Submitted by Yardbroom

Historic urban centers of the German Rhineland, from Mainz to Cologne (map of 1909) – Wikipedia

I will ask the obvious question, before it is asked of me.  Yardbroom why do you write of this now almost a hundred years later?  I could be flippant and retort, why not.  However, a serious question deserves a considered answer and in so doing, I simply state October is Black History Month and if  now is not appropriate for black history, when?

A defeated Germany after the first world war was subdued and as is often a retribution of war, had foreign soldiers on it’s soil – the  Rhineland.  This was barely tolerable but that some of those troops were black, seemed to pile humiliation on humiliation.  As is often the case when men and women inhabit the same environment; despite prejudice, laws and a plethora of different obstacles, some even if only a tiny segment, will have sexual contact.  This leads to relationships some casual, others more permanent and eventually marriage.

Later, Hitler in his book Mein Kamph in an effort to explain away the German women who associated with  black French colonial soldiers called the women “bitches and whores.”  At the end of the 1st World War what appeared casual became permanent and the soldiers married German women.  Into this mix were German settlers returning to the fatherland with black women whom they had married abroad as well as a few missionaries from Africa.

During the Third Reich the black population in Germany was no more than 500-800 persons, miniscule in comparison to a German population in excess of 60 million but numbers, position or class matter little when race dictates regulation.

A Programme – note the word programme – was organised under Dr. Eugen Fisher of the Kaiser Wilhelm Institute of Anthropology Human Heredity and Eugenics – as a black person, when you hear grand sounding names be watchful and guarded and be slow to be impressed – he used the 1933 Law for the Prevention of Hereditary Diseased Offspring.

For through this Law, the knife was taken to those young flowers of innocence, children of a union between black men and German women.  “Some 400 children of mixed parentage were arrested and sterilized”.

In the dark corners of men’s minds lurk a flickering ember of remorse and it was said the Nazis went to great lengths to keep their sterilization and abortion programme secret, but history has a way of being recorded.  The Nuremberg laws of September 1935 had prohibited miscegenation but those children in most cases were of legitimate marriages and informal unions before 1935….it mattered not.

The fate of other people in Germany from 1933-1945 has been well recorded, but here I focus on the innocent children who without any knowledge of their fate, were arrested and taken to the knife to be sterilised for no other reason than that they had black blood in their veins.  When the seeds of hate and naked prejudice are sown and germinate in darkness they often flourish later in full bloom in the light, as the second world war – 1939 – 1945 has shown us.

This is Black History month – October –  so if only for a second we dwell on those frightened souls, young children taken to a place for their ability to procreate to be unceremoniously extinguished.  We must feel their pain, for in so doing we understand what it is to be black and remember the mantra of those who laboured before us….stay alive.

“In 1978, research was to be done involving the 800 children, but not one was found.  It was speculated that most if not all died in the camps under the Nazis euthanasia program.  Under the Nuremberg Laws, the euthanasia program was designed to exterminate those who were considered genetically inferior.”

Acknowledgment to the Washington Post

82 responses to “Innocents In A Barbed Wire Cage: Little Black Children Of The Rhineland In Germany”

1. CH leave Temperature alone.This is an attempt to educated the absentminded like you.BTW you are never too old to learn

2. @temperatur If a picture is worth a thousand words, then a video clip,should be worth millions. Carry on smartly.

3. “In October 1952, the British governor of Kenya, Sir Evelyn Baring, declared a state of emergency. Mau Mau rebels were attacking and killing African loyalists and white settlers in a quest for “land and freedom.” Whites were in a panic, and the empire needed a swift show of force. What began as a military operation turned into an eight-year campaign of terror against Kenya’s largest ethnic group, the Kikuyu. British soldiers herded nearly one million of them into detention camps and “emergency villages,” where they endured forced labor, starvation, torture, and disease. At least 100,000 died. When the British left Kenya in 1963, they destroyed all official files relating to their crimes. The Kikuyu story was effectively buried until assistant professor of history Caroline Elkins provided a thorough historical documentation of the capital crimes ……..”
    -Imperial Reckoning: The Untold Story of Britain’s Gulag in Kenya , by Caroline Elkins.

“Studies by two Western historians show colonial Britain used mass detention without trial, sadistic violence and bent justice far more than previously believed to suppress the revolt.
    “Things got a little out of hand.”

“By the time I cut his balls off he had no ears and his eyeball, the right one, I think, was hanging out of its socket. Too bad, he died before we got much out of him.”
    This white settler’s confession of his role in torture in Kenya is one of many atrocities uncovered by new research into Britain’s dirty war against the 1950s Mau Mau insurgency.”

Scholars unearth Britain’s dirty war against Mau Mau

Update: 03.03.2005

Saturday February 26, 2005

By William Maclean

4. I MUST WARN YOU THAT THE LAST VIDEO IS VERY PAINFUL , SOME SCENES ARE EXTREMELY GRAPHIC.

5. ” Genocide and plunder have been Western policy towards the mineral-rich Congo since the Berlin Conference of 1885 when European nations divided Africa between them, and King Leopold II of Belgium got the Congo as his personal property. Ten million Congolese were killed under Belgian rule which lasted until 1960. The Congo’s population was cut in half. Belgian domination was marked by slavery, forced labour and torture aimed at extracting the maximum amount of ivory and rubber from the Central African country. The people of the Congo “probably suffered more than any other colonized group.” Their hands were cut off for not working hard enough and on one day 1,000 severed hands were delivered in baskets to an official. Women were kidnapped to force their husbands to collect rubber sap and Congolese were shot for sport. Such atrocities were documented by George Washington Williams, an African-American visiting the Congo, who invented the term “crimes against humanity” to describe them.

“CONGO: THE WESTERN HEART OF DARKNESS
    by Asad Ismi, October 2001.

“. …Democratic Republic of Congo where King Leopold II of Belgium enslaved the Africans, forced them to work without pay, killed about 10 million and looted the country of her resources and virtually nothing was used to invest in the country except guns which the Belgium army used to terrorize and kill the Africans. Africans who could not meet their daily target of rubber supply had their wives ceased and their hands chopped off by Leopold’s army officers. Leopold even went to the extreme to exhibit Africans in Belgium Zoos. When the DRC was transferred from Leopold II to the Belgium state, the looting and killing continued till DRC gained her ‘independence’ in the 1960s. In fact DRC (Congo Free State) was the main supplier of rubber a vital raw material for the tyre industry and all the money from the sale of the rubber went to Belgium. King Leopold II was able to transform Belgium as one of the poorest countries in Europe into one of the wealthiest, courtesy the enslavement and looting of Africans and their resources.”

US AND EUROPE MUST PAY REPARATIONS TO VICTIMS OF SLAVERY AND COLONIALISM
    By Lord Aikins Adusei
    Thu, 12 Feb 2009.

6. Most Barbadian have heard about Hitler ?
    How many Barbadians know of King Leopold II of Belgium ?
    This man murdered 10-15 million Africans in the Congo , the actions of Leopold II a.k.a , ” the butcher of the Congo”, reduced the popoulatin of the Congo by fifty pecent.
    This information is not taught in schools or shown in the mainstream media .Those who are in control prefer to feed us fiction so we can continue to live in a bubble.

7. @John

How do you respond to this last comment i.e. King Leopold II of Belgium

8. Sorry that should read , ” reduced the population of the Congo by fifty percent .”

9. To tempearture:
    You need to tell us also about the BLACK Leopold of the Congo, and his exploits in european customs especially literature. Most of what you are talking about Leopold of Belgium was dealt with on National geographic; is that main stream enough for you.

10. A very bright black woman who lives in Canada researched the black German holocaust and came up with a story idea so brilliant and so well written that the book was short listed for the Man Booker Prize. You don’t have to live in Germany to be interested in what happened to the black children who were born there. Here’s the link: http://www.themanbookerprize.com/perspective/articles/1526

11. “The Congo became one of the most infamous international scandals of the early 20th century”

Wikipedia …

Scandal? This word “scandal” is one of the most unfortunate/useless words in the English directory … Scandal suggests that some one had an image to protect .. a reputation to preserve … My God

12. King Leopold II of Belgium’s mandate to his missionaries

Letter from King Leopold II of Belgium to Colonial Missionaries, 1883.
    The letter which follows is Courtesy of Dr. Vera Nobles and Dr. Chiedozie Okoro.

“Reverends, Fathers and Dear Compatriots:
    The task that is given to fulfill is very delicate and requires much tact. You will go certainly to evangelize, but your evangelization must inspire above all Belgium interests. Your principal objective in our mission in the Congo is never to teach the niggers to know God, this they know already. They speak and submit to a Mungu, one Nzambi, one Nzakomba, and what else I don’t know. They know that to kill, to sleep with someone else’s wife, to lie and to insult is bad. Have courage to admit it; you are not going to teach them what they know already. Your essential role is to facilitate the task of administrators and industrials, which means you will go to interpret the gospel in the way it will be the best to protect your interests in that part of the world. For these things, you have to keep watch on disinteresting our savages from the richness that is plenty [in their underground. To avoid that, they get interested in it, and make you murderous] competition and dream one day to overthrow you.
    Your knowledge of the gospel will allow you to find texts ordering, and encouraging your followers to love poverty, like “Happier are the poor because they will inherit the heaven” and, “It’s very difficult for the rich to enter the kingdom of God.” You have to detach from them and make them disrespect everything which gives courage to affront us. I make reference to their Mystic System and their war fetish-warfare protection-which they pretend not to want to abandon, and you must do everything in your power to make it disappear.
    Your action will be directed essentially to the younger ones, for they won’t revolt when the recommendation of the priest is contradictory to their parent’s teachings. The children have to learn to obey what the missionary recommends, who is the father of their soul. You must singularly insist on their total submission and obedience, avoid developing the spirit in the schools, teach students to read and not to reason. There, dear patriots, are some of the principles that you must apply. You will find many other books, which will be given to you at the end of this conference. Evangelize the niggers so that they stay forever in submission to the white colonialists, so they never revolt against the restraints they are undergoing. Recite every day-“Happy are those who are weeping because the kingdom of God is for them.”
    Convert always the blacks by using the whip. Keep their women in nine months of submission to work freely for us. Force them to pay you in sign of recognition-goats, chicken or eggs-every time you visit their villages. And make sure that niggers never become rich. Sing every day that it’s impossible for the rich to enter heaven. Make them pay tax each week at Sunday mass. Use the money supposed for the poor, to build flourishing business centres. Institute a confessional system, which allows you to be good detectives denouncing any black that has a different consciousness contrary to that of the decision-maker. Teach the niggers to forget their heroes and to adore only ours. Never present a chair to a black that comes to visit you. Don’t give him more than one cigarette. Never invite him for dinner even if he gives you a chicken every time you arrive at his house…..”

The above speech which shows the real intention of the Christian missionary journey in Africa was exposed to the world by Mr. Moukouani Muikwani Bukoko, born in the Congo in 1915, and who in 1935 while working in the Congo, bought a second hand Bible from a Belgian priest who forgot the speech in the Bible.” — Dr. Chiedozie Okoro.

13. key point in the document :

1] Your action will be directed essentially to the younger ones, for they won’t revolt when the recommendation of the priest is contradictory to their parent’s teachings.
    2] The children have to learn to obey what the missionary recommends, who is the father of their soul.
    3] Teach students to read and not to reason.
    4] Teach the niggers to forget their heroes and to adore only ours.
    5] You have to detach from them and make them disrespect everything which gives courage to affront us.

6] Institute a confessional system, which allows you to be good detectives denouncing any black that has a different consciousness contrary to that of the decision-maker.

7]Your knowledge of the gospel will allow you to find texts ordering, and encouraging your followers to love poverty.

8]Evangelize the niggers so that they stay forever in submission to the white colonialists, so they never revolt against the restraints they are undergoing.

14. […] Innocents In A Barbed Wire Cage: Little Black Children Of … […]

Leave a Reply to Duppy LizardCancel reply