Austin

The people of Barbados spoke loud and clear in the last election for change they could touch and feel. Their vote came after hearing all the “right stuff” as detailed in the DLP manifesto. However what was lost in the excitement of the historic moment was an analysis of whether the promises in the DLP manifesto could actually be fulfilled.  At this point the answer appears to be an honest and disappointing “NO”, but don’t take my word for it go review the DLP manifesto and see what was accomplished to date “not much at all”.  The blaming of the global recession for all our challenges in Barbados as a reason to “not act” in defense of Bajan families on a wide range of issues, gets weaker by the minute.

As a political observer the logical question that comes to mind is whether “today” the people’s choice of a DLP administration to bring about desired chance was a good choice, again the answer is been proven as “NO”.

Related Link

Whether you like it or not the BLP has put Barbados back on track historically at key moments, we are at one of those “moments now” and we simply need the BLP running this country again.

I’m not a political strategist but if the BLP can tame MM, produce quality candidates, take on a visible people first oriented campaign, demonstrate compassion for the average Bajan family, and insert new blood in it’s ranks, the BLP will WIN the next election.  However what remains to be seem is if BLP leadership can accomplish the above.

1. Observing
    I will educate them about what is happening in the developed world not our neighbours whose standard of living is below that of Barbados
    Barbados was paying for education from nursery to tertiary long before all of those islands. Free health care, free school books, free bus fares for school children and pensioners. Where does the money for this come from. TAXES so therefore pay to drive.
    By the way read this story in today’s Daily mail in England where the most of our tourists come from. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2038440/Cost-basics-shopping-basket-10-elderly-face-worst-food-price-hikes.html

2. arteerexeres, i find your comments reasonably balanced wityhin the context of the topic but both political parties have outlived their usefulness. what party politics has served to do in recent times is to thrust a bunch of opportunists who recognise the worth of toeing a party line into positions of governance which they are unable to handle. i reiterate that parliament should the place for representatives to look after the interests of their constituents and not professional politicians operating out of expediency for the benefit of the party.

3. @ Clone
    Austin really voted 12 times? lmao. I haven’t and will not cast a vote.

@ Observing
    Yes Christ Church as well especially CCSouth and don’t forget St. James Central. The BLP just needs to hold their 9 seats, regain CCS and SJC and take 5 of the 9 current DLP St. Michael seats. Who are the 5 weakest candidates: Sinckler, Sealy, Kenny Best, Todd, PM Freundel, Carrington, James Paul, Blackett and Hammie?

4. @ All DLP supporters

Barbados had a government leadership crisis at a time when one is needed to navigate many social and economic storms. The current PM is brillant but not a leader as a result there is lack of focus and strategic thinking in the DLP ranks.

I vote for who is best for poor people in bim as the black and white elites always seem to sort themselves out.

There is a look on total despair forming on the faces of many black bajan man that wanna better pay attention too as bob marley said “a hungry man is a angry man”.

Leadeship is needed to:
    -Cut wasteful government spending
    -lower the cost of living
    -restructing of our economic profile
    -attract offshore investment
    -lower inflated housing cost
    -improve the overall marketing of bim
    -expand the middle class
    -remove the monopoly in key areas that elites have had for years.

Owen Arther is a “proven” leader who has serve the caribbean region, I thank him for still willing to serve when barbados needs him more that ever. Not emotion fact.

While nations are retooling we are doing what “nothing”. As a nation we need to raise to the intellectual occasion and do what’s best for poor people in barbados.

And today the BLP is what’s best for barbados.

5. @clone
    Revisit my comment and you’ll see your response is misplaced. Standard of living is subjective. I’ll let you point out the constituencies that are “for sure safe” DLP seats and we go from there.

@balance
    Well said

@enuff
    Historically I agree that St. James is another “uncertain.” I don’t think the average person yet appreciates that the BLP needs only 6 seats to reach 15, 7 to regain government. This is not an impossibility.

