Submitted by The Scout

Reverend Errington Massiah

There was an interesting article in this week’s Nation newspaper by Father Errington Massiah about the failure of two sixth form schools not gaining Barbados Scholarships. While what the Education Minister Ronald Jones said is true, he should have pointed out the flawed system used to determine the entry to secondary schools in Barbados.

As it stands Harrison College and Queens College take the cream of the crop, the other schools take the remainder. What is interesting is that for sixth form these two schools again take the top achievement students from all the other schools, it therefore stands that these two schools [Harrisons and Queens College] should take all or most of the Barbados Scholarships.

What must be realised is that all of those students who gained scholarship each year from Harrison College especially did not obtain their early secondary education at that school, instead some came from the other secondary schools, even schools which have a sixth form. Great respect is due to those students who achieve Barbados Scholarships and  Exhibitions who attended the lesser secondary schools, especially the newer ones.

Maybe it is time that Barbados focuses on offering scholarships in fields other than the academics. There are many children who are gifted in carpentry, masonry, culinary arts, graphics, other fine arts and other non-traditional scholarship areas that need assistance in furthering their studies.

In the international work world a highly qualified skilled person is more acceptable that a highly qualified academic. There are many persons with these bachelor or masters degrees who are producing below their qualifications. On the contrary, many lesser qualified skilled persons are in great demand. Maybe it is time the Ministry of Education to refocus the system by rebranding some of our secondary schools to skills schools. Perhaps only then will the playing field for skilled students to be granted Barbados Scholarship be levelled.

1. Halsall I wrote “we did have”
    instead of “had” cause I is a Bajan.

2. @Hants: “Halsall I wrote “we did have” instead of “had” cause I is a Bajan.

Hey, that’s cool. I’m a Bajan too.

But both forms are the past tense.

3. @islandgal
    I’m glad you balanced the “male bashing” with the need for women to also play their part. It’s a big part for both sexes.

@Hants, David and Chris
    An abundance of good male teachers are a thing of the past. You would mostly find them now in industrial/science areas now and lets be honest, a good few of them are grappling with their own sexuality (another issue all together). All other teaching areas are heavily female dominated. Female teachers of old brought a “natural maternal” slant to teaching that enhanced their pastoral and academic care as well as their teaching. Most female teachers now are either young and ill equipped; older, tired and unable to handle the challenges being presented; or focused on things other than what many of our young boys need when they come to school.

If we’re really interested in the damage being done to our young growing males just check the male-female teacher ratio in primary schools. Our problems are being created long before secondary school.

4. Men are only seeking excuses for their failure to behave like men and do the hard work instead of merely concentrating on their ability to procreate. What are the reasons given for male academic failure again? The 11+, co-education, too many female teachers, degrees take too long….give me a farking break!

5. Our problems are being created long before secondary school.
    …and this particular problem has its genesis in co-education.

6. @BT: “…and this particular problem has its genesis in co-education.

Right…

Lock a lot of young men up in a Boys’ school, and see what happens…. (For the record, I was always in a co-ed environment.)

7. @bush tea
    Your views on co education has some merit. I was never in favor of single sex schools, but, for some members of our male population, this may be the answer. The problem is though, even in all boys schools, female teachers are still generally the majority. Erego back to the original problem. What I would say, is that a system that expects boys and girls to sit side by side and operate, learn, behave, speak, express themselves and internalise and self actualise in the same way at the same level is flawed from day one. Sadly, this is what we gave happening at our pre and primary school and to some degree our homes.

8. From my investigations, I was told men shy away from teaching today especially the secondary level because of the attitude of some female teachers. When there were mainly male teachers, any disagreement among staff would be trashed out among them and settled, with female teachers, they perlong the issue for months, even years, plus they can get very vindictive and try to have the male teacher transferred. Men must have enough balls to stand up to these teachers and stand firm instead of running away. While it is easy for girls to school with boys the opposite is not so

9. @Jack Spratt

Your position on coed seems clear.

Let us back up a bit.

Do you accept that the current system is not working for boys?

If the answer is yes please share your view in more than two sentences.

10. Those people who feel that HC and QC have the best teachers are really living in a fools paradise !They have the BEST STUDENTS period.So are you saying that if those so called “best teachers”,are placed at St.George Secondary and St.Lucy Secondary,that eventually the Scholars would come from those Schools?whereas,if you place the brightest students at those Schools,it would seem more logical that they would eventually produce the Scholars.This pecking order of Schools is the best that can be done,any other system would result in mass favouritism,with the poor and less fortunate being left at the gate.

11. David, not working for which boys? Some boys won Barbados Scholarships and Exhibitions; some boys are at the top of Barbados politics, education, law, medicine, business…. some boys are on the block, some boys are in prison. Are you suggesting the system is not working because of this?

12. Good point, Michael, but it is fashionable for the poor and less fortunate to always clamour for change. There will always be a pecking order in everything. Man was not created equal!

13. @David

Looks like you facilitating a forum for misogynists, first it was the female teachers and now it is coeducation. It seems that whenever we discuss any issue that is plaguing our society there is always someone to blame. In other forums it is the Guyanese and Jamaicans I am beginning to see a pattern.

Forget about Singapore our society should be more enlightened like Saudi Arabia where women don’t inter mingle with men unless they are married or related to them, that will teach those pesky Bajan women a thing or two.

And they say that Neanderthals are extinct.

14. @Sargeant

The ills must be sourced to some where right?

15. Sargeant……. you’ve noticed as well? Even the killings are done by foreigners. I have always noticed that there is a very deep hatred of Bajan women by many Bajan men. I wonder why? Jealousy perhaps?

16. islandgal246 wrote “I have always noticed that there is a very deep hatred of Bajan women by many Bajan men.”

That is an unfair generalisation.

Say you know SOME Bajan men who have a deep hatred for Bajan women.
    That would be more credible.

17. If these things were easily understood do you think that all over the world standards would be falling just when we have more knowledge, more technology and more resources than EVER in history?

Use a bit of common sense.
    Obviously we are doing somethings FUNDAMENTALLY WRONG.

For example:
    In this particular case, the ‘experts’ who designed mankind did so with a specific plan in mind. The male species were DESIGNED with specific strengths and the female with different strengths. TOGETHER they can form a powerful team and accomplish almost anything.

One of the designed roles of men is that of leadership.
    Any society without strong leadership is DOOMED. The planned, specific training of LEADERS is therefore a VITAL aspect of planning for the future of any society.

Everyone and his cousin knows that between the ages of about 12 to 16 boys mature more slowly than girls. After this age, the situation resolves itself.

OBVIOUSLY if you create a system where your most talented boys at age 12 are forced to be ‘educated’ with girls of the same age they will come out second best during this period. By age 16 there are too far behind to catch up in the intense academic race to certification….
    Then there is the challenge of distractions all day long at the puberty stage of a macho boy’s life….
    By age 16 many of these boys will have given up in frustration and turned to other areas where their natural macho tendencies can prevail (this only applies to the REAL men who are potential leaders CH – so you need not worry LOL) – i.e the Blocks, sex, the Gangs, maybe Sport etc

Can you see where our REAL NATURAL leaders are?
    Check the ZRs, the Blocks and the Bad Boys….Can you see why the police cannot match these groups? where are the REAL leaders?

Why after decades does the ZRs continue to dictate the culture of our youth? Because that is where our real leaders have been pushed…

The other problem is that the co-ed system then produces a set of females who have no understanding of these kinds of issues and who make the process even more difficult for those 12 year-olds as teachers….

Co-education is the absolutely best and cheapest method of destroying any society.

18. Observing wrote @ 8:41 pm ” What I would say, is that a system that expects boys and girls to sit side by side and operate, learn, behave, speak, express themselves and internalise and self actualise in the same way at the same level is flawed from day one. Sadly, this is what we gave happening at our pre and primary school and to some degree our homes.”

Why have we (Barbados) implemented such a system? Could it be that the powers-that-be have deemed that “maleness” as constructed in the past (sometimes derisively termed machismo culture) is no longer useful in an society driven economically by services and increasing utilization of technology in the performance of most tasks?

Is there an insidious attempt to feminise males so that they are more suited to the present economy ? Is this feminisation conflicting with the natural (?) tendencies of males leading to problems of alienation, violence, despair and identity dysfunction?

19. “Can you see where our REAL NATURAL leaders are?”

Does a “LEADER” have to have a “Doggie”? Before women were muzzled and told that they are weak, is that not so is it?. Maybe physically but how many men have given birth, worked and brought up a family singlehandedly ? Because the Caveman tactics are no longer working men are at a loss to solving relationship issues so in turn they abandon their women and offspring. We have also created a whoring society, a society where if a woman don’t give up the cat, she ent getting nuh money to support her children.

Perhaps the society is showing us to look for leaders in the opposite sex. Until males learn what is a REAL man there will always be men on the block doing nutting all day.

Groups like the boys Scouts has helped mould young boys into model citizens, but to become a member one has to have nuff money to join. The uniform alone cost the earth. Why can’t there be an alternative group? Why don’t summer camps organize a survival/outdoor camp for boys? But many parents would feel that their child can’t rough it so they will not be sending them. The STUPID summer camps organized by the government is just a babysitters club. We really have no idea how to organize activities that will challenge children, teach them life skills and responsibility. Getting up on a stage singing and wukking up is soo easy to do why bother to try.

20. The blame culture which has erupted makes discussing issues like this one difficult. What we all have to acknowledge is that one gender cannot exist successfully without the other. The BBE seems to have created a symbiotic design. The other argument is that a society suffering from a leaking socio underpinning makes all living within vulnerable.

21. @David
    Agreed! If we all stop pointing fingers and reassess our roles and where we (or our gender) contributed in the past to the problems today then we may be able to constructively discuss the way forward.

@islandgal
    Your previous almost balanced arguments are taking a distinctive left lean. I’ll pose one question, can a woman dictate or define what a REAL MAN should be???

22. Human beings are not robots. Human behaviour is a complex issue to deal with.

Young people need discipline and structure as a foundation and that is what appears to be missing in modern Barbadian society.

Life is complex for youngsters because of the proliferation of modern technology and drugs.

Back in the day we had to make our own toys and instead of playing video games we went fishing,pitched marbles, played cricket,football,rounders.

A lot of us were fortunate to live in a village where people cared about each other.

That was then!

23. “I’ll pose one question, can a woman dictate or define what a REAL MAN should be???”

I can try to answer the question…A real man in my eyes is one that is willing to become a partner recognizing and working with and improving the flaws and weaknesses in each other. A REAL man would recognize that he cannot make 25 children and not contribute to their daily needs, being shelter, food, clothing and emotional needs. A REAL man knows that work is healthy and that he must work to help provide shelter, food and clothing for his offspring. A REAL man will stand up for what is just and not be swayed by his peers. A REAL man is one who cares and puts his family ( I mean his wife and children) first.

And I will pose this question …Can a man dictate what a REAL MAN should be?

24. @islandgal

and a real village/society absorbs much of the deficiency of dysfunctional family unit.

25. It is somewhat comical how the discussion morphed from an examination of the results of obtained by Six Form students at HC & QC versus other schools to a rant first against female teachers and then to coeducation. We now know that these women in the classroom are emasculating the poor boys who are their students or their peers.

After school these boys are useless except for activities on the block or driving ZR’s (where their dormant leadership skills surface). There is an almost a universal yearning for the good old days when men were men and sheep were scared.

If the discussion continues along this path I would not be surprised if someone echoes the comments of the Iranian “spiritual” leader who said that the spate of recent Earthquakes were due to the revealing clothing worn by women.

The aphorism “You never too old to learn” is always true whenever I read some of the comments on this blog.

26. Each year we discuss and brainstorm placements of students in schools and which school got the most scholarships.

Today, I read in the Daily Nation that Almond Resorts Inc., Heywoods, St. Peter and Millennium Investments Limited operating as ‘The Crane Residential Resort” are both expressing their intention to submit an application for a work permit for a non-national to fill the positions of Executive Assistant Manager and Project Manager respectively.

How is it that we spend millions and millions of dollars as a country in education on NATIONALS and our members of our private sector does not receive ‘suitable applications’ to their advertisement.

Getting a scholarship is one thing, what returns are we getting upon our investment. Our scholars apparently are not applying for jobs advertised in our daily newspapers.

27. I believe, when the entire of Barbados recognizes that people really learn at different rates, we will respect all men, and give the opportunity to an individual who is capable of doing the job rather than the person they favour because of academic achievements.

Both Almond and Millennium Investments have given our Government a hard blatant slap in the face in our media (public view) and we are quibbling about which school got the most scholarships and why.

In my opinion, if a child goes into secondary schoolaveraging 50% and within the first year the teachers are not able to lead that child to 55% the teachers have failed (1) to capture the child’s attention (2) to command respect (3) to demand that when you arrive on these premises here are the rules and this is the espected behaviour. Upon this will children thrive and excel.

Let us bring each child to the realization that we as teachers will take you to the next level. We will lead you to a 5% improvement annually. We all pass. Teachers are responsible for each child and to command the respect of each child.

28. @sargeant
    Great summary. Lol.

In essence our education system though adequate is far from good. Our males are disadvantaged, thus affecting them later in and throughout life. The “good old days” are a thing of the past. Female teachers are ill equipped to deal with school challenges, hence compounding (not causing) the problems. Scholarship results are superficial (except to the winners) and mask the inequality, misguided perceptions and imbalance that exists in the system. Radical reform and contemporary policy is needed if the “real” issues are to be addressed in any meaningful way. Men and women need to work together. Only a man can impart male knowledge and guidance to another man.

At the end of the day the family and community are and should be the first points of intervention and development. School is supplementary.

29. In which system or country is there equality? Elitism is natural! Inequality, my eye!

30. Island gal you r going to b mad with me …….. but Bush tea is sooooo correct.

You do find lots of persons who are involved in ‘gangs’ to be articulate and very skilful. Techie might know some of these persons as well.

One stands out in my mind … a guy known as’lil man’ who is a born leader however he is a rebel.

He is very good with his hands and a personality that not even a Permanent Secretary or, Minister or Prime Minister can have.

Sadly, today he is a shell of what he once was …… it is as if he has given up and decided to to be lost.

Can anyone remember who was the person who mandated that there should be coeducation……. I think it was a female wasn’t it ……..

31. @Islandgal246: “A REAL man would recognize that he cannot make 25 children and not contribute to their daily needs, being shelter, food, clothing and emotional needs. A REAL man knows that work is healthy and that he must work to help provide shelter, food and clothing for his offspring.

Just wondering… Have you read any of Richard Dawkins?

His “The Selfish Gene” speaks to all of your above points.

I wonder if you can borrow any of his books from the Barbados Public Library.

32. Society has become so gender nutural that there are no more Boy Scouts, the movement is now open to both genders and the standard has fallen BADLY. Things a man can talk to a young teenage boy about a female teacher can’t, Men have allowed women to run them out of teaching because of the women’s picky attitude and our young boys are the victims. Most female teachers I know are bias towards girls in the form and in the schools in general.
    IslandGal 246
    A REAL MAN is one who accepts his role as a LEADER and HEAD of his family.
    A REAL WOMAN is one who accepts the role of the MAN and assist him in achieving that responsibility.

33. “Men have allowed women to run them out of teaching because of the women’s picky attitude and our young boys are the victims. Most female teachers I know are bias towards girls in the form and in the schools in general.”

Scout take care yuh wife put yuh out! TAKE CARE!

34. islandgal246
    Let me be BOLD enough to tell you, THIS WILL NEVER HAPPEN, my wife knows her role and I know mine, we both discuss matters together and then I have the FINAL say and the FINAL responsibility. I’m not always right but I’m MAN enough to apologise when I’m wrong. Many a feminist at her work place have called her “soft”, “stupid” and many other names but our model has worked for over forty years and I’ve passed it on to my offspring.

35. IslandGal 246
    Over the last few days, I’ve been watching the IAAF Athletics on TV, as always the male and female events are different. The reason is men are different than women, and as you will realise the men’s event are quicker and standard higher than that of the women. Nature has designed it that way, so as hard as you femanist try, you will NEVER come to the standard of a REAL MAN>

36. @The Scout: “My wife knows her role and I know mine

What you fail to realize, Scout, is it is the woman who is the decision maker.

Does she open your legs to you? Or to another man (or men)? Or both (or all)?

She is very calculating.

It’s just the nature of selfish genes….

37. Christopher Halsall
    You can disrespect me as much as you want but youy know NOTHING about my wife and I deem it NASTY and you as a VERY IMMATURED male (not even a man) if you think that all women are judged by your standard. No wonder women say “MEN IN CRISIS.” You have a SICK MIND.

38. Here are some photos of Real Men …. which help to explain why women live longer than men.

http://www.damncoolpictures.com/2008/10/why-women-live-longer-than-men.html

39. Perhaps I am wrong but I believe that in most happy male, female relationships, supremacy does not rear its head in the way some have explained here.

In those, skills and abilities come together for the common good, the level of ability – and input – changes from task to task, therefore a tally is not kept after each task; for the total which leads to “overall success” is more important than a constant measurement of individual contribution.

It is difficult in this context to say what a real man – or woman is, what each individual can bring to the relationship to make it a success dictates what is necessary to that relationship.

40. Well written, Yardbroom. The Scout should live in a cave!

41. Scout ……men like you have wives that will smile in your face and hate your guts. If you ask wives with husbands like you, you will hear the loathing they have for their husbands. Many can’t wait for them to die after suffering in marriages with beasts like you!

42. @Yardbroom excellent summary on relationships. A penis should never be the yardstick (inch-stick) to measure the success or final word in a relationship.

43. @The Scout,
    You seem to have had the good fortune to marry a woman who is either willing to defer to you or she is not your intellectual equal or superior.

Talking about your wife on a blog to stroke your ego is not nise but each to his own.
    But it doesn’t really matter anyway cause nubody ent kno wha de Scout real name is.

Be prepared and shake with yuh left hand.

44. @ Yardbroom
    It is difficult in this context to say what a real man – or woman is, what each individual can bring to the relationship to make it a success dictates what is necessary to that relationship
    LOL You OK Yardie? This is not like you…sound like Freundel yuh!!

This sounds like you had to say something – but had nothing to say.on the subject.
    After the pretty talk you conclude that you don’t know what a real man or woman is; and that “what they should bring to the relationship for success dictates what is necessary for that relationship”
    LOL ROTFL …so what IS success? What is your point?

Bushie feel that you trying to woo Islandgal…
    cheeky!!;

45. Listened to Historian Trevor Marshall who is a historian and life long teacher in the local system, defending a position on radio a moment ago that coed has negatively impacted the school system,

46. Hants
    I’ll shake with my left hand once you are one of my brotheren. YES, I have a WONDERFUL wife, a LADY that I was dating from the age of 14 years, I was 16, we got married 10 years later. A marriage made in Heaven, our many years in marriage is based not only on LOVE but TRUST. I count myself lucky to find such a decent, educated, successful lady, who excelled in her field as a senior person at her job. I’m not boasting but I’m just letting any of you know that a marriage is vastly different from a wedding; a
    marriage is for the long term. Couples get married today and divorce within two years, they get married for all the wrong reasons.I’m not saying my marriage is 100% perfect but we don’t go to bed at night angry with each other, if either of us fall asleep a there is an unsoved matter, we would wake the person up and resolve the matter, prayer on it hug, kiss and go back to bed. No matter how busy we are, every morning we have meditation together and then do our seperate chores. We are both happy with our lives and marriage and this LOVE and TRUST has kept us together for over forty years.

47. Hants
    I’m sorry if I came over to strong about the relationship between my wife and I, however I read some of the male bloggers criticising women and feminist bloggers cussing the men, I was just trying to say, male and female, husband and wife can co-exist in harmoney. My marriage relationship with my wife is not on show, it is the basis of what a true marriage should be NOT JUST A WEDDING. If I came on too strong, I humbly apologise to you and anyone else, including MY FRIEND ISLANDGAL246 and Christopher Halsall. However, I must admit my wife is MY QUEEN but of course I’M THE KING.

48. @The Scout: “However, I must admit my wife is MY QUEEN but of course I’M THE KING.

Or so you think.

49. Halsall…Scout is trying to keep up appearances LOLLLL

50. @david
    Which program? What was the issue? Any other contributing views??

Leave a Reply to Christopher HalsallCancel reply