The news that Trinidad has overtaken Jamaica as the murder capital of the English speaking Caribbean should be a wakeup call for Barbadians. Despite several assurances from Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite and Commissioner of Police Darwin Dottin – who seem persuaded by the statistics – ordinary Barbadians in the workplaces, supermarkets, bus stops and elsewhere have become very concerned that serious crime is on the rise in Barbados.

Barbadians in the majority applaud the Barbados Police force (BPF) for doing a good job to catch criminals. To echo the statistic given by the Commissioner during his most recent press conference, the BPF has a success rate of about 70% murder solve rate. The issue which the leadership of law and order in Barbados fails to grasp is that such a statistic will do little to quell the rising fear that murders and other serious crime is occurring in Barbados with ready frequency.

Of the many characteristics which differentiate Barbados from the rest; we are known to enjoy a stable social and political landscape. The one thing which can disrupt it is for crime to be perceived as being out of control. BU does not have to recount the story of the bloodbath which resulted in the hunt for Dudus Coke or the circumstances which led the Trinidad government to impose a curfew which has had to be extended.

Here is where it gets murky for the BU household and makes us question if the Attorney General, Commissioner et al take Bajans for fools. How are so many guns entering Barbados? Can the Police speak to why our borders are so easy to infiltrated by those smuggling guns into Barbados? Again the not so stupid Bajans know that where there are illegal guns to be found drugs will be also.

In order to win the battle against rising crime in Barbados, especially serious crime, we need to remove the huge number of guns in circulation and equally as important stop the flow.To be successful the Immigration and Customs Departments will have to complement what the BPF is doing or we are spinning top in mud. Additionally we have to stop the talk about cash for gold operations and shut those backroom operations down. The average Bajan knows that cash for gold is part of the problem. In the same way our government worked overtime to enact sunset legislation for CWC2007 the need to show the same urgency exist to legislate the cash for gold operation. We need to act and stop the dry talk.

Crime cannot be seen as an opportunity to spin yarns to look good for the public. We the people demand a solid action plan be drafted and the required resources made available to execute. Let us work harder to keep Barbados sweet.

1. @CCC: “You need to get hold of the 2011 – 12 Annual report.

I executed this query… http://www.weforum.org/s?s=annual+report

There was no resultant 2011 – 12 report.

So, then, either you are lying to us, or the World Economic Forum is.

Or both.

Hmmmmm….

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

OH DEAR ME CHRIS

It looks like you can’t read too well.
    Let me repeat:-
    “Ask General Secretary Dennis Clarke of the National Union Of Public Workers for a copy of his copy.”

3. My dear nevu Halsall
    stupseeeeeeeeeee, outside rale cold, I gine n drunk a ol brigan. stupseeee

4. @CCC: “It looks like you can’t read too well.

Please trust me. I read very well.

Please let me repeat…

Please provide us with what you claim.

You bullshit artist….

5. @Bonny……..please spare de pussy, it might be yuh own yuh gine kill ded. Yuh want jail fuh killing yuh pussy? Leff de pussy alone. Rememba Lord Kitch wid de song my pussin well leff de pussin alone!

what yuh cooking dis rainy evening? Ah cook some grilled chicken and got some red beans and rice in coconut milk a Jamaican recipe ….umm smell and taste two sweet! My dogs waiting pon de food ah cooking and leffing out dem food. Dem likes my cooking it seems. Lawd eff dis rain keep up we gine drown dis time around.

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

CHRIS

One thing about you, you always want some one to do your work for you.

How much are you paying?

7. Islandgal
    LOL.
    Dis weatha fa leatha so jess now I gine n mek rite tings riter wid my boo. Nine munts from today I shud got a bran new new bran buoy or gurl. preferblee a buoy.
    Stay chune fa updates.

8. @ Scout
    You are 100% right to raise the alarm!
    More than 25 murders in Bdos this year! That is ridiculous!

Too many Pols who are playing a game but are NOT true leaders. Govt needs to implement strict programmes to develop the youth. The option of FAILURE MUST BE ELIMINATED! POLITICAL CORRECTNESS BE DAMNED! Either youth choose to follow a plan that appeals to them and the needs of BIM OR you go to Military School for training and DISCIPLINE!
    SIMPLE DAT! Legalise all drugs and thereby eliminate that high paying career option! Time has long come to do what is right for inexperienced youth everywhere because they know NOTHING!

The Pols dont have the leadership/ honesty to grab the situation by the nuts! Doing the clever things does NOT pay the highest price!

9. There was a time in Errol Barrow and Tom Adam’s era when we boasted about being a model for the world.

Now we are happy to benchmark against countries like us.

10. I will be heartened if we can go through this week-end without a murder.

11. Looking at the various reports “poor work ethic in the national labour force” seem to always to be in top 3 reason so I think we can ignore that as a factor for increase criminal activity.

Leave a Reply to Carson C. CadoganCancel reply