PR wins elections, a la 2008’s billboards, cartoons, T-shirts etc. It’ll take that and more to hold all 21 seats this time around.

6. @ Clone
    Sorry, food prices were climbing before the elections in 2008 so don’t attempt to belittle people for complaining, blame the DLP for misleading the electorate.

http://www.odi.org.uk/resources/download/1009.pdf

7. @David

Did Owen and Wood not refuse to give Petro Caribe serious condiseration?

8. Enuff who gwine beat Sinckler didnt know BLP had candidate running against Chris cherry picker Clyde dont want no part of Sinkcler .

Arthur scrounging around for a safe seat for Mascoll which means he have to give St.Peter to Clydie. Politics is strange Churchill was kicked out after mashing up Hitler and saving England but in truth I cannot see where a deeply fractured BLP can win the next election. Were I in charge of theDees I would court Mia and bury Athur one time. I wont be surprised if Irene sends pigmy Hats to his political graveyard.

9. Well I already said on this blog that I voting against DEM next time so wunna ain’t got to poll me.

Somebody say that the Bees looking for 7 seats?
    Well tell them to put St. George South in the bag and only look for six.

10. @ Politician

They don’t need to beat Sinckler, as I said 5 out of 9.
    Both Mia and Sinckler want to be PM as well as Estwick, it is therefore best for those three that Mia remains a Bee.
    Irene Sandiford Garner failed and fainted during a massive swing, she will have to come very, very good to win this time.

@Raw Bake
    Leave Dr. Suckoo out of this….can’t call all. lol

11. @Enuff
    At my last count, without a swing or election frenzy and PR the DLP had already lost 4-5 seats. Anything less than the campaign blitz of 2008 or an act of God over the next 12 months just may see them losing more.

12. The St.George South BLP Candidate Dwight Sutherland represents exactly the type of new BLP politician needed in the ranks to WIN the next general election … Dwight Sutherland is genuinely interested in doing all that Dr.Suckoo has not been able to do for St.Goerge South and Barbados.

St.George South support for Dwight Sutherland is growing by the minute.

13. It is amazing to recall how Arthur made it easy for the DLP to win the last election by first not calling elections early when Thompson and Mascoll were at it and then during the campaign introducing the stupid co-leader debate.

This time around we have a DLP who should have introduced Integrity and FOI legislation – which has nothing to do with the economy – but instead continue down the same path of not wanting to shake the rotten apples from the tree.

If the DLP loses the next election it will be because Stuart was too chicken to call election after Thompson died to get a revised mandate and then not passing the low hanging legislation which would have wonn popularity with the people.

14. Given the level of turmoil in the BLP, it is well njgh impossible for Owen Arthur and his rejects to be taken seriously. While I understand the “show” the BLP supporters have to demonstrate on BU site, the truth remains Barbadians are not ready to re – install Owen Arthur the crook.

* The rank & file of the BLP are still vex about how Mia Mottley was treated.

* Rawle Eastmond’s question about voter padding for the delegate conference in October 2010 has not been addressed by Owen Arthur.

* Owen Arthur yet again was exposed in the Parliament of Barbados for lying to Barbadians about his involvement in VECO.

* Because there is no “healing” in the BLP Mia Mottlley as recently as last week still fumes about her treatment in that party.

Barbadian voters would not be fooled….the crookery of Owen Arthur was his demise in 2008…….the revelations to be exposed within the next 12 months will convince bajans that their decision in 2008 was the correct one.

Look at the recent photos in the public domain…..Mia Mottley is no fool ..

