarket sales. You can generally plan a week of meals at a time, make sure you have all ingredients necessary on hand, and then do any prep work you can ahead of time so that dinner is easy to prepare if you’re short on time in the evenings.
  3. Avoid food waste: According to a study published in the journal PloS One, Americans waste an estimated 1,400 calories of food per person, each and every day. The two steps above will help you to mitigate food waste in your home, You may also have seen my article from earlier this year titled 14 Ways to Save Money on Groceries. Among those tips are suggestions for keeping your groceries fresher, longer, and I suggest reviewing those tips now.

Some of the Healthiest Foods are Under $1

When choosing real foods to feed your family, remember that some of the healthiest foods are incredibly affordable, even under $1 a serving, such as:

• Raw organic milk
  • Raw nuts and seeds
  • Two cage-free organic eggs
  • Avocado, berries and broccoli
  • Fermented foods you make at home

Ideally, choose foods that are organic and locally grown, keeping the following ground rules in mind:

• The most important foods to buy organic are animal, not vegetable, products (meat, eggs, butter, etc.), because animal foods tend to concentrate pesticides in higher amounts.
  • Grass-feed beef is far healthier than grain-fed beef (which I don’t recommend consuming). To keep cost down, look for inexpensive roasts or ground meat. You may also save money by buying an entire side of beef (or splitting one with two or three other families), if you have enough freezer space to store it.
  • Buy in bulk when non-perishable items go on sale. If you are fortunate to live near a buyer’s club or a co-op, you may also be able to take advantage of buying by the pound from bins, saving both you and the supplier the cost of expensive packaging.

The Gold Standard: Local and Organic

In a perfect world, all of the food you purchase for your family would be locally grown and organic. This gives you the best of both worlds: food that is grown near to you, cutting down on its carbon footprint and giving you optimal freshness, as well as grown without chemicals, genetically modified seeds, and other potential toxins.

Without both, you risk getting chemically loaded, CAFO (confined animal feeding operation) foods that are grown nearby, and thus passed off as “local” and “natural,” like Wal-Mart and other mega-corporations often do. As written by Ronnie Cummins and colleagues for the Organic Consumers Association:

“Greenwashing CAFO products as “natural” or “local” is a major source of profits for Wal-Mart, Cargill, Conagra, Perdue, Land O’ Lakes, Kraft, McDonalds, KFC, Monsanto and chemical/GMO farmers and ranchers.

… These animal factories, where GMO feed and drugs are force-fed to most of the nation’s livestock and poultry, are not only poisoning consumers, but are also generating massive amounts of climate-destabilizing greenhouse gases, especially methane, which is 72 times more destructive per ton than CO2. Methane (CH4) pollution is responsible for approximately 14% of human-induced global warming.

… Millions of consumers are still in the dark about how “conventional” foods – especially the cheaper brands of animal products, processed, fast, and fake foods – are produced.”

Avoid wasting your money on these types of “local” CAFO products that are common in large supermarket chains. Instead, seek local and organic food, or locally grown food that you can verify has been grown naturally. To find these types of real foods, grown by real farmers, not corporations, visit LocalHarvest.org. You may be surprised to find out that by going directly to the source you can get amazingly healthy, fresh food for less than you can find at your supermarket.

Source: New York Times September 24, 2011
Source: The Washington Post September 27, 2011

1. Peter Simmons was against the abolition of slavery. In fact he wrote letters to MP’s in Britain explaining his reasoning.

In a letter to the Right Honourable Earl Grey, he says the West Indian Slave receives better treatment and has greater material security than the poor in England. However, the major emphasis of the letter is to “solemnly protest against any interference with my colonial property without receiving ample compensation”

Taken from Handler, ” A Guide to Source Materials For the Study of Barbados History, 1627-1834.

2. Rosemary

I agree, I don’t know how it got in here!!

I would not be commenting as I rarely cook but I would say that there are numerous sources of “home cooked” food that compete with the fast food joints where I eat many times for lunch.

I have left out the fast food for years, only occasionally visiting when it is the only choice.

I can’t stand the grease!!

Looking at prices in the supermarket I do not think I could prepare the equivalent meal much cheaper that those suppliers of “home cooked” meals so I eat and enjoy their fare without worrying about price, usually $14-$17 but sometimes a few dollars cheaper.

3. This is Joshua Steele’s story, also from the Queree papers available at the Archives.

1736 Will 27/67
    Samuel Osborne of St. James (one of the biggest pltn owners in B’dos history), bequeaths Kendal pltn to eldest son, Robert Osborne (Robert Kendal Osborne? Bequeathed Kendal to his wife as life tenant and then to his daughter and her heirs. His daughter died and bequeathed Kendal to her mother who married an Irishman, Joshua Steele in England. On his stepdaughter’s? death, (Beckles letter says wife died and Elizabeth left her share to Steele) Joshua Steele came to B’dos to manage Kendal himself. He also leased Byde Mill adjoining Kendal and stated that his property was 1068 ac, i.e. including Byde Mill which was 320 ac, Kendal was therefore 748 ac. Steele was a remarkable man of wide cultural and scientific interests. He altered the status of his slaves to that of feudal serfs but the experiment died with him. (For system see BMHS x 62–67, Lucas Mss.)
    Beckles letter (Estate had to be sold in Chancery Court to pay debtors and Steele bought it)
    See Halletts – Steele inherited from step daughter? Advocate 82-03-07 (Nat. Tr.)
    BMHS 22:84 – inherited from wife, Sarah Osborne
    Francis Bell tried to continue Steele’s experiment and it was only after his death and 16 years of litigation that the estate was sold in Chancery

1796 Will 38/283
    Joshua Steele. Bequeaths ½ Kendal to spinster sister, Mary Ann Steele of England and the other ½ to his 2 slave children, Edward and Katherine Steele
    (Edward & Katherine Steele were Joshua Steele’s children from a mulatto slave on Byde Mill named Anna Statia. By law Edward and Katherine Steele were not Joshua Steele’s property as he did not own their mother. As slaves, they could not inherit property. Joshua Steele’s executor Francis Bell bought the children and sent them to England where they were manumitted in an attempt to secure their legacy, probably for his own benefit as he was heavily in debt. The Osborne heirs headed by Sir Philip Gibbes, bart, contested Joshua Steele’s will in so far as it applied to Edward and Katherine successfully. However, their aunt, Mary Ann Steele compensated them for theire loss by a large cash bequest charged on Kendal in her will.

4. @DAVID

OFF TOPIC>>>>

COULD WE SEE CRUDE OIL PRICES HIT $40/BARREL SEEING THAT TODAY’S PRICE IS AROUND $80 – THE LOWEST SINCE THE STOCK MARKET CRASH OF 2008?

Interesting times!!!

5. @John…I shop at SoLo in Black Rock and get things required not available there and are fairly inexpensive by comparing prices from Super Centre and other outlets. My shopping also does not take a day. Just perhaps a morning if I do it on a Saturday and I always start at Cheapside Market, with all my meat intake coming from their butchers and also the Bridgetown Fish Market and/or Oistins. Such a lovely and exciting experience. And the fisherfolk and vendors are always so happy to see ya (I am a regular and also know who to shop with – like my veggies etc. organic!) and the banter/laughter and ‘carrying-ons’ is sweet to the ears bringing laughter into your heart…plus as I said I rather give my money to those who really work hard to supply us with good food. And yes! I also only eat with those small restaurants and/or van ladies – food sweet and good for little money – one of their meals is good for a day with a light breakfast and dinner. If one spends $20 a day that way your food bill is only $140 a week! Try leaving a big supermarket with a basketful of food for a week on that! No way! But as I love a little cooking, I do tend to spend sometimes less than that, and prepare myself what I like for the week…. ‘Bully’ beef & beans is not a regular, I came in late from Jamaica…11 p.m. and was starving as the “delicious curry chicken” served on board remained tough as did the rice in the plastic container that was obviously microwaved or whatever they do up in the air to one’s food!!!!

Apart from our health, we can help the economy by spreading the little monies we have with those who get up sometimes 3 a.m. to ensure there is food for all of us who sometimes are lazy. No need for the aromas of old oil, broasted (what is that? boiled and roasted?) everything (hate the smell, it sticks to your clothes and all), and delicious chewy plastic ready-prepared in the US and microwaved in Barbados!

I salute those who work the farms…I salute the ladies who drive around selling home-cooked food and all those small restaurants (delicious veggies ones included) who open their doors daily and do not disappoint in taste and service for little money! And for those who have big households to feed…shopping in the markets can bring your food costs right down…comparing prices and using only and I mean only Caribbean goods (particular Bajan if you live here) is a must. And for crying out loud make good shopping a family adventure, get those kids away from their fingers on buttons of technological crap, and let them breathe some fresh air before it is too late…teaching them early brings in the good habits!

6. @ JOHN

Thanks ‘ole chap!!!

7. Well the food blog certainly captures attention apparently ’cause all manner of different topics now pouring in…we’ve gone from food to sex between the races to oil prices! Food for thought I guess!

8. It seems that many are obsessed with SEX and RACE and can’t seem to get it out of their system so they will bring it in at any opportunity. To tell the truth wunna menz doan know what good sex really is. All wunna know is bout cumming and wunna call dat good! It ent bout colour dat many wunna menz tink. Axe many wimmen bout how many ah dem does pretend dem like waht dem menz does do. Sex starts outside de bedroom, a soft kiss on the neck, compliments during the day, tender words, little gifts, flowers or a flower (pleese not from the graveyard). A meal cooked by a partner for a change or a picnic. Wunna menz jest like tah aim and fire, but de target must be prepped long before de shooting start.

9. @John
    Thanks for the information. However I must tell you that I observed how a particular foreign Historian distorted the History of Barbados after socializing and picking the brains of the old folk in particular district in which my parents lived. The person used to be drunk from 10 am to 11pm when the last bust passed through the district. I have no respect for that individual or anything which that person put into writing. Unfortunately that person became a lecturer at a university and taught that crap as factual events. I have total respect for Ronnie Hughes.
    Thanks again.

10. Here is a bit more on Vaucluse …. over at BFP!!

http://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2011/03/28/race-a-significant-aspect-of-property-ownership-in-barbados/#comment-491219

Looks Like John Alleyne Simmons, the son of a slave, also owned alot of land in Canada as well as Vaucluse Plantation in Barbados.

… and there was a sister as well.

11. … and here’s what happened to the two children of Joshua Steele and Anastasia the slave, viz Katherine and Edward ….. when Kendal was inevitably sold in Chancery in 1815 and the charges created against the plantation by his sister were paid to his children .

From Queree we learn:

1815 262/187 Chancery Court Sale of “Kendal’s”, “Chesters” and “Halletts” pltns now called “Kendal’s” pltn for £45,000, 747 ac, St. John and St. Philip. Among debts £10,000 each to Katherine White, née Steele and Edward Steele, both resident in England. These bequests made by Mary Ann Steele and charged on Kendal pltn, purchased by William Prescod
    Bounders: John Poyer (Henley), George Barclay, Thomas Hollingsworth (Halton), Thomas Sealy (Cliff), Richard Earl Drax Grovesnor (Drax Hall), John Hothersall Pinder (Ashford)

Looks like the new owner of Kendal became William Prescod who bequeathed it to his nephew William Hinds Prescod who was the father of …………………..
    …… it is said … Samuel Jackman Prescod.

Small world!!

12. It is I think easy to understand why emancipation in 1834 is seen as no big thing by many Bajans.

We now have kadooment on the first monday of August whether it is the 1st or not.

There is usually only a handful of persons we see in the press taking part in the remembrance of 1st August when it comes.

I think the reason is that freedom was being given to the offspring of slaves and their owners for years before emancipation actually happened.

They formed a class “above” the slaves.

They were referred to as free mulattos.

They were forced to develop survival strategies to get them and their families through a period when they had to depend only on themselves. Emancipation meant little for them except it created increased competition and forced them to develop new strategies of survival.

Freedom was also being given to a second class of slaves, from as early as the 1600’s. Some Quaker owners set free their slaves ….. I believe I have another ancestor who was so freed in 1721, almost a century before my slave owner ancestor manumitted his mistress and more than a century before emancipation.

These freed slaves were referred to as free Negroes.

They formed a second class, also “above” the slaves.

Like the free mulattos, they also had to develop strategies for survival and depend on themselves because they were faced from increased competition.

When emancipation was proclaimed, a third class of freed slaves came into existence.

Every body had to develop new strategies.

I think these three origins of freedom of our ancestors explain the various classes of the bulk of persons who are said to exist in Barbados today.

First, there are those set free from the 1600’s because their owners made a conscious decision based on principle to do so.

Second, there are those set free as a result of blood relation … from the 1600’s to 1834.

Third, the largest class comprises of those set free because the law of the land changed in 1834.

…. but that’s just a theory!!

13. @John: “…but that’s just a theory!!

Theory is where we all begin.

Now the question is, will your theory stand up to scrutiny.

14. That’s why I put it up!!

15. @John: “That’s why I put it up!!

Excellent.

16. Island Gal,
    Bajan men egos are too fragile for such truth, girl, hope you ain’t marry a bajan.

17. […] by Rosemary Parkinson on BU blog – Is Junk Food Really Cheaper? – reposted because of its […]

18. Islandgal
    Murdahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. ‘na roses from de graveyard’.
    dat is a classic.

ahamoment
    Islandgal marrid ta a bajan but he kno how to charm she, so she’s in good stead.

19. Island Gal…in a ‘nutshell’ you have got the balls rolling,,,ha ha haaaa!

20. @John

That is what you called leadership.

Will it ever happen in Barbados?

Leave a Reply to Terence M. BlackettCancel reply