Submitted by Austin

The Hon. Prime Minister Freundel Stuart, Q.C., M.P

Can someone tell me why in the midst of so many national challenges in Barbados we seem to be hearing less and less from the PM himself ?  What we do see is all kinds of “photo ops” by members of his cabinet in the daily papers, which by the way appear to be in overdrive however contain no substance.

Where is the leader of our nation on a range of issues …  I cannot be the only Bajan with this observation, or am I?

1. @Enuff

Fish all you want and you will catch nothing. I will repeat as that is the only way you are capbable of remebering things, apply for a job with housing and advise them since you are so well schooled in demograpic planning.

You are so myopic in your thinking that your brain continues to shrink so i have to respond to you like how you teach a parrot, but then again a parrot is smater than u as u r brainless sinc the brain cells are now dead,

have a nice sunday, will pray for u that u brain that functioning again.

2. @Mill

you might not be a yardfowl, but you might be a milled duppy and how about that?

If the nhc lay down the ground rules and enforce them, the place can be well manged, but people like you believe that decent living should not be affored to the poor, Do u see the project in pondside defaced.

I have no fear of anyone on this blog, i can stoop to ur level and then rise from it and leave u or any one else in the guttar to where you belong,

I have never depended on anyone in life for socail mobility and i mean no one and therfore my views are not choreographed by any one.

you too have a blessed dunday, until we collide again, if it is your wish. I am sure you wrote on another thread cchastisign another blogger for calling someone a ninconpoop and here u are spittinging up in the air and letting the spit fall in your face. Go come again, you pretender,

3. @David

how can u interpret my statements that i am TRIVIALISING the health of a pm. I am saying it is his illness, if he choses to keep it private that his choice. Thats all i am saying, If then the one delegated with the power failed to act, u cannot state the illness contribute to any indecision.

We know that david was on his way out(not u) so decisions that were to be made and could have been made could and should not be balmed on his illness. You have intimated that because of the uncertainty, that prevented decisions from being made, by the way what decisions that could have been made that were not made that would made a difference in the prevailing climate. You know that I always like my emperical evidence, that what i ask my students to do in their presentations.

David, sometimes i just laught a some of the advice on this blog that the govt could do this and that and the economy would improve. The world is suffering from investor confidence and when that occurs people will be slow to part with their money for projects which will generate jobs. Look at the great america and europe. Obama was not sick, has he got anything meaningful done to restore confidence to the aemerican economy.

The govt can reduce its expenditure, by cutting jobs in the PS, would you want that?

I agree with caswell that the cabinet can be slimmmed down. Ministers can cut their appetite for travel where the crown is asked to foot the bill, they should even travel economy class like what happens in the oecs countries,s

4. @Obediant

You are entitled to your opinion, carry on.

5. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Energy Star

Ask Patrick Hoyos to ask Tony Hoyos why he cut down 40 beautiful, mature trees to make way for a development which he is marketing as “eco-friendly”.

I guess “eco-friendly” does not include trees as far as you BLP jokers are concerned.

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

All I have to say for is, KEEP YOUR EYES ON THE HON MIA AMOR MOTTLEY.

7. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Balance

Where did I say that I supported the erection of a tomb for Thompson? If I remember correctly, I said that I supported the erection of a monument. It could be as simple or similar to the one that was done for the Rt. Excellent Errol Barrow. Thompson was PM and however short there should be some tangible memorial to that fact. I think that is fair and balanced.

8. @ Obediant
    You are fully entitled to your incorrect opinion.

9. Sydney Burnett Alleyne Avatar
    Sydney Burnett Alleyne

A six storey housing project is jackassery in such a location. The PM may be a decent fellas but the poor man is clue less and seems visionless. Coverley with green areas would have been ideal. What is the common thread between Michael Lashley and Mark Malonely? Whats the true cost of these projects to the tax payers?

10. @ Hants @ Carson Cadogan

“In response, however, Hoyos defended the developers, insisting that the cutting down of trees at the site was done by Government as part of the work in the area of the nearby new roundabout there. If 40 trees were cut down more than 40 are going to be grown back, he said. We have bought some trees now and our landscaper is actually raising them up to between eight to 10 feet, and when they are planted they will be 15 feet tall. These will be mahogany and flamboyant trees, in addition to a whole set of foliage being planted.”

In any case, my research shows that the Minister and Chief Town Planner under Section 27 of the T&CP Act are responsible for the preservation of trees. Did government cut down the trees as alleged by Hoyos, and if they did was planning permission granted? What about Hoyos, did he receive planning permission to cut down the trees? Is there a tree replacement policy in place as a condition of planning approval?

By the way Carson, natural gas dryers are far less ‘eco-friendly’ than sun drying; yet at Coverley you need permission to erect a clothesline but not to use your natural gas dryer……more madness!!!

11. Errol Walton Barrow speaking from the grave Avatar
    Errol Walton Barrow speaking from the grave

A lion leading a flock of sheep will defeat a pack of lions led by a sheep. Many a times you see Non Commissioned Officers leading mutinees to save the mission when the Commanding Officers are incompetent.

Who among the DLP will be brave enough to put country before party to save our beloved country? Will Dr David Estwick please be a man with balls and please stand up. Why must the whole country sink because of indecisiveness of a party.

We will soon blame the absence of running water on the drought while we failed to harvest rainwater. We will soon blame the sea for death of the sea egg while we failed to control the pollutants entering the sea. Its not what happens, but how you use whats happening to your advantage DLP. Get off wunna lazy licorish pop belly asses and work for the tax payers money. Better can be done, so stop swimming in mediocrity.

12. It amazes me how caught up otherwise intelligent people are with the offerings of two institutions which are NOT listed on any formal register, which CANNOT be sued by entities that are not members and which therefore are not accountable to anyone but their members. Is it not time to start attacking the institutions instead of lending weight to them by highlighting their poster people as having any true or potential relevance ..?

13. Retired Urban Planner Avatar
    Retired Urban Planner

Cloverley was ill conceived and will be a sociological disaster. How could you put such young persons with such high level of energy in such fowl pens. This enclave is an insult to Barbadians seeking a housing solution and smacks of mediocre thinking by the planners. How many persons can comfortable live in these houses? Yes Barbadians need housing solutions but not just anything. Minister Lashley, is really planting houses at a great rate and must be commended but it seems the people are not consulted on what housing solutions are required.

It would be interesting to see what the level of domestic violence and divorce rate will be at Coverley in the future. A retirement village where communal living is most needed was ideally suited for Coverley. No expansions possible,so in about 30 years it will actually be a retirement village or homes with 10 persons to a house. A project where the best use of land was not looked at, thus a lack of long term vision will see us surely perish while we squander the wellbeing of future Barbadians.

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@EWB:

Is that you Skipper? So you come back to discipline the youngsters that inherited your estate but like most inheritances easy come easy go!

These fellows ain’t work for it; everything was given to them on a platter, from free education to cushy jobs. Unless you whisper in their ears to get off their backsides and start making some serious decisions regarding the economic restructuring of the economy and put a halt to the downhill drift that ever day is undermining the social landscape things going to get real dread..

Although you warned us that if we want justice stay away from the law courts we did not heed your advice and now everything is in a real mess. People are flagrantly breaking the law and getting away with it. Those entrusted with its enforcement are turning a blind eye or on the take.

Tell your political offspring to pull up their socks or things might get real hard about here similar to the socio-economic conditions that existed when you were a young turk arriving on the 1950’s scene.

15. Retired Urban Planner | October 9, 2011 at 11:08 AM |
    Does the plan remind you of live cargo packed in a ship as it crossed the Atlantic?

16. @ Retired Urban Planner
    Is the planned business/retail development in the ‘Town Centre’ not also contrary to the policy regarding regional, suburban and local centres articulated in the NPDP? What impact will its development have on those designated regional areas and local centres that are in close proximity such as Oistins, Six Roads and St. Martins?

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ retired Urban Planner

It would be interesting to see what the level of domestic violence and divorce rate will be at Coverley in the future

The people who will be able to afford these houses will primarily be females. Judging from the graduates from UWI and the gender of young people entering the job market and filling the jobs that meet the mortgage criteria this place might just be called Amazonia Very few men will be found there unless they are visiting to render services e.g plumbing or mowing the lawn (Don’t burst the water pipe!)

18. Does it not amazes you how caught up otherwise intelligent people are with the offerings of two institutions which are NOT listed on any formal register, which CANNOT be sued by entities that are not members and which therefore are not accountable to anyone but their members. Is it not time to start attacking the institutions instead of lending weight to them by highlighting their poster people as having any true or potential relevance ..?

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BLP supporters eat your hearts out.

The Democratic Labour Party is delivering the housing solutions you were unable to deliver.

This is all a case of sour grapes for you BLP people.

20. Errol Walton Barrow speaking from the grave Avatar
    Errol Walton Barrow speaking from the grave

@millertheanunnaki, it seems these young turks holding hands with lucifer and looking after their own self interest. My Cane Blade speech was misinterpreted and it was not my vision to move from planting sugar cane to planting houses.

Had a discussion with Tom Adams and he like me is disappointed how the whole Clico issue is being handled. That Clico debacle must not be a burden to taxpayers and the assets of those culpable must be seized. As a former Prime Minister this could not have happened under my watch and David Thompson who just arrived and trying to settle in, said he was sorry to all Barbadians and wish that Christopher Sinckler will soon become Prime Minister.

Bernard St John, Tom Adams, David Thompson and I while liming eating some Souse and playing some poker was wondering why Chris Sinckler would not stop appearing in the newspaper skinning his teeth at the people with Leroy Parris.

The young chap Freundel Stuart who talks pretty as PM is so indecisive and carrying such a large cabinet, seem empty on substance. Ah gone Lucifer coming!

21. @Enuff

AND SO DO YOU. YOU SHOULD RECOGNIZED THAT NO PERSON ON THIS BLOG CAN HIT AT ME WITHOUT MY RESPONDING HARDER. FROM A CHILD I HAVE NEVER LET ANYONE GET THE UPPER HAND.

22. @CCC

i behind you on this one, no one had the solution to the housing problem, now things are happening criticism flying left right and centre.

Predictions are they will become cime and drug areas, like if most of the drug lords not in the so called posh area and those are the areas where most of the white collar criminals are found, check out the gated communities,

If barbaduans dont want the house at coverley they dont have to buy them, no one has a gun to their head,

Lord come for this world, you cant please these blp scavengers, Well they called me a yardfowl so i earned the right to call them scavengers or duppies based on the mood that i am in,

23. @ Carson C. Cadogan

I know that you have a fondness for eating your own words but in respect of the Villages at Coverly, you would be wise to wait before declaring victory in the housing solutions of the DLP.

The sucess of the Villages at Coverly is know how many are build but how many are SOLd. I been in this game long enough to know that this fever pitch anxiety over the project is a lead up to something, I dont know what but I expect OSA will reveal his hand shortly.

What will it reveal?

24. According to Mark Maloney they are contracted/committed to build 1000 Coverley houses, 400 hundred have been build already and two hundred sold.

25. Sarge referred to PM Stuart being in Canada recently, here is a write up on his visit.

New Barbados PM wants to reverse ‘brain drain’
    Posted by Arnold A. Auguste on Thursday, October 6th, 2011 in
    By RON FANFAIR
    Over the years, Barbados and other Caribbean islands have endured the loss of their highly skilled and educated labour to Canada and other developed nations in what is commonly known as the “brain drain”.
    In an attempt to reverse the trend and capitalize on brain power, the Bajans have established a framework that seeks to attract the skills and expertise of their nationals overseas to enhance the country’s socio-economic development.
    Prime Minister Freundel Stuart recently enticed Rhodes Scholar Marston Gibson to return home to accept the post of Chief Justice. The 57-year-old former president of the Council of Barbados Organizations in New York, who emigrated to the United States in 1987, was sworn in last month.
    “It’s my view that Barbados has to be redefined,” Stuart said in his keynote address at the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) Canada chapter’s annual fundraising dinner last Saturday night in Scarborough. “When we think of Barbados, we should think not only of those people on the island, but also of our nationals in the Diaspora, and it’s our subtle conviction that they should now be fully integrated into what it is we are attempting to do in our country.
    “That means we are now elevating the concept of remittances beyond money to social remittances. We no longer want only what you have earned, but also what you have learned here in Canada and other parts of the world, and in looking at filling posts back home and the planning of the development of Barbados. We are looking beyond our population to draw on those nationals who live overseas. It’s that thinking that led us in our search for a new Chief Justice and there is more of that to come. Therefore, I want you to stay tuned to this station because we are going to be drawing on the talent and the know-how of people in Canada as well.”
    This was Stuart’s first visit to Canada. He was sworn in as Barbados’ seventh Prime Minister a year ago following the death of David Thompson.
    The University of the West Indies Law graduate, who is also Minister of Civil Service, National Security and Urban Development, acknowledged the special relationship Canada and Barbados have enjoyed over the years, dating back to 1884 when the influential Barbados Agricultural Society attempted to have the country enter a political association with the Canadian Confederation.
    Late Canadian Prime Minister John Diefenbaker often vacationed in Barbados and the close friendship between Pierre Trudeau, who died 11 years ago, and Barbados’ first Prime Minister, Errol Barrow – they were classmates at the London School of Economics – led to Canadian financing for the Grantley Adams International Airport.
    “This gives you some sense of how, for many years, Barbados has felt about Canada and Canadians,” Stuart said. “There is an old, revered and hallowed relationship between the two countries.”
    The DLP Canada chapter was established five years ago. Thompson attended the first three fundraisers but missed last year’s event because of illness. Health Minister Donville Inniss delivered the feature address instead.
    The event honours the memory of Barrow who co-founded the DLP, trained with the Royal Air Force in the Maritimes and was conferred with an honorary doctorate of Civil Law by McGill University in 1966, the same year he led his country to independence and became his country’s first prime minister. He died in 1987 at age 67.
    “It’s appropriate that the life and times of Errol Barrow is memorialized because of the massive, substantial and wide contributions which he made not only to the public life of Barbados but, of course, to the development of the Caribbean,” said Stuart who was born exactly four years before the party was established on April 27, 1955.
    “After the collapse of the West Indies Federation in 1962, it was Barrow who convened a meeting in Barbados with the late (Guyanese president) Forbes Burnham that led to the establishment of the Caribbean Free Trade Association (CARIFTA). Not content with the limitations imposed by a free trade area, he was again instrumental in the formation of the Caribbean Community & Common Market (CARICOM) in 1973. Barrow made a mighty contribution to regional politics. He was a strong voice at international fora for poor countries of the world and he espoused progressive causes on behalf of the poor and the vulnerable.”
    Among the guests at the sold-out gala were retired jurist Sir Frederick Smith, a DLP co-founder and the party’s first chairman, Zanana Akande, the first Black woman to serve as a cabinet minister in Canada and the first Black woman elected to the Legislative Assembly of Ontario, and Keith Forde, Canada’s first Black Deputy Chief of Police, who retired from the Toronto Police Service last year.
    DLP Canada chapter secretary Marsene Maloney and volunteer Larks Millar were presented with the President’s and Recognition Awards respectively.
    Reynold Austin presides over the board of directors which includes Franklin Greaves (treasurer), Glyn Bancroft, Heather Barker-Roberts, Charles Gittens, Margaret Haynes, Ovid Herbert, Merton Knight, Joan Rowe, Michael Stanford, Keith Trotman and Alex Waithe.

26. @Enuff

see whay i said, u r like a parrot. u had to take the though process from david. Well i will follow suit,

U R ENTITLED TO UR EVER CORRECT PERSPECTIVE CARRY ON AND MAKE AN ASS OF YOUR SELF.

U HAVE TO FORGIVE ME IF I SPELL ANY WORDS WRONG AS I AM A DUNCE.

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“If barbadians dont want the house at coverley they dont have to buy them, no one has a gun to their head.”
    What kind of advice are you sending to Bajans seeking to buy houses?

Do you understand the serious ramifications of this statement?

Do you realize that lots of money has been invested in this project and the Nordic guys have already paid out large sums overseas to the inside golly. Campaign funding does not come cheap and must be paid back in some form or fashion. Money sure makes the mare fly, especially where a glock is used as the starting pistol!

28. @ Obediant
    tsk, tsk, tsk, tsk, tsk…….

29. maybe its just me Avatar
    maybe its just me

@ retired urban planner
    Do you think Michael Lashley sought any advice other than his own and the project financiers/contractor? The Villages (in Miami) upon which Coverly is replicated is a retirement village where everything is air conditioned.
    You seem smart enough to fill in the rest of the story.

30. @Enuff

i dont know your guttar language, so u have to educate me as you know that i am a political dunce.

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@EWB:

Give my regards to the other members of the Lodge who have contributed in no small way to the modernisation of Bimshire from a one crop economy to a varied economy in which some mis-educated Bajans take pleasure in turning their noses up (if that is physically possible with the majority of the population) at the less-well off in society and show little respect to senior citizens that you and others fought so hard for. The NIS is no longer seen as a safety net for those who are sick, unemployed or have qualified for senior citizen status but as a pig trough that any Ansa, Avinash, Tony, Kelly or clico Leroy can grunt at.

But be careful of the new arrival. He might appear as a team player but his goal is to overthrow Lucifer and run the affairs of the Party from down under.
    That new boy on the block is real smart, be careful! He deliberately put C S in charge of the purse strings to purposely undermine his opponent FS. Have you seen Cammie recently? If you do, tell him that his protégé needs some help. The new arrival former PR man (another Kingmaker) and Cammie’s political godchild don’t see eye to eye and the poor boy is all alone at the top. No sidekick no deputy!

Rumour has it that a number of your tutees and admirers might soon be joining you. There is one in particular, who was once white as snow, will soon be knocking at your door. But as Luke the physician is alleged to have written: “To whom much is given, much is expected”. Noblesse Oblige!

Say hello to old boy Grantley and to the best of the brigade Wynter C the truest of the lot!

32. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting Carson C. Cadogan You should be asking why old feeble Owen push out a YOUNG, …VIBRANT…WOMAN such as MIA AMOR MOTTLEY?”

The truth is all we know is that Mia is a few years younger than Owen. We know nothing about her state of health or her vibrancy.

We know nothing about Owen’s state of health or his vibrancy.

We know nothing about Fruendel’s state of health or his vibrancy.

We knew nothing about David’s state of health or his vibrancy. All we knew was that he was a few years younger than Owen.

We had no idea that David was so close to his “sell-by” date.

Just in today’s Sunday Sun I saw a death notice. A woman of 85 has died and her mummy is still alive. Who would have though that a mummy would have to bury her 85 year old “child”.

Life (and death) are fully things.

Real, funny.

Real, real funny.

33. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

obediant

“If barbaduans dont want the house at coverley they dont have to buy them, no one has a gun to their head,”

You hit the nail on its head!

Just to show how stupid their “argument”, reading some of the comments one would get the feeling that not until Coverly has been Barbados ever seen divorce, domestic violence, a man fooping his neighbor’s wife, etc, etc. They seem to believe that never before Coverly has houses in Barbados been close together. Not that I am saying that it is the greatest thing in the World, but people in close homes learn to get along. There are so many roads , gaps, alleys, districts in Barbados where this is the norm and people learn to get along BLP.

34. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ENERGY STAR

“but I expect OSA will reveal his hand shortly”

And reveal that he is walking in the footsteps of Golding and stepping down and handing OVER to a YOUNG WOMAN BY THE NAME OF MIA AMOR MOTTLEY?????

35. http://africanhistory.about.com/od/slaveryimages/ig/Slavery-Images-Gallery/SlaveShipBrookes.htm Avatar
    http://africanhistory.about.com/od/slaveryimages/ig/Slavery-Images-Gallery/SlaveShipBrookes.htm
  36. http://villagesatcoverley.net/Neighbourhood/neighbourhood.html Avatar
    http://villagesatcoverley.net/Neighbourhood/neighbourhood.html

37. On housing alone the DLP should win the next elections they are doing an outstanding job on the housing front. mY TWO CENTS

38. mr franklyn monument, tomb what ever one does not have to erect anything to remember a prime minister worth his salt or otherwise. mr sandiford will always be remembered for having lost a motion of no-confidence in his leadership through the vote of his parliamentary colleagues; and to link mr barrow with mr thompson is like linking chalk with cheese. mr barrow accomplished much; mr thompson unfortunately nothing tangible in terms of policy to move barbados forward up to the time of his death.true, mr thompson was a brilliant individual in his own right but there were no real tangible accomplishments to remember him by except his extraordinary debating skills. mr thompson even inherited his parliamentary seat and we cannot speak of his legal acumen like the henry fordes, or errol barrows or bree st johns or david simmonds et al because he didn’t seem to practice much in court.

39. Some who want to be balance would agree/concede that recognizing the grave of our sixth prime minister should not become subsumed by politics.

What many are disagreeing with is the timing of the decision which appears to be a brazen act of political opportunism to capture the sympathy vote and or create something that is not present..

40. @CCC

we seem to be agreeing on a lot of things.lol

I have never seen so much pathetic reasoning on this blog like that related to coverly. When people live in high rise apartments dont they see their neighbour when they open their doors occasipnally?, And that would not casue them to have sexual tirade, both party would have to want it. We have been having a high rate of divorce especially among those who marry for five years or less, and frankly speaking the rate is going to increase as these educated young women marry some on the undeucated young men to satisfy society’s espectation, i watched a niece of mine ,vey bright marry some one of lesser intelect who resorted to violence and you know what the marriage did not even last two years. The young men need to appy themselves and try and own some of the homes,

Lord have mercy, dont the develeopment has to be approved by the planning deprtment who would have persons who would have been exposed to some training in demography and physical planning. I think that these blokes are insulting the inteligence of the chief town planner who is very much a professional.

LORD WHAT WILL THEY THINK OF NEXT.

41. calling bony peppa, calling bonny peppa, calling my girl bonny peppa yah like yah sick, where yah gone.

42. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“obediant | October 10, 2011 at 7:47 AM |

@CCC

we seem to be agreeing on a lot of things.lol”

Enjoy it while it lasts.

43. Just my two cents. I believe that Freundel Stuart is a man who knows there is a time and a season for everything. Come next election, you’ll hear how vocal and grammatically devastating he is. I am one of the few who have followed FS before his rise to power, and while few and far between, his exchanges in the house and philosophical views have always been quite substantial in my books. In Barbados we look for charisma, but character MUST be the foundation on which charisma rests. There are too many politicians abundant in charisma but devoid of character.

Caswell, you almost knocked me out my seat to hear you endorse Freundel Stuart.

44. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Goweb

I don’t know why you are surprised. I sat in your classes while you tried to impart some of your considerable knowledge to me, by the was some stuck, however from our interactions I thought by now that you would come to expect only an honest opinion from me.

That said, I don’t think what I wrote would have amount to an endorsement per se. I was comparing chalk and cheese, and being a hungry man I went for the cheese.

45. Instead of developing a neighbourhood catering to mixed incomes with mixed housing typologies, we are building supermarkets, restaurants, gas station etc. Mind you service stations are located along all the main arteries to Coverley including Oistins, Grantley Adams Airport, Kirtons, Six Roads, Kendal Hill and Wildey.

46. @Obediant……”calling bony peppa, calling bonny peppa, calling my girl bonny peppa yah like yah sick, where yah gone.”

Bonny keeping Fruendel company at Illaro court so stop bodderin she.

47. @enuff

To play devil’s advocate could it be the value of the Coverley product is the self contained element?

48. David wrote, “a brazen act of political opportunism”‘
    The people of St.John are pleased.

49. BLP grasshoppers like ENUFF, never cease to amaze me.

Prof. Neville Duncan 2 weeks ago , like thousands of Barbadians SINCE 2008,quite rightly asked, What is Owen Arthur coming back to do that he did not do in 14 YEARS ?

Operating true to form ENUFF let that one pass outside the offstump !

NOW, here comes a PROGRESSIVE DLP Government producing a vibrant housing policy in tough RECESSIONARY times and ENUFF just cannot LIVE WITH IT.

Here are some of Owen Arthur legacies on HOUSING when plenty of money was around :

!. Millions of dollars spent from 2005 and BULKLEY MEADOWS in St. George nowhere near finished in 2011. ( Michael Lashley now have to clean up this mess )

2. Coverley Phase 1 in Christ Church, started in 2004 CIVITECH owed millions and project not finished. (Barbadian taxpayers now have to find $ 6 million to tidy up this mess )

3.. Mount Poyer in St. Lucy prospective homeowners always in the press trying to get their homes finished.

4. HARDWOOD Inc. $ 4 million scuttled away , NO HOUSES PRODUCED and yet Owen Arthur trying to get Clyde Mascoll name back on the ballott presumably to TIEF again !

ENUFF….Bajans ain’t stupid.

Mia Mottley knows that…TOO.

50. @ David
    The self-contained approach suits retirees and other persons of leisure.

The community is clearly car-oriented, therefore the services on offer at Coverley are not necessarily a convenience.Firstly people do most of their shopping/errands during their work trips, and secondly Barbadians tend to be loyal to retailers and professional service providers i.e. doctors and dentists . As such, the close proximity of these amenities will not be the sole or key determinant to whether they will be used. Are we to expect Super Centre, Trimart or Cost-U-Less? Furthermore, why would I want my child at the nursery or pre-school in Coverley when I work in Bridgetown, Warrens or Holetown?

If home buyers are being charged for ‘a self-contained element’ on leased government land they should be shareholders in the Town Centre–a sure incentive for them to support what they ‘own’.

Leave a Reply to enuffCancel reply