15. @Austin
    If Austin says ” Leadership is needed to:Cut wasteful government spending”
    Then WE CERTAINLY DO NOT NEED Owen Arthur. Owen Arthur’s record on this is TERRIBLE – Gems, Greenland environmental madness, half million dollar shower at Silver Sands, Radio announcers as contractors at UDC,ETC,ETC,ETC – Read the Auditor General reports -You have a short memory.You cannot in good conscience encourage people to suppot this.Bajans are not stupid.
    If Arthur did not cut waste in 14 years, you think he cares about that now-PLEASE!
    If you beleive that Arthur will cut waste in Government, then you probably beleive that pigs fly and that the US and British Economy are at full employment.

16. Spot on Pat.

17. Whoever wins the general election it will be up to them to keep the tourisses happy and as you can see from these tourists complaints keeping tourisses happy ain’t an easy job at all. I must admit that number 5 is my favourite (although number 20 gives stiff lol!!!! competition) Thank God we don’t have any elephants in Barbados with the rudeness to compete with our guests. But whoever wins gine have to work on fixing the sand and sea things, 7,8, and 12.

A recent survey from Thomas Cook and the Association of British Travel Agents revealed 20 of the most ridiculous complaints by holiday-makers made to their travel agent.

1. “I think it should be explained in the brochure that the local store does not sell proper biscuits like custard creams or ginger nuts.”

2. “It’s lazy of the local shopkeepers to close in the afternoons. I often needed to buy things during ‘siesta’ time — this should be banned.”

3. “On my holiday to Goa in India, I was disgusted to find that almost every restaurant served curry. I don’t like spicy food at all.”

4. “We booked an excursion to a water park but no-one told us we had to bring our swimming costumes and towels.”

5. A tourist at a top African Game Lodge overlooking a water hole, who spotted a visibly aroused elephant, complained that the sight of this rampant beast ruined his honeymoon by making him feel “inadequate.”

6. A woman threatened to call police after claiming that she’d been locked in her hotel room by staff. In fact, she had mistaken the “do not disturb” sign on the back of the door as a warning to remain in the room.

7. “The beach was too sandy.”

8. “We found the sand was not like the sand in the brochure.Your brochure shows the sand as yellow but it was white.”

9. A guest at a Novotel in Australia complained his soup was too thick and strong. He was inadvertently slurping the gravy at the time.

10. “Topless sunbathing on the beach should be banned. The holiday was ruined as my husband spent all day looking at other women.”

11. “We bought ‘Ray-Ban’ sunglasses for five euros from a street trader, only to find out they were fake.”

12. “No one told us there would be fish in the sea. The children were startled.”

13. “It took us nine hours to fly home from Jamaica to England, it only took the Americans three hours to get home.”

14. “I compared the size of our one-bedroom apartment to our friends’ three-bedroom apartment and ours was significantly smaller.”

15. “The brochure stated: ‘No hairdressers at the accommodation.’ We’re trainee hairdressers — will we be OK staying there?”

16. “There are too many Spanish people. The receptionist speaks Spanish. The food is Spanish. Too many foreigners now live abroad.”

17. “We had to queue outside with no air conditioning.”

18. “It is your duty as a tour operator to advise us of noisy or unruly guests before we travel.”

19. “I was bitten by a mosquito, no-one said they could bite.”

20. “My fiancé and I booked a twin-bedded room but we were placed in a double-bedded room. We now hold you responsible for the fact that I find myself pregnant. This would not have happened if you had put us in the room that we booked.”

18. This blog has gone totally offtrack, the question is “who would you vote for in the next elections?” It appears the silly season is truly on, not only are the sitting members of the DLP exp[osed to the viewers every night religiously, but now those trying to win seats on the DLP are now getting their turn at canvassing for free. Last night it was Harry Husbands’ turn, I can’t believe the CBC cameras would follow him to St James North to film him clearing a trench, with the help of the MPT vehicle and did not care to also film the sitting member from the constituentcy who was less than two miles away looking after his constituents. CBC your tail is showing, your obvious bias will turn of the right think independent voter from voting for you. It is time you (CBC) show some level of maturity and professionalism. This type of behaviour will only result in many of you losing you little pick if the government is changed again. You must rise above this type of belaviour

miles away looking after his constituents. CBC the higher you climb the more of your tail is showing, this obviuos bias can turn right thinking independent voters

19. Further signs of bias was earlier displayed when the CBC only reported the Transport Minister views of the Scotland district, when both members of the opposition who toured their constituentcies were visibly checking on the damage done to their areas, even during the time the camera crew was down there filming the Minister.Is this the new DLP, CBC ?

20. Can this football tournament that seems to be led by Mia Mottley give her a major trump card against Arthur. If the St. Michael constituencies hold the key to the next election and the young people are drawn to her from this tournament one may find that those constituencies prefer Mia over Owen. Therefore, the BLP will have to re-think having Owen leading them into election. One thing is for certain, the BLP will not win elections if thy are divided. Either Mia or Owen will have to eat humble pie and put party before self.

IMO: Mia leads the party, Owen and Clyde should be part of the economic team and a solidly unified party after the AGM. their is no more time for fighting. Bajans want the BLP but not divided. I am between 25-40 age grouping and I have been led by the BLP for the majority of my adult life. Compared to the DLP leadership now, persons between ages 25-40 will make the easy decision and vote BLP.

21. @Str8 Up
    ” am between 25-40 age grouping and I have been led by the BLP for the majority of my adult life. Compared to the DLP leadership now, persons between ages 25-40 will make the easy decision and vote BLP”

Round Two to the BLP.

22. @ Pat
    “Radio announcers as contractors at UDC,ETC,ETC,ETC ”

Does that mean the radio announcers were the ones building the houses? A Contractor could be a business person (s) who is also an artisan or simply a business headed by people with no building skills/experience (radio announcers included) who have artisans on staf to do the construction.

For example, the DLP recently granted a US$500 million contract to SMI to redevelop the Pierhead Marina. According to the Nation newspaper, the company’s principals include Glyne Bannister, Ben Arrindell and Mitch Codrington–2 accountants and a lawyer. Have they ever ‘built’ a marina or anthing for that matter? Of course not, but they will use personnel with the requisite skills to get the job done. Just like a radio announcer having a mason, carpenter, painter, plumber, tiler etc ON STAFF.

23. @Enuff

You correct, it is reminiscent of the composition of 3S overseas which had 5 employees…lol.

24. Furthermore, unlike 2008 the Dems now have a record to defend and it is not squeaky clean, so the transparency and corruption free image of the last election is no longer an advantage. I noticed the Bees are very silent on the issue of shady deals, they are only giving us snippets.

25. @ David

Correct. lol
    Contractor: a person or firm that contracts to supply materials or labour, esp for building; a person who is a party to a contract

26. A contractor on simple projects like the UDC ones are totally different to a contravtor on big projects. On the big projects, there are project managers, Site Foremen, and the owner/s of the project being done would have at lease a Clerk- of- Works, who is to see that the project is being done the way the owners require; obviously there would be engineers, and quantity surveyors. On a simply UDC project, because of the cost limitations, the contractor is the one who has to oversee the quality, both in time and cost, therefore he/she should have a hands-on experience of what is being done. Many time, again because of cost, the quality of the artisans is questionable, therefore much of the work is inferior.

27. Observing
    You make statements that are intellectually dishonest to prove your point.
    Now here is a definition of standard of living – Standard of living refers to the level of wealth, comfort, material goods and necessities available to a certain socioeconomic class in a certain geographic area. The standard of living includes factors such as income, quality and availability of employment, class disparity, poverty rate, quality and affordability of housing, hours of work required to purchase necessities, gross domestic product, inflation rate, number of vacation days per year, affordable (or free) access to quality healthcare, quality and availability of education, life expectancy, incidence of disease, cost of goods and services, infrastructure, national economic growth, economic and political stability, political and religious freedom, environmental quality, climate and safety. The standard of living is closely related to quality of life.
    Now how is that subjective? Most of the above can be measured. Therefore you cannot separate the standard of living of a country from the revenue available to the country to improve such as the above.

28. @The Scout – You are Bang On!
    On a UDC project, because of the cost limitations, the contractor is the one who has to oversee the quality, both in time and cost, therefore he/she should have a hands-on experience of what is being done.
    Therefore the use of many unqualified, inexperienced party cronies who suddenly became contractors and were even “reparing” schools led to the shoddy work,wastage (it would be politically incorrect to say “tieffin” during the Arthur years.

29. @clone
    If you knew my point I trust you wouldn’t be so harsh in your response.

Also, statistics, definitions and international “standards” do nothing to soothe the perception, emotions, discomfort or concern of some average persons, regardless of class or status.

I may have a high “statistical or economic” standard of living but a poor quality of life and little to no hope or comfort in the future.

30. Observing
    My point is the standard of living of Barbadians is superior to that of most countries in the Caribbean and the Americas and therefore if we are going to maintain that standard of living then there can be no lowering of taxes if you want to keep paying the civil servants that your party increase after it was reduced in 1994, added that the two main pillars of the economy, tourism and international business are not motoring on all cylinders.
    Another of your party fairy tale mouthing’s is that the cost of living can be reduce at this stage. No party can get prices lower at this time as the World Bank predicts that food prices will rise even higher. The people will not be fooled by the BLP
    Your economic wizard says to sell more land and his side kick (know all) says to lower vat on the electric bills. That may please the populace for the elections but the IMF policies after would have them now knowing what is hardship.

31. @Clone: “No party can get prices lower at this time as the World Bank predicts that food prices will rise even higher.

I respectfully disagree.

Any party could lower food prices (and thus the cost of living) by having more indigenously grown food.

How would they do this?

By encouraging the RBFP to truly investigate and prosecute larceny against farmers.

And by ensuring that our producers can actually make a profit from their efforts to produce food for ourselves on our own land (rather than having it stolen out from under them just before it is to be harvested) — this might attract future investment.

Such as, for example, our youth who might be interested in agriculture.

Just putting that out there for consideration….

32. @Chistopher

We can produce locally gown food Cheaper? Are you for real, look at the cost of eggs, the cost of blackbelly lamb, sometimes locally grown sweet potato cost six dollars a pound etc.

Our cost of production is very high, despite the subsidies given to farmers,

We have to grow some of our own food in our back yard to cut down on cost, Plant fruit trees and vegetables and help ourselves. I just sold forty breadfruits to the supermarkets and got one hundred dollars. A few weeks earlier some men passed around and picked the cocnuts and left sixty dollars. I cite thse two examples to show how we can help ourselves to reduce out food bill. I dont buy oranges,golden apples, avocado, soursop, ortinques, plumbs and all on small piece of land. Dont grow the vegatvles now, but money made from selling some of my spoils, i will use to buy vegtables.

Hope u and bu readers get the drift,

33. @David

What emperical evidence can you produced that if the DLP loses the next election it would because stuart refused to call elections after the death of thompson ad the non passing of integrity legislation.

Was any survey undertaken or are you are trying to theorise? Just curious

34. Obediant

Just using commonsense.

35. @obediant: “We can produce locally gown food Cheaper? Are you for real, look at the cost of eggs, the cost of blackbelly lamb, sometimes locally grown sweet potato cost six dollars a pound etc.

Please don’t be so obedient obediant.

Of ***course*** we can produce food for ourselves for less than others would provide it to us.

Why are you being so obedient obediant?

36. @Clone
    Presuming my party colours will discolour your arguments. Secondly, is “most” of Barbados enjoying this standard of living that you speak about? Thirdly, are you saying that not selling land and keeping vat on light bills is helping to keep the country afloat and out of the hands of the IMF?

Lastly and most importantly, let’s stop talking about other countries and discuss ours for a bit. Let’s see what our REAL problems are regardless of who caused them, what the REAL solutions could be regardless of who or which party we need to implement them and then state the REAL sacrifices all of us as a people and a country have to make to move forward. Partisan spoutings, comparisons and blame do nothing to further our state as a nation nor does it make our young and older people any more comfortable, happy or secure. That’s where our discussion should really lie..

37. Observing
    I recognize that you are an intelligent person, who can think rationally when you want to. How can we intelligently discuss Barbados in a vacuum? What resources do we have that have allowed us to be placed 42nd on the human development index? It was the foundation left by the colonial masters and the borrowing of money on the international market by all governments since independence who sometimes used it wisely. We are now totally dependent on earning foreign exchange from the service industries which involved the same countries that are experiencing tremendous stress in their economies.
    That is a balanced argument outside of taking a political side. Barbados has done reasonably well under the DLP government and the BLP supporters know that but as usual come on this blog trying to make people feel that people are suffering to the extent that the government caused it.
    Christopher
    I agree with your argument about the growing of local food. This government must set about to help the farmers. The Defense Force should be the ones who are on patrol around the agricultural areas at night to help stop praedial larceny. The court system is not helping, a man carry away four chocolates two weeks ago and get two weeks in prison, a man carry a cow and got probation or some other dotish sentence.
    Cucumbers take about six to eight weeks to grow then someone comes and takes them away. Why would you want to plant again?

38. @Clone: “The Defense Force should be the ones who are on patrol around the agricultural areas at night to help stop praedial larceny.

Thanks for that. And I agree.

Shoot to wound.

Shoot to kill is not necessary.

It would go a long way….

39. “Of ***course*** we can produce food for ourselves for less than others would provide it to us.:

I can say for a fact that a lot of food (vegetables and fruit) grown in Barbados is marked up 400% after the farmer sells it to the “middle men and women”.

Nothing will change until a real crisis develops.

Meanwhile do a little research and find out which country is one of the largest supplier of “english apples” and apple juice concentrate.
    Next time you buy Canadian salmon check the country of origin.

40. I think rationally always. I argue emotionally with women sometimes.

Explaining our economic dependence on other countries and its impact on us is a completely different and better argument than saying we are “ok” because others are worse off and our standard of living is good. Barbados has done incredibly well through the years given our limited resources, under both governments. We are just at a challenging stage and honestly seeking the best person(s) to navigate us through it, whichever side of the fence they’re on. The DLP is not and cannot be fully to blame for our current difficulties. But, what is important is that people ARE suffering, and they will seek someone to blame for it, which leads us back to the “question title” of this thread. There are things which a government must and should do in “crises” such as the one we’re in…the most important ones being communicate, reassure and be transparent. Our government is getting a not so good grade in these areas, and I suspect that regardless of what happens or is revealed about the BLP that John Public just may judge them harshly as a result.

Food security is another critical issue that neither Paul, Benn or Estwick seem to be able to stem or at least appear to be trying to stem. They too may be judged harshly when the time comes.

41. @Christopher

Please show me how we can produce food cheaper instead of stating that we can do it.

I am a very slow learner so i need things to be spealt out in details.

You got the drift. Thats why i am a follower.

42. @David

You know very well that you have to produce emperical evidence to make your dedutive leap and this common sense talk will not run with me.

These sound bites you use somtimes dont always have currency. So go and come again.

43. @Obediant

It is your choice to believe what you want.

44. @David

Can you recall talking about democracy, that what it is about you putting your point of view and i refuting or agreeing in a respectful way.

You believe what you want to believe and so do I.

I rest my case abd have a pleasant night.

45. @ Pat and @ Scout

Unna talking rubbish!!!!

The Contractor is merely the entity that enters into the contract with the company, and whether it is a $500m dollar marina or a $50,000 house, it can have a ‘Project Manager’ managing onsite quality control matters. Moreover, the ability to recognise quality on a house does not require any special training, most Bajans know when a tiler, mason, painter or carpenter do bad work.

I am sure if an analysis was done of the ‘Contractors’ who did shoddy work it would show that the majority of those jobs were the persons with the artisanal and hands-on experience, but lacked the business skills to be REAL Contractors.

By the way the DLP doing it too; and may I remind Pat that consultants are also Contractors many of whom don’t have a clue about the ministries and boards they are being paid handsomely to ‘advise’.

46. Excerpts from the PM Thompson’s 2007 Budget reply. Priceless I say.

“It is unacceptable that a housewife, even with the increased cost of airline tickets, could get on a plane and fly from here to Trinidad or St. Lucia and do a month’s shopping at a price cheaper to what she would pay here in Barbados, even if she took the Government’s advice and drove all around Barbados, picking up an item at 21 different supermarkets.”

“Barbados can and should rest assured that a Democratic Labour Party
    administration will do something tangible and meaningful about this vexing issue of the cost of living…because as I said from the outset, we are beholden to no one. ”

“Suffice it to say, that a Democratic Labour Party administration will not be beholden to any interest group in Barbados and that we will take the fight to those who are responsible for artificially increasing the price of goods in Barbados.”

“While a full DLP energy policy will be unveiled in the weeks ahead I am moved this evening to tell Barbadians that on electing a new DLP administration we will commit to removing the VAT on utility bills for households and businesses alike.We strongly feel that while this will cause some loss in revenue for the government the additional spur of business from greater household disposable income and business
    revenue for greater investments will more than make up for the shortfalls. ”

“What are you in power for? Use the offices you have to produce outcomes that serve the interests of the people who elected you. ”

“Nobody over there wants to admit it but this government is ultimately responsible for the fact that ordinary Barbadians cannot eke out a living in this country. Make no mistake, it is the job of the government and the role of the state to intervene in the market to correct failings of the system and re-balance inequities therein.”

47. enuff perhaps the bees are silent because their hands are not clean either and they have to keep their hands between their legs. david your recent comments are quite balanced.

48. clone are you out of your mind? it was the DLP who traversed the lenght and breadth of barbados accusing the BLP of contributing to the high cost of living by “being in bed with the white people”. AND NOW YOU TELLING ME FOOLISHNES. GIVE ME A BREAK MAN. the fuel i using in my car according to my statistics is costing me between 19-21 dollars more now than prior to 2008 when the price of fuel on the world market was higher. as i always say you have a right to support whivchever party you like but you have a responsibilty to state the facts or avoid debate which is to your detriment. the fact is that the DLP LIED BIGTIME TO WIN THE ELECTIONS AND EVEN THE US EMBASSY FROM THEIR WIKILEAKS REPORTED THAT TO OBAMA.

49. I HAVE A DIFFICULTY WITH THIS GOING BACK TO LAND- GROWING YOUR OWN FOOD BANDWAGON THING. WHAT ARE WE GOING TO GROW THAT THE MAJORITY OF BARBADIANS LIKE OR EAT THAT WOULD MAKE AN IMPACT ON FOOD IMPORTATION AND THE COST OF FOOD? THE MAJORITY OF BARBADIANS EAT RICE , CHICKEN, FISH OR MEAT. DESPITE OUR BEST EFFORTS, WE ARE SELFSUFFICIENT IN NONE AND FISH IS SEASONAL.MANY PEOPLE DO NOT EAT GROUND PROVISIONS. ARE WE GOING TO FORCE THEM TO EAT WHAT THEY DO NOT LIKE. RICE AND PEAS IS OUR STAPLE DIET. WE DO NOT GROW OR CANNOT GROW RICE AND THE ONLY PEAS WE HARVEST IS GREEN PEAS. IS OUR STAPLE DIET.

50. @balance,
    Barbados can grow all the food it needs and should.

Leave a Reply to HantsCancel reply