Gline Clarke MP

Many Barbadians believe in the world of local politics Opposition Leader Owen Arthur stands head and shoulders above the rest as the master tactician. The fracture which runs deep in the relationship between Arthur and Mia Mottley achieved by forging an unexpected relationship with George Payne is a classic example.

One characteristic of Arthur’s style of politics which he repeatedly used to good effect during his tenure as Prime Minister was the ‘flying a kite’ strategy. It was his way of measuring public opinion before taking a decision, usually unpopular ones. Making former Minister Anthony Wood look silly in the eyes of the public over a promise to increase bus fares comes to mind.

How Arthur intends to lead a party perceived by the electorate to be a united group remains the topic of conversation among ordinary Barbadians and pundits alike. With a general election constitutionally due in just over one year, time is rapidly running out for Arthur to right the BLP ship. Some believe the good reputation Arthur earned as Prime Minister during a global economic boom made all the difference. How Arthur manages the challenges created by Opposition politics is left to be seen?

A subplot to the BLP political story was recently created when Arthur shared the view that “Barbados and the Barbados Labour Party need economist Clyde Mascoll in the House of Assembly and involved in the management of the economy.”  The immediate query which Arthur’s desire raised was how will he get it done; a safe seat is required. Word making the political cart roads up to last week indicated pressure was being placed on the ailing St. James North BLP incumbent Rawle Eastmond to step aside. Unfortunately for Arthur Eastmond has jettison that idea by endorsing Edmund Hinkson and took a couple pot shots at Mascoll when he articulated the qualities an aspiring member of parliament should possess.

BU understands that there was a meeting held last week at the Brown Sugar Restaurant between Arthur and Gline Clarke, Member of Parliament for St. George North, to request him to stand down from running in the upcoming general election. The opportunity for Arthur to possibly insert Mascoll in the BLP slate of candidates was created when Gline Clarke offended the sensibilities of many White Barbadians when he uttered a statement considered racist and insensitive. It seems Gline Clarke has become expendable in the interest of preserving the image of the BLP and to prevent the issue of racism from becoming a campaign issue.

BU believes the next general election given the cohobblopot of issues at play will make for one of the most intriguing since Independence.

1. Obediant.
    There will also be a DLP voter revolt in St. James North, because from a very reliable source, I understand the constituants there are NOT backing Harry Husbands. In fact I understand that he insulted the constituants’ intelligence quite recently, when he said he didn’t have to answer some pertinent questions asked. The only person capable of beating Austin Husbands in St.James North is Rawle Eastmond himself.

2. Owen if you and Clyde just wait,you could make him Govenor of the central bank in twenty eighteen.From there his would be a valued contribution to the economy.Have no fear,you both shall still be around then,for the good book tells that There’s No Rest For The Wicked.

3. @ Fractured BLP
    You sound desperate!!
    But when a PM and Minister of Finance appoints an Oversight Committee and fails to disclose to that Committee the existence of a contract (prepared, witnessed and signed by him and his associates) for a $10m bonus for his friend that in my books is corruption.

But just in case you need more:

You will recall that a few weeks ago when the BLP exposed instances of corruption festering at the QEH, Health Minister Donville “Don’t Care” Inniss was advised that he should not feel alone since similar conditions existed elsewhere in the DLP administration.

Well, it is clear that such a warning coupled with the barefaced refusal of the BTA and the rest of government to enlighten the public about the details of the Rihanna contract, and the glaringly offensive DLP insider business dealings with the LOUD concert; have driven integrity loving Barbadians to move beyond suspicions, whispers and concern by providing documentary proof that things are far from well at another major institution.

When you start wrong you will end wrong
    This time it is the BWA, and nobody is surprised, given the Bajan proverb that “when you start wrong, you end wrong.” For the public still remembers the DLP’s coldblooded dismissal of BLP warnings that the government had imposed an Executive Chairman on that vital body when the law did not allow for such a post. No less a person than then PM David Thompson had sneered at the BLP’s respect for the law, declaring that they would change the law at some time if they had to. Years later, the law has still not been corrected thereby cementing the breeding of a BWA culture of general disregard for rules, regulations and legislation.

Who or What is Am-Carib?
    This is shown in an internal memorandum to the General Manager dated May 10, 2010, on “Purchase of Meters for Halcrow Consultancy”, in which the BWA’s number two officer is instructed to “kindly advise” the Puerto Rican firm of Elser Amco Water Inc that purchases of any equipment for the Barbados Water Authority will be done through AM-Carib Trading Inc until any further instructions are advised by the Board.” And there is no direct or indirect indication whatsoever in the nine other pages of supporting documents, that the selection of AM-Carib had been based on competitive bidding in keeping with stated and well established government policy, unless under certain specific, special conditions.

Where is the transparency promised?
    Interestingly enough, subsequent correspondence from the BWA’s Procurement Manager referred to Am-Carib’s communication of October 26,2010 and complained that six months after the BWA had paid in advance, items ordered had not been received with “normal lead time” being “approximately 3-5 weeks ” from order date. Worthy of note is the fact that it is a Miami, Florida incorporated company whose directors have been stated to be McHugh Walcott, President; Lisa Pierre, Vice-President; and Richard Byer, Secretary and Treasurer.

Barbadians paying 60 per cent more for water would want to know if the Michael Walcott, listed as the company’s agent and authorised signature, of Atlanta, Georgia and manager of Kyan Holdings of Hollywood, Florida is the same as the known DLP operative who suddenly left Barbados? With requisitions D11392 and D11393 yet to be exposed, Minister David Estwick should want to speak out.

4. @BLP Geriatric brigade……………….One day, if you a are lucky sir,very lucky by today’s standards , you will become a member of a similar Geratric Brigade,that you are now knocking. Winston Churchill was no ‘young boy’ when he PM of Great Britain.

5. enuff dont curse me but cuh dear I positive I hear on the news the Minister of Tourism Sealy announce the Rihanna concert cost gob $4mil he say gob may lose a bit of money or break even. If he didnt say so tell me, you or anybody who didnt hear or read what Sealy say should speak up.

6. @Fractured

You are bang on.

7. @obediant | September 27, 2011 at 8:29 PM |

A voters revolt for Hal Martin to run in St. Thomas if this is the Regency Hotel fellow Hal Martin the revolt cannot be taken seriously.
    Hal Martin cannot win a seat anywhere in Bdos sorry Hal buddy dont make me laugh.

8. @Fractured

Tell enuff that he had some of the pie for the for fourteen years and a new set of people will get some for ten yeas and then it will be the blp change and thats how the pie will move around. What happened to all the moeny that a former vob announcer relived bwa of, and how much money the company he had made out of bwa. You can pose that question to see if enuff has convenient memory, also what consultancy work pat parris undertake for bwa and how much was she paid?

9. CCC you are not impressing anyone by fanning the flames of fire over gline clarke’s idiotic remarks. i repeat the racist comments supposedly made by mr clare pale into insignificance when compared to the cussing of white people by mr barrow. if you do not know ask anybody who followed political meetings in the 60’s when barrow was trying to capture the grass roots vote away from the blp. he had even suggested that white people be put on the TUG LORD COMBERMERE and put out to sea.so, CCC please do not try to score cheap political points by making a mountain out of a molehil. wheel and deal again, sir.l

10. balance man Barrow was right for the times after he combermere speech all
    the white people left for New Zealand and Australia not caring if black
    Barbados sink or swim when they reach down under and were treated as non whites they scurried back to Bdos to live happy and rich ever after.
    They owe not only Barrow but us tolerant forgiving blacks a big debt of gratitude.

You notice its only Commissiong does ask for reparations for the billions white people owe we for slave labour.

11. @ Obediant

One is either corrupt or not; and any attempt to justify corruption based on what occurred in a previous government is idiotic and disingenuous as it shows you are more interested in power than good governance. What if I argue that both CARSICOT and the St. Joseph Hospital affairs predated September, 1994?

Refute claims of corruption in the DLP post-January 2008 or keep quiet. It is this same holier than thou facade that has this government in a corner, and its BU operatives unable to list more than 5 achievements.

12. Not a few White Boys Avatar
    Not a few White Boys

It is said that life is charterised by conflict as opposed to compromise. It is also believed that relationships between groups and within groups are tenuous and for that reason, power struggles will often take place, especially if balance is not struck between the compromise to keep things going as there are and has always gone and to support the foundation of the said compromise. As I understand it, in the BLP there are two contending views: (1) change that will make the organization more relevant and responsive to the needs the people vs. (2) the defense of what has been in existence for the past 73 years – long before many of the very people the organization hopes to serve – were alive.

It is why many accept that President Obama is a breath of fresh air and what politics needed. He has ushered-in new hope, a new passion; a new energy and vitality, as well as a new level of transparency accountability – never before seen in politics. Like President Obama, Mia Mottley is battling to transform ‘the dingy; tribal politics’ long practised in this country and seeks to replace it with a new humane; gentler kinder politics. Through her sound and well-coordinated approach, she has already outlined plans for a new development model, which many are already hailing as: The Mia Mottley Development Model for: “A New, Just and Well-Ordered Society and a Sustainable and Moral, Creative Economy,” inclusive of a new economic sector in the cultural industry and sports.

What cannot be denied is Mia Mottley’s core-competency: ‘the ability to inspire; motivate; organise, mobilize and execute flawlessly. Barbadians also like her “Team Barbados” ‘Bi-partisan Approach.’ Mia Mottley is demonstrating effortlessly, what could be possible, even during a horrible recession – if Barbadians work together. Obviously, Mia Mottley’s core competencies and her ability to connect effortless with people – seem to be making some people extremely worried. Two Editorial pieces, one Sunday (September 25th 2011) from Albert Brandford and one today (September 28th 2011) from another person! I did not realise “their” problem was so severe and troubling!

But, never before in the history of Barbados has anyone ever seen a politician on one side of the aisle, ask an entire country to pray for someone on the other side, who was ailing. And, while political parties are in the business of winning elections, people enter public life to serve. Mia Mottley has demonstrated and continues to demonstrate that you do not have to be the Government in order to do things to change the life and circumstance of people.

Even before David Thompson died and since January 20th 2008 – Mia Mottley, was working extremely hard within the BLP, for the people of Barbados. The dismantled BLP website would have been proof but the people know and agree. The BLP might be occupied since October 18th 2010 and more so since October 28th 2010 – with winning the Government but it seems that Mia Mottley is more concerned with serving the people, as is evident by her having single-handedly championed causes like: Clico; the immigration policy; the government’s housing policy, the economy and so on, on behalf of Barbadians.

Even now, while some are concentrating on other things, Mia Mottley is working for the people and is doing innovative and remarkable things, like finding creative ways to put money in their pockets, now – when it really matters. While she would not have set out to prove this point, I think Mia Mottley is demonstrating effortlessly, that once there is interest and know-how and with the right leadership – even a political party in Opposition should also be able to do things for people. She is right not to be concerning herself with internal BLP matters (real or perceived) which will only serve as a distraction from her continuing the unmatched work she is doing on behalf of Barbadians. Now seriously: what is the BLP doing? What cause or causes is it championing at this time?

On the political side: it does not matter from whence a good idea comes – if the people and the society will benefit – then it will receive Mia Mottley’s support. It is not difficult to understand why Mia Mottley hovers high above partisan politics and that unquestionable fact has not escaped even DLP supporters. I think that is what has her very few critics on edge: they cannot get under her skin; rattle her or even force her hand. She is not allowing herself to be pushed and that seems to be their (who-ever they are) tremendous discomfort. Mia Mottley being in the BLP allows the people to see what is and what is possible. What is even more interesting is that the people now making the most noise in the BLP’s name – were nowhere to be seen or heard when David Thompson was in his prime. It was then that Mia Mottley needed assistance but she was on her own, yet did a remarkable job.

A view has long been expressed that the dependence on official political sources prevents the media (obsolete traditional media that is) from serving as the “watchdog” of political activities. What I have observed is that Mia Mottley said what was necessary for her to have said (in relation to happenings within the BLP) and that is that. She has long moved-on and is focused and attending to the people’s business. She should continue to ignore any and all distractions. Yes! There is a clamour for her and yes, Barbadians find her acceptable so for Heaven sake – leave the woman alone so that she can continue to do what she is doing to put money in the people’s pockets, now!

Here is something else to ponder: Social Scientists believe that whenever there is a contending power (Mia Mottley being the people’s reality) there is likely to be attempts by the WEAK elements within that relationship, to alter it in order to gain footing within the relationship or the take advantage of it. This they call: “CONFLICT-MOVES.” It is also posited that any such behaviour will naturally result in crime or similar conduct. What was Mia Mottley’s concern again?

13. @Enuff

Going by the article in Barbados Today all I can say is, What a breath of fresh air! Someone is actually being made accountable for breaching financial rules and Heads are starting to roll. Kudos to the Minister for reading the riot act to those responsible and not being swayed by Party membership.

When last did this happen in Barbados?

Estwick has gone up a few notches in my estimation.

14. Agree with Sargeant. A minister speaking such language in this day and age is unheard of. Let us see if he can follow through.

15. @ Sargeant

But his actions do not mask what has already happened– CORRUPTION–, which DLP operatives on BU claim is alien to this administration.

16. @Enuff

If you want to play the political game I can play it as well as you. When I grew up we used to say “yuh gotta give Jack e jacket” and the Minister’s proposed action is certainly deserving of praise. If the “corruption” as you put it occurred his decision taking in the aftermath is a step in the right direction.

You can hold the BWA tendering process as an example of corruption over the heads of “DLP operatives” they will have plenty ammo to fire back at you, my point is the Minister became aware of a problem and is taking action to rectify it. His candour about the issue is refreshing and it is an attitude that has been missing from Ministers of the Crown in Barbados.

We should welcome it.

17. @ David

“Nothing inspires forgiveness quite like revenge”

David Estwick is one of the few sparks in an otherwise bland set of Ministers. A no-nonsense man, a fellow who made a life for himself before politics not becase of it.

It appears to me that since the beginning of this administration alot of effort has gone into trying to discredit David Estwick, the last injustice cruelly delivered by a dying man in late 2010. In relation to talent the old people always say, “cork does float”

We have a Minister of Finance who will always be remembered by the famous yet idiotic statement on CBC on relation to CLICO investor and policy holder concerns “no premium, no company, no company…..stress”

David Estwick go on your way, those who stand in you way try to go around, those who block you try to go over, but those who try to stop you roll over and don’t look back.

18. The very fact that Gline Clarke admits that he had a meeting with Arthur regarding his candidature suggests there is some fire to this story. There is a process for identifying candidates which does not include having a meeting with the political leader. The man is an incumbent since 1994 isn’t he?

19. @ sargeant
    I am not in the tic-4-tac political game, I just wanted to make the point that the post below by a blogger was misleading:

Fractured BLP Party | September 27, 2011 at 8:49 PM |
    “What an easy question so early in the day.No thiefing and raping of the public purse like the BLP administration did.A very proud DLP track record.That deserves an A grade.”

What Dr. Estwick did and is doing is undeniably upstanding and admirable. Next leader of the DLP in my opinion.

Leave a Reply to EnuffCancel reply