Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

Someone wrote, “Many Barbadians believe in the world of local politics Opposition Leader Owen Arthur stands head and shoulders above the rest as the master tactician”.

I have heard that before but I am yet to hear that comment from someone other than a BLP adherent. Where is the evidence to support this hypothesis? Other than BLP members who spout this propaganda, who are these many Barbadians that believe that Arthur is this master tactician?

Arthur became leader of the BLP after Henry Forde came to the realization that he would never be able to lead the BLP to victory, which made him sick, and he demitted office as Political Leader of the BLP and Leader of the Opposition. At that time, Arthur was the only member of the BLP parliamentary group that was not gainfully employed outside of holding a seat in the House. He was then managed and his every step choreographed by David Simmons and a few others to make him Political Leader and Opposition Leader in order to give him a decent salary.

You should recall that the death of Errol Barrow caused a fracture in the DLP in such a way that the party became unmanageable with the Dems descending into turmoil. That instability coupled with a recession in the early 1990’s made the DLP extremely unattractive to the electorate. Arthur’s victory in 1994 came as no surprise and was like taking candy from a baby. So far up to 1994, there is no evidence of any master tactician emerging.

His skills as a master tactician eventually only benefitted the DEMS. Rather than reward his party faithful, Arthur started on a campaign that he called the politics of inclusion. It only alienated his membership and cleaned out the malcontents from the DLP who were destabilizing their party. As a result, the committed DEMS were able to rebuild their party thanks to Arthur’s foolhardy politics of inclusion. They were then in a position to appear united enough to capture the Government and share the fatted calf.

Politics of inclusion aside, Arthur’s single most act of political idiocy is trying to find a safe seat for Clyde Mascoll. Nothing that Arthur does in trying to portray Mascoll as the victim when he was removed as DLP leader will wash away the perceived stain of betrayal that covers Mascoll for his unprecedented jump to the BLP. As one young lady put it: the captain does not jump ship and join the pirates: he goes down with his ship. Attempting to force Mascoll down the throats of the BLP and the electorate would only benefit the DEMS. Generally, the country does not like Mascoll, and Arthur does not have the redeeming blood with which to cleanse him.

Another example of being in the right place at the right time: Arthur did not forge any unexpected relationship with George Payne as we are being lead to believe. That relationship fell into his lap: it resulted from an arrogant Mia Mottley over-playing her hand and quite foolishly challenging George Payne for the chairmanship of the BLP, which forced Payne uncomfortably into Arthur’s camp. You should recall that it was Payne’s vote that made her Leader of the Opposition, and it was Payne’s vote that removed her for what could only be seen as treachery if you were viewing things from Payne’s perspective. It is clear that both Arthur and Mottley have more ambition than common sense.

Arthur has never really been tested in any aspect of his leadership as Political Leader, Prime Minister or Minister of Finance. As Political Leader, he was manoeuvred into position by others, and led the BLP into elections against a DLP that could not get its act together. As Minister of Finance, he presided over the economy in times of plenty. The only thing going for him now with respect to the being Minister of Finance where he continues to look good is that the present Minister seems not to have a clue.

An unbiased observer would tell you that this master tactician threw away the Government more so than the DLP wrestling it away from him.

1. Interesting…..

Dale Carnegie said “No one kicks a dead dog” meaning that if you are being criticised you must be doing something right. The fact that the DLP feels the need to attack Owen after 4 years in government show’s the relative political strengths of both Owen and the DLP.

To suggest that the man led the BLP to three terms in office purely by chance or solely by the good offices of others, stretches the credibility of Mr. Franklin as a commentator.

Bajans will remember that unemployment was lower under the BLP, They will remember that he never advocated “wait and see” as an economic strategy. Even in the worst of economic times, it was clear that Government was doing everything possible to move Barbados forward. They will remember the discussions about strategic issues such as the EPA and OECD (issues that seem to have vanished from public discussion)

Bajans will make their own judgements on who is a better tactician Mr. Franklyn.

2. Frankwell Caslin

I in dat wid you. I nearly crucify de bitch wid licks. Heah????

De Scout

3. Xavier

You obviously do no know me: I am not a DEM nor ever have been. I call things like I see them: if that bothers you, there is little that I can do about that. On the other hand, I was a supporter of the BLP from my days at school, even before I was old enough to vote and I became a member of the party in 1980. My first duty is to this country and not party. That is why I will continue to call it like I see it even if it makes you and others uncomfortable.

I believe that both Owen Arthur and Mia Mottley are bad for this country, no matter how bright you think they are. There is only one person that I think will be worse than either of them and that is Christopher Sinckler.

4. I on dat wid you Franklin.

Always remember de words o dat member o de Ungroun Fambly:

“I sure you are a Jew … Every time you post a message you are traceable down to the street and building you in. I WILL GET YOU. AND I DON’T WASTE MY TIME MAKING IDLE THREATS.”

Heah???????

Stupseeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!

5. Why do people keep referring to the decision of political opprtunists to join Owen Arthur and the B.L.P as “the politics of inclusion” ? It was really the politics of seduction. The concept of inclusion is much bigger than most commentators believe. Some politics of inclusion is practiced in the USA where a Republican will serve in a Democratic cabinet or high post and vice versa. They never have to join the other party. In our situation they are nothing more than political grass hopppers looking to get on the gravy train of teh party in power. They are not inter ested in the
    country’s development or any particular policy.

6. I don’t think Mr. Franklyn is being fair in implying that Owen Arthur was incidental to the success of the Barbadian economy during his tenure as Prime Minister. The Barbadian economy did well as compared to the rest of the region including those Caricom states with significantly more natural resources than we have. I believe Owen Arthur should be credited for that when he was Prime Minister. Having said that, Owen’s Arthur’s public behaviour since as an Opposition Member, and then Leader of the Opposition including his longstanding pubic relations debacle with regards to Mia Mottley, and his outbursts regarding Mara Thompson have led to legitimate questions being raised with regard to his ability to lead the country again in particular, and whether the BLP should form the next government in general. While this all may be interesting political theatre, we as a country have to be concerned as to how our financial and social future will pan out while the two main political parties are either infighting or otherwise demonstrating that they are fiddling while from all accounts we are burning.

7. @Caswell

On what basis have you tossed your support behind Dale Marshall?

Hope that it is not because he attended Combermere?

Dale Marshall to date has demonstrated that he is nothing more that George Payne’s lieutenant to answer at his beck and call.

8. To Caswell:
    I am not joining you attacking Owen as an economist; however, as a tactician and attempting to coerce glyne clarke to give his seat to clyde mascoll, that would be a poor raky tactical move. I do have the confidence that clyde can win any seat;he simply is not a politician. He is too thin skin and finds it hard to roll with the punches. Another blogger suggested he be made governor of the central bank; I agree.

To david:
    I agree with Caswell give the leadership to Dale Marshall; Mia would be an enormous disaster.

9. Mr. Franklyn
    I wholeheartedly agree with you.

I have been following politics in Barbados long before I could have voted and then voted at 18 years and have voted in every election since then. When I heard people saying that Owen Arthur was Barbados greatest Prime Minister when he was in government I would always get upset because I could not see what he did to deserve such a high accolade.

I cannot believe that after being caught accepting $75000 in the last election for his party and putting it in his bank account that he would now want to become Prime Minister again. He was discredited and only four years pass and he is still discredited in my book. If the others were exposed like him I would also take the same position.

He seems to be promising to return to this CSME immigration matter where we become a free for all again. He also seems to be suggesting again that we must sell the remaining lands to the highest bidder to get out of this economic mess.
    I do not see any genius in Arthur or Mascoll and therefore support your views.

10. Clone wrote “He also seems to be suggesting again that we must sell the remaining lands to the highest bidder to get out of this economic mess.”

How can Barbados get back to a pre recession prosperity that was built on a construction boom fueled by rich foreigners?

It won’t happen because there will be no world economic boom.

The next few years will be very difficult.

11. David and Lemuel

Read my post again: I did, and certainly made no reference to Dale Marshall. It would appear that you came to that conclusion on your own probably because it is the obvious choise. However, I am not endorsing any particular candidate. I prefer to remain outside the political fray and give praise where it is due, and be critical when I have reason to do so without fear of favour.

12. Caswell, YOU REALLY BELIEVE THAT YOU ARE STAYING OUTSIDE OF THE POLITICAL FRAY? It looks to me like you are deep into it, but I suggest you dig out your root of bitterness and burn it to ashes man. You should not still be aching over that incident when Mia out-smarted you for the General Secretary position, and other little unfair things she did to you. You gave that information yourself here on this blog.

Have you forgetten those years that Arthur fought hard in opposition as a valued member of the formidable “Three Blind Mice” BLP Team, and do you forget the massive repair work he had to do to erase the mess in which Sandiford and the DEMS left this country? Owen Arthur set himself a noble objective to completely reverse high DLP unemployment of 27%, and also bring the economic affairs of Barbados back to strength and respectibility. You remember when the other Caricom territories used to laugh at us, refusing even to accept our Barbadian Dollars?

Really observe Barbados, both from a human resource and infrastructural developmental point of view over the 15 years of his outstanding leadership. Don’t you see now, a vastly changed and improved country? Every where you look, the stamp of Arthur and his team is there.

The most that the new government has done is to complete a few unfinished projects of the previous government’s agenda, and apply some cosmetics. That has included the enjoyment of renaming things and putting up new plaques with their names on them! But they certainly have derailed and deaccelerated this country’s advance, and by 2013, they will have to be relieved of the responsibility entrusted to them in 2008.

All of the former DLP Members who came over, with the exception of renowned double-crosser and perpetual grass-hopper Hammie-La, expressed absolute disgust with the leadership and functioning of the DLP. They were not enticed by Arthur, but they were accepted by him, because he recognised the contribution they could make. The only one who has gone back home, as far as I know is that nuisance ROMMEL, and we understand why! By the way, after using him spitefully to try to disturb the REAL MARSHALL, can the DEMS say why they have now discarded Rommel, who desparately wanted to run in St.Joseph?

13. @Caswell

The point about Dale Marshall is one you made on another blog.

14. Just asking for what ? Avatar
    Just asking for what ?

All of the former DLP Members who came over, Truthman AKA KERRIE SYMMONDS this is you yourself of which you speak, you like Mascoll stand for nothing and will fall for anything two spineless creatures

15. I WHOLEHEARTEDLY AGREE WITH THOSE COMMENTATORS WHO POSIT THAT MR ARTHUR LED BARBADOS WELL DURING HIS TERM IN OFFICE’ TRUE THERE WERE MISTAKES BUT AS POINTED OUT BY SOME’ BARBADIANS GENERALLY WERE EXPERIENCING A GOOD STANDARD OF LIVING AND WERE COMFORTABLE AND SATISFIED. WHEN I BSERVEDEVEN THE GENERAL WORKER BOASTING OF CRUISING ON THE CARNIVAL THOUGH INSIGNIFICANT TO SOME WAS TO ME A KIND OF BAROMETER THAT THE CRUMBS FROM THE FATTED CALF WERE INDEED FILTERING DOWN.ON THE OTHER HAND, I ALSO QUESTION MR ARTHUR’S REPUTATION AS A MASTER TACTICIAN. I AGREE WITH THOSE WHO FEEL HE HANDED AN ELECTION TO WIN TO THE DEMS WITH HIS SILLY COMMENTS IN THE COURSE OF THE CAMPAIGN WHICH ALIENATED THE FLOATING VOTERS LIKE ME. IN ADDITION, HAD HE CALLED THE ELECTION AROUND THE TIME WHEN THE DLP WAS FIGHTING AND IN TURMOIL AND MR STUART WAS PUBLICLY CUSSING MR THOMPSON AND TRYING TO GET RID OF A VALUABLE SITTIING MEMBER LIKE MR ESTWICK THEN THE DLP WOULD BE IN OPPOSITION TODAY AND IF HE HAD HANDLED THE REMOVAL OF MISS MOTTLEY MORE TACTFULLY THEN SURELY THE DLP WOULD HAVE BEEN A ONE GTERM GOVERNMENT NO MATTER WHAT THE CCC’S SAY BECAUSE MY POCKET IS HURTING; BUT NO WAY IS THE FLOATING VOTE GOING TO VOTE FOR A FRACTURED BLP LED BY AN OPPORTUNISTIC LEADER.

16. David
    You asked, “@Caswell

On what basis have you tossed your support behind Dale Marshall?

My response to you is that I am not endorsing any particular candidate and that remains so. I was puzzled because I could not see how after reading this post that you can jump to that conclusion. The point that I was trying to make about Dale Marshall on the earlier blog is that if you eliminate Arthur and Mottley from leadership of the BLP Marshall is the only one left that could carry the party forward.

Balance

It appears that you completely misunderstood the intent of this post. I said that Arthur was not tested in any sphere of activity. Arthur won three elections mainly because the DLP was in such disarray internally that the electorate could not trust them to lead, and you know what they say, “Before none any”. Arthur was the any.

Again, I did not say that the country was not doing well economically under Arthur: he just carried on. He came in and found a partially restructured economy and he kept it going. Put another way, He did not plough the fields nor plant the seeds: he watered the plants and in the end reap the fruit of praise for a good crop.

17. I believe that a shamed man can write anything he feels like speaking on especially if there is sufficient truth to it for him to further destroy his own soul. I am not going to worry about Caswell Franklyn? Who is he? What became of that matter that he came to me with? Yes, this is Tacitus and that shamed faced man should be the last to keep attacking me, my wife, and the fact that I am a village ram and not seducer of the under aged. I Tacitus will destroy you Caswell the same way that I set out and have now all but destroyed your nemesis MAM. You are not a woman, and you are not young; but you are acting like a woman and you like them young. Leave me alone! Leave Tacitus alone or else I will crush you with my power. I am the ruler of Barbados and you are the shamed man. I had power, still have power, and will retain more power. Caswell, leave me alone or it is I that will expose you. We may be of the same humble beginnings, but I was prime minister and at best you were caught with your fingers between the lips. I am Tacitus, leave me alone or I shall have Bonny Peppa deal with you.

18. Just asking for what ? Avatar
    Just asking for what ?

Is the remnants of the beast that in his power house days would call people at 2.00 and 3.00 am in the morning and blister them in cuss ?

Look how the mighty have fallen to a disgaced new low and look how he has become an aged tired old tryant over night.

19. @Just asking for what

What you do not know would not hurt you. But as you want to hurt me, I will let you know that I still cussing people but I do it are 4 and 5 instead of 2 and 3. Are you satisfied? My power has not fallen, it is on the rise, and all barring the shouting, I shall return to rule Barbados just as I have returned to rule the BLP. Bonny Peppa, are you on my side or do I have to stick with Clyde, Dale, Georgie, Gline, and not to forget, Kerrie? The people of Barbados love Tacitus because they gain and my pockets get filled.

20. TACITUS, you are so boring…….. yawwwwn. Do ALL of us a favour. Please go to St. John’s Church yard. lay down beside a certain grave, and await a place inside the TOMB about to be built. That is the way for you to become exciting.

21. Sometime ago, more than two years to be precise – 15th September 2009 – I posted an article on this blog; “Has The Barbados General Election Started? A Master Tactician At Work.”

To be incisive in any analysis you must see events in “context”. At the time of my submission, I believe M/s Mottley was safely ensconced as leader of the Barbados Labour Party and no doubt was looking forward to leading the Party into the next election.

Mr. Arthur had been defeated at the last election and some commentators were saying he was finished. In reading the speech Mr Arthur made I analysed it to be a call to arms; he was laying the ground work for a strategy.

Today some two years plus later: He is leader of the Barbados Labour Party. His strategy and tactics obviously worked. The issue is not if you like Mr Arthur or not, in politics outcomes matter. Regardless of if you disagree with his method of replacing Ms Mottley – which came later – his tactics worked unsavoury or not.

Perhaps I should add I am not a member of the BLP or DLP and never have been and neither Party have done any favours for me and I do not seek any. I just try to show balance and be objective in what I write as an aside, I also wrote a submission about M/s Mottley “My Time Will Come”.

22. Thanks Truthman Burton aka Kerrie Symmonds. Just remember that I am Tacitus and I see no reason why all rulers cannot lay next to each other. Unfortunately for you, I have slotted Clyde ahead of you. I will not drop my charges on you, so you will not be lucky next time around. I am a woman hater for leadership, there are others that are women beaters.

23. TACITUS, your sourjour here on this blog, has been exemplified by extremely poor and distasteful attempts to impersonate one of our great Prime Ministers. I am indeed reminded of an encounter between yet another of our great Prime Ministers, His Excellency Errol Walton and his later Deputy Sir Cameron Tudor.

It occurred in the august chamber of Parliament many many years ago, and it so happened that one day, Mr Barrow and Cammie Tudor (as he was at the time, knighthood came later) had a rather heated, not too intimate tete-a-tete, resulting in Tudor getting the worse of the exchange, and weeping on the floor of the house!

Quite a comical sight it was, causing Mr.Bernard St,John on the Opposition benches to remark in an aside, but not too sotto voce, “But looka Cammie crying, and HE AIN’T EVEN CRYING LIKE A REAL WOMAN!”

Needless to say, much laughter ensued in the Chamber, but such was the light-hearted nature inside Parliament in those days, amidst the cut and thrust of vigorous debate.

TACITUS, I wonder if got that little joke, indicating that you are a very poor and pathetic immitator, yet a real MOCK PERSON …….. and you seem to take your role seriously!

Do what I told you …… hurry up to St.John Church yard, you may probably find that you are laying beside another quite similar to you in terms of authenticity! Too ad hominem for you? LOL LOL LOL

24. OOPS! The word is “sourjourn” not “sourjour”

25. Got slightly distracted. I really meant “SOJOURN” I was always a good speller, but that is what one gets for wasting time with people like TACITUS!
    Ahahahahahahah.

26. @ Truthman Burton aka Kerrie Gun-ho

Yes, you have me laughing. True, true, true. You have brought out the witty side of Tacitus. I still rule and you shall fall into place. I took you in and I promoted you to a minister. I brought you back from the political wilderness and have you in the senate. You better do not play with me Kerrie Gun-ho. I am Tacitus. You know I am not against you because like me you do not want any woman to rule you. Stay on my side and let me practice this politics of inclusion again. If you continue to do my bidding, I may not have to rest in St. John, but I could come down to St. James, it is closer to my home.

27. @ Truthman

Sorry my dear friend, I thought you were calling yourself a “sourgerm”.

28. Truthman
    Looka, try n leff my man Tacitus fa ma do. He funny as shoite, I doan kno wah you tawkin bout he in funny. He could impersonate who he feel like. Ef he rubbin you de rong way, jess by pass he, dah is all. stupseeeeee, try n leff he fa ma do. doan leh ma gotta buse ya fa he. ya bin warned.

Tacitus
    Unlawful ruler of de oppasishun (MAM bein de lawful whun) doan waist na time wid dah KLown Truthman. Ya swoiteeeeeeeeeeee like hunny. But I still in want na posishun in you party causen you mite wanna mek me you secre’try n nex ting ya kno you gun want me tekkin dick-tation all hours a de nite. not dat I wood mind tekkin de dick-tation from you, but i in want na mo picknee. Ef dah is kool wid you, konk me in. I gun cross de flore.

29. This group in the House of Assembly with the exception of two individuals, represent the largest collection of intellectually bankrupt egomaniacs ever to be foisted on the public of Barbados as high ranking officials.

30. @ Bonny Peppa and Truthman

Bonny my dear next parliamentary secretary in the prime minister’s office, I Tacitus beginning to smell a rat. Is his name truthman or falsewoman. I hope you see why I want you in my cabinet. Anyway, I going and take my sleeping tablets and the pills for the sore dick because I may have some flogging to do if MAM supporters do not leave me alone.

31. Tacitus

Nah,nah, nahhhhhhhhh, I in wantz ta be na parlimentry sec’try. dah cannn wuk. U gotta mek me you personal sec’try or nutton doin. dat way I kin tek u dick-tation anytime wid pleasur. so rememba, personal or nutton doin.

32. I sure you are a jew.

Every time you post a meassage you are TRACEABLE dow n to the STREET and BUILDING you in (sic).

I WILL GET YOU.

AND I DON’T WASTE MY TIME MAKING IDLE THREATS.

Plus, I have photos of trafficked prostitutes.

Plus, I wear braces and they’re not pretentious at all.

33. Bonny don’t mind de inconsequential TB. Naught from naught will always be naught. But mind how ya tekkin dick-tation from Tacitus hear. He and TB got sumtin in common. Da both like to pelt licks in duh women and I know you ent da kinda woman.

Call me if he onfair you ya hear, coz you is one hot, sexy bitch and he ent going be able wid you an he does get very jealous when he got up he darooos.

Mine yaself hear.

Leave a Reply to JforJeromeCancel